DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-27 are examined in this office action as claims 28-31 are withdrawn as directed to a nonelected invention and claims 1, 4-8, 10-14, 17-22, 24, and 26 were amended in the reply dated 9/19/25.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 13-14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, “with at the feedthrough” in lines 4-5 of step C) is not grammatically correct.
In claims 13 and 14, there should be punctuation such as a colon after “wherein” in the first line of each claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11, 13-19 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 4274852 A of McGarry in view of US 2016/0312338 A1 (cited on IDS received 9/7/22) of Miller and US 2019/0091803 A1 of Twelves.
As to claim 1, McGarry discloses an improvement in the manufacture of fibrous glass products is provided by employing a bushing in which the bottom wall, or tip plate, is fabricated of a properly aligned dispersion strengthened precious metal (McGarry, abstract), meeting the claim limitation method for producing glass fiber nozzles, which are provided for producing glass fibers from a glass melt as a tip meets the claim limitation of a nozzle as it is a spout at the end of a tube. McGarry discloses where a bottom plate is formed of a dispersion strengthened precious metal or alloy thereof (McGarry, claim 1), meeting step A) of providing or producing a base plate comprising a first material, wherein the first material is chemically resistant to the glass melt, and dispersion strengthened. McGarry discloses where the tubular members or tips are assembled onto the plate and where the tube tips are made from merely a precious metal or precious metal alloy (McGarry, col 3, lines 35-45), meeting the step B) limitations of at least one tube made of a second material onto one side of the base plate, wherein the at least one tube in each case comprises at least one feedthrough and wherein the second material is chemically resistant to the glass melt as McGarry is disclosing where the tip is made of merely a precious metal or alloy thereof while the plate is dispersion strengthened. McGarry discloses where the foraminous bottom plate is formed by drilling or punching holes therein to form the foraminous structure (McGarry, col 3, lines 32-34), meeting the step C) limitation of generating at least one passage in the base plate which aligns with the tube and feedthrough. McGarry discloses forming holes in the plate and attaching tips to the holes (McGarry, col 3, lines 32-45), McGarry meets this limitation of at least one passage through the base plate wherein each of the at least one passage is connected to a corresponding feedthrough of the at least one tube in such a way that each of the at least one passage through the base plate forms a common line which is permeable to the glass melt. McGarry discloses where the plate of dispersion strengthened precious metal may be fabricated into a glass feeder by conventional techniques such as rolling (McGarry, col 3, lines 30-31 and 56-60).
However, McGarry does not disclose where the at least one tube is printed and thereby where the base plate is produced using a method other than the one used for the at least one tube.
Miller relates to the same field of endeavor of forming Pt/Rh alloys into parts including glass fiberizing bushings (Miller, paragraph [0008]). Miller teaches that parts of these systems can be made via casting and 3D printing such as SLS or SLM and combined together (Miller, paragraph [0032]). Miller teaches that using 3D printing can produce net shape parts or very near net shape parts that require none or very little annealing as very little, if any, stresses are created in the parts due to these forming processes (Miller, paragraph [0032]).
Twelves also relates to the same field of endeavor of additive manufacturing (Twelves, abstract). Twelves teaches that a build plate is required as the base for the build and that the build plate may be incorporated into the final part (Twelves, paragraph [0002]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the tip using 3D printing as taught by Miller incorporating the base plate into the final part as taught by Twelves into the method of forming a tip plate disclosed in McGarry, thereby allowing the plate to be made by a less expensive process while the additive manufacturing can produce tips which are net shape parts or very near net shape parts that require none or very little annealing as very little, if any, stresses are created in the parts due to these forming processes (Miller, paragraph [0032]). As such, it is obvious to form the tip using additive manufacturing and the plate using conventional means, thereby meeting the claim limitation where the base plate is formed using a method other than the one used for the at least one tube.
As to claims 2-4, McGarry discloses where the plate of dispersion strengthened precious metal may be fabricated into a glass feeder by conventional techniques such as rolling (McGarry, col 3, lines 30-31 and 56-60).
