DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application, Amendments, And/Or Claims
The Applicants amendments/remarks received 7/1/2026 are acknowledged. Claims 70 and 74 are amended; claims 1-59 and 75 are canceled; claims 60-74 are pending; claims 60-69 are withdrawn; claims 70-74 have been examined on the merits.
Drawings
The replacement drawings received 7/1/2026 are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejection of claims 70-75 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a), as set forth at pp. 4-5 of the previous Office Action, is moot regarding claim 75 due to cancelation of the claim and is withdrawn regarding the remaining claims in view of the amendment of the claims.
The rejection of claims 70-75 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b), as set forth at pp. 5-7 of the previous Office Action, is moot regarding claim 75 due to cancelation of the claim and is withdrawn regarding the remaining claims in view of the amendment of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The rejection of claims 70-74 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) over Copeland et al., US 5595707 (cite A, PTO-892, 1/14/2026; herein “Copeland”) as set forth at pp. 7-9 of the previous Office Action, is withdrawn in view of the amendment of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The rejection of claims 70-75 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Copeland et al., US 5595707 (cite A, PTO-892, 1/14/2026; herein “Copeland”) in view of Zhang et al., CN208092056 (Foreign Patent Document cite 6, IDS, 8/30/2022; English language translation from Espacenet (cite U, PTO-892, 1/14/2026; herein “Zhang”)) as set forth at pp. 9-12 of the previous Office Action, is moot regarding claim 75 due to cancelation of the claim and is withdrawn regarding the remaining claims in view of the amendment of the claims.
Claims 70-74 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Copeland et al., US 5595707 (cite A, PTO-892, 1/14/2026; herein “Copeland”) in view of Zhang et al., CN208092056 (Foreign Patent Document cite 6, IDS, 8/30/2022; English language translation from Espacenet (cite U, PTO-892, 1/14/2026; herein “Zhang”) is referenced in the cites below) and Ng, US 2020/0319067 (cite A, attached PTO-892; herein “Ng”).
Copeland teaches an automated immunostaining apparatus and methods of use for the apparatus (Abst.) wherein the apparatus comprises a microscope slide carousel (24 in Fig. 1; col. 6, l. 20 - col. 7, l. 9), wherein the microscope slide carousel is configured to rotate on a first axis of rotation (Fig. 1; col. 6, l. 20 - col. 7, l. 9), and wherein the microscope slide carousel comprises at least one microscope slide cartridge stall (26 in Fig. 1); a reagent assembly comprising: (i) a reagent carousel (10 in Fig. 1; col. 6, l. 20 - col. 7, l. 9), wherein the reagent carousel is configured to rotate on a second axis of rotation (Fig. 1; col. 6, l. 20 - col. 7, l. 9), and wherein the reagent carousel comprises at least one reagent holder (holes in 10 in Fig. 1), (ii) a dispensing actuator (18 in Fig. 1), and wherein the reagent carousel is positioned above the microscope slide carousel, and where the reagent carousel and the microscope slide carousel are positioned such that when a reagent is placed in the reagent carousel the reagent can flow from the reagent carousel to the microscope slide carousel (Fig. 1; col. 6, l. 20 - col. 7, l. 9), wherein the microscope slide cartridge assembly is interfaced with a microscope slide comprising the tissue sample (26 in Fig. 1; col. 6, l. 20 - col. 7, l. 9; Fig. 5; col. 7, l. 55 - col. 8, l. 19). Copeland teaches methods of staining a tissue sample comprising placing a microscope slide cartridge assembly (26) in a microscope slide stall of a tissue staining device (Fig. 1; col. 6, l. 20 - col. 7, l. 9; Fig. 5; col. 7, l. 55 - col. 8, l. 19) and initiating the tissue staining device to perform a tissue staining protocol thereby staining the tissue sample (col. 6, ll. 20-32; col. 2, l. 66 - col. 3, l. 7; col. 19, l. 49 - col. 21, l. 11). Copeland teaches that the staining protocol is selected (col. 6, ll. 20-32; col. 2, l. 66 - col. 3, l. 7). Copeland teaches that the tissue staining protocol can comprise a chemical staining protocol or an immunohistochemical staining protocol (col. 2, ll. 28-38; col. 6, ll. 20-32). Copeland teaches that the method further comprises the step of mounting a covertile to the microscope slide after performing the tissue staining protocol (col. 6, ll. 21-28).
Copeland clearly teaches that the tissue staining protocol comprises dispensing a reagent from the reagent carousel to the microscope slide, followed by vortex mixing stations to ensure the reagent fully coats the tissue sample, followed by rinsing the slide with rinse solution, i.e., washing with wash solution, in the rinse station (Fig. 12; col. 9, l. 57 - col. 10, l. 40), i.e., from a common liquid dispenser, and removing the wash solution by a jet drain (col. 19, l. 49 - col. 21, l. 11; col. 24, ll. 31-46) wherein the wash solution is evacuated through a waste removal outlet of the microscope slide carousel via a waste flow element (Fig. 13; col. 9, l. 57 - col. 10, l. 40) wherein the wash solution can comprise a buffer (col. 24, ll. 43-46).
