DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The office action is in response to the remarks filed on June 26, 2026 for the application filed September 12, 2022. Claims 49, 65, 77, and 78 have been amended. Claims 49-78 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 56, 58, 59, 60, 61, 65, 66, 67, 68, 70, 72, 76, 77, 78 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mallick et al. (EP3121974A1) in view of Xu et al. (EP3562182A1), Burbidge et al. (US2018/0213577A1), Wu et al. (US2018/0160287A1), and Bangolae et al. (US2018/0098370A1).
Regarding claim 49, Mallick teaches a method for wireless communication by a remote user equipment (UE) comprising: receiving signaling for a configuration of selection criteria for mobility procedures for a switch between a first path whereby the remote UE is connected directly to a network entity and a second path whereby the remote UE is connected to the network entity via one of a relay UE (Paragraph [0185]: For example, a remote UE may start transmitting data over the PC5 link if the corresponding Uu link quality between the remote UE and the radio base station falls below a specific configured threshold. As a still further alternative, a remote UE may be configured to immediately start transmitting data over the PC5 link after having successfully established the layer-2 link with the relay UE. Paragraph [0186]: the remote UE may inform the eNodeB about the path switch to the PC5, such that the eNodeB in turn may be able to release and deconfigure existing data bearers such that the communication of the remote UE now continues to be relayed to the remote UE via the relay UE. Paragraph [0189]: Further solutions are provided to successfully move the UE's connection from the PC5 link back to the Uu link. In this regard, it is now assumed that the relay UE is acting as the relay for the remote UE such that the communication of the remote UE is relayed between the eNodeB and the remote UE via the relay UE. According to one solution, a handover-like procedure could be used to move the remote user back to the Uu link. In particular, the remote UE may send the usual measurement reports to the eNodeB via the relay connection. A corresponding handover message (such as the RRCConnectionReconfiguration message with the MobilityControlInfo of TS 36.331, current version 12.6.0, incorporated herein by reference) could be sent by the eNodeB via the relay UE to the remote UE. In this particular case, the Uu link to which it should be switched back could belong to the same old (source) cell or could belong to any other neighbor cell. Paragraph [0191]-[0194]: In order to properly determine by the remote UE when the Uu link is better again, the remote UE may for instance perform certain radio link measurements such as those involving RSRP and/or RSRQ, and/or pathloss information etc. A corresponding minimum threshold can be defined for each of the respective radio link measurements, which the Uu link must fulfill so as to be determined as being sufficiently good to switch back to. For example, each of the predefined threshold could be configured by the eNodeB, and corresponding information on the thresholds could be provided to the remote UE while it was still reachable via the Uu link (i.e. prior to performing the data switch to the PC5 link))
taking action to initiate the switch between the first path and the second path if the selection criteria are met (Paragraph [0190]: On the other hand, as mentioned before, the remote UE may switch back to using the Uu link (instead of the PC5 interface link) when the Uu link quality is sufficiently good. In said case, the RRC connection establishment procedure can be performed by the remote UE, advantageously indicating as the cause of the connection establishment that the remote UE would like to move from the PC5 interface to the Uu interface. Paragraph [0191]-[0195]: In order to properly determine by the remote UE when the Uu link is better again, the remote UE may for instance perform certain radio link measurements such as those involving RSRP and/or RSRQ, and/or pathloss information etc. A corresponding minimum threshold can be defined for each of the respective radio link measurements, which the Uu link must fulfill so as to be determined as being sufficiently good to switch back to. For example, each of the predefined threshold could be configured by the eNodeB, and corresponding information on the thresholds could be provided to the remote UE while it was still reachable via the Uu link (i.e. prior to performing the data switch to the PC5 link).)
wherein initiating the switch comprises maintaining the first path while connecting to the relay UE via the second path (Paragraph [0193]: For instance, the old measurement configuration, received previously when being connected to the eNodeB via the Uu link, can be maintained after the PC5 data switch and thus may be used for measuring the Uu link even when the remote user equipment is on the PC 5 link.)
Mallick does not explicitly teach whereby the remote UE is connected to the network entity via one of a plurality of relay UEs; taking action to initiate the switch between the first path and the second path if the selection criteria are met by transmitting measurements of the plurality of relay UEs; receiving an indication of a relay UE from the plurality of relay UEs that is selected for the second path based on the measurements of the plurality of relay UEs; and initiating the switch between the first path and the second path.
However, Xu teaches whereby the remote UE is connected to the network entity via one of a plurality of relay UEs; taking action to initiate the switch between the first path and the second path if the selection criteria are met; receiving an indication of a relay UE from the plurality of relay UEs that is selected for the second path based on the measurements of the plurality of relay UEs; and initiating the switch between the first path and the second path (Paragraph [0083]: The remote UE may switch between the two connection modes or communication paths. For example, when quality of a link between one UE and a base station is relatively poor, the UE may be used as remote UE, and one relay UE nearby may be selected and used to connect to the base station. In this case, a direct connection manner needs to be switched to an indirect communication manner, to be specific, a Uu link needs to be switched to a relay link, as shown in FIG. 2A. Paragraph [0086]: S301: If the remote UE determines that channel quality of a Uu link is less than a threshold configured by the base station, the remote UE triggers a path switching process. The remote UE first triggers a relay UE discovery process. This process may also be considered as a process in which the remote UE and the relay UE discover each other. Paragraph [0087]: For example, if the remote UE sends a broadcast message, relay UE that receives this broadcast message may return a response to the remote UE, and the remote UE determines that the relay UE is discovered. Alternatively, relay UE proactively sends a broadcast message. If the remote UE receives this broadcast message, the remote UE determines that the relay UE is discovered. Paragraph [0088]: S302: If the remote UE discovers one or more relay UEs that meet a condition, the remote UE selects one from the relay UEs. Paragraph [0113], Fig 4: S405: After successfully establishing the communication connection to the selected eRelay UE, the eRemote UE sends a first message to the base station, where the first message is used to request the base station to perform communication path switching, to be specific, request to switch a communication path between the eRemote UE and the base station from the direct path to an indirect path used for communicating with the base station by using the eRelay UE.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide whereby the remote UE is connected to the network entity via one of a plurality of relay UEs; taking action to initiate the switch between the first path and the second path if the selection criteria are met; receiving an indication of a relay UE from the plurality of relay UEs that is selected for the second path based on the measurements of the plurality of relay UEs; and initiating the switch between the first path and the second path, as taught by Xu in the system of Mallick, so that the remote UE can establish connection with a selected relay UE (Xu: Paragraphs [0102], [0139]).
