DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The office action is in response to the claim amendments and remarks filed on March 23, 2026 for the application filed August 29, 2022. Claims 1, 8, and 15 have been amended. Claims 1, 3-5, 7-8, 10-12, 14-15, 17-18, and 20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-8, 10-12, 14-15, 17-18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo et al. (US2022/0376827A1) in view of Mandelli et al. (WO2019032087A1), Ryu et al. (US2021/0050954A1), and Rezagah et al. (US2022/0217497A1).
Regarding claim 1, Seo teaches a data blind retransmission method applied to a transmitting terminal, comprising (Paragraph [0128]: This disclosure provides details on enabling and adapting the number of blind retransmissions based on location information provided by a node. Paragraph [0158]: In one embodiment, UEs with higher reported range may dynamically increase the number of blind re-transmissions to enhance the reliability of transmissions.)
when the transmitting terminal is remote from a receiving terminal, starting a blind retransmission mechanism to retransmit data to be sent (Paragraph [0128]: This disclosure provides details on enabling and adapting the number of blind retransmissions based on location information provided by a node. Paragraph [0129]: The embodiments of the following disclosure are as follows: Paragraph [0130]: In one embodiment, a method of performing retransmission in a UE is provided. The method includes: determining distance between the UE and a node; wherein the distance is determined based on location information received from the node, wherein the node is the other UE or the base station, performing a new transmission of a data unit to the node; determining a retransmission of the data unit based on the distance; wherein the maximum number of retransmissions is determined based on the distance. Paragraph [0146]: Step 3): Transmitter UE transmits configurable K2 blind retransmissions based on the distance, CSI-RSRP/SSB-RSRP/Other RSRP. Paragraph [0153]: In one embodiment, a method for performing K2 blind retransmissions is provided. Upon enabling blind retransmissions, the distance estimate, CSI-RSRP/SSB-RSRP/Other RSRP may also assist the UE in selecting the required number of retransmissions.)
during retransmission, updating a distance state between the transmitting terminal and the receiving terminal and counting a number of retransmission times of the data to be sent (Paragraph [0129]: The embodiments of the following disclosure are as follows: Paragraph [0130]: In one embodiment, a method of performing retransmission in a UE is provided. The method includes: determining distance between the UE and a node; wherein the distance is determined based on location information received from the node, wherein the node is the other UE or the base station, performing a new transmission of a data unit to the node; determining a retransmission of the data unit based on the distance; wherein the maximum number of retransmissions is determined based on the distance. Paragraph [0153]: In one embodiment, a method for performing K2 blind retransmissions is provided. Upon enabling blind retransmissions, the distance estimate, CSI-RSRP/SSB-RSRP/Other RSRP may also assist the UE in selecting the required number of retransmissions. Paragraph [0159]: In one embodiment, excessive HARQ feedback signaling overhead can be avoided by switching to distance-based blind retransmissions. Paragraph [0168]: In one embodiment, number of the at least one of second retransmission is determined based on the distance between the first apparatus and the second apparatus.)
and controlling a retransmission of the data to be sent according to an updated distance state and the number of retransmission times (Paragraph [0146]: Step 3): Transmitter UE transmits configurable K2 blind retransmissions based on the distance, CSI-RSRP/SSB-RSRP/Other RSRP. Paragraph [0148]: The distance estimate between a UE and a node along with other parameters such as channel state information (CSI) reference signal received power (RSRP), synchronization signal block (SSB) RSRP or any other RSRP measurements may also aid the transmitting UE in determining whether retransmissions are required. This can be determined before a new data unit/packet is ready for transmission. Paragraph [0158]: In one embodiment, UEs with higher reported range may dynamically increase the number of blind re-transmissions to enhance the reliability of transmissions.)
wherein updating the distance state between the transmitting terminal and the receiving terminal comprises: receiving a sidelink control information sent by the receiving terminal; decoding the sidelink control information and extracting a parameter value of a preset parameter from a decoded sidelink control information; wherein the distance state is dynamically determined based on a preset parameter value extracted from sidelink control information (SCI) sent by the receiving terminal; wherein the distance state is updated in real-time or periodically based on the received sidelink control information, providing a flexible mechanism for the transmitting terminal to adapt its retransmission strategy (Paragraph [0126]: Table 6: The main idea is that, if an RX UE is outside the minimum communication range, it does not need to send HARQ feedback. A UE transmit HARQ feedback for the PSSCH if TX-RX distance is smaller or equal to the communication range requirement. Otherwise, the UE does not transmit HARQ feedback for the PSSCH. TX UE's location is indicated by SCI associated with the PSSCH. The TX-RX distance is estimated by RX UE based on its own location and TX UE location. Paragraph [0128]: This disclosure provides details on enabling and adapting the number of blind retransmissions based on location information provided by a node. Paragraph [0130]: In one embodiment, a method of performing retransmission in a UE is provided. The method includes: determining distance between the UE and a node; wherein the distance is determined based on location information received from the node, wherein the node is the other UE or the base station, performing a new transmission of a data unit to the node; Paragraph [0133]: One of the main applications of the proposed embodiments are intended for enhancing the reliability of UEs involved in sidelink communications. The procedures of the embodiment pertaining to a method of performing a retransmission can be described as follows: determining parameters such as the distance estimate/CSI-RSRP/SSB-RSRP/Other RSRP between a UE and a node. Paragraph [0134]: A transmitting UE may receive the distance information with respect to another node which may be a: base station, UE or Road Side Unit (RSU). Paragraph [0135]: The distance estimate is either computed using Radio Access Terminal (RAT) dependent or independent positioning techniques. Additional assistance data may be used to compute the distance estimate and this may include a node's location and timing-related information. Paragraph: [0154]: Table 7: The parameters rMax, CSI-RSRP Max and SSB-RSRP Max are upper bounded values where if exceeded, the maximum number of retransmissions (KMax) are selected. In order to cater for UE flexibility, the number of retransmissions (K2 or K1) can be chosen from a set of a predefined size (e.g. Table 7 shows the K2 (or K1-values with set size of 2 corresponding to each interval).);
when the parameter value is equal to a first preset value, using a long distance state as the updated distance state between the transmitting terminal and the receiving terminal; and when the parameter value is equal to a second preset value, using a short distance state as the updated distance state between the transmitting terminal and the receiving terminal; controlling the retransmission of the data to be sent according to the updated distance state and the number of retransmission time comprises: when the updated distance state is a short distance state, when the updated distance state is a long distance state; updating the distance state; allowing the transmitting terminal to autonomously distinguish between a long distance state and a short distance state; wherein the preset parameter used for determining the distance state is only effective for blind retransmissions, and may be manually set or dynamically configured by higher layer signaling (Paragraph [0128]: This disclosure provides details on enabling and adapting the number of blind retransmissions based on location information provided by a node. Paragraph [0130]: In one embodiment, a method of performing retransmission in a UE is provided. The method includes: determining distance between the UE and a node; wherein the distance is determined based on location information received from the node, wherein the node is the other UE or the base station, performing a new transmission of a data unit to the node; determining a retransmission of the data unit based on the distance; Paragraph [0146]: Step 3): Transmitter UE transmits configurable K2 blind retransmissions based on the distance, CSI-RSRP/SSB-RSRP/Other RSRP. Paragraph [0147]: In Step 1), the transmitting UE may also configure the initial transmissions with K1 retransmission based on distance, CSI-RSRP/SSB-RSRP/Other RSRP measurements. Paragraph [0148]: The distance estimate between a UE and a node along with other parameters such as channel state information (CSI) reference signal received power (RSRP), synchronization signal block (SSB) RSRP or any other RSRP measurements may also aid the transmitting UE in determining whether retransmissions are required. Paragraph [0153]: In one embodiment, a method for performing K2 blind retransmissions is provided. Upon enabling blind retransmissions, the distance estimate, CSI-RSRP/SSB-RSRP/Other RSRP may also assist the UE in selecting the required number of retransmissions. Example, if the distance estimate falls within a specified distance interval, then the UE can determine the appropriate number of retransmissions. Paragraph [0158]: In one embodiment, UEs with higher reported range may dynamically increase the number of blind re-transmissions to enhance the reliability of transmissions. Also see Paragraph [0154]: Table 7. Paragraph [0207]: For example, it may be defined that information on whether to apply the method according to various embodiments of the present disclosure is reported by the base station to the terminal or by a transmitting terminal to a receiving terminal through pre-defined signaling (e.g., physical layer signaling or higher layer signaling). For example, it may be defined that information on a rule according to various embodiments of the present disclosure is reported by the base station to the terminal or by a transmitting terminal to a receiving terminal through pre-defined signaling (e.g., physical layer signaling or higher layer signaling).).
