DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lin et al. (US Pub. 2021/0160879 B1).
In regards to claim 1, Lin teaches, a method for wireless communication performed by a wireless node, comprising: receiving downlink control information (DCI) indicating a repetition configuration, wherein the repetition configuration indicates a having a plurality of bits that each corresponds to a respective slot of a transmission period, wherein a value, of each bit of the plurality of bits (see figure 9, step 920; the UE receives GC-DCI; see paragraph 320; the GC-DCI format can include a bitmap of 10 bits corresponding to 10 UEs and the GC-DCI format can schedule only up to 4 UEs that are indicated by the bitmap, where for example a bitmap value of “1” indicates scheduling and a bitmap value of “0” indicates no scheduling for a corresponding UE. Then, the GC-DCI format includes 4 sets of UE-specific fields. This allows the UEs scheduled by the GC-DCI format to be dynamically selected based on the bitmap while avoiding a large size for the GC-DCI format by having a limit on the number of UEs that can be scheduled and having a corresponding limit to the number of sets of UE-specific fields; see paragraph 321; group scheduling for semi-persistently scheduled (SPS) PDSCH receptions is provided, wherein a UE monitors PDCCH for detection of a CGS-DCI format that indicates activation, deactivation, or retransmission of SPS PDSCH for a group of UEs ), indicates whether the respective slot is configured for a repetition transmission of broadcast information via a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH); identifying, based at least in part on the bitmap, a quantity of one or more slots as being configured to carry one or more repetition transmissions of the broadcast information via(see paragraph 321; group scheduling for semi-persistently scheduled (SPS) PDSCH receptions is provided, wherein a UE monitors PDCCH for detection of a CGS-DCI format that indicates activation, deactivation, or retransmission of SPS PDSCH for a group of UEs); and receiving the one or more repetition transmissions of the broadcast information via the quantity of one or more slots via the PDSCH (see figure 11, step 1140; see paragraph 242; The UE receives SPS PDSCH or transmits CG PUSCH in the determined resources and per determined parameters at step 1140).
In regards to claim 2, Lin teaches, wherein the quantity of the one or more slots is based at least in part on a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) or a group of wireless nodes including the wireless node (see paragraph 221; if a new format is used for the GC-DCI, then a size of the new format is aligned with one of the existing DCI formats to ensure no increase in UE blind decoding attempts. In one example, a GC-DCI used for UE-group release of DL SPS/UL CG configurations can include predetermined values for predetermined fields for validation of a GC-DCI as a UE-group release, such as one or more of: HARQ process number (HPN) set to all 0's, NDI=0, RV=00, MCS=all 1's, and FDRA=all 1's (if supported and/or applicable); see paragraph 220; a group-common DCI (GC-DCI) format (say DCI format 2_x e.g., 2_5, or e.g., same/similar to a GC-DCI for UE-group activation command as described in the embodiments for group activation of DL SPS/UL CG for one or multiple UEs via PDSCH above).
In regards to claim 3, Lin teaches, wherein the bitmap identifies the quantity of one or more slots as being within the transmission period of a first system information block (SIB 1) (see paragraph 194; Regarding which HARQ feedback scheme to use for a PDSCH carrying a UE-group activation command for DL SPS/UL CG: in one example, dedicated or broadcast configuration signaling (e.g., RRC or SIB) e.g., in DL SPS/UL CG configuration and/or in UE-group activation configuration (e.g., CORESET/search space configuration for GC-DCI).
In regards to claim 4, Lin teaches, receiving the SIB 1 in one or more of the quantity of one or more slots within the transmission period (see paragraph 165; the UE receives an indication (via RRC/SIB or DCI or MAC) for the HARQ feedback scheme (e.g., alternatives (1) or (2) or (3) of enhancements thereof) corresponding to the shared DL SPS).
In regards to claim 7, Lin teaches, wherein only a subset of the quantity of one or more slots are configured for the repetition transmissions (see paragraph 320; the GC-DCI format can include a bitmap of 10 bits corresponding to 10 UEs and the GC-DCI format can schedule only up to 4 UEs that are indicated by the bitmap, where for example a bitmap value of “1” indicates scheduling and a bitmap value of “0” indicates no scheduling for a corresponding UE).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin as stated above further in view of Li et al. (US Pub. 2019/0159172 A9).
In regards to claim 6, Lin teaches all the limitations of the parent claims as stated above.
However, Lin fails to teach the bitmap being replicated to identify one or more additional quantities of one or more slots.
Li et al. (US Pub. 2019/0159172 A9) however teaches, bitmap being replicated to identify one or more additional quantities of one or more slots (see paragraph 210; A CE-PBCH repetition pattern or a repetitions pattern for a PDSCH conveying the CE-SIB can include a bitmap indicating frames with CE-PBCH transmission (or quadruples of frames as a CE-PBCH can be transmitted in four self-decodable segments over respective frames); the quadrupling reads on the replication/duplication).
Li and Jang both relate to uplink/downlink communication in a cellular/wireless environment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the duplication of the bitmap as taught by Li into the teachings of Lin. The motivation to do so would be to allow for predictable resource locations for broadcast information in a shared downlink channel where a mobile station changes location rapidly.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-14, 16-17, 19-21, 23-24 and 26-32 are allowed.
The reasons for allowance have previously been indicated.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAY P PATEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466