As to claims 5-7 and 10, McGarry discloses plate consists essentially of platinum, or a platinum-rhodium alloy and where the dispersoid within the dispersion strengthened alloy is zirconia (McGarry, claims 3 and 7), meeting the claim 5 limitation of a metal material, the claim 6 limitation of a dispersion strengthened noble metal alloy with ceramic particles, the claim 7 limitation of a platinum or platinum rhodium alloy which is oxide dispersion hardened, and the claim 10 limitation of a platinum-based alloy. Further, as McGarry discloses that the sidewalls can also be formed of dispersion strengthened precious metals (McGarry, col 3, lines 40-41), this meets the claim 5 limitations as the sidewalls and plate delimit the surfaces coming into contact with the glass melt.
As to claim 8, McGarry discloses plate consists essentially of platinum, or a platinum-rhodium alloy and where the dispersoid within the dispersion strengthened alloy is zirconia (McGarry, claims 3 and 7). However, McGarry does not explicitly disclose a PtRh10 alloy.
Miller teaches the use of conventional Pt-Rh alloys such as 10 Rh and 90 Pt (Miller, paragraph [0005]). Miller teaches that Rh as an alloying element increases oxidation resistance and the hot creep strength of the alloy (Miller, paragraph [0003]).
As McGarry invites the use of platinum-rhodium alloys, one of ordinary skill would naturally look to the art to determine an appropriate composition to use. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute a 10 Rh and 90 Pt alloy taught by Miller into the method of manufacturing a tip plate disclosed in McGarry, thereby increasing oxidation resistance and the hot creep strength of the alloy (Miller, paragraph [0003]).
As to claim 9, McGarry discloses where a bottom plate is formed of a dispersion strengthened precious metal or alloy thereof (McGarry, claim 1) and McGarry discloses where the tubular members or tips are made from merely a precious metal or precious metal alloy (McGarry, col 3, lines 35-45), meeting the claim limitation where the first and second material is a metal alloy.
As to claim 11, while McGarry in combination with Miller and Twelves discloses the method according to claim 1, see claim 1 rejection above, McGarry does not disclose printing a continuous and/or full-surface coating made of the second material onto the one side of the base plate, wherein the at least one tube is printed onto the continuous and/or full- surface coating of the base plate in step B).
Nevertheless, Miller teaches the use of a two layer laminate in the base plate where the second layer could be a layer easier to form tips (Miller, paragraph [0056]) and where this is a continuous layer (Miller, Fig 6). Miller teaches that parts of these systems can be made via casting and 3D printing such as SLS or SLM and combined together (Miller, paragraph [0032]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a continuous layer of a precious metal or precious metal alloy using additive manufacturing as taught by Miller into the method of forming a tip plate disclosed in McGarry, thereby making it easier to form tips (Miller, paragraph [0056]).
As to claims 13-14, McGarry discloses a plurality of tips on the plate (McGarry, FIG.2 where the tips are 21), this meets the claim limitation as there is at least one as well as one or a plurality of tubes, passages, and feedthroughs in McGarry.
As to claims 15 and 16, McGarry discloses where a bottom plate is formed of a dispersion strengthened precious metal or alloy thereof (McGarry, claim 1) and McGarry discloses where the tubular members or tips are made from merely a precious metal or precious metal alloy (McGarry, col 3, lines 35-45), meeting the claim limitations as the dispersion strengthened precious metal alloy will have a higher creep resistance than the non-strengthened precious metal or alloy thereof and by including dispersion strengthening, the first material has a different chemical composition than the second material.
As to claim 17, Miller discloses where parts of the tip plate are made with selective laser sintering (SLS) or selective laser melting (SLM) and/or high temperature consolidation or sintering (Miller, paragraph [0064]). Further, Twelves discloses the use of laser freeform manufacturing technology (Twelves, paragraph [0002]), meeting the limitations of laser metal deposition and 3D direct energy deposition.
As to claim 18, as Miller discloses where parts of the tip plate are made with selective laser sintering (SLS) or selective laser melting (SLM) and/or high temperature consolidation or sintering (Miller, paragraph [0064]) and Twelves discloses the use of laser freeform manufacturing technology (Twelves, paragraph [0002]), these additive processes would produce a tip with an associated feedthrough which would have a higher roughness than the surface of the base plate which is formed using conventional means such as rolling, thereby meeting the claim specification 3. Further, Miller teaches where the tips are cooled by cooling tubes 18 containing flowing chilled water and each having a fin running down the center of the top of the cooling tubes (Miller, paragraph [0053]), meeting claim specification 6.
