DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/24/2026; the submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 11-15, filed 06/24/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 29, 59, and 77 under 35 USC § 102, as allegedly being anticipated by Liu et al. (US-20170041118-Al, hereinafter "Liu") have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US-20210159966-A1 to XI.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 11-15, filed 06/24/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 2-4, 30-32, 60-62, and 78-80 under 35 USC § 103, as allegedly unpatentable over Liu in view of Guo (US-20200044797-Al, hereinafter "Guo) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US-20210159966-A1 to XI.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 11-15, filed 06/24/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 6, 34, 64, 65, and 82 under 35 USC § 103, as allegedly unpatentable over Liu in view of Kim et al. (US-20180123710-A1, hereinafter "Kim") have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US-20210159966-A1 to XI.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 11-15, filed 06/24/2026with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 10 and 38 under 35 USC § 103, as allegedly unpatentable over Liu in view of Huang et al. (US-12015505-B2, hereinafter "Huang") have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US-20210159966-A1 to XI.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 11-15, filed 06/24/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 11, 12, 39, 40, and 42 under 35 USC § 103, as allegedly unpatentable over Liu in view of Huang and further in view of Zhou et al. (US-20190053314-Al, hereinafter "Zhou") have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US-20210159966-A1 to XI.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 11-15, filed 06/24/2026with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 14 under 35 USC § 103, as allegedly unpatentable over Liu in view of Huang, Zhou, and Kim have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US-20210159966-A1 to XI.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 11-15, filed 06/24/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 16 and 44 under 35 USC § 103, as allegedly unpatentable over Liu in view of Guo and Zhou have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US-20210159966-A1 to XI.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 11-15, filed 06/24/2026with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 20 and 48 under 35 USC § 103, as allegedly unpatentable over Liu in view of Zhou have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US-20210159966-A1 to XI.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 11, 12, 16, 20, 29, 31, 39, 40, 44, 48, 59, 61, 77, 79, and 82 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by US-20210159966-A1 to XI.
Regarding claim 1 XI teaches…a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) (clm 8 discloses the method performed by a user equipment also known as wireless transmit/receive unit ), the method comprising: receiving, from a network entity (P.5 ), a resource configuration message, the resource configuration message comprising a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource configuration message (P.5 discloses… A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) may also be configured to receive a SRS configuration message indicating spatial relationship information for each SRS resource of a plurality of SRS resources. The WTRU may determine at least a spatial domain transmission filter or an UL beam(s) for each SRS resource based on the spatial relationship information associated with each SRS resource and transmit each SRS resource with the determined spatial domain transmission filter or determined UL beam(s). A WTRU may also receive configuration information for at least one of multiple DL BWPs or multiple UL BWPs )including a first parameter corresponding to full duplex (FD) uplink (UL) and a second parameter corresponding to FD downlink (DL); and transmitting, from the UE to the network entity, a FD reference signal based on the resource configuration message, wherein the FD reference signal comprises a SRS (P, 4, 61 and 68 disclose the information included in the sounding reference signal (SRS) message for configuring multiple SRS indication for Uplink (UL) and multiple beam indication (DL) P. 61 indicating the configuration of the full-duplex transmission and reception where the SRS signals are transmitted as part of the spatial relationship of the configured beams form transmission and reception). (Note: Table 5 and 10 discloses the multiple configurations that can be assigned to each resource).
Regarding claim 3 Xi teaches…the method of claim 1, wherein the first parameter comprises a spatial relation parameter (P.110 discloses that the first parameter can be a spatial relation between reference signal can be an SSB, CSI-RS, SRS ), the second parameter comprises a transmission configuration information (TCI) parameter (P. 151 further discloses the one or any combination of two configuration indicate the TCI state for each TCI field; P. 173 discloses… Spatial relation information for the SRS resource is given in FIG. 14. The spatialRelationInfo field in each SRS-Resource information element (IE) may comprise more than one beam information. Spatial info in the spatialRelationInfo field may be indicated or configured by TCI states.), or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 11 XI teaches…the method of claim 1, XI teaches…further comprising: determining a transmission beam based on the resource configuration message, wherein the FD reference signal is transmitted via the transmission beam; and wherein the first parameter indicates a first synchronization signal block (SSB) resource or a first channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource (P.109 ), and wherein the second parameter indicates a second SSB resource or a second CSI-resource (P. 110).
