DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 04/16/2026. As directed by the amendment: claim(s) 1-15, 17, and 19 has/have been amended; claim(s) 16 and 18 has/have been cancelled and no new claim(s) has/have been added. Thus, claims 1-15, 17, and 19 are presently pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15, 17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hwang et al (KR 20200009993 A) in view of Reevel et al (US 2019/0380391).
Regarding claim 1, Hwang discloses an aerosol generating device configured to releasably engage with a component, the aerosol generating device comprising:
an inductive heating circuit (Fig. 4 #40 resonator and #41 power amplifier) configured to inductively heat a susceptor arrangement (Fig. 1 #12 heating blade) arranged to heat an aerosol generating material, to thereby generate an aerosol, the inductive heating circuit (Fig. 4 #40 resonator and #41 power amplifier) comprising:
an inductive element (Fig. 4 #21 coil) configured to inductively heat the susceptor arrangement when a varying current flows through the inductive element (Fig. 4 #21 coil), and a switching arrangement (Fig. 4 #411-412 switches) for causing the varying current to flow through the inductive element (Fig. 4 #21 coil) when a first DC voltage is supplied to the inductive heating circuit (Fig. 4 #40 resonator and #41 power amplifier);
a voltage regulator (Fig. 4 #44 DC-DC converter) configured to receive an input voltage from a voltage supply (Fig. 4 #43 battery) and output the first DC voltage across the inductive heating circuit (Fig. 4 #40 resonator and #41 power amplifier);
and a control arrangement (Fig. 4 #42 controller) configured to adjust the first DC voltage output by the voltage regulator (Fig. 4 #44 DC-DC converter), thereby to adjust a power supplied to the heating circuit (Fig. 4 #40 resonator and #41 power amplifier) for heating the susceptor arrangement (Fig. 1 #12 heating blade).
However, Hwang does not disclose wherein the susceptor arrangement is provided in said component.
Nonetheless, Reevel in the same field of endeavor being aerosol generating devices teaches wherein the susceptor arrangement (Fig. 2 #20 susceptor) is provided in said component (Fig. 2 #30 aerosol-forming substrate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the aerosol generating device of Hwang by incorporating the susceptor arrangement as taught by Reevel for the benefit of preparation for further use or for cleaning. (Reevel [0064])
Regarding claim 2, Hwang in view of Reevel teaches the aerosol generating device as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), and Hwang teaches wherein the control arrangement (Fig. 4 #42 controller) is configured to control the first DC voltage output by the voltage regulator (Fig. 4 #44 DC-DC converter) by controlling a property of the input voltage to the voltage regulator (Page 4 para. 3 ---"The controller 42 controls the energy supplied to the coil 21 by controlling the switching waveform of the power amplifier 41, controlling the voltage of the DC-DC converter 44, or both.”).
Regarding claim 3, Hwang in view of Reevel teaches the aerosol generating device as appears above (see the rejection of claim 2), and Hwang teaches wherein the property of the input voltage to the voltage regulator (Fig. 4 #44 DC-DC converter) is a duty cycle of the input voltage (Page 5 para. 2 ---" That is, the method of changing the frequency of the current signal supplied from the power amplifier 41 to the resonator 40, the duty ratio of the switching signal for driving the switches M1, M2 (411, 412) in the power amplifier 41 ).
Regarding claim 4, Hwang in view of Reevel teaches the aerosol generating device as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), and Hwang teaches wherein the voltage regulator (Fig. 4 #44 DC-DC converter) is configured to allow the input voltage to the voltage regulator (Fig. 4 #44 DC-DC converter) to be stepped down such that the first DC voltage is less than the input voltage (Page 4 para. 2 ---"The DC-DC converter 44 steps up or down the voltage VBAT of the battery 43 to generate a driving voltage PVIN for driving the power amplifier 41 and applies it to the power amplifier 41.).
Regarding claim 5, Hwang in view of Reevel teaches the aerosol generating device as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), and Hwang teaches wherein the voltage regulator (Fig. 4 #44 DC-DC converter) is configured to allow the input voltage to the voltage regulator (Fig. 4 #44 DC-DC converter) to be stepped up such that the first DC voltage is greater than the input voltage (Page 4 para. 2 ---"The DC-DC converter 44 steps up or down the voltage VBAT of the battery 43 to generate a driving voltage PVIN for driving the power amplifier 41 and applies it to the power amplifier 41.).
Regarding claim 6, Hwang in view of Reevel teaches the aerosol generating device as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), and Hwang teaches wherein the control arrangement (Fig. 4 #42 controller) is configured to adjust the first DC voltage supplied to the inductive heating circuit (Fig. 4 #40 resonator and #41 power amplifier) by the voltage regulator (Fig. 4 #44 DC-DC converter) based on a determined value of the power previously supplied to the heating circuit (Fig. 4 #40 resonator and #41 power amplifier) (Page 4 para. 3 ---" The controller 42 controls the switching waveform of the power amplifier 41 by using the temperature of the coil 21, the voltage of the coil 21, the current of the coil 21, or the output of the DC-DC converter 44. The voltage PVIN or both are controlled to manage the energy supplied to the coil 21. Since the current of the coil 21 is almost the same as the current of the power amplifier 41, the current of the power amplifier 41 can be detected and used as the current of the coil 21.”; Both the current and the voltage of the coil are known, power is inherently know.).