As to claim 19, Miller discloses where burnishing and polishing is applied to surfaces for optimum performance (Miller, paragraph [0065]), meeting the claim limitations of cleaning, grinding and adjusting.
As to claim 27, Miller discloses where parts of the tip plate are made with selective laser sintering (SLS) or selective laser melting (SLM) and Miller discloses where an alloy powder is used (Miller, paragraph [0064]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 4274852 A of McGarry, US 2016/0312338 A1 (cited on IDS received 9/7/22) of Miller and US 2019/0091803 A1 of Twelves as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 4846865 A of Hinze.
As to claim 12, the combination of McGarry, Miller, and Twelves discloses the method according to claim 1, see claim 1 rejection above. However, the combination of McGarry, Miller, and Twelves does not disclose coating the outside of the at least one tube and the side of the base plate on which the at least one tube is printed with a protective layer, in particular with a ceramic protective layer.
Hinze relates the same filed of endeavor of bushings provided for manufacturing fibrous glass products (Hinze, abstract). Hinze teaches adding an outwardly disposed cladding tenaciously bonded to the precious metal where the cladding preferably comprises a ceramic coating of a crystallographic ally stabilized zirconia (Hinze, col 2, lines 11-15). Hinze teaches these coated bushings have long life and reduced creep and deformation because they are, in effect, provided with a ceramic reinforcement material and the bushings will be found to have lower vaporization losses and lower energy utilization because of their being provided with the ceramic insulating layer (Hinze, col 1, lines 62-68).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a ceramic coating of zirconia as taught by Hinze into the method of forming a tip plate disclosed by the combination of McGarry, Miller, and Twelves, thereby reducing creep and deformation and lowering vaporization losses and lowering energy utilization(Hinze, col 1, lines 62-68).
Claims 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 4274852 A of McGarry, US 2016/0312338 A1 (cited on IDS received 9/7/22) of Miller and US 2019/0091803 A1 of Twelves as applied to claims 1 and 19 above, and further in view of Additive Manufacturing Technologies of Gibson.
As to claims 20-21, the combination of McGarry, Miller, and Twelves discloses the method according to claims 1 and 19 and where at least three tubes are printed onto the base plate, see claim 1 rejection above. However, the combination of McGarry, Miller, and Twelves does not disclose successively printed tubes nor no directly adjacent tubes are printed directly one after the other.
Gibson is a textbook on additive manufacturing and teaches that in laser powder bed fusion processes, residual stresses and distortions increase with track length (Gibson, pg. 127, 3rd paragraph). Gibson teaches that therefore the scan area is divided into small squares and scanning is randomized rather than scanning contiguous squares one after the other (Gibson, pg. 127, 3rd – 4th paragraph), meeting the limitation of selecting a pattern that the mechanical distortion of the base plate caused by thermal stresses is lowered as well as where no directly adjacent tubes are printed one after the other and thereby successively printing tubes. Gibson teaches that this process helps alleviate preferential build-up of residual stresses (Gibson, pg. 127, 4th paragraph).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add randomized scanning to successively print tubes rather than scanning contiguous squares one after the other as taught by Gibson into the method of forming a tip plate disclosed by the combination of McGarry, Miller, and Twelves, thereby alleviate preferential build-up of residual stresses (Gibson, pg. 127, 4th paragraph).
Claim 22 and 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 4274852 A of McGarry, US 2016/0312338 A1 (cited on IDS received 9/7/22) of Miller and US 2019/0091803 A1 of Twelves as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of FR 1471690 A (as cited on IDS dated 9/7/22 with reference to English Translation) hereinafter ‘FR690.
As to claims 22 and 25, the combination of McGarry, Miller, and Twelves discloses the method according to claim 1, see claim 1 rejection above. However, the combination of McGarry, Miller, and Twelves does not disclose the shape of the at least one feedthrough in the at least one tub is selected to be different from a cylindrical geometry or contains a refraction of an otherwise cylindrical geometry nor where there is a widening as a connection to the base plate.
