DETAILED ACTION
This is a Final rejection on the merits of this application. Claims 1-30 are rejected and currently pending, as discussed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding the rejections of Claims 1-30 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Everett’s dump sites teach away from the claimed invention. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Per [0026] of Everett, the characteristics of target dump sites 36 can be updated based on information received during dumping regarding the actual shape, spacing, and size of previously dumped loads.
In response to applicant's argument that Takuya fails to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the limitation “along the dump path” is recited at a high level of generality and therefore, under broadest reasonable interpretation, covers the embodiments disclosed by Takuya. As seen in figures 10 and 11 of Takuya, the detected pile of previously dumped material overlap with the dump path substantially, and therefore can be considered to be “along” the dump path. Examiner notes that the claims additionally lack any limitations on the direction, length, or shape of the dump paths. If one considers the travel path of Takuya’s dump machine as one single dump path, the single path containing multiple switchbacks, then all of the dumped piles of Takuya are along the traveling direction of the dump path. Therefore, Takuya does read on the claims as written.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-8, 13-15, 20-25, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20120136523 A1, filed 08/04/2011, hereinafter “Everett”, in view of JP2019051737, published 04/04/2019, hereinafter “Takuya”.
Regarding Claim 1, Everett teaches A management unit for managing material
dumping in a dump area using a plurality of autonomous dump machines. See at least [0013]-[0014] and figure 1, wherein a plurality of autonomous dump machines 12b operate in a worksite 10 containing dump area 16. Additionally, see at least [0020]-[0021] and figure 2, wherein the machines 12 and worksite 10 are managed by a management unit comprising OWC 28.
said management unit being adapted to: a. establish a set of dump paths, comprising at least one dump path, wherein each dump path extends in said dump area intended to be filled with dump material. See at least [0024]-[0025] and figure 3, wherein the management unit 28 establishes a set of dump paths, including paths 40 and 42 which extend in rows within dump area 16. The machines travel on dump paths 40-42 to fill dump area 16 with piles 36 of dump material.
and b. controlling an autonomous dump machine of said plurality of autonomous dump machines to follow a dump path of said set of dump paths until said autonomous dump machine has reached a dumping position. See at least [0027], wherein the management unit 28 issues instructions to autonomous dump machines 12b to follow a dump path within the different travel paths established in the dump location 16. Additionally, see at least [0023], [0026], and [0030], wherein the management unit sets goals based on characteristics such as a depth of material or contour of dump area 16, and continues to control the autonomous dump machines 12b until the goals are accomplished.
Everett remains silent on each autonomous dump machine comprising a sensor arrangement adapted to determine at least one sensor arrangement parameter indicative of the environment adjacent to at least a portion of said autonomous dump machine, and said sensor arrangement parameter, determined by said sensor arrangement indicates a dumping density of said dump area being within a predetermined dumping density range, the dumping position being determined in response to the sensor arrangement detecting an entity of previously dumped material along the dump path.
Takuya teaches autonomous dump machine comprising a sensor arrangement adapted to determine at least one sensor arrangement parameter indicative of the environment adjacent to at least a portion of said autonomous dump machine. See at least [0016], wherein the dump truck 10 comprises a sensor 120 which measures the environment of the truck, in particular the shapes of piles near the truck.
and said sensor arrangement parameter, determined by said sensor arrangement indicates a dumping density of said dump area being within a predetermined dumping density range, the dumping position being determined in response to the sensor arrangement detecting an entity of previously dumped material along the dump path. See at least [0036], wherein a predetermined target density is acquired for dumping. Additionally, see at least [0051], [0065]-[0069], wherein, while the dump truck is performing work, the shape data from the dump truck’s sensor is used to calculate a dump position where the dumped material would reach the target dump density. Additionally, see at least [0057]-[0063] and figures 11-12, wherein the dump position is calculated based on data acquired regarding the previously dumped load. Additionally, see at least [0043] and figure 9, wherein the dump position is selected based on the positions of past dumped loads. Additionally, see at least [0035], wherein the detection range of the sensor 120 includes the previously dumped pile 411.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Everett with Takuya’s technique of a sensor arrangement adapted to determine at least one sensor arrangement parameter indicative of the environment adjacent to at least a portion of said autonomous dump machine, the parameter indicating a density of dumped material meeting a minimum requirement. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables autonomous dump trucks to efficiently dump soil while maintaining a high level of soil density, as recognized by Takuya (see at least [0001]-[0004]).
Regarding Claim 2, Everett and Takuya in combination disclose all of the limitations of Claim 1 as discussed above, and Everett additionally teaches wherein said management unit is adapted to receive dump information from said autonomous dump machine relating to where said autonomous dump machine has dumped its load. See at least [0030], wherein management unit 28 tracks dumping progress, including receiving location information from an autonomous dump machine 12b, the location information indicating whether the machine 12b has dumped its load at dump position 36.
said management unit is also adapted to receive shape information indicative of the shape of the load dumped by said autonomous dump machine. See at least [0026], wherein the management unit 28 additionally tracks dumping progress using received information of an actual shape of dumped loads from autonomous dump machines 12b.
said management unit further being adapted to generate a dump map indicative of material currently dumped in said dump area on the basis of the received information. Additionally, see at least [0026]-[0027], wherein the information on the shape of dumped loads is used to update characteristics of dump area 16, and management unit 28 uses the updated characteristics to generate and update an electronic terrain map of the dump area 16. The electronic terrain map is a compilation of data stored in memory of management unit 28.
