DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s arguments and amendments filed April 13, 2026 have been entered and considered.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN 112165837 A), in view of Du et al. (CN 111162113 A) and Lv et al. (CN 109148534 A).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches:
A display module [10, paragraph [0023], [0068], [0072-0081], Fig. 1-11], comprising:
a display panel [30, paragraph [0068], [0072], [0076-0078], Fig. 10-11];
a cover plate [40, paragraph [0068], [0074], [0076], Fig. 10-11] on a light-emitting side of the display panel [30, Fig. 10-11]; and
a heat dissipation layer [100, paragraph [0068], [0072-0073], Fig. 1-11] on a back side of the display panel [30, Fig. 10-11]; wherein the back side faces away from the light-emitting side; wherein
edges of the cover plate [40, Fig. 10-11], edges of the display panel [30, Fig. 10-11] and edges of the heat dissipation layer [100, Fig. 1-11] are bent [paragraph [0068], [0076], Fig. 9-11] toward the back side of the display panel [30, Fig. 10-11] to form arc surface regions [120/12, paragraph [0042], [0046], [0076], Fig. 1-11] at the corners of the display panel [30, Fig. 10-11] with shapes matched with each other [Fig. 11];
the display panel [30, Fig. 10-11] further comprises a planar portion [110/11, paragraph [0042], [0046], [0076], Fig. 1-11], and the edges of the display panel [30, Fig. 10-11] surround the planar portion [110/11, Fig. 1-11],
at least part of an edge of an orthographic projection of the display module [10, Fig. 1-11] on a plane where the planar portion [110/11, Fig. 1-11] of the display panel [30, Fig. 10-11] is located is arc [120/12, paragraph [0042], [0046], [0076], Fig. 1-11], and
the heat dissipation layer [100, Fig. 1-11] comprises a stretchable structure [curved areas, paragraph [0004], [0042-0043], [0046-0048], [0074], [0077], Fig. 1-11] in the arc surface region [120/12, Fig. 1-11] having an arc edge of the heat dissipation layer [100, Fig. 1-11].
the heat dissipation layer [100, Fig. 1-11] comprises a thermal conductive film [300, paragraph [0047], Fig. 1-11], and
the stretchable structure [curved areas, paragraph [0004], [0042-0043], [0046-0048], [0074], [0077], Fig. 1-11] comprises a plurality of through holes [210, paragraph [0051-0052], Fig. 1-11] in the thermal conductive film [300, Fig. 1-11], the plurality of through holes [210, paragraph [0051-0057], Fig. 1-11] are arranged in an array along an extending direction of the arc edge [120/12, paragraph [0042], [0046], [0051-0057], Fig. 1-11] and have a same cross sectional area,
Zhang does not teach:
orthographic projections, on the display panel, of the through holes are arranged in a plurality of rows arranged at the corners of the display panel and along a direction away from a center of the display panel, the plurality of rows comprising a first row of orthographic projections closest to the center of the display panel, and a third row of orthographic projections farthest from the center of the display panel, and a second row of orthographic projections between the first row of orthographic projections and the third row of orthographic projections,
the orthographic projections in the first row of orthographic projections of the plurality of through holes on the display panel have a same first distance therebetween, the orthographic projections in the second row of orthographic projections of the plurality of through holes on the display panel have a same second distance therebetween, and the orthographic projections in the third row of orthographic projections of the plurality of through holes on the display panel have a same third distance therebetween.
Du et al. teaches:
orthographic projections, on the display panel, of the through holes [71, paragraph [0084-0085], Fig. 14-15] are arranged in a plurality of rows arranged at the corners of the display panel and along a direction away from a center of the display panel, the plurality of rows comprising a first row of orthographic projections closest to the center of the display panel, and a third row of orthographic projections farthest from the center of the display panel, and a second row of orthographic projections between the first row of orthographic projections and the third row of orthographic projections,
the orthographic projections in the first row of orthographic projections of the plurality of through holes [71, Fig. 14-15] on the display panel have a same first distance therebetween, the orthographic projections in the second row of orthographic projections of the plurality of through holes [71, Fig. 14-15] on the display panel have a same second distance therebetween, and the orthographic projections in the third row of orthographic projections of the plurality of through holes [71, Fig. 14-15] on the display panel have a same third distance therebetween.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Du et al. into the teachings of Zhang to include orthographic projections, on the display panel, of the through holes are arranged in a plurality of rows arranged at the corners of the display panel and along a direction away from a center of the display panel, the plurality of rows comprising a first row of orthographic projections closest to the center of the display panel, and a third row of orthographic projections farthest from the center of the display panel, and a second row of orthographic projections between the first row of orthographic projections and the third row of orthographic projections, the orthographic projections in the first row of orthographic projections of the plurality of through holes on the display panel have a same first distance therebetween, the orthographic projections in the second row of orthographic projections of the plurality of through holes on the display panel have a same second distance therebetween, and the orthographic projections in the third row of orthographic projections of the plurality of through holes on the display panel have a same third distance therebetween, for the purpose of improving drop strength of the display panel, and reducing stress. See also, MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Zhang and Du et al. do not teach:
The first distance being greater than the second distance and the second distance being greater than the third distance.