wherein the receiving terminal is configured to detect a distance between the transmitting terminal and the receiving terminal; and to report the parameter value indicating the distance state to the transmitting terminal through the SCI (Paragraph [0126]: The TX-RX distance is estimated by RX UE based on its own location and TX UE location. Paragraph [0134]: A transmitting UE may receive the distance information with respect to another node which may be a: base station, UE or Road Side Unit (RSU). Paragraph [0167]: In one embodiment, the first apparatus may receive information on distance estimate between the first apparatus and the second apparatus from the second apparatus. The first apparatus may determine distance between the first apparatus and the second apparatus based on the information on distance estimate. Also see Fig. 12 and Fig. 13)
in real time (Paragraph [0135]: Additional assistance data may be used to compute the distance estimate and this may include a node's location and timing-related information. Also see paragraphs [0157], [0158] which indicate dynamically adapting based on location/distance);
wherein the transmitting terminal updates the distance state in each retransmission cycle according to the parameter value (Paragraph [0128]: This disclosure provides details on enabling and adapting the number of blind retransmissions based on location information provided by a node. Paragraph [0130]: In one embodiment, a method of performing retransmission in a UE is provided. The method includes: determining distance between the UE and a node; wherein the distance is determined based on location information received from the node, wherein the node is the other UE…..performing a new transmission of a data unit to the node; determining a retransmission of the data unit based on the distance. Paragraph [0153]: if the distance estimate falls within a specified distance interval, then the UE can determine the appropriate number of retransmissions. Paragraph [0157]: In one embodiment, location information is exploited to enable and adapt the number of re-transmissions for efficient and reliable transmissions.)
and that the transmitting terminal updates the distance state based on the parameter value reported by the receiving terminal through the SCI (Table 6: The TX-RX distance is estimated by RX UE based on its own location and TX UE location. Paragraph [0130]: In one embodiment, a method of performing retransmission in a UE is provided. The method includes: determining distance between the UE and a node; wherein the distance is determined based on location information received from the node, wherein the node is the other UE…..performing a new transmission of a data unit to the node; determining a retransmission of the data unit based on the distance. Paragraph [0133]: One of the main applications of the proposed embodiments are intended for enhancing the reliability of UEs involved in sidelink communications. Paragraph [0134]: A transmitting UE may receive the distance information with respect to another node which may be a: base station, UE or Road Side Unit (RSU). Paragraph [0153]: Example, if the distance estimate falls within a specified distance interval, then the UE can determine the appropriate number of retransmissions. Paragraph [0158]: In one embodiment, UEs with higher reported range may dynamically increase the number of blind re-transmissions to enhance the reliability of transmissions. Paragraph [0167]: In one embodiment, the first apparatus may receive information on distance estimate between the first apparatus and the second apparatus from the second apparatus. The first apparatus may determine distance between the first apparatus and the second apparatus based on the information on distance estimate. Paragraph [0168]: In one embodiment, number of the at least one of second retransmission is determined based on the distance between the first apparatus and the second apparatus. Also see Fig. 12 and Fig. 13 which show the sidelink communication between TX-UE and RX-UE, where the RX-UE reports the distance estimate to the TX-UE via sidelink communication. Table 7 shows that the distance estimate ‘r’ is used to update the transmitter UE’s distance state to adapt the retransmission strategy.)
Seo does not explicitly teach turning off the blind retransmission mechanism; determining whether the number of retransmission times is less than a preset maximum number of times; if yes, returning to execute steps of counting the number of retransmission times of the data to be sent, if no, turning off the blind retransmission mechanism; wherein the short distance state and long distance state are defined as distinct conditions for controlling the blind retransmission mechanism: in the short distance state, the blind retransmission mechanism is turned off; in the long distance state, the blind retransmission mechanism is activated, but the number of retransmissions is limited by a preset maximum number; and when the distance state changes from the long distance state to the short distance state, switches from the blind retransmission mechanism to a HARQ feedback-based retransmission mechanism, and resets or maintains the number of retransmission times to a preset value; wherein the parameter value comprises a predefined field value representing a real-time distance state in the SCI.