The combination of Mallick and Xu does not explicitly teach taking action to initiate the switch between the first path and the second path if the selection criteria are met by transmitting measurements comprising sidelink link quality measurements of the plurality of relay UEs to the network entity; receiving from the network entity an indication of a relay UE from the plurality of relay UEs.
However, Burbidge teaches taking action to initiate the switch between the first path and the second path if the selection criteria are met by transmitting measurements comprising sidelink link quality measurements of the plurality of relay UEs to the network entity; receiving from the network entity an indication of a relay UE from the plurality of relay UEs (Paragraph [0146]: 1—The remote UE 106 establishes an RRC Connection with the eNB 102. Paragraph [0147]: 2—The Remote UE 106 discovers that it is in proximity of Relay UE 1 104 a. Paragraph [0148]: 3—The Remote UE 106 performs measurement reporting to the eNB 102. The reported measurement will at least include an indication that the remote UE 106 has discovered Relay UE 1 104 a and the identity of Relay UE 1. The reporting measurements may also include measurements of the signal level/or quality of the direct link to the eNB 102 and/or the link to Relay UE 1. Configuration parameters to control the measurement reporting may have been previously provided by the eNB 102 to the Remote UE 106. Paragraph [0149]: 4—The eNB 102 decides that the remote UE 106 is to switch communication path from the direct path 108′ to an indirect path via Relay UE 1 104 a. This decision may be made based on the information contained in the measurement report. Paragraph [0150]: 5—The eNB 102 sends a message (e.g. an RRC Connection Reconfiguration message) to the Remote UE 106. This message contain a command that the Remote UE should switch its traffic to a relay UE with the Relay UE ID indicated in the message. The Remote UE may send a response message (e.g. an RRC Connection Reconfiguration Complete message) to confirm successful receipt of the command. Paragraph [0161]: 19—The Remote UE 106 continues to perform measurement reporting to the eNB 102 to provide update measurement information on the signal strength/quality of the links to the Relay UEs and the direct link to the eNB 102. Paragraph [0167]: The approach illustrated in FIG. 12 assumes that only a single Relay UE is used at any time. However, in some embodiments the approach could easily be extended to support more than one Relay UE at the same time as shown in FIG. 12. The remote UE 106 could be directed to establish relay connection with more than one Relay UE and then decide on a more dynamic basis (e.g. every few 100 ms or in the most extreme case every packet) the path on which to route the traffic. The possible Relay UEs that may be used for routing traffic may be referred to as a ‘Relay UE candidate set’. Also see claim 50 of Burbidge: obtain a measurement reporting message from the remote UE, the measurement reporting message including an indication of at least two relay UE in proximity to the remote UE.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to take action to initiate the switch between the first path and the second path if the selection criteria are met by transmitting measurements comprising sidelink link quality measurements of the plurality of relay UEs to the network entity; receiving from the network entity an indication of a relay UE from the plurality of relay UEs, as taught by Burbidge in the combined system of Mallick and Xu, so that remote UE can select a relay path (second path) via a relay UE and switch to the second path based on the quality of the link in the second path as indicated by the network entity based on the measurements provided by the remote UE (Burbidge: Paragraph [0146] – [0150]).
The combination of Mallick, Xu, and Burbidge does not explicitly teach transmitting identifiers (IDs) of serving cells of the plurality of relay UEs to the network entity; receiving from the network entity an indication of a relay UE based on the IDs of the serving cells of plurality of relay UEs.
However, Wu teaches transmitting identifiers (IDs) of serving cells of the plurality of relay UEs to the network entity; receiving from the network entity an indication of a relay UE based on the IDs of the serving cells of plurality of relay UEs (Paragraph [0019]: a relay selection apparatus, applicable to a remote terminal, the apparatus including. Paragraph [0020]: a receiving unit configured to receive relay discovery information transmitted by relay equipment, the relay discovery information including identifier information (relay UE IDs) of the relay equipment and identifier information (cell IDs) of serving cells of the relay equipment. Paragraph [0071]: In this embodiment, as the relay discovery information contains the identifier information of the serving cells of the relay equipment, for a remote terminal in coverage of a cell, it may measure sidelink channel quality for all discovered relay equipment, ….may report the sidelink channel quality to an eNB, and the eNB selects appropriate relay equipment for it. Paragraph [0087]: In this implementation, the remote terminal may also report the measurement result to the eNB, and the eNB selects appropriate relay equipment for it. For example, the remote terminal reports the relay information on all the discovered relay equipment to the eNB, the relay information containing IDs of all the discovered relay equipment, measurement results corresponding to the individual relay equipment and the IDs of the serving cells of the relay equipment. Based on the measurement results, the eNB may help the remote terminal to select appropriate relay equipment. Therefore, the remote terminal may take the relay equipment selected by the eNB for it as its relay equipment. Paragraph [0102]: In another implementation of this embodiment, the relay information may include: an IDs of relay equipment discovered by the remote terminal, a measurement result of the discovered relay equipment and IDs of serving cells of the discovered relay equipment. Paragraph [0103]: In this implementation, the eNB may select relay equipment for the remote terminal from the relay equipment discovered by the remote terminal according to the relay information.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide transmitting identifiers (IDs) of serving cells of the plurality of relay UEs to the network entity; receiving from the network entity an indication of a relay UE based on the IDs of the serving cells of plurality of relay UEs, as taught by Wu in the combined system of Mallick, Xu, and Burbidge, so that eNB may select the appropriate relay UE for the remote UE from the relay equipment discovered by the remote UE according to the relay information (Wu: Paragraphs [0071], [0087], [0102], [0103]).
