DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claim 13 is withdrawn.
Claims 1-12 and 14-17 are pending and represent all claims currently under consideration.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/26/2025, regarding the niosomes of Bevier (Remarks, pages 7-12), were previously considered in the Advisory Action mailed 12/04/2025.
Applicant's arguments filed 11/26/2025, regarding the composition as amended (Remarks, pages 7-9), have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant states that the cited references contain no suggestion that the at least one linear or branched polyglycerol and the at least one polysaccharide are not chemically linked to the at least one cannabinoid (Remarks, pages 8-9). This argument is not persuasive, because the previously cited references do suggest the composition of the amended claim, as discussed in the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 11, there is not support in the instant specification for excluding chemical linking of the at least one cannabinoid and the polyglycerol or polysaccharide. Newly added claim limitations must be supported in the specification through express, implicit, or inherent disclosure. See MPEP 2163(I)(B). Applicant states that one of skill in the art would understand that the method used to prepare the niosomes would result in the at least one linear or branched polyglycerol esterified with linear saturated or monounsaturated fatty acids and the at least one polysaccharide not being chemically linked to the at least one cannabinoid (Remarks, page 7, “Support for the Amendments”). This argument is not persuasive, because there is no support in the disclosure for the interaction between each component of the composition. Per MPEP 2173.05(i), any negative limitations or exclusionary proviso must have basis in the original disclosure. If alternative elements are positively recited in the specification, they may be excluded in the claim. In the instant case, there is no negative or positive recitation of chemical linking of the at least one cannabinoid and the polyglycerol or polysaccharide.
Regarding claims 2-12 and 14-17, each claim is dependent on the rejected claims 1 and 11 and does not cure the deficiencies of the independent claims.
Modified/Maintained Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 9, and 11-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 and 9 of copending Application No. 18/257,796 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Regarding claim 1, the reference application teaches a topical formulation comprising a water-based (i.e., aqueous-based) composition comprising cannabinoids in niosomes and at least one topically acceptable excipient, wherein the niosomes have a size of less than 500 nm (reference application, claim 1), and wherein the niosomes comprise at least one linear or branched polyglycerol esterified with saturated or monounsaturated linear fatty acids and at least one polysaccharide (reference application, claim 2). The reference application does not specify any chemical linking of the at least one cannabinoid and the polyglycerol or polysaccharide and therefore reads on the invention as stated in the amended claim.
Regarding claim 2, the reference application teaches all the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 1. The reference application further teaches the cannabinoids are of natural or synthetic origin (reference application, claim 3).
Regarding claim 3, the reference application teaches all the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 1. The reference application further teaches the at least one polysaccharide is of natural origin (reference application, claim 6).
Regarding claim 5, the reference application teaches all the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 1. The reference application further teaches the at least one linear or branched polyglycerol is at least one selected from the group consisting of triglycerol, tetraglycerol, hexaglycerol, octaglycerol, and decaglycerol (reference application, claim 4).
Regarding claim 6, the reference application teaches all the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 1. The reference application further teaches the saturated or monounsaturated linear fatty acids are selected from the group consisting of monocarboxylic acids having from 4 to 32 carbon atoms (reference application, claim 5).
Regarding claim 9, the reference application teaches all the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 1. The reference application further teaches the niosomes comprise at least one glycol having 4 to 16 carbon atoms (reference application, claim 7).
Regarding claim 11, the reference application teaches a topical formulation comprising a water-based (i.e., aqueous-based) composition comprising cannabinoids in niosomes (reference application, claim 1), wherein the niosomes comprise at least one linear or branched polyglycerol esterified with saturated or monounsaturated linear fatty acids and at least one polysaccharide (reference application, claim 2) and the niosomes comprise at least one glycol having 4 to 16 carbon atoms (reference application, claim 7).
Regarding claim 12, the reference application teaches all the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 11. The reference application teaches the formulation is water-based (i.e., aqueous-based; reference application, claim 1) and is in the form of a solution (reference application, claim 9).
Modified/Maintained Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 11-12, and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bevier (US 20130011484 A1), further in view of Pacchetti (US 20170281481 A1; IDS reference, 08/31/2022), and evidenced by Synytsya (Annals of Translational Medicine, 2014). The references were previously cited by the Examiner.
