DETAILED ACTION
Withdrawn Rejection
The 35 U.S.C. §103 rejection of claims 1-4 and 11-14 as Shimizu (WO 2014/188529) in view of Ichimaru et al. (JP 2002-138168) and Miyagawa (JP 2005-349570), made of record in the office action mailed on 10/21/2025, page 2 has been withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment in the response filed on 01/26/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimizu (WO 2014/188529) in view of Ichimaru et al. (JP 2002-138168), Miyagawa (JP 2005-349570) and Omori et al. (JP 2006-288745).
Regarding claims 1-4 and 11-14 Shimizu discloses sole for shoes is formed from a composition which contains a rubber component that contains a natural rubber and/or an isoprene rubber, silica that is blended in an amount of 35-60 parts by mass per 100 parts by mass of the rubber component (abstract). The silica mainly functions as a reinforcing agent that reinforces the rubber component. The compounding amount of the silica is 35 parts by mass or more, preferably 40 parts by mass or more, and more preferably 45 parts by mass or more with respect to 100 parts by mass of the rubber component. By blending 35 parts by mass or more of silica, a relatively high strength shoe sole can be formed (page 4).
However, Shimizu fails to disclose that the rubber composition comprising activated carbon in an amount of 0.1-5 % by mass and the activated carbon is at least one of wood-based activated carbon or bamboo charcoal activated carbon.
Whereas, Ichimaru discloses rubber composition comprising activated carbon and rubber (abstract). The rubber component used in the present invention is natural rubber (para 0006). The rubber composition for shoes of the present invention comprises: It is characterized in that it is used as shoe parts such as rubber tip, heel rubber, and soles (para 0008), see pages 1-3. Ichimaru discloses rubber composition for shoes according to the present invention is characterized in that activated carbon is blended in an amount of 0.1 to 10 parts by weight based on 100 parts by weight of the rubber component (para 0004, see pages 1-3).
Whereas, Miyagawa discloses enhance the deodorizing capacity of a nonwoven fabric sheet by eliminating the apprehension of ignition while increasing the amount of activated carbon to enhance the deodorizing capacity thereof at the time of use as an insole or the like (abstract) and discloses a deodorant activated carbon sheet that is used for an insole and is effective for deodorizing a shoe sole unpleasant odor (page 1). As the activated carbon used, coconut shell activated carbon, bamboo charcoal, coal quality, petroleum quality, etc. can be considered because it is inexpensive and excellent in deodorizing / wetting effect (page 5).
Whereas, Omori discloses deodorizing sheet that adsorbs odorous components such as body odor and at the same time absorbs fats such as sebum, and is particularly suitable for insoles of shoes and floor mats that are walking barefoot (page 1). Omori discloses deodorizing sheets obtained by laminating a surface sheet and an adsorbing sheet through an adhesive layer, and the surface sheet has a density of 0.8 g / cm .sup.3 or more and air permeability. Is a paper of 30 seconds or less, and the adsorbing sheet is a paper containing 3 to 40% by mass of a porous filler. In the present invention, the porous filler is preferably at least one selected from the group consisting of activated carbon (page 2). The porous filler adsorbs odorous components and prevents the generation of odors (page 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to include porous activated carbon such as bamboo charcoal in an amount of 0.1-10 parts by weight as taught by Miyagawa in view of Ichimaru and Omori in the composition of Shimizu motivated by the desire to have improved adsorptive power and prevents color transfer and to have excellent deodorizing performance and prevents the generation of odors.
As Shimizu in view of Ichimaru and Miyagawa and Omori discloses shoe sole composed of a rubber composition comprising rubber, inorganic filler such as silica and activated carbon such as bamboo charcoal as presently claimed, it therefore would be obvious that initial modulus of the rubber composition would intrinsically be 10 MPa or less.
As Miyagawa in view of Ichimaru and Omori discloses porous activated carbon which is used in the composition of Shimizu to form shoe sole, it therefore would be obvious that pores would intrinsically be formed on the surface of the shoe sole that contacts the ground.
Claim(s) 5, 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimizu (WO 2014/188529) in view of Ichimaru et al. (JP 2002-138168) and Miyagawa (JP 2005-349570) and Omori et al. (JP 2006-288745) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Kuramoto et al. (JP 2016-189969).
Regarding claims 5, 15-20 Ichimaru fails to disclose that the rubber composition further comprises polyethylene glycol in an amount of 0.1-10 parts by mass based on 100 parts by mass of the rubber.
Whereas, Kuramoto discloses rubber composition for a sole (abstract). The rubber composition for a shoe sole that can give a rubber cross-linked product excellent in slip resistance and wear resistance and can be suitably used for shoe sole materials (page 1). The rubber composition for a shoe sole of the present invention includes a polyalkylene in addition to the above-described terminally modified group-containing cyclic olefin ring-opening polymer, conjugated diene rubber having a glass transition temperature of −50 to −10 ° C., and silica. It preferably contains glycol. Polyalkylene glycol acts as a crosslinking activator, and by adding polyalkylene glycol, the crosslinking density of the resulting crosslinked product can be improved. It can be raised appropriately. Further, by blending polyalkylene glycol, the crosslinking rate of the rubber composition can be increased and the productivity of the shoe sole can be increased. The compounding amount of polyalkylene glycol in the rubber composition for shoe soles of the present invention is preferably 1 to 15 parts by weight, more preferably 1.50 parts by weight with respect to 100 parts by weight of the rubber component in the rubber composition for shoe soles. 5 to 10 parts by weight, more preferably 2 to 5 parts by weight. By making the compounding quantity of polyalkylene glycol into the said range, the abrasion resistance of the rubber crosslinked material obtained can be improved more appropriately (page 16). The polyalkylene glycol includes polyethylene glycol (see example 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to include PEG in an amount of 5-10 parts by weight as taught by Kuramoto in the rubber composition of Shimizu motivated by the desire to have improved abrasion resistance.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 01/21/2026 have been fully considered, but they are moot in view of new grounds of rejections as stated above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RONAK C PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788