DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the submission filed on 8/17/2026. Claims 1-18 are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments- Drawings
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the replacement drawings have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objections have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments- Claim Objections
Applicant's arguments filed 8/17/2026 have been fully considered but Applicant has not addressed the objection. The objection stands.
Response to Arguments - 35 USC § 112
Applicant's arguments filed 8/17/2026 have been fully considered. However the amendments necessitate new rejections. See below.
Response to Arguments- 35 USC § 101
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments- 35 USC § 102/103
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered and are moot in view of the new claim language. The rejection has been updated to reflect the modified claim language.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 recites “apply virtual physical quantity” which should be “apply a virtual physical quantity”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 has been amended to recite “change a specific region of the virtual model image corresponding to the fixed location according to the measurement information of the measurement sensor disposed at the fixed location in advance”. However it is unknown what ‘change a specific region’ of the image means. It is unknown if the view of the image is zoomed in, or something similar. This limitation is unclear. Any application of prior art is the Examiner’s best interpretation of the claimed subject matter.
Claim 4, line 8 and claim 12, line 7 recite “the virtual model images” which lacks antecedent support as it was previously only a singular “the virtual model image”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, and 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2017/0350864 A1 (“Goroshevskiy”).
Regarding claim 1, Goroshevskiy teaches:
A structure state display system (Goroshevskiy: para [0055], “3D visualization capabilities using a 3D model of the tested object. The information visualization (display) unit of the device represents a topological map of the structure in real coordinates, showing simultaneously a structure layout”) comprising:
a measurement sensor, disposed in a structure at a fixed location in advance, for measuring a physical state relating to the structure at the fixed location (Goroshevskiy: para [0096], “Moreover, the device (sensor array) is capable of performing measurements from inside the structure, such as a pipeline”; para [0109], “Prediction of catastrophic failure requires a long-term monitoring of the underground structure, which is accomplished through an array of permanent magnetic scanner sensors …The array of sensors can also be placed in contact with the ferromagnetic underground structure”; the sensors are permanent, in contact and inside the structure);
one or more processors for configured to:
acquire measurement information measured by the measurement sensor (Goroshevskiy: para [0096], “Moreover, the device (sensor array) is capable of performing measurements from inside the structure, such as a pipeline”); and
apply virtual physical quantity according to the measurement information to a design model including the structure (Goroshevskiy: para [0038], “FIG. 5: A display unit of the magnetic tomography device according to the invention with a number of lights on a front panel. The display unit shows a stress-deformed state”; para [0111], “The calculation unit 9 is connected to the display unit 23. FIG. 5 shows the display unit 23 according to the invention with a number of lights on a front panel. The display unit 23 can be configured to show a stress-deformed state
(SDS) and a risk-factor (RF) of the at least one portion with the underground structure with a magnetic field anomaly”; para [0030], “ The discovered information is visualized by representing a topological map of the structure in real coordinates, showing simultaneously a structure
layout, the foreign objects in vicinity, the location, and calculated three-dimensional values of the mechanical stress”);
create a virtual model image in which a display showing the physical state of the structure in the design model (Goroshevskiy: para [0038], “FIG. 5: A display unit of the magnetic tomography device according to the invention with a number of lights on a front panel. The display unit shows a stress-deformed state”; para [0090], “Moreover, it expresses the calculations in real-time, also providing the visualization of the information in the form of tomograms with reference to the 3D model of the controlled object”; para [0111], “The calculation unit 9 is connected to the display unit 23. FIG. 5 shows the display unit 23 according to the invention with a number of lights on a front panel. The display unit 23
can be configured to show a stress-deformed state (SDS) and a risk-factor (RF) of the at least one portion with the underground structure with a magnetic field anomaly”; para [0030], “ The discovered information is visualized by representing a topological map of the structure in real coordinates, showing simultaneously a structure layout, the foreign objects in vicinity, the location, and calculated three-dimensional values of the mechanical stress”; para [0055], “v) using a contact tomography technique in order to add 3D visualization capabilities using a 3D model of the tested object. The information visualization (display) unit of the device represents a topological map of the structure in real coordinates, showing simultaneously a structure layout, the foreign objects in the vicinity, the calculated values of a mechanical
stress, and the location of the found anomalies”; para [0090], “Moreover, it expresses the calculations in real-time, also providing the visualization of the information in the form of tomograms with reference to the 3D model of the controlled object”),
