DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 2/26/2026, with respect to claims 1-23 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Pelletier; Ghyslain et al. US 20140056243 A1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pelletier; Ghyslain et al. US PGPUB 20140056243 A1.
Regarding claim 11. Pelletier teach A method for wireless communications at a network entity comprising:
configuring a user equipment (UE) with a timing alignment timer for the UE ([0191] Each of the MAC instances may use an independent MAC configurations, for example independent sets of parameters, state variables, timers, HARQ entities, etc. Independent per-site MAC operation may apply to operation including one or more of random access procedures, maintenance of uplink time alignment (e.g., each MAC instance may maintain its own Active Time, DRX-related timers, DRX-related parameters, TAT timer, etc.),)
the network entity is configured as a secondary node (SN) ([0273] For example, the WTRU may determine to associate a deactivated state to each of the cells of a newly added/reconfigured layer. In an example, the Scells of the layer may be initially deactivated, but the PCell of the layer may be consider activated upon receiving the configuration for the layer. ) of a secondary cell group (SCG) of a multi radio access technology (multi-RAT) dual configuration (MR-DC) configuration for a user equipment (UE), ([0261] The configuration information for the secondary layer may be applicable to a second group of cells served by a serving site associated with the secondary layer (e.g., a SCeNB).)
the timing alignment timer enables the UE to determine a time duration for which UE does not maintain UL timing with the SN when operating in an SCG deactivated state; ([0209] In an example, TAT expiration (e.g., or a trigger that causes the WTRU to deem the TAT to have expired) may trigger a switch of the active MAC instance/layer. For example, if the WTRU determines that a TAT associated with one or more cells (e.g., a PCell) of a secondary layer has expired or has been deemed to have expired, the WTRU may initiate a procedure to activate one or more cells (e.g., a PCell) of a primary MAC instance, for example if the primary MAC instance had been deactivated.)
Regarding claim 19. Pelletier teaches A method for wireless communications by a network entity) comprising:
receiving a configuration of a timing alignment timer, ([0191[ Independent per-site MAC operation may apply to operation including one or more of random access procedures, maintenance of uplink time alignment (e.g., each MAC instance may maintain its own Active Time, DRX-related timers, DRX-related parameters, TAT timer, etc.), activation/de-activation of Scells (e.g., each MAC instance may have a Pcell and/or one or more Scells), DL-SCH data transfer, UL-SCH data transfer (e.g., scheduling request, buffer status reporting, power headroom reporting, logical channel prioritization, etc.), discontinuous reception (DRX) operation, MAC reconfiguration procedures, MAC reset procedures, semi-persistent scheduling, and/or the like.)
wherein: the network entity is configured as a master (MN) of a master cell group (MCG) (the WTRU may be configured to utilize a Pcell of the primary layer in order to receive the control plane data. of a multi radio access technology (multi-RAT) dual configuration (MR-DC) configuration ([0357] For example, if the reconfiguration configures the WTRU for "dual connectivity" while leaving one or more cells of the added layer in a deactivated state, the WTRU may receive a measurement configuration for performing measurements on cells of the deactivated layer.)
and the timing alignment timer enables the UE to determine a time duration for which the UE does not maintain UL timing ([0209] In an example, TAT expiration (e.g., or a trigger that causes the WTRU to deem the TAT to have expired) may trigger a switch of the active MAC instance/layer. For example, if the WTRU determines that a TAT associated with one or more cells (e.g., a PCell) of a secondary layer has expired or has been deemed to have expired, the WTRU may initiate a procedure to activate one or more cells (e.g., a PCell) of a primary MAC instance, for example if the primary MAC instance had been deactivated.) with a secondary node (SN) of a secondary cell group (SCG) ([0357] The WTRU may receive a reconfiguration message that configures the WTRU to access one or more cells of a second layer) when the UE is operating in an SCG deactivated state with the UE; (([0357] For example, if the reconfiguration configures the WTRU for "dual connectivity" while leaving one or more cells of the added layer in a deactivated state, the WTRU may receive a measurement configuration for performing measurements on cells of the deactivated layer.) and
configuring the UE with the timing alignment timer. ([0205] As an example, the WTRU may consider the timing alignment timer (TAT) (e.g., some or all applicable TATs, for example if multiple TA Groups are configured) associated with a given layer to have expired upon detecting a D-SR failure and/or a RA-SR failure in that layer)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7-10, 12-13, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Pelletier; Ghyslain et al. US PGPUB 20140056243 A1, in view of Shih; Tun-Huai et al. US PGPUB 20200196264 A1.
