DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group 1 and species 3 corresponding to claims 1-14 in the reply filed on 01/14/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 15-24 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/14/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 08/31/2022. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (CN 208296294 U and see PDF translation attached) in view of Matoba (JP 2001332283 and see PDF translation attached).
Regarding claim 1, Zhou discloses, a heating unit (see heating device in Fig. 1) for heating an enclosure, the heating unit comprising:
a first base (see combination of radiating part 1 and heating part 3 in Fig. 1) having a central axis (see annotated Fig. 1), a first end (see annotated Fig. 1), a second end (see annotated Fig. 1) axially opposite the first end (see annotated Fig. 1), and a cavity (see annotated Fig. 1 and disclosed in the specification “PTC heating element 4 embedded in the heating part 3”) extending axially from the first end (see Fig. 1);
a first heater (see PTC heating element 4 in Fig. 1) disposed in the cavity (see annotated Fig. 1) of the first base (see 1 and 3);
a first heat sink (see fins 2 in Fig. 1) mounted to the first base (see Fig. 1 and disclosed in the specification “multiple radiating fins 2 fixedly mounted in the radiating portion 1”), wherein the first heat sink (2) has a central axis oriented parallel to the central axis of the first base (see annotated Fig. 1), a first end proximal the first end of the first base (see annotated Fig. 1), and a second end proximal the second end of the first base (see annotated Fig. 1), wherein the first heat sink (2) includes a plurality of laterally spaced fins (see plurality of fins 2 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 3) and a plurality of laterally spaced channels (see fluid channels 21 in Fig. 3), wherein each channel (21) is laterally positioned between a pair of laterally adjacent fins (2) of the plurality of fins (see Fig. 3 and disclosed in the specification “radiating fin is lower end 2 are fixedly mounted in the radiating part 1. has a gap between two adjacent fins 2, a plurality of fins 2 formed between the gap are connected with each other, the fluid passage so as to form a liquid or gas flow of 21”);
a fluid inlet (see inlet 11 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 3) coupled to the first base (see Fig. 1), wherein the inlet (11) has a central axis (see annotated Fig. 3), a first end (see annotated Fig. 3), a second end axially opposite the first end (see annotated Fig. 3), and an outer surface (see annotated Fig. 3), wherein the outer surface (see annotated Fig. 3) of the inlet (11) includes a first surface (see annotated Fig. 3) extending axially from the first end to the second end (see annotated Fig. 3), wherein the first surface (see annotated Fig. 3) of the inlet faces the first base (1 and 3) and the first heat sink (2, see Fig. 1 and Fig. 3), wherein the inlet (11) includes a first flow passage (see arrow in inlet 11 in Fig. 3) and wherein the first flow passage is configured to flow a fluid into and through the channels of the first heat sink (see Fig. 3 and disclosed in the specification “liquid or gas through the radiation inlet 11 into fluid passage 21 of inlet, in fluid channel 21 flowing in the process absorbing heat of heat 2 and flows out to the radiator outlet 12 from outlet flow passage 21”).
However, Zhou does not explicitly disclose, a manifold coupled to the first end of the first base, wherein the manifold has a central axis, a first end, a second end axially opposite the first end, and an outer surface, wherein the outer surface of the manifold includes a first surface extending axially from the first end to the second end, wherein the first surface of the manifold faces the first base and the first heat sink, wherein the manifold includes a first flow passage and a first plurality of orifices in fluid communication with the first flow passage, wherein each orifice of the first plurality of orifices has an outlet at the first surface that is aligned with one of the channels of the first heat sink, and wherein the first flow passage and the first plurality of orifices are configured to flow a fluid into and through the channels of the first heat sink.