Regarding Claim 3, Everett and Takuya in combination disclose all of the limitations of Claim 1 as discussed above, and Everett additionally teaches wherein said management unit is adapted to determine a set of dump paths comprising at least one dump path on the basis of at least said dump map. See at least [0023]-[0025], wherein the plurality of dump paths determined by the management unit 28 are made on the basis of the maps stored in memory of the management unit 28.
Regarding Claim 7, Everett and Takuya in combination disclose all of the limitations of Claim 1 as discussed above, and Everett additionally teaches A system for material dumping in a dump area, said system comprising the management unit according to claim 1. See rejection of Claim 1 above.
and a plurality of autonomous dump machines, See at least [0013]-[0014] and figure 1, wherein a plurality of autonomous dump machines 12b operate in a worksite 10 containing dump area 16. Additionally, see at least [0020]-[0021] and figure 2, wherein the machines 12 and worksite 10 are managed by a management unit comprising OWC 28.
Everett remains silent on each autonomous dump machine comprising a sensor arrangement adapted to determine at least one sensor arrangement parameter indicative of the environment adjacent to at least a portion of said autonomous dump machine.
Takuya teaches each autonomous dump machine comprising a sensor arrangement adapted to determine at least one sensor arrangement parameter indicative of the environment adjacent to at least a portion of said autonomous dump machine. See at least [0016], wherein the dump truck 10 comprises a sensor 120 which measures the environment of the truck, in particular the shapes of piles near the truck. Additionally, see at least [0035], wherein the detection range of the sensor 120 includes the previously dumped pile 411.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Everett with Takuya’s technique of a sensor arrangement adapted to determine at least one sensor arrangement parameter indicative of the environment adjacent to at least a portion of said autonomous dump machine, the parameter indicating a density of dumped material meeting a minimum requirement. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables autonomous dump trucks to efficiently dump soil while maintaining a high level of soil density, as recognized by Takuya (see at least [0001]-[0004]).
Regarding Claim 8, Everett and Takuya in combination disclose all of the limitations of Claim 7 as discussed above, and Everett remains silent on wherein said sensor arrangement parameter is indicative of a dump material height of dump material located in front of said autonomous dump machine, as seen along said dump path, said autonomous dump machine being adapted to determine that said autonomous dump machine has reached said dumping position in response to determining that said dump material height
Takuya teaches wherein said sensor arrangement parameter is indicative of a dump material height of dump material located in front of said autonomous dump machine, as seen along said dump path, said autonomous dump machine being adapted to determine that said autonomous dump machine has reached said dumping position in response to determining that said dump material height See at least [0051]-[0056], [0067]-[0069], and [0073], wherein shape data from a sensor of the dump truck is used to estimate a height of the dumped pile. The target dump position is calculated by determining if a pile meets a predetermined dump material height threshold value. Additionally, see at least figure 13, wherein the target dump position 450d is the dump position where the height of the pile is equal to the predetermined dump material height threshold value. As shown in [0073] and figures 15-16, if the pile is determined to exceed the predetermined height threshold, the dump truck is configured to modify the dump position so the height meets the threshold.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Everett with Takuya’s technique of a sensor arrangement adapted to determine at least one sensor arrangement parameter indicative of the environment adjacent to at least a portion of said autonomous dump machine, the parameter indicating a density of dumped material meeting a height threshold requirement. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables autonomous dump trucks to efficiently dump soil while maintaining a high level of soil density, as recognized by Takuya (see at least [0001]-[0004]).
Regarding Claim 13, Everett and Takuya in combination teach all of the limitations of Claim 7 as discussed above, and Everett additionally teaches wherein each autonomous dump machine of said plurality of autonomous dump machines is adapted to dump material carried by said autonomous dump machine at said dumping position. See at least [0022], wherein each autonomous dump machine 12b is adapted to dump carried material at dumping position 36.
Regarding Claim 14, Everett teaches An autonomous dump machine. See at least [0013]-[0014] and figure 1, wherein a plurality of autonomous dump machines 12b operate in a worksite 10 containing dump area 16. Additionally, see at least [0020]-[0021] and figure 2, wherein the machines 12 and worksite 10 are managed by a management unit comprising OWC 28.
said autonomous dump machine being adapted to receive information relating to a dump path forming part of a dump area intended to be filled with dump material. See at least [0024]-[0027] and figure 3, wherein the management unit 28 establishes a set of dump paths, including paths 40 and 42 which extend in rows within dump area 16, and transmits the path information to autonomous dump machines 12b.
said autonomous dump machine being adapted to follow a dump path until said autonomous dump machine has reached a dumping position, said autonomous dump machine being further adapted to dump material carried by said autonomous dump machine at said dump position. See at least [0027], wherein the management unit 28 issues instructions to autonomous dump machines 12b to follow a dump path within the different travel paths established in the dump location 16. Additionally, see at least [0023], [0026], and [0030], wherein the management unit sets goals based on characteristics such as a depth of material or contour of dump area 16, and continues to control the autonomous dump machines 12b until the goals are accomplished. Each autonomous dump machine 12b is adapted to dump carried material at assigned dump position 16.
Everett remains silent on comprising a sensor arrangement adapted to determine at least one sensor arrangement parameter indicative of the environment adjacent to at least a portion of said autonomous dump machine, and said sensor arrangement parameter, determined by said sensor arrangement of the autonomous dump machine indicates a dumping density of said dump area being within a predetermined dumping density range, the dumping position being determined in response to the sensor arrangement detecting an entity of previously dumped material along the dump path.
