DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
The amendments received on 08/03/2025 have been entered. Claims 1, 4-5, 9, 13, 30, 34-35, 38-43, 45-47, and 76-79 are pending.
Claims 34-35, 38-43, and 45-47 remain withdrawn for being directed to non-elected invention(s).
Claim 79 is newly added.
Claims 1, 4-5, 9, 13, 30, and 76-79 are examined in this Office action.
Objections and Rejections that are Withdrawn
The Claim Objection to claim 76 has been withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendment to the claim.
The 35 USC § 112(b) Indefiniteness rejection to claims 1, 4-5, 9, 13, 30, and 76-78 has been withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendment to claim 1.
The 35 USC § 112(d) Failure to Further Limit rejection to claim 5 been withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendment to the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 9, 13, and 30 remain rejected and claim 79 is newly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bombom (Bombom et al., WIPO Publication WO/2015/042621, published on April 02, 2015, which has the benefit of PCT/AP2013/000002, filed on September 27, 2013, included in IDS dated 08/25/2022) in view of DeLong (DeLong et al., Pub. No.: US 2018/0228106 A1, Pub. Date: Aug. 16, 2018). This is a modified rejection necessitated by the claim amendments.
Claim 1 recites “a method of producing a sorghum doubled haploid embryo, or a sorghum doubled haploid plant, the method comprising:
pollinating a female sorghum diploid plant with pollen from a Pennisetum plant, a Cenchrus ciliaris L. plant, or a Panicum sumatrense plant;
obtaining a sorghum haploid embryo; and
contacting the sorghum haploid embryo, or a plant derived therefrom, with a chromosome doubling agent”.
Bombom teaches and claims a method of obtaining haploid sorghum plants wherein, the maize parent plant is used as the male parent in the cross and induces haploid production in sorghum (Bombom, claim 52, for example). Bombom further teaches that haploid sorghum and/or maize plants may be produced from crosses between sorghum and maize. In some aspects of the invention, haploid sorghum plants may be produced from a cross involving sorghum as the female parent plant and maize as the male parent plant. It follows therefrom that putative haploid sorghum and/or maize plants produced from wide crosses involving sorghum and/or maize are within the scope of the present invention (page 40, second paragraph).
Bombom teaches and claims that a second parent plant crossed to a sorghum plant is a plant in the Poaceae family – a Zea, Saccharum, Panicum, Miscanthus, Erianthus, Sorghastrum, or Pennisetum (i.e., pollinating a female sorghum diploid plant with pollen from a Pennisetum plant, a Cenchrus ciliaris L. plant, or a Panicum sumatrense plant) (Bombom, page 9, second paragraph, and claim 34).
Bombom teaches embryo rescue, an in-vitro culture technique involving the excision and culture of immature or weak embryos onto media culture providing opportunity for the isolated embryo to survive and develop into a viable plant (i.e., obtaining the sorghum haploid embryo) (page 12, paragraph 5).
Bombom does not explicitly teach contacting the sorghum haploid embryo, or a plant derived therefrom, with a chromosome doubling agent.
However, DeLong teaches that Sorghum bicolor is an important and valuable food and feed grain crop. In addition, its vegetative parts are used for forage, syrup and shelter. Thus, a continuing goal of plant breeders is to develop stable high yielding sorghum hybrids that are agronomically sound. The reasons for this goal are to maximize the amount of grain produced on the land used and to supply food for both animals and humans (page 1, paragraph 0002).
DeLong teaches and claims a method of producing a sorghum doubled haploid embryo, seed, or plant, said method comprising contacting the sorghum haploid embryo or seed or the sorghum haploid plant with a chromosome doubling agent (DeLong, claim 9); methods of producing sorghum doubled haploid embryos, seed, or plants are also provided in which a sorghum haploid embryo or seed or a sorghum haploid plant is placed in contact with a chromosome doubling agent (i.e., contacting the sorghum haploid embryo, or a plant derived therefrom, with a chromosome doubling agent) (page 1, paragraph 0006).
At the time the instant specification was filed, it would have been obvious and within the scope
of one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the method of obtaining haploid sorghum plants as taught by Bombom together with the method of producing a sorghum doubled haploid embryo, seed, or plant, said method comprising contacting the sorghum haploid embryo or seed or the sorghum haploid plant with a chromosome doubling agent as taught by DeLong. One would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Bombom and DeLong knowing that the method of contacting the sorghum haploid embryo or seed or the sorghum haploid plant with a chromosome doubling agent as taught by DeLong is a proven and common practice in the art for chromosome doubling. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a high expectation of success by combining the teachings of Bombom and DeLong.
