DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 11-14, filed 12/30/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-4, 29-32, 59-62, and 77-79 under 35 USC § 103, as allegedly
unpatentable over Yang et al. (WO-2020006059-Al, hereinafter "Yang") in view of Guo (US- 20200044797-Al, hereinafter "Guo) and Panasonic (PANASONIC:"Discussion on NR duplexing", 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting #87, R1-1612230, 3rd Generation Partnership Project, Mobile Competence Centre, 650, Route Des Lucioles, F- 06921 Sophia-Antipolis
Cedex, France, Vol. RAN WG1, No. Reno, USA, 20161114 - 20161118, 3 Pages, 13 November 2016, XP051176179, Figure 1, Sections 1, 2, hereinafter "Panasonic") have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US-20170041118-A1 to Liu et al., from hereon Liu.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 11-14, filed 12/30/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 6, 34, 64, 65, 80, and 82 under 35 USC § 103, as allegedly unpatentable over Yang, Guo, and Panasonic in view Kim et al. (US-20180123710-Al, hereinafter "Kim").
Claims 10 and 38 are rejected under 35 USC § 103, as allegedly unpatentable over Yang, Guo, and Panasonic in view of Huang et al. (US-12015505-B2, hereinafter "Huang") have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US-20170041118-A1 to Liu et al., from hereon Liu.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 11-14, filed 12/30/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 11, 12, 14, 39, and 40 under 35 USC § 103, as allegedly unpatentable over Yang, Guo, and Panasonic in view of Zhou et al. (US-20190053314-Al, hereinafter "Zhou") have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US-20170041118-A1 to Liu et al., from hereon Liu.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 11-14, filed 12/30/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 16. 20, 44, and 48 under 35 USC § 103, as allegedly unpatentable over Yang, Guo, Panasonic, and Zhou have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US-20170041118-A1 to Liu et al., from hereon Liu.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 11-14, filed 12/30/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 42 under 35 USC § 103, as allegedly unpatentable over Yang, Guo, Panasonic, Zhou, and Kim have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US-20170041118-A1 to Liu et al., from hereon Liu.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 29, 59, and 77 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by US-20170041118-A1 to Liu et al., from hereon Liu.
Regarding claim 1 Liu teaches..a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) (abs), the method comprising: receiving, from a network entity, a resource configuration message the resource configuration message including a first parameter corresponding to full duplex (FD) uplink (UL) and a second parameter corresponding to FD downlink (DL), and transmitting, from the UE to the network entity, a FD reference signal based on the resource configuration message (P. 51 discloses… The eNB instructs FD operation (block 620). The eNB may send indicators of the FD configuration parameters of the links to the UE. As an illustrative example, the FD LA performed by the eNB resulted in changes to the FD configuration parameters of both the uplink and the downlink. The eNB sends indicators of the changed FD configuration parameters or changes to the FD configuration parameters or all of the FD configuration parameters to the UE so that the UE retains its capability to communicate with the eNB).
Regarding claim 29 Liu teaches…teaches…an apparatus configured for wireless communication, comprising (P.3 discloses an apparatus for wireless communication UE): at least one processor; and a memory coupled to the at least one processor (Fig. 14, P. 74), wherein the at least one processor is configured to (P. 74): but does not teach…receive, at a user equipment (UE) from a network entity, a resource configuration message, the resource configuration message including a first parameter corresponding to full duplex (FD) uplink (UL) and a second parameter corresponding to FD downlink (DL), and initiate transmission, from the UE to the network entity, of a FD reference signal based on the resource configuration message(P. 51 discloses… The eNB instructs FD operation (block 620). The eNB may send indicators of the FD configuration parameters of the links to the UE. As an illustrative example, the FD LA performed by the eNB resulted in changes to the FD configuration parameters of both the uplink and the downlink. The eNB sends indicators of the changed FD configuration parameters or changes to the FD configuration parameters or all of the FD configuration parameters to the UE so that the UE retains its capability to communicate with the eNB).
Regarding claim 59 Liu teaches..a method of wireless communication, the method comprising (Abs discloses a method of wireless communication at a base station ): transmitting, from a network entity to a user equipment (UE) (P.51 ), a resource configuration message, the resource configuration message including a first parameter corresponding to full duplex (FD) uplink (UL) and a second parameter corresponding to FD downlink (DL) and receiving, at the network entity from the UE, a FD reference signal based on the resource configuration message(P. 51 discloses… The eNB instructs FD operation (block 620). The eNB may send indicators of the FD configuration parameters of the links to the UE. As an illustrative example, the FD LA performed by the eNB resulted in changes to the FD configuration parameters of both the uplink and the downlink. The eNB sends indicators of the changed FD configuration parameters or changes to the FD configuration parameters or all of the FD configuration parameters to the UE so that the UE retains its capability to communicate with the eNB).