Takuya teaches comprising a sensor arrangement adapted to determine at least one sensor arrangement parameter indicative of the environment adjacent to at least a portion of said autonomous dump machine. See at least [0016], wherein the dump truck 10 comprises a sensor 120 which measures the environment of the truck as the truck is traveling autonomously, in particular the shapes of piles near the truck.
and said sensor arrangement parameter, determined by said sensor arrangement of the autonomous dump machine indicates a dumping density of said dump area being within a predetermined dumping density range, the dumping position being determined in response to the sensor arrangement detecting an entity of previously dumped material along the dump path. See at least [0036], wherein a predetermined target density is acquired for dumping. Additionally, see at least [0051], [0065]-[0069], wherein, while the dump truck is performing work, the shape data from the dump truck’s sensor is used to calculate a dump position where the dumped material would reach the target dump density. Additionally, see at least [0057]-[0063] and figures 11-12, wherein the dump position is calculated based on data acquired regarding the previously dumped load. Additionally, see at least [0043] and figure 9, wherein the dump position is selected based on the positions of past dumped loads. Additionally, see at least [0035], wherein the detection range of the sensor 120 includes the previously dumped pile 411.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Everett with Takuya’s technique of a sensor arrangement adapted to determine at least one sensor arrangement parameter indicative of the environment adjacent to at least a portion of said autonomous dump machine, the parameter indicating a density of dumped material meeting a minimum requirement. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables autonomous dump trucks to efficiently dump soil while maintaining a high level of soil density, as recognized by Takuya (see at least [0001]-[0004]).
Regarding Claim 15, Everett and Takuya in combination disclose all of the limitations of Claim 14 as discussed above, and Everett remains silent on wherein said sensor arrangement parameter is indicative of a dump material height of dump material located in front of said autonomous dump machine, said autonomous dump machine being adapted to determine that said autonomous dump machine has reached said dumping position in response to determining that said dump material height
Takuya teaches wherein said sensor arrangement parameter is indicative of a dump material height of dump material located in front of said autonomous dump machine, said autonomous dump machine being adapted to determine that said autonomous dump machine has reached said dumping position in response to determining that said dump material height See at least [0051]-[0056], [0067]-[0069], and [0073], wherein shape data from a sensor of the dump truck is used to estimate a height of the dumped pile. The target dump position is calculated by determining if a pile meets a predetermined dump material height threshold value. Additionally, see at least figure 13, wherein the target dump position 450d is the dump position where the height of the pile is equal to the predetermined dump material height threshold value. As shown in [0073] and figures 15-16, if the pile is determined to exceed the predetermined height threshold, the dump truck is configured to modify the dump position so the height meets the threshold.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Everett with Takuya’s technique of a sensor arrangement adapted to determine at least one sensor arrangement parameter indicative of the environment adjacent to at least a portion of said autonomous dump machine, the parameter indicating a density of dumped material meeting a height threshold requirement. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables autonomous dump trucks to efficiently dump soil while maintaining a high level of soil density, as recognized by Takuya (see at least [0001]-[0004]).
Regarding Claim 20, Everett and Takuya in combination teach all of the limitations of Claim 14 as discussed above, and Everett remains silent on wherein said sensor arrangement comprises a LIDAR sensor and/or a RADAR sensor.
Takuya teaches wherein said sensor arrangement comprises a LIDAR sensor and/or a RADAR sensor. See at least [0016], wherein the external sensor 120 comprises a LiDAR sensor.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Everett with Takuya’s sensor arrangement comprising a LiDAR sensor. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables autonomous dump trucks to efficiently dump soil while maintaining a high level of soil density, as recognized by Takuya (see at least [0001]-[0004]).
Regarding Claim 21, Everett and Takuya in combination teach all of the limitations of Claim 14 as discussed above, and Everett additionally teaches whether or not a portion of said dump area located adjacent to said dump path, as seen in a transversal direction perpendicular to a path extension along said dump path, is filled with material. See at least [0024] and figure 3, wherein a portion 38 of said dump area 16 is adjacent to dump path 40 in a transversal direction perpendicular to dump path 40. During dumping, the portion 38 is checked for whether portion 38 is filled with material or not.
Everett remains silent on wherein said autonomous dump machine is adapted to detect, using said sensor arrangement.
Takuya teaches wherein said autonomous dump machine is adapted to detect, using said sensor arrangement. See at least [0043] and figure 9, wherein the dump position is selected based on the positions of past dumped loads. Additionally, see at least [0035], wherein the detection range of the sensor 120 includes the previously dumped pile 411 adjacent to the current dump path.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Everett with Takuya’s technique of a sensor arrangement adapted to determine the environment adjacent to said autonomous dump machine. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables autonomous dump trucks to efficiently dump soil while maintaining a high level of soil density, as recognized by Takuya (see at least [0001]-[0004]).
Regarding Claim 22, Everett and Takuya in combination teach all of the limitations of Claim 21 as discussed above, and Everett additionally teaches wherein said autonomous dump machine is adapted to, in response to detecting that said portion of said dump area located adjacent to said dump path is filled with material, determining a dumping position in said transversal direction. See at least [0024] and figure 3, wherein a portion 38 of said dump area 16 is adjacent to dump path 40 in a transversal direction perpendicular to dump path 40. During dumping, the portion 38 is checked for whether portion 38 is filled with material or not. If portion 38 is filled with material, a new portion 38 in the traversal direction is created, comprising new dump positions 36.
Everett remains silent on use said sensor arrangement for determining a dumping density of said dump area being within a predetermined dumping density range.