‘FR690 relates to the same field of endeavor of making an orifice plate for the manufacture of glass fibers (‘FR690, paragraph [0001], lines 14-28). ‘FR690 teaches where a conical inlet portion is used (‘FR690, paragraph [0001], lines 100-108 and Figure 3 where the inlet is 16) where an inlet reads upon a feedthrough as an inlet is where the glass is fed through into the tube. This also meets the claim limitations as a cone is not cylindrical and a cone constitutes a widening ‘FR690 teaches that this contributes to an orifice plate which has a service life that is twice as long as a normal orifice plate (‘FR690, paragraph [0001], lines 86-89).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute a conical inlet portion as taught by ‘FR690 into the method of forming a tip plate disclosed by the combination of McGarry, Miller, and Twelves, thereby increasing the service life of the tip plate (‘FR690, paragraph [0001], lines 86-89). Further, the MPEP provides that changes in shape are a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed configuration was significant, see MPEP § 2144.04(IV)(B) citing In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 4274852 A of McGarry, US 2016/0312338 A1 (cited on IDS received 9/7/22) of Miller and US 2019/0091803 A1 of Twelves and Additive Manufacturing Technologies of Gibson as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of JPS60141638A (with reference to the provided English translation) of Shimizu
As to claim 23, the combination of McGarry, Miller, Twelves and Gibson discloses the method according to claim 21, see claim 21 rejection above. However, the combination of McGarry, Miller, Twelves and Gibson does not disclose the shape of the at least one feedthrough in the at least one tube is selected such that a mixing or swirling of a glass melt flowing through the at least one feedthrough is affected.
Shimizu relates the same field of endeavor of a bushing plate of a molten glass filling box (Shimizu, paragraph [0001]) Shimizu teaches that the nozzles are selected in shape and arranged in a square or rectangular shape so that swirling flows of molten glass rotate in mutually assisting directions (Shimizu, paragraph [0001]) Shimizu teaches that this prevents disturbances in the flow of the molten glass, and the glass fibers being extruded and spun preventing breakage and uneven thickness (Shimizu, paragraph [0001]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute a shape and arrangement of nozzles in a square pattern as disclosed by Shimizu into the method of forming a tip plate disclosed by the combination of McGarry, Miller, Twelves, and Gibson thereby prevents disturbances in the flow of the molten glass, and the glass fibers being extruded and spun preventing breakage and uneven thickness (Shimizu, paragraph [0001]).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 4274852 A of McGarry, US 2016/0312338 A1 (cited on IDS received 9/7/22) of Miller and US 2019/0091803 A1 of Twelves and Additive Manufacturing Technologies of Gibson as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view US 3905790 A of Strickland.
As to claim 24, the combination of McGarry, Miller, Twelves, and Gibson discloses the method according to claim 21, see claim 21 rejection above. However, the combination of McGarry, Miller, Twelves, and Gibson does not disclose herein the at least one tube is a plurality of tubes and the feedthroughs of different tubes have different shapes.
Strickland relates to the same field of endeavor of forming glass fibers employing a orifice plate (Strickland, abstract). Strickland teaches orifices on the periphery are made slightly larger than interior orifices (Strickland, col 14, lines 2-5), meeting the claim limitation of different tubes having different shapes where this shape is dependent on the position of the tube on the base plate. Strickland teaches that this improves stability without material affecting the uniformity of fiber size (Strickland, col 14 lines 1-7).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add where orifices on the periphery have a large size than interior orifices as taught by Strickland into the method of forming a tip plate disclosed by the combination of McGarry, Miller, Twelves, and Gibson thereby improving stability without materially affecting the uniformity of fiber size (Strickland, col 14, lines 1-7).
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 4274852 A of McGarry, US 2016/0312338 A1 (cited on IDS received 9/7/22) of Miller and US 2019/0091803 A1 of Twelves, Additive Manufacturing Technologies of Gibson, and US 3905790 A of Strickland as applied to claim 24 above, and further in view of FR 1471690 A (as cited on IDS dated 9/7/22 with reference to English Translation) hereinafter ‘FR690.