Regarding claim 77 Liu teaches…an apparatus configured for wireless communication (P. 33 discloses… An apparatus for wireless communication at a communication controller also known in the art as base station ), comprising: at least one processor; and a memory coupled to the at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: initiate transmission, from a network entity to a user equipment (UE) of a resource configuration message, the resource configuration message including a first parameter corresponding to full duplex (FD) uplink (UL) and a second parameter corresponding to FD downlink (DL); and receive, at the network entity from the UE, a FD reference signal based on the resource configuration message(P. 51 discloses… The eNB instructs FD operation (block 620). The eNB may send indicators of the FD configuration parameters of the links to the UE. As an illustrative example, the FD LA performed by the eNB resulted in changes to the FD configuration parameters of both the uplink and the downlink. The eNB sends indicators of the changed FD configuration parameters or changes to the FD configuration parameters or all of the FD configuration parameters to the UE so that the UE retains its capability to communicate with the eNB).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4, 30-32, 60-62, and 78-80 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US-20170041118-A1 to Liu et al., from hereon Liu in view of US-20200044797-A1 to Guo.
Regarding claim 2 Li teaches…the method of claim 1,but does not teach…wherein the resource configuration message comprises a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource configuration message, and wherein the FD reference signal comprises a SRS.
Guo teaches… wherein the resource configuration message comprises a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource configuration message, and wherein the FD reference signal comprises a SRS (Abs discloses… receiving, from a base station (BS), a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource configuration; receiving, from the BS, a triggering message instructing the UE to transmit an SRS)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Liu by incorporating the teachings of Guo because the method and device allow for resource assignment in NR environments via messaging that carries multiple configuration parameters (Guo, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 3 Liu teaches…the method of claim 1, but does not teach…wherein the first parameter comprises a spatial relation parameter, the second parameter comprises a transmission configuration information (TCI) parameter, or a combination thereof.
Guo teaches… wherein the first parameter comprises a spatial relation parameter (P. 111 discloses… the UE can derive the spatial domain transmit filter based one of those RS resource IDs configured by the serving gNB), the second parameter comprises a transmission configuration information (TCI) parameter (Abs discloses… receiving, from the BS, a configuration for a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state that includes an identification (ID) indicating the SRS resource configuration ), or a combination thereof.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Liu by incorporating the teachings of Guo because the method and device allow for resource assignment in NR environments via messaging that carries multiple configuration parameters (Guo, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 4 Liu and Guo the method of claim 3, Guo teaches…wherein: the spatial relation parameter includes an identifier of a first synchronization signal block (SSB) resource, an identifier of a first channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource, or an identifier of a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource (P.215 discloses… a gNB can use a higher layer signaling (for example RRC or MAC-CE message) to indicate one or more RS ID (e.g., a CSI-RS ID, an SRS resource ID or an SSB ID) as the Tx beam (or called spatial relation) for PUSCH scheduled by a DCI format 0_0 in a first CC ); and the TCI parameter includes an identifier of a second SSB resource or an identifier of a second CSI-RS resource (P.234-235 discloses… the UE receives, from the BS, an indicator message indicating the TCI state to be used for a downlink reception. In another embodiment, the UE receives, from the BS over a downlink channel, the downlink reception with the indicated TCI state; step 1606, the UE receives, from the BS, a configuration for a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state that includes an identification (ID) indicating the SRS resource configuration. In one embodiment, the TCI state configures a QCL-Type D for the included ID indicating the SRS resource configuration ).
Regarding claim 30 Liu teaches the apparatus of claim 29, but does not teach wherein the resource configuration message comprises a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource configuration message, and wherein the FD reference signal comprises a SRS(Abs discloses… receiving, from a base station (BS), a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource configuration; receiving, from the BS, a triggering message instructing the UE to transmit an SRS). .
Guo teaches… wherein the resource configuration message comprises a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource configuration message, and wherein the FD reference signal comprises a SRS(Abs discloses… receiving, from a base station (BS), a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource configuration; receiving, from the BS, a triggering message instructing the UE to transmit an SRS).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Liu by incorporating the teachings of Guo because the method and device allow for resource assignment in NR environments via messaging that carries multiple configuration parameters (Guo, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 31 Liu teaches the apparatus of claim 29, but does not teach wherein the first parameter comprises a spatial relation parameter, the second parameter comprises a transmission configuration information (TCI) parameter, or a combination thereof.