Takuya teaches use said sensor arrangement for determining a dumping density of said dump area being within a predetermined dumping density range. See at least [0036], wherein a predetermined target density is acquired for dumping. Additionally, see at least [0050]-[0051], [0065]-[0069], wherein, while the dump truck is performing work, the shape data from the dump truck’s sensor is used to calculate a dump position where the dumped material would reach the target dump density.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Everett with Takuya’s technique of a sensor arrangement adapted to determine at least one sensor arrangement parameter indicative of the environment adjacent to at least a portion of said autonomous dump machine, the parameter indicating a density of dumped material meeting a minimum requirement. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables autonomous dump trucks to efficiently dump soil while maintaining a high level of soil density, as recognized by Takuya (see at least [0001]-[0004]).
Regarding Claim 23, Everett teaches A method for dumping material in a dump area using a system comprising a management unit and a plurality of autonomous dump machines. See at least [0013]-[0014] and figure 1, wherein a plurality of autonomous dump machines 12b operate in a worksite 10 containing dump area 16. Additionally, see at least [0020]-[0021] and figure 2, wherein the machines 12 and worksite 10 are managed by a management unit comprising OWC 28.
said method comprising using said management unit for: a. establishing a set of dump paths, comprising at least one dump path, wherein each dump path extends in said dump area intended to be filled with dump material. See at least [0024]-[0025] and figure 3, wherein the management unit 28 establishes a set of dump paths, including paths 40 and 42 which extend in rows within dump area 16. The machines travel on dump paths 40-42 to fill dump area 16 with piles 36 of dump material.
and b. controlling an autonomous dump machine of said plurality of autonomous dump machines to follow a dump path of said set of dump paths until said autonomous dump machine has reached a dumping position, whereby said autonomous dump machine thereafter dumps material carried by said autonomous dump machine at said dumping position. See at least [0027], wherein the management unit 28 issues instructions to autonomous dump machines 12b to follow a dump path within the different travel paths established in the dump location 16. Additionally, see at least [0023], [0026], and [0030], wherein the management unit sets goals based on characteristics such as a depth of material or contour of dump area 16, and continues to control the autonomous dump machines 12b until the goals are accomplished. Each autonomous dump machine 12b is adapted to dump carried material at assigned dump position 16.
Everett remains silent on each autonomous dump machine comprising a sensor arrangement adapted to determine at least one sensor arrangement parameter indicative of the environment adjacent to at least a portion of said autonomous dump machine, and said sensor arrangement parameter, determined by said sensor arrangement indicates a dumping density of said dump area being within a predetermined dumping density range, the dumping position being determined in response to the sensor arrangement detecting an entity of previously dumped material along the dump path.
Takuya teaches autonomous dump machine comprising a sensor arrangement adapted to determine at least one sensor arrangement parameter indicative of the environment adjacent to at least a portion of said autonomous dump machine. See at least [0016], wherein the dump truck 10 comprises a sensor 120 which measures the environment of the truck, in particular the shapes of piles near the truck.
and said sensor arrangement parameter, determined by said sensor arrangement indicates a dumping density of said dump area being within a predetermined dumping density range, the dumping position being determined in response to the sensor arrangement detecting an entity of previously dumped material along the dump path. See at least [0036], wherein a predetermined target density is acquired for dumping. Additionally, see at least [0051], [0065]-[0069], wherein, while the dump truck is performing work, the shape data from the dump truck’s sensor is used to calculate a dump position where the dumped material would reach the target dump density. Additionally, see at least [0057]-[0063] and figures 11-12, wherein the dump position is calculated based on data acquired regarding the previously dumped load. Additionally, see at least [0043] and figure 9, wherein the dump position is selected based on the positions of past dumped loads. Additionally, see at least [0035], wherein the detection range of the sensor 120 includes the previously dumped pile 411.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Everett with Takuya’s technique of a sensor arrangement adapted to determine at least one sensor arrangement parameter indicative of the environment adjacent to at least a portion of said autonomous dump machine, the parameter indicating a density of dumped material meeting a minimum requirement. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables autonomous dump trucks to efficiently dump soil while maintaining a high level of soil density, as recognized by Takuya (see at least [0001]-[0004]).
Regarding Claim 24, Everett and Takuya in combination disclose all of the limitations of Claim 23 as discussed above, and Everett additionally teaches further comprising receiving, by said management unit, dump information from said autonomous dump machine relating to where said autonomous dump machine has dumped its load. See at least [0030], wherein management unit 28 tracks dumping progress, including receiving location information from an autonomous dump machine 12b, the location information indicating whether the machine 12b has dumped its load at dump position 36.
said method also comprises receiving from said autonomous dump machine shape information indicative of the shape of the load dumped by said autonomous dump machine. See at least [0026], wherein the management unit 28 additionally tracks dumping progress using received information of an actual shape of dumped loads from autonomous dump machines 12b.
said method further comprising generating a dump map using said management unit indicative of material currently dumped in said dump area on the basis of the received information. Additionally, see at least [0026]-[0027], wherein the information on the shape of dumped loads is used to update characteristics of dump area 16, and management unit 28 uses the updated characteristics to generate and update an electronic terrain map of the dump area 16. The electronic terrain map is a compilation of data stored in memory of management unit 28.
Regarding Claim 25, Everett and Takuya in combination disclose all of the limitations of Claim 24 as discussed above, and Everett additionally teaches further comprising determining a set of dump paths comprising at least one dump path on the basis of at least said dump map. See at least [0023]-[0025], wherein the plurality of dump paths determined by the management unit 28 are made on the basis of the maps stored in memory of the management unit 28.
