DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 27 August 2025 is acknowledged. Claims 10-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rao (2008) Thermophysical Properties of Sugarcane, Palmyra Palm, and Date-palm Granular Jaggery, International Journal of Food Properties, 11:4, 876-886, DOI: 10.1080/10942910701671281.
Regarding claim 1, Rao teaches a method for preparing a sweetener comprising:
Providing raw palm sap (pg. 877)
Heating the raw palm sap to form a concentrated hot syrup (Fig. 1)
Drying the hot concentrated syrup (Fig. 1)
Grinding the concentrate (Fig. 1)
Drying the granulate to a moisture content of 2.1% (Pg. 877, Table 3)
Regarding claim 2, the disclosure of a moisture content of 2.1% by Rao is interpreted to read on 2% as recited in claim 2 when the value of Rao is rounded to the same number of significant figures as claimed.
Regarding claim 3, Rao discloses air drying the hot concentrated syrup. (Fig. 1)
Regarding claim 4, the granular product of Rao is disclosed to be dried in a desiccator which is interpreted to read on air drying. (Pg. 877)
Regarding claims 5-7, the sweetener of Rao is produced from palmyra palm sap which is the same palm sap disclosed by applicant as having the components recited in claims 5-7. Therefore, the sweetener of Rao necessarily has the same components recited in claims 5-7.
Regarding claim 9, Rao discloses drying the hot concentrated syrup for 14 hrs. (Fig. 1)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rao (2008) Thermophysical Properties of Sugarcane, Palmyra Palm, and Date-palm Granular Jaggery, International Journal of Food Properties, 11:4, 876-886, DOI: 10.1080/10942910701671281 as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 8, Rao teaches what has been recited above. Rao teaches a drying temperature of 50°C.
While the drying temperature of Rao is less than recited in claim 8, no criticality has been demonstrated for the claimed drying temperature. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have increased the drying temperature in order to decrease the drying time while avoiding increasing the temperature above a point where the components of the syrup begin degrading. Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.) (MPEP 2144.05 II A, emphasis added)
Unlike the case law cited, in the instant case, the only difference between the claims and the prior art is the temperature at which the drying is performed. As such, claim 8 does not provide a patentable distinction over the prior art.
Conclusion
/Michele L Jacobson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1793