However, Mandelli teaches turning off the blind retransmission mechanism; determining whether the number of retransmission times is less than a preset maximum number of times; if yes, returning to execute steps of counting the number of retransmission times of the data to be sent, if no, turning off the blind retransmission mechanism (Paragraph [0037]: Thus, by way of illustrative example, the first network node may use a NACK-based retransmission mode initially to perform one or more retransmissions of the data. Thus, in this manner, the first network node may perform a number of ACK/NACK transmissions (e.g., including transmissions and retransmissions in the NACK-based retransmission mode). Then, when a condition is detected, the first network node may switch retransmission modes to the blind retransmission mode and then retransmit, one or more times, the data using the blind retransmission mode. Alternatively, a network node may begin with a blind retransmission mode, and then may switch to the NACK-based retransmission mode. Paragraph [0039]: As noted, the first network node may switch transmission modes for the data from a first retransmission mode to a second retransmission mode in response to a detected condition. There are a number of different conditions (or triggers or events) that may cause the first network node to switch retransmission modes. For example, the first (e.g., transmitting) network node may switch retransmission modes based on one or more of the following, by way of some illustrative examples: Paragraph [0044]: In a first illustrative example, because the transmitter is not near or within a threshold time of the end of the latency budget, the transmitter and receiver may begin with a NACK-based retransmission mode to transmit and then retransmit the data to the receiver. At some point (e.g., when 70% of the latency budget has been used, or when some number of transmissions and retransmissions have occurred without successful delivery of the data), the transmitter and receiver may switch to the blind retransmission mode. Paragraph [0043]: Thus, in such a situation where data has not yet been received and decoded at the receiver via a first phase (e.g., using NACK-based retransmission mode), the transmitting network node and receiving network node may then switch to a second retransmission mode (e.g., a blind retransmission mode). In at least some (or many) cases of course, the data may be successfully transmitted via the first phase and the first retransmission mode (e.g., using the NACK-based retransmission mode during a first phase), thus avoiding use of the second retransmission mode (e.g., a blind retransmission mode) during the second phase (where the second retransmission mode may be less efficient, but may also provide a higher reliability, than the first retransmission mode). Paragraph [0045]: In a second illustrative example, a UE may initially be located in a basement or other location with weak or challenging signal conditions. Based on these network conditions (e.g., received signal strength, or signal quality from a BS), and based on a relatively high QoS required for this service, the transmitter/UE may select a blind transmission scheme to begin with, and may signal or request this retransmission mode to the BS (or the BS may select this retransmission mode for the UE to use, and signal the UE). The UE, using the blind retransmission scheme may transmit the data multiple times to the BS, but does not receive an ACK. At some point, the signal conditions for the UE dramatically improve based on movement of the UE to a better location. Based on these improved signal conditions between the UE and the BS, the UE switches (or is instructed to switch by the BS) to a NACK- based retransmission mode, and the data is then transmitted by the UE, and awaits a NACK, before retransmitting the data. The UE may continue retransmitting the data in response to each received NACK, e.g., until a threshold number of retransmissions has been reached. Paragraph [0051]: D) Configuration-based switching: This may be an example of proactive switching. In configuration-based switching, the BS may communicate general HARQ configuration (e.g., maximum retransmission number, number of parallel HARQ processes, amount of bandwidth) to the UE, e.g., using a RRC message such as RRC ReconfigurationMessage indicating the number of regular NACK-based transmissions/retransmissions and the number of final blind retransmissions. HARQ configuration could also indicate number of transmissions/retransmissions with first mode, and then switch to second mode. Paragraph [0066]: The hybrid scheme can also be constructed in any other combination of blind retransmissions and NACK-based mode. ….the hybrid scheme can start with a few blind retransmissions, then switch to regular NACK-based mode, then when approaching the deadline switch to use again blind retransmissions. This configuration can, e.g., be indicated by RRC configuration messages (as in (D) described above, for example).
wherein the short distance state and long distance state are defined as distinct conditions for controlling the blind retransmission mechanism: in the short distance state, the blind retransmission mechanism is turned off; in the long distance state, the blind retransmission mechanism is activated, but the number of retransmissions is limited by a preset maximum number (Paragraph [0045]: In a second illustrative example, a UE may initially be located in a basement or other location with weak or challenging signal conditions. Based on these network conditions (e.g., received signal strength, or signal quality from a BS), and based on a relatively high QoS required for this service, the transmitter/UE may select a blind transmission scheme to begin with, and may signal or request this retransmission mode to the BS (or the BS may select this retransmission mode for the UE to use, and signal the UE). The UE, using the blind retransmission scheme may transmit the data multiple times to the BS, but does not receive an ACK. At some point, the signal conditions for the UE dramatically improve based on movement of the UE to a better location. Based on these improved signal conditions between the UE and the BS, the UE switches (or is instructed to switch by the BS) to a NACK- based retransmission mode, and the data is then transmitted by the UE, and awaits a NACK, before retransmitting the data. Paragraph [0051]: D) Configuration-based switching: This may be an example of proactive switching. In configuration-based switching, the BS may communicate general HARQ configuration (e.g., maximum retransmission number, number of parallel HARQ processes, amount of bandwidth) to the UE, e.g., using a RRC message such as RRC ReconfigurationMessage indicating the number of regular NACK-based transmissions/retransmissions and the number of final blind retransmissions. HARQ configuration could also indicate number of transmissions/retransmissions with first mode, and then switch to second mode. Paragraph [0066]: The hybrid scheme can also be constructed in any other combination of blind retransmissions and NACK-based mode. ….the hybrid scheme can start with a few blind retransmissions, then switch to regular NACK-based mode, then when approaching the deadline switch to use again blind retransmissions. This configuration can, e.g., be indicated by RRC configuration messages (as in (D) described above, for example).
and when the distance state changes from the long distance state to the short distance state, switches from the blind retransmission mechanism to a HARQ feedback-based retransmission mechanism, and resets or maintains the number of retransmission times to a preset value (Paragraph [0045]: In a second illustrative example, a UE may initially be located in a basement or other location with weak or challenging signal conditions. Based on these network conditions (e.g., received signal strength, or signal quality from a BS), and based on a relatively high QoS required for this service, the transmitter/UE may select a blind transmission scheme to begin with, and may signal or request this retransmission mode to the BS (or the BS may select this retransmission mode for the UE to use, and signal the UE). The UE, using the blind retransmission scheme may transmit the data multiple times to the BS, but does not receive an ACK. At some point, the signal conditions for the UE dramatically improve based on movement of the UE to a better location. Based on these improved signal conditions between the UE and the BS, the UE switches (or is instructed to switch by the BS) to a NACK- based retransmission mode, and the data is then transmitted by the UE, and awaits a NACK, before retransmitting the data. The UE may continue retransmitting the data in response to each received NACK, e.g., until a threshold number of retransmissions has been reached.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide turning off the blind retransmission mechanism; determining whether the number of retransmission times is less than a preset maximum number of times; if yes, returning to execute steps of and counting the number of retransmission times of the data to be sent, if no, turning off the blind retransmission mechanism; wherein the short distance state and long distance state are defined as distinct conditions for controlling the blind retransmission mechanism: in the short distance state, the blind retransmission mechanism is turned off; in the long distance state, the blind retransmission mechanism is activated, but the number of retransmissions is limited by a preset maximum number; and when the distance state changes from the long distance state to the short distance state, switches from the blind retransmission mechanism to a HARQ feedback-based retransmission mechanism, and resets or maintains the number of retransmission times to a preset value, as taught by Mandelli in the system of Seo, so that switching between retransmission schemes based on a condition such as movement of the UE to a better location, thus improving proximity, and turning off blind retransmission scheme for short distance states; switching to a blind transmission mode for long distances would provide flexibility by controlling the type of retransmission mechanism, as well as improve reliability of low latency communications (Mandelli: Paragraphs [0043], [0064]).