The combination of Mallick, Xu, Burbidge, and Wu does not explicitly teach maintaining the first path while connecting to the relay UE via the second path, and providing an indication to the network entity, via the first path, that a connection via the second path has been successfully established.
However, Bangolae teaches maintaining the first path while connecting to the relay UE via the second path, and providing an indication to the network entity, via the first path, that a connection via the second path has been successfully established (Paragraph [0091]: FIG. 13 illustrates exemplary signaling that enables a relay user equipment (UE) 1320 to act as a relay between an eNodeB 1330 and a remote UE 1310. Paragraph [0092]: In one example, the remote UE 1310 can transmit a newly defined message or an existing message (e.g., a sidelink UE information message) to the eNodeB 1330 to inform the eNodeB 1330 that the remote UE 1310 has established a relay-based connection with the relay UE 1320. The remote UE 1310 can transmit the sidelink UE information message since the remote UE 1310 is still in-coverage of the eNodeB 1330. In addition, the sidelink UE information message can indicate the remote UE's desire to be released from direct communications with the eNodeB 1330. Therefore, the connection between the remote UE 1310 and the eNodeB 1320 (i.e., the Uu connection) can be released, and the remote UE 1310 may only be connected with the relay UE 1320. Therefore, in this configuration, the release of the Uu connection can be initiated by the remote UE 1310.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide maintaining the first path while connecting to the relay UE via the second path, and providing an indication to the network entity, via the first path, that a connection via the second path has been successfully established, as taught by Bangolae in the combined system of Mallick, Xu, Burbidge, and Wu, so that the remote UE can inform the network entity via the direct path (Uu path) that the switch to the indirect path was successful, and that a release of the Uu connection can now be initiated (Bangolae: Paragraphs [0091], [0092]).
Regarding claim 50, the combination of Mallick, Xu, Burbidge, Wu, and Bangolae teaches the method of claim 49 (see rejection for claim 49);
Mallick further teaches wherein the configuration indicates downlink measurements to be performed by the remote UE; and wherein the selection criteria involve the downlink measurements (Paragraph [0191]: In order to properly determine by the remote UE when the Uu link is better again, the remote UE may for instance perform certain radio link measurements such as those involving RSRP and/or RSRQ, and/or pathloss information etc. A corresponding minimum threshold can be defined for each of the respective radio link measurements, which the Uu link must fulfill so as to be determined as being sufficiently good to switch back to. For example, each of the predefined threshold could be configured by the eNodeB, and corresponding information on the thresholds could be provided to the remote UE while it was still reachable via the Uu link (i.e. prior to performing the data switch to the PC5 link).)
and is signaled via at least one of: a system information block (SIB) from the network entity or radio resource control (RRC) signaling (Paragraph [0147]: These particular relay requirements may be defined e.g. by the eNodeB, or another responsible entity in the core network, such as MME or by the ProSe function itself. In this case, corresponding information on the particular relay requirements may be broadcast in the radio cell by the eNodeB, for instance in a suitable system information block (SIB). Alternatively, the requirements can be hardcoded in the UE, or preconfigured by the operator e.g. in USIM or configured by higher layer signalling including NAS (non-access stratum) signaling or provided by the eNB in a dedicated signaling message. Paragraph [0079]: The eNB may configure the UE to use a Type 1 resource pool or dedicated Type 2 resources for discovery information announcement via dedicated RRC signalling (or no resource).)
Regarding claim 51, the combination of Mallick, Xu, Burbidge, Wu, and Bangolae teaches the method of claim 49 (see rejection for claim 49);
The combination of Mallick, Burbidge, Wu, and Bangolae does not explicitly teach wherein: the network entity in the second path is different than the network entity of the first path.
However, Xu teaches wherein: the network entity in the second path is different than the network entity of the first path (Paragraph [0084]: The following describes a path switching process in which the remote UE is switched from a cellular link to a relay link in a layer 3 relay architecture, as shown in FIG. 3. A base station of the remote UE may be the same as or different from a base station of the relay UE. Paragraph [0135]: Referring to FIG. 5, an embodiment of the present invention provides a communication path switching method. In this embodiment of the present invention, a base station in a direct path and a base station in an indirect path are different base stations.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein: the network entity in the second path is different than the network entity of the first path, as taught by Xu in the combined system of Mallick, Burbidge, Wu, and Bangolae, so that communication scenarios involving handover can be addressed (Xu: Paragraph [0139]).
Regarding claim 52, the combination of Mallick, Xu, Burbidge, Wu, and Bangolae teaches the method of claim 49 (see rejection for claim 49);
Mallick does not explicitly teach wherein: the remote UE initiates the switch from the first path to the second path if relay selection criteria are met, based on measurements of downlink signals from the relay UE; and initiating the switch from the first path to the second path comprises sending the network entity assistance information.
