DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-12 and 14-18 are pending. Claims 13 is canceled. Claims 1, 3, 6, 9, 15, and 18 are amended. Claims 2, 4-5, 7-8, 10-12, 14, and 16-17 are original.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/26/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to arguments on pages 2-5 of the remarks (pages labeled 10-13) that primary reference ZHAO discloses a charging station and therefore does not disclose a charging pole, the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., vertical mounting, pole shape that is slim and tall, placed in small public areas and fitted into existing environment) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The features Applicant rely upon are not explicitly found in the drawings or specification. The drawings and the specification do not hint or suggest the narrow interpretation argued by Applicant. It is maintained that primary reference ZHAO teaches a “charging pole” within the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification as originally filed.
Applicant’s arguments on page 5 of the remarks (page labeled 13) with respect to the amended recitations of energy conversion from a liquid and/or gaseous energy carrier in independent claims 1 and 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant is requested to use the correct status identifiers for the claims, e.g., claim 2, 4-5, 7-8, 10-12, 14, and 16-17 should have the status identifier --Original--, not “Previously presented”.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 8/26/2025. These drawings are unacceptable.
The drawings are objected for containing “unlabeled generic box elements” (see 1, 2, 3, 4, 5.1, 5.2, 5.3, 6, 9, Figure 1; 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 9, Figure 2; 100, 200, 300, 400, 500, Figure 5; etc.; it is noted that all of the drawings contain unlabeled generic box elements). Correction is required in accordance with 37 CFR 1.83 as stated below.
Further, 37 CFR 1.83 – Content of Drawing:
(a) The drawing in a nonprovisional application must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. However, conventional features disclosed in the description and claims, where their detailed illustration is not essential for a proper understanding of the invention, should be illustrated in the drawing in the form of a graphical drawing symbol or a labeled representation (e.g., a labeled rectangular box). In addition, tables that are included in the specification and sequences that are included in sequence listings should not be duplicated in the drawings.
(b) When the invention consists of an improvement on an old machine the drawing must when possible exhibit, in one or more views, the improved portion itself, disconnected from the old structure, and also in another view, so much only of the old structure as will suffice to show the connection of the invention therewith.
(c) Where the drawings in a nonprovisional application do not comply with the requirements of paragraphs (a) and (b) of this section, the examiner shall require such additional illustration within a time period of not less than two months from the date of the sending of a notice thereof. Such corrections are subject to the requirements of § 1.81(d).
[31 FR 12923, Oct. 4, 1966; 43 FR 4015, Jan. 31, 1978; paras. (a) and (c) revised, 60 FR 20195, Apr. 25, 1995, effective June 8, 1995; para. (a) revised, 69 FR 56481, Sept. 21, 2004, effective Oct. 21, 2004; para. (a) revised, 78 FR 62368, Oct. 21, 2013]
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it contains phrases which can be implied, i.e., “Disclosed herein is”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 and 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHAO (US 2014/0354229; cited on IDS) in view of SRIDHAR (US PG Pub 2014/0049206).
Regarding claim 1, ZHAO discloses a method for generating and delivering charging current (100) (abstract, ¶ 0004) for an electric vehicle (10) (12, Figure 1) in a charging pole (1) (10, Figure 1; ¶ 0025), the method comprising:
- register (200) a first initial process (¶ 0039: At 64 the charging controller 34 may identify the presence and/or identity of one or more vehicles 12 requiring a charge; ¶ 0040: The sensory indication may be from, for example, a pressure mat embedded in the ground of the parking space 14, from an ultrasound, laser, or radar proximity detector, from a visual camera associated with the charging station 10)
- evaluate (300) the first initial process (¶ 0040: it is determined that that particular vehicle requires charging)
- start of charging process (400) depending on evaluation result (¶ 0042: Following the detection of a vehicle at 80, and the identification of a required recharge at 82, the charge controller 34 may determine the identification of a user that is associated with, is driving, or owns the vehicle 12 at 84…. Once the user is properly identified, the vehicle 12 may be placed in queue to be charged at 94; ¶ 0043: Once the vehicle reaches the top of the charging queue, the charging controller 34 may instruct the robotic controller 56 to move the charging apparatus 28, 30/end effector 52 to the vehicle requiring charging; ¶ 0051: once the end effector 52 is coupled with the charging receptacle, the charging controller 34 may charge the vehicle) characterised in that the first initial process (200) is different from a start command of a user to start a charging process (400) (¶ 0040: an action performed by a user (e.g., push a button to indicate a request for charge)).
ZHAO fails to disclose the start of the charging process (400) comprises starting the energy conversion from a liquid and/or gaseous energy carrier into electrical energy in an energy conversion unit (3) of the charging pole (1).