The combination of Seo and Mandelli does not explicitly teach when the distance state changes from the long distance state to the short distance state, switches to a HARQ feedback-based retransmission mechanism.
However, Ryu teaches when the distance state changes from the long distance state to the short distance state, switches to a HARQ feedback-based retransmission mechanism (Paragraph [0139]: the reception UE may calculate the distance between the transmission UE and itself (the reception UE), on the basis of its own location information and the location information of the transmission UE. The distance between the transmission UE and reception UE-N is defined to be dN. The reception UE may compare a dui value with a dN value via the range requirement (defined to be dTH) included in the received SCI information of PSCCH. The reception UE may perform HARQ operation according to a comparison result of the dTH and dN values. For example, if the distance between the transmission UE and the reception UE, which has been measured (calculated or obtained) by the reception UE, is greater than (or greater than or equal to) the range requirement, the reception UE may not transmit HARQ feedback information to the transmission UE. Alternatively, in a case of dN≤dTH or dN<dTH, the reception UE may transmit HARQ feedback to the transmission UE. Paragraph [0086]: (1) Unlike HARQ-ACK/NACK-based retransmission, blind retransmission may mean that a transmission UE repeatedly performs transmission without receiving feedback information for ACK or NACK from a reception UE. If blind retransmission is operated, the number of blind retransmissions may be included in resource pool information.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide when the distance state changes from the long distance state to the short distance state, switches to a HARQ feedback-based retransmission mechanism, as taught by Ryu in the combined system of Seo and Mandelli, so that the distance based feedback scheme between sidelinks can support high reliability (Ryu: Paragraphs [0008], [0139]).
The combination of Seo, Mandelli, and Ryu does not explicitly teach wherein the parameter value comprises a predefined field value representing a real-time distance state in the SCI.
However, Rezagah teaches wherein the parameter value comprises a predefined field value representing a real-time distance state in the SCI (Paragraph [0164]: transmitting from the UE to a further UE, e.g., using sidelink control information, SCI, position information of the UE, the position information including some or all of the second part of the location information element of the UE. Paragraph [0167]: receiving from a further UE located in the same zone or in a different zone, e.g., using sidelink control information, SCI, a zone ID and location information of the further UE, the location information indicating the position of the further UE. Paragraph [0175]: receiving at one or more times following the certain time from the further UE further location information indicating a difference between a current location of the further UE and the location signaled at the certain time. Paragraph [0181]: the receiving UE, connected to the transmitting UE via the sidelink, may still extract and/or understand the location/position of the transmitting UE with a desired accuracy. In accordance with embodiments of the first aspect, this allows the receiving UE to calculate a distance to the transmitting UE accurately. In accordance with a second aspect of the present invention, precise location information is sent at a certain point of the transmission, for example when establishing the connection, and following that initial transmission of the precise location, the signaling overhead is reduced by sending at later points, for example when the location of the transmitting UE changed, only the information on the difference between the initial location and the current location, thereby reducing the signaling overhead.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the parameter value comprises a predefined field value representing a real-time distance state in the SCI, as taught by Rezagah in the combined system of Seo, Mandelli, and Ryu, so that the receiver UE can calculate the current distance to the transmitter UE and report that information via sidelink control information (Rezagah: Paragraphs [0164], [0167], [0175], [0181]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Seo, Mandelli, Ryu, and Rezagah teaches the data blind retransmission method of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Seo further teaches wherein when the updated distance state is the short distance state, the data blind retransmission method further comprises: receiving a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback result sent by the receiving terminal (Paragraph [0124]: RAN1#96bis had discussed this issue in the context of sidelink HARQ feedback. The so called “distance-based HARQ feedback” was discussed and the following working assumption described below in Table 5 was made in the last RAN1#96bis meeting: Paragraph [0126]: Table 6: A UE transmit HARQ feedback for the PSSCH if TX-RX distance is smaller or equal to the communication range requirement. Otherwise, the UE does not transmit HARQ feedback for the PSSCH.)
The combination of Seo, Ryu, and Rezagah does not explicitly teach starting the retransmission mechanism according to the HARQ feedback result.
However, Mandelli teaches and starting the retransmission mechanism according to the HARQ feedback result (Paragraph [0045]: At some point, the signal conditions for the UE dramatically improve based on movement of the UE to a better location. Based on these improved signal conditions between the UE and the BS, the UE switches (or is instructed to switch by the BS) to a NACK- based retransmission mode, and the data is then transmitted by the UE, and awaits a NACK, before retransmitting the data. The UE may continue retransmitting the data in response to each received NACK, e.g., until a threshold number of retransmissions has been reached.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide starting the retransmission mechanism according to the HARQ feedback result, as taught by Mandelli in the combined system of Seo, Ryu, and Rezagah, in order to provide improved probability and reliability for data transmission (Mandelli: Paragraph [0043]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Seo, Mandelli, Ryu, and Rezagah teaches the data blind retransmission method of claim 3 (see rejection for claim 3);
Seo further teaches wherein starting the retransmission mechanism according to the HARQ feedback result comprises: when the HARQ feedback result is a decoding failure, starting the retransmission mechanism; and when the HARQ feedback result is a decoding success, performing a next data transmission (Paragraph [0143] – [0146]: Step 2): The receiving node provides the following feedback. 2.1) If ACK is transmitted, then a successful transmission has been performed. 2.2) If NACK is transmitted, then the transmitting UE can use adaptive blind retransmissions based on distance, CSI-RSRP/SSB-RSRP/Other RSRP. Paragraph [0165]: In operation S1430, the first apparatus according to an embodiment may receive hybrid automatic repeat request negative acknowledgement (HARQ NACK) related to the initial transmission and the at least one of first retransmission from the second apparatus based on physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH). Paragraph [0166]: In operation S1440, the first apparatus according to an embodiment may perform at least one of second retransmission to the second apparatus based on the reception of the HARQ NACK.)
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Seo, Mandelli, Ryu, and Rezagah teaches the data blind retransmission method of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
The combination of Seo, Ryu, and Rezagah does not explicitly teach wherein when the updated distance state is the short distance state, the data blind retransmission method further comprises: acquiring the number of retransmission times of the data to be sent in a last count; updating the number of retransmission times to zero or the preset maximum number of times; and when the transmitting terminal is remote from the receiving terminal, starting the blind retransmission mechanism based on an updated number of retransmission times.
