DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 11/13/2025 has been entered. Claim 1 has been cancelled. Claims 2-16 remain pending in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/25/2025 and 11/25/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 13, line 3, delete “the secondary systems” and replace with “the secondary system”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5, 7, 10-13, 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hudson (US Pub 2016/0114685) in view of Klang (US Patent 7,619,417) and further in view of ZAERI et al. US Pub 2018/0029436 (hereinafter ZAERI).
Regarding claim 2, Hudson teaches an auxiliary power supply for secondary systems in a commercial truck (¶¶ 0002, 0010-0013, 0022, 0024-0025; truck), the auxiliary power supply comprising:
a) a battery module assembly comprising, a plurality of battery cells (see fig. 4, element 10a; battery arrays), a positive bus terminal (+ terminal), a negative bus terminal (- terminal), and an electrical connector (a connector which is able to connect to at least one charging cable);
b) a first charge cable (fig. 4, element 80a) having a first end and a second end, the first charge cable being:
1) operatively coupled to the positive bus terminal at the first end of the first charge cable (see fig. 4 below); and
2) operatively coupled to an alternator (fig. 4, element 14) associated with the commercial truck at the second end of the first charge cable (see fig. 4 below);
c) a second charge cable (fig. 4, element 84a; grounded negative wire) having a first end and a second end, the second charge cable being:
1) operatively coupled to the negative bus terminal at the first end of the second charge cable (see fig. 4 below); and
2) operatively coupled to the alternator (14) associated with the commercial truck at the second end of the second charge cable (see fig. 4 below);
Hudson fails to teach the system includes a first remote sense wire and a second remote sense wire, wherein:
1) each of the first remote sense wire and the second remote sense wire are operatively coupled to the electrical connector at a first end of each of the first remote sense wire and the second remote sense wire; and
2) the second remote sense wire is operatively coupled to the alternator associated with the commercial truck at a second end of the second remote sense wire; and
e) a battery management system (BMS) operatively coupled to the electrical connector, the BMS being adapted to provide an offset voltage to a remote sense input of the alternator associated with the commercial truck, wherein the alternator associated with the commercial truck is configured to increase a voltage output to compensate for the offset voltage.
Klang further discloses an automotive vehicle (fig. 1, element 10) includes a first remote sense wire and a second remote sense wire (see fig. 1 below), wherein:
1) each of the first remote sense wire and the second remote sense wire (see fig. 1 below) are operatively coupled to the electrical connector (the connector of the battery 37) at a first end of each of the first remote sense wire and the second remote sense wire; and
2) the second remote sense wire is operatively coupled to (operatively coupled to the alternator via the microprocessor 22) the alternator (fig. 1, element 20) associated with the commercial truck at a second end of the second remote sense wire (fig. 1); and
e) a battery management system (BMS) [see fig. 1, element 12] operatively coupled to the electrical connector, the BMS being adapted to provide an offset voltage to a remote sense input of the alternator associated with the commercial truck, wherein the alternator associated with the commercial truck is configured to increase a voltage output to compensate for the offset voltage (Col. 9, lines 21-30; a control line is provided to allow control of alternator 20. The control can be by simply adjusting the voltage supplied to a voltage regulator of alternator 20 to thereby control charging of battery. The control unit of Klang is able to increase or decrease the voltage supplied to the voltage regulator of the alternator. Therefore, the output voltage of the alternator can be increased or decreased according to the control signal).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hudson to incorporate with the teaching of Klang by including the battery management system to control of the output voltage of the alternator as suggested by Klang, because it would be advantageous to optimize the charging process of the vehicle battery and further prolong the service life of it.
Hudson in view of Klang fails to teach the auxiliary power supply includes a plurality of lithium-ion battery cells.
ZAERI further discloses the auxiliary power supply (¶ 0027; the vehicle includes an alternator to charge the vehicle electrical system battery) includes a plurality of lithium-ion battery cells (¶ 0027; the rechargeable batteries can be lithium iron phosphate [LFP] batteries).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hudson in view of Klang to incorporate with the teaching of ZAERI by including the LFP batteries in the system, because it would be advantageous to maintain thermal stability and have longer lifespan.
Regarding claim 3, Hudson in combination of Klang and ZAERI teaches wherein the plurality of lithium-ion battery cells are lithium iron phosphate (LFP) battery cells (ZAERI, ¶ 0027; LFP batteries), and wherein the first remote sense wire is operatively coupled to a positive terminal of a starting battery (Hudson, fig. 1, element 10b) associated with the commercial truck at a second end of the first remote sense wire (Klang, fig. 1; the second end of the first remote sense wire is connected to the alternator).
Regarding claim 4, Hudson teaches wherein a first pin of the electrical connector is an input, and a second pin in the electrical connector is an output (see fig. 4; during charging process).