Regarding claim 12 XI teaches…the method of claim 11, Xi teaches…further comprising: determining a second reception beam to receive a second SSB that is transmitted by the network entity in the second SSB resource or a second CSI-RS that is transmitted by the network entity in a second CSI-RS resource; and receiving a first SSB that is transmitted by the network entity in the first SSB resource or a first CSI-RS that is transmitted by the network entity in the first CSI-RS resource via a first reception beam, the first reception beam having same precoding weights, same beam direction, or both, as the transmission beam (P.110 Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 16 XI teaches…the method of claim 1, XI teaches…further comprising: determining a transmission beam based on the resource configuration message, wherein the FD reference signal is transmitted via the transmission beam; and wherein the first parameter indicates a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource, and wherein the second parameter indicates a synchronization signal block (SSB) resource or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource (P. 110 and Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 20 XI teaches…the method of claim 1, XI teaches…further comprising determining a transmission beam based on the resource configuration message, wherein the FD reference signal is transmitted via the transmission beam; and wherein the resource configuration message is received via a first transmit-receive point (TRP) coupled to the network entity, and wherein the FD reference signal is transmitted to a second TRP coupled to the network entity (P.173 and 191-193 ).
Regarding claim 29 Xi teaches…an apparatus configured for wireless communication, comprising: at least one processor; and a memory coupled to the at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor is configured to (claim 1 discloses. A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) comprising: a transceiver; and a processor; wherein: the transceiver is configured to receive sounding reference signal (SRS) resource configuration information; the transceiver is further configured to receive a SRS trigger, beam indication (beam ID) information. ): receive, at a user equipment (UE) from a network entity, a resource configuration message, the resource configuration message comprising a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource configuration message(P.5 discloses… A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) may also be configured to receive a SRS configuration message indicating spatial relationship information for each SRS resource of a plurality of SRS resources. The WTRU may determine at least a spatial domain transmission filter or an UL beam(s) for each SRS resource based on the spatial relationship information associated with each SRS resource and transmit each SRS resource with the determined spatial domain transmission filter or determined UL beam(s). A WTRU may also receive configuration information for at least one of multiple DL BWPs or multiple UL BWPs ) including a first parameter corresponding to full duplex (FD) uplink (UL) and a second parameter corresponding to FD downlink (DL; and initiate transmission, from the UE to the network entity, of a FD reference signal based on the resource configuration message, wherein the FD reference signal comprises a SRS(P, 4, 61 and 68 disclose the information included in the sounding reference signal (SRS) message for configuring multiple SRS indication for Uplink (UL) and multiple beam indication (DL) P. 61 indicating the configuration of the full-duplex transmission and reception where the SRS signals are transmitted as part of the spatial relationship of the configured beams form transmission and reception). (Note: Table 5 and 10 discloses the multiple configurations that can be assigned to each resource).
Regarding claim 31 XI teaches…the apparatus of claim 29, XI teaches…wherein the first parameter comprises a spatial relation parameter P.110 discloses that the first parameter can be a spatial relation between reference signal can be an SSB, CSI-RS, SRS ), the second parameter comprises a transmission configuration information (TCI) parameter(P. 151 further discloses the one or any combination of two configuration indicate the TCI state for each TCI field; P. 173 discloses… Spatial relation information for the SRS resource is given in FIG. 14. The spatialRelationInfo field in each SRS-Resource information element (IE) may comprise more than one beam information. Spatial info in the spatialRelationInfo field may be indicated or configured by TCI states.),, or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 39 XI teaches…the apparatus of claim 29, XI teaches…wherein: the at least one processor is further configured to determine, at the UE, a transmission beam based on the resource configuration message, and wherein the FD reference signal is transmitted via the transmission beam; and the first parameter indicates a first synchronization signal block (SSB) resource or a first channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource (P.109 ), and wherein the second parameter indicates a second SSB resource or a second CSI-resource (P. 110).
