DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s response to the restriction/ election requirement from 9/4/2025 is acknowledged. Applicant has made the following species election with traverse.
The stated reasons for the traverse are the following:
In response, the Examiner first clarifies that she did not make a group restriction, which would have required establishing a lack of unity and breaking this unity with a reference. To the contrary, the fungicidal composition claims 1-3, and the method of controlling or preventing phytopathogenic diseases claims 14 and 15, have all been kept together. The Examiner solely made a species election requirement. The same attorney has contemporaneously made a similar argument in co-pending application 18/000,014, which elucidates further that what the attorney has in mind is slide 50 from the following USPTO link for support of its position: https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/unity_of_invention.pptx.
Further, the Examiner did not do a mere identification of species, as alleged by Applicant, but did do unity of invention analysis for the species, as explained further in the slides. Slide 51 goes on to explain the election of species procedure.
The Examiner used and applied in her analysis in her restriction/ election requirement exactly form paragraphs FP 18.20 and 18.18 that are referred to in slide 51. FP 18.20 can be found on p. 2 of the restriction/ election requirement in the paragraphs “This application contains. . .Currently all claims are generic.”. FP 18.18 can be found on p. 3-4 of the restriction/ election requirement in the paragraphs “REQUIREMENT FOR UNITY OF INVENTION . . . Otherwise, unity of invention might not be present. See 37 CFR 1.475 (c).” Applicant’s attention is specifically directed to FP 18.18, which explicitly provides that the identified species are deemed to lack unity of invention because they are not so linked as to form a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1. The claimed mixture of components (A) and (B) encompasses an enormous variety of combinations of compounds, which have completely different structures.
For the foregoing reasons, the restriction is still deemed to be proper and is maintained. On further consideration of the art of record, and in the interest of compact prosecution, the Examiner further expands the election of species requirement to encompass the compound of Formula (I) wherein in formula (I) X is CH, R4 is H and R5 is trifluoromethyl.
The restriction/ election requirement is hereby MADE FINAL. Claims 1-15 are pending, and have been examined herewith to the extent of Applicant’s elected species.
Note to File
The structure of Applicant’s elected species of compound (A) of formula (I) is noted for the record.
.
methyl (Z)-3-methoxy-2-[2-methyl-5-(3-propylpyrazol-1-yl)phenoxy]prop-2-enoate
Specification
The title of the invention “Fungicidal Compositions” is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 12,043,600 to Bou Hamdan (“Bou Hamdan”) (filing date 2019-10-17).
The applied reference has a common inventor and assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Bou Hamdan claims the following specific compounds of Applicant’s claims:
methyl (Z)-3-methoxy-2-[2-methyl-5-(3-propylpyrazol-1-yl)phenoxy]prop-2-enoate (compound X.01)
methyl (Z)-3-methoxy-2-[2-methyl-5-(3-sec-butylpyrazol-1-yl)phenoxy]prop-2-enoate (compound X.02)
methyl (Z)-2-[5-(3-isopropoxypyrazol-1-yl)-2-methyl-phenoxy]-3-methoxy-prop-2-enoate (compound X.03)
methyl (Z)-2-[5-(3-cyclobutylpyrazol-1-yl)-2-methyl-phenoxy]-3-methoxy-prop-2-enoate (compound X.04)
methyl (Z)-2-[5-(3-isobutylpyrazol-1-yl)-2-methyl-phenoxy]-3-methoxy-prop-2-enoate (compound X.05)
methyl (Z)-2-[5-(3-isopropylpyrazol-1-yl)-2-methyl-phenoxy]-3-methoxy-prop-2-enoate (compound X.06)
methyl (Z)-3-methoxy-2-[2-methyl-5-(4-propyltriazol-2-yl)phenoxy]prop-2-enoate (compound X.09)
methyl (Z)-3-methoxy-2-[2-methyl-5-[4-(trifluoromethyl)triazol-2-yl]phenoxy]prop-2-enoate (compound X.010)
methyl (Z)-2-[5-(4-cyclopropyltriazol-2-yl)-2-methyl-phenoxy]-3-methoxy-prop-2-enoate (compound X.011)
(claim 1).