Regarding claim 7, Hwang in view of Reevel teaches the aerosol generating device as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), and Hwang teaches wherein the control arrangement (Fig. 4 #42 controller) is configured to adjust the first DC voltage output by the voltage regulator (Fig. 4 #44 DC-DC converter) based on a determined temperature of the susceptor arrangement (Page 4 para. 3 ---" The controller 42 controls the switching waveform of the power amplifier 41 by using the temperature of the coil 21, the voltage of the coil 21, the current of the coil 21, or the output of the DC-DC converter 44.”).
Regarding claim 8, Hwang in view of Reevel teaches the aerosol generating device as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), and Hwang teaches wherein the inductive heating circuit (Fig. 4 #40 resonator and #41 power amplifier) comprises a resonant LC circuit (Fig. 4 #21 coil and #400 resonant capacitor).
Regarding claim 9, Hwang in view of Reevel teaches the aerosol generating device as appears above (see the rejection of claim 8), and Hwang teaches wherein the resonant LC circuit (Fig. 4 #21 coil and #400 resonant capacitor) is a parallel LC circuit (Fig. 4 #21 coil and #400 resonant capacitor) comprising a capacitive element (Fig. 4 #400 resonant capacitor) arranged in parallel with the inductive element (Fig. 4 #21 coil) (Fig. 4 shows the inductor and capacitor in parallel.).
Regarding claim 10, Hwang in view of Reevel teaches the aerosol generating device as appears above (see the rejection of claim 8), and Hwang teaches wherein the resonant LC circuit (Fig. 4 #21 coil and #400 resonant capacitor) is configured to operate at a resonant frequency of the LC resonant circuit (Fig. 4 #21 coil and #400 resonant capacitor) to heat the susceptor arrangement (Page 3 para.10 ---"The resonator 40 includes a coil 21 and a resonant capacitor (C) 400, and generates a non-contact heat generation of the metal cylinder 20 using the coil 21. The coil 21 may be equivalent to the inductor L. The resonator capacitor 400 is connected to the coil 21 to form the resonator 40. The resonant capacitor 400 forms the resonator 40 together with the coil 21 to determine the resonant frequency.”).
Regarding claim 11, Hwang in view of Reevel teaches the aerosol generating device as appears above (see the rejection of claim 10), and Hwang teaches wherein the switching arrangement (Fig. 4 #411-412 switches) is configured to alternate between a first state and a second state to cause the varying current through the inductive element (Fig. 4 #21 coil), and wherein the switching arrangement (Fig. 4 #411-412 switches) is configured to alternate between the first state and the second state in response to voltage oscillations within the resonant circuit (Fig. 4 #21 coil and #400 resonant capacitor) (Page 4 para. 1 ---" The switches M1 and M2 411 and 412 alternate on and off and have a reverse phase waveform. The power amplifier 41 supplies the resonator 40 with current induced by the switching operations of the switches M1 and M2 411 and 412. At this time, the power amplifier 41 outputs an AC voltage / current having a frequency corresponding to the resonance frequency of the resonator 40 to drive the resonator 40.”).
Regarding claim 12, Hwang in view of Reevel teaches the aerosol generating device as appears above (see the rejection of claim 11), and Hwang teaches wherein the voltage oscillations within the resonant circuit (Fig. 4 #21 coil and #400 resonant capacitor) act to cause the alternating of the switching arrangement (Fig. 4 #411-412 switches) between the first state and the second state to thereby cause the current through the inductive element (Fig. 4 #21 coil) to vary at the resonant frequency of the resonant circuit (Fig. 4 #21 coil and #400 resonant capacitor) (Page 4 para. 1 ---" The switches M1 and M2 411 and 412 alternate on and off and have a reverse phase waveform. The power amplifier 41 supplies the resonator 40 with current induced by the switching operations of the switches M1 and M2 411 and 412. At this time, the power amplifier 41 outputs an AC voltage / current having a frequency corresponding to the resonance frequency of the resonator 40 to drive the resonator 40.”).
Regarding claim 13, Hwang in view of Reevel teaches the aerosol generating device as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), and Hwang teaches further comprising a temperature determiner (Fig. 4 #27 temperature sensor), wherein the temperature determiner (Fig. 4 #27 temperature sensor) is configured to determine a temperature of the susceptor arrangement based on the first DC voltage supplied by the voltage regulator (Fig. 4 #44 DC-DC converter) to the heating circuit (Fig. 4 #40 resonator and #41 power amplifier) and one or more electrical properties of the heating circuit (Fig. 4 #40 resonator and #41 power amplifier) (Page 4 para. 6 ---"The temperature sensor 27 senses the temperature of the coil 21. At this time, the controller 42 controls the switching waveforms of the switches M1 and M2 411 and 412 in the power amplifier 41 using the temperature of the coil 21 sensed by the temperature sensor 27. For example, the controller 42 generates a switching waveform control signal for increasing the temperature of the sensed coil 21 when the temperature of the coil 21 is lower than a preset value and provides it to the power amplifier 41, and lowers it when it is higher than the preset value. A switching waveform control signal for generating may be generated and provided to the power amplifier 41.”).