Regarding claim 40 XI teaches…the apparatus of claim 39, Xi teaches…wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: determine, at the UE, a second reception beam to receive a second SSB that is transmitted by the network entity in the second SSB resource or a second CSI-RS that is transmitted by the network entity in a second CSI-RS resource; and receive a first SSB that is transmitted by the network entity in the first SSB resource or a first CSI-RS that is transmitted by the network entity in the first CSI-RS resource via a first reception beam, the first reception beam having same precoding weights, same beam direction, or both, as the transmission beam (P.110, Fig. 5 ).
Regarding claim 44 XI teaches…the apparatus of claim 29, XI teaches…wherein: the at least one processor is further configured to determine, at the UE, a transmission beam based on the resource configuration message, and wherein the FD reference signal is transmitted via the transmission beam; and the first parameter indicates a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource, and wherein the second parameter indicates a synchronization signal block (SSB) resource or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource (P. 110 and Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 48 XI teaches…the apparatus of claim 29, Xi teaches…wherein: the at least one processor is further configured to determine, at the UE, a transmission beam based on the resource configuration message, and wherein the FD reference signal is transmitted via the transmission beam; and the resource configuration message is received via a first transmit-receive point (TRP) coupled to the network entity, and wherein the FD reference signal is transmitted to a second TRP coupled to the network entity (P. 173 and P.191-193).
Regarding claim 59 XI teaches…a method of wireless communication, the method comprising: transmitting, from a network entity to a user equipment (UE) (P.42, 44, 59 discloses a method for transmitting from a base station to TRPs WTRU, UE ), a resource configuration message, the resource configuration message comprising a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource configuration message (P.5 discloses… A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) may also be configured to receive a SRS configuration message indicating spatial relationship information for each SRS resource of a plurality of SRS resources. The WTRU may determine at least a spatial domain transmission filter or an UL beam(s) for each SRS resource based on the spatial relationship information associated with each SRS resource and transmit each SRS resource with the determined spatial domain transmission filter or determined UL beam(s). A WTRU may also receive configuration information for at least one of multiple DL BWPs or multiple UL BWPs )including a first parameter corresponding to full duplex (FD) uplink (UL) and a second parameter corresponding to FD downlink (DL); and receiving, at the network entity from the UE, a FD reference signal based on the resource configuration message, wherein the FD reference signal comprises a SRS(P, 4, 61 and 68 disclose the information included in the sounding reference signal (SRS) message for configuring multiple SRS indication for Uplink (UL) and multiple beam indication (DL) P. 61 indicating the configuration of the full-duplex transmission and reception where the SRS signals are transmitted as part of the spatial relationship of the configured beams form transmission and reception). (Note: Table 5 and 10 discloses the multiple configurations that can be assigned to each resource).
Regarding claim 61 Xi teaches…the method of claim 59, XI teaches…the first parameter comprises a spatial relation parameter(P.110 discloses that the first parameter can be a spatial relation between reference signal can be an SSB, CSI-RS, SRS ),, the second parameter comprises a transmission configuration information (TCI) parameter(P. 151 further discloses the one or any combination of two configuration indicate the TCI state for each TCI field; P. 173 discloses… Spatial relation information for the SRS resource is given in FIG. 14. The spatialRelationInfo field in each SRS-Resource information element (IE) may comprise more than one beam information. Spatial info in the spatialRelationInfo field may be indicated or configured by TCI states.), or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 79 XI teaches…the apparatus of claim 77, XI teaches…wherein the first parameter comprises a spatial relation parameter(P.110 discloses that the first parameter can be a spatial relation between reference signal can be an SSB, CSI-RS, SRS ),, the second parameter comprises a transmission configuration information (TCI) parameter(P. 151 further discloses the one or any combination of two configuration indicate the TCI state for each TCI field; P. 173 discloses… Spatial relation information for the SRS resource is given in FIG. 14. The spatialRelationInfo field in each SRS-Resource information element (IE) may comprise more than one beam information. Spatial info in the spatialRelationInfo field may be indicated or configured by TCI states.), or a combination thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 32, 62, and 80 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US-20210159966-A1 to XI et al., from hereon XI in view of US-20200044797-A1 to Guo.