Regarding claim 1, Bevier teaches a composition comprising niosomes encapsulating a cannabinoid receptor binding agent (claim 13), which can be cannabidiol (i.e., at least one cannabinoid; page 14, paragraph 0147, table 2), and is aqueous (page 14, paragraph 0147, table 2), and exemplifies such niosomes to be 150-300 nm in size (i.e., smaller than 500 nm; Bevier, page 11, paragraph 0119, formulation 9). Bevier teaches nanoparticles may be coated with a polysaccharide (Bevier, page 5, paragraph 0057), suggesting the polysaccharide is not chemically linked to the cannabinoid, as claimed. Bevier teaches the composition is for topical use (Bevier, page 1, paragraph 0002) and further teaches the use of excipients (Bevier, page 5, paragraph 0060) which should be compatible with the intended functionality (i.e., the excipient should be topically acceptable; Bevier, page 6, paragraph 0060).
Bevier does not specifically teach a polyglycerol which is esterified with a fatty acid and is not chemically linked to the cannabinoid, but does teach the use of non-ionic surfactants as permeation enhancers (Bevier, page 7, paragraph 0073) and further teaches permeation enhancers can be encapsulated within the vesicle with the cannabinoid (Bevier, page 5, paragraph 0051), suggesting the non-ionic surfactant is not chemically linked to the cannabinoid.
Pacchetti teaches a topical composition comprising niosomes having a size of smaller than 500 nm and comprising a topically acceptable excipient (Pacchetti, abstract), wherein the niosomes comprise esters of linear or branched polyglycerols with saturated or monounsaturated linear fatty acids (Pacchetti, page 2, paragraph 0026). Pacchetti defines the esterified linear or branched polyglycerols as non-ionic surfactants (Pacchetti, claim 6).
Bevier and Pacchetti are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because both are in the same field of topical compositions comprising niosomes comprising polymers. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Bevier to have included esters of linear or branched polyglycerols with saturated or monounsaturated linear fatty acids (Pacchetti, page 2, paragraph 0026) as taught by Pacchetti, because Bevier teaches the use of non-ionic surfactants to enhance permeation (Bevier, page 7, paragraph 0073), while Pacchetti teaches esters of linear or branched polyglycerols as particularly preferred surfactants in niosome production (Pacchetti, page 2, paragraph 0039).
Regarding claim 2, Bevier and Pacchetti together teach all the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 1. Bevier further teaches the use of natural or synthetic cannabinoids (Bevier, page 2, paragraph 0029).
Regarding claim 3, Bevier and Pacchetti together teach all the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 1. Bevier further teaches the polysaccharide is a natural polymer (Bevier, page 8, paragraph 0086).
Regarding claim 4, Bevier and Pacchetti together teach all the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 1. As above, Bevier teaches nanoparticles may be coated with a polysaccharide (Bevier, page 5, paragraph 0057), and Bevier further teaches polysaccharides such as dextran (i.e., an alpha-glucan as evidenced by Synytsya, table 1; Bevier, page 8, paragraph 0086).
Regarding claim 5, Bevier and Pacchetti together teach all the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 1. As above, Bevier does not specifically teach a polyglycerol which is esterified with a fatty acid and is not chemically linked to the cannabinoid, but does teach the use of non-ionic surfactants as permeation enhancers (Bevier, page 7, paragraph 0073) and further teaches permeation enhancers can be encapsulated within the vesicle with the cannabinoid (Bevier, page 5, paragraph 0051), suggesting the non-ionic surfactant is not chemically linked to the cannabinoid. Pacchetti teaches niosomes comprising esters of linear or branched polyglycerols with saturated or monounsaturated linear fatty acids (Pacchetti, page 2, paragraph 0026), and further teaches the polyglycerol is preferably triglycerol, tetraglycerol, hexaglycerol, octaglycerol, or decaglycerol (Pacchetti, page 2, paragraph 0042). Pacchetti defines the esterified linear or branched polyglycerols as non-ionic surfactants (Pacchetti, claim 6). As above, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Bevier to have included a preferred polyglycerol ester (Pacchetti, page 2, paragraph 0026) as taught by Pacchetti, because Bevier teaches the use of non-ionic surfactants to enhance permeation (Bevier, page 7, paragraph 0073), while Pacchetti teaches esters of linear or branched polyglycerols as particularly preferred surfactants in niosome production (Pacchetti, page 2, paragraph 0039).
