DETAILED ACTION
Comments
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 1-2, 5-12, 14-17, 20-21, 23-24, 26, and 40 are pending and examined in the instant Office action.
Withdrawn Objection/Rejections
The objection to the specification is withdrawn in view of amendments filed to the specification on 27 May 2026.
The first rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 is withdrawn in view of amendments filed to the instant claim on 27 May 2026.
The prior art rejections are withdrawn in view of amendments filed to the instant set of claims on 27 May 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
The following rejection is reiterated with prior art necessitated by amendment:
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-12, 14-17, 20-21, 23-24, 26, and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea/law of nature/natural phenomenon without significantly more. Claims 1-2, 5-12, 14-17, and 20-21 are drawn to systems comprising processors, claims 23-24 and 26 are drawn to methods, and claim 40 is drawn to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium.
In accordance with MPEP § 2106, claims found to recite statutory subject matter (Step 1 : YES) are then analyzed to determine if the claims recite any concepts that equate to an abstract idea, law of nature or natural phenomenon (Step 2A, Prong 1). In the instant application, the claims recite the following limitations that equate to an abstract idea:
The independent claims recite the mental step of storing a surgical plan comprising a digital three-dimensional model.
The independent claims recite the mental step of receiving the digital X-ray image of the joint and the localization object during the total replacement surgery.
The independent claims recite the mental step of determining a pose of the localization object relative to the bone or joint.
The independent claims recite the mental step of assessing the pose of the localization object against the surgical plan.
The independent claims recite the mental step of providing an indication of a clinal consequence of the pose in relation to the surgical plan to the surgeon
Claims 2 and 24 recite the mental step of constraining the types of poses.
Claims 5 and 26 recite the mental step of receiving an updated surgical plan.
Claim 6 recites the mental step of receiving an updated three-dimensional model.
Claim 7 recites the mental step of determining a preoperative simulated performance metric by simulating movement of the digital three-dimensional model.
Claim 8 recites the mental step of determining an intraoperative simulated performance metric by simulating movement of the updated digital three-dimensional model.
Claim 9 recites the mental step of requiring the indication to comprise an intraoperative simulated performance metric.
Claim 10 recites the mental step of comparing the intraoperative simulated performance metric and the preoperative simulated performance metric.
Claim 11 recites the mental step of requiring the intraoperative performance metric to be an indication of risk stratification.
Claim 12 recites the mental step of requiring the risk stratification to be indicative of a risk associated with multiple predicted postoperative movements of the patient.
Claim 14 recites the mental steps of detecting objects in the digital image and fitting an object model to the objects.
Claim 15 recites the mental step of associating a pose with an X-ray opaque two-dimensional code.
Claims 16-17 recite the mental step of storing the surgical plan.
Claims 16-17 recite the mental step of receiving the digital X-ray image of the joint and the localization object during the total joint replacement surgery.
Claims 16-17 recite the mental step of determining the pose of the localization object relative to the bone or the joint based on the digital X-ray image.
Claims 16-17 recite the mental step of assessing the pose of the localization object against the surgical plan.
Claim 21 recites the mental step of identifying edges of the localization object in the digital X-ray image.
These recitations are similar to the concepts of collecting information, analyzing it and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis in Electric Power Group, LLC, v. Alstom (830 F.3d 1350, 119 USPQ2d 1739 (Fed. Cir. 2016)), organizing and manipulating information through mathematical correlations in Digitech Image Techs., LLC v Electronics for Imaging, Inc. (758 F.3d 1344, 111 U.S.P.Q.2d 1717 (Fed. Cir. 2014)) and comparing information regarding a sample or test to a control or target data in Univ. of Utah Research Found. v. Ambry Genetics Corp. (774 F.3d 755, 113 U.S.P.Q.2d 1241 (Fed. Cir. 2014)) and Association for Molecular Pathology v. USPTO (689 F.3d 1303, 103 U.S.P.Q.2d 1681 (Fed. Cir. 2012)) that the courts have identified as concepts that can be practically performed in the human mind or mathematical relationships. Therefore, these limitations fall under the “Mental process” and “Mathematical concepts” groupings of abstract ideas. Merely reciting that a mental process is being performed in a generic computer environment does not preclude the steps from being performed practically in the human mind or with pen and paper as claimed. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then if falls within the “Mental processes” grouping of abstract ideas. As such, claim(s) 1-2, 5-12, 14-17, 20-21, 23-24, 26, and 40 recite(s) an abstract idea/law of nature/natural phenomenon (Step 2A, Prong 1 : YES).
Claims found to recite a judicial exception under Step 2A, Prong 1 are then further analyzed to determine if the claims as a whole integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application or not (Step 2A, Prong 2). This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims do not recite an additional element that reflects an improvement to technology or applies or uses the recited judicial exception to affect a particular treatment for a condition. Rather, the instant claims recite additional elements that amount to mere instructions to implement the abstract idea in a generic computing environment or mere instructions to apply the recited judicial exception via a generic treatment.