Regarding Claim 29, Everett and Takuya in combination disclose all of the limitations of Claim 23 as discussed above, and Everett remains silent on wherein said sensor arrangement parameter is indicative of a dump material height of dump material located in front of said autonomous dump machine, said method comprising determining that said autonomous dump machine has reached said dumping position in response to determining that said dump material height
Takuya teaches wherein said sensor arrangement parameter is indicative of a dump material height of dump material located in front of said autonomous dump machine, said method comprising determining that said autonomous dump machine has reached said dumping position in response to determining that said dump material height See at least [0051]-[0056], [0067]-[0069], and [0073], wherein shape data from a sensor of the dump truck is used to estimate a height of the dumped pile. The target dump position is calculated by determining if a pile meets a predetermined dump material height threshold value. Additionally, see at least figure 13, wherein the target dump position 450d is the dump position where the height of the pile is equal to the predetermined dump material height threshold value. As shown in [0073] and figures 15-16, if the pile is determined to exceed the predetermined height threshold, the dump truck is configured to modify the dump position so the height meets the threshold.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Everett with Takuya’s technique of a sensor arrangement adapted to determine at least one sensor arrangement parameter indicative of the environment adjacent to at least a portion of said autonomous dump machine, the parameter indicating a density of dumped material meeting a height threshold requirement. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables autonomous dump trucks to efficiently dump soil while maintaining a high level of soil density, as recognized by Takuya (see at least [0001]-[0004]).
Claims 4-5 and 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Everett and Takuya as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 20170017235 A1, with an earliest priority date of 09/04/2014, hereinafter “Tanaka”.
Regarding Claim 4, Everett and Takuya in combination disclose all of the limitations of Claim 1 as discussed above, and Everett additionally teaches in a direction towards an adjacent dump path, said management unit being adapted to determine transversal dump path deviation on the basis of said dump map. See at least [0023]-[0024], wherein the management unit 28 determines dump paths on the basis of the dump map, the dump paths including a space 44 separating adjacent dump paths 40 and 42 in a transversal direction.
Everett remains silent on wherein said management unit is adapted to determine a transversal dump path deviation threshold for a dump path, said transversal dump path deviation threshold being indicative of how much an autonomous dump machine is allowed to transversally deviate from said dump path in a direction towards an adjacent dump path.
Tanaka teaches wherein said management unit is adapted to determine a transversal dump path deviation threshold for a dump path, said transversal dump path deviation threshold being indicative of how much an autonomous dump machine is allowed to transversally deviate from said dump path. See at least [0083] and figure 8, wherein the management unit 602 determines a deviation threshold MaxD, indicative of how much the vehicle CP can deviate in a transversal direction ED perpendicular to dump path 21A. Additionally, see at least [0087], wherein MaxD is a maximum amount of departure from a target route. Additionally, see at least [0035]-[0036], wherein the vehicle is a dump truck, and the travel route is a dump path between a loading site and a dumping site.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Everett with Tanaka’s technique of determining a transversal dump path deviation threshold for a dump path, said transversal dump path deviation threshold being indicative of how much an autonomous dump machine is allowed to transversally deviate from said dump path. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables increased safety for autonomous haulage vehicles at a worksite, as recognized by Tanaka (see at least [0002]-[0006], [0020], and [0086]).
Regarding Claim 5, Everett, Takuya, and Tanaka in combination disclose all of the limitations of Claim 4 as discussed above, and Everett additionally teaches wherein said management unit is adapted to set a transversal dump path deviation based on a determination that said adjacent dump path is at least partially filled with material. See at least [0024]-[0025] and figure 3, wherein an adjacent dump path 38 is at least partially filled with material and has a spacing based on the spacing between dump sites 36.
said management unit being adapted to set a second transversal dump path deviation for a dump path based on a determination that said adjacent dump path is not filled with material. See at least [0024] and figure 3, wherein adjacent dump path 42 is not filled with material, and is therefore used as a travel row, and has a second transversal dump path deviation space 44, where the autonomous dump machine can travel within when traveling on dump path 40.
Everett remains silent on a deviation threshold, and said first transversal dump path deviation threshold being greater than said second transversal dump path deviation threshold.
Tanaka teaches a deviation threshold, and said first transversal dump path deviation threshold being greater than said second transversal dump path deviation threshold. See at least [0105] and figure 11, wherein the dump path 21 has a first transversal dump path deviation threshold R2 and a second transversal dump path deviation threshold R1, wherein first threshold R2 is greater than second threshold R1.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Everett with Tanaka’s technique of determining a transversal dump path deviation threshold for a dump path, said transversal dump path deviation threshold being indicative of how much an autonomous dump machine is allowed to transversally deviate from said dump path. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables increased safety for autonomous haulage vehicles at a worksite, as recognized by Tanaka (see at least [0002]-[0006], [0020], and [0086]).
Regarding Claim 26, Everett and Takuya in combination disclose all of the limitations of Claim 24 as discussed above, and Everett additionally teaches in a direction towards an adjacent dump path, said method comprising determining transversal dump path deviation on the basis of said dump map. See at least [0023]-[0024], wherein the management unit 28 determines dump paths on the basis of the dump map, the dump paths including a space 44 separating adjacent dump paths 40 and 42 in a transversal direction.
Everett remains silent on further comprising determining a transversal dump path deviation threshold for a dump path, said transversal dump path deviation threshold being indicative of how much an autonomous dump machine is allowed to transversally deviate from said dump path in a direction towards an adjacent dump path.