Regarding claim 5, Hudson in combination of Klang and ZAERI teaches wherein the BMS is adapted to limit a magnitude of the offset voltage such that the offset voltage does not violate the voltage or current limits of the alternator associated with the commercial truck, the voltage limits of a starting battery associated with the commercial truck, voltage limits of other electrical systems associated with the commercial truck, or a voltage limit of the battery module assembly, and wherein the increased voltage output from the alternator associated with the commercial truck to compensate for the offset voltage causes an increase in charge current to the battery module assembly (Klang, col. 9, lines 20-31; by adjusting the voltage supplied to the voltage regulator of alternator to thereby control charging of battery).
Regarding claim 7, Hudson teaches wherein the wire bonding of each lithium-ion battery cell consists of three wires, wherein one of the three wires is positive (fig. 4, element 82) and two of the three wires are negative (fig. 4, elements 84a, 84b).
Regarding claim 10, Hudson in combination of Klang and ZAERI teaches wherein each of the lithium-ion battery cells is a lithium iron phosphate (LFP) battery cell (ZAERI, ¶ 0027; LFP battery).
Regarding claim 11, Hudson teaches wherein outer dimensions of the battery module assembly are consistent with a double-length Group 31 form factor (¶ 0029).
Regarding claim 12, Hudson teaches a method for decreasing a charge time for an auxiliary power supply for secondary systems in a commercial truck (¶¶ 0002, 0010-0013, 0022, 0024-0025; truck), the method comprising:
a) coupling a first end of a first charge cable (fig. 4, element 80a) to a negative bus terminal of a battery module assembly (see fig. 4 below);
b) coupling a second end of the first charge cable to an alternator (fig. 4, element 14) associated with the commercial truck;
c) coupling a first end of a second charge cable (fig. 4, element 84a; grounded negative wire) to a positive bus terminal of the battery module assembly (see fig. 4);
d) coupling a second end of the second charge cable (fig. 4, element 84a; grounded negative wire) to the alternator (14) associated with the commercial truck; and the commercial truck includes a starting battery (fig. 4, element 10b).
Hudson fails to teach the method comprising:
e) coupling a first end of a first remote sense wire to an electrical connector of the battery module assembly;
f) coupling a second end of the first remote sense wire to a positive terminal of a starting battery associated with the commercial truck;
g) coupling a first end of a second remote sense wire to the electrical connector of the battery module assembly;
h) coupling a second end of the second remote sense wire to the alternator associated with the commercial truck;
i) sensing, at the second end of the first remote sense wire, a voltage of the starting battery;
j) sensing, at the second end of the second remote sense wire, a charge current of the alternator associated with the commercial truck;
k) providing an offset voltage to a remote sense input of the alternator associated with the commercial truck, wherein the alternator associated with the commercial truck is configured to increase voltage output to compensate for the offset voltage, and wherein the increased voltage output causes an increase in charge current from the alternator associated with the commercial truck to the battery module assembly.
Klang further discloses an automotive vehicle (fig. 1, element 10) includes a first remote sense wire and a second remote sense wire (see fig. 1 below), wherein:
e) coupling a first end of a first remote sense wire (see fig. 1 below) to an electrical connector of the battery module assembly (the connector of the battery 37);
f) coupling a second end of the first remote sense wire to a positive terminal (see fig. 1 below) of a starting battery (Col. 1, line 24-26) associated with the commercial truck;
g) coupling a first end of a second remote sense wire (see fig. 1 below) to the electrical connector of the battery module assembly (the Office take position to interpret the battery module assembly is the same as the starting battery; see Col. 1, lines 24-26);
h) coupling a second end of the second remote sense wire (see fig. 1 below) to the alternator associated with the commercial truck (the second end of the second remote sense wire is connected via element 22);
i) sensing, at the second end of the first remote sense wire, a voltage of the starting battery (Col. 9, lines 13-14; voltage sensor);
j) sensing, at the second end of the second remote sense wire, a charge current of the alternator associated with the commercial truck (col. 7, lines 17-21; via current sensor 26);
k) providing an offset voltage to a remote sense input of the alternator associated with the commercial truck, wherein the alternator associated with the commercial truck is configured to increase voltage output to compensate for the offset voltage, and wherein the increased voltage output causes an increase in charge current from the alternator associated with the commercial truck to the battery module assembly (Col. 9, lines 21-30; a control line is provided to allow control of alternator 20. The control can be by simply adjusting the voltage supplied to a voltage regulator of alternator 20 to thereby control charging of battery. The control unit of Klang is able to increase or decrease the voltage supplied to the voltage regulator of the alternator. Therefore, the output voltage of the alternator can be increased or decreased according to the control signal).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hudson to incorporate with the teaching of Klang by including the battery management system to control of the output voltage of the alternator as suggested by Klang, because it would be advantageous to optimize the charging process of the vehicle battery and further prolong the service life of it.
Hudson in view of Klang fails to teach the auxiliary power supply includes a plurality of lithium-ion battery cells.
ZAERI further discloses the auxiliary power supply (¶ 0027; the vehicle includes an alternator to charge the vehicle electrical system battery) includes a plurality of lithium-ion battery cells (¶ 0027; the rechargeable batteries can be lithium iron phosphate [LFP] batteries).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hudson in view of Klang to incorporate with the teaching of ZAERI by including the LFP batteries in the system, because it would be advantageous to maintain thermal stability and have longer lifespan.