Lv et al. teaches:
The first distance being greater than the second distance and the second distance being greater than the third distance. [701,702, paragraph [0052-0055], Fig. 1-4]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Lv et al. into the teachings of Zhang and Du et al. to include the first distance being greater than the second distance and the second distance being greater than the third distance, for the purpose of increasing density of through holes, reducing bending stress and breakage, improving bending performance. See also, MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Regarding claim 7, Zhang, Du et al. and Lv et al. teach the display module according to claim 1.
Zhang further teaches:
wherein a size of each of the plurality of through holes [210, paragraph [0054], Fig. 3] ranges from 0.5 to 1.5 mm.
Regarding claim 8, Zhang, Du et al. and Lv et al. teach the display module according to claim 7.
Zhang further teaches:
wherein an orthographic projection of each of the plurality of through holes [210, Fig. 1-11] on the display panel [30, Fig. 10-11] has any one or more shapes of a circle, an ellipse, a rectangle, a diamond or a regular polygon [paragraph [0052]].
Regarding claim 9, Zhang, Du et al. and Lv et al. teach the display module according to claim 1.
Zhang further teaches:
wherein the thermal conductive film [300, paragraph [0051], [0060-0061], Fig. 1-11] comprises any one of copper, aluminum, silver, or gold.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN 112165837 A), in view of Du et al. (CN 111162113 A) and Lv et al. (CN 109148534 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (CN 108417544 A).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang, Du et al. and Lv et al. teach the display module according to claim 1.
Zhang further teaches:
the heat dissipation layer [100, paragraph [0051], Fig.1-11] further comprises an electromagnetic shielding film [in 300], and
the electromagnetic shielding film [in 300, Fig. 1-11] is on a side of the thermal conductive film [300, Fig. 1-11] toward the display panel [30, Fig. 11], and covers at least the through hole [210, Fig. 1-11] in the thermal conductive film [300, Fig. 1-11].
Zhang, Du et al. and Lv et al. do not teach:
the electromagnetic shielding film is on a side of the thermal conductive film away from the display panel.
Wang et al. teaches:
the electromagnetic shielding film [213, paragraph [0035], Fig. 2] is on a side of the thermal conductive film [212, paragraph [0035], Fig. 2] away from the display panel [22, paragraph [0035], Fig. 2].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Wang et al. into the teachings of Zhang, Du et al. and Lv et al. include the electromagnetic shielding film is on a side of the thermal conductive film away from the display panel, for the purpose of protecting features within. See also, MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Regarding claim 11, Zhang, Du et al., Lv et al. and Wang et al. teach the display module according to claim 10.
Zhang further teaches:
wherein the electromagnetic shielding film [in 300, paragraph [0051], [0060-0061], Fig. 1-11] comprises any one of copper, aluminum, silver, or gold.
Claims 12 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN 112165837 A), in view of Du et al. (CN 111162113 A), Lv et al. (CN 109148534 A) and Wang et al. (CN 108417544 A) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Park (US 20190334114 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang, Du et al., Lv et al. and Wang et al. teach the display module according to claim 10.
Zhang further teaches:
the heat dissipation layer [100, Fig. 1-11] further comprises a protective film [400, paragraph [0047-0049], Fig. 1-11]
the protective film [400, Fig. 1-11] disposed is on a side of the electromagnetic shielding film [in 300, Fig. 1-11] toward the display panel [30], and
an orthographic projection of the protective film [400, Fig. 1-11] on the display panel [30] overlaps an orthographic projection of the electromagnetic shielding film [in 300, Fig. 1-11] on the display panel [30].