Regarding claim 4 XI teaches…the method of claim 3, wherein: but does not teach… the spatial relation parameter includes an identifier of a first synchronization signal block (SSB) resource, an identifier of a first channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource, or an identifier of a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource; and the TCI parameter includes an identifier of a second SSB resource or an identifier of a second CSI-RS resource.
Guo teaches… the spatial relation parameter includes an identifier of a first synchronization signal block (SSB) resource, an identifier of a first channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource, or an identifier of a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource(P.215 discloses… a gNB can use a higher layer signaling (for example RRC or MAC-CE message) to indicate one or more RS ID (e.g., a CSI-RS ID, an SRS resource ID or an SSB ID) as the Tx beam (or called spatial relation) for PUSCH scheduled by a DCI format 0_0 in a first CC ); and the TCI parameter includes an identifier of a second SSB resource or an identifier of a second CSI-RS resource (P.234-235 discloses… the UE receives, from the BS, an indicator message indicating the TCI state to be used for a downlink reception. In another embodiment, the UE receives from the BS over a downlink channel, the downlink reception with the indicated TCI state; step 1606, the UE receives, from the BS, a configuration for a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state that includes an identification (ID) indicating the SRS resource configuration. In one embodiment, the TCI state configures a QCL-Type D for the included ID indicating the SRS resource configuration ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of XI by incorporating the teachings of Guo because the method and device allow for resource assignment in NR environments via messaging that carries multiple configuration parameters (Guo, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 32 XI teaches…the apparatus of claim 31, but does not teach…wherein: the spatial relation parameter includes an identifier of a first synchronization signal block (SSB) resource, an identifier of a first channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource, or an identifier of a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource; and the TCI parameter includes an identifier of a second SSB resource or an identifier of a second CSI-RS resource.
Guo teaches… wherein: the spatial relation parameter includes an identifier of a first synchronization signal block (SSB) resource, an identifier of a first channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource(P.215 discloses… a gNB can use a higher layer signaling (for example RRC or MAC-CE message) to indicate one or more RS ID (e.g., a CSI-RS ID, an SRS resource ID or an SSB ID) as the Tx beam (or called spatial relation) for PUSCH scheduled by a DCI format 0_0 in a first CC ); and the TCI parameter includes an identifier of a second SSB resource or an identifier of a second CSI-RS resource (P.234-235 discloses… the UE receives, from the BS, an indicator message indicating the TCI state to be used for a downlink reception. In another embodiment, the UE receives from the BS over a downlink channel, the downlink reception with the indicated TCI state; step 1606, the UE receives, from the BS, a configuration for a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state that includes an identification (ID) indicating the SRS resource configuration. In one embodiment, the TCI state configures a QCL-Type D for the included ID indicating the SRS resource configuration ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of XI by incorporating the teachings of Guo because the method and device allow for resource assignment in NR environments via messaging that carries multiple configuration parameters (Guo, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 62 XI teaches…the method of claim 61, but does not teach…wherein: the spatial relation parameter includes an identifier of a synchronization signal block (SSB) resource, an identifier of a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource;, or an identifier of a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource; and the TCI parameter includes an identifier of a second SSB resource or an identifier of a second CSI-RS resource.