The method of haploid induction including the steps of embryo rescue, and the use of a chromosome doubling agent in plants is a technique that was routine in the art at the time the application was filed, as taught by the cited references and the state of the art in general.
In regard to claim 4, DeLong teaches prior to pollination, the sorghum plants that are to be used as females may be emasculated using any known emasculation technique (i.e., wherein the sorghum plant is emasculated) (DeLong, page 4, paragraph 0068).
In regard to claims 5 and 79, Bombom teaches and claims wherein the second monocot parent plant is Pennisetum glaucum (i.e., wherein the Pennisetum plant is selected from the group consisting of Pennisetum glaucum, Pennisetum cenchroides, Pennisetum americanum (L.), Pennisetum typhoides auct., Cenchrus ciliaris L, and Panicum sumatrense) (Bombom, page 9, first full paragraph; claim 35).
In regard to claim 9, DeLong teaches and claims a sorghum haploid plant produced by growing the sorghum haploid embryo (i.e., generating a sorghum haploid seedling from the sorghum haploid embryo) (DeLong, claim 26; page 1, paragraph 0004).
In regard to claims 13 and 30, DeLong teaches and claims contacting the sorghum haploid embryo with a chromosome doubling agent (DeLong, claims 9, 19, and 29; page 4, paragraph 0067); methods of chromosome doubling involve contacting the cells with colchicine, anti-microtubule agents or anti-microtubule herbicides, pronamide, nitrous oxide, or any mitotic inhibitor (i.e., wherein the sorghum haploid embryo is exposed to a chromosome doubling agent; wherein the chromosome doubling agent is selected from the group consisting of colchicine, pronamide, dithiopyr, oryzalin, Amiprofos-methyl(AMP), and trifluralin) (DeLong, page 4, paragraph 0070).
Claims 76-78 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bombom (Bombom et al., WIPO Publication WO/2015/042621, published on April 02, 2015, which has the benefit of PCT/AP2013/000002, filed on September 27, 2013, included in IDS dated 08/25/2022) and DeLong (DeLong et al., Pub. No.: US 2018/0228106 A1, Pub. Date: Aug. 16, 2018) as applied to claims 1, 4-5, 9, 13, and 30 above, and in further view of Santra (Santra et al., 2017, Methods in Molecular Biology, Vol. 1679, Chapter 14, pp. 235-249).
Claim 76 recites “[t]he method of claim 1, further comprising contacting the caryopsis of the female sorghum plant with a growth regulator after pollination”.
Bombom and DeLong teach the method of claim 1.
Bombom and DeLong do not explicitly teach contacting the caryopsis of the female sorghum plant with a growth regulator after pollination.
However, Santra teaches the doubled haploid laboratory protocol for wheat using wheat-maize wide hybridization. The use of doubled haploid (DH) plants has revolutionized modern plant breeding and genetic mapping studies in many important crops. Rapid development of homozygosity shortens the breeding cycle time, leading to more rapid genetic gain and responsiveness to production and market challenges in commercial markets. The use of DHs may cut in half the time needed to produce a commercial cultivar in crops. Besides reducing time, DH technology fixes rare alleles and may play an important role in evaluation of genetic diversity. Thus, doubled haploid technology is useful in plant improvement for gene transfer and production of breeding lines, and in general biology for genome mapping and studies of chromosome behavior and phylogenetic relationships (Title and Introduction, page 235, first paragraph).
Santra further teaches that doubled haploids are homozygous plants developed by androgenesis (microspore and anther culture), gynogenesis (ovary and ovule culture), and wide hybridization. The method of crossing between species of the same or different genera is called wide hybridization. This technique includes six major steps: emasculation of the female flower; pollination of the emasculated flower; hormone treatment; embryo rescue; haploid plant regeneration in tissue culture medium; and chromosome doubling (Santra, Abstract, page 235).
In regard to claims 76-78, Santra teaches that the day after pollination the spikes should be sprayed with 2,4-D (Sigma) solution (Santra, Section 3.5, page 242). The instant specification describes that 24 hours after pollination, the plant growth regulator 2,4-D solution was sprayed on the pollinated spikelets (Example 2, page 28, paragraph 0098). In wheat, as in sorghum, the caryopsis lies within the spikes/spikelets (i.e., contacting the caryopsis of the female sorghum plant with a growth regulator after pollination (instant claim 76); wherein the growth regulator comprises indole acetic acid (IAA); indole-3-butyric-acid; 2,4-D; picloram; dicamba; 3,4-D; 2,4,5-T; or naphthalene acetic acid (NAA) (instant claim 77); wherein the growth regulator comprises 2,4-D (instant claim 78)) (Santra, Section 3.5, page 242).