display the virtual model image on a on a display screen (Goroshevskiy: para [0090], “Moreover, it expresses the calculations in real-time, also providing the visualization of the information in the form of tomograms with reference to the 3D model of the controlled object”; para [0038], “FIG. 5: A display unit of the magnetic tomography device according to the invention with a number of lights on a front panel. The display unit shows a stress-deformed state and a risk-factor of the at least one portion with the magnetic field anomaly”); and
change a specific region of the virtual model image corresponding to the fixed location according to the measurement information of the measurement sensor disposed at the fixed location in advance (see rejection under 35 USC 112; Goroshevskiy: para [0038], “FIG. 5: A display unit of the magnetic tomography device according to the invention with a number of lights on a front panel. The display unit shows a stress-deformed state”; para [0090], “Moreover, it expresses the calculations in real-time, also providing the visualization of the information in the form of tomograms with reference to the 3D model of the controlled object”; para [0111], “The calculation unit 9 is connected to the display unit 23. FIG. 5 shows the display unit 23 according to the invention with a number of lights on a front panel. The display unit 23
can be configured to show a stress-deformed state (SDS) and a risk-factor (RF) of the at least one portion with the underground structure with a magnetic field anomaly”; para [0030], “ The discovered information is visualized by representing a topological map of the structure in real coordinates, showing simultaneously a structure layout, the foreign objects in vicinity, the location, and calculated three-dimensional values of the mechanical stress”; para [0055], “v) using a contact tomography technique in order to add 3D visualization capabilities using a 3D model of the tested object. The information visualization (display) unit of the device represents a topological map of the structure in real coordinates, showing simultaneously a structure layout, the foreign objects in the vicinity, the calculated values of a mechanical
stress, and the location of the found anomalies”; para [0090], “Moreover, it expresses the calculations in real-time, also providing the visualization of the information in the form of tomograms with reference to the 3D model of the controlled object”).
Regarding claim 3, Goroshevskiy teaches:
The structure state display system according to claim 1 wherein the virtual model image shows deformation of the structure in the design model, a change in a color of the structure in the design model and/or a change in numerical information of the structure in the design model (Goroshevskiy: para [0111], “The calculation unit 9 is connected to the display unit 23. FIG. 5 shows the display unit 23 according to the invention with a number of lights on a front panel. The display unit 23 can be configured to show a stress-deformed state (SDS) and a risk-factor (RF) of the at least one portion with the underground structure with a magnetic field anomaly. A magnetic field anomaly, presented by SDS and RF, at the at least one portion of the structure can be displayed in color coding (red, yellow, and green) to indicate a status of the portion”; para [0030], “The discovered information is visualized by representing a topological map of the structure in real coordinates, showing simultaneously a structure layout, the foreign objects in vicinity, the location, and calculated three-dimensional values of the mechanical
stress”).
Regarding claim 5, Goroshevskiy teaches:
The structure state display system according to Claim 1, wherein the measurement information includes stress information (Goroshevskiy: para [0055], “add 3D visualization capabilities using a 3D model of the tested object. The information visualization (display) unit of the device represents a topological map of the structure in real coordinates, showing simultaneously a structure layout, the foreign objects in the vicinity, the calculated values of a mechanical stress, and the location of the found anomalies.”).
Regarding claim 6, Goroshevskiy teaches:
The structure state display system according to claim 1, wherein the measurement sensor includes an acceleration sensor for measuring accelerations in a plurality of directions and measures an orientation of a stress acting on a building, and a virtual model image of the structure being deformed along the orientation of the stress is displayed on the display screen (Goroshevskiy: para [0083], “a GPS sensor (14) is complemented by a navigation unit that includes gyroscope(s) and/or a set of accelerometer(s) (17), and odometer unit (22) enabling the recording of the device's angle-positioning relative to the extended metallic structure cross-section at each moment of the magneto-graphical measurements. The recorded angle-positioning data (including positioning relative to horizon) is used further to correct the magneto-graphical measurements due to structural bending/turning-related deviations”; para [0086], “Since the sensor array (1) and (20) can be rotated above the surface of the structure during the scanning procedure, it is possible to implement a polar coordinate system for the detection of defects, in combination with the data from the gyroscope/accelerometer unit (17)”; para [0097], “The described MT device does not measure the dimensions of geometric defects alone, but, instead, provides a stress measurement caused by these defects and identifies their character, location, and orientation in accordance with the location and orientation of the area of stress. Linear and angular coordinates of flaws in the metal and coating have been experimentally defined within a tolerance of +/−0.25 m”).
