DETAILED ACTION
Response for Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-11) in the reply filed on 09/24/2025 is acknowledged. Non-elected Group II (claims 12-20) is withdrawn from consideration. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/25/2022. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 3: the limitation: "a food product" as cited in line 2, should be changed to --the food product--. Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a1) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Yamanaka et al. (US 4272669).
Regarding claim 1, Yamanaka discloses
A cooking system (heater 1, fig.1) comprising:
a probe (heating member 3, fig.1) configured to be inserted into a food product (foodstuffs 6, fig.1); and
a power source (power source, line 30, Col.2) that when activated is configured to increase a temperature of the probe (heating member 3) to a preconfigured temperature such that the temperature of the probe (heating member 3) is a function of an amount of power supplied by the power source (power source, line 30, Col.2) [Col. 2, lines 28-35 cited: “…a main switch 7 used to close or open a circuit between the heat emitter 5 and the power source, a display lamp 8 adapted to glow to indicate that the main switch 7 is in the ON, status, a temperature adjusting knob 9 used to adjust the amount of heat generated by the heat emitter 5 and a plug 10 for the power source connection of the heater 1…”].
Regarding claim 2, Yamanaka discloses
a heat element (heat emitter 5, fig.2) housed within a body of the probe (heating member 3, fig.1), the heat element (heat emitter 5) in communication with the power source for powering the heat element (heat emitter 5) when the power source (power source, line 30, Col.2) is activated, wherein, when activated, the power source (power source) is configured to supply the amount of power to the heat element (heat emitter 5) such that the heat element (heat emitter 5) raises the temperature of the probe (heating member 3) to the preconfigured temperature.
Regarding claim 3, Yamanaka discloses
the probe (heating member 3, fig.1) includes a distal end portion (top portion of heating member 3) for aiding insertion of the probe (heating member 3, fig.1) into the food product (foodstuffs 6, fig.1).
Regarding claim 4, Yamanaka discloses
the heat element (heat emitter 5, fig.2) is a cartridge heater [heat emitter 5 is considered as cartridge heater].
Regarding claim 5, Yamanaka discloses
the probe (heating member 3, fig.1) includes a proximal end portion (bottom portion of heating member 3, fig.1) having a stop member (fitting plate 4, figs.1-2), the stop member (fitting plate 4) having a diameter greater than a diameter of the body so as to help prevent the probe (heating member 3) from being over-inserted into the food product (foodstuffs 6, fig.1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamanaka et al. (US 4272669) in view of Doganay et al. (US 20200281400 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Yamanaka discloses substantially all the features as set forth above, such as the probe, but does not disclose at least one thermistor.
Doganay discloses a cooking system (heater 1, fig.1) comprising: a probe (probe 5, fig.2) includes at least a thermistor (sensor 8, fig.2) [sensor, Par.0007 cited: “… cooker comprises a sensor that is disposed at the probe end. By means of the sensor, temperature and/or humidity data can be received from the food …”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to modify a probe of Yamanaka’s invention, by including a thermistor, as taught by Doganay, in order to measure a temperature of the food product.
Regarding claim 7, Doganay discloses
the probe (probe 5, fig.2) includes a first heating probe body (probe 5, fig.2) and a separate, first temperature sensing probe body (one of plurality of sensor 8, fig.2) [sensor, Par.0007 cited: “… cooker comprises a sensor that is disposed at the probe end. By means of the sensor, temperature and/or humidity data can be received from the food …”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to modify a probe of Yamanaka’s invention, by including a first temperature sensing probe body, as taught by Doganay, in order to measure a temperature of the food product.
Regarding claim 8, Doganay discloses
the probe (probe 5, fig.2) includes a second temperature sensing probe body (one of plurality of sensor 8, fig.2) [sensor, Par.0007 cited: “… cooker comprises a sensor that is disposed at the probe end. By means of the sensor, temperature and/or humidity data can be received from the food …”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to modify a probe of Yamanaka’s invention, by including a second temperature sensing probe body, as taught by Doganay, in order to measure a temperature of the food product.
Regarding claim 9, Doganay discloses
the power source is included in an oven (cooker 1, fig.1, is an oven).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to modify a probe of Yamanaka’s invention, by including an oven, as taught by Doganay, in order to house the food product.
Regarding claim 10, Doganay discloses
the oven (cooker 1, fig.1) includes a control panel (control unit 9, fig.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to modify a probe of Yamanaka’s invention, by including a control panel, in order to set the preconfigured temperature and activating the power source.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamanaka et al. (US 4272669) in view of Chu (US 20190049314 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Yamanaka discloses substantially all the features as set forth above, such as the probe, but does not disclose a battery.
Chu discloses a probe comprising: a battery (power source 1530, fig.15A) [Par.0088 cited: “…Power source 1530 may be a rechargeable battery or a supercapacitor…”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to modify a probe of Yamanaka’s invention, by using a battery, as taught by Chu, in order to provide a power source.
Conclusion
/PHUONG T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761
10/11/2025