DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP2719729 to Lanxess in view of USPAP 2019/0153221 to Yang.
Claim 1, Lanxess discloses a composition comprising: (A) from 29 to 74% by weight of at least one semi-crystalline aliphatic polyamide, said semi-crystalline aliphatic polyamide resulting from the polycondensation: of at least one C6 to C18, amino acid; or of at least one C6 to C18 lactam; or of at least one C4-C36 diamine Ca with at least one C4-C36 diacid Cb; (B) from 25 to 70% by weight of glass fibers (C) from 1 to 20% by weight of at least one impact modifier, wherein the composition excludes core-shell impact modifiers; and (D) from 0 to 2% by weight of at least one additive, excluding copper chromite, zinc sulfide, titanium dioxide, calcium carbonate and a polyolefin-based colored masterbatch; the sum of the various constituents (A) to (D) being 100% by weight (see entire document including the abstract, [0010]-[0013] and [0045]-[0052]).
Lanxess does not appear to mention a specific glass fiber composition but does disclose the use of S glass fibers [0026]. Yang discloses that it is known in the art to include S glass fibers consisting essentially of silica dioxide (SiO2), aluminum oxide (Al2O3) and magnesium oxide (MgO); said glass fibers (B) consisting of the following composition: from 60 to 66% by weight of SiO2; from 23 to 25% by weight of Al2O3; from 6 to 11% by weight of MgO; from 0 to 9% by weight of calcium oxide (CaO); and from 0 to 1% by weight of other oxides, the total being equal to 100% by weight (see entire document including [0009]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the glass fibers of Lanxess from any suitable glass fiber composition, such as disclosed by Yang, because it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability and desired characteristics.
Claims 2, 15 and 16, Lanxess does not appear to mention the polyamide being selected from PA11, PA12, PA1010, PA1012, PA1210 and PA1212 but Yang discloses that it is known in the art to construct polyamide compositions with a variety of polyamides including those claimed ([0019]-[0022]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the polyamide from any suitable polyamide material, such as claimed, because it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability and desired characteristics.
Claim 3, the impact modifier is selected from a polyolefin-based polymer inherently having a flexural modulus less than 100 MPa measured according to standard ISO 178:2010 (23° C RH50) and having a Tg below 0° C (measured according to standard 11357-2:2013 at the inflection point of the DSC thermogram) ([0036]-[0044]).
Claim 4, the impact modifier is a polyolefin, said polyolefin being functionalized or non-functionalized, or a mixture of both ([0036]-[0044]).
Claim 5, the polyolefin is selected from a functionalized polyolefin or a mixture of functionalized and non-functionalized polyolefins ([0036]-[0044]).
Claim 6, the functionalized polyolefin is a polyolefin bearing a function selected from carboxylic acid, maleic anhydride and epoxy functions ([0036]-[0044]).
Claim 7, the additives are selected from fluidifying agents, dyes, catalysts, stabilizers, especially thermal stabilizers, UV stabilizers, light stabilizers, surfactants, whitening agents, antioxidants, chain extenders, lubricants, nucleating agents, waxes, and mixtures thereof [0046].
Claim 8, the impact modifier (C) is present at from 1 to 15% by weight [0036].
Claim 14, the composition comprises from 45 to 70% by weight of glass fibers consisting essentially of silica dioxide (SiO2), aluminum oxide (Al203) and magnesium oxide (MgO) [0010].
Claim 15, the at least one semi-crystalline aliphatic polyamide may exclude a polyamide comprising PA 6 [0010].
Claim 16, the at least one semi-crystalline aliphatic polyamide may exclude a polyamide comprising PA 6.6 [0010].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/17/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant asserts that Lanxess discloses two polycondensation routes (a copolycondensation process) that proceed concurrently and produce a copolyamide. Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because claim 1 does NOT exclude the claimed polyamide from being a copolyamide (a polyamide can be a copolyamide as copolyamides are specific types of polyamides made from multiple different monomers) and claim 1 does NOT exclude a copolycondensation process. Claim 1 is a product-by-process claim wherein the claimed product (a composition) is defined as comprising (open claim language) a specific polyamide (semi-crystalline aliphatic) resulting from the polycondensation of, for example, at least one C6 to C18 lactam. Lanxess discloses a composition comprising the claimed polyamide resulting from the polycondensation of at least one C6 to C18 lactam AND the polycondensation of hexamethylenediamine adipate. Claim 1 is written with open claim language, does not exclude the polyamide from being a copolyamide, and does not state that the claimed polycondensation route must be the only polycondensation route that occurs. In other words, applicant’s argument is not commensurate in scope with the current claims.
Conclusion
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW T PIZIALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789