DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Receipt of Remarks/Amendments filed on 09/10/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 10, 15, and 21 are cancelled. Claims 1- and 7 are amended. Claim 23 is new. Claims 1-9, 11-14, 16-20, and 22-23 are presented for examination on the merits for patentability.
Rejection(s) not reiterated from the previous Office Action are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set of rejections presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “combining the carbohydrate solution with 20 wt-% to 50 wt-%, by weight of the sweetener composition, of one or more bulking agent(s) in particulate form……”. While the amended language is no longer indefinite, it is still grammatically awkward. The Examiner recommends rewriting to “combining the carbohydrate solution with one or more bulking agent(s) comprising fiber, wherein the bulking agent is 20 wt-% to 50 wt-%, by weight of the sweetener composition, and is in particulate form…” or something similar.
Modified Rejection As Necessitated by the Amendment Filed 09/10/2026
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 11-14, 16-18, 20, 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kannar et al. (Of record), hereinafter Kannar, in view of Weiner et al. (DE4411582, machine translated in IP.com), hereinafter Weiner.
Kannar teaches sweetener compositions comprising crystalline sugar useful in the preparation of foods such as chocolate, confectionary, cereals etc. (Abstract; p. 2, lines 27-29). Kannar teaches a sweetener composition comprising (i) sucrose, (ii) one or more high intensity sweeteners and (iii) one or more caramel masking agents (Claim 1).
Regarding Claim 1, Kannar teaches the preparation of amorphous sugars with density lowering agents (Example 13). Kannar teaches incorporation of soluble fiber, insoluble fiber, or a combination thereof as edible density lowering agent (p. 9, lines 8-10). Kannar expressly teaches three different recipes comprising sugar cane syrup and substrates, which are combined as feed solution, and spray dried to obtain a powder from a spray drier (Example 13). Kannar expressly teaches incorporation of 19% resistant maltodextrin and 1% fiber in one sample, rendering the bulking agent obvious (Table 14, Row 9). Kannar further teaches a bulked sweetener composition wherein the bulking agent is selected from a group consisting of non-digestible oligosaccharides, xylooligosaccharides, digestive resistant dextrin derivatives or digestive resistant maltodextrin etc. (Claim 12). Kannar teaches that bulking agents can make handling the sweetener composition more straightforward, and in preferred embodiments, the bulking agent is a prebiotic fiber (bottom half of p. 15).
Regarding the seed carbohydrate claimed, Kannar recognizes seeding sugar particles, but does not expressly teach the seeding process (p. 36, lines 1-4).
Weiner is in the same field, and teaches the invention of a crystalline sweetener composition comprising 40 to 95 wt % non-hygroscopic sugar alcohol, 2.5 to 45 wt % polydextrose and/or maltitol syrup (maltitol portion) and/or sorbitol, 0 to 10 wt % intensive sweetener, water, and optionally, auxiliary substances (Abstract).
Weiner cures the deficiency of Kannar by teaching the seeding step. Specifically, Weiner teaches preparing a crystalline sweetener composition comprising a) mixing the sugar alcohol, dextrose and/or maltitol syrup and/or sorbitol and auxiliaries with water, b) heating the closed vessel with stirring to 75 to 95 ° C, c) applying a vacuum and cooling with slow stirring to 40 to 65 ° C, d) the vessel is aerated and seed crystals and intensive sweetener are added etc. (Claim 6). The seed crystals preferably consist of the used sugar alcohol, the sweetener optionally used, or a mixture of both in powder from(p. 3, last paragraph; Claim 9). Because Weiner does not indicate or require that the seed crystal is at a specific temperature, it is reasonable for one skilled in the art to add at-room temperature seed crystals to the cooling vessel at 40 to 65 °C, which also renders the features of Claims 8 and 22 obvious.
One with ordinary skill in the art would have applied the known technique of seeding crystals of carbohydrates in the technique of Kannar, in accordance to the teaching of Weiner. It can be expected that using this technique would lead to uniform crystal sizes. Applying a known technique to a known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results is the rationale supporting obviousness. See MPEP § 2143 and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007). and is commonly carried out in the art as part of routine optimization; the prior art is evidence to this. As such, the features of Claims 13, 16, and 18 have also been rendered obvious.