While the claims pertain to joint replacement surgery, there is no active limitation of performing joint replacement surgery.
There are no limitations that indicate that the claimed analysis engine or the formats of the provided data require anything other than generic computing systems. As such, these limitations equate to mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a generic computer that the courts have stated does not render an abstract idea eligible in Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 223, 110 USPQ2d at 1983. See also 573 U.S. at 224, 110 USPQ2d at 1984. As such, claims 1-2, 5-12, 14-17, 20-21, 23-24, 26, and 40 is/are directed to an abstract idea/law of nature/natural phenomenon (Step 2A, Prong 2 : NO).
Claims found to be directed to a judicial exception are then further evaluated to determine if the claims recite an inventive concept that provides significantly more than the judicial exception itself (Step 2B). The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claims recite additional elements that equate to mere instructions to apply the recited exception in a generic way or in a generic computing environment.
The prior art of Sakaguchi et al. [US PGPUB 2017/0027533 A1] teaches that using an X-ray apparatus controlled by processors with a display to present results is routine and conventional in the prior art.
The prior art of Hume et al. [US PGPUB 2008/0109001 A1] teaches that during joint replacement procedures, it is routine and conventional for the implant to comprise a localization object connected to an implant component at a fixed position wherein the localization object is an object of predetermined size and shape having a unique two-dimensional projection when viewed from different angles by the X-ray imaging device.
Claims that amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer do not render an abstract idea eligible. Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 223, 110 USPQ2d at 1983. See also 573 U.S. at 224, 110 USPQ2d at 1984. MPEP 2106.05(f) discloses that mere instructions to apply the judicial exception cannot provide an inventive concept to the claims. The additional elements do not comprise an inventive concept when considered individually or as an ordered combination that transforms the claimed judicial exception into a patent-eligible application of the judicial exception. Therefore, the claims do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself (Step 2B : No). As such, claims 1-2, 5-12, 14-17, 20-21, 23-24, 26, and 40 is/are not patent eligible.
Response to arguments:
Applicant's arguments filed 27 May 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the amended limitations are not mental steps. While the amended limitations are not mental steps, these limitations outside the judicial exceptions are routine and conventional in the prior art.
Applicant argues that the specific type of display of X-ray results is specific and necessary for postoperative planning. While this statement may be accurate, the postoperative planning algorithm is a judicial exception, and the display of X-ray results is routine and conventional.
In the independent claims, the limitations outside the judicial exceptions involve taking, receiving and displaying X-ray results wherein the X-ray images comprise a localization object in an implant with different imagery dependent on the direction of the X-ray apparatus. As discussed in the rejection statement above, the combination of Sakaguchi et al. and Hume et al. teaches that this use of an X-ray apparatus to receive this type of X-ray imagery is routine and conventional.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The following rejection is necessitated by amendment:
35 U.S.C. 103 Rejection #1:
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6, 14-17, 20-21, 23-24, 26, and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mahfouz [US PGPUB 2019/0133693 A1; on IDS] in view of Hume et al. [US PGPUB 2008/0109001 A1] in view of Weir [US PGPUB 2020/0268448 A1].
Claim 23 is drawn to a method for assisting a surgeon in total joint replacement of a joint of a patient. The method comprises storing a surgical plan comprising a digital three-dimensional model. The method comprises receiving a digital X-ray image of the joint and a localization object during a total joint replacement surgery. The localization object is connected to an implant component at a fixed position wherein the localization object is an object of predetermined size and shape having a unique two-dimensional projection when viewed from different angles by the X-ray imaging device. The method comprises determining a pose of the localization object against the surgical plan. The method comprises providing an indication of a postoperative clinical consequence of the pose in relation to the surgical plan to the surgeon.
Claim 1 is drawn to similar subject matter as claim 23, except claim 1 is drawn to a system.
Claim 40 is drawn to similar subject matter as claim 23, except claim 40 is drawn to a computer readable storage medium.
Claim 15 is further limiting wherein the localization object comprises an X-ray opaque two-dimensional code, and wherein determining the pose of the localization object comprises determining a pose associated with the X-ray opaque two-dimensional code.
The document of Mahfouz studies surgical navigation of the hip using fluoroscopy and tracking sensors [title]. Paragraph 106 and Figure 3 of Mahfouz teach the X-ray imaging device wherein the cover figure of Mahfouz illustrate receiving actual X-ray imaging of bones and joints. Paragraph 106 and Figures 3 and 40 of Mahfouz teach intraoperative imaging wherein the “image targets” are interpreted to be localization objects. Paragraph 109 and Figure 3 (“pre-operative reconstruction) of Mahfouz teach storing a surgical plan comprising a digital three-dimensional object. Paragraph 183 of Mahfouz teaches determining a pose of the localization object relative to the bone or joint. Paragraph 188 of Mahfouz teaches assessing the pose of the localization object relative against a surgical plan and providing an indication of a clinical consequence of the pose in relation to the surgical plan of the surgeon.
