DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7, it is unclear how protrusion B and C can define a conical surface along the
longitudinal axis and also have a circular contour with the same radius. For example, in fig. 10, C has a larger radius than B in order to create the conical surface represent by angle 4. Clarification is needed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DE 3,402,525.
In regard to claim 1, DE 3,402,525 discloses (fig. 4) a connector system providing a releasable, liquid-tight seal for a fluid system, the connector system comprising:
a female connector 37, having a cylindrical opening along a longitudinal axis with an inner circumferential surface; and
a male connector 1, having a tubular end section along the longitudinal axis, which is to be inserted in an insertion direction into the cylindrical opening, wherein inside the tubular end section a fluid passage is formed along the longitudinal axis, and wherein on an outer circumferential surface of the tubular end section 1, annular protrusions (B, C) (barbs on 27 that tapered, so the barb at the distal end of 27 have a smaller diameter than the barbs closer to 33) are integrally formed, the annular protrusions (B, C) comprising:
an intermediate protrusion (B) having an outer diameter (Rb), which is bigger than an inner diameter (D) of the cylindrical opening, and a rear protrusion (C) located with respect to the insertion direction behind the intermediate protrusion (B) having an outer diameter (Rc), which is bigger than the outer diameter (Rb) of the intermediate protrusion (B);
wherein, when the tubular end section with the annular protrusions (B, C) is inserted into the cylindrical opening, the intermediate protrusion (B) and the rear protrusion (C) each form a press-fit with the inner circumferential surface of the cylindrical opening, whereby a liquid-tight seal between the male connector and the female connector is generated.
In regard to claim 2, wherein the annular protrusions further comprise:
an annular front protrusion (A) (first barb at the axial end of 1) located with respect to the insertion direction in front of the intermediate protrusion (B), which has an outer diameter (Ra), which is the same or smaller as the inner diameter (D) of the cylindrical opening.
In regard to claim 3, wherein the outer diameters (Ra, Rb, Rc) of the protrusions (A, B, C) are defined by the outermost points in radial direction on the circumferential outer surfaces of each protrusion (A, B, C); and
the outer diameters (Ra, Rb, Rc) of the protrusions (A, B, C) define a conical surface around the longitudinal axis (see fig. 4).
In regard to claim 5, wherein a contour of a protrusion (40 of Okita et al.) is defined by the shape of its outer surface along the longitudinal axis; and
the region of the contour of a protrusion 40, which is in contact with the female connector in a press-fit, has the same convex shape in insertion and extraction direction along the longitudinal axis.
In regard to claim 6, wherein the protrusions 40 are rotationally symmetrical with regard to the longitudinal axis; and the protrusions 40 have the same contour arranged in different radial distances from the longitudinal axis.
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DeSombre et al. 2019/0105483.
In regard to claim 1, DeSombre et al. discloses (fig. 2c) a connector system providing a releasable, liquid-tight seal for a fluid system, the connector system comprising:
a female connector 97, having a cylindrical opening along a longitudinal axis with an inner circumferential surface; and
a male connector 5, having a tubular end section 44 along the longitudinal axis, which is to be inserted in an insertion direction into the cylindrical opening, wherein inside the tubular end section a fluid passage is formed along the longitudinal axis, and wherein on an outer circumferential surface of the tubular end section 44, annular protrusions (B, C) (barbs on 44 that tapered, so the barb at the distal end of 44 have a smaller diameter than the barbs closer to 4c) are integrally formed, the annular protrusions (B, C) comprising:
an intermediate protrusion (B) having an outer diameter (Rb), which is bigger than an inner diameter (D) of the cylindrical opening, and a rear protrusion (C) located with respect to the insertion direction behind the intermediate protrusion (B) having an outer diameter (Rc), which is bigger than the outer diameter (Rb) of the intermediate protrusion (B);
wherein, when the tubular end section with the annular protrusions (B, C) is inserted into the cylindrical opening 11, the intermediate protrusion (B) and the rear protrusion (C) each form a press-fit with the inner circumferential surface of the cylindrical opening, whereby a liquid-tight seal between the male connector and the female connector is generated.