Claim 6 of Bou Hamdan is directed to an agrochemical composition comprising a fungicidally effective amount of a compound according to claim 1 and an agrochemically-acceptable diluent or carrier. Claim 7 recites the composition according to claim 6, further comprising at least one additional active ingredient. Claim 8 recites a method of controlling or preventing infestation of useful plants by phytopathogenic microorganisms, comprising applying a fungicidally effective amount of a compound according to claim 1, or a composition comprising this compound as active ingredient, to the plants, to parts thereof or the locus thereof.
A review of the Specification of Bou Hamdan clarifies what Claim 7 contemplates as further comprising at least one additional active ingredient. “Thus, compounds of formula (I) can be used in combination with one or more other active ingredients to provide various fungicidal mixtures. Specific examples of such mixtures include (wherein “I” represents a compound of formula (I)): a compound selected from the group of substances consisting of . . . difenoconazole . . . mancozeb . . .” (col. 43, ll. 28 et seq.). Bou Hamdan further teaches wherein the composition components (A) and (B) are applied in a sequential manner. (col. 50, ll. 19-27).
Per Bou Hamdan, the active ingredient mixture of the compounds of formula (I) and an active ingredient as described above are preferably in a mixing ratio of from 100:1 to 1:6000, especially from 50:1 to 1:50, more especially in a ratio of from 20:1 to 1:20, even more especially from 10:1 to 1:10, very especially from 5:1 and 1:5, special preference being given to a ratio of from 2:1 to 1:2, and a ratio of from 4:1 to 2:1 being likewise preferred, above all in a ratio of 1:1, or 5:1, or 5:2, or 5:3, or 5:4, or 4:1, or 4:2, or 4:3, or 3:1, or 3:2, or 2:1, or 1:5, or 2:5, or 3:5, or 4:5, or 1:4, or 2:4, or 3:4, or 1:3, or 2:3, or 1:2, or 1:600, or 1:300, or 1:150, or 1:35, or 2:35, or 4:35, or 1:75, or 2:75, or 4:75, or 1:6000, or 1:3000, or 1:1500, or 1:350, or 2:350, or 4:350, or 1:750, or 2:750, or 4:750. Those mixing ratios are by weight. (col. 49, l. 63-col. 50, l. 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CA 3 105 798 A1 to Matsuzaki et al. (“Matsuzaki”, of record).
Matsuzaki discloses and claims compounds according to formula (II) (claim 4).
A disclosed species is compound 4 ([0076], which is according to Applicant’s formula (I), wherein X is CH, R4 is H, and R5 is trifluoromethyl.
.
Matsuzaki discloses and claims an agricultural composition comprising the compound according to claim 4 or 5, or its N-oxide, or an agriculturally acceptable salt thereof, an inert carrier (claim 6). Matsuzaki discloses and claims that the compound of the invention can be in combination with one or more ingredients, as disclosed in [0037], and further claimed in claim 7.
Matsuzaki discloses that ingredients of Group (b) include difenoconazole and mancozeb ([0042], p. 83-83).
Matsuzaki discloses and claims a method for fungicidal control with a compound represented by formula (I) (claim 1).
Matsuzaki discloses that the ratios of the claimed compound and additional compound can be the following, which encompasses overlapping ranges with Applicant’s claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CA 3 105 798 A1 to Matsuzaki et al. (“Matsuzaki”, of record), as applied to claims 1-14 in the 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejection above.
Matsuzaki is discussed in the 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejection above.
Matsuzaki does not explicitly disclose wherein components (A) and (B) are applied in a sequential manner. However, where Matsuzaki discloses the use of components (A) and (B) in Applicant’s claimed method, it would have been obvious to a person of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the two components either together or in a sequential manner with a reasonable expectation of success. Addressing the issue of obviousness, the Supreme Court noted that the analysis under 35 USC 103 “need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim, for a court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.” KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1741 (2007). The Court emphasized that “[a] person of ordinary skill is… a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.” Id. at 1742. “Where the result accomplished is substantially the same, steps taken concurrently or simultaneously are the equivalent of and not patentable over steps taken successively” New Wrinkle, Inc. v. Watson, Comr. Pats., 96 USPQ 436, 437 (D.C. Cir. 1953).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 6-8 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,043,600 to Bou Hamdan (“Bou Hamdan”) (filing date 2019-10-17). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they disclose overlapping compositions and methods of treatment.