As to claim 26, the combination of McGarry, Miller, Twelves, Gibson and Strickland discloses the method according to claim 24, see claim 24 rejection above. However, the combination of McGarry, Miller, Twelves, Gibson, and Strickland does not disclose where the widening brings about an increase in the connecting surface between the at least one tube and the base plate.
‘FR690 relates to the same field of endeavor of making an orifice plate for the manufacture of glass fibers (‘FR690, paragraph [0001], lines 14-28). ‘FR690 teaches where a conical inlet portion is used (‘FR690, paragraph [0001], lines 100-108 and Figure 3 where the inlet is 16) where an inlet reads upon a feedthrough as an inlet is where the glass is fed through into the tube. This also meets the claim limitations as a cone constitutes a widening and a widening would naturally result in an increase in the connecting surface between the tube and the base plate. ‘FR690 teaches that this contributes to an orifice plate which has a service life that is twice as long as a normal orifice plate (‘FR690, paragraph [0001], lines 86-89).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute a conical inlet portion as taught by ‘FR690 into the method of forming a tip plate disclosed by the combination of McGarry, Miller, Twelves, Gibson, and Strickland thereby increasing the service life of the tip plate (‘FR690, paragraph [0001], lines 86-89). Further, the MPEP provides that changes in shape are a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed configuration was significant, see MPEP § 2144.04(IV)(B) citing In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Response to Arguments
With respect to the claim objections, applicant’s amendments cure most issues, however see new objection with respect to claim 1 and the minor grammatical issues that continue to exist in claims 13-14.
With respect to the rejections under 112(b), it is agreed with applicant (Applicant’s remarks, pg. 9 3rd full paragraph – pg. 11, last paragraph) that applicant’s amendments cure the indefiniteness issues and therefore the rejections are withdrawn.
With respect to the 103 rejection over McGarry in view of Miller and Twelves, applicant argues that Miller requires the tips be integral with the tip plate and that this does not correspond to the method of claim 1 as the tips in claim 1 cannot be considered to be integral as they are made from a different material and applicant argues that the tube in claim 1 is printed onto one side of the base plate and not “made separately then welded onto the plate” (Applicant’s remarks, pg. 12, last paragraph – pg. 13, first paragraph).
In response to applicant's argument that the teachings of using additive manufacturing as disclosed in Miller would require either integral tips or separate manufacture followed by welding, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). Here, Miller teaches that the overall system can be made by combinations of casting and rapid prototyping and this teaching of using additive manufacturing can be applied to form the tips in McGarry. Given the teachings that using 3D printing can produce net shape parts or very near net shape parts that require none or very little annealing as very little, if any, stresses are created in the parts due to these forming processes (Miller, paragraph [0032]), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to integrate 3D printing into the method of forming the tips of a glass fiber nozzle plate, thereby forming the delicate, intricate shapes using additive manufacturing while allowing for the plate to be formed using less costly conventional means such as casting and rolling.
Further, the statement in Miller that the tips must be integral or made separately and welded does not teach away from forming the tips using additive manufacturing on a base plate of a different material. Integral means formed as a unit with another part or composed of constituent parts. There is nothing in the definition of integral that excludes different compositions for different portions. Additive manufacturing forms a seamless part directly attached to and integrated with the build plate upon which it is built. Generally when an AM part is removed from a build plate, machining is required to separate a part from the build plate as they are so integrally connected to one another. A part constructed by laser or electron beam sintering or melting will produce a singular part that will seamlessly transition from the base plate of one material to the printed tips of another material. As such, 3D printing the tips is not inconsistent with producing tips which are integral with the plate. Thus, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the rejection is maintained.
With respect to the rejections in view of Hinze, Gibson, ‘FR690, Shimizu, and Strickland (Applicant’s remarks, pg. 13 last paragraph – pg. 15, last paragraph), as there are no deficiencies that these references are needed to correct, these rejections are maintained for the reasons stated above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSHUA S CARPENTER/Examiner, Art Unit 1733
/JOPHY S. KOSHY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733