In regard to claim 2, wherein the annular protrusions further comprise:
an annular front protrusion (A) (first barb at the axial end of 1) located with respect to the insertion direction in front of the intermediate protrusion (B), which has an outer diameter (Ra), which is the same or smaller as the inner diameter (D) of the cylindrical opening.
In regard to claim 3, wherein the outer diameters (Ra, Rb, Rc) of the protrusions (A, B, C) are defined by the outermost points in radial direction on the circumferential outer surfaces of each protrusion (A, B, C); and
the outer diameters (Ra, Rb, Rc) of the protrusions (A, B, C) define a conical surface around the longitudinal axis (see fig. 2c).
Claim(s) 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okita et al. 2016/0003391.
In regard to claim 16, Okita et al. discloses (fig. 4 and 6) a coupling system for a hose, the coupling system comprising:
a connector having 14 a cylindrical wall 12 defining an inner fluid passage along a longitudinal axis;
wherein the connector has an outer circumferential surface defining an outer thread 22, and a conical section 34 comprises an end face of the connector, which is integrally formed in the cylindrical wall and whose diameter is reduced towards an end face of the connector, and which is to be inserted into a hose 16; and
a tubular clamping nut 20 arranged around the connector along the longitudinal axis;
wherein the clamping nut has an inner circumferential surface defining an inner thread 42 engaging the outer thread of the connector, wherein rotation of the threads causes the clamping nut to move relative to the connector along the longitudinal axis;
wherein the inner circumferential surface of the clamp further defines a clamping surface 46 around the conical section 34 of the connector; and wherein by rotation of the clamp around the connector,
a clamping distance between the clamping surface and a lateral surface of the integrally formed conical section is reduced, in order to press a hose wall 16 against the conical surface 34.
In regard to claim 17, wherein the clamping surface 46 extends rotationally symmetrically along the conical section, and during rotation the lateral surface of the conical section and the clamping surfaces are shifted along the longitudinal axis towards each other.
Claim(s) 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Boelkins 4,951,976.
In regard to claim 16, Boelkins discloses a coupling system for a hose, the coupling system comprising:
a connector having 12 cylindrical wall 18 defining an inner fluid passage along a longitudinal axis;
wherein the connector has an outer circumferential surface defining an outer thread 38, and a conical section 22, which is integrally formed in the cylindrical wall and whose diameter is reduced towards an end face of the connector, and which is to be inserted into a hose 16; and
a tubular clamping nut 14 arranged around the connector along the longitudinal axis;
wherein the clamping nut has an inner circumferential surface defining an inner thread 40 engaging the outer thread of the connector, wherein rotation of the threads causes the clamping nut to move relative to the connector along the longitudinal axis;
wherein the inner circumferential surface of the clamp further defines a clamping surface 44 around the conical section of the connector; and wherein by rotation of the clamp around the connector,
a clamping distance between the clamping surface and a lateral surface of the integrally formed conical section is reduced, in order to press a hose wall 26 against the conical surface 22.
In regard to claim 17, wherein the clamping surface extends rotationally symmetrically along the conical section, and during rotation the lateral surface of the conical section and the clamping surfaces are shifted along the longitudinal axis towards each other.
In regard to claim 18, wherein the clamping surface 44 and the conical surface 22 are parallel surfaces and, during rotation of the clamp, are shifted in parallel to each other (see col. 3, lines 15-17).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okita et al. 2016/0003391 in view of DE 3,402,525.
In regard to claim 1, Okita et al. discloses (figs. 4 and 6) a connector system providing a releasable, liquid-tight seal for a fluid system, the connector system comprising:
a female connector 16, having a cylindrical opening along a longitudinal axis with an inner circumferential surface; and
a male connector 14, having a tubular end section 32 along the longitudinal axis, which is to be inserted in an insertion direction into the cylindrical opening, wherein inside the tubular end section a fluid passage is formed along the longitudinal axis, and wherein on an outer circumferential surface of the tubular end section, annular protrusions 40 are integrally formed, the annular protrusions (92) comprising:
wherein, when the tubular end section 38 with the annular protrusions (40) is inserted into the cylindrical opening 16, the protrusions 40 form a press-fit with the inner circumferential surface of the cylindrical opening 16, whereby a liquid-tight seal between the male connector and the female connector is generated.
