DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant’s amendment and response filed on 1/16/2026 has been received and entered into the case.
Claims 19-41, 43-55, 57-63 have been canceled, claims 69-70 are newly added, claims 1-18 have been withdrawn from consideration as being drawn to non-elected subject matter, and claims 42, 56, 64-70 have been considered on the merits. All arguments have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 42, 56 and 64-70 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Depaepe (US 2013/0156773) in view of Rahmo et al. (2013, Journal of Life Sciences and Technologies; IDS ref.), Rahmo (US 10,041,037 B2) and Patel et al. (US 2013/0216505A1)
Depaepe teaches a method of treating a subject suffering from COPD by administering hematopoietic stem cells (Abstract; para. 114-115) at a therapeutically effective amount (para. 7 and 105). Depaepe teaches that the cord blood derived hematopoietic stem cell administered to the lungs result in repair and regeneration of lung tissue (para. 57). Depaepe teaches the use of hUCB-CD34+ cells (para. 137 and 182).
Depaepe does not teach the SMS cells.
It is noted that the term “small mobile stem cells” is defined as a cell or a cell population characterized in that the cells are adherent cells of about 5 mm in diameter (para. [0155] of PGPub).
Rahmo teaches that SMS cells are CD34 positive cells and very small and strongly adherent (Abstract), and they can differentiate into osteogenic, adipogenic and neurogenic cells (see entire document). Rahmo teaches that the CD34+ SMS cells are isolated from umbilical cord blood (col. 1, Field of the Invention; col. 4, lines 3-8).
Rahmo et al. teaches SMS cells and the SMS cells are stem cells capable of giving rise to osteogenic, adipogenic, neurogenic lineage cells (Examples 2-4), and have the ability to reconstruct a whole complex set up of tissue-like structures in the absence of special stimuli or supporting agents (col. 4, lines 16-18).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art to use the CD34+ SMS cells of Rahmo and Rahmo et al. for the method of repairing lung tissue of a subject suffering from COPD taught by Depaepe.
A person of ordinary skilled in the art would have reasonable expectation of success because the SMS cells of Rahmo and Rahmo et al. possess the ability to repair damaged tissue as hematopoietic stem cells of Depaepe. Furthermore, the CD34+ cells isolated from cord blood taught by Depaepe would inherently comprise CD34+ SMS cells, and considering their ability to repair a tissue or organ, one skilled in the art would reasonably expect that the CD34+ SMS cells isolated from cord blood would have comparable ability as CD34+ HSCs taught by Depaepe. In the absence of any evidence to the contrary, one skilled in the art would recognize that the SMS cells of Rahmo and Rahmo et al. are suitable alternative to the CD34+ HSCs of Depaepe for tissue repair and thus, treating COPD.
Regarding the SMS cells being aerosolized (claim 42), Depaepe in view of Rahmo and Rahmo et al. do not particularly teach the limitation.
Patel et al. teach a method of repairing COPD in a subject by administering stem cells (para. 4, 12), and the stem cells can be aerosolized (para. 103 and 106).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art to aerosolize the SMS cells of Rahmo and Rahmo et al. for the method of Depaepe with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to do so because it is known in the art that aerosolization of stem cells is a suitable delivery means for treating COPD in a subject.
Regarding the limitation of claims 64 and 67-68, the wherein clause is directed to the result of the claimed method. The combined teachings of the cited references meet the claimed method, the results are expected the same.
Regarding claim 65 directed to an antibiotic medication, Depaepe teaches that one or more other standard therapeutic agents can be combined including antibiotics (para. 140).
Regarding claim 66 directed to a pharmaceutically acceptable ingredients including carriers, excipients, diluents (para. 146-147).
Regarding claim 69, Depaepe teaches that the effective amount of hematopoietic stem cells comprise at least 9x106 (para. 121), and this teaching overlaps with the claimed 109 SMS cells.
Regarding claim 70, Depaepe in view of Rahmo, Rahmo et al. and Patel et al. do not particularly teach that the composition being administered at least three times. However, the dosage of the aerosolized SMS cells for treating COPD as contemplated by the combined teachings of Depaepe in view of Rahmo, Rahmo et al. and Patel et al. can be readily modified in order to obtain desired outcome of the method. Furthermore, it is well known in the art that aerosol delivery is carried out multiple times and thus, one skilled in the art would recognize that the aerosolized SMS cells would be administered multiple times with a reasonable expectation of success.
Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The claim rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) has been withdrawn.
It is noted that the above claim rejection is a new.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/TAEYOON KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1631