Mahfouz does not teach the recited localization object. Mahfouz does not teach a postoperative clinical consequence of the pose. Mahfouz does not teach an X-ray opaque two-dimensional code.
The cover figure of Hume et al. illustrates an implant on the cover figure comprising a localization object that results in unique X-ray imagery dependent on the angle of the X-ray apparatus.
The document of Weir studies a system and method for performing joint replacement surgery using an artificial neural network [title]. Figure 4 of Weir teaches that one of the purposes of the ANN is to recommend post-operative treatment.
With regard to claims 2 and 24, Figure 40 of Mahfouz teaches the pose is associated with a bone pose and comprises the localization object.
With regard to claims 5 and 26, paragraph 191 of Mahfouz teaches updating a surgical plan and three dimensional model based on indication.
With regard to claim 14, paragraph 184 of Mahfouz teaches that determining a pose involves fitting and detecting objects in the image.
With regard to claims 16-17 and 20, paragraphs 105 and 188 teach details regarding the computer system and display (e.g. a computer, phone, or tablet).
With regard to claim 21, Figure 64, step 4 and paragraph 162 of Mahfouz teach edge detection and calculating edge scores.
It would have been obvious at the time of the filing date of the instant application to modify the X-ray image analysis of Mahfouz by use of and X-ray opaque two-dimensional code because it is obvious to try alternative design choices to associate with a pose.
It would have been obvious at the time of the filing date of the instant application to modify the X-ray image analysis of Mahfouz by use of the localization object of Hume et al. wherein the motivation would have been that understanding imagery of the implant facilitates joint replacement surgery [cover figure of Hume et al.].
It would have been obvious at the time of the filing date of the instant application to modify the X-ray image analysis of Mahfouz and the localization object of Hume et al. by use of the ANN of Weir wherein the motivation would have been that the machine learning of Weir facilitates recovery by recommendations of proper postoperative treatment [Figure 4 of Weir].
There would have been a reasonable expectation of success in combining Mahfouz, Hume et al., and Weir because all three studies analogously pertain to joint replacement surgery.
The following rejection is necessitated by amendment:
35 U.S.C. 103 Rejection #2:
Claim(s) 7-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mahfouz in view of Hume et al. in view of Weir, as applied to claims 1-2, 5-6, 14-17, 20-21, 23-24, 26, and 40 above, in further view of Barsoum et al. [US PGPUB 2018/0161101 A1; on IDS].
Mahfouz, Hume et al., and Weir make obvious the algorithm for joint replacement, as discussed above.
Mahfouz, Hume et al., and Weir do not teach the recited guidance system for total joint replacement with risk calculations.
The document of Barsoum et al. studies model-based surgical planning and implant placement [title]. Figures 2 and 4 and paragraphs 48-51 of Barsoum et al. teach a guidance system for total joint replacement wherein a simulated performance metric is calculated and provided to the surgeon for an assessment of a planned orientation of a joint implant. Paragraphs 27 and 49 of Barsoum et al. teach that the performance metric is indicative of a risk of dislocation.
It would have been obvious at the time of the filing date of the instant application to modify the X-ray image analysis of Mahfouz, the localization object of Hume et al., and the ANN of Weir by use of the guidance system for joint replacement of Barsoum et al. wherein the motivation would have been that the modeling techniques of Barsoum et al. facilitate the imaging analysis of Mahfouz [Figures 2 and 4 and paragraphs 48-51 of Barsoum et al.]. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success in combining Mahfouz, Hume et al., Weir, and Barsoum et al. because all four studies are analogously applicable of analyzing the mechanics of joint replacements.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 27 May 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the amendments to the claims overcome the prior art rejection. The documents of Hume et al. and Weir are added to make obvious the amended limitations of the claims.
E-mail Communications Authorization
Per updated USPTO Internet usage policies, Applicant and/or applicant’s representative is encouraged to authorize the USPTO examiner to discuss any subject matter concerning the above application via Internet e-mail communications. See MPEP 502.03. To approve such communications, Applicant must provide written authorization for e-mail communication by submitting the following statement via EFS-Web (using PTO/SB/439) or Central Fax (571-273-8300):
Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file.
Written authorizations submitted to the Examiner via e-mail are NOT proper. Written authorizations must be submitted via EFS-Web (using PTO/SB/439) or Central Fax (571-273-8300). A paper copy of e-mail correspondence will be placed in the patent application when appropriate. E-mails from the USPTO are for the sole use of the intended recipient, and may contain information subject to the confidentiality requirement set forth in 35 USC § 122. See also MPEP 502.03.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s Supervisor, Larry Riggs, Supervisory Patent Examiner, can be reached at (571) 270-3062.
/RUSSELL S NEGIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1686 25 October 2026