Zhang, Du et al., Lv et al. and Wang et al. do not teach:
the protective film disposed is on a side of the electromagnetic shielding film away from the display panel.
Park teaches:
the protective film [240, paragraph [0082-0083], Fig. 2] disposed is on a side of the electromagnetic shielding film [230, paragraph [0078], Fig. 2] away from the display panel [210, paragraph [0062], Fig. 2].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Park into the teachings of Zhang, Du et al., Lv et al. and Wang et al. include the protective film disposed is on a side of the electromagnetic shielding film away from the display panel, for the purpose of protecting features within. See also, MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Regarding claim 16, Zhang, Du et al., Lv et al., Wang et al. and Park teach the display module according to claim 12.
Zhang further teaches:
the heat dissipation layer [100] further comprises an adhesive film [600, paragraph [0047], Fig. 1-11],
the adhesive film [600, paragraph [0075], Fig. 10-11] is on a side of the thermal conductive film [300, Fig. 10-11] proximal to the display panel [30, Fig. 10-11], and
an orthographic projection of the adhesive film [600, Fig. 10-11] on the display panel [30, Fig. 10-11] overlaps an orthographic projection of the electromagnetic shielding film [in 300, Fig. 10-11] on the display panel [30, Fig. 10-11].
Claims 13 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN 112165837 A), in view of Du et al. (CN 111162113 A), Lv et al. (CN 109148534 A), Wang et al. (CN 108417544 A) and Park (US 20190334114 A1) as applied to claims 12 and 16 above, and further in view of Han et al. (US 10615366 B2).
Regarding claim 13, Zhang, Du et al., Lv et al., Wang et al. and Park teach the display module according to claim 12.
Zhang, Du et al., Lv et al., Wang et al. and Park do not teach:
wherein a portion of the protective film in the arc surface region having the arc edge has a gradually decreased thickness in a direction from an end away from the arc edge toward the arc edge.
Han et al. teaches:
wherein a portion of the protective film [170, Col.17, Lines 58-67 to Col. 18, Lines 1-18, Fig. 13] in the arc surface region [BA “bent area”, Fig. 13] having the arc edge has a gradually decreased thickness in a direction from an end away from the arc edge toward the arc edge.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Han et al. into the teachings of Zhang, Du et al., Lv et al., Wang et al. and Park to include wherein a portion of the protective film in the arc surface region having the arc edge has a gradually decreased thickness in a direction from an end away from the arc edge toward the arc edge, for the purpose of allowing for better flexibility, improving strength and stability of device, and protecting features within.
Regarding claim 17, Zhang, Du et al., Lv et al., Wang et al. and Park teach the display module according to claim 16.
Zhang, Du et al., Lv et al., Wang et al. and Park do not teach:
wherein a portion of the adhesive film in the arc surface region having the arc edge has a gradually decreased thickness in a direction from an end away from the arc edge toward the arc edge.
Han et al. teaches:
wherein a portion of the adhesive film [180, Col. 16, Lines 38-58, Fig. 10] in the arc surface region [170OP/BA, Fig. 10] having the arc edge has a gradually decreased thickness in a direction from an end away from the arc edge toward the arc edge.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Han et al. into the teachings of Zhang, Du et al., Lv et al., Wang et al. and Park to include wherein a portion of the adhesive film in the arc surface region having the arc edge has a gradually decreased thickness in a direction from an end away from the arc edge toward the arc edge, for the purpose of allowing for better flexibility, improving strength and stability of device, and protecting features within.
Regarding claim 18, Zhang, Du et al., Lv et al., Wang et al. and Park teach the display module according to claim 16.
Zhang, Du et al., Lv et al., Wang et al. and Park do not teach:
wherein a portion of the adhesive film in the arc surface region having the arc edge has a smaller thickness than other portions of the adhesive film, or the adhesive film comprises a stretchable adhesive material.