Nonetheless, Matoba teaches, a manifold (see upper header 12C in Fig. 5) coupled to the fins (see fins 7 in Fig. 5), wherein the manifold has a central axis (see annotated Fig. 5), a first end (see annotated Fig. 5), a second end (see annotated Fig. 5) axially opposite the first end (see annotated Fig. 5), and an outer surface (see annotated Fig. 5), wherein the outer surface (see annotated Fig. 5) of the manifold (12C) includes a first surface (see lower surface 14b in Fig. 5) extending axially from the first end to the second end (see annotated Fig. 5), wherein the first surface (14b) of the manifold faces the first heat sink (see Fig. 5), wherein the manifold (12C) includes a first flow passage (see lower supply passage 11 in Fig. 5) and a first plurality of orifices (see supply holes 13b in Fig. 5) in fluid communication with the first flow passage (see Fig. 5 and disclosed in the specification “the position of the supply hole 13b opened in the lower surface 14b of the lower supply passage 11”), wherein each orifice (13b) of the first plurality of orifices (13b) has an outlet (see annotated Fig. 5) at the first surface (see Fig. 5) that is aligned with one of the channels (see heat exchange section 9 in Fig. 5) of the first heat sink (see Fig. 5), and wherein the first flow passage (9) and the first plurality of orifices (13b) are configured to flow a fluid (methanol) into and through the channels of the first heat sink (see Fig. 5 and disclosed in the specification “the methanol 30 from the upper supply passage 10 is easily supplied directly to the heat exchange section 9 via the supply holes 13b of the lower supply passage 11”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to replace the inlet 11 of Zhou with the manifold/head 12C of Matoba such that the manifold of Matoba coupled to the first end of the first base of Zhou, wherein the manifold has a central axis, a first end, a second end axially opposite the first end, and an outer surface, wherein the outer surface of the manifold includes a first surface extending axially from the first end to the second end, wherein the first surface of the manifold faces the first base and the first heat sink, wherein the manifold includes a first flow passage and a first plurality of orifices in fluid communication with the first flow passage, wherein each orifice of the first plurality of orifices has an outlet at the first surface that is aligned with one of the channels of the first heat sink, and wherein the first flow passage and the first plurality of orifices are configured to flow a fluid into and through the channels of the first heat sink in order to uniformly distribute the fluid into the first flow passage form between the fins so that the response delay time can be further reduced when operating (disclosed in the speciation by Matoba).
Regarding claim 2, Zhou in view of Matoba discloses, the heating unit of claim 1, Zhou further discloses, wherein the first heater is a PTC heater (see PTC heating element 4 in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Zhou in view of Matoba discloses, the heating unit of claim 2, Matoba further teaches, wherein the first plurality of orifices (13b) extend from the first flow passage (9) to the first surface of the manifold (see Fig 5).
Regarding claim 4, Zhou in view of Matoba discloses, the heating unit of claim 3, Matoba further teaches, wherein the first flow passage (9) extends axially from the first end of the manifold and defines an inlet (see 30 in Fig. 5) at the first end of the manifold (see Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 5, Zhou in view of Matoba discloses, the heating unit of claim 2, Matoba further teaches, wherein the first flow passage (9) extends from the outer surface of the manifold (see Fig. 5) and defines an inlet (30) at the outer surface of the manifold (see Fig. 5), wherein a choke (see control valve 33a in Fig. 1) is coupled to the manifold and in fluid communication with the inlet (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 5 and disclosed in the specification “The pumps 32a and 32b suck the methanol 30 and the water 31 and supply them to the flow control valves 33a and 33b. In the flow control valves 33a and 33b, the raw fuel vapor 27 generated by the evaporator 6 is converted by the reforming section 28. The supply amounts of methanol 30 and water 31 are adjusted so as to have a required composition”).
Regarding claim 6, Zhou in view of Matoba discloses, the heating unit of claim 2, Zhou further discloses, wherein the first heater (4) engages the first base within the cavity (see Fig. 1, wherein in regards to limitation “the first heater slidingly engages the first base within the cavity”, it has been held that method limitations “slidingly engages” in a product claim do not serve to patentably distinguish the claimed product from the prior art. See In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 227 USPQ 964 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Thus, even though a product by process claim is limited and defined by a process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. Accordingly, if the product in a product by process claim is the same or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior art product was made by a different process. Thorpe, 777 F.2d at 697, 227 USPQ at 966; In re Marosi, 710 F2.d 799, 218 USPQ 289 (Fed. Cir. 1983).