Guo teaches… wherein: the spatial relation parameter includes an identifier of a synchronization signal block (SSB) resource, an identifier of a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource(P.215 discloses… a gNB can use a higher layer signaling (for example RRC or MAC-CE message) to indicate one or more RS ID (e.g., a CSI-RS ID, an SRS resource ID or an SSB ID) as the Tx beam (or called spatial relation) for PUSCH scheduled by a DCI format 0_0 in a first CC ), or an identifier of a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource; and the TCI parameter includes an identifier of a second SSB resource or an identifier of a second CSI-RS resource(P.234-235 discloses… the UE receives, from the BS, an indicator message indicating the TCI state to be used for a downlink reception. In another embodiment, the UE receives from the BS over a downlink channel, the downlink reception with the indicated TCI state; step 1606, the UE receives, from the BS, a configuration for a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state that includes an identification (ID) indicating the SRS resource configuration. In one embodiment, the TCI state configures a QCL-Type D for the included ID indicating the SRS resource configuration ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of XI by incorporating the teachings of Guo because the method and device allow for resource assignment in NR environments via messaging that carries multiple configuration parameters (Guo, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 80 XI teaches…the apparatus of claim 79, but does not teach…wherein: the spatial relation parameter includes an identifier of a synchronization signal block (SSB) resource, an identifier of a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource, or an identifier of a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource; and the TCI parameter includes an identifier of a second SSB resource or an identifier of a second CSI-RS resource.
Guo teaches… wherein: the spatial relation parameter includes an identifier of a synchronization signal block (SSB) resource, an identifier of a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource(P.215 discloses… a gNB can use a higher layer signaling (for example RRC or MAC-CE message) to indicate one or more RS ID (e.g., a CSI-RS ID, an SRS resource ID or an SSB ID) as the Tx beam (or called spatial relation) for PUSCH scheduled by a DCI format 0_0 in a first CC ), or an identifier of a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource; and the TCI parameter includes an identifier of a second SSB resource or an identifier of a second CSI-RS resource(P.234-235 discloses… the UE receives, from the BS, an indicator message indicating the TCI state to be used for a downlink reception. In another embodiment, the UE receives from the BS over a downlink channel, the downlink reception with the indicated TCI state; step 1606, the UE receives, from the BS, a configuration for a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state that includes an identification (ID) indicating the SRS resource configuration. In one embodiment, the TCI state configures a QCL-Type D for the included ID indicating the SRS resource configuration ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of XI by incorporating the teachings of Guo because the method and device allow for resource assignment in NR environments via messaging that carries multiple configuration parameters (Guo, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Claim(s) 6, 14, 34, 42, 64, and 65 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US-20210159966-A1 to XI et al., from hereon XI in view of US-20180123710-A1 to Kim et al., from hereon Kim.
Regarding claim 6 XI teaches…the method of claim 1, but does not teach…wherein: the resource configuration message further indicates a self-interference strength threshold; and the self-interference strength threshold comprises an absolute power value or a relative power value.
Kim teaches… wherein: the resource configuration message further indicates a self-interference strength threshold; and the self-interference strength threshold comprises an absolute power value or a relative power value(P. 15 discloses The information on the changed residual self-interference signal may include a value of a strength of the changed residual self-interference signal, and the information on the changed residual self-interference signal may include a margin value of the MCS level. The UE may further include a processor configured to calculate the margin value of the MCS level based on the value of the strength of the changed residual self-interference signal. The transmitter may transmit the information on the changed residual self-interference signal only when an absolute value of transmit power of the UE is equal to or greater than a predetermined threshold).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of XI by incorporating the teachings of Kim because the method and device allow for implement FDR by considering a residual self-interference signal generated by change in self-interference cancellation (IC) performance due to change in transmit power of a user equipment (UE) and a base station in an FDR transmission and reception system (Kim, P. 16). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 14 XI teaches…the method of claim 12, but does not teach…wherein: the transmission beam is selected such that a generated signal-to-interference and noise ratio (SINR) of the first SSB or the first CSI-RS received via the first reception beam is maximized; and the transmission beam is further selected such that self-interference to the second SSB or the second CSI-RS received via the second reception beam caused by a transmission signal transmitted via the transmission beam is less than a threshold.