Guo teaches…wherein the first parameter comprises a spatial relation parameter(P. 111 discloses… he UE can derive the spatial domain transmit filter based one of those RS resource IDs configured by the serving gNB), the second parameter comprises a transmission configuration information (TCI) parameter(Abs discloses… receiving, from the BS, a configuration for a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state that includes an identification (ID) indicating the SRS resource configuration ), or a combination thereof.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Liu by incorporating the teachings of Guo because the method and device allow for resource assignment in NR environments via messaging that carries multiple configuration parameters (Guo, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 32 Liu and Guo teach…the apparatus of claim 31, Guo teaches…wherein: the spatial relation parameter includes an identifier of a first synchronization signal block (SSB) resource, an identifier of a first channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource, or an identifier of a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource(P.215 discloses… a gNB can use a higher layer signaling (for example RRC or MAC-CE message) to indicate one or more RS ID (e.g., a CSI-RS ID, an SRS resource ID or an SSB ID) as the Tx beam (or called spatial relation) for PUSCH scheduled by a DCI format 0_0 in a first CC ); and the TCI parameter includes an identifier of a second SSB resource or an identifier of a second CSI-RS resource(P.234-235 discloses… the UE receives, from the BS, an indicator message indicating the TCI state to be used for a downlink reception. In another embodiment, the UE receives, from the BS over a downlink channel, the downlink reception with the indicated TCI state; step 1606, the UE receives, from the BS, a configuration for a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state that includes an identification (ID) indicating the SRS resource configuration. In one embodiment, the TCI state configures a QCL-Type D for the included ID indicating the SRS resource configuration ).
Regarding claim 60 Liu teaches the method of claim 59,but does not teach…wherein the resource configuration message comprises a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource configuration message, and wherein the FD reference signal comprises a SRS
Guo teaches…wherein the resource configuration message comprises a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource configuration message, and wherein the FD reference signal comprises a SRS (P. 12 discloses…The BS comprises a transceiver configured to: transmit, to a UE, a SRS resource configuration; transmit, to the UE, a triggering message instructing the UE to transmit an SRS; and transmit, to the UE, a configuration for a TCI state that includes an ID indicating the SRS resource configuration; and receive, from the UE over an uplink channel, the SRS based on the SRS resource configuration in which the UE transmits with a spatial domain transmission filter, wherein a set of resources is determined to receiver the SRS from the UE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Liu by incorporating the teachings of Guo because the method and device allow for resource assignment in NR environments via messaging that carries multiple configuration parameters (Guo, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 61 Liu teaches the method of claim 59, but does not teach…wherein the first parameter comprises a spatial relation parameter, the second parameter comprises a transmission configuration information (TCI) parameter, or a combination thereof.
Guo teaches…wherein the first parameter comprises a spatial relation parameter (P. 111 discloses… he UE can derive the spatial domain transmit filter based one of those RS resource IDs configured by the serving gNB), the second parameter comprises a transmission configuration information (TCI) parameter(Abs discloses… receiving, from the BS, a configuration for a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state that includes an identification (ID) indicating the SRS resource configuration ),, or a combination thereof.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Liu by incorporating the teachings of Guo because the method and device allow for resource assignment in NR environments via messaging that carries multiple configuration parameters (Guo, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 62 Liu and Guo teach method of claim 61, Gou teaches…wherein: the spatial relation parameter includes an identifier of a synchronization signal block (SSB) resource, an identifier of a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource, or an identifier of a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource(P.215 discloses… a gNB can use a higher layer signaling (for example RRC or MAC-CE message) to indicate one or more RS ID (e.g., a CSI-RS ID, an SRS resource ID or an SSB ID) as the Tx beam (or called spatial relation) for PUSCH scheduled by a DCI format 0_0 in a first CC ); and the TCI parameter includes an identifier of a second SSB resource or an identifier of a second CSI-RS resource(P.234-235 discloses… the UE receives, from the BS, an indicator message indicating the TCI state to be used for a downlink reception. In another embodiment, the UE receives, from the BS over a downlink channel, the downlink reception with the indicated TCI state; step 1606, the UE receives, from the BS, a configuration for a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state that includes an identification (ID) indicating the SRS resource configuration. In one embodiment, the TCI state configures a QCL-Type D for the included ID indicating the SRS resource configuration ).
Regarding claim 78 Liu teaches the apparatus of claim 77, but does not teach…wherein the resource configuration message comprises a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource configuration message, and wherein the FD reference signal comprises a SRS
Guo teaches…wherein the resource configuration message comprises a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource configuration message, and wherein the FD reference signal comprises a SRS(P. 12 discloses…The BS comprises a transceiver configured to: transmit, to a UE, a SRS resource configuration; transmit, to the UE, a triggering message instructing the UE to transmit an SRS; and transmit, to the UE, a configuration for a TCI state that includes an ID indicating the SRS resource configuration; and receive, from the UE over an uplink channel, the SRS based on the SRS resource configuration in which the UE transmits with a spatial domain transmission filter, wherein a set of resources is determined to receiver the SRS from the UE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Liu by incorporating the teachings of Guo because the method and device allow for resource assignment in NR environments via messaging that carries multiple configuration parameters (Guo, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 79 Liu teaches the apparatus of claim 77, but does not teach ….wherein the first parameter comprises a spatial relation parameter, the second parameter comprises a transmission configuration information (TCI) parameter, or a combination thereof.