Regarding claim 6, Bevier and Pacchetti together teach all the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 1. As above, Bevier does not specifically teach a polyglycerol which is esterified with a fatty acid and is not chemically linked to the cannabinoid, but does teach the use of non-ionic surfactants as permeation enhancers (Bevier, page 7, paragraph 0073) and further teaches permeation enhancers can be encapsulated within the vesicle with the cannabinoid (Bevier, page 5, paragraph 0051), suggesting the non-ionic surfactant is not chemically linked to the cannabinoid. Pacchetti, however, teaches esters of linear or branched polyglycerols with saturated or monounsaturated linear fatty acids (Pacchetti, page 2, paragraph 0026), wherein the fatty acid comprises a monocarboxylic acid having from 4-32 carbon atoms, including stearic acid (Pacchetti, page 3, paragraph 0044). As above, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Bevier to have included a preferred polyglycerol/fatty acid ester (Pacchetti, page 2, paragraph 0026) as taught by Pacchetti, because Bevier teaches the use of non-ionic surfactants to enhance permeation (Bevier, page 7, paragraph 0073), while Pacchetti teaches that an ester of the two is particularly preferred for niosome production (Pacchetti, page 2, paragraph 0039).
Regarding claim 7, Bevier and Pacchetti together teach all the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 1. As above, Bevier does not specifically teach a polyglycerol which is esterified with a fatty acid and is not chemically linked to the cannabinoid, but does teach the use of non-ionic surfactants as permeation enhancers (Bevier, page 7, paragraph 0073) and further teaches permeation enhancers can be encapsulated within the vesicle with the cannabinoid (Bevier, page 5, paragraph 0051), suggesting the non-ionic surfactant is not chemically linked to the cannabinoid. Pacchetti, however, teaches esters of linear or branched polyglycerols with saturated or monounsaturated linear fatty acids (Pacchetti, page 2, paragraph 0026), wherein the fatty acid comprises a monocarboxylic acid having from 4-32 carbon atoms, including stearic acid (Pacchetti, page 3, paragraph 0044). As above, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Bevier to have included a preferred polyglycerol/fatty acid ester (Pacchetti, page 2, paragraph 0026) as taught by Pacchetti, because Bevier teaches the use of non-ionic surfactants to enhance permeation (Bevier, page 7, paragraph 0073), while Pacchetti teaches that an ester of the two is particularly preferred for niosome production (Pacchetti, page 2, paragraph 0039).
Regarding claim 8, Bevier and Pacchetti together teach all the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 1. As above, Bevier does not specifically teach a polyglycerol which is esterified with a fatty acid and is not chemically linked to the cannabinoid, but does teach the use of non-ionic surfactants as permeation enhancers (Bevier, page 7, paragraph 0073) and further teaches permeation enhancers can be encapsulated within the vesicle with the cannabinoid (Bevier, page 5, paragraph 0051), suggesting the non-ionic surfactant is not chemically linked to the cannabinoid. Pacchetti, however, teaches esters of linear or branched polyglycerols with saturated or monounsaturated linear fatty acids (Pacchetti, page 2, paragraph 0026), wherein the fatty acid comprises a monocarboxylic acid having from 4-32 carbon atoms, including myristoleic acid (Pacchetti, page 3, paragraph 0046). As above, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Bevier to have included a preferred polyglycerol/fatty acid ester (Pacchetti, page 2, paragraph 0026) as taught by Pacchetti, because Bevier teaches the use of non-ionic surfactants to enhance permeation (Bevier, page 7, paragraph 0073), while Pacchetti teaches that an ester of the two is particularly preferred for niosome production (Pacchetti, page 2, paragraph 0039).
Regarding claim 9, Bevier and Pacchetti together teach all the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 1. Bevier teaches the use of glycols (Bevier, page 3, paragraph 0037) such as propylene glycol (Bevier, page 8, paragraph 0085), but does not specify a glycol having from 4-16 carbon atoms. Pacchetti, however, teaches glycols to include both propylene glycol and butylene glycol (i.e., a glycol with 4 carbon atoms; Pacchetti, page 4, paragraph 0077). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize butylene glycol in place of the propylene glycol taught by Bevier, because Pacchetti teaches the two chemicals to be reasonable alternatives (Pacchetti, page 4, paragraph 0077).
Regarding claim 11, Bevier teaches a composition comprising niosomes encapsulating a cannabinoid receptor binding agent (claim 13), which can be cannabidiol (i.e., at least one cannabinoid; page 14, paragraph 0147, table 2), and is aqueous (page 14, paragraph 0147, table 2), and exemplifies such niosomes to be 150-300 nm in size (i.e., smaller than 500 nm; Bevier, page 11, paragraph 0119, formulation 9). Bevier teaches nanoparticles may be coated with a polysaccharide (Bevier, page 5, paragraph 0057), suggesting the polysaccharide is not chemically linked to the cannabinoid, as claimed. Bevier teaches the composition is for topical use (Bevier, page 1, paragraph 0002) and further teaches the use of excipients (Bevier, page 5, paragraph 0060) which should be compatible with the intended functionality (i.e., the excipient should be topically acceptable; Bevier, page 6, paragraph 0060).