However, Mandelli teaches wherein when the updated distance state is the short distance state, the data blind retransmission method further comprises: acquiring the number of retransmission times of the data to be sent in a last count; updating the number of retransmission times to zero or the preset maximum number of times; and when the transmitting terminal is remote from the receiving terminal, starting the blind retransmission mechanism based on an updated number of retransmission times (Paragraph 0037]: Thus, by way of illustrative example, the first network node may use a NACK-based retransmission mode initially to perform one or more retransmissions of the data. Thus, in this manner, the first network node may perform a number of ACK/NACK transmissions (e.g., including transmissions and retransmissions in the NACK-based retransmission mode). Then, when a condition is detected, the first network node may switch retransmission modes to the blind retransmission mode and then retransmit, one or more times, the data using the blind retransmission mode. Alternatively, a network node may begin with a blind retransmission mode, and then may switch to the NACK-based retransmission mode. Paragraph [0043]: Thus, in such a situation where data has not yet been received and decoded at the receiver via a first phase (e.g., using NACK-based retransmission mode), the transmitting network node and receiving network node may then switch to a second retransmission mode (e.g., a blind retransmission mode). In at least some (or many) cases of course, the data may be successfully transmitted via the first phase and the first retransmission mode (e.g., using the NACK-based retransmission mode during a first phase), thus avoiding use of the second retransmission mode (e.g., a blind retransmission mode) during the second phase (where the second retransmission mode may be less efficient, but may also provide a higher reliability, than the first retransmission mode). Paragraph [0045]: In a second illustrative example, a UE may initially be located in a basement or other location with weak or challenging signal conditions. Based on these network conditions (e.g., received signal strength, or signal quality from a BS), and based on a relatively high QoS required for this service, the transmitter/UE may select a blind transmission scheme to begin with, and may signal or request this retransmission mode to the BS (or the BS may select this retransmission mode for the UE to use, and signal the UE). The UE, using the blind retransmission scheme may transmit the data multiple times to the BS, but does not receive an ACK. At some point, the signal conditions for the UE dramatically improve based on movement of the UE to a better location. Based on these improved signal conditions between the UE and the BS, the UE switches (or is instructed to switch by the BS) to a NACK- based retransmission mode, and the data is then transmitted by the UE, and awaits a NACK, before retransmitting the data. The UE may continue retransmitting the data in response to each received NACK, e.g., until a threshold number of retransmissions has been reached. Paragraph [0051]: D) Configuration-based switching: This may be an example of proactive switching. In configuration-based switching, the BS may communicate general HARQ configuration (e.g., maximum retransmission number, number of parallel HARQ processes, amount of bandwidth) to the UE, e.g., using a RRC message such as RRC ReconfigurationMessage indicating the number of regular NACK-based transmissions/retransmissions and the number of final blind retransmissions. HARQ configuration could also indicate number of transmissions/retransmissions with first mode, and then switch to second mode. Paragraph [0066]: The hybrid scheme can also be constructed in any other combination of blind retransmissions and NACK-based mode. ….the hybrid scheme can start with a few blind retransmissions, then switch to regular NACK-based mode, then when approaching the deadline switch to use again blind retransmissions. This configuration can, e.g., be indicated by RRC configuration messages (as in (D) described above, for example).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide that when the updated distance state is the short distance state, the data blind retransmission method further comprises: acquiring the number of retransmission times of the data to be sent in a last count; updating the number of retransmission times to zero or the preset maximum number of times; and when the transmitting terminal is remote from the receiving terminal, starting the blind retransmission mechanism based on an updated number of retransmission times, as taught by Mandelli in the combined system of Seo, Ryu, and Rezagah, so that switching between retransmission schemes based on a condition such as movement of the UE to a better location, thus improving proximity, and turning off blind retransmission scheme for short distance states; switching to a blind transmission mode for long distances would provide flexibility by controlling the type of retransmission mechanism, as well as improve reliability of low latency communications (Mandelli: Paragraphs [0043], [0064]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Seo, Mandelli, Ryu, and Rezagah teaches the data blind retransmission method of claim 1, wherein counting the number of retransmission times of the data to be sent comprises (see rejection for claim 1);
Seo further teaches determining whether the data to be sent has completed a single retransmission; and if yes, acquiring the number of retransmission times of the data (Paragraph [0148]: The distance estimate between a UE and a node along with other parameters such as channel state information (CSI) reference signal received power (RSRP), synchronization signal block (SSB) RSRP or any other RSRP measurements may also aid the transmitting UE in determining whether retransmissions are required. This can be determined before a new data unit/packet is ready for transmission. Paragraph [0153]: In one embodiment, a method for performing K2 blind retransmissions is provided. Upon enabling blind retransmissions, the distance estimate, CSI-RSRP/SSB-RSRP/Other RSRP may also assist the UE in selecting the required number of retransmissions. Paragraph [0159]: In one embodiment, excessive HARQ feedback signaling overhead can be avoided by switching to distance-based blind retransmissions.)
The combination of Seo, Ryu, and Rezagah does not explicitly teach acquiring the number of retransmission times of the data to be sent in a last count and adding a preset value to the number of retransmission times in the last count.
However, Mandelli teaches acquiring the number of retransmission times of the data to be sent in a last count and adding a preset value to the number of retransmission times in the last count (Paragraph [0044]: In a first illustrative example, because the transmitter is not near or within a threshold time of the end of the latency budget, the transmitter and receiver may begin with a NACK-based retransmission mode to transmit and then retransmit the data to the receiver. At some point (e.g., when 70% of the latency budget has been used, or when some number of transmissions and retransmissions have occurred without successful delivery of the data), the transmitter and receiver may switch to the blind retransmission mode. According to the blind retransmission mode, retransmissions may be performed one or many times, e.g., every TTI, until a predetermined number of retransmissions has been reached or until an ACK has been received that acknowledges receipt of the data. Paragraph [0045]: At some point, the signal conditions for the UE dramatically improve based on movement of the UE to a better location. Based on these improved signal conditions between the UE and the BS, the UE switches (or is instructed to switch by the BS) to a NACK- based retransmission mode, and the data is then transmitted by the UE, and awaits a NACK, before retransmitting the data. The UE may continue retransmitting the data in response to each received NACK, e.g., until a threshold number of retransmissions has been reached. Paragraph [0051]: D) Configuration-based switching: This may be an example of proactive switching. In configuration-based switching, the BS may communicate general HARQ configuration (e.g., maximum retransmission number, number of parallel HARQ processes, amount of bandwidth) to the UE, e.g., using a RRC message such as RRC ReconfigurationMessage indicating the number of regular NACK-based transmissions/retransmissions and the number of final blind retransmissions.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide acquiring the number of retransmission times of the data to be sent in a last count and adding a preset value to the number of retransmission times in the last count, as taught by Mandelli in the combined system of Seo, Ryu, and Rezagah, so that the total count of retransmissions in a hybrid retransmission scheme will enable efficient use of resources (Mandelli: Paragraph [0053]).