Guo teaches….wherein the first parameter comprises a spatial relation parameter(P. 111 discloses… he UE can derive the spatial domain transmit filter based one of those RS resource IDs configured by the serving gNB), the second parameter comprises a transmission configuration information (TCI) parameter(Abs discloses… receiving, from the BS, a configuration for a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state that includes an identification (ID) indicating the SRS resource configuration), or a combination thereof.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Liu by incorporating the teachings of Guo because the method and device allow for resource assignment in NR environments via messaging that carries multiple configuration parameters (Guo, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 80 Liu and Guo teach the apparatus of claim 79,Guo teaches… wherein: the spatial relation parameter includes an identifier of a synchronization signal block (S SB) resource, an identifier of a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource, or an identifier of a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource(P.215 discloses… a gNB can use a higher layer signaling (for example RRC or MAC-CE message) to indicate one or more RS ID (e.g., a CSI-RS ID, an SRS resource ID or an SSB ID) as the Tx beam (or called spatial relation) for PUSCH scheduled by a DCI format 0_0 in a first CC ); and the TCI parameter includes an identifier of a second SSB resource or an identifier of a second CSI-RS resource P.234-235 discloses… the UE receives, from the BS, an indicator message indicating the TCI state to be used for a downlink reception. In another embodiment, the UE receives, from the BS over a downlink channel, the downlink reception with the indicated TCI state; step 1606, the UE receives, from the BS, a configuration for a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state that includes an identification (ID) indicating the SRS resource configuration. In one embodiment, the TCI state configures a QCL-Type D for the included ID indicating the SRS resource configuration ). .
Claim(s) 6, 34, 64, 65, and 82 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US-20170041118-A1 to Liu et al., from hereon Liu in view of US-20180123710-A1 to Kim et al., from hereon Kim.
Regarding claim 6 Liu teaches the method of claim 1, but does not teach…wherein: the resource configuration message further indicates a self-interference strength threshold, and the self-interference strength threshold comprises an absolute power value or a relative power value.
Kim teaches… wherein: the resource configuration message further indicates a self-interference strength threshold, and the self-interference strength threshold comprises an absolute power value or a relative power value (P. 15 discloses The information on the changed residual self-interference signal may include a value of a strength of the changed residual self-interference signal, and the information on the changed residual self-interference signal may include a margin value of the MCS level. The UE may further include a processor configured to calculate the margin value of the MCS level based on the value of the strength of the changed residual self-interference signal. The transmitter may transmit the information on the changed residual self-interference signal only when an absolute value of transmit power of the UE is equal to or greater than a predetermined threshold).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Liu by incorporating the teachings of Kim because the method and device allow for implement FDR by considering a residual self-interference signal generated by change in self-interference cancellation (IC) performance due to change in transmit power of a user equipment (UE) and a base station in an FDR transmission and reception system (Kim, P. 16). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 34 Liu teaches…the apparatus of claim 29, but do not teach…wherein: the resource configuration message further indicates a self-interference strength threshold, and the self-interference strength threshold comprises an absolute power value or a relative power value.
Kim teaches… wherein: the resource configuration message further indicates a self-interference strength threshold, and the self-interference strength threshold comprises an absolute power value or a relative power value. (P. 15 discloses The information on the changed residual self-interference signal may include a value of a strength of the changed residual self-interference signal, and the information on the changed residual self-interference signal may include a margin value of the MCS level. The UE may further include a processor configured to calculate the margin value of the MCS level based on the value of the strength of the changed residual self-interference signal. The transmitter may transmit the information on the changed residual self-interference signal only when an absolute value of transmit power of the UE is equal to or greater than a predetermined threshold).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Liu by incorporating the teachings of Kim because the method and device allow for implement FDR by considering a residual self-interference signal generated by change in self-interference cancellation (IC) performance due to change in transmit power of a user equipment (UE) and a base station in an FDR transmission and reception system (Kim, P. 16). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 64 Liu teaches the method of claim 59, but do not teach… wherein the resource configuration message further includes a self-interference strength threshold.
Kim teaches… wherein the resource configuration message further includes a self-interference strength threshold(P. 15 discloses The information on the changed residual self-interference signal may include a value of a strength of the changed residual self-interference signal, and the information on the changed residual self-interference signal may include a margin value of the MCS level. The UE may further include a processor configured to calculate the margin value of the MCS level based on the value of the strength of the changed residual self-interference signal. The transmitter may transmit the information on the changed residual self-interference signal only when an absolute value of transmit power of the UE is equal to or greater than a predetermined threshold).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Liu by incorporating the teachings of Kim because the method and device allow for implement FDR by considering a residual self-interference signal generated by change in self-interference cancellation (IC) performance due to change in transmit power of a user equipment (UE) and a base station in an FDR transmission and reception system (Kim, P. 16). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 65 Liu and Kim teach the method of claim 64, Kim teaches…wherein the self-interference strength threshold comprises an absolute power value or a relative power value(P. 15 discloses The information on the changed residual self-interference signal may include a value of a strength of the changed residual self-interference signal, and the information on the changed residual self-interference signal may include a margin value of the MCS level. The UE may further include a processor configured to calculate the margin value of the MCS level based on the value of the strength of the changed residual self-interference signal. The transmitter may transmit the information on the changed residual self-interference signal only when an absolute value of transmit power of the UE is equal to or greater than a predetermined threshold)..