Regarding claim 13, Hudson teaches wherein:
the secondary systems include a heating ventilation and air conditioning (HVAC) system associated with the commercial truck (¶ 0039; bunk air conditioning unit 16); and the battery module assembly includes a plurality of battery modules (see fig. 4, elements 10a and 10b).
Regarding claim 15, Hudson teaches wherein: the first and second charge cables (see fig. 4 above) are configured to operatively couple the battery module assembly (10a, 10b) and the alternator (14); and the operative coupling enables the alternator to charge the battery module assembly (claims 3 and 18).
Regarding claim 16, Hudson in combination of Klang and ZAERI teaches wherein: a portion of the plurality of lithium-ion battery cells (ZAERI, ¶ 0027) comprise a positive cell array (Hudson, fig. 4, element 10a), and another portion of the plurality of lithium-ion battery cells comprise a negative cell array (Hudson, fig. 4, element 10b); and the positive cell array includes the BMS (Klang, Col. 9, lines 21-31), the BMS further adapted to monitor operative aspects of the lithium-ion battery cells, wherein the operative aspects include cell voltage, cell current, and temperature (Klang, Col. 9, lines 7-9).
Claim(s) 6 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hudson in combination of Klang and ZAERI as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Guglielmo (WO201914653A1).
Regarding claim 6, Hudson in combination of Klang and ZAERI fails to teach wherein each lithium-ion battery cell in the plurality of lithium-ion battery cells is interconnected via wire bonding to a printed circuit board (PCB) on a top side of the lithium-ion battery cells.
Guglielmo further discloses wherein each lithium-ion battery cell in the plurality of lithium-ion battery cells is interconnected via wire bonding (¶ 0065) to a printed circuit board (PCB) on a top side of the lithium-ion battery cells (claim 3).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hudson in combination of Klang and ZAERI to incorporate with the teaching of Guglielmo by bonding the PCB on the top side of the battery pack, because it would be advantageous to reduce thermal stress and easy replacement.
Regarding claim 14, Hudson in combination of Klang and ZAERI fails to teach wherein: the battery module assembly further comprises:
a top battery cell tray and a bottom battery cell tray, and an aluminum enclosure base including a plastic lid; and each of the plurality of lithium-ion battery cells is held in place between the top battery cell tray and the bottom battery cell tray using an adhesive.
Guglielmo further discloses wherein: the battery module assembly further comprises:
a top battery cell tray and a bottom battery cell tray (¶ 0018), and an aluminum enclosure base (¶ 0075) including a plastic lid (¶ 0018); and each of the plurality of lithium-ion battery cells is held in place between the top battery cell tray and the bottom battery cell tray using an adhesive (¶¶ 0077, 0079).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hudson in combination of Klang and ZAERI to incorporate with the teaching of Guglielmo by placing the battery cells inside the aluminum casing with a plastic lid, because it would be advantageous to protect the battery cells from physical damage and further prolong the service life of the battery pack.
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hudson in combination of Klang and ZAERI as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Ionescu et al. US 2021/0221251 (hereinafter Ionescu).
Regarding claim 8, Hudson in combination of Klang and ZAERI fails to teach the lithium-ion auxiliary power supply further comprising a plurality of active balancing circuits, wherein each active balancing circuit is associated with a bank of lithium-ion battery cells, and wherein each active balancing circuit is configured to discharge excess energy from the associated bank of lithium-ion battery cells and transfer the excess energy to one or more other banks of lithium-ion battery cells.
However, Ionescu further discloses the lithium-ion auxiliary power supply further comprising a plurality of active balancing circuits (¶ 0032; active balancing circuit), wherein each active balancing circuit is associated with a bank of lithium-ion battery cells, and wherein each active balancing circuit is configured to discharge excess energy from the associated bank of lithium-ion battery cells and transfer the excess energy to one or more other banks of lithium-ion battery cells (¶ 0031; energy is transferred from the cell with the highest charge to the cell with the lowest charge).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hudson in combination of Klang and ZAERI to incorporate with the teaching of Ionescu by transferring the cell with highest charge to the cell with the lowest charge in order to achieve cells balancing, because it would be advantageous to protect the health and lifespan of the battery cells.
Regarding claim 9, Hudson in combination of Klang and ZAERI fails to teach wherein each active balancing circuit is configured to operate independently of any other active balancing circuit.
However, Ionescu further discloses wherein each active balancing circuit is configured to operate independently of any other active balancing circuit (¶¶ 0028, 0031-0032; independent module).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hudson in combination of Klang and ZAERI to incorporate with the teaching of Ionescu by transferring the cell with highest charge to the cell with the lowest charge in order to achieve cells balancing, because it would be advantageous to protect the health and lifespan of the battery cells.
Conclusion
/ZIXUAN ZHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859 01/12/2026