DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR 2018/0001777) in view of Droz (US 2016/0291134).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim teaches a LIDAR sensor, comprising: a transmission/reception module which transmits light and receives reflected light [Fig 1; 0026]; a rotary module which is connected to the transmission/reception module and is rotatable [#130 of Fig 1; 0026]; a connection module which transmits a torque to the rotary module and has the rotary module installed therein [#130, #140 of Fig 1; 0026; 0034]; and a fixing module which fixes the connection module thereto and transmits a power to the connection module [#350 of Fig 1, 3b; 0034; 0037]. Kim does not explicitly teach – but Droz does teach wherein the transmission/reception module analyzes a waveform of the reflected light with one or more frequencies to measure a distance according to a time difference and acquire a point cloud, and a rotary column having a plurality of inclined surfaces is located in a rotation axis position of the rotary module [0005-06; 0038]. It would have been obvious to modify the sensor of Kim to include a rotary column and forming a point cloud so that the sensors may obtain information from a variety of angles and to could provide a three-dimensional (3D) representation of the environment.
Regarding Claim 19, Kim teaches …a LIDAR sensor which transmits light, receives reflected light, wherein the LIDAR sensor includes: a transmission/reception module which transmits light and receives reflected light; a rotary module which is connected to the transmission/reception module and is rotatable [#130 of Fig 1; 0026]; a connection module which transmits a torque to the rotary module and has the rotary module installed therein [#130, #140 of Fig 1; 0026; 0034]; and a fixing module which fixes the connection module thereto and transmits a power to the connection module [#350 of Fig 1, 3b; 0034; 0037]. Kim does not explicitly teach – but Droz does teach a mobile object [Fig 8; 0096-0100] … and a moving device which is implemented to move the moving object based on the distance [Fig 8, 0096-0100] analyzes a waveform of the reflected light with one or more frequencies to measure a distance according to the time difference, and acquire a point cloud [0005-06; 0038]…and a rotary column having a plurality of inclined surfaces is located in a rotary shaft position of the rotary module [0005-06; 0038]. It would have been obvious to modify the sensor of Kim to include a rotary column and forming a point cloud so that the sensors may obtain information from a variety of angles and to could provide a three-dimensional (3D) representation of the environment.
Regarding Claim 2, Kim also teaches wherein the transmission/reception module includes: a plurality of transmission/reception groups in which one or more transmitters and one or more receivers are disposed to be spaced apart from each other to be combined [Fig 1; 0026]; and the plurality of transmission/reception groups is installed on the plurality of inclined surfaces, is disposed in a predetermined horizontal direction while being directed to a predetermined vertical angle, and is disposed in consideration of a center of gravity [Fig 1; 0026]. Kim does not explicitly teach – but Droz does teach and a first controller which controls an operation of the plurality of transmission/reception groups [0005-06; 0061-63]. It would have been obvious to modify the sensor of Kim to include a controller in order to efficiently scan so that the sensors may obtain information from a variety of angles.
Regarding Claim 3, Kim does not explicitly teach – but Droz does teach wherein the first controller controls an exposure time and an intensity of the light in accordance with a reference distance which distinguishes a near field from a far field [Fig 1d-3a; 0061-63; 0071-74]. It would have been obvious to modify the sensor of Kim to include a controller for exposure time so that the narrow beam may have a high energy sufficient for detection of objects within a long range of distances – both near and far field.
Regarding Claim 4, Kim does not explicitly teach – but Droz does teach wherein the first controller adjusts an exposure time and an intensity of the light based on the remainder obtained by dividing a RPM of the rotary module by a predetermined integer [Fig 1d-3a; 0061-63; 0071-74]. It would have been obvious to modify the sensor of Kim to include a controller for exposure time so that the narrow beam may have a high energy sufficient for detection of objects within a long range of distances.
Regarding Claim 5, Kim also teaches wherein a filter which blocks light of a predetermined wavelength band is mounted in the receiver [#240 of Fig 1, 2; 0026; 0032].
Regarding Claim 6, Kim also teaches wherein in the receiver, pixel arrangement is formed in a rectangular shape and the rectangle is provided at a predetermined tilting angle to increase a vertical resolution [#240 of Fig 1, 2; 0026; 0032].
Regarding Claim 7, Kim does not explicitly teach – but Droz does teach wherein the transmission/reception module includes a thermometer and the first controller compensates for an error of the measured distance according to a temperature measured by the thermometer based on stored temperature data [0109]. It would have been obvious to modify the sensor of Kim to include a temperature sensor to compensate and adjust the lidar sensor based on the environmental conditions to improve accuracy and precision.
Regarding Claim 8, Kim does not explicitly teach – but Droz does teach wherein the transmission/reception module extracts a relative angle with a reflector based on a reflection pattern according to the intensity of the reflected light by a reflectance of the reflector [Claim 1; 0053; 0068; 0071; 0075; 0138]. It would have been obvious to modify the system of Kim to include determining relative angle and control commands to better determine a type, size, or shape of an object, a particular distance, a particular position, or an angle range as the target information may be indicative of a target object about which higher quality information is requested, such as higher resolution, or further number of scans.