Tanaka teaches further comprising determining a transversal dump path deviation threshold for a dump path, said transversal dump path deviation threshold being indicative of how much an autonomous dump machine is allowed to transversally deviate from said dump path. See at least [0083] and figure 8, wherein the management unit 602 determines a deviation threshold MaxD, indicative of how much the vehicle CP can deviate in a transversal direction ED perpendicular to dump path 21A. Additionally, see at least [0087], wherein MaxD is a maximum amount of departure from a target route. Additionally, see at least [0035]-[0036], wherein the vehicle is a dump truck, and the travel route is a dump path between a loading site and a dumping site.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Everett with Tanaka’s technique of determining a transversal dump path deviation threshold for a dump path, said transversal dump path deviation threshold being indicative of how much an autonomous dump machine is allowed to transversally deviate from said dump path. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables increased safety for autonomous haulage vehicles at a worksite, as recognized by Tanaka (see at least [0002]-[0006], [0020], and [0086]).
Regarding Claim 27, Everett, Takuya, and Tanaka in combination disclose all of the limitations of Claim 26 as discussed above, and Everett additionally teaches comprising setting transversal dump path deviation based on a determination that said adjacent dump path is at least partially filled with material. See at least [0024]-[0025] and figure 3, wherein an adjacent dump path 38 is at least partially filled with material and has a spacing based on the spacing between dump sites 36.
and setting a second transversal dump path deviation for a dump path based on a determination that said adjacent dump path is not filled with material. See at least [0024] and figure 3, wherein adjacent dump path 42 is not filled with material, and is therefore used as a travel row, and has a second transversal dump path deviation space 44, where the autonomous dump machine can travel within when traveling on dump path 40.
Everett remains silent on a deviation threshold, and said first transversal dump path deviation threshold being greater than said second transversal dump path deviation threshold.
Tanaka teaches a deviation threshold, and said first transversal dump path deviation threshold being greater than said second transversal dump path deviation threshold. See at least [0105] and figure 11, wherein the dump path 21 has a first transversal dump path deviation threshold R2 and a second transversal dump path deviation threshold R1, wherein first threshold R2 is greater than second threshold R1.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Everett with Tanaka’s technique of determining a transversal dump path deviation threshold for a dump path, said transversal dump path deviation threshold being indicative of how much an autonomous dump machine is allowed to transversally deviate from said dump path. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables increased safety for autonomous haulage vehicles at a worksite, as recognized by Tanaka (see at least [0002]-[0006], [0020], and [0086]).
Claims 6, 9, 16, 28, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Everett and Takuya as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 20180341267 A1, filed 05/23/2017, hereinafter “Wei”.
Regarding Claim 6, Everett and Takuya in combination disclose all of the limitations of Claim 1 as discussed above, and Everett additionally teaches wherein said management unit is adapted to split said dump area into a plurality of adjacent dump paths, such that the plurality of dump paths covers said dump area. See at least [0022]-[0026] and figure 3, wherein dump area 16 is divided into a plurality of adjacent dump paths in rows, which fully cover the traversable area of the dump area 16.
Everett remains silent on each dump path being associated with a dump path width profile.
Wei teaches each dump path being associated with a dump path width profile. See at least [0030] and figures 3-5, wherein the dump piles are made in a path, and the piles have a predefined width.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Everett with Wei’s technique of a dump path being associated with a predetermined dump width. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables material to be piled in equal sizes at equal intervals, resulting in an even later upon compaction, as recognized by Wei (see at least [0001]-[0005]).
Regarding Claim 9, Everett and Takuya in combination disclose all of the limitations of Claim 7 as discussed above, and Everett remains silent on wherein said dump path is associated with a dump path width profile, said autonomous dump machine being adapted to use sensor information from said sensor arrangement being related to information within said dump path width profile.
Takuya teaches said autonomous dump machine being adapted to use sensor information from said sensor arrangement being related to information within said dump path width profile. See at least [0051], [0059]-[0065], and figure 12, wherein, while the dump truck is performing work, the shape data from the dump truck’s sensor is used to calculate a dump area along the surface of the dump path. In combination with Wei’s teaching, discussed below, of a dump path width profile, this limitation is taught in its entirety.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Everett with Takuya’s technique of a sensor arrangement adapted to determine at least one sensor arrangement parameter indicative of the environment adjacent to at least a portion of said autonomous dump machine, the parameter indicating a dump area. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables autonomous dump trucks to efficiently dump soil while maintaining a high level of soil density, as recognized by Takuya (see at least [0001]-[0004]).
Wei teaches wherein said dump path is associated with a dump path width profile. See at least [0030] and figures 3-5, wherein the dump piles are made in a path, and the piles have a predefined width.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Everett with Wei’s technique of a dump path being associated with a predetermined dump width. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables material to be piled in equal sizes at equal intervals, resulting in an even later upon compaction, as recognized by Wei (see at least [0001]-[0005]).
Regarding Claim 16, Everett and Takuya in combination disclose all of the limitations of Claim 15 as discussed above, and Everett remains silent on wherein said autonomous dump machine is adapted to receive information relating to a dump path width profile associated with said dump path, said autonomous dump machine being adapted to use sensor information from said sensor arrangement being related to information within said dump path width profile.
Takuya teaches said autonomous dump machine being adapted to use sensor information from said sensor arrangement being related to information within said dump path width profile. See at least [0051], [0059]-[0065], and figure 12, wherein, while the dump truck is performing work, the shape data from the dump truck’s sensor is used to calculate a dump area along the surface of the dump path. In combination with Wei’s teaching, discussed below, of a dump path width profile, this limitation is taught in its entirety.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Everett with Takuya’s technique of a sensor arrangement adapted to determine at least one sensor arrangement parameter indicative of the environment adjacent to at least a portion of said autonomous dump machine, the parameter indicating a dump area. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables autonomous dump trucks to efficiently dump soil while maintaining a high level of soil density, as recognized by Takuya (see at least [0001]-[0004]).
