DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7-9, 13-16, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blackdiamond (US 10,591,138) in view of Luck, (US 3,694,241). Regarding claims 1 and 16, Blackdiamond discloses mixing system, and method of operating, comprising: a base module comprising: a base support (120); a drive unit (901) disposed within the base support; a drive shaft (902) coupled to the drive unit; and a drive head (903) coupled to the drive unit via the drive shaft and disposed within the base support, wherein the drive head comprises a first magnet (see col. 6, lines 25-35); a mixing unit comprising: a guide element (118); and an agitator (904) slidably coupled to the guide element, wherein the agitator comprises a second magnet and at least one vane (see col. 6, line 19) and wherein the agitator is configured to be pushed downwards along the guide element due to the force of gravity (see Fig. 9) unaided by any additional forces (see col. 6, line 6: “freely translates”); an enclosure (110) coupled to the base support and enclosing the guide element and the agitator, wherein the drive unit and the drive head are configured to generate a linear pulsating movement of the agitator along the guide element for mixing a fluid medium within the enclosure (see Fig. 9 and col. 6 lines 45-47). However, the base support having a groove that couples a lower edge of the enclosure is not disclosed. Luck teaches a base support (3a) having a groove that couples a lower edge of the enclosure (3). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have provided an edge coupling groove as taught by Luck, to facilitate assembly, disassembly and cleaning. Regarding claim 3, the drive unit comprises a rotary actuator (901) configured to generate a rotary motion of the drive head. Regarding claim 5, the first magnet is a permanent magnet (see Fig. 9). Regarding claim 7, the second magnetic is a permanent magnet (see Fig. 9). Regarding claim 8, the first magnet comprises a first pole and the second magnet comprises a second pole disposed facing the first pole, and wherein the first and second poles have same polarities (see Fig. 9). Regarding claim 9, the at least one vane comprises a plurality of side portions and a mid-portion, wherein each side portion extends outward from the mid portion at a predefined angle (see Figs. 5B and 9). Regarding claim 13, the enclosure is a vessel (110). Claim 14 solely related to the use of the claimed device, rather than further structurally limiting the claimed structure. Regarding claim 15, control unit (190) is disclosed. Regarding claim 19, generating the linear pulsating movement of the agitator comprises moving the agitator upwards resulting in downward flow of the fluid medium and moving the agitator downwards resulting in upward flow of the fluid medium (see Fig. 9). Regarding claim 20, the drive unit is controlled by control unit (190).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blackdiamond (US 10,591,138) in view of Luck, (US 3,694,241) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Godat et al. (US 4,380,399). A vane having a coiled plate configuration in not explicitly disclosed by Blackdiamond. Godat teaches a vane (4) have a coiled plate configuration. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have provided a vane of Blackdiamond with a coiled plate configure as taught by Godat, because Blackdiamond expressly suggests utilizing alternative configuration vanes in col. 5, lines 58-59.
Claims 1, 3-7, 9, 13-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Werth (US 2015/0023132) in view of Blackdiamond (US 10,591,138) and Luck, (US 3,694,241). Regarding claims 1 and 16, Werth discloses a mixing system, and method of operating, comprising a base module comprising: a drive unit (80 or a portion thereof); a drive shaft (see Figs. 41 and 42) coupled to the drive unit; and a drive head (82) coupled to the drive unit via the drive shaft and disposed within the base support, wherein the drive head comprises a first magnet; a mixing unit comprising a guide element (28); and an agitator (2) slidably coupled to the guide element, wherein the agitator comprises a second magnet and at least one vane (96 for example) and wherein the agitator is configured to be pushed downwards along the guide element due to the force of gravity unaided by any addition forces (see Figs. 41 and 42); an enclosure (34 or 78) coupled to the base support and enclosing the guide element and the agitator, wherein the drive unit and the drive head are configured to generate a linear pulsating movement of the agitator along the guide element for mixing a fluid medium within the enclosure (see Figs. 38-42). However, locating the drive unit in a base support is not explicitly disclosed. Blackdiamond teaches locating a drive unit (901) in a base support (120). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to located the drive unit in a base support, to protect the drive unit. However, the base support having a groove that couples a lower edge of the enclosure is not disclosed. Luck teaches a base support (3a) having a groove that couples a lower edge of the enclosure (3). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have provided an edge coupling groove as taught by Luck, to facilitate assembly, disassembly and cleaning. Regarding claim 3, the drive unit comprises a rotary actuator (80 or a portion thereof) configured to generate a rotary motion of the drive head. Regarding claims 4-7, the magnets are permanent magnets in the embodiment of Figs. 41 and 42; however, as explained in [0056], electromagnets are a recognized alternative. Regarding claim 9, the at least one vane comprises a plurality of side portions and a mid-portion, wherein each side portion extends outward from the mid-portion at a predefined angle (see Fig. 36). Regarding claim 13, the enclosure is a vessel (34 or 78). Claim 14 solely relates to the use of the claimed device, rather than further structurally limiting the claimed structure. Regarding claim 15, Blackdiamond further teaches a control unit (190). Regarding claim 18, generating the linear pulsating movement of the agitator comprises: rotating the drive head to push the agitator upwards due to a repulsive magnetic force when the first magnet is aligned with second magnet and move the agitator downwards due to a gravitational force when the first magnet is not aligned with the second magnet, wherein the first magnet comprises a first pole and the second magnet comprises a second pole disposed facing the first pole, and wherein the first and second poles have same polarities (see Figs. 41 and 42). Regarding claim 19, generating the linear pulsating movement of the agitator comprises moving the agitator upwards resulting in downward flow of the fluid medium and moving the agitator downwards resulting in upward flow of the fluid medium (see Figs. 41 and 42). Regarding claim 20, Blackdiamond further teaches a control unit (190) controlling a drive unit.
Claims 2, 11, 12, 17 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Werth (US 2015/0023132) in view of Blackdiamond (US 10,591,138) and Luck, (US 3,694,241) as applied above, and further in view of Mennenga et al. (US 9,095,828). Regarding claims 2 and 17, Werth and Blackdiamond do not teach the drive unit being a linear actuator that generates a linear motion of the
drive head. Mennenga teaches linear actuator (4) that generates a linear motion of the drive head. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have utilized the linear actuator of Mennenga because, as explained in [0056] of Werth, varying the drive mechanism is suggested. Regarding claims 11 and 12, Mennenga further teaches a mixing container being a bag (13). Regarding claim 21, the phrase in Mennenga "flexible disposable containers in pharmacology and biotechnology for liquids in production processes" would have suggested culture medium to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues concerning Blackdiamond “cannot be said that the stirrer blade assembly 904 is pushed downwards along the guide element only due to the force of gravity”. However, the claims do not require a step of pushing downward only due to gravity. In fact, the elected claims are not method claims. Instead. the limitation at issue concerns the structure of the agitator, particularly how the agitator is configured. The disclosure in column 6, line 6 that the agitator is “freely translates” on the shaft makes clear that the agitator of Blackdiamond is configured exactly as claimed.
Contrary to applicant's remarks, [0002] of the instant specification makes clear that the field of endeavor is broader than bioprocessing and includes "chemical industry". Luck is analogous art because chemicals are mixed through a magnetically coupled system.
Conclusion
DAVID L. SORKIN
Examiner
Art Unit 1774
/DAVID L SORKIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774