Regarding Claim 1. Pelletier teaches A method for wireless communications at by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving an indication ([0357] In an example, rather than or in addition to being triggered to send the measurement report, the WTRU may be configured to autonomously activate one or more cells of an deactivated layer based on detecting the one or more triggers indicated in the reconfiguration) to establish uplink timing alignment ([0357] For example, the WTRU may initiate a RACH procedure in a cell to be activated in order to notify the network of the activation, obtain uplink timing alignment, obtain dedicated resources (e.g., request scheduling), and/or establish a configuration for accessing the cell.) with at least one secondary node (SN) of a secondary cell group (SCG) [0357] The WTRU may receive a reconfiguration message that configures the WTRU to access one or more cells of a second layer) of a multi radio access technology (multi-RAT) dual configuration (MR-DC) configuration when the UE is operating in an SCG deactivated state or an SCG dormant state; (([0357] For example, if the reconfiguration configures the WTRU for "dual connectivity" while leaving one or more cells of the added layer in a deactivated state, the WTRU may receive a measurement configuration for performing measurements on cells of the deactivated layer.)
Pelletier does not teach
determining whether the UE is in uplink timing alignment with the SN; and
taking one or more actions, upon a determination that the UE is not in uplink timing alignment with the SN, to achieve uplink timing alignment with the SN.
However, Shih teaches
determining whether the UE is in uplink timing alignment with the SN; (
[0070] UL data arrival during RRC_CONNECTED requiring random access procedure: [0071] E.g. when UL synchronisation status is “non-synchronised” or there are no PUCCH resources for SR available.) and
taking one or more actions, upon a determination that the UE is not in uplink timing alignment with the SN, to achieve uplink timing alignment with the SN. ([0073] The random access procedure is also performed on a SCell to establish time alignment for the corresponding sTAG.)
in order to improve transmission efficiency and reduce power consumption [0415]
Pelleteir and Shih are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Pelleteir with the technique of TA determination in Shih in order to improve transmission efficiency and reduce power consumption.
Regarding claim 2. Pelletier and Shih teach The method of claim 1, and Pelleteir teaches wherein the one or more actions to acquire uplink timing comprise performing a random access channel (RACH) procedure with the SN. ( ([0357] For example, the WTRU may initiate a RACH procedure in a cell to be activated in order to notify the network of the activation, obtain uplink timing alignment, obtain dedicated resources (e.g., request scheduling), and/or establish a configuration for accessing the cell.)
Regarding claim 7. Pelletier and Shih teach The method of claim 1, and Pelletier does not teach
wherein the indication is provided via a timing advance command (TAC) from the SN, delivered via the MCG when the UE is operating in the SCG dormant state.
However, Shih teaches wherein the indication is provided via a timing advance command (TAC) from the SN, delivered via the MCG when the UE is operating in the SCG dormant state. ([0424] the UE could apply different length for the TA timer in RRC_IDLE state (e.g. new TA timer (also in MAC layer)). In other words, the length of the TA timer (e.g. new TA timer) used to control validity of TA for transmission using PUR in RRC_IDLE could be different from the length of the TA timer (e.g. the legacy TA timer) used to control validity of TA for transmission in RRC_CONNECTED (including the RA procedure for entering RRC_CONNECTED).
Shih teaches wherein the indication is provided via a timing advance command (TAC) from the SN, delivered via the MCG when the UE is operating in the SCG dormant state. ([0424] the UE could apply different length for the TA timer in RRC_IDLE state (e.g. new TA timer (also in MAC layer)). In other words, the length of the TA timer (e.g. new TA timer) used to control validity of TA for transmission using PUR in RRC_IDLE could be different from the length of the TA timer (e.g. the legacy TA timer) used to control validity of TA for transmission in RRC_CONNECTED (including the RA procedure for entering RRC_CONNECTED).
in order to improve transmission efficiency and reduce power consumption [0415]
Pelleteir and Shih are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Pelleteir with the technique of TA determination in Shih in order to improve transmission efficiency and reduce power consumption.