Regarding Claim 2, Kannar teaches production of crystalline sugar from massecuite, wherein the massecuite contains polyphenols (p. 35, lines 18-35). "Massecuite" refers to a dense suspension of sugar crystals in the mother liquor of sugar syrup, and is used to prepare bulk sugar crystals (p. 25, lines 19-23). As such, Kannar indicates the saturated state of the carbohydrate solution.
Regarding Claims 3 and 5, Kannar teaches drying by spray drying, atomization, and evaporating the moisture (p. 33, entirety). As the moisture evaporates, the concentration of the sugar necessarily increases, which renders Claim 4 obvious.
Regarding Claims 6 and 7, Kannar teaches sucrose carbohydrate, and teaches sucrose sugar particles for seeding (Claim 1; p. 36, lines 1-4).
Regarding Claim 9, Kannar expressly teaches using a spray dryer (Examples 12 and 13).
Regarding Claims 11 and 23, Kannar discloses embodiments wherein the amorphous sugar comprises homogenous particles between 1 and 100 µm in diameter, e.g. with a D90 of 100 µm or less (p. 8, lines 28-32). Kannar expressly teaches amorphous sugar particles with particle size varying from less than 10 µm to about 60 µm (p. 52, lines 11-13). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art", a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding Claim 12, Kannar teaches an aspect of its sweetener composition comprising about 90 to about 99% w/w of a low GI crystalline sugar including sucrose (p. 20, lines 21-23).
Regarding Claim 14, Kannar teaches the method of using its composition for sweetening a food or beverage (pp. 16-18).
Regarding Claim 17, Kannar teaches resistant dextrin (p. 8, lines 9-11).
Regarding Claim 19, Kannar teaches embodiments wherein the ratio of sugar source and density lowering agent is 95:5 to 60:40, which overlaps with the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art", a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding Claim 20, Kannar teaches drying amorphous sugar in rapid drying such as spray drying and other drying methods (p. 33; p. 45, Example 9; pp. 51-52). Kannar teaches appropriate drying methods for its composition include fluidized bed drying, ring drying, freeze drying and low temperature vacuum dehydration (p. 33).
Response to Arguments:
Applicant traversed the 103 rejection over Cherukuri, arguing that Cherukuri does not teach the 20%-50% one or more bulking agent comprising fiber.
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection necessitated by the amendment does not rely on Cherukuri for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant remarked that Graham forms a solution-solution mixture rather than a suspension or mixture of particulate bulking agent and carbohydrate solution.
Applicant’s arguments have been considered and was found convincing. The Examiner has withdrawn the rejection over Graham.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9, 11-14, 16-20, and 22-23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-6, 15, 17-21, and 23 of co-pending Application 17/905,958 in view of Kannar.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are drawn to the same subject matter and composition components.
Both the instant claims and ‘958 are drawn to a process of preparing a sweetener composition comprising one or more crystalline carbohydrate(s) and one or more bulking agent(s), and the sweetener composition product thereof. The claims overlap almost in entirety. The difference lies in the forming of a suspension of the bulking agent in the solvent required in the instant claim whereas ‘958 requires a dry blending process. This deficiency is cured by Kannar, whose teachings have been presented in the 103 rejection supra.
Therefore, the claims are drawn to the same subject matter and are not patentably distinct from the instant claims.
Response to Arguments:
Applicant traversed the rejection arguing the lack of indication of allowable subject matter, and the reliance on Cherukuri.
The rejection no longer relies on Cherukuri, but on Kannar, as necessitated by the amendment.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Cunningham et al. (US 2002/0011181 A1) discloses a co-crystallized polyol and hydrogenated maltodextrin composition comprising at least one polyol and a hydrogenated maltodextrin, wherein the composition is formed by co-crystallization of the at least one polyol and the hydrogenated maltodextrin.
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JANICE Y SILVERMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1792
/ERIK KASHNIKOW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1792