Hence, Copeland’s method differs from claim 70, inter alia, because Copeland’s microscope slide cartridge assembly does not comprise a microscope slide cartridge that interfaces with a microscope slide comprising the tissue sample, wherein the microscope slide cartridge comprises a gasket, a clip configured to hold the microscope slide cartridge against a surface of the microscope slide so that the gasket seals around the tissue sample on the microscope slide to form a chamber over the tissue sample, and an inclined waste flow pathway configured to direct fluid flow from the chamber to a waste output element. However, a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious for the microscope slide cartridge assembly in the method made obvious by Copeland to comprise a microscope slide cartridge that interfaces with a microscope slide comprising the tissue sample, wherein the microscope slide cartridge comprises a gasket, a clip configured to hold the microscope slide cartridge against a surface of the microscope slide so that the gasket seals around the tissue sample on the microscope slide to form a chamber over the tissue sample, and an inclined waste flow pathway configured to direct fluid flow from the chamber to a waste output element in view of the disclosure of Ng.
Ng teaches a microscope slide cartridge assembly for sample processing that interfaces with a microscope slide comprising the tissue sample (Abst.; [0009-10]), wherein the microscope slide cartridge comprises a gasket ([0028]; Figs. 18-19, 2200), a clip configured to hold the microscope slide cartridge against a surface of the microscope slide so that the gasket seals around the tissue sample on the microscope slide to form a chamber over the tissue sample ([0025], [0028]; Fig. 2, 2160), and an inclined waste flow pathway configured to direct fluid flow from the chamber to a waste output element ([0072]; Fig. 5, 1500). Ng teaches that their microscope slide cartridge assembly is superior to prior microscope slide cartridge assemblies [0005-7]; hence, a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to practice Copeland’s method wherein the microscope slide cartridge assembly interfaces with a microscope slide comprising the tissue sample, wherein the microscope slide cartridge comprises a gasket, a clip configured to hold the microscope slide cartridge against a surface of the microscope slide so that the gasket seals around the tissue sample on the microscope slide to form a chamber over the tissue sample and an inclined waste flow pathway configured to direct fluid flow from the chamber to a waste output element.
The method made obvious by Copeland in view of Ng differs from claim 70 in that Copeland does not rotate the microscope slide carousel such that the reagent fully coats the tissue sample nor rotate the microscope slide carousel to remove the wash solution; however, a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to practice Copeland’s method wherein the liquids are distributed and removed from the slides by rotation of the slide carousel in view of Zhang.
Zhang teaches a slide immunostaining apparatus comprising a slide carousel wherein the reagent is tiled across the slide, i.e., coats the slide, by centrifugally rotating the carousel (Abst.; “DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE EMBODIMENTS”, ¶2) and cleaning solution, i.e., wash solution, is distributed across the slide and into a waste liquid port by centrifugal rotation (pdf p. 6, “Working Principle”).
Hence, a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to modify the tissue staining device made obvious by Copeland and Ng to practice the method of Zhang wherein the coating of the tissue samples and washing of the tissue samples is facilitated by centrifugally rotating the carousel; therefore, claims 70-74 are prima facie obvious.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/1/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Arguments of the Applicant’s Response on pp. 7-13 regarding the objection to the drawings and rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a), 112(b), 102(a)(1)l(a)(2) and 103 are moot as the rejections have been withdrawn. Applicant argues that Copeland in view of Zhang does not teach the amended claims (pp. 8-13). However, Copeland in view of Ng and Zhang make obvious the method set forth in claims 70-74 as discussed in the rejection above.
Double Patenting
Claims 70-74 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 76, 86-87, 110, 112-113 and 115 of copending Application No. 17198058 (herein “’058”) in view of Copeland.