However, Xu teaches wherein: the remote UE initiates the switch from the first path to the second path if relay selection criteria are met, and initiating the switch from the first path to the second path comprises sending the network entity assistance information (Paragraph [0083]: The remote UE may switch between the two connection modes or communication paths. For example, when quality of a link between one UE and a base station is relatively poor, the UE may be used as remote UE, and one relay UE nearby may be selected and used to connect to the base station. In this case, a direct connection manner needs to be switched to an indirect communication manner, to be specific, a Uu link needs to be switched to a relay link, as shown in FIG. 2A. Paragraph [0113], Fig 4: S405: After successfully establishing the communication connection to the selected eRelay UE, the eRemote UE sends a first message to the base station, where the first message is used to request the base station to perform communication path switching, to be specific, request to switch a communication path between the eRemote UE and the base station from the direct path to an indirect path used for communicating with the base station by using the eRelay UE. Then, the base station receives the first message. A base station before the path switching, namely, the base station in the direct path and a base station after the path switching, namely, the base station in the indirect path, may be a same base station, or may be different base stations. For example, the first message is an RRC message, and the RRC message carries at least one of the following information: path switching type: path switching from a cellular path to a relay path; an identifier of the eRelay UE that is selected by the eRemote UE and to which the eRemote UE establishes the communication connection; a cell identity of a serving cell of the eRelay UE that is selected by the eRemote UE and to which the eRemote UE establishes the communication connection; and a short-range communications technology between the eRemote UE and the eRelay UE, for example, an LTE sidelink technology, a Bluetooth technology, or a WLAN technology.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the remote UE initiates the switch from the first path to the second path if relay selection criteria are met, and initiating the switch from the first path to the second path comprises sending the network entity assistance information, as taught by Xu in the system of Mallick, so that the base station can be provided with the relay UE information in order to ensure service continuity before and after the switching process, and during handover (Xu: Paragraphs [0102], [0139]).
The combination of Mallick, Xu, Wu, and Bangolae does not explicitly teach that the remote UE initiates the switch from the first path to the second path if relay selection criteria are met, based on measurements of downlink signals from the relay UE.
However, Burbidge teaches that the remote UE initiates the switch from the first path to the second path if relay selection criteria are met, based on measurements of downlink signals from the relay UE (Paragraph [0120]: The Remote UE 106 decides to switch communication path from the direct path 108′ to an indirect path via Relay UE 1 104 a. This decision may be made by the Remote UE 106, for example it may be based on signal level/or quality measurements of the direct link 108′ to the eNB 102 and/or the link to Relay UE 1 104 a. Paragraph [0148]: The Remote UE 106 performs measurement reporting to the eNB 102. The reported measurement will at least include an indication that the remote UE 106 has discovered Relay UE 1 104 a and the identity of Relay UE 1. The reporting measurements may also include measurements of the signal level/or quality of the direct link to the eNB 102 and/or the link to Relay UE 1.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide that the remote UE initiates the switch from the first path to the second path if relay selection criteria are met, based on measurements of downlink signals from the relay UE, as taught by Burbidge in the combined system of Mallick, Xu, Wu, and Bangolae, so that remote UE can select a relay path (second path) via a relay UE and switch to the second path based on the quality of the link in the second path (Burbidge: Paragraph [0116]).
Regarding claim 53, the combination of Mallick, Xu, Burbidge, Wu, and Bangolae teaches the method of claim 52 (see rejection for claim 52);
The combination of Mallick, Burbidge, Wu, and Bangolae does not explicitly teach wherein the assistance information comprises at least one of: a cell ID of a serving cell of the relay UE, a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) of the relay UE, or a PC5 source layer 2 identifier (L2 ID) of the relay UE.
However, Xu teaches wherein the assistance information comprises at least one of: a cell ID of a serving cell of the relay UE, a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) of the relay UE, or a PC5 source layer 2 identifier (L2 ID) of the relay UE (Paragraph [0113]: For example, the first message is an RRC message, and the RRC message carries at least one of the following information: path switching type: path switching from a cellular path to a relay path; an identifier of the eRelay UE that is selected by the eRemote UE and to which the eRemote UE establishes the communication connection; a cell identity of a serving cell of the eRelay UE that is selected by the eRemote UE and to which the eRemote UE establishes the communication connection; and a short-range communications technology between the eRemote UE and the eRelay UE, for example, an LTE sidelink technology, a Bluetooth technology, or a WLAN technology. Paragraph [0224]: In detailed S805, after the eRelay UE receives the DIRECT_COMMUNICATION_REQUEST message sent by the eRemote UE, the eRelay UE allocates, to the eRemote UE, an identifier that can uniquely identify the eRemote UE on the eRelay UE, where the identifier is referred to as a first identifier, or referred to as a local identity (Local ID) of the eRemote UE. The eRelay UE sends the Sidelink UE Information message to the base station, where the Sidelink UE Information message may carry a layer-2 ID of the eRelay UE. In addition, the Sidelink UE Information message may further carry a correspondence between a layer-2 ID of the eRemote UE that sends the DIRECT_COMMUNICATION_REQUEST message to the eRelay UE and the local ID of the eRemote UE. In this way, the base station obtains the identifier of the eRemote UE, that is, the local ID.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the assistance information comprises at least one of: a cell ID of a serving cell of the relay UE, a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) of the relay UE, or a PC5 source layer 2 identifier (L2 ID) of the relay UE, as taught by Xu in the combined system of Mallick, Burbidge, Wu, and Bangolae, so that the base station can determine the identity of the serving cell of the relay UE (Xu: Paragraphs [0117], [0223]).