Regarding claim 14, Hwang in view of Reevel teaches the aerosol generating device as appears above (see the rejection of claim 13), and Hwang teaches wherein the one or more electrical properties of the heating circuit (Fig. 4 #40 resonator and #41 power amplifier) comprise one or more of: a frequency at which the heating circuit is operating (Page 4 para. 6 ---" For example, the controller 42 generates a switching waveform control signal for increasing the temperature of the sensed coil 21 when the temperature of the coil 21 is lower than a preset value and provides it to the power amplifier 41, and lowers it when it is higher than the preset value.”; The switching waveform has a frequency at which the heating circuit is operated.); a current drawn by the heating circuit; and an impedance of the heating circuit.
Regarding claim 15, Hwang in view of Reevel teaches the aerosol generating device as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), and Hwang teaches wherein the voltage supply (Fig. 4 #43 battery) from which the voltage regulator (Fig. 4 #44 DC-DC converter) receives the input voltage is a DC voltage supply.
Regarding claim 17, Hwang in view of Reevel teaches an aerosol generating device as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), and Reevel teaches the susceptor arrangement (Fig. 2 #20 susceptor) arranged to be heated by the inductive element to thereby heat the aerosol generating material to generate a flow of aerosol.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the aerosol generating device of Hwang by incorporating the susceptor arrangement as taught by Reevel for the benefit of preparation for further use or for cleaning. (Reevel [0064])
Regarding claim 19, Hwang discloses a method of operating an aerosol generating system comprising an aerosol generating device and a susceptor arrangement arranged to be heated by the aerosol generating device to thereby heat an aerosol generating material to generate a flow of aerosol, the aerosol generating device comprising apparatus comprising an inductive heating circuit configured to inductively heat the susceptor arrangement, the inductive heating circuit comprising[[:]] an inductive element configured to inductively heat the susceptor arrangement when a varying current flows through the inductive element; and a switching arrangement for causing the varying current to flow through the inductive element when a first DC voltage is supplied to the inductive heating circuit; a voltage regulator configured to receive an input voltage from a voltage supply and output the first DC voltage across the inductive heating circuit; and a control arrangement; wherein the method comprising:
adjusting, by the control arrangement, the first DC voltage output by the voltage regulator, thereby to adjust a power supplied to the heating circuit for heating the susceptor arrangement (Page 4 para. 3 ---"The controller 42 controls the energy supplied to the coil 21 by controlling the switching waveform of the power amplifier 41, controlling the voltage of the DC-DC converter 44, or both.”).
However, Hwang does not disclose the susceptor arrangement being provided in a component separate from, and configured to releasably engage with, the aerosol generating device.
Nonetheless, Reevel teaches the susceptor arrangement (Fig. 2 #20 susceptor) being provided in a component (Fig. 2 #30 aerosol-forming substrate) separate from, and configured to releasably engage with, the aerosol generating device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the aerosol generating device of Hwang by incorporating the susceptor arrangement as taught by Reevel for the benefit of preparation for further use or for cleaning. (Reevel [0064])
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-9, filed 04/16/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-17 and 19 under 35 USC 102(A)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Reevel et al (US 2019/0380391).
Applicant argues that Hwang does not disclose a susceptor arrangement provided in a component for aerosol generation. Examiner respectfully agrees.
However, prior art reference Reevel teaches a susceptor arrangement provided in a component for aerosol generation.
Applicant also argues that Hwang teaches away from having a susceptor inside a component for aerosol generation. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Hwang, page 3 para. 3, teaches that “When the AC source 22 flows an AC current through the coil 21, the coil 21 generates a magnetic flux line. This magnetic force line causes an eddy current in the metal cylinder 20. The eddy current generates heat in the metal cylinder 20, and the heat forms a cigarette leaf of a cigarette type electron cigarette. Since the metal cylinder 20 is indirectly generated by the AC current of the coil 21, it can be referred to as a non-contact heating device.” Since magnetic force lines are created to induce an eddy current in the metal cylinder, eddy current would be created within a susceptor material within the aerosol generating component. The magnetic force lines have the potential to span the distance necessary to create eddy currents in a susceptor material at a greater distance from the metal cylinder, when supplied with enough AC current.
The temperature sensor of Hwang is capable of sensing a temperature of a susceptor at a distance from the coil, since the susceptor and the sensor are place apart from each other. Hwang teaches that the susceptor and sensor are in a non-contact arrangement, which would allow for the susceptor to be placed at a further distance than the metal cylinder, with no change in the operation of the sensor relative to the susceptor.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOE E MILLS JR./Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761