Regarding claim 7, Goroshevskiy teaches:
The structure state display system according to Claim 1, further comprising: storage for linking the design model to information showing a location and storing the design model, wherein information showing the location linked to the design model is displayed on the virtual model image on the display screen (see rejection under 35 USC 112; Goroshevskiy: para [0030], “The discovered information is visualized by representing a topological map of the structure in real coordinates, showing simultaneously a structure layout, the foreign objects in vicinity, the location, and calculated three-dimensional values of the mechanical stress”).
Regarding claim 8, Goroshevskiy teaches:
The structure state display system according to Claim 7, wherein the information showing the location includes coordinate information and/or map information (Goroshevskiy: para [0030], “The discovered information is visualized by representing a topological map of the structure in real coordinates, showing simultaneously a structure layout, the foreign objects in vicinity, the location, and calculated three-dimensional values of the mechanical stress”).
Regarding claim 9, Goroshevskiy teaches:
The structure state display system according to Claim 1:
the one or more processor is further configured to
determine a cause for making a stress act on the structure from the measurement information by the measurement sensor, wherein a determination result is displayed on the display screen (Goroshevskiy: para [0028], “The distribution, in turn, reflects a presence and a value of the magnetic field anomaly at the given location. An absolute value of the mechanical
stress, which corresponds to said anomaly, is further deducted, thus characterizing a mechanical
defect of the structure, optionally using pre-determined information such as look-up tables, standards, thresholds, or an alternative contact measurement such as a contact probe”).
Regarding claim 10, Goroshevskiy teaches:
The structure state display system according to any one of The structure state display system according to any one of wherein the cause is a seismic load (Goroshevskiy: para [0098], “The device explained by FIG. 1 and FIG. 2 can effectively identify and analyze the magnetic field anomalies in areas with stress concentrators caused by: i) defects or changes in structural conditions (such as metal loss, cracks, dents, lamination and inclusions); ii) erosion, seismic
activity, or third-party damage”), a wind load, a live load, a collision load, a tsunami load, a wave load and/or a water current load.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20170350864 A1 (“Goroshevskiy”) in view of US 10121225 B1 (“Gerges”).
Regarding claim 4, Goroshevskiy teaches:
The structure state display system according to Claim 1, wherein the measurement sensor performs a measurement every predetermined time and sends the measurement information (Goroshevskiy: para [0010], “magnetographic measurements have been performed in a real-time”; para [0002], “using magnetic tomography for real-time structural defects measurement
and assessment”),
Goroshevskiy does not teach but Gerges does teach:
the one or more processors is further configured to: create the virtual model image every predetermined time; and display a change in the physical state of the structure over an elapse of time with a plurality of the virtual model images on the display screen (Gerges: col. 13, lines 60-67, “The resulting three-dimensional data may be stored locally on the visualization
server. This conversion may be for a single time (e.g. a single traversal by a mapping sled) or may be for multiple times (e.g. multiple traversals of the mapping sled at different times). The three-dimensional data may be multiple pipelines, each representing the same pipeline at a different time”; col. 16, lines 13-22, “The display 710 may also include a timeline 721 which enables a user to scroll through multiple iterations of the same pipeline. In this way, a user could see the pipeline shifting positions or watch deformations happen in moments that actually took place over the course of many months or years in real time. New changes to pipelines can be compared, for example, a new crack may be discovered and its origin may be traced to a particular time frame based upon two time when measurements were taken before and after it appeared”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Goroshevskiy (directed to measuring a physical state of a structure) and Gerges (directed to multiple models over time) and arrived at multiple models from measuring a state of a structure over time. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination for “visualization of large data sets and, more particularly, to dynamic scaling of visualization data while maintaining desired object characteristics” (Gerges: col. 1).