Regarding claim 82 Liu teaches…the apparatus of claim 77, but do not teach…wherein: the resource configuration message further includes a self-interference strength threshold; and the self-interference strength threshold comprises an absolute power value or a relative power value.
Kim teaches… wherein: the resource configuration message further includes a self-interference strength threshold; and the self-interference strength threshold comprises an absolute power value or a relative power value(P. 15 discloses The information on the changed residual self-interference signal may include a value of a strength of the changed residual self-interference signal, and the information on the changed residual self-interference signal may include a margin value of the MCS level. The UE may further include a processor configured to calculate the margin value of the MCS level based on the value of the strength of the changed residual self-interference signal. The transmitter may transmit the information on the changed residual self-interference signal only when an absolute value of transmit power of the UE is equal to or greater than a predetermined threshold).
Claim(s) 10 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US-20170041118-A1 to Liu et al., from hereon Liu in view of US-12015505-B2 to Huang et al., from hereon Huang.
Regarding claim 10 Liu teaches the method of claim1, but does not teach…further comprising: determining a transmission beam based on the resource configuration message, wherein the FD reference signal is transmitted via the transmission beam; and wherein determining the transmission beam comprises selecting the transmission beam from a plurality of pre-configured transmission beams.
Huang teaches… further comprising: determining a transmission beam based on the resource configuration message, wherein the FD reference signal is transmitted via the transmission beam; and wherein determining the transmission beam comprises selecting the transmission beam from a plurality of pre-configured transmission beams (Fig. 1-2 , Col. 22, Lns. 15-25 disclose… the codebook-based uplink transmission supports the beam selection between at most 2 uplink sending beams through SRI. For the non-codebook uplink transmission, one SRS resource set for CSI acquisition contains at most 4 SRS resources, and the SRI in the uplink grant is used to indicate one or more SRS resources from the 4 SRS resources configured in the SRS resource set. In this way, the non-codebook-based uplink transmission supports the beam selection among at most 4 uplink sending beams through SRI).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Liu by incorporating the teachings of Huang because the method and device allow for transmitting configuration information for reference resources and for acquiring channel state information and instructing the network device transmission of information (UE) and a base station in an FDR transmission and reception system (Huang, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 38 Liu teaches the apparatus of claim29, but do not teach…wherein: the at least one processor is further configured to determine, at the UE, a transmission beam based on the resource configuration message, and wherein the FD reference signal is transmitted via the transmission beam, and determining the transmission beam comprises selecting the transmission beam from a plurality of pre-configured transmission beams.
Huang teaches… wherein: the at least one processor is further configured to determine, at the UE, a transmission beam based on the resource configuration message, and wherein the FD reference signal is transmitted via the transmission beam, and determining the transmission beam comprises selecting the transmission beam from a plurality of pre-configured transmission beams(Fig. 1-2 , Col. 22, Lns. 15-25 disclose… the codebook-based uplink transmission supports the beam selection between at most 2 uplink sending beams through SRI. For the non-codebook uplink transmission, one SRS resource set for CSI acquisition contains at most 4 SRS resources, and the SRI in the uplink grant is used to indicate one or more SRS resources from the 4 SRS resources configured in the SRS resource set. In this way, the non-codebook-based uplink transmission supports the beam selection among at most 4 uplink sending beams through SRI).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Liu by incorporating the teachings of Huang because the method and device allow for transmitting configuration information for reference resources and for acquiring channel state information and instructing the network device transmission of information (UE) and a base station in an FDR transmission and reception system (Huang, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Claim(s) 11, 12, 39, 40, and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US-20170041118-A1 to Liu et al., from hereon Liu in view of US-12015505-B2 to Huang et al., from hereon Huang and US-20190053314-A1 to Zhou et al., from hereon Zhou.
Regarding claim 11 Liu teaches…the method of claim1, but does not teach…further comprising: determining a transmission beam based on the resource configuration message, wherein the FD reference signal is transmitted via the transmission beam; and wherein the first parameter indicates a first synchronization signal block (SSB) resource or a first channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource, and wherein the second parameter indicates a second SSB resource or a second CSI-resource.