Han et al. teaches:
wherein a portion of the adhesive film [180, Col. 16, Lines 8-25, Fig. 8] in the arc surface region [170OP/BA, Fig. 8] having the arc edge has a smaller thickness [t1, Fig. 8] than other portions [t2] of the adhesive film [180, Fig. 8], or the adhesive film [180, Fig. 8] comprises a stretchable adhesive material [Col. 8, Lines 31-37; Col. 16, Lines 1-7, Fig. 1-15].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Han et al. into the teachings of Zhang, Du et al., Lv et al., Wang et al. and Park to include wherein a portion of the adhesive film in the arc surface region having the arc edge has a smaller thickness than other portions of the adhesive film, or the adhesive film comprises a stretchable adhesive material, for the purpose of allowing for better flexibility, improving strength and stability of device, and protecting features within.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN 112165837 A), in view of Du et al. (CN 111162113 A), Lv et al. (CN 109148534 A), Wang et al. (CN 108417544 A) and Park (US 20190334114 A1) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Han et al. (US 10615366 B2) and Mizushima et al. (US 8432515 B2).
Regarding claim 14, Zhang, Du et al., Lv et al., Wang et al. and Park teach the display module according to claim 12.
Zhang, Du et al., Lv et al., Wang et al. and Park do not teach:
wherein a portion of the protective film in the arc surface region having the arc edge has a smaller thickness than other portions of the protective film.
Han et al. teaches:
wherein a portion of the protective film [170, Col. 8, Lines 26-37, Fig. 4, 13-15] in the arc surface region [170CC/BA, Col. 17, Lines 58-67 to Col. 18, Lines 1-52, Fig. 4, 13-15] having the arc edge has a smaller thickness than other portions of the protective film [170, Fig. 13-15].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Han et al. into the teachings of Zhang, Du et al., Lv et al., Wang et al. and Park to include wherein a portion of the protective film in the arc surface region having the arc edge has a smaller thickness than other portions of the protective film, for the purpose of allowing for better flexibility, improving strength and stability of device, and protecting features within.
Zhang, Du et al., Lv et al., Wang et al., Park and Han et al. do not teach:
the protective film comprises polyolefin.
Mizushima et al. teaches:
the protective film [L1/L2, Col. 13, Lines 46-67 to Col. 14, Lines 1-5, Fig. 14-15, 20] comprises polyolefin.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Mizushima et al. into the teachings of Zhang, Du et al., Lv et al., Wang et al., Park and Han et al. to include the protective film comprises polyolefin, for the purpose of allowing for better flexibility, improving strength and stability of device, improving transparency, and improving heat stability.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN 112165837 A), in view of Du et al. (CN 111162113 A) and Lv et al. (CN 109148534 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 7508654 B2).
Regarding claim 20, Zhang, Du et al. and Lv et al. teach the display module according to claim 1.
Zhang, Du et al. and Lv et al. do not teach:
A display apparatus.
Lee et al. teaches:
A display apparatus [1, Col. 1, Lines 20-22; Col. 3, Lines 48-52, Fig. 3-5]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Lee et al. into the teachings of Zhang, Du et al. and Lv et al. to include a display apparatus, for the purpose of reducing number of components needed, improving ease of use, and utilizing the display module.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN 112165837 A), in view of Du et al. (CN 111162113 A) and Lv et al. (CN 109148534 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Liberty et al. (US 5213868 A).
Regarding claim 21, Zhang, Du et al. and Lv et al. teach the display module according to claim 1.
Zhang further teaches:
A method for manufacturing a display module [10, Fig. 1-11], comprising:
preparing a cover plate [40, paragraph [0068], [0074], [0076], Fig. 10-11] such that edges of the cover plate [40, paragraph [0068], [0076], Fig. 9-11] are bent towards a side of the cover plate [40] to form an arc surface;
preparing a display panel [30, paragraph [0068], [0072], [0076-0078], Fig. 10-11];
preparing a heat dissipation layer [100, paragraph [0068], [0072-0073], Fig. 1-11];
disposing the display panel [30, Fig. 11] on an inner side of the cover plate [40, Fig. 11] with the display panel [30, Fig. 11] being shape-matched with the cover plate [40, Fig. 11]; wherein the inner side of the cover plate [40, Fig. 11] is an inner side of the arc surface [120/12, Fig. 9-11], and the cover plate [40, Fig. 11] is on a light-emitting side of the display panel [30, Fig. 11], and the display panel [30, Fig. 11]comprises a planar portion [110/11, Fig. 1-11] and edges surrounding the planar portion [110/11]; and
disposing a heat dissipation layer [100, paragraph [0068], [0072-0073], Fig. 11] on a back side of the display panel [30, Fig. 11] with the heat dissipation layer [100, Fig. 11] being shape-matched with the display panel [30, Fig. 11]; wherein the back side of the display panel [30, Fig. 11] faces away from the light-emitting side of the display panel [30, Fig. 11]; wherein
at least part of an edge of an orthographic projection of the display module [10, Fig. 1-11] on a plane where the planar portion [110/11, Fig. 1-11] of the display panel [30, Fig. 11] is located is arc, and
preparing the heat dissipation layer [100, Fig. 1-11] comprises: preparing a stretchable structure [curved areas, paragraph [0004], [0042-0043], [0046-0048], [0074], [0077], Fig. 1-11] in the arc surface region [120/12, Fig. 1-11] having an arc edge of the heat dissipation layer [100, Fig. 1-11].