Regarding claim 8. Pelletier and Shih The method of claim 1, Pelletier does not teach wherein the determination of whether the UE is in the uplink timing alignment with the SN of the SCG is based on: a first timing alignment timer when the UE is operating in the SCG dormant state; and a second timing alignment timer when the UE is operating in the SCG deactivated state.
However, Shih teaches wherein the determination of whether the UE is in the uplink timing alignment with the SN of the SCG is based on: a first timing alignment timer when the UE is operating in the SCG dormant state; and a second timing alignment timer when the UE is operating in the SCG deactivated state. ([0424] the UE could apply different length for the TA timer in RRC_IDLE state (e.g. new TA timer (also in MAC layer)). In other words, the length of the TA timer (e.g. new TA timer) used to control validity of TA for transmission using PUR in RRC_IDLE could be different from the length of the TA timer (e.g. the legacy TA timer) used to control validity of TA for transmission in RRC_CONNECTED (including the RA procedure for entering RRC_CONNECTED).
in order to improve transmission efficiency and reduce power consumption [0415]
Pelleteir and Shih are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Pelleteir with the technique of TA determination in Shih in order to improve transmission efficiency and reduce power consumption.
Regarding claim 9. Pelletier and Shih teach The method of claim 8, and Pelletier does not teach wherein: the second timing alignment timer is started upon determining the first timing alignment timer has expired;
However, Shih teaches wherein: the second timing alignment timer is started upon determining the first timing alignment timer has expired; ([0435] if the UE starts or restarts the TA timer (e.g. the new TA timer) in RRC_IDLE state while there is no ongoing RA procedure, the UE applies the first length. As another example, if the UE starts or restarts the TA timer (e.g. the legacy TA timer) in RRC_IDLE state while there is ongoing RA procedure, the UE applies the second length. In other words, the UE starts or restarts the TA timer (e.g. the legacy TA timer) by applying the second length while a RA procedure is ongoing.) and the one or more actions to acquire uplink timing comprise performing a random access channel (RACH) procedure with the SN to acquire uplink timing upon determining the second timing alignment timer has expired. ([0435] while there is ongoing RA procedure, the UE applies the second length. In other words, the UE starts or restarts the TA timer (e.g. the legacy TA timer) by applying the second length while a RA procedure is ongoing.)
in order to improve transmission efficiency and reduce power consumption [0415]
Pelleteir and Shih are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Pelleteir with the technique of TA determination in Shih in order to improve transmission efficiency and reduce power consumption.
Regarding claim 10. Pelletier and Shih teach The method of claim 8, and Pelletier does not teach further comprising receiving configuration of the second timing alignment timer via at least one of: a Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration message transmitted by the SN via the MCG; or an RRC reconfiguration message transmitted by the SN via the SCG.
However, Shih teaches further comprising receiving configuration of the second timing alignment timer via at least one of: a Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration message transmitted by the SN via the MCG; or an RRC reconfiguration message transmitted by the SN via the SCG. ([0169] The MAC entity has a configurable timer timeAlignmentTimer per TAG. The timeAlignmentTimer is used to control how long the MAC entity considers the Serving Cells belonging to the associated TAG to be uplink time aligned [8].)
in order to improve transmission efficiency and reduce power consumption [0415]
Pelleteir and Shih are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Pelleteir with the technique of TA determination in Shih in order to improve transmission efficiency and reduce power consumption.
Regarding claim 12. Pelletier teaches The method of claim 11, and but Pelletier does not teach the configures the UE with the timing alignment timer comprises transmitting an SN RRC Reconfiguration message conveyed via a master cell group (MCG) of the MR-DC configuration, the SN RRC Recongiruation message includes the timing alignment timer.