Huang teaches…Huang teaches…further comprising: determining a transmission beam based on the resource configuration message, wherein the FD reference signal is transmitted via the transmission beam (claim 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Liu by incorporating the teachings of Huang because the method and device allow for transmitting configuration information for reference resources and for acquiring channel state information and instructing the network device transmission of information (UE) and a base station in an FDR transmission and reception system (Huang, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Zhou teaches… and wherein the first parameter indicates a first synchronization signal block (SSB) resource or a first channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource, and wherein the second parameter indicates a second SSB resource or a second CSI-resource (P.123, Fig. 18, Lns. 7-13 discloses using frequency division multiplexing (FDM), other subcarriers, not used for beam 1 for the wireless device in the same RB, may be used for other CSI-RS transmissions associated with a different beam for other wireless devices. Additionally or alternatively, by using time domain multiplexing (TDM), beams used for a wireless device may be configured such that different beams (e.g., beam 1, beam 2, and beam 3) for the wireless device may be transmitted using some symbols different from beams of other wireless devices…).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Liu by incorporating the teachings of Zhou because the method and device allow for beam management specifically device-specific to configure CSI-RS in a beam pair using multiple CS(-RS associated with multiple beam pair links at L1/L2 levels to reduce overhead (Zhou, P. 124). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 12 Liu, Huang, and Zhou teach the method of claim 11, further comprising: determining, a second reception beam to receive a second SSB that is transmitted by the network entity in the second SSB resource or a second CSI-RS that is transmitted by the network entity in the second CSI-RS resource (P.129 ), and receiving a first SSB that is transmitted by the network entity in the first SSB resource or a first CSI-RS that is transmitted by the network entity in the first CSI-RS resource via a first reception beam, the first reception beam having the same beam weights, the same beam direction, or both, as the transmission beam (Col. 25, Lns. P. 8-20).
Regarding claim 39 Liu teaches the apparatus of claim29, but does not teach…wherein: the at least one processor is further configured to determine, at the UE, a transmission beam based on the resource configuration message, and wherein the FD reference signal is transmitted via the transmission beam; but do not teach…and the first parameter indicates a first synchronization signal block (SSB) resource or a first channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource, and wherein the second parameter indicates a second SSB resource or a second CSI-resource.
Huong teaches…wherein: the at least one processor is further configured to determine, at the UE, a transmission beam based on the resource configuration message, and wherein the FD reference signal is transmitted via the transmission beam (claim 5)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Liu by incorporating the teachings of Huang because the method and device allow for transmitting configuration information for reference resources and for acquiring channel state information and instructing the network device transmission of information (UE) and a base station in an FDR transmission and reception system (Huang, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Zhou teaches… and wherein the first parameter indicates a first synchronization signal block (SSB) resource or a first channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource, and wherein the second parameter indicates a second SSB resource or a second CSI-resource (P.123, Fig. 18, Lns. 7-13 discloses using frequency division multiplexing (FDM), other subcarriers, not used for beam 1 for the wireless device in the same RB, may be used for other CSI-RS transmissions associated with a different beam for other wireless devices. Additionally or alternatively, by using time domain multiplexing (TDM), beams used for a wireless device may be configured such that different beams (e.g., beam 1, beam 2, and beam 3) for the wireless device may be transmitted using some symbols different from beams of other wireless devices…).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Liu incorporating the teachings of Zhou because the method and device allow for beam management specifically device-specific to configure CSI-RS in a beam pair using multiple CS(-RS associated with multiple beam pair links at L1/L2 levels to reduce overhead (Zhou, P. 124). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 40 Liu, Huang and Zhou teach the apparatus of claim 39, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: determine, at the UE, a second reception beam to receive a second SSB that is transmitted by the network entity in the second SSB resource or a second CSI-RS that is transmitted by the network entity in the second CSI-RS resource (P.129 ); Huang teaches…and receive a first SSB that is transmitted by the network entity in the first SSB resource or a first CSI-RS that is transmitted by the network entity in the first CSI-RS resource via a first reception beam, the first reception beam having the same beam weights, the same beam direction, or both, as the transmission beam(Col. 25, Lns. P. 8-20).
Regarding claim 42 Liu, Huang, and Zhou teach the apparatus of claim40, but do not teach…wherein: the transmission beam is selected such that a generated signal-to-interference and noise ratio (SINR) of the first SSB or the first CSI-RS received via the first reception beam is maximized, and the transmission beam is further selected such that self-interference to the second SSB or the second CSI-RS received via the second reception beam caused by a transmission signal transmitted via the transmission beam is less than a threshold.
Kim teaches… wherein: the transmission beam is selected such that a generated signal-to-interference and noise ratio (SINR) of the first SSB or the first CSI-RS received via the first reception beam is maximized, and the transmission beam is further selected such that self-interference to the second SSB or the second CSI-RS received via the second reception beam caused by a transmission signal transmitted via the transmission beam is less than a threshold(P.48 and P. 101 disclose the ability of select the signal to interference ration to within a configurable threshold).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Liu, Huang, and Zhou by incorporating the teachings of Kim because the method and device allow for implement FDR by considering a residual self-interference signal generated by change in self-interference cancellation (IC) performance due to change in transmit power of a user equipment (UE) and a base station in an FDR transmission and reception system (Kim, P. 16). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US-20170041118-A1 to Liu et al., from hereon Liu, US-12015505-B2 to Huang et al., from hereon Huang and US-20190053314-A1 to Zhou et al., from hereon Zhou in view of US-20180123710-A1 to Kim et al., from hereon Kim.