preparing the heat dissipation layer [100, paragraph [0068], [0072-0073], Fig. 1-11] comprises: preparing a thermal conductive film [300, Fig. 1-11], and
preparing the stretchable structure [curved areas, paragraph [0004], [0042-0043], [0046-0048], [0074], [0077], Fig. 1-11] comprises: forming a plurality of through holes [210, paragraph [0051-0052], Fig. 1-11] in the thermal conductive film [300, Fig. 1-11].
the plurality of through holes [210, paragraph [0051-0057], Fig. 1-11] are arranged in an array along an extending direction of the arc edge [120/12, paragraph [0042], [0046], [0051-0057], Fig. 1-11] and have a same cross-sectional area.
Zhang, Du et al. and Lv et al. disclose the above claimed subject matter.
However, Zhang and Lv et al. do not teach:
orthographic projections, on the display panel, of the plurality of through holes are arranged in a plurality of rows arranged at corners of the display panel and along a direction away from a center of the display panel, the plurality of rows comprising a first row of orthographic projections closest to the center of the display panel, and a third row of orthographic projections farthest from the center of the display panel, and a second row of orthographic projections between the first row of orthographic projections and the third row of orthographic projections,
the orthographic projections in the first row of orthographic projections of the plurality of through holes on the display panel have a same first distance therebetween, the orthographic projections in the second row of orthographic projections of the plurality of through holes on the display panel have a same second distance therebetween, and the orthographic projections in the third row of orthographic projections of the plurality of through holes on the display panel have a same third distance therebetween.
Du et al. teaches:
orthographic projections, on the display panel, of the through holes [71, paragraph [0084-0085], Fig. 14-15] are arranged in a plurality of rows arranged at the corners of the display panel and along a direction away from a center of the display panel, the plurality of rows comprising a first row of orthographic projections closest to the center of the display panel, and a third row of orthographic projections farthest from the center of the display panel, and a second row of orthographic projections between the first row of orthographic projections and the third row of orthographic projections,
the orthographic projections in the first row of orthographic projections of the plurality of through holes [71, Fig. 14-15] on the display panel have a same first distance therebetween, the orthographic projections in the second row of orthographic projections of the plurality of through holes [71, Fig. 14-15] on the display panel have a same second distance therebetween, and the orthographic projections in the third row of orthographic projections of the plurality of through holes [71, Fig. 14-15] on the display panel have a same third distance therebetween.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Du et al. into the teachings of Zhang, Du et al. and Lv et al. to include orthographic projections, on the display panel, of the plurality of through holes are arranged in a plurality of rows arranged at corners of the display panel and along a direction away from a center of the display panel, the plurality of rows comprising a first row of orthographic projections closest to the center of the display panel, and a third row of orthographic projections farthest from the center of the display panel, and a second row of orthographic projections between the first row of orthographic projections and the third row of orthographic projections, the orthographic projections in the first row of orthographic projections of the plurality of through holes on the display panel have a same first distance therebetween, the orthographic projections in the second row of orthographic projections of the plurality of through holes on the display panel have a same second distance therebetween, and the orthographic projections in the third row of orthographic projections of the plurality of through holes on the display panel have a same third distance therebetween, for the purpose of improving drop strength of the display panel, and reducing stress. See also, MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Zhang, Du et al. and Lv et al. disclose the above claimed subject matter.
However, Zhang and Du et al. do not teach:
the first distance being greater than the second distance and the second distance being greater than the third distance.