Kim teaches…wherein: the transmission beam is selected such that a generated signal-to-interference and noise ratio (SINR) of the first SSB or the first CSI-RS received via the first reception beam is maximized; and the transmission beam is further selected such that self-interference to the second SSB or the second CSI-RS received via the second reception beam caused by a transmission signal transmitted via the transmission beam is less than a threshold(P.48 and P. 101 disclose the ability of select the signal to interference ration to within a configurable threshold).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of XI by incorporating the teachings of Kim because the method and device allow for implement FDR by considering a residual self-interference signal generated by change in self-interference cancellation (IC) performance due to change in transmit power of a user equipment (UE) and a base station in an FDR transmission and reception system (Kim, P. 16). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 34 XI teaches…the apparatus of claim 29, but does not teach…wherein: the resource configuration message further indicates a self-interference strength threshold; and the self-interference strength threshold comprises an absolute power value or a relative power value.
Kim teaches… wherein: the resource configuration message further indicates a self-interference strength threshold; and the self-interference strength threshold comprises an absolute power value or a relative power value(P. 15 discloses The information on the changed residual self-interference signal may include a value of a strength of the changed residual self-interference signal, and the information on the changed residual self-interference signal may include a margin value of the MCS level. The UE may further include a processor configured to calculate the margin value of the MCS level based on the value of the strength of the changed residual self-interference signal. The transmitter may transmit the information on the changed residual self-interference signal only when an absolute value of transmit power of the UE is equal to or greater than a predetermined threshold).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of XI by incorporating the teachings of Kim because the method and device allow for implement FDR by considering a residual self-interference signal generated by change in self-interference cancellation (IC) performance due to change in transmit power of a user equipment (UE) and a base station in an FDR transmission and reception system (Kim, P. 16). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 42 XI teaches…the apparatus of claim 40, but does not teach…wherein: the transmission beam is selected such that a generated signal-to-interference and noise ratio (SINR) of the first SSB or the first CSI-RS received via the first reception beam is maximized; and the transmission beam is further selected such that self-interference to the second SSB or the second CSI-RS received via the second reception beam caused by a transmission signal transmitted via the transmission beam is less than a threshold.
Kim teaches… wherein: the transmission beam is selected such that a generated signal-to-interference and noise ratio (SINR) of the first SSB or the first CSI-RS received via the first reception beam is maximized; and the transmission beam is further selected such that self-interference to the second SSB or the second CSI-RS received via the second reception beam caused by a transmission signal transmitted via the transmission beam is less than a threshold (P.48 and P. 101 disclose the ability of select the signal to interference ration to within a configurable threshold).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of XI by incorporating the teachings of Kim because the method and device allow for implement FDR by considering a residual self-interference signal generated by change in self-interference cancellation (IC) performance due to change in transmit power of a user equipment (UE) and a base station in an FDR transmission and reception system (Kim, P. 16). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 64. (Original) The method of claim 59, but does not teach…wherein the resource configuration message further includes a self-interference strength threshold.
Kim teaches… wherein the resource configuration message further includes a self-interference strength threshold (P. 15 discloses the information on the changed residual self-interference signal may include a value of a strength of the changed residual self-interference signal, and the information on the changed residual self-interference signal may include a margin value of the MCS level. The UE may further include a processor configured to calculate the margin value of the MCS level based on the value of the strength of the changed residual self-interference signal. The transmitter may transmit the information on the changed residual self-interference signal only when an absolute value of transmit power of the UE is equal to or greater than a predetermined threshold).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of XI by incorporating the teachings of Kim because the method and device allow for implement FDR by considering a residual self-interference signal generated by change in self-interference cancellation (IC) performance due to change in transmit power of a user equipment (UE) and a base station in an FDR transmission and reception system (Kim, P. 16). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 65 XI and Kim teach the method of claim 64, wherein the self-interference strength threshold comprises an absolute power value or a relative power value (P. 15 discloses The information on the changed residual self-interference signal may include a value of a strength of the changed residual self-interference signal, and the information on the changed residual self-interference signal may include a margin value of the MCS level. The UE may further include a processor configured to calculate the margin value of the MCS level based on the value of the strength of the changed residual self-interference signal. The transmitter may transmit the information on the changed residual self-interference signal only when an absolute value of transmit power of the UE is equal to or greater than a predetermined threshold).
Claim(s) 10 and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US-20210159966-A1 to XI et al., from hereon XI in view of US-12015505-B2 to Huang et al., from hereon Huang.