Regarding claim 14 Liu, Huang, and Zhou teach the method of claim12, but do not teach…wherein: the transmission beam is selected such that a generated signal-to-interference and noise ratio (SINR) of the first SSB or the first CSI-RS received via the first reception beam is maximized, and the transmission beam is further selected such that self-interference to the second SSB or the second CSI-RS received via the second reception beam caused by a transmission signal transmitted via the transmission beam is less than a threshold.
Kim teaches… wherein: the transmission beam is selected such that a generated signal-to-interference and noise ratio (SINR) of the first SSB or the first CSI-RS received via the first reception beam is maximized, and the transmission beam is further selected such that self-interference to the second SSB or the second CSI-RS received via the second reception beam caused by a transmission signal transmitted via the transmission beam is less than a threshold (P.48 and P. 101 disclose the ability of select the signal to interference ration to within a configurable threshold).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Liu, Huang, and Zhou by incorporating the teachings of Kim because the method and device allow for implement FDR by considering a residual self-interference signal generated by change in self-interference cancellation (IC) performance due to change in transmit power of a user equipment (UE) and a base station in an FDR transmission and reception system (Kim, P. 16). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Claim(s) 16 and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US-20170041118-A1 to Liu et al., from hereon Liu in view of US-20200044797-A1 to Guo and US-20190053314-A1 to Zhou et al., from hereon Zhou.
Regarding claim 16 Liu teaches the method of claim1, but does not teach…further comprising: and wherein the first parameter indicates a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource, and wherein the second parameter indicates a synchronization signal block (SSB) resource or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource, determining a transmission beam based on the resource configuration message, wherein the FD reference signal is transmitted via the transmission beam.
Guo teaches….further comprising: and wherein the first parameter indicates a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource, and wherein the second parameter indicates a synchronization signal block (SSB) resource or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource. (Abs discloses… receiving, from a base station (BS), a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource configuration; receiving, from the BS, a triggering message instructing the UE to transmit an SRS) but do not teach…. determining a transmission beam based on the resource configuration message, wherein the FD reference signal is transmitted via the transmission beam.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Liu by incorporating the teachings of Guo because the method and device allow for resource assignment in NR environments via messaging that carries multiple configuration parameters (Guo, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Zhou teaches.. determining a transmission beam based on the resource configuration message, wherein the FD reference signal is transmitted via the transmission beam(P.123, Fig. 18, Lns. 7-13 discloses using frequency division multiplexing (FDM), other subcarriers, not used for beam 1 for the wireless device in the same RB, may be used for other CSI-RS transmissions associated with a different beam for other wireless devices. Additionally or alternatively, by using time domain multiplexing (TDM), beams used for a wireless device may be configured such that different beams (e.g., beam 1, beam 2, and beam 3) for the wireless device may be transmitted using some symbols different from beams of other wireless devices…).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Liu by incorporating the teachings of Zhou because the method and device allow for beam management specifically device-specific to configure CSI-RS in a beam pair using multiple CS(-RS associated with multiple beam pair links at L1/L2 levels to reduce overhead (Zhou, P. 124). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 44 Liu teaches the apparatus of claim29, but does not teach…wherein: and the first parameter indicates a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource, and wherein the second parameter indicates a synchronization signal block (SSB) resource or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource the at least one processor is further configured to determine, at the UE, a transmission beam based on the resource configuration message, and wherein the FD reference signal is transmitted via the transmission beam.
Guo teaches…wherein: and the first parameter indicates a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource, and wherein the second parameter indicates a synchronization signal block (SSB) resource or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource (Abs discloses… receiving, from a base station (BS), a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource configuration; receiving, from the BS, a triggering message instructing the UE to transmit an SRS)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Liu by incorporating the teachings of Guo because the method and device allow for resource assignment in NR environments via messaging that carries multiple configuration parameters (Guo, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Zhou teaches… the at least one processor is further configured to determine, at the UE, a transmission beam based on the resource configuration message, and wherein the FD reference signal is transmitted via the transmission beam(P.123, Fig. 18, Lns. 7-13 discloses using frequency division multiplexing (FDM), other subcarriers, not used for beam 1 for the wireless device in the same RB, may be used for other CSI-RS transmissions associated with a different beam for other wireless devices. Additionally or alternatively, by using time domain multiplexing (TDM), beams used for a wireless device may be configured such that different beams (e.g., beam 1, beam 2, and beam 3) for the wireless device may be transmitted using some symbols different from beams of other wireless devices…).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Liu by incorporating the teachings of Zhou because the method and device allow for beam management specifically device-specific to configure CSI-RS in a beam pair using multiple CS(-RS associated with multiple beam pair links at L1/L2 levels to reduce overhead (Zhou, P. 124). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Claim(s) 20 and 48 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US-20170041118-A1 to Liu et al., from hereon Liu in view of US-20190053314-A1 to Zhou et al., from hereon Zhou.