Lv et al. teaches:
the first distance being greater than the second distance and the second distance being greater than the third distance. [701,702, paragraph [0052-0055], Fig. 1-4]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Lv et al. into the teachings of Zhang, Du et al. and Lv et al. to include the first distance being greater than the second distance and the second distance being greater than the third distance, for the purpose of increasing density of through holes, reducing bending stress and breakage, improving bending performance. See also, MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Zhang, Du et al. and Lv et al. do not teach:
forming a plurality of through holes in the thermal conductive film through an etching or punching process.
Liberty et al. teaches:
forming a plurality of through holes [2, Col. 3, Lines 27-31, Fig. 1, 3] in the thermal conductive film [1, Col. 3, Lines 27-31, Fig. 1, 3] through an etching or punching process. [Col. 7, Lines 27-28, Fig. 1]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Liberty et al. into the teachings of Zhang, Du et al. and Lv et al. to include forming a plurality of through holes in the thermal conductive film through an etching or punching process, for the purpose of forming the through holes using a known technique.
Claims 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN 112165837 A), in view of Du et al. (CN 111162113 A).
Regarding claim 23, Zhang teaches:
A display module [10, paragraph [0023], [0068], [0072-0081], Fig. 1-11], comprising:
a display panel [30, paragraph [0068], [0072], [0076-0078], Fig. 10-11];
a cover plate [40, paragraph [0068], [0074], [0076], Fig. 10-11] on a light-emitting side of the display panel [30, Fig. 10-11]; and
a heat dissipation layer [100, paragraph [0068], [0072-0073], Fig. 1-11] on a back side of the display panel [30, Fig. 10-11]; wherein the back side faces away from the light-emitting side; wherein
edges of the cover plate [40, Fig. 10-11], edges of the display panel [30, Fig. 10-11] and edges of the heat dissipation layer [100, Fig. 1-11] are bent [paragraph [0068], [0076], Fig. 9-11] toward the back side of the display panel [30, Fig. 10-11] to form arc surface regions [120/12, paragraph [0042], [0046], [0076], Fig. 1-11] at corners of the display panel [30, Fig. 10-11] with shapes matched with each other [Fig. 11];
the display panel [30, Fig. 10-11] further comprises a planar portion [110/11, paragraph [0042], [0046], [0076], Fig. 1-11], and the edges of the display panel [30, Fig. 10-11] surround the planar portion [110/11. Fig. 1-11],
at least part of an edge of an orthographic projection of the display module [10, Fig. 1-11] on a plane where the planar portion [110/11, Fig. 1-11] of the display panel [30, Fig. 10-11] is located is arc [120/12, paragraph [0042], [0046], [0076], Fig. 1-11], and
the heat dissipation layer [100, Fig. 1-11] comprises a stretchable structure [curved areas, paragraph [0004], [0042-0043], [0046-0048], [0074], [0077], Fig. 1-11] in the arc surface region [120/12, Fig. 1-11] having an arc edge of the heat dissipation [100, Fig. 1-11].
the heat dissipation layer [100, Fig. 1-11] comprises a thermal conductive film [300, paragraph [0047], Fig. 1-11], and
the stretchable structure [curved areas, paragraph [0004], [0042-0043], [0046-0048], [0074], [0077], Fig. 1-11] comprises a plurality of through holes [210, paragraph [0051-0052], Fig. 1-11] in the thermal conductive film [300, Fig. 1-11], the plurality of through holes [210, paragraph [0051-0057], Fig. 1-11] are arranged in an array along an extending direction of the arc edge [120/12, paragraph [0042], [0046], [0051-0057], Fig. 1-11] and have a same cross-sectional area.
the first distance being equal to the second distance and the second distance being equal to the third distance. [paragraph [0053-0057], Fig. 1-4]
Zhang does not teach:
orthographic projections, on the display panel, of the plurality of through holes are arranged in a plurality of rows arranged at the corners of the display panel and along a direction away from a center of the display panel, the plurality of rows comprising a first row of orthographic projections closest to the center of the display panel, and a third row of orthographic projections farthest from the center of the display panel, and a second row of orthographic projections between the first row of orthographic projections and the third row of orthographic projections,
the orthographic projections in the first row of orthographic projections of the plurality of through holes on the display panel have a same first distance therebetween, the orthographic projections in the second row of orthographic projections of the plurality of through holes on the display panel have a same second distance therebetween, and the orthographic projections in the third row of orthographic projections of the plurality of through holes on the display panel have a same third distance therebetween.