However, Shih teaches wherein the configures the UE with the timing alignment timer comprises transmitting an SN RRC Reconfiguration message conveyed via a master cell group (MCG) of the MR-DC configuration, the SN RRC Recongiruation message includes the timing alignment timer. ([0429] The timeAlignmentTimerDedicated and/or MAC-MainConfig could be included in a RRCConnectionReconfiguration message, as discussed in 3GPP TS 36.331.)
Regarding claim 13. Shih and Lee teach The method of claim 11, and Shih teaches configuring the UE with the timing alignment timer comprising transmitting an SN RRC Reconfiguration message to the UE directly over the SCG, the SN RRC Reconfiguration message includes the timing alignment timer ([0429] The timeAlignmentTimerDedicated and/or MAC-MainConfig could be included in a RRCConnectionReconfiguration message, as discussed in 3GPP TS 36.331.)
Regarding claim 20. Pelletier teaches The method of claim 19, and it does not teach wherein configuring the UE with the timing alignment timer comprises transmitting a radio resource configuration (RRC) reconfiguration message to the UE: and the RRC reconfiguration message includes the timing alignment timer.
However, Shih teaches wherein configuring the UE with the timing alignment timer comprises transmitting a radio resource configuration (RRC) reconfiguration message to the UE: and the RRC reconfiguration message includes the timing alignment timer. ([0416] The configuration of PUR may be provided in a dedicated signaling to the UE when the UE is in RRC connected mode (or RRC_CONNECTED). The configured PUR may be valid when the UE is in RRC idle mode (or RRC_IDLE). The configured PUR may not require lower layer activation. The UE may not use the configured PUR if no data is available for transmission.)
in order to improve transmission efficiency and reduce power consumption [0415]
Pelleteir and Shih are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Pelleteir with the technique of TA determination in Shih in order to improve transmission efficiency and reduce power consumption.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pelletier and Shih as applied to claim 1, further in view of Lin; Ko-Chiang, US PGPUB 20190132793 A1.
Regarding claim 3. Pelletier and Shih teach The method of claim 1, and Pelletier teaches
when the UE is operating in the SCG dormant state, there is no data transfer between the UE and SN, the UE does not monitor PDCCH occasions from the SN, and the UE performs CQI measurements and may provide CQI measurement reports to the SN. ([0348] In example, the WTRU may stop monitoring the secondary layer upon determining to begin monitoring the PDCCH of the primary layer. In an example, the WTRU may wait to fully activate the primary layer (e.g., instead continuing with monitoring the PDCCH) until the WTRU receives an explicit PDCCH order that indicates that the WTRU should activate the primary layer.)
However, Pelletier and Shih do not teach
wherein: when the UE is operating in the SCG deactivated state, there is no data transfer between the UE and SN, the UE does not monitor physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) occasions from the SN, and the UE does not provide channel quality indicator (CQI) reports to the SN; and
However, Lin teaches
wherein: when the UE is operating in the SCG deactivated state, there is no data transfer between the UE and SN, the UE does not monitor physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) occasions from the SN, and the UE does not provide channel quality indicator (CQI) reports to the SN; ([0336] if the SCell is deactivated: [0337] not transmit SRS on the SCell; [0338] not report CQI/PMI/RI/PTI/CRI for the SCell; [0339] not transmit on UL-SCH on the SCell; [0340] not transmit on RACH on the SCell; [0341] not monitor the PDCCH on the SCell; [0342] not monitor the PDCCH for the SCell; [0343] not transmit PUCCH on the SCell.)
In order to improve power consumption ([0005])
Pelletier and Lin are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Pelletier with the technique of SCG deactivated states in order to improve power consumption.
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pelletier and Shih as applied to claim 1, further in view of XU; Xiaoying et al. US PGPUB 20200177322 A1.
Regarding claim 4. Pelletier and Shih teach The method of claim 1, Shih teaches wherein the indication is provided via signaling, that can originate from the MN or the SN ([0206] Upon reception of a timing advance command or a timing adjustment indication for a TAG containing the primary cell or PSCell,) and that is transmitted via the MCG of the MR-DC configuration, ([0206])
Pelletier and Shih do not teach transition from the SCG deactivated state or SCG dormant state to an SCG activated state.
However, Xu teaches
transition from the SCG deactivated state or SCG dormant state to an SCG activated state.