Claim 76 of ‘058 recites a tissue staining device comprising: (a) a microscope slide carousel having an outer perimeter, wherein the microscope slide carousel is configured to rotate on a first axis of rotation controlled by a first rotary control mechanism, and wherein the microscope slide carousel comprises at least one microscope slide cartridge stall configured to hold a microscope slide cartridge assembly, and (b) a reagent assembly comprising: (i) a reagent carousel, wherein the reagent carousel is configured to rotate on a second axis of rotation that is not coaxial with the first axis of rotation and wherein the second axis of rotation is located outside the outer perimeter of the microscope slide carousel, and wherein the reagent carousel comprises at least one reagent holder, (ii) a dispensing actuator, and wherein the reagent carousel is positioned above the microscope slide carousel, and wherein the reagent carousel and the microscope slide carousel are positioned such that when a reagent is placed in the reagent carousel the reagent can flow from the reagent carousel to the microscope slide carousel, wherein the reagent assembly further comprises a second rotary control mechanism comprising a stationary actuator positioned relative to the second axis of rotation, and wherein fluid is removed from a chamber of the microscope slide cartridge assembly by centrifugal force; claim 86 of ‘058 recites the tissue staining device of claim 76, further comprising the microscope slide cartridge assembly; claim 87 of ‘058 recites the tissue staining device of claim 86, wherein the microscope slide cartridge assembly comprises: (a) fluid input port positioned on a top side of the microscope slide cartridge assembly; (b) a gasket positioned on a bottom side of the microscope slide cartridge assembly, wherein the gasket is configured to form a sealed perimeter on a face of a microscope slide; (c) one or more walls, wherein the one or more walls are configured to connect, at least in part, the top side and the gasket thereby forming a chamber over a face of the microscope slide; (d) one or more clips configured to hold the face of the microscope slide against the gasket; (e) a portion of a locking clip; (f) an inclined waste flow pathway configured to direct fluid flow from the chamber to a waste output element; and (g) a microscope slide; claim 110 of ‘058 recites the tissue staining device of claim 76, wherein the reagent assembly comprises at least one common liquid dispenser comprising a liquid dispenser output port and at least one liquid pump, wherein the liquid dispenser output port is positioned such that when a liquid is dispensed from the liquid dispenser output port the liquid can flow from the liquid dispenser output port to the input port of the microscope slide cartridge assembly on the microscope slide carousel, wherein the directionality of the flow of the liquid is based on that of gravitational force, wherein the liquid flow represents an imaginary liquid dispensing axis, and wherein the liquid dispensing axis, the first axis of rotation, and the second axis of rotation are substantially parallel; claim 112 of ‘058 recites the tissue staining device of claim 76, further comprising a control unit; claim 113 of ‘058 recites the tissue staining device of claim 112, wherein the control unit comprises one or more processors and memory storing one or more programs, the one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for: (i) positioning the reagent carousel and/or positioning the microscope slide carousel; (ii) enacting the dispensing actuator; and (iii) performing a tissue staining protocol and/or performing a tissue dehydration protocol; and claim 115 of ‘058 recites the tissue staining device of claim 76, wherein the microscope slide carousel is configured to control rotary motions back and forth to agitate fluid in microscope slide cartridges to achieve mixing reagents and thoroughly wash clean the tissues on the slides. Hence, a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to practice a method of staining a tissue sample comprising the steps of (a) placing a microscope slide cartridge assembly in a microscope slide stall of the tissue staining device recited in ‘058, wherein the microscope slide cartridge assembly comprises a microscope slide cartridge that interfaces with a microscope slide comprising the tissue sample, wherein the microscope slide cartridge comprises a gasket, a clip configured to hold the microscope slide cartridge against a surface of the microscope slide so that the gasket seals around the tissue sample on the microscope slide to form a chamber over the tissue sample, and an inclined waste flow pathway configured to direct fluid flow from the chamber to a waste output element, and (b) initiating the tissue staining device to perform a tissue staining protocol thereby staining the tissue sample wherein the method comprises mounting a microscope slide to the apparatus, dispensing a reagent from the reagent carousel to the microscope slide, rotating the microscope slide carousel such that the reagent fully coats the tissue sample, dispensing a wash buffer from the common liquid dispenser to the microscope slide; and rotating the microscope slide carousel such that a solution comprising the wash buffer is moved to the waste removal outlet of the microscope slide carousel via the waste flow element; therefore, instant claims 70 and 74 are prima facie obvious over the claims of ‘058.
The claims of ‘058 do not specifically teach selecting a tissue staining protocol wherein the tissue staining protocol comprises a chemical staining protocol or an immunohistochemical staining protocol; however, a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to select a tissue staining protocol wherein the tissue staining protocol comprises a chemical staining protocol or an immunohistochemical staining protocol in view of the disclosure of Copeland.
Copeland teaches an automated immunostaining apparatus and methods of use for the apparatus (Abst.). Copeland teaches methods of staining a tissue sample comprising placing a microscope slide cartridge assembly (26) in a microscope slide stall of a tissue staining device (Fig. 1; col. 6, l. 20 - col. 7, l. 9; Fig. 5; col. 7, l. 55 - col. 8, l. 19) and initiating the tissue staining device to perform a tissue staining protocol thereby staining the tissue sample (col. 6, ll. 20-32; col. 2, l. 66 - col. 3, l. 7; col. 19, l. 49 - col. 21, l. 11). Copeland teaches that the staining protocol is selected (col. 6, ll. 20-32; col. 2, l. 66 - col. 3, l. 7). Copeland teaches that the tissue staining protocol can comprise a chemical staining protocol or an immunohistochemical staining protocol (col. 2, ll. 28-38; col. 6, ll. 20-32). Hence, instant claims 71-73 are prima facie obvious over the claims of ‘058 in view of Copeland.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant acknowledges the rejection and indicates that a terminal disclaimer will be filed at such time as the claims are otherwise allowable. The rejection is maintained with modification to address claim amendments.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TRENT R CLARKE/ Examiner, Art Unit 1651
/DAVID W BERKE-SCHLESSEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1651