The claims of the instant application are directed to a fungicidal composition comprising a mixture of components (A) an (B) as active ingredients, wherein component (A) is compound of formula (I):
and component B is a compound selected from the group consisting of, inter alia, difenoconazole. Specific compounds of claim 2 include compounds X.01- compounds X.12. Claim 12 recites one or more further pesticides selected from the group, consisting of, inter alia, mancozeb.
Bou Hamdan claims the following specific compounds of Applicant’s claims:
methyl (Z)-3-methoxy-2-[2-methyl-5-(3-propylpyrazol-1-yl)phenoxy]prop-2-enoate (compound X.01)
methyl (Z)-3-methoxy-2-[2-methyl-5-(3-sec-butylpyrazol-1-yl)phenoxy]prop-2-enoate (compound X.02)
methyl (Z)-2-[5-(3-isopropoxypyrazol-1-yl)-2-methyl-phenoxy]-3-methoxy-prop-2-enoate (compound X.03)
methyl (Z)-2-[5-(3-cyclobutylpyrazol-1-yl)-2-methyl-phenoxy]-3-methoxy-prop-2-enoate (compound X.04)
methyl (Z)-2-[5-(3-isobutylpyrazol-1-yl)-2-methyl-phenoxy]-3-methoxy-prop-2-enoate (compound X.05)
methyl (Z)-2-[5-(3-isopropylpyrazol-1-yl)-2-methyl-phenoxy]-3-methoxy-prop-2-enoate (compound X.06)
methyl (Z)-3-methoxy-2-[2-methyl-5-(4-propyltriazol-2-yl)phenoxy]prop-2-enoate (compound X.09)
methyl (Z)-3-methoxy-2-[2-methyl-5-[4-(trifluoromethyl)triazol-2-yl]phenoxy]prop-2-enoate (compound X.010)
methyl (Z)-2-[5-(4-cyclopropyltriazol-2-yl)-2-methyl-phenoxy]-3-methoxy-prop-2-enoate (compound X.011)
(claim 1).
Claim 6 of Bou Hamdan is directed to an agrochemical composition comprising a fungicidally effective amount of a compound according to claim 1 and an agrochemically-acceptable diluent or carrier. Claim 7 recites the composition according to claim 6, further comprising at least one additional active ingredient. Claim 8 recites a method of controlling or preventing infestation of useful plants by phytopathogenic microorganisms, comprising applying a fungicidally effective amount of a compound according to claim 1, or a composition comprising this compound as active ingredient, to the plants, to parts thereof or the locus thereof.
A review of the Specification of Bou Hamdan clarifies what Claim 7 contemplates as further comprising at least one additional active ingredient. “Thus, compounds of formula (I) can be used in combination with one or more other active ingredients to provide various fungicidal mixtures. Specific examples of such mixtures include (wherein “I” represents a compound of formula (I)): a compound selected from the group of substances consisting of . . . difenoconazole . . . mancozeb . . .” (col. 43, ll. 28 et seq.). A review of the specification clarifies how the method of application is practiced, namely, wherein the composition components (A) and (B) are applied in a sequential manner. (col. 50, ll. 19-27).
A review of the specification of Per Bou Hamdan clarifies what fungicidal amounts of components (A) and (B) are in terms of ratios. Per Bou Hamdan, the active ingredient mixture of the compounds of formula (I) and an active ingredient as described above are preferably in a mixing ratio of from 100:1 to 1:6000, especially from 50:1 to 1:50, more especially in a ratio of from 20:1 to 1:20, even more especially from 10:1 to 1:10, very especially from 5:1 and 1:5, special preference being given to a ratio of from 2:1 to 1:2, and a ratio of from 4:1 to 2:1 being likewise preferred, above all in a ratio of 1:1, or 5:1, or 5:2, or 5:3, or 5:4, or 4:1, or 4:2, or 4:3, or 3:1, or 3:2, or 2:1, or 1:5, or 2:5, or 3:5, or 4:5, or 1:4, or 2:4, or 3:4, or 1:3, or 2:3, or 1:2, or 1:600, or 1:300, or 1:150, or 1:35, or 2:35, or 4:35, or 1:75, or 2:75, or 4:75, or 1:6000, or 1:3000, or 1:1500, or 1:350, or 2:350, or 4:350, or 1:750, or 2:750, or 4:750. Those mixing ratios are by weight. (col. 49, l. 63-col. 50, l. 9).
/SVETLANA M IVANOVA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1627