([0158] In this embodiment of this application, the scheduling-free resource is reserved when the uplink is out of synchronization or the cell is deactivated, so that when the TAC is received or the cell is activated subsequently, )
In order to improve data transmission efficiency. ([0008])
Pelletier and Xu are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Pelletier with the technique of state transition in Xu in order to improve data transmission efficiency.
Regarding claim 5. Pelletier and Shih and Xu teaches The method of claim 4, Pelletier and Shih do not teach wherein, when the UE is operating in an SCG activated state, there can be data transfer between the UE and SN.
However, XU teaches
when the UE is operating in an SCG activated state, there can be data transfer between the UE and SN. ([0157] when the UE is operating in an SCG activated state, there can be data transfer between the UE and SN.)
in order to improve data transmission efficiency. ([0008])
Pelletier and Xu are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Pelletier with the technique of state transition in Xu in order to improve data transmission efficiency.
Regarding claim 6. Pelletier and Shih and Xu teach The method of claim 4, and Shih teaches wherein the signaling to transition from the SCG deactivated state or SCG dormant state to the SCG activated state comprises at least one of: downlink control information (DCI), a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE), or a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message. ([0170] when a Timing Advance Command MAC control element is received and if a N.sub.TA has been stored or maintained with the indicated TAG:)
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pelletier as applied to claim 11, further in view of LEE; Sunyoung et al. US PGPUB 20180054834 A1.
Regarding claim 14. Pelletier teaches The method of claim 11, but they do not teach further comprising, upon determining the UE is in need of uplink timing adjustment with the SN in the SCG dormant state, sending the UE a timing adjustment command (TAC).
However, Lee teaches
upon determining the UE is in need of uplink timing adjustment with the SN in the SCG dormant state, sending the UE a timing adjustment command (TAC). ([0167] Based on the uplink measurements, the network determines the required timing correction for each terminal. If the timing of a specific terminal needs correction, the network issues a timing-advance command for this specific terminal, instructing it to retard or advance its timing relative to the current uplink timing. The user-specific timing-advance command is transmitted as a MAC control element on the DL-SCH. )
in order to reduce control message overhead ([0052])
Pelletier and Lee are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Pelletier with the technique of timing correction in Lee in order to reduce control message overhead.
Regarding claim 15. Pelletier teaches The method of claim 14, and they do no teach wherein the SN sends the TAC via a master cell group (MCG).
However, Lee teaches
wherein the SN sends the TAC via a master cell group (MCG). ([0086] The Dual Connectivity (DC) means that the UE can be connected to both a Master eNode-B (MeNB) and a Secondary eNode-B (SeNB) at the same time. The MCG is a group of serving cells associated with the MeNB, comprising of a PCell and optionally one or more SCells. )
in order to reduce control message overhead ([0052])
Pelletier and Lee are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Pelletier with the technique of timing correction in Lee-2 in order to reduce control message overhead.
Regarding claim 16. Pelletier and Lee teaches The method of claim 15, Pelletier does not teach wherein the SN sends the TAC via at least one of: an SN radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message contained with an RRC reconfiguration message transmitted by the MCG; or timing advance command (TAC) information sent to a master node (MN) of the MCG that triggers the MN to send the TAC to the UE via a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE).
However, Lee teaches
the SN sends the TAC via at least one of: an SN radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message contained with an RRC reconfiguration message transmitted by the MCG; or timing advance command (TAC) information sent to a master node (MN) of the MCG that triggers the MN to send the TAC to the UE via a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE). [0187] the uplink timing synchronization is acquired by reception of TAC MAC CE or TAC in RAR from the network. )
in order to reduce control message overhead ([0052])
Pelletier and Lee are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Pelletier with the technique of timing correction in Lee in order to reduce control message overhead.
Claims 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pelletier and Lee as applied to claim 14, further in view of Shih; Tun-Huai et al. US PGPUB 20200196264 A1.
Regarding claim 18. Pelletier and Lee teach The method of claim 14, but they don’t teach determining the UE is in need of uplink timing adjustment with the SN by monitoring a timing alignment timer for the UE.