Regarding claim 8, Seo teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing a plurality of instructions, wherein the instructions are executed by a processor to perform operations comprising (Paragraph [0184]: According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium that stores instructions (or indications) is provided. When the instructions are executed, the instructions cause a first apparatus to:).
when the transmitting terminal is remote from a receiving terminal, starting a blind retransmission mechanism to retransmit data to be sent; during retransmission, updating a distance state between the transmitting terminal and the receiving terminal and counting a number of retransmission times of the data to be sent; and controlling a retransmission of the data to be sent according to an updated distance state and the number of retransmission times; wherein the instructions are executed by the processor to perform the operations comprising: receiving a sidelink control information sent by the receiving terminal; decoding the sidelink control information and extracting a parameter value of a preset parameter from a decoded sidelink control information; when the parameter value is equal to a first preset value, using a long distance state as the updated distance state between the transmitting terminal and the receiving terminal; and when the parameter value is equal to a second preset value, using a short distance state as the updated distance state between the transmitting terminal and the receiving terminal; when the updated distance state is a short distance state, when the updated distance state is a long distance state; updating the distance state; wherein the distance state is dynamically determined based on a preset parameter value extracted from sidelink control information (SCI) sent by the receiving terminal, allowing the transmitting terminal to autonomously distinguish between a long distance state and a short distance state; wherein the preset parameter used for determining the distance state is only effective for blind retransmissions, and may be manually set or dynamically configured by higher layer signaling; wherein the distance state is updated in real-time or periodically based on the received sidelink control information, providing a flexible mechanism for the transmitting terminal to adapt its retransmission strategy; wherein the receiving terminal is configured to detect a distance between the transmitting terminal and the receiving terminal in real time and to report the parameter value indicating the distance state to the transmitting terminal through the SCI; wherein the transmitting terminal updates the distance state in each retransmission cycle according to the parameter value; and that the transmitting terminal updates the distance state based on the parameter value reported by the receiving terminal through the SCI (see rejection for claim 1).
Seo does not explicitly teach turning off the blind retransmission mechanism; determining whether the number of retransmission times is less than a preset maximum number of times; if yes, returning to execute steps of counting the number of retransmission times of the data to be sent, if no, turning off the blind retransmission mechanism; wherein the short distance state and long distance state are defined as distinct conditions for controlling the blind retransmission mechanism: in the short distance state, the blind retransmission mechanism is turned off; in the long distance state, the blind retransmission mechanism is activated, but the number of retransmissions is limited by a preset maximum number; and when the distance state changes from the long distance state to the short distance state, switches from the blind retransmission mechanism to a HARQ feedback-based retransmission mechanism, and resets or maintains the number of retransmission times to a preset value; wherein the parameter value comprises a predefined field value representing a real-time distance state in the SCI.
However, Mandelli teaches turning off the blind retransmission mechanism; determining whether the number of retransmission times is less than a preset maximum number of times; if yes, returning to execute steps of counting the number of retransmission times of the data to be sent, if no, turning off the blind retransmission mechanism; wherein the short distance state and long distance state are defined as distinct conditions for controlling the blind retransmission mechanism: in the short distance state, the blind retransmission mechanism is turned off; in the long distance state, the blind retransmission mechanism is activated, but the number of retransmissions is limited by a preset maximum number; and when the distance state changes from the long distance state to the short distance state, switches from the blind retransmission mechanism to a HARQ feedback-based retransmission mechanism, and resets or maintains the number of retransmission times to a preset value (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide turning off the blind retransmission mechanism; determining whether the number of retransmission times is less than a preset maximum number of times; if yes, returning to execute steps of and counting the number of retransmission times of the data to be sent, if no, turning off the blind retransmission mechanism; wherein the short distance state and long distance state are defined as distinct conditions for controlling the blind retransmission mechanism: in the short distance state, the blind retransmission mechanism is turned off; in the long distance state, the blind retransmission mechanism is activated, but the number of retransmissions is limited by a preset maximum number; when the distance state changes from the long distance state to the short distance state, switches from the blind retransmission mechanism to a HARQ feedback-based retransmission mechanism, and resets or maintains the number of retransmission times to a preset value, as taught by Mandelli in the system of Seo, so that switching between retransmission schemes based on a condition such as movement of the UE to a better location, thus improving proximity, and turning off blind retransmission scheme for short distance states; switching to a blind transmission mode for long distances would provide flexibility by controlling the type of retransmission mechanism, as well as improve reliability of low latency communications (Mandelli: Paragraphs [0043], [0064]).
The combination of Seo and Mandelli does not explicitly teach when the distance state changes from the long distance state to the short distance state, switches to a HARQ feedback-based retransmission mechanism.
However, Ryu teaches when the distance state changes from the long distance state to the short distance state, switches to a HARQ feedback-based retransmission mechanism (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide when the distance state changes from the long distance state to the short distance state, switches to a HARQ feedback-based retransmission mechanism, as taught by Ryu in the combined system of Seo and Mandelli, so that the distance based feedback scheme between sidelinks can support high reliability (Ryu: Paragraphs [0008], [0139]).
The combination of Seo, Mandelli, and Ryu does not explicitly teach wherein the parameter value comprises a predefined field value representing a real-time distance state in the SCI.
However, Rezagah teaches wherein the parameter value comprises a predefined field value representing a real-time distance state in the SCI (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the parameter value comprises a predefined field value representing a real-time distance state in the SCI, as taught by Rezagah in the combined system of Seo, Mandelli, and Ryu, so that the receiver UE can calculate the current distance to the transmitter UE and report that information via sidelink control information (Rezagah: Paragraphs [0164], [0167], [0175], [0181]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Seo, Mandelli, Ryu, and Rezagah teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 8 (see rejection for claim 8);
Seo further teaches wherein when the updated distance state is the short distance state, the instructions are executed by the processor to perform the operations comprising: receiving a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback result sent by the receiving terminal (see rejection for claim 3);
The combination of Seo, Ryu, and Rezagah does not explicitly teach starting the retransmission mechanism according to the HARQ feedback result.
However, Mandelli teaches starting the retransmission mechanism according to the HARQ feedback result (see rejection for claim 3);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide starting the retransmission mechanism according to the HARQ feedback result, as taught by Mandelli in the combined system of Seo, Ryu, and Rezagah, in order to provide improved probability and reliability for data transmission (Mandelli: Paragraph [0043]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Seo, Mandelli, Ryu, and Rezagah teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 10 wherein the instructions are executed by the processor to perform the operations comprising (see rejection for claim 10);
Seo further teaches: when the HARQ feedback result is a decoding failure, starting the retransmission mechanism; and when the HARQ feedback result is a decoding success, performing a next data transmission (see rejection for claim 4).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Seo, Mandelli, Ryu, and Rezagah teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 8, wherein when the updated distance state is the short distance state, the instructions are executed by the processor to perform the operations comprising (see rejection for claim 8);
The combination of Seo, Ryu, and Rezagah does not explicitly teach acquiring the number of retransmission times of the data to be sent in a last count; updating the number of retransmission times to zero or the preset maximum number of times; and when the transmitting terminal is remote from the receiving terminal, starting the blind retransmission mechanism based on an updated number of retransmission times.