Okita et al. discloses providing the tubular section with protrusions for forming a press-fit seal, but does not disclose varying the outer diameters of the protrusions. DE 3,402,525 teaches providing that a tubular insert 1 for making a press-fit seal with either protrusions 41 of constant diameter (see fig. 5) or protrusions 27 on a conical surface (see fig. 4) are common and well known in the art. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the constant diameter protrusions 40 of Okita et al. with protrusions that increase in diameter from an axial end toward the center of the fitting because inasmuch as the references disclose these elements as art recognized equivalents, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute one for the other. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 301, 213 USPQ 532, 536 (CCPA 1982).
In regard to claim 2, wherein the annular protrusions further comprise:
an annular front protrusion (27 of fig. 4 of DE ‘525) (first barb at the axial end of 1) located with respect to the insertion direction in front of the intermediate protrusion (B), which has an outer diameter (Ra), which is the same or smaller as the inner diameter (D) of the cylindrical opening (DE ‘525 teaches providing three barbs, from distal end to center, where the diameter increases for each of the three barbs from the end toward the center).
In regard to claim 3, wherein the outer diameters (Ra, Rb, Rc) of the protrusions 27 are defined by the outermost points in radial direction on the circumferential outer surfaces of each protrusion (A, B, C); and
the outer diameters (Ra, Rb, Rc) of the protrusions 27 define a conical surface around the longitudinal axis (see fig. 4 of DE ‘525).
In regard to claim 4, Okita et al. 2016/0003391 in view of DE 3,402,525 disclose a conical inclination on the tubular insert, but it is unclear as to the exact slope of the incline. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the incline of Okita et al. 2016/0003391 in view of DE 3,402,525 to include an incline of .5 to 1 degrees because a change in the shape of a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
In regard to claim 5, wherein a contour of a protrusion (40 of Okita et al.) is defined by the shape of its outer surface along the longitudinal axis; and
the region of the contour of a protrusion 40, which is in contact with the female connector in a press-fit, has the same convex shape in insertion and extraction direction along the longitudinal axis.
In regard to claim 6, wherein the protrusions 40 are rotationally symmetrical with regard to the longitudinal axis; and the protrusions 40 have the same contour arranged in different radial distances from the longitudinal axis.
In regard to claim 9, wherein one of the female or the male connector further comprises a union thread 22 on its outer circumferential surface;
the other one of the female or the male connector, comprises an annular union protrusion 28; and
the connector system further comprises a union nut 20 mechanically engaging the union protrusion (portion 62 engages the annular protrusion 28 at 64) (see paragraph 55) and the union thread 22, wherein the female and the male connectors, are held in an inserted state.
In regard to claim 10, wherein the male connector 14 is made of a single material.
In regard to claim 11, wherein the female connector 16 is made of a single material, which is more elastic than the material of the male connector 14.
In regard to claim 12, wherein the male and the female connectors are monolithic plastic injection-molded parts (injection-molded parts is considered a product by process limitation and is given little patentable weight in an apparatus claim. The male and female parts are made from plastic and have the same structure as the claimed invention and is therefore deemed to anticipate the apparatus claim).
In regard to claim 13, wherein the female and male connectors are configured to be connected in a linear movement, without rotational movement, along the longitudinal axis to generate a liquid-tight seal (16 is axially pressed onto 32).
In regard to claim 14, wherein no additional sealing component, specifically elastomeric component, is used in the connection system to generate the liquid-tight seal.
In regard to claim 15, wherein between the intermediate protrusion (40), the rear protrusion 40), and the inner circumferential surface of the cylindrical opening 16, a closed labyrinth is generated.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 19-24 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/17/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regard to claim 9, Applicant argues that Okita et al. fails to disclose an annular protrusion that is engaged by the union nut. The Examiner disagrees, as Okita et al. discloses an annular protrusion 28, protruding radially from surface 30 and a surface of 28 at 64 is engaged by surface 62 of the annular nut. Therefore the rejection has been maintained.
The amendment to claim 16 resulted in a change in how the Okita et al. reference was applied and also to the additional rejection of claims 16-18 in view of Boelkins 4,951,976, both of which are described in further detail above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID BOCHNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679