However, Shih teaches further comprising determining the UE is in need of uplink timing adjustment with the SN by monitoring a timing alignment timer for the UE. ([0424] To solve such issue (considering that the length of TA timer used in RRC_CONNECTED state (e.g. the legacy TA timer, which is timeAlignmentTimer as discussed in 3GPP TS 36.321) should not be impacted), the UE could apply different length for the TA timer in RRC_IDLE state (e.g. new TA timer (also in MAC layer)). In other words, the length of the TA timer (e.g. new TA timer) used to control validity of TA for transmission using PUR in RRC_IDLE could be different from the length of the TA timer (e.g. the legacy TA timer) used to control validity of TA for transmission in RRC_CONNECTED (including the RA procedure for entering RRC_CONNECTED).)
in order to improve transmission efficiency and reduce power consumption [0415]
Pelleteir and Shih are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Pelleteir with the technique of TA determination in Shih in order to improve transmission efficiency and reduce power consumption.
Claims 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pelletier and Lee as applied to claim 14, further in view of Lin; Ko-Chiang, US PGPUB 20190132793 A1.
Regarding claim 17. Pelletier and Lee teach The method of claim 14, but they don’t teach further comprising determining the UE is in need of uplink timing adjustment with the SN based on channel quality indicator (CQI) reports from the UE.
However, Lin teaches
determining the UE is in need of uplink timing adjustment with the SN based on channel quality indicator (CQI) reports from the UE.( [0318] the MAC entity shall in the TTI according to the timing defined in [2]: [0319] activate the SCell; i.e. apply normal SCell operation including: [0320] SRS transmissions on the SCell; [0321] CQI/PMI/RI/PTI/CRI reporting for the SCell; )
In order to improve power consumption ([0005])
Pelletier and Lin are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Pelletier with the technique of SCG deactivated states in order to improve power consumption.
Claims 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pelletier as applied to claim 19, further in view of Han; Seunghee, US PGPUB 20150215967 A1.
Regarding claim 21. Pelletier teaches The method of claim 19, but it does not teach further comprising: receiving, from the SN, a timing adjustment command (TAC); and transmitting the TAC to the UE.
However, Han teaches
receiving, from the SN, a timing adjustment command (TAC); and transmitting the TAC to the UE. ([0017] or Msg2, the MeNB 220 transmits the random access response which includes a timing advance command to the UE 200 to allow it to adjust the timing of its uplink transmissions to SeNB 210 based on the timing estimate obtained from Msgl and also assigns uplink resources to the terminal to be used in the next message.)
in order to reduce signaling required for handovers ([0002])
Pelletier and Han are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Pelletier with the technique of TAC transmission in Han in order to reduce signaling required for handovers.
Claims 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pelletier and Han as applied to claim 21, further in view of Wu; Chih-Hsiang US PGPUB 20120243514 A1.
Regarding claim 22. Pelletier and Han teach The method of claim 21, but they do not teach wherein transmitting the TAC to the UE comprises transmitting the TAC via a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message.
However, Wu teaches wherein transmitting the TAC to the UE comprises transmitting the TAC via a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message.([0042] … the UE may receive a RRC message (e.g. RRC connection reconfiguration message) configuring the UE that the multiple timing advance commands in a MAC PDU are used for updating the uplink timing for the plurality of uplink component carriers.)
In order to increase efficiency of updating uplink timing for multiple component carriers. ([0041])
Pelletier and Wu are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Pelletier with the technique of updating uplink timing in Wu in order to increase efficiency.
Regarding claim 23. Pelletier and Han teach The method of claim 21, but they don’t teach wherein transmitting the TAC to the UE comprises transmitting the TAC via a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE).
However, Wu teaches
wherein transmitting the TAC to the UE comprises transmitting the TAC via a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE). ([0006] The network controls the TA functionality of the UE with a timing advance command. In detail, the network uses a MAC Protocol Data Units (MAC PDU) to transmit the timing advance command to the UE.)
In order to increase efficiency of updating uplink timing for multiple component carriers. ([0041])
Pelletier and Wu are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Pelletier with the technique of updating uplink timing in Wu in order to increase efficiency.
Conclusion
/ZHAOHUI YANG/ Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468