SRIDHAR discloses the start of the charging process (400) comprises starting the energy conversion from a liquid and/or gaseous energy carrier into electrical energy in an energy conversion unit (3) of the charging pole (1) (¶ 0013: Fuel cell generator system 100 includes a fuel cell system 125, a DC/DC converter 130, a DC/AC converter 135, a router 138, and a control unit 140…Fuel cell generator system 100 can be utilized to provide electricity to a plurality of charging stations or to a single charging station; ¶ 0014: Fuel cell system 125 can be a solid oxide fuel cell system, a polymer electrolyte membrane (PEM) fuel cell system, a molten carbonate fuel cell system, or any other type of fuel cell system known to those of skill in the art; ¶ 0016: Direct current to direct current (DC/DC) converter 130 can be any device configured to increase or decrease a DC voltage generated by fuel cell system 125).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include starting the energy conversion from a liquid and/or gaseous energy carrier into electrical energy in order to reduce strain on the electrical grid, provide increased energy resilience, and/or provide increased energy flexibility.
Regarding claim 2, ZHAO discloses the first initial process (200) is the reception of a sensor signal (¶ 0040).
Regarding claim 3, ZHAO discloses a sensor signal is evaluated (300) by a control unit (9) (34, Figure 1) in the charging pole (¶ 0040).
Regarding claim 4, ZHAO discloses the first initial process (200) is performed by a first input from a user (¶ 0039-0041).
Regarding claim 5, ZHAO discloses the first input of the user is made by a first input at an element (6.1, 6.2, 6.3) of the charging pole (1) (¶ 0040-0041).
Regarding claim 6, ZHAO discloses the user's first input at the element (6.1, 6.2, 6.3) of the charging pole (1) is made by a first input at the control panel (6) (¶ 0040-0041).
Regarding claim 7, ZHAO discloses the first input of the user is made by removing and/or connecting a charging cable (8) (¶ 0033-0034).
Regarding claim 8, ZHAO discloses the user's first input is via a network to the charging pole (1) (¶ 0041).
Regarding claim 9, ZHAO discloses a first entry of the user is made by a pre-registration of the user via app/internet (¶ 0041).
Regarding claim 10, ZHAO discloses the first initial process (200) is performed by detecting a vehicle in the charging location (¶ 0039-0040).
Regarding claim 11, ZHAO discloses the first initial process (200) is performed by authenticating the user (¶ 0041-0042).
Regarding claim 12, ZHAO discloses the start of the charging process (400) comprises a wake-up (350) from stand-by mode (¶ 0063).
Regarding claim 14, ZHAO discloses the start of the charging process (400) comprises a transfer of energy to an electric vehicle (10) (¶ 0051).
Regarding claim 15, ZHAO discloses a charging pole (1) intended for charging electric vehicles (10), comprising
- an energy conversion unit (3) (¶ 0063: a power source such as an external electrical grid or a large number of solar cells)
- a power (¶ 0063: the power delivery circuit 32 may include an inverter/converter to provide the vehicle with the properly conditioned, rectified, and/or filtered AC or DC power supply) and a human machine interface (“HMI”) unit (2) (¶ 0040: push a button to indicate a request for charge; ¶ 0041: keypad input at a terminal)
- a control unit (9) (34, Figure 1) for controlling a charging process (400) (¶ 0039: a charging algorithm 60 that may be executed by the charging controller 34…the charging controller 34 may charge the vehicle at 70 until the vehicle reports a state of charge (SoC) above a particular threshold)
characterised in that the charging pole (1) has a sensor unit (4) (¶ 0040: the charging controller 34 receives a sensory indication that a vehicle 12 has entered a parking space 14. The sensory indication may be from, for example, a pressure mat embedded in the ground of the parking space 14, from an ultrasound, laser, or radar proximity detector, from a visual camera associated with the charging station 10).
ZHAO fails to disclose the energy conversion unit (3) is suitable to convert a liquid and/or gaseous energy carrier into electrical energy.
SRIDHAR discloses the energy conversion unit (3) is suitable to convert a liquid and/or gaseous energy carrier into electrical energy (¶ 0013: Fuel cell generator system 100 includes a fuel cell system 125, a DC/DC converter 130, a DC/AC converter 135, a router 138, and a control unit 140…Fuel cell generator system 100 can be utilized to provide electricity to a plurality of charging stations or to a single charging station; ¶ 0014: Fuel cell system 125 can be a solid oxide fuel cell system, a polymer electrolyte membrane (PEM) fuel cell system, a molten carbonate fuel cell system, or any other type of fuel cell system known to those of skill in the art; ¶ 0016: Direct current to direct current (DC/DC) converter 130 can be any device configured to increase or decrease a DC voltage generated by fuel cell system 125).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include converting a liquid and/or gaseous energy carrier into electrical energy in order to reduce strain on the electrical grid, provide increased energy resilience, and/or provide increased energy flexibility.
Regarding claim 16, ZHAO discloses the sensor unit (4) is coupled to the control unit (9) in the charging pole (1) (¶ 0040).
Regarding claim 17, ZHAO discloses the sensor unit (4) is suitable for detecting a vehicle (10) on a charging location assigned to the charging pole (1) (¶ 0039-0040).
Regarding claim 18, ZHAO discloses the sensor unit (4) is adapted to detect the removal and/or connection of a charging cable (8) (¶ 0033-0034, 0062).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Manuel Hernandez/Examiner, Art Unit 2859 10/8/2025
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859