Claims 2 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20170350864 A1 (“Goroshevskiy”) in view of US 20200207024 A1 (“Morris”).
Regarding claim 2, Goroshevskiy teaches:
The structure state display system according to Claim 1, wherein the virtual physical quantity includes at least any one of a stress, a load and an acceleration (Goroshevskiy: para [0086], “Since the sensor array (1) and (20) can be rotated above the surface of the structure during the scanning procedure, it is possible to implement a polar coordinate system for the detection of defects, in combination with the data from the gyroscope/accelerometer unit (17)”; para [0097], “The described MT device does not measure the dimensions of geometric defects alone, but, instead, provides a stress measurement caused by these defects and identifies their character, location, and orientation in accordance with the location and orientation of the area of stress. Linear and angular coordinates of flaws in the metal and coating have been experimentally defined within a tolerance of +/−0.25 m”).
Goroshevskiy does not teach but Morris does teach:
wherein the measurement sensor comprises a sensor pattern to detect resistance change for sensing at least one of a strain and a humidity (Morris: para [0041], “Peripheral device(s) 40 may be standalone devices or devices that are embedded within or otherwise associated with machine 14 and used during fabrication of structure 12. Peripherals 40 can embody input devices (e.g., one or more sensors, such as … humidity sensors”; Abstract, “a virtual model of the composite structure based on anticipated load conditions for the composite structure”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Goroshevskiy (directed to measuring a physical state of a structure) and Morris (directed to humidity sensing) and arrived at measuring humidity of a structure. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination for “analyzing performance of the virtual model based on the load conditions using the plurality of analytic elements” (Morris: para [0010]).
Regarding claim 11, Goroshevskiy and Morris teach:
The structure state display system according to claim 2,
wherein the virtual model image shows deformation of the structure in the design model, a change in a color of the structure in the design model and/or a change in numerical information of the structure in the design model (Goroshevskiy: para [0111], “The calculation unit 9 is connected to the display unit 23. FIG. 5 shows the display unit 23 according to the invention with a number of lights on a front panel. The display unit 23 can be configured to show a stress-deformed state (SDS) and a risk-factor (RF) of the at least one portion with the underground structure with a magnetic field anomaly. A magnetic field anomaly, presented
by SDS and RF, at the at least one portion of the structure can be displayed in color coding (red, yellow, and green) to indicate a status of the portion”; para [0030], “ The discovered information is visualized by representing a topological map of the structure in real coordinates, showing simultaneously a structure layout, the foreign objects in vicinity, the location, and calculated three-dimensional values of the mechanical stress”).
Claims 12-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20170350864 A1 (“Goroshevskiy”) in view of US 20200207024 A1 (“Morris”), further in view of US 10121225 B1 (“Gerges”).
Regarding claim 12, Goroshevskiy teaches:
The structure state display system according to The structure state display system according to wherein the measurement sensor performs a measurement every predetermined time and sends the measurement information (Goroshevskiy: para [0010], “magnetographic
measurements have been performed in a real-time”; para [0002], “using magnetic tomography for real-time structural defects measurement and assessment”),
Goroshevskiy and Morris do not teach but Gerges does teach:
and the one or more processors is further configured to:
create the virtual model image every predetermined time; and display a change in the physical state of the structure over an elapse of time with a plurality of the virtual models on the display screen (Gerges: col. 13, lines 60-67, “The resulting three-dimensional data may be stored locally on the visualization server. This conversion may be for a single time (e.g. a single traversal by a mapping sled) or may be for multiple times (e.g. multiple traversals of the
mapping sled at different times). The three-dimensional data may be multiple pipelines, each representing the same pipeline at a different time”; col. 16, lines 13-22, “The display 710 may also include a timeline 721 which enables a user to scroll through multiple iterations of the same pipeline. In this way, a user could see the pipeline shifting positions or watch deformations happen in moments that actually took place over the course of many months or years in real time. New changes to pipelines can be compared, for example, a new crack may be discovered and its origin may be traced to a particular time frame based upon two time when measurements were taken before and after it appeared”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Goroshevskiy and Morris (directed to measuring a physical state of a structure) and Gerges (directed to multiple models over time) and arrived at multiple models from measuring a state of a structure over time. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination for “visualization of large data sets and, more particularly, to dynamic scaling of visualization data while maintaining desired object characteristics” (Gerges: col. 1).