Du et al. teaches:
orthographic projections, on the display panel, of the plurality of through holes [71, paragraph [0084-0085], Fig. 14-15] are arranged in a plurality of rows arranged at the corners of the display panel and along a direction away from a center of the display panel, the plurality of rows comprising a first row of orthographic projections closest to the center of the display panel, and a third row of orthographic projections farthest from the center of the display panel, and a second row of orthographic projections between the first row of orthographic projections and the third row of orthographic projections,
the orthographic projections in the first row of orthographic projections of the plurality of through holes on the display panel have a same first distance therebetween, the orthographic projections in the second row of orthographic projections of the plurality of through holes on the display panel have a same second distance therebetween, and the orthographic projections in the third row of orthographic projections of the plurality of through holes on the display panel have a same third distance therebetween.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Du et al. into the teachings of Zhang to include orthographic projections, on the display panel, of the plurality of through holes are arranged in a plurality of rows arranged at the corners of the display panel and along a direction away from a center of the display panel, the plurality of rows comprising a first row of orthographic projections closest to the center of the display panel, and a third row of orthographic projections farthest from the center of the display panel, and a second row of orthographic projections between the first row of orthographic projections and the third row of orthographic projections, the orthographic projections in the first row of orthographic projections of the plurality of through holes on the display panel have a same first distance therebetween, the orthographic projections in the second row of orthographic projections of the plurality of through holes on the display panel have a same second distance therebetween, and the orthographic projections in the third row of orthographic projections of the plurality of through holes on the display panel have a same third distance therebetween, for the purpose of improving drop strength of the display panel, and reducing stress. See also, MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Regarding claim 24, Zhang teaches:
A display module [10, paragraph [0023], [0068], [0072-0081], Fig. 1-11], comprising:
a display panel [30, paragraph [0068], [0072], [0076-0078], Fig. 10-11];
a cover plate [40, paragraph [0068], [0074], [0076], Fig. 10-11 on a light-emitting side of the display panel [30, Fig. 10-11]; and
a heat dissipation layer [100, paragraph [0068], [0072-0073], Fig. 1-11] on a back side of the display panel [30, Fig. 10-11]; wherein the back side faces away from the light-emitting side; wherein
edges of the cover plate [40, Fig. 10-11], edges of the display panel [30, Fig. 10-11 and edges of the heat dissipation layer [100, Fig. 1-11] are bent [paragraph [0068], [0076], Fig. 9-11] toward the back side of the display panel [30, Fig. 10-11] to form arc surface regions [120/12, paragraph [0042], [0046], [0076], Fig. 1-11] at corners of the display panel [30, Fig. 10-11] with shapes matched with each other [Fig. 11];
the display panel [30, Fig. 10-11 further comprises a planar portion [110/11, paragraph [0042], [0046], [0076], Fig. 1-11], and the edges of the display panel [30, Fig. 10-11 surround the planar portion [110/11, Fig. 1-11],
at least part of an edge of an orthographic projection of the display module [10, Fig. 1-11] on a plane where the planar portion [110/11, Fig. 1-11] of the display panel [30, Fig. 10-11 is located is arc [120/12, paragraph [0042], [0046], [0076], Fig. 1-11], and
the heat dissipation layer [100, Fig. 1-11 comprises a stretchable structure [curved areas, paragraph [0004], [0042-0043], [0046-0048], [0074], [0077], Fig. 1-11] in the arc surface region [120/12, Fig. 1-11] having an arc edge of the heat dissipation layer [100, Fig. 1-11].