However, Mandelli teaches acquiring the number of retransmission times of the data to be sent in a last count; updating the number of retransmission times to zero or the preset maximum number of times; and when the transmitting terminal is remote from the receiving terminal, starting the blind retransmission mechanism based on an updated number of retransmission times (see rejection for claim 5)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide acquiring the number of retransmission times of the data to be sent in a last count; updating the number of retransmission times to zero or the preset maximum number of times; and when the transmitting terminal is remote from the receiving terminal, starting the blind retransmission mechanism based on an updated number of retransmission times, as taught by Mandelli in the combined system of Seo, Ryu, and Rezagah, so that switching between retransmission schemes based on a condition such as movement of the UE to a better location, thus improving proximity, and turning off blind retransmission scheme for short distance states; switching to a blind transmission mode for long distances would provide flexibility by controlling the type of retransmission mechanism, as well as improve reliability of low latency communications (Mandelli: Paragraphs [0043], [0064]).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Seo, Mandelli, Ryu, and Rezagah teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 8, the instructions are executed by the processor to perform the operations comprising (see rejection for claim 8);
Seo further teaches determining whether the data to be sent has completed a single retransmission; and if yes, acquiring the number of retransmission times of the data (see rejection for claim 7);
The combination of Seo, Ryu, and Rezagah does not explicitly teach acquiring the number of retransmission times of the data to be sent in a last count, and adding a preset value to the number of retransmission times in the last count.
However, Mandelli teaches acquiring the number of retransmission times of the data to be sent in a last count, and adding a preset value to the number of retransmission times in the last count (see rejection for claim 7);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide acquiring the number of retransmission times of the data to be sent in a last count and adding a preset value to the number of retransmission times in the last count, as taught by Mandelli in the combined system of Seo, Ryu, and Rezagah, so that the total count of retransmissions in a hybrid retransmission scheme will enable efficient use of resources (Mandelli: Paragraph [0053]).
Regarding claim 15, Seo teaches a terminal, comprising: a processor; and a memory electrically connected to the processor and configured to store instructions and data; wherein the processor is configured to perform operations comprising (Paragraph [0017]: According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, an apparatus (or chip) configured to control a first UE is provided. The apparatus may include at least one processor and at least one computer memory that is connected to be executable by the at least one processor and stores instructions, wherein the at least one processor executes the instructions to cause the first UE to perform initial transmission to a second apparatus);
when the transmitting terminal is remote from a receiving terminal, starting a blind retransmission mechanism to retransmit data to be sent; during retransmission, updating a distance state between the transmitting terminal and the receiving terminal and counting a number of retransmission times of the data to be sent; and controlling a retransmission of the data to be sent according to an updated distance state and the number of retransmission times; wherein the processor is configured to perform: receiving a sidelink control information sent by the receiving terminal; decoding the sidelink control information and extracting a parameter value of a preset parameter from a decoded sidelink control information; when the parameter value is equal to a first preset value, using a long distance state as the updated distance state between the transmitting terminal and the receiving terminal; and when the parameter value is equal to a second preset value, using a short distance state as the updated distance state between the transmitting terminal and the receiving terminal; when the updated distance state is a short distance state, when the updated distance state is a long distance state; updating the distance state; wherein the distance state is dynamically determined based on a preset parameter value extracted from sidelink control information (SCI) sent by the receiving terminal, allowing the transmitting terminal to autonomously distinguish between a long distance state and a short distance state; wherein the preset parameter used for determining the distance state is only effective for blind retransmissions, and may be manually set or dynamically configured by higher layer signaling; wherein the distance state is updated in real-time or periodically based on the received sidelink control information, providing a flexible mechanism for the transmitting terminal to adapt its retransmission strategy; wherein the receiving terminal is configured to detect a distance between the transmitting terminal and the receiving terminal in real time and to report the parameter value indicating the distance state to the transmitting terminal through the SCI; wherein the transmitting terminal updates the distance state in each retransmission cycle according to the parameter value; and that the transmitting terminal updates the distance state based on the parameter value reported by the receiving terminal through the SCI (see rejection for claim 1).
Seo does not explicitly teach turning off the blind retransmission mechanism; determining whether the number of retransmission times is less than a preset maximum number of times; if yes, returning to execute steps of counting the number of retransmission times of the data to be sent, if no, turning off the blind retransmission mechanism; wherein the short distance state and long distance state are defined as distinct conditions for controlling the blind retransmission mechanism: in the short distance state, the blind retransmission mechanism is turned off; in the long distance state, the blind retransmission mechanism is activated, but the number of retransmissions is limited by a preset maximum number; and when the distance state changes from the long distance state to the short distance state, switches from the blind retransmission mechanism to a HARQ feedback-based retransmission mechanism, and resets or maintains the number of retransmission times to a preset value; wherein the parameter value comprises a predefined field value representing a real-time distance state in the SCI.
However, Mandelli teaches turning off the blind retransmission mechanism; determining whether the number of retransmission times is less than a preset maximum number of times; if yes, returning to execute steps of counting the number of retransmission times of the data to be sent, if no, turning off the blind retransmission mechanism’ wherein the short distance state and long distance state are defined as distinct conditions for controlling the blind retransmission mechanism: in the short distance state, the blind retransmission mechanism is turned off; in the long distance state, the blind retransmission mechanism is activated, but the number of retransmissions is limited by a preset maximum number; and when the distance state changes from the long distance state to the short distance state, switches from the blind retransmission mechanism to a HARQ feedback-based retransmission mechanism, and resets or maintains the number of retransmission times to a preset value (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide turning off the blind retransmission mechanism; determining whether the number of retransmission times is less than a preset maximum number of times; if yes, returning to execute steps of and counting the number of retransmission times of the data to be sent, if no, turning off the blind retransmission mechanism; wherein the short distance state and long distance state are defined as distinct conditions for controlling the blind retransmission mechanism: in the short distance state, the blind retransmission mechanism is turned off; in the long distance state, the blind retransmission mechanism is activated, but the number of retransmissions is limited by a preset maximum number; and when the distance state changes from the long distance state to the short distance state, switches from the blind retransmission mechanism to a HARQ feedback-based retransmission mechanism, and resets or maintains the number of retransmission times to a preset value, as taught by Mandelli in the system of Seo, so that switching between retransmission schemes based on a condition such as movement of the UE to a better location, thus improving proximity, and turning off blind retransmission scheme for short distance states; switching to a blind transmission mode for long distances would provide flexibility by controlling the type of retransmission mechanism, as well as improve reliability of low latency communications (Mandelli: Paragraphs [0043], [0064]).