Regarding claim 13, Goroshevskiy, Morris and Gerges teach:
The structure state display system according to Claim 12, wherein the measurement information includes stress information (Goroshevskiy: para [0055], “add 3D visualization capabilities using a 3D model of the tested object. The information visualization (display) unit of the device represents a topological map of the structure in real coordinates, showing simultaneously a structure layout, the foreign objects in the vicinity, the calculated values of a mechanical stress, and the location of the found anomalies.”).
Regarding claim 14, Goroshevskiy, Morris and Gerges teach:
The structure state display system according to The structure state display system according to wherein the measurement sensor includes an acceleration sensor for measuring accelerations in a plurality of directions and measures an orientation of a stress acting on a building, and a virtual model of the structure being deformed along the orientation of the stress is displayed on the display screen (Goroshevskiy: para [0083], “a GPS sensor (14) is complemented by a navigation unit that includes gyroscope(s) and/or a set of accelerometer(s) (17), and odometer unit (22) enabling the recording of the device's angle-positioning relative to the extended metallic structure cross-section at each moment of the magneto-graphical measurements. The recorded angle-positioning data (including positioning relative to horizon) is used further to correct the magneto-graphical measurements due to structural bending/turning-related deviations”; para [0086], “Since the sensor array (1) and (20) can be rotated above the surface of the structure during the scanning procedure, it is possible to implement a polar coordinate system for the detection of defects, in combination with the data from the gyroscope/accelerometer unit (17)”; para [0097], “The described MT device does not measure the dimensions of geometric defects alone, but, instead, provides a stress measurement caused by these defects and identifies their character, location, and orientation in accordance with the location and orientation of the area of stress. Linear and angular coordinates of flaws in the metal and coating have been experimentally defined within a tolerance of +/−0.25 m”).
Regarding claim 15, Goroshevskiy, Morris and Gerges teach:
The structure state display system according to Claim 14, further comprising:
storage for linking the design model to information showing a location and storing the design model, wherein information showing the location linked to the design model is displayed on the display screen (see rejection under 35 USC 112; Goroshevskiy: para [0030], “The discovered information is visualized by representing a topological map of the structure in real coordinates, showing simultaneously a structure layout, the foreign objects in vicinity, the location, and calculated three-dimensional values of the mechanical stress”).
Regarding claim 16, Goroshevskiy, Morris and Gerges teach:
The structure state display system according to claim 15, wherein the information showing the location includes coordinate information and/or map information (Goroshevskiy: para [0030], “The discovered information is visualized by representing a topological map of the structure in real coordinates, showing simultaneously a structure layout, the foreign objects in vicinity, the location, and calculated three-dimensional values of the mechanical stress”).
Regarding claim 17, Goroshevskiy, Morris and Gerges teach:
The structure state display system according to Claim 16, the one or more processor is further configured to determine a cause for making a stress act on the structure from the measurement information by the measurement sensor, wherein a determination result is displayed on the display screen (Goroshevskiy: para [0028], “The distribution, in turn, reflects a presence and a value of the magnetic field anomaly at the given location. An absolute value of the mechanical stress, which corresponds to said anomaly, is further deducted, thus characterizing a mechanical defect of the structure, optionally using pre-determined information such as look-up tables, standards, thresholds, or an alternative contact measurement such as a contact probe”).
Regarding claim 18, Goroshevskiy, Morris and Gerges teach:
The structure state display system according to The structure state display system according to wherein the cause is a seismic load (Goroshevskiy: para [0098], “The device explained by FIG. 1 and FIG. 2 can effectively identify and analyze the magnetic field anomalies in areas with stress concentrators caused by: i) defects or changes in structural conditions (such as metal loss, cracks, dents, lamination and inclusions); ii) erosion, seismic activity, or third-party damage”), a wind load, a live load, a collision load, a tsunami load, a wave load and/or a water current load.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NITHYA J. MOLL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2189