Regarding claim 10 XI teaches…the method of claim 1, but does not teach…further comprising: determining a transmission beam based on the resource configuration message, wherein the FD reference signal is transmitted via the transmission beam; and wherein determining the transmission beam comprises selecting the transmission beam from a plurality of pre-configured transmission beams.
Huang teaches… further comprising: determining a transmission beam based on the resource configuration message, wherein the FD reference signal is transmitted via the transmission beam; and wherein determining the transmission beam comprises selecting the transmission beam from a plurality of pre-configured transmission beams(Fig. 1-2 , Col. 22, Lns. 15-25 disclose… the codebook-based uplink transmission supports the beam selection between at most 2 uplink sending beams through SRI. For the non-codebook uplink transmission, one SRS resource set for CSI acquisition contains at most 4 SRS resources, and the SRI in the uplink grant is used to indicate one or more SRS resources from the 4 SRS resources configured in the SRS resource set. In this way, the non-codebook-based uplink transmission supports the beam selection among at most 4 uplink sending beams through SRI).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of XI by incorporating the teachings of Huang because the method and device allow for transmitting configuration information for reference resources and for acquiring channel state information and instructing the network device transmission of information (UE) and a base station in an FDR transmission and reception system (Huang, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 38 XI teaches…the apparatus of claim 29, but does not teach…wherein: the at least one processor is further configured to determine, at the UE, a transmission beam based on the resource configuration message, and wherein the FD reference signal is transmitted via the transmission beam; and determining the transmission beam comprises selecting the transmission beam from a plurality of pre-configured transmission beams.
Huang teaches… wherein: the at least one processor is further configured to determine, at the UE, a transmission beam based on the resource configuration message, and wherein the FD reference signal is transmitted via the transmission beam; and determining the transmission beam comprises selecting the transmission beam from a plurality of pre-configured transmission beams(Fig. 1-2 , Col. 22, Lns. 15-25 disclose… the codebook-based uplink transmission supports the beam selection between at most 2 uplink sending beams through SRI. For the non-codebook uplink transmission, one SRS resource set for CSI acquisition contains at most 4 SRS resources, and the SRI in the uplink grant is used to indicate one or more SRS resources from the 4 SRS resources configured in the SRS resource set. In this way, the non-codebook-based uplink transmission supports the beam selection among at most 4 uplink sending beams through SRI).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of XI by incorporating the teachings of Huang because the method and device allow for transmitting configuration information for reference resources and for acquiring channel state information and instructing the network device transmission of information (UE) and a base station in an FDR transmission and reception system (Huang, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17 and 45 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the main reason of allowance of the claims under discussion is the inclusion of “the transmission beam is selected such that a correlation coefficient between the transmission beam of the UE and a transmission beam used by the UE to transmit a SRS in a SRS resource is minimized; and wherein the transmission beam is further selected such that self-interference to the SSB or the CSI-RS received via the reception beam caused by a transmission signal transmitted via the transmission beam is less than a threshold” as the prior art of record in stand-alone form nor in combination read into the amended claims as supported by the specification. The nearest prior art such as CN109257818A, Wu, discloses step 101, transceiver 32, for resource allocation, US11095410B2, discloses sending SRS, the srs resource configuration information, WO2020006059A1, to Yang, and EP3815285B1 to Yang address resource allocation in FDD configuration but all of them are silent on minimizing the correlation coefficient between the transmission beam of the UE and a transmission beam used by the UE to transmit SRS.The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: See PTO form PTO-892: CN109257818A, Wu, discloses step 101, transceiver 32, for resource allocation, US11095410B2, discloses sending SRS, the srs resource configuration information, WO2020006059A1, to Yang, and EP3815285B1 to Yang address resource allocation in FDD configuration.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO form PTO-892: CN109257818A, Wu, discloses step 101, transceiver 32, for resource allocation, US11095410B2, discloses sending SRS, the srs resource configuration information, WO2020006059A1, to Yang, and EP3815285B1 to Yang address resource allocation in FDD configuration.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2476
/AYAZ R SHEIKH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2476