DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 12, 14 and 16-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Modisha et al., "Evaluation of catalyst activity for release of hydrogen from liquid organic hydrogen carriers", as previously discussed.
Regarding claims, 12, 14, 20 and 23, Modisha et al. ( see Experiments, Results and discussion section) discloses a process for producing hydrogen by partial catalytic dehydrogenation, starting from perhydro-dibenzyltoluene (99% hydrogenation), followed by a step of recovering gaseous hydrogen after 1 hour and 40 minutes of dehydrogenation, said DBT having a dehydrogenation of 40%, in other words hydrogen at 60% and with a degree of hydrogenation DHminus of 0.6. From the above, DHplus/DHminus in Modisha is 1.65, and thus between 1 and 25.
Regarding claim 14, The dibenzyltoluene material of the reference is liquid at STP.
Regarding claim 16, The DBT compound of the reference contains an aromatic ring and is partially dehydrogenated.
Regarding claims 17 and 18, the DBT compound of the reference would read on the claimed formula (1) where A is benzene, X is single bond and n is 2. B would be toluene.
Regarding claim 19, DBT with 99% hydrogenation, i.e. DHplus of 0.99; (See Modisha, section "Results and Discussion - Catalyst Evaluation" on Pg. #21929).
Regarding claim 21, Modisha discloses a process for producing hydrogen by partial catalytic dehydrogenation, starting from perhydrodibenzylbenzene (99%hydrogenation), after partial dehydrogenation thereof, a step of recovering gaseous hydrogen after 1 hour and 40 minutes of dehydrogenation, said DBT having a dehydrogenation of 40%. See Modisha, section "Results and Discussion - Catalyst Evaluation" on Pg. #21929. The reference discloses a process as claimed in any of claims 1 to 9 for producing hydrogen by partial dehydrogenation of an organic liquid and at least one hydrogenation reaction (See Pg. 2192, right column, first full para) of said organic liquid.
Regarding claim 22, the Modisha reference teaches partial dehydrogenation of the DBT prior to hydrogenation (See Example on Pg. 21929, left column, 3rd para).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Modisha et al., "Evaluation of catalyst activity for release of hydrogen from liquid organic hydrogen carriers" in view of Kang et al. US2019152775, as previously discussed.
Regarding claim 15 the difference between the method of Modisha and that of claim 15 is that claim 15 requires the admixing of two or more organic liquids.
Kang et al. (see Para [0023]) discloses that eutectic mixtures of 2-phenyltoluene and 3-phenyltoluene in binary eutectic mixtures have a molar ratio of 2-phenyltoluene: 3-phenyltoluene = 0.001 to 0.999: 0.999 to 0.001 in liquid hydrogen storage materials.
At the time of filing it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary level of skill in the art to select two or more organic liquids having the same or different degree of hydrogenation in the method of Modisha. One would be motivated to do so because it is prima facie obvious to combine equivalents known in the art for the same purpose (MPEP §2144.06).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding clam 13, Modisha et al. teaches a step of supplying said perhydro-dibenzyltoluene, allowed to be hydrogenated to 99% (See Modisha, section "Results and Discussion - Catalyst Evaluation" on Pg. #21929). The dehydrogenation is thus interrupted before obtaining a yield of 100%. The reference teaches dehydrogenation at a temperature of 290-320°C and at atmospheric pressure (Pg. #21929, left column, 3rd para). However, there is no teaching or suggestion from the prior art regarding “…-reaction pressure between 0.01 Pa and 3 Pa for the dehydrogenation reaction,” Nor would it have been obvious to do so. The dehydrogenation in the reference starts with atmospheric pressure (~101325 Pa) and would be expected to increase as more hydrogen is generated.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/13/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the Modisha et al. reference teaches complete hydrogenation and does not teach partial or incomplete dehydrogenation. However, the reference provides several embodiments where the degree of dehydrogenation does not reach 100% (See Pg. #21929 Fig. 2 and left column, 4th para 80% dehydrogenation at 1wt% Pt). Anything below 100% is considered as incomplete or partial dehydrogenation.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SYED T IQBAL/ Examiner, Art Unit 1736
/ANTHONY J ZIMMER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1736