Wei teaches wherein said autonomous dump machine is adapted to receive information relating to a dump path width profile associated with said dump path. See at least [0030] and figures 3-5, wherein the dump piles are made in a path, and the piles have a predefined width. The machine receives this information based on a received signal.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Everett with Wei’s technique of a dump path being associated with a predetermined dump width. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables material to be piled in equal sizes at equal intervals, resulting in an even later upon compaction, as recognized by Wei (see at least [0001]-[0005]).
Regarding Claim 28, Everett and Takuya in combination disclose all of the limitations of Claim 23 as discussed above, and Everett additionally teaches comprising splitting said dump area into a plurality of adjacent dump paths, such that the plurality of dump paths covers said dump area. See at least [0022]-[0026] and figure 3, wherein dump area 16 is divided into a plurality of adjacent dump paths in rows, which fully cover the traversable area of the dump area 16.
Everett remains silent on each dump path being associated with a dump path width profile.
Wei teaches each dump path being associated with a dump path width profile. See at least [0030] and figures 3-5, wherein the dump piles are made in a path, and the piles have a predefined width.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Everett with Wei’s technique of a dump path being associated with a predetermined dump width. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables material to be piled in equal sizes at equal intervals, resulting in an even later upon compaction, as recognized by Wei (see at least [0001]-[0005]).
Regarding Claim 30, Everett and Takuya in combination disclose all of the limitations of Claim 23 as discussed above, and Everett remains silent on wherein said dump path is associated with a dump path width profile, said method comprising using sensor information from said sensor arrangement being related to information within said dump path width profile.
Takuya teaches said autonomous dump machine being adapted to use sensor information from said sensor arrangement being related to information within said dump path width profile. See at least [0051], [0059]-[0065], and figure 12, wherein, while the dump truck is performing work, the shape data from the dump truck’s sensor is used to calculate a dump area along the surface of the dump path. In combination with Wei’s teaching, discussed below, of a dump path width profile, this limitation is taught in its entirety.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Everett with Takuya’s technique of a sensor arrangement adapted to determine at least one sensor arrangement parameter indicative of the environment adjacent to at least a portion of said autonomous dump machine, the parameter indicating a dump area. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables autonomous dump trucks to efficiently dump soil while maintaining a high level of soil density, as recognized by Takuya (see at least [0001]-[0004]).
Wei teaches wherein said dump path is associated with a dump path width profile. See at least [0030] and figures 3-5, wherein the dump piles are made in a path, and the piles have a predefined width.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Everett with Wei’s technique of a dump path being associated with a predetermined dump width. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables material to be piled in equal sizes at equal intervals, resulting in an even later upon compaction, as recognized by Wei (see at least [0001]-[0005]).
Claims 10-12 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Everett and Takuya as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 20180150779 A1, filed 09/29/2016, hereinafter “Wei #2”.
Regarding Claim 10, Everett and Takuya in combination disclose all of the limitations of Claim 7 as discussed above, and Everett remains silent on wherein said sensor arrangement is adapted to determine an inclination of said autonomous dump machine.
Wei #2 teaches wherein said sensor arrangement is adapted to determine an inclination of said autonomous dump machine. See at least [0032], wherein the sensing system is adapted to determine an inclination of the machine.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Everett with Wei #2’s technique of the sensor arrangement being adapted to determine an inclination of the machine. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables increased efficiency and optimization of autonomous machines at a work site, as recognized by Wei #2 (see at least [0001]-[0007]).
Regarding Claim 11, Everett, Takuya, and Wei #2 in combination disclose all of the limitations of Claim 10 as discussed above, and Everett remains silent on wherein said sensor arrangement is adapted to detect a pitch of said autonomous dump machine, said autonomous dump machine being adapted to determine that said autonomous dump machine has reached said dumping position in response to determining that said detected pitch equals or exceeds a predetermined pitch inclination threshold angle.
Wei #2 teaches wherein said sensor arrangement is adapted to detect a pitch of said autonomous dump machine, said autonomous dump machine being adapted to determine that said autonomous dump machine has reached said dumping position in response to determining that said detected pitch equals or exceeds a predetermined pitch inclination threshold angle. See at least [0032], wherein a pitch angle sensor is used to detect a pitch of the machine. Additionally, see at least [0040] and [0046]-[0047], wherein a change in terrain, i.e. a crest or an incline, is detected when a detected pitch angle exceeds threshold pitch angle. The change in terrain is used to determine the end of travel locations, or where the machine deposits a pile of material.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Everett with Wei #2’s technique of the sensor arrangement being adapted to determine a pitch of the machine, and determining that the machine has reached said dump position in response to determining that the pitch equals or exceeds a threshold pitch angle. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables increased efficiency and optimization of autonomous machines at a work site, as recognized by Wei #2 (see at least [0001]-[0007]).
Regarding Claim 12, Everett, Takuya, and Wei #2 in combination disclose all of the limitations of Claim 10 as discussed above, and Everett remains silent on wherein said sensor arrangement is adapted to detect a roll of said autonomous dump machine, said autonomous dump machine being adapted to determine that said autonomous dump machine should discontinue following said dump path in response to determining that said detected roll equals or exceeds a predetermined roll inclination threshold angle.
Wei #2 teaches wherein said sensor arrangement is adapted to detect a roll of said autonomous dump machine, said autonomous dump machine being adapted to determine that said autonomous dump machine should discontinue following said dump path in response to determining that said detected roll equals or exceeds a predetermined roll inclination threshold angle. See at least [0032], wherein the sensor arrangement determines a roll of the machine. See at least [0032], wherein a pitch angle sensor is used to detect a pitch of the machine. Additionally, see at least [0040] and [0046]-[0047], wherein a change in terrain, i.e. a crest or an incline, is detected when a detected pitch angle exceeds threshold pitch angle. The change in terrain is used to determine the end of travel locations. Other parts of the perception system can also be used instead of the pitch angle sensor.