Regarding claim 7, Zhou in view of Matoba discloses, the heating unit of claim 2, Zhou further discloses, wherein the first heat sink (2) comprises a base plate (1) and the plurality of fins extending from the base plate (see Fig. 1), wherein the base plate directly engages the first base (see Fig. 1).
However, Zhou does not explicitly disclose, and wherein the first surface of the manifold directly engages the first end of the first base.
Nonetheless, Matoba teaches, a manifold (see upper header 12C in Fig. 5) coupled to the fins (see fins 7 in Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to replace the inlet 11 of Zhou with the manifold/head 12C of Matoba such that and wherein the first surface of the manifold directly engages the first end of the first base in order to uniformly distribute the fluid into the first flow passage form between the fins so that the response delay time can be further reduced when operating (disclosed in the speciation by Matoba).
Regarding claim 8, Zhou in view of Matoba discloses, the heating unit of claim 2, however Zhou in view of Matoba does not explicitly discloses wherein the first flow passage has a diameter of 0.50 in. to 0.125 in., and each orifice of the first plurality of orifices has a diameter of 0.075 in. to 0.003 in. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the first flow passage to have a diameter of 0.50 in. to 0.125 in., and to modify each orifice of the first plurality of orifices to have a diameter of 0.075 in. to 0.003 in as claimed, since the courts have held that where general condition of claim is disposed in the prior art (see Fig. 5 of Matoba), it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable range (MPEP 2144.05 IIa).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 9, Zhou in view of Matoba discloses, the heating unit of claim 2.
Zhou in view of Matoba does not explicitly disclose further comprising: a second base, wherein the second base has a central axis, a first end, a second end axially opposite the first end, and a cavity extending axially from the first end of the second base, wherein the central axis of the second base is oriented parallel to the central axis of the first base; a second heater disposed in the cavity of the second base; a second heat sink mounted to the second base, wherein the second heat sink has a central axis oriented parallel to the central axis of the second base, a first end proximal the first end of the second base, and a second end proximal the second end of the second base, wherein the second heat sink includes a plurality of laterally spaced fins and a plurality of laterally spaced channels, wherein each channel of the second heat sink is laterally positioned between a pair of laterally adjacent fins of the plurality of fins of the second heat sink; wherein the first surface of the manifold faces the second base and the second heat sink, wherein the manifold includes a second flow passage and a second plurality of orifices in fluid communication with the second flow passage, wherein each orifice of the second plurality of orifices has an outlet at the first surface that is aligned with one of the channels of the second heat sink, and wherein the second flow passage and the orifices of the second plurality of orifices are configured to flow the fluid into and through the channels of the second heat sink.
Aoki (US 20130201628 A1) teaches, first and second heat sink sharing a manifold (see Fig. 2).
However, Zhou, Matoba and Aoki, either alone or in combination, do not teach or suggest the combination of “a second base, wherein the second base has a central axis, a first end, a second end axially opposite the first end, and a cavity extending axially from the first end of the second base, wherein the central axis of the second base is oriented parallel to the central axis of the first base; a second heater disposed in the cavity of the second base; a second heat sink mounted to the second base, wherein the second heat sink has a central axis oriented parallel to the central axis of the second base, a first end proximal the first end of the second base, and a second end proximal the second end of the second base, wherein the second heat sink includes a plurality of laterally spaced fins and a plurality of laterally spaced channels, wherein each channel of the second heat sink is laterally positioned between a pair of laterally adjacent fins of the plurality of fins of the second heat sink; wherein the first surface of the manifold faces the second base and the second heat sink, wherein the manifold includes a second flow passage and a second plurality of orifices in fluid communication with the second flow passage, wherein each orifice of the second plurality of orifices has an outlet at the first surface that is aligned with one of the channels of the second heat sink, and wherein the second flow passage and the orifices of the second plurality of orifices are configured to flow the fluid into and through the channels of the second heat sink”, or even if the modification could be made, the modification of Zhou and Matoba in view of Aoki to reach the claimed invention would be unreasonable and based on hindsight since there is no suggestion or motivation in the references to indicate obviousness in such extensive changes to Zhou. As such claim 9 is allowed. Claims 10-14 are also objected to as being dependent upon claim 9.
Conclusion
/VY T NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3761