Regarding claim 54, the combination of Mallick, Xu, Burbidge, Wu, and Bangolae teaches the method of claim 52 further comprising (see rejection for claim 52);
The combination of Mallick, Burbidge, Wu, and Bangolae does not explicitly teach receiving radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration signaling from the network entity instructing the UE to connect to the relay UE.
However, Xu teaches receiving radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration signaling from the network entity instructing the UE to connect to the relay UE (Paragraph [0113]: S405: After successfully establishing the communication connection to the selected eRelay UE, the eRemote UE sends a first message to the base station, where the first message is used to request the base station to perform communication path switching, to be specific, request to switch a communication path between the eRemote UE and the base station from the direct path to an indirect path used for communicating with the base station by using the eRelay UE. Paragraph [0121]: S408: If the base station allows the eRemote UE to perform the communication path switching, the base station sends a second message to the eRemote UE, where the second message carries at least one of first bearer configuration information and first indication information that is used to instruct the eRemote UE to perform the communication path switching. The second indication information is used to instruct the eRemote UE to perform the communication path switching, and the first bearer configuration information includes radio bearer configuration information of the link between the eRemote UE and the eRelay UE and/or configuration information of a PDCP layer between the eRemote UE and the base station. Then, the eRemote UE receives the second message. For example, the second message is an RRC connection reconfiguration message.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide receiving radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration signaling from the network entity instructing the UE to connect to the relay UE, as taught by Xu in the combined system of Mallick, Burbidge, Wu, and Bangolae, so that the remote UE can perform the communication path switching (Xu: Paragraph [0113]).
Regarding claim 56, the combination of Mallick, Xu, Burbidge, Wu, and Bangolae teaches the method of claim 49 further comprising (see rejection for claim 49);
Mallick further teaches setting or modifying a PC5 unicast connection with the relay UE for relaying (Paragraph [0036]: In brief, ProSe direct one-to-one communication is realised by establishing a secure layer-2 link over PC5 between two UEs. Each UE has a Layer-2 ID for unicast communication that is included in the Source Layer-2 ID field of every frame that it sends on the layer-2 link and in the Destination Layer-2 ID of every frame that it receives on the layer-2 link. The UE needs to ensure that the Layer-2 ID for unicast communication is at least locally unique.)
The combination of Mallick, Burbidge, Wu, and Bangolae does not explicitly teach setting or modifying a PC5 unicast connection with the relay UE for relaying in response to receiving a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration signaling from the network entity.
However, Xu teaches setting or modifying a PC5 unicast connection with the relay UE for relaying in response to receiving a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration signaling from the network entity (Paragraph [0160]: The base station sends a second message to the eRemote UE, where the second message carries at least one of first bearer configuration information and first indication information that is used to instruct the eRemote UE to perform the communication path switching. The second indication information is used to instruct the eRemote UE to perform the communication path switching, and the first bearer configuration information includes radio bearer configuration information of a link between the eRemote UE and the eRelay UE. Then, the eRemote UE receives the second message. For example, the second message is an RRC connection reconfiguration message. Paragraph [0162]: After receiving the second message, the eRemote UE first establishes a communication connection to the eRelay UE selected by the eRemote UE.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide setting or modifying a PC5 unicast connection with the relay UE for relaying in response to receiving a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration signaling from the network entity, as taught by Xu in the combined system of Mallick, Burbidge, Wu, and Bangolae, so that the remote UE can perform communication path switching (Xu: Paragraph [0160]).
Regarding claim 58, the combination of Mallick, Xu, Burbidge, Wu, and Bangolae teaches the method of claim 49 (see rejection for claim 49);
Mallick does not explicitly teach wherein the remote UE initiates the switch from the first path to the second path if relay selection criteria are met, based on measurements of downlink signals from the relay UE; and initiating the switch from the first path to the second path comprises sending the network entity a measurement report indicating one or more relays and corresponding measurements.
However, Xu teaches wherein the remote UE initiates the switch from the first path to the second path if relay selection criteria are met, and initiating the switch from the first path to the second path comprises sending the network entity a measurement report indicating one or more relays (Paragraph [0083]: The remote UE may switch between the two connection modes or communication paths. For example, when quality of a link between one UE and a base station is relatively poor, the UE may be used as remote UE, and one relay UE nearby may be selected and used to connect to the base station. In this case, a direct connection manner needs to be switched to an indirect communication manner, to be specific, a Uu link needs to be switched to a relay link, as shown in FIG. 2A. Paragraph [0113], Fig 4: S405: After successfully establishing the communication connection to the selected eRelay UE, the eRemote UE sends a first message to the base station, where the first message is used to request the base station to perform communication path switching, to be specific, request to switch a communication path between the eRemote UE and the base station from the direct path to an indirect path used for communicating with the base station by using the eRelay UE. Then, the base station receives the first message. A base station before the path switching, namely, the base station in the direct path and a base station after the path switching, namely, the base station in the indirect path, may be a same base station, or may be different base stations. For example, the first message is an RRC message, and the RRC message carries at least one of the following information: path switching type: path switching from a cellular path to a relay path; an identifier of the eRelay UE that is selected by the eRemote UE and to which the eRemote UE establishes the communication connection; a cell identity of a serving cell of the eRelay UE that is selected by the eRemote UE and to which the eRemote UE establishes the communication connection; and a short-range communications technology between the eRemote UE and the eRelay UE, for example, an LTE sidelink technology, a Bluetooth technology, or a WLAN technology.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the remote UE initiates the switch from the first path to the second path if relay selection criteria are met, and initiating the switch from the first path to the second path comprises sending the network entity a measurement report indicating one or more relays, as taught by Xu in the system of Mallick, so that the base station can be provided with the relay UE information in order to ensure service continuity before and after the switching process, and during handover (Xu: Paragraphs [0102], [0139]).