Bevier does not specifically teach a polyglycerol which is esterified with a fatty acid and is not chemically linked to the cannabinoid, but does teach the use of non-ionic surfactants as permeation enhancers (Bevier, page 7, paragraph 0073) and further teaches permeation enhancers can be encapsulated within the vesicle with the cannabinoid (Bevier, page 5, paragraph 0051), suggesting the non-ionic surfactant is not chemically linked to the cannabinoid. Pacchetti teaches a topical composition comprising niosomes having a size of smaller than 500 nm and comprising a topically acceptable excipient (Pacchetti, abstract), wherein the niosomes comprise esters of linear or branched polyglycerols with saturated or monounsaturated linear fatty acids (Pacchetti, page 2, paragraph 0026). Pacchetti defines the esterified linear or branched polyglycerols as non-ionic surfactants (Pacchetti, claim 6).
Bevier further teaches glycols including propylene glycol (Bevier, page 8, paragraph 0085), but does not specify a glycol having from 4-16 carbon atoms. Pacchetti, however, teaches glycols including either propylene glycol and butylene glycol (i.e., a glycol with 4 carbon atoms; Pacchetti, page 4, paragraph 0077).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Bevier to have included esters of linear or branched polyglycerols with saturated or monounsaturated linear fatty acids (Pacchetti, page 2, paragraph 0026) as taught by Pacchetti, because Bevier teaches the use of non-ionic surfactants to enhance permeation (Bevier, page 7, paragraph 0073), while Pacchetti teaches esters of linear or branched polyglycerols as particularly preferred surfactants in niosome production (Pacchetti, page 2, paragraph 0039). Further, it would have been obvious to utilize butylene glycol in place of the propylene glycol taught by Bevier, because Pacchetti teaches the two chemicals to be reasonable alternatives (Pacchetti, page 4, paragraph 0077).
Regarding claim 12, Bevier and Pacchetti together teach all the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 11. Bevier teaches the composition is in the form of a solution in water (i.e., an aqueous solution; Bevier, page 11, paragraph 0113, formulation 3).
Regarding claim 14, Bevier and Pacchetti together teach all the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 1. Bevier further teaches the composition comprises cannabidiol (Bevier, page 11, paragraph 0119, formulation 9).
Regarding claim 15, Bevier and Pacchetti together teach all the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 2. Bevier further teaches the composition comprises cannabidiol (Bevier, page 11, paragraph 0119, formulation 9).
Regarding claim 16, Bevier and Pacchetti together teach all the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 3. Bevier further teaches the use of polysaccharides which can be alginate (Bevier, page 8, paragraph 0086).
Regarding claim 17, Bevier and Pacchetti together teach all the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 4. Bevier further teaches the use of natural polymers which can be cellulose (i.e., a beta-glucan as evidenced by Synytsya, table 1; Bevier, page 8, paragraph 0086).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bevier (US 20130011484 A1) and Pacchetti (US 20170281481 A1; IDS reference, 08/31/2022) as applied to claims 1-9, 11-12, and 14-17, further in view of Blume (US 9211238 B2). The references were previously cited by the Examiner.
Regarding claim 10, Bevier and Pacchetti together teach all the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 9. Bevier teaches the use of glycols (Bevier, page 3, paragraph 0037) such as propylene glycol (Bevier, page 8, paragraph 0085), but does not specify a glycol having from 4-16 carbon atoms. Pacchetti teaches glycols to include both propylene glycol and butylene glycol (i.e., a glycol with 4 carbon atoms; Pacchetti, page 4, paragraph 0077), but does not specifically state the butylene glycol is 1,2-butanediol. Blume teaches vesicles such as niosomes (Blume, column 1, line 25) comprising polymers (Blume, column 5, line 31), fatty acids (Blume, column 3, line 44), and polysaccharides (Blume, column 6, line 14) for topical application (Blume, column 3, line 33), and further teaches suitable solvents include propylene glycol and 1,2-butylene glycol (i.e., 1,2-butanediol; Blume, column 7, lines 65-66).
Bevier, Pacchetti, and Blume are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because all are in the same field of topical compositions comprising niosomes comprising polymers. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize butylene glycol in place of the propylene glycol taught by Bevier, because Pacchetti and Blume teach the two chemicals to be reasonable alternatives (Pacchetti, page 4, paragraph 0077).
Conclusion
/C.P.J./Examiner, Art Unit 1613
/JENNIFER A BERRIOS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613