DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 10/14/25 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that, “there would not be a serious burden on the examiner to examine both groups”. In response to the Applicant’s remarks, the examiner found that the applicant response is persuasive and therefore the Restriction is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 12, 25-27, 36-37, and 60 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Guan et al. (hereinafter “guan”, WO2020029725.
As per claim 1, Guan discloses a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving, from a network entity, a control message associated with an uplink transmission from one or more antenna panels, wherein the control message comprises a first indication associated with an uplink transmission configuration indicator and a second indication of an uplink power control parameter set identifier associated with the first indication (see fig. 8, step 606, the terminal device receives the SRI. Spatial Relation (SR) may also be referred to as uplink TCI. Each spatial relation may also include power control information, see pg. 15/ln. 30- pg. 17/ln. 16 and pg. 36/ln. 22- pg. 38/ln. 27); and communicating with the network entity based at least in part on the first indication associated with the uplink transmission configuration indicator and the second indication of the uplink power control parameter set identifier (see fig. 8, steps 609-611, step 609, the terminal device determines a transmission beam and a transmission power for transmitting the uplink signal according to the spatial relation. Accordingly, in step 610, the network device determines a receive beam for receiving the uplink signal according to the spatial relation. In step 611, the terminal device transmits the uplink signal through the transmission beam based on the transmission power. And according to step 611, the network device receives the uplink signal through the receiving beam, see pg. 15/ln. 30- pg. 17/ln. 16 and pg. 36/ln. 22- pg. 38/ln. 27).
As per claim 2, Guan discloses receiving, from the network entity, a downlink control information after receiving the control message, wherein the downlink control information indicates a value for a codepoint (see throughout the reference, TCI value).
As per claim 3, Guan discloses the first indication associated with the uplink transmission configuration indicator comprises an uplink transmission configuration indicator state identifier for the codepoint (see throughout the reference, uplink BWP ID).
As per claim 7, Guan discloses the control message comprises a third indication of the codepoint (see pg. 15/ln. 30- pg. 17/ln. 16 and pg. 36/ln. 22- pg. 38/ln. 27).
As per claim 12, Guan discloses the first indication associated with the uplink transmission configuration indicator comprises a codepoint identifier associated with a codepoint (see pg. 15/ln. 30- pg. 17/ln. 16 and pg. 36/ln. 22- pg. 38/ln. 27).
As per claim 25, as rejected above in claim 1, Guan discloses a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving, from a network entity, a control message associated with an uplink transmission from one or more antenna panels, the control message comprising a bit, wherein a value of the bit indicates whether an uplink transmission configuration indicator is included in the control message or an uplink power control parameter set identifier is included in the control message (see fig. 3, pg. 14-39, Table 1 & Table 2); and communicating with the network entity based at least in part on the uplink transmission configuration indicator or the uplink power control parameter set identifier (see pg. 15/ln. 30- pg. 17/ln. 16 and pg. 36/ln. 22- pg. 38/ln. 27).
As per claim 26, Guan discloses receiving, from the network entity, a downlink control information after receiving the control message, wherein the downlink control information indicates a value for a codepoint (see throughout the reference, TCI value).
As per claim 27, Guan discloses the uplink transmission configuration indicator is associated with the codepoint (see throughout the reference, TCI value).
As per claim 36, Guan discloses a method for wireless communication at a network entity, comprising: transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a control message associated with an uplink transmission from one or more antenna panels, wherein the control message comprises a first indication associated with an uplink transmission configuration indicator and a second indication of an uplink power control parameter set identifier associated with the first indication (see fig. 8, step 606, the terminal device receives the SRI. Spatial Relation (SR) may also be referred to as uplink TCI. Each spatial relation may also include power control information, see pg. 15/ln. 30- pg. 17/ln. 16 and pg. 36/ln. 22- pg. 38/ln. 27);; and communicating with the UE based at least in part on the first indication associated with the uplink transmission configuration indicator and the second indication of the uplink power control parameter set identifier (see fig. 8, steps 609-611, step 609, the terminal device determines a transmission beam and a transmission power for transmitting the uplink signal according to the spatial relation. Accordingly, in step 610, the network device determines a receive beam for receiving the uplink signal according to the spatial relation. In step 611, the terminal device transmits the uplink signal through the transmission beam based on the transmission power. And according to step 611, the network device receives the uplink signal through the receiving beam, see pg. 15/ln. 30- pg. 17/ln. 16 and pg. 36/ln. 22- pg. 38/ln. 27).
As per claim 37, Guan discloses transmitting, to the UE, a downlink control information after transmitting the control message, wherein the downlink control information indicates a value for a codepoint (see throughout the reference, TCI value).
As per claim 60, Guan discloses a method for wireless communication at a network entity, comprising: transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a control message associated with an uplink transmission from one or more antenna panels, the control message comprising a bit, wherein a value of the bit indicates whether an uplink transmission configuration indicator is included in the control message or an uplink power control parameter set identifier is included in the control message (see fig. 3, pg. 14-39, Table 1 & Table 2); and communicating with the UE based at least in part on the uplink transmission configuration indicator or the uplink power control parameter set identifier (see pg. 15/ln. 30- pg. 17/ln. 16 and pg. 36/ln. 22- pg. 38/ln. 27).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6, 8-11, 13-14, 15-22, and 28-29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Pablo Tran whose telephone number is (571)272-7898. The examiner normal hours are 9:30 -5:00 (Monday-Friday). If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Jinsong Hu, can be reached at (571)272-3965. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571)273-8300.
Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) System. Status information for
Published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR.
Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only.
For more information about the PAIR system, see httpr//pair-directauspto.gov. Should
You have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic
Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (in USA or CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
January 29, 2026
/PABLO N TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643