The combination of Mallick, Xu, Wu, and Bangolae does not explicitly teach that the remote UE initiates the switch from the first path to the second path if relay selection criteria are met, based on measurements of downlink signals from the relay UE; sending the network entity a measurement report indicating one or more relays and corresponding measurements.
However, Burbidge teaches that the remote UE initiates the switch from the first path to the second path if relay selection criteria are met, based on measurements of downlink signals from the relay UE; sending the network entity a measurement report indicating one or more relays and corresponding measurements (Paragraph [0120]: The Remote UE 106 decides to switch communication path from the direct path 108′ to an indirect path via Relay UE 1 104 a. This decision may be made by the Remote UE 106, for example it may be based on signal level/or quality measurements of the direct link 108′ to the eNB 102 and/or the link to Relay UE 1 104 a. Paragraph [0148]: The Remote UE 106 performs measurement reporting to the eNB 102. The reported measurement will at least include an indication that the remote UE 106 has discovered Relay UE 1 104 a and the identity of Relay UE 1. The reporting measurements may also include measurements of the signal level/or quality of the direct link to the eNB 102 and/or the link to Relay UE 1.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide that the remote UE initiates the switch from the first path to the second path if relay selection criteria are met, based on measurements of downlink signals from the relay UE; sending the network entity a measurement report indicating one or more relays and corresponding measurements, as taught by Burbidge in the combined system of Mallick, Xu, Wu, and Bangolae, so that remote UE can select a relay path (second path) via a relay UE and switch to the second path based on the quality of the link in the second path (Burbidge: Paragraph [0116]).
Regarding claim 59, the combination of Mallick, Xu, Burbidge, Wu, and Bangolae teaches the method of claim 58 further comprising (see rejection for claim 58);
The combination of Mallick, Burbidge, Wu, and Bangolae does not explicitly teach receiving radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration signaling from the network entity instructing the UE to connect to one of the relays indicated in the measurement report.
However, Xu teaches receiving radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration signaling from the network entity instructing the UE to connect to one of the relays indicated in the measurement report (Paragraph [0113]: After successfully establishing the communication connection to the selected eRelay UE, the eRemote UE sends a first message to the base station, where the first message is used to request the base station to perform communication path switching, to be specific, request to switch a communication path between the eRemote UE and the base station from the direct path to an indirect path used for communicating with the base station by using the eRelay UE. Then, the base station receives the first message. For example, the first message is an RRC message, and the RRC message carries at least one of the following information: path switching type: path switching from a cellular path to a relay path; an identifier of the eRelay UE that is selected by the eRemote UE and to which the eRemote UE establishes the communication connection; a cell identity of a serving cell of the eRelay UE that is selected by the eRemote UE and to which the eRemote UE establishes the communication connection. Paragraph [0114]: The base station sends a fourth message to the eRelay UE, where the fourth message carries… an identifier of the eRemote UE. The second indication information is used to instruct the eRelay UE to provide the eRemote UE with indirect-path support. Paragraph [0117]: After receiving the first message, the base station determines, based on the cell identity of the serving cell of the eRelay UE that is included in the first message that the serving cell of the eRelay UE belongs to the local base station or belongs to another adjacent base station. Then, the base station determines, based on the identifier of the eRelay UE that is included in the first message, which UE is the eRelay UE connected to the eRemote UE. If the base station allows the eRemote UE to perform the communication path switching, the base station sends the RRC connection reconfiguration message to the eRelay UE. Paragraph [0121]: If the base station allows the eRemote UE to perform the communication path switching, the base station sends a second message to the eRemote UE, where the second message carries at least one of first bearer configuration information and first indication information that is used to instruct the eRemote UE to perform the communication path switching. The second indication information is used to instruct the eRemote UE to perform the communication path switching, and the first bearer configuration information includes radio bearer configuration information of the link between the eRemote UE and the eRelay UE and/or configuration information of a PDCP layer between the eRemote UE and the base station. Then, the eRemote UE receives the second message. For example, the second message is an RRC connection reconfiguration message.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide receiving radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration signaling from the network entity instructing the UE to connect to one of the relays indicated in the measurement report, as taught by Xu in the combined system of Mallick, Burbidge, Wu, and Bangolae, so that the remote UE can perform communication path switching to a relay UE included in the report (Xu: Paragraphs [0113], [0117], [0121]).
Regarding claim 60, the combination of Mallick, Xu, Burbidge, Wu, and Bangolae teaches the method of claim 59 (see rejection of claim 59);
The combination of Mallick, Burbidge, Wu, and Bangolae does not explicitly teach wherein, if the RRC signaling also indicates the remote UE is to release connections associated with the first path, the remote UE releases connections associated with the first path.
However, Xu teaches wherein, if the RRC signaling also indicates the remote UE is to release connections associated with the first path, the remote UE releases connections associated with the first path (Paragraph [0123]: The eRemote UE configures a corresponding radio bearer based on the second message, and after completing RRC connection reconfiguration, the eRemote UE sends an RRC connection reconfiguration complete message to the base station by using the eRelay UE. Then, the base station receives the RRC connection reconfiguration complete message, and the eRemote UE stops data transmission performed between the eRemote UE and the base station by using the direct path, to be specific, disconnects the direct path from the base station. Afterwards, the eRemote UE starts data transmission with the base station by using the eRelay UE.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein, if the RRC signaling also indicates the remote UE is to release connections associated with the first path, the remote UE releases connections associated with the first path, as taught by Xu in the combined system of Mallick, Burbidge, Wu, and Bangolae, so that the remote UE can start data transmission using the relay UE (Xu: Paragraph [0123]).