Wei #2 discloses detecting a roll of a machine, and determining that the machine should end travelling in response to determining that a detected pitch angle equals or exceeds a predetermined pitch angle threshold value. However, Wei #2 is silent as to the specifics of using the roll angle to determine that the machine should end travelling. Nevertheless, applying any simple substitution, including that of the claimed invention, would have been am obvious design choice for one of ordinary skill in the art, because it facilitates known methods for using a machine’s roll to determine a work surface configuration, or terrain, and using a detected change in terrain to determine whether the machine should continue travelling on its path, as recognized by Wei #2 (see at least [0040]-[0041], [0046]-[0047], and [0073]). Since the invention failed to provide novel or unexpected results from the usage of said claimed formula, use of any mathematical means, including that of the claimed invention, would be an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Everett with Wei #2’s technique of the sensor arrangement being adapted to determine a roll of the machine, and determining that the machine has reached said dump position in response to determining that the pitch equals or exceeds a threshold pitch angle. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables increased efficiency and optimization of autonomous machines at a work site, as recognized by Wei #2 (see at least [0001]-[0007]).
Regarding Claim 17, Everett and Takuya in combination disclose all of the limitations of Claim 14 as discussed above, and Everett remains silent on wherein said sensor arrangement is adapted to determine an inclination of said autonomous dump machine.
Wei #2 teaches wherein said sensor arrangement is adapted to determine an inclination of said autonomous dump machine. See at least [0032], wherein the sensing system is adapted to determine an inclination of the machine.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Everett with Wei #2’s technique of the sensor arrangement being adapted to determine an inclination of the machine. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables increased efficiency and optimization of autonomous machines at a work site, as recognized by Wei #2 (see at least [0001]-[0007]).
Regarding Claim 18, Everett, Takuya, and Wei #2 in combination disclose all of the limitations of Claim 17 as discussed above, and Everett remains silent on wherein said sensor arrangement is adapted to detect a pitch of said autonomous dump machine, said autonomous dump machine being adapted to determine that said autonomous dump machine has reached said dumping position in response to determining that said detected pitch equals or exceeds a predetermined pitch inclination threshold angle.
Wei #2 teaches wherein said sensor arrangement is adapted to detect a pitch of said autonomous dump machine, said autonomous dump machine being adapted to determine that said autonomous dump machine has reached said dumping position in response to determining that said detected pitch equals or exceeds a predetermined pitch inclination threshold angle. See at least [0032], wherein a pitch angle sensor is used to detect a pitch of the machine. Additionally, see at least [0040] and [0046]-[0047], wherein a change in terrain, i.e. a crest or an incline, is detected when a detected pitch angle exceeds threshold pitch angle. The change in terrain is used to determine the end of travel locations, or where the machine deposits a pile of material.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Everett with Wei #2’s technique of the sensor arrangement being adapted to determine a pitch of the machine, and determining that the machine has reached said dump position in response to determining that the pitch equals or exceeds a threshold pitch angle. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables increased efficiency and optimization of autonomous machines at a work site, as recognized by Wei #2 (see at least [0001]-[0007]).
Regarding Claim 19, Everett, Takuya, and Wei #2 in combination disclose all of the limitations of Claim 17 as discussed above, and Everett remains silent on wherein said sensor arrangement is adapted to detect a roll of said autonomous dump machine, said autonomous dump machine being adapted to determine that said autonomous dump machine should discontinue following said dump path in response to determining that said detected roll equals or exceeds a predetermined roll inclination threshold angle.
Wei #2 teaches wherein said sensor arrangement is adapted to detect a roll of said autonomous dump machine, said autonomous dump machine being adapted to determine that said autonomous dump machine should discontinue following said dump path in response to determining that said detected roll equals or exceeds a predetermined roll inclination threshold angle. See at least [0032], wherein the sensor arrangement determines a roll of the machine. See at least [0032], wherein a pitch angle sensor is used to detect a pitch of the machine. Additionally, see at least [0040] and [0046]-[0047], wherein a change in terrain, i.e. a crest or an incline, is detected when a detected pitch angle exceeds threshold pitch angle. The change in terrain is used to determine the end of travel locations. Other parts of the perception system can also be used instead of the pitch angle sensor.
Wei #2 discloses detecting a roll of a machine, and determining that the machine should end travelling in response to determining that a detected pitch angle equals or exceeds a predetermined pitch angle threshold value. However, Wei #2 is silent as to the specifics of using the roll angle to determine that the machine should end travelling. Nevertheless, applying any simple substitution, including that of the claimed invention, would have been am obvious design choice for one of ordinary skill in the art, because it facilitates known methods for using a machine’s roll to determine a work surface configuration, or terrain, and using a detected change in terrain to determine whether the machine should continue travelling on its path, as recognized by Wei #2 (see at least [0040]-[0041], [0046]-[0047], and [0073]). Since the invention failed to provide novel or unexpected results from the usage of said claimed formula, use of any mathematical means, including that of the claimed invention, would be an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Everett with Wei #2’s technique of the sensor arrangement being adapted to determine a roll of the machine, and determining that the machine has reached said dump position in response to determining that the pitch equals or exceeds a threshold pitch angle. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables increased efficiency and optimization of autonomous machines at a work site, as recognized by Wei #2 (see at least [0001]-[0007]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.M.J./ Examiner, Art Unit 3667
/FARIS S ALMATRAHI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3667