the heat dissipation layer [100, Fig. 1-11] comprises a thermal conductive film [300, paragraph [0047], Fig. 1-11], and
the stretchable structure [curved areas, paragraph [0004], [0042-0043], [0046-0048], [0074], [0077], Fig. 1-11] comprises a plurality of through holes [210, paragraph [0051-0052], Fig. 1-11] in the thermal conductive film [300, Fig. 1-11], the plurality of through holes [210, paragraph [0051-0057], Fig. 1-11] are arranged in an array along an extending direction of the arc edge [120/12, paragraph [0042], [0046], [0051-0057], Fig. 1-11],
the first distance being equal to the second distance, the second distance being equal to the third distance, the first cross- sectional area being smaller than the second cross-sectional area, and the second cross- sectional area being smaller than the third cross-sectional area. [paragraph [0062], Fig. 7]
Zhang does not teach:
orthographic projections, on the display panel, of the plurality of through holes are arranged in a plurality of rows arranged at the corners of the display panel and along a direction away from a center of the display panel, the plurality of rows comprising a first row of orthographic projections closest to the center of the display panel, and a third row of orthographic projections farthest from the center of the display panel, and a second row of orthographic projections between the first row of orthographic projections and the third row of orthographic projections,
the orthographic projections in the first row of orthographic projections of the plurality of through holes on the display panel have a same first distance therebetween and have a same first cross-sectional area, the orthographic projections in the second row of orthographic projections of the plurality of through holes on the display panel have a same second distance therebetween and have a same second cross-sectional area, and the orthographic projections in the third row of orthographic projections of the plurality of through holes on the display panel have a same third distance therebetween and have a same third cross-sectional area.
Du et al. teaches:
orthographic projections, on the display panel, of the plurality of through holes [71, paragraph [0084-0085], Fig. 14-15] are arranged in a plurality of rows arranged at the corners of the display panel and along a direction away from a center of the display panel, the plurality of rows comprising a first row of orthographic projections closest to the center of the display panel, and a third row of orthographic projections farthest from the center of the display panel, and a second row of orthographic projections between the first row of orthographic projections and the third row of orthographic projections,
the orthographic projections in the first row of orthographic projections of the plurality of through holes on the display panel have a same first distance therebetween and have a same first cross-sectional area, the orthographic projections in the second row of orthographic projections of the plurality of through holes on the display panel have a same second distance therebetween and have a same second cross-sectional area, and the orthographic projections in the third row of orthographic projections of the plurality of through holes on the display panel have a same third distance therebetween and have a same third cross-sectional area.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Du et al. into the teachings of Zhang to include orthographic projections, on the display panel, of the plurality of through holes are arranged in a plurality of rows arranged at the corners of the display panel and along a direction away from a center of the display panel, the plurality of rows comprising a first row of orthographic projections closest to the center of the display panel, and a third row of orthographic projections farthest from the center of the display panel, and a second row of orthographic projections between the first row of orthographic projections and the third row of orthographic projections, the orthographic projections in the first row of orthographic projections of the plurality of through holes on the display panel have a same first distance therebetween and have a same first cross-sectional area, the orthographic projections in the second row of orthographic projections of the plurality of through holes on the display panel have a same second distance therebetween and have a same second cross-sectional area, and the orthographic projections in the third row of orthographic projections of the plurality of through holes on the display panel have a same third distance therebetween and have a same third cross-sectional area, for the purpose of improving drop strength of the display panel, and reducing stress. See also, MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant argues on pages 3-6, Section: Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. §103, in remarks filed April 13, 2026 that the current prior art of record does not teach the amendments to independent claim 1. Examiner agrees with Applicant; However, after a new line of search and consideration of the prior art, the amended limitations of independent claim 1 can be overcome by a combination of newly cited sources Du et al. (CN 111162113 A) and Lv et al. (CN109148534A).
Applicant argues on page 6, Section: Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. §103, in remarks filed April 13, 2026 that dependent claims 7-14, 16-18 and 20-21 should be in condition for allowance due to the amendments to independent claim 1. Examiner disagrees with Applicant due to the amended limitations of independent claim 1 being overcome by a combination of newly cited sources Du et al. (CN 111162113 A) and Lv et al. (CN109148534A).
Applicant argues on page 6, Section: Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. §103, in remarks filed April 13, 2026 that new independent claims 23 and 24 should also be in condition for allowance. Examiner disagrees with Applicant because the limitations of new independent claims 23 and 24 can be overcome by primary reference Zhang (CN 112165837 A), in view of newly cited source Du et al. (CN 111162113 A).
In summary, the amended limitations of independent claim 1 can be overcome by a combination of newly cited sources Du et al. (CN 111162113 A) and Lv et al. (CN109148534A). All claims directly or indirectly dependent on independent claim 1 are also rejected for at least the reasons mentioned above. The limitations of new independent claims 23 and 24 can be overcome by primary reference Zhang (CN 112165837 A), in view of newly cited source Du et al. (CN 111162113 A).
Conclusion
/D.M.H./Examiner, Art Unit 2815 05/06/2026
/MONICA D HARRISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815