The combination of Seo and Mandelli does not explicitly teach when the distance state changes from the long distance state to the short distance state, switches to a HARQ feedback-based retransmission mechanism.
However, Ryu teaches when the distance state changes from the long distance state to the short distance state, switches to a HARQ feedback-based retransmission mechanism (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide when the distance state changes from the long distance state to the short distance state, switches to a HARQ feedback-based retransmission mechanism, as taught by Ryu in the combined system of Seo and Mandelli, so that the distance based feedback scheme between sidelinks can support high reliability (Ryu: Paragraphs [0008], [0139]).
The combination of Seo, Mandelli, and Ryu does not explicitly teach wherein the parameter value comprises a predefined field value representing a real-time distance state in the SCI.
However, Rezagah teaches wherein the parameter value comprises a predefined field value representing a real-time distance state in the SCI (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the parameter value comprises a predefined field value representing a real-time distance state in the SCI, as taught by Rezagah in the combined system of Seo, Mandelli, and Ryu, so that the receiver UE can calculate the current distance to the transmitter UE and report that information via sidelink control information (Rezagah: Paragraphs [0164], [0167], [0175], [0181]).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Seo, Mandelli, Ryu, and Rezagah teaches the terminal of claim 15 (see rejection for claim 15);
Seo further teaches wherein when the updated distance state is the short distance state, the processor is configured to perform: receiving a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback result sent by the receiving terminal (see rejection for claim 3);
The combination of Seo, Ryu, and Rezagah does not explicitly teach starting the retransmission mechanism according to the HARQ feedback result.
However, Mandelli teaches starting the retransmission mechanism according to the HARQ feedback result (see rejection for claim 3);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide starting the retransmission mechanism according to the HARQ feedback result, as taught by Mandelli in the combined system of Seo, Ryu, and Rezagah, in order to provide improved probability and reliability for data transmission (Mandelli: Paragraph [0043]).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Seo, Mandelli, Ryu, and Rezagah teaches the terminal of claim 15, wherein when the updated distance state is the short distance state, the processor is configured to perform (see rejection for claim 15);
The combination of Seo, Ryu, and Rezagah does not explicitly teach acquiring the number of retransmission times of the data to be sent in a last count; updating the number of retransmission times to zero or the preset maximum number of times; and when the transmitting terminal is remote from the receiving terminal, starting the blind retransmission mechanism based on an updated number of retransmission times.
However, Mandelli teaches acquiring the number of retransmission times of the data to be sent in a last count; updating the number of retransmission times to zero or the preset maximum number of times; and when the transmitting terminal is remote from the receiving terminal, starting the blind retransmission mechanism based on an updated number of retransmission times (see rejection for claim 5);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide acquiring the number of retransmission times of the data to be sent in a last count; updating the number of retransmission times to zero or the preset maximum number of times; and when the transmitting terminal is remote from the receiving terminal, starting the blind retransmission mechanism based on an updated number of retransmission times, as taught by Mandelli in the combined system of Seo, Ryu, and Rezagah, so that switching between retransmission schemes based on short and long distance states, and turning on blind retransmission scheme for long distance states or upon reaching a preset maximum retransmission count, would improve reliability of low latency communications (Mandelli: Paragraph [0064]).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Seo, Mandelli, Ryu, and Rezagah teaches the terminal of claim 15, wherein the processor is configured to perform (see rejection for claim 15);
Seo further teaches determining whether the data to be sent has completed a single retransmission; and if yes, acquiring the number of retransmission times of the data (see rejection for claim 7);
The combination of Seo, Ryu, and Rezagah does not explicitly teach acquiring the number of retransmission times of the data to be sent in a last count, and adding a preset value to the number of retransmission times in the last count.
However, Mandelli teaches acquiring the number of retransmission times of the data to be sent in a last count, and adding a preset value to the number of retransmission times in the last count (see rejection for claim 7);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide acquiring the number of retransmission times of the data to be sent in a last count and adding a preset value to the number of retransmission times in the last count, as taught by Mandelli in the combined system of Seo, Ryu, and Rezagah, so that the total count of retransmissions in a hybrid retransmission scheme will enable efficient use of resources (Mandelli: Paragraph [0053]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 23, 2026 with respect to claims 1, 3-5, 7-8, 10-12, 14-15, 17-18, and 20 being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo et al. (US2022/0376827A1) in view of Mandelli et al. (WO2019032087A1), Ryu et al. (US2021/0050954A1), and Rezagah et al. (US2022/0217497A1) have been fully considered.
Applicant argues that the cited references fail to teach or suggest these limitations of amended independent claims 1, 8, and 15: "and that the transmitting terminal updates the distance state based on the parameter value reported by the receiving terminal through the SCI."
Seo teaches that the receiving terminal is configured to detect a distance between the transmitting terminal and the receiving terminal and report the parameter value indicating the distance state to the transmitting terminal through the SCI. Seo teaches a method of performing retransmissions by determining the distance between the UE and a node (where the node is another UE or base station), where the distance is determined based on location information received from the node. Seo teaches that the distance estimate assists the UE in selecting the required number of retransmissions. The transmitter UE’s location is indicated by the sidelink control information (SCI) associated with the PSSCH. Based on the distance estimate falling within a specified distance, the UE then determines the appropriate number of retransmissions. Upon enabling blind retransmissions, the distance estimate assists the UE in selecting the required number of retransmissions. Based on the distance estimate, the UE determines the number of retransmissions, or blind retransmissions. Seo’s method teaches performing retransmissions by determining the distance between the transmitter UE and a receiver UE, where the distance is determined based on location information obtained using a sidelink control information. Seo teaches in Fig. 12 and Fig. 13 the sidelink communication between TX-UE and RX-UE, where the RX-UE reports the distance estimate to the TX-UE via sidelink communication. Table 7 shows that the distance estimate ‘r’ is used to update the transmitter UE’s distance state to adapt the retransmission strategy. The RX-UE reports the distance (distance parameter value) to the TX-UE. The TX-UE uses this distance measurement to update its distance state which is used by the TX-UE to adapt the retransmission strategy. Table 7 shows the ‘r’ values or distance measure which is used to determine the distance state as short or long distance which accordingly provides the transmitting terminal to change/adapt the retransmission strategy. Thus, Seo teaches "and that the transmitting terminal updates the distance state based on the parameter value reported by the receiving terminal through the SCI." Thus, the combination of Seo, Mandelli, Ryu, and Rezagah teaches amended independent claims 1, 8, and 15.
Conclusion
/L.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2461
/HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461