Regarding Claim 9, Kim does not explicitly teach – but Droz does teach wherein the first controller outputs a control command about a center direction of the reflector using the relative angle [0062; 0068; 0071; 0075; 0093; 0098; 0125]. It would have been obvious to modify the system of Kim to include determining relative angle and control commands to better determine a type, size, or shape of an object, a particular distance, a particular position, or an angle range as the target information may be indicative of a target object about which higher quality information is requested, such as higher resolution, or further number of scans.
Regarding Claim 10, Kim does not explicitly teach – but Droz does teach wherein the first controller compares the reflective pattern and a stored reference pattern to find a center direction of the reflector in a direction that an error of the difference satisfies a reference range [Claim 1; 0038; 0053; 0068; 0071; 0075; 0138]. It would have been obvious to modify the system of Kim to include determining relative angle and control commands to better determine a type, size, or shape of an object, a particular distance, a particular position, or an angle range as the target information may be indicative of a target object about which higher quality information is requested, such as higher resolution, or further number of scans.
Regarding Claim 11, Kim does not explicitly teach – but Droz does teach wherein the reflective pattern has a first reflective area and a second reflective area and the first controller finds a center direction of the reflector in a direction that a size of the first reflective area and a size of the second reflective area become equal [Claim 1; 0038; 0053; 0068; 0071; 0075; 0138]. It would have been obvious to modify the system of Kim to include determining relative angle and control commands to better determine a type, size, or shape of an object, a particular distance, a particular position, or an angle range as the target information may be indicative of a target object about which higher quality information is requested, such as higher resolution, or further number of scans.
Regarding Claim 12, Kim does not explicitly teach – but Droz does teach wherein the connection module includes: a second bearing disposed at a lower end of the rotary column; and a slip ring which passes through an imaginary line formed by extending the rotary shaft of the second bearing [0026-27]. It would have been obvious to modify the system of Kim to include a rotary connection module with a rotational bearing configured to allow the lidar system to rotate about a vertical axis, along with a stepper motor configured to control the rotation of the system.
Regarding Claim 13, Kim does not explicitly teach – but Droz does teach wherein the connection module includes a first bearing which is disposed on an upper end of the rotary column and an imaginary line formed by extending the rotation axis of the first bearing matches an imaginary line formed by extending the rotation axis of the second bearing [0026-27]. It would have been obvious to modify the system of Kim to include a rotary connection module with a rotational bearing configured to allow the lidar system to rotate about a vertical axis, along with a stepper motor configured to control the rotation of the system.
Regarding Claim 14, Kim does not explicitly teach – but Droz does teach a sensor cover which has a protrusion structure which is inserted into a recessed space of the upper end of the rotary column and is connected to the fixing module, wherein the sensor cover transmits or absorbs light of a predetermined wavelength band [#214 of Fig 2; 0061-63]. It would have been obvious to modify the system of Kim to include a cover in order to reduce unwanted wavelengths into the sensor assembly (thus reduce background noise).
Regarding Claim 15, Kim does not explicitly teach – but Droz does teach a display unit which displays status information of the LIDAR sensor at the upper end of the sensor cover [#946 of Fig 9; 0114-16]. It would have been obvious to modify the system of Kim to include a display unit to allow the user to may employ and use an object recognition algorithm, a structure from motion algorithm, video tracking, or other computer vision techniques.
Regarding Claim 16, Kim does not explicitly teach – but Droz does teach wherein the connection module includes a first gear disposed at a lower end of the rotary column and a second gear which is disposed in the fixing module to rotate while being engaged with the first gear, the fixing module includes a motor which is disposed on a side surface of the fixing module to rotate the second gear, a rotation axis of the first gear and a rotation axis of the second gear are disposed in parallel, and the rotation axis of the second gear and a rotation axis of the motor match [0026-27]. It would have been obvious to modify the system of Kim to include a rotary connection module with a rotational bearing configured to allow the lidar system to rotate about a vertical axis, along with a stepper motor configured to control the rotation of the system.
Regarding Claim 17, Kim does not explicitly teach – but Droz does teach wherein the rotary module includes: a second controller which is located at a lower end of the rotary module and calculates a rotational speed and a rotation position of the rotary module or the first gear using a first signal collected by the first signal receiver; and a first signal receiver connected to the second controller, wherein the -fixing module includes: a third controller which is located at a upper side end of the fixing module and calculates a rotational speed and a rotation position of the motor or a second gear using a second signal collected by a second signal receiver; and a second signal receiver which is connected to the third controller [0026-27]. It would have been obvious to modify the system of Kim to include a rotary connection module with a rotational bearing configured to allow the lidar system to rotate about a vertical axis, along with a stepper motor configured to control the rotation of the system.
Regarding Claim 18 Kim does not explicitly teach – but Droz does teach wherein a plurality of first signal receivers is disposed to be spaced apart from each other, the plurality of first signal receivers compensates for an error of the rotational speed and the rotation position of the rotary module or the first gear according to the result of analyzing the plurality of received first signals [0026-27]. It would have been obvious to modify the system of Kim to include a rotary connection module with a rotational bearing configured to allow the lidar system to rotate about a vertical axis, along with a stepper motor configured to control the rotation of the system.
Conclusion
JAMES R. HULKA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3645
/JAMES R HULKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645