Regarding claim 20 Liu teaches the method of claim1, but does not teach…further comprising determining a transmission beam based on the resource configuration message, wherein the FD reference signal is transmitted via the transmission beam: and wherein the resource configuration message is received via a first transmit-receive point (TRP) coupled to the network entity, and wherein the FD reference signal is transmitted to a second TRP coupled to the network entity.
Zhou teaches… further comprising determining a transmission beam based on the resource configuration message, wherein the FD reference signal is transmitted via the transmission beam(P.123, Fig. 18, Lns. 7-13 discloses using frequency division multiplexing (FDM), other subcarriers, not used for beam 1 for the wireless device in the same RB, may be used for other CSI-RS transmissions associated with a different beam for other wireless devices. Additionally or alternatively, by using time domain multiplexing (TDM), beams used for a wireless device may be configured such that different beams (e.g., beam 1, beam 2, and beam 3) for the wireless device may be transmitted using some symbols different from beams of other wireless devices…).: and wherein the resource configuration message is received via a first transmit-receive point (TRP) coupled to the network entity, and wherein the FD reference signal is transmitted to a second TRP coupled to the network entity (P.126 ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Liu by incorporating the teachings of Zhou because the method and device allow for beam management specifically device-specific to configure CSI-RS in a beam pair using multiple CS(-RS associated with multiple beam pair links at L1/L2 levels to reduce overhead (Zhou, P. 124). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 48 Liu teaches the apparatus of claim29, but do not teach…wherein: the at least one processor is further configured to determine, at the UE, a transmission beam based on the resource configuration message, and wherein the FD reference signal is transmitted via the transmission beam; and the resource configuration message is received via a first transmit-receive point (TRP) coupled to the network entity, and wherein the FD reference signal is transmitted to a second TRP coupled to the network entity.
Zhou teaches… wherein: the at least one processor is further configured to determine, at the UE, a transmission beam based on the resource configuration message, and wherein the FD reference signal is transmitted via the transmission beam(P.123, Fig. 18, Lns. 7-13 discloses using frequency division multiplexing (FDM), other subcarriers, not used for beam 1 for the wireless device in the same RB, may be used for other CSI-RS transmissions associated with a different beam for other wireless devices. Additionally or alternatively, by using time domain multiplexing (TDM), beams used for a wireless device may be configured such that different beams (e.g., beam 1, beam 2, and beam 3) for the wireless device may be transmitted using some symbols different from beams of other wireless devices…); and the resource configuration message is received via a first transmit-receive point (TRP) coupled to the network entity, and wherein the FD reference signal is transmitted to a second TRP coupled to the network entity(P.126 ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Lui by incorporating the teachings of Zhou because the method and device allow for beam management specifically device-specific to configure CSI-RS in a beam pair using multiple CS(-RS associated with multiple beam pair links at L1/L2 levels to reduce overhead (Zhou, P. 124). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17 and 45 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the main reason of allowance of the claims under discussion is the inclusion of “the transmission beam is selected such that a correlation coefficient between the transmission beam of the UE and a transmission beam used by the UE to transmit a SRS in a SRS resource is minimized; and wherein the transmission beam is further selected such that self-interference to the SSB or the CSI-RS received via the reception beam caused by a transmission signal transmitted via the transmission beam is less than a threshold” as the prior art of record in stand-alone form nor in combination read into the amended claims as supported by the specification. The nearest prior art such as CN109257818A, Wu, discloses step 101, transceiver 32, for resource allocation, US11095410B2, discloses sending SRS, the srs resource configuration information, WO2020006059A1, to Yang, and EP3815285B1 to Yang address resource allocation in FDD configuration but all of them are silent on minimizing the correlation coefficient between the transmission beam of the UE and a transmission beam used by the UE to transmit SRS.The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: See PTO form PTO-892: CN109257818A, Wu, discloses step 101, transceiver 32, for resource allocation, US11095410B2, discloses sending SRS, the srs resource configuration information, WO2020006059A1, to Yang, and EP3815285B1 to Yang address resource allocation in FDD configuration.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO form PTO-892: CN109257818A, Wu, discloses step 101, transceiver 32, for resource allocation, US11095410B2, discloses sending SRS, the srs resource configuration information, WO2020006059A1, to Yang, and EP3815285B1 to Yang address resource allocation in FDD configuration.
/L.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2476
/AYAZ R SHEIKH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2476