At the time the instant application was filed, it would have been obvious and within the scope of one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the methods of obtaining haploid plants as taught by Bombom and DeLong together with the doubled haploid laboratory protocol as taught by Santra. One would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Bombom, DeLong, and Santra knowing that contacting the spikes (caryopses) with a growth regulator after pollination leads to successful embryo growth. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a high expectation of success by combining the teachings of Bombom, DeLong, and Santra.
The method of contacting the caryopsis with a growth regulator after pollination was routine in the art at the time the application was filed, as taught by the cited references and the state of the art in general.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/03/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Bombom is directed to a method of crossing sorghum and maize to create an “intergeneric hybrid”, and it is merely inferred by the Office that what is taught for intergeneric hybrids must also be true for haploids. Applicant further argues that Bombom teaches that any of the approximately 1,200 species of Poaceae can serve as the second parent plant.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Intergeneric hybrids are plants created from two different genera, and wide-cross or wide-hybridization is the process of crossing different, genetically distant species or genera to combine desirable traits. Bombom discusses the benefits of wide crosses: it provides opportunity to generate novel sources of genetic variation among important crop plants with the benefit of gene transfer, the induction of haploids, and/or the creation of new species (Bombom, page 2, first full paragraph). Bombom further teaches that haploid plants may be produced from wide hybridizations. For example, putative haploid sorghum and/or maize plants may be produced from crosses between sorghum and maize. Haploid sorghum plants may be produced from a cross involving sorghum as the female parent plant and maize as the male parent plant (Bombom, page 40, second paragraph).
A fairer reading of Bombom shows that the reference also teaches that a second parent plant crossed to a sorghum can be a plant in the Poaceae family; further, the second plant may be a Zea, Saccharum, Panicum, Miscanthus, Erianthus, Sorghastrum Sorghum, or Pennisetum; and even further, the second monocot plant is a Zea mays mays, Zea mays huehuetenangensis, Zea mays mexicana, Zea mays parviglumis, Zea nicaraguensis, Zea perennis, Zea diploperennis, Zea luxurians, Zea diploperennis, Saccharum officinarum, Saccharum spontaneum, Saccharum officinarum x Saccharum spontaneum hybrid plant, Pennisetum purpureum, Pennisetum ciliare, Pennisetum glaucum, Panicum virgatum, Sorghastrum nutans, Andropogon gerardii, Andropogon hallii, Arundo donax, Tripsicum dactyloides, Sporobolus airoides, Schizachyrium scoparium, Miscanthus floridulus, Sorghum bicolor or it wild relatives or Miscanthus sinensis (page 9, first full paragraph). Thus, in contrast to applicant’s arguments, Bombom teaches only a finite number of possible species for a wide-cross with sorghum to produce haploid embryos.
Example 1 (page 28, paragraph 0097) of the instant Specification describes testing different species pollen donors for sorghum haploid production. A number of genetically distant species from sorghum (maize, wheat, pearl millet, canola, cotton, barley, rice, cogon grass, eastern gamma grass, teosinte, and sunflower) were each used as a pollen donor and were each crossed with female sorghum diploid plants for wide hybridization crosses. These species exhibited varying haploid frequencies. Pearl millet, which has a smaller pollen grain size and produces abundant pollen grains generated significantly increased sorghum haploids compared to the other pollen donor species listed above.
In Example 2 (page 28, paragraph 0098), the instant Specification describes the “interspecific crossing” between sorghum and pearl millet. Interspecific crossing is the mating of individuals from two different species, often from the same genus, to produce offspring. It is noted that sorghum and pearl millet, as described in the instant Specification, are from different genera, just as sorghum and maize (as taught by Bombom) are also from different genera (see table below).
sorghum
pearl millet
maize
Scientific name
Sorghum
Pennisetum glaucum
Zea mays
Family
Poaceae
Poaceae
Poaceae
Genus
Sorghum
Cenchrus
Zea
Kingdom
Plantae
Plantae
Plantae
Thus, the instant Specification describes the production of haploids by the “intergeneric wide-crossing” of sorghum and pearl millet, which is taught in the prior art by Bombom and the other cited references.
Summary
No claim is allowed.
Correspondence
CHRISTINA MEADOWS
Examiner
Art Unit 1663
/CHRISTINA L MEADOWS/Examiner, Art Unit 1663
/BRATISLAV STANKOVIC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1663