Regarding claim 61, the combination of Mallick, Xu, Burbidge, Wu, and Bangolae teaches the method of claim 60 (see rejection of claim 60);
The combination of Mallick, Burbidge, Wu, and Bangolae does not explicitly teach wherein, if the RRC signaling indicates the remote UE is to release connections associated with the first path, the remote UE releases the connections associated with the first path before connecting with the relay UE via the second path.
However, Xu teaches wherein, if the RRC signaling indicates the remote UE is to release
connections associated with the first path, the remote UE releases the connections associated with the first path before connecting with the relay UE via the second path (Paragraph [0149]: After receiving the seventh message sent by the second base station, the first base station sends a second message to the eRemote UE, where the second message is used to instruct the eRemote UE to perform the communication path switching. The second message carries information carried in the seventh message. For example, the second message is an RRC connection reconfiguration message. Paragraph [0150]: After receiving the second message, the eRemote UE configures a corresponding radio bearer based on the second message, and after completing RRC connection reconfiguration, the eRemote UE sends an RRC connection reconfiguration complete message to the second base station by using the eRelay UE. Then, the second base station receives the RRC connection reconfiguration complete message, and the eRemote UE stops data transmission performed between the eRemote UE and the first base station by using the direct path, to be specific, disconnects the direct path from the base station. Afterwards, the eRemote UE starts data transmission with the second base station by using the eRelay UE.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein, if the RRC signaling indicates the remote UE is to release connections associated with the first path, the remote UE releases the connections associated with the first path before connecting with the relay UE via the second path, as taught by Xu in the combined system of Mallick, Burbidge, Wu, and Bangolae, so that the remote UE can perform communication path switching in situations where the serving cell of the relay UE is a cell of another base station (Xu: Paragraph [0139]).
Regarding claim 65, Mallick teaches a method for wireless communication by a network entity, comprising: receiving signaling from a remote user equipment (UE) indicating selection criteria for mobility procedures, for a switch between a first path whereby the remote UE is connected directly to the network entity and a second path whereby the remote UE is connected to the network entity via one of a relay UE, are met (Paragraph [0185]: For example, a remote UE may start transmitting data over the PC5 link if the corresponding Uu link quality between the remote UE and the radio base station falls below a specific configured threshold. As a still further alternative, a remote UE may be configured to immediately start transmitting data over the PC5 link after having successfully established the layer-2 link with the relay UE. Paragraph [0186]: the remote UE may inform the eNodeB about the path switch to the PC5, such that the eNodeB in turn may be able to release and deconfigure existing data bearers such that the communication of the remote UE now continues to be relayed to the remote UE via the relay UE. Paragraph [0189]: Further solutions are provided to successfully move the UE's connection from the PC5 link back to the Uu link. In this regard, it is now assumed that the relay UE is acting as the relay for the remote UE such that the communication of the remote UE is relayed between the eNodeB and the remote UE via the relay UE. According to one solution, a handover-like procedure could be used to move the remote user back to the Uu link. In particular, the remote UE may send the usual measurement reports to the eNodeB via the relay connection. A corresponding handover message (such as the RRCConnectionReconfiguration message with the MobilityControlInfo of TS 36.331, current version 12.6.0, incorporated herein by reference) could be sent by the eNodeB via the relay UE to the remote UE. In this particular case, the Uu link to which it should be switched back could belong to the same old (source) cell or could belong to any other neighbor cell. Paragraph [0190]-[0194]: On the other hand, as mentioned before, the remote UE may switch back to using the Uu link (instead of the PC5 interface link) when the Uu link quality is sufficiently good. In said case, the RRC connection establishment procedure can be performed by the remote UE, advantageously indicating as the cause of the connection establishment that the remote UE would like to move from the PC5 interface to the Uu interface. Paragraph [0191]: In order to properly determine by the remote UE when the Uu link is better again, the remote UE may for instance perform certain radio link measurements such as those involving RSRP and/or RSRQ, and/or pathloss information etc. A corresponding minimum threshold can be defined for each of the respective radio link measurements, which the Uu link must fulfill so as to be determined as being sufficiently good to switch back to. For example, each of the predefined threshold could be configured by the eNodeB, and corresponding information on the thresholds could be provided to the remote UE while it was still reachable via the Uu link (i.e. prior to performing the data switch to the PC5 link))
maintaining the first path with the remote UE while the remote UE connects via the second path (Paragraph [0193]: For instance, the old measurement configuration, received previously when being connected to the eNodeB via the Uu link, can be maintained after the PC5 data switch and thus may be used for measuring the Uu link even when the remote user equipment is on the PC 5 link.)
Mallick does not explicitly teach whereby the remote UE is connected to the network entity via
one of a plurality of relay UEs; taking action to assist the remote UE with the switch between the first path and the second path by transmitting an indication of a relay UE from the plurality of relay UEs selected for the second path based on the measurements of the plurality of relay UEs.
However, Xu teaches whereby the remote UE is connected to the network entity via one of a
plurality of relay UEs; taking action to assist the remote UE with the switch between the first path and the second path by transmitting an indication of a relay UE from the plurality of relay UEs selected for the second path based on the measurements of the plurality of relay UEs (Paragraph [0083]: The remote UE may switch between the two connection modes or communication paths. For example, when quality of a link between one UE and a base station is relatively poor, the UE may be used as remote UE, and one relay UE nearby may be selected and used to connect to the base station. In this case, a direct connection manner needs to be switched to an indirect communication manner, to be specific, a Uu link needs to be switched to a relay link, as shown in FIG. 2A. Paragraph [0086]: S301: If the remote UE determines that channel quality of a Uu link is less than a threshold configured by the base station, the remote UE triggers a path switching process. The remote UE first triggers a relay UE discovery process. This process may also be considered as a process in which the remote UE and the relay UE discover each other. Paragraph [0087]: For example, if the remote UE sends a broadcast message, relay UE that receives this broadcast message may return a response to the remote UE, and the remote UE determines that the relay UE is discovered. Alternatively, relay UE proactively sends a broadcast message. If the remote UE receives this broadcast message, the remote UE determines that the relay UE is discovered. Paragraph [0088]: S302: If the remote UE discovers one or more relay UEs that meet a condition, the remote UE selects one from the relay UEs. Paragraph [0113]: S405: After successfully establishing the communication connection to the selected eRelay UE, the eRemote UE sends a first message to the base station, where the first message is used to request the base station to perform communication path switching, to be specific, request to switch a communication path between the eRemote UE and the base station from the direct path to an indirect path used for communicating with the base station by using the eRelay UE. Paragraph [0121]: S408: If the base station allows the eRemote UE to perform the communication path switching, the base station sends a second message to the eRemote UE, where the second message carries at least one of first bearer configuration information and first indication information that is used to instruct the eRemote UE to perform the communication path switching. The second indication information is used to instruct the eRemote UE to perform the communication path switching, and the first bearer configuration information includes radio bearer configuration information of the link between the eRemote UE and the eRelay UE and/or configuration information of a PDCP layer between the eRemote UE and the base station. Then, the eRemote UE receives the second message. For example, the second message is an RRC connection reconfiguration message.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide whereby the remote UE is connected to the network entity via one of a plurality of relay UEs; taking action to assist the remote UE with the switch between the first path and the second path by transmitting an indication of a relay UE from the plurality of relay UEs selected for the second path based on the measurements of the plurality of relay UEs, as taught by Xu in the system of Mallick, so that the network entity can assist the remote UE to perform the communication path switching (Xu: Paragraph [0113]).
The combination of Mallick and Xu does not explicitly teach receiving signaling from a remote user equipment (UE) indicating selection criteria for mobility procedures are met; receiving measurements comprising sidelink link quality measurements of the plurality of relay UEs from the remote UE; transmitting an indication to the remote UE of a relay UE from the plurality of relay UEs.
However, Burbidge teaches receiving signaling from a remote user equipment (UE) indicating selection criteria for mobility procedures are met; receiving measurements comprising sidelink link quality measurements of the plurality of relay UEs from the remote UE; transmitting an indication to the remote UE of a relay UE from the plurality of relay UEs (Paragraph [0146]: 1—The remote UE 106 establishes an RRC Connection with the eNB 102. Paragraph [0147]: 2—The Remote UE 106 discovers that it is in proximity of Relay UE 1 104 a. Paragraph [0148]: 3—The Remote UE 106 performs measurement reporting to the eNB 102. The reported measurement will at least include an indication that the remote UE 106 has discovered Relay UE 1 104 a and the identity of Relay UE 1. The reporting measurements may also include measurements of the signal level/or quality of the direct link to the eNB 102 and/or the link to Relay UE 1. Configuration parameters to control the measurement reporting may have been previously provided by the eNB 102 to the Remote UE 106. Paragraph [0149]: 4—The eNB 102 decides that the remote UE 106 is to switch communication path from the direct path 108′ to an indirect path via Relay UE 1 104 a. This decision may be made based on the information contained in the measurement report. Paragraph [0150]: 5—The eNB 102 sends a message (e.g. an RRC Connection Reconfiguration message) to the Remote UE 106. This message contain a command that the Remote UE should switch its traffic to a relay UE with the Relay UE ID indicated in the message. The Remote UE may send a response message (e.g. an RRC Connection Reconfiguration Complete message) to confirm successful receipt of the command. Paragraph [0161]: 19—The Remote UE 106 continues to perform measurement reporting to the eNB 102 to provide update measurement information on the signal strength/quality of the links to the Relay UEs and the direct link to the eNB 102. Paragraph [0167]: The approach illustrated in FIG. 12 assumes that only a single Relay UE is used at any time. However, in some embodiments the approach could easily be extended to support more than one Relay UE at the same time as shown in FIG. 12. The remote UE 106 could be directed to establish relay connection with more than one Relay UE and then decide on a more dynamic basis (e.g. every few 100 ms or in the most extreme case every packet) the path on which to route the traffic. The possible Relay UEs that may be used for routing traffic may be referred to as a ‘Relay UE candidate set’. Also see claim 50 of Burbidge: obtain a measurement reporting message from the remote UE, the measurement reporting message including an indication of at least two relay UE in proximity to the remote UE.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide receiving signaling from a remote user equipment (UE) indicating selection criteria for mobility procedures are met; receiving measurements comprising sidelink link quality measurements of the plurality of relay UEs from the remote UE; transmitting an indication to the remote UE of a relay UE from the plurality of relay UEs, as taught by Burbidge in the combined system of Mallick and Xu, so that remote UE can select a relay path (second path) via a relay UE and switch to the second path based on the quality of the link in the second path as indicated by the network entity based on the measurements provided by the remote UE (Burbidge: Paragraph [0146] – [0150]).
The combination of Mallick, Xu, and Burbidge does not explicitly teach receiving identifiers (IDs) of serving cells of the plurality of relay UEs from the remote UE; transmitting an indication to the remote UE of a relay UE based on the IDs of the serving cells of plurality of relay UEs.
However, Wu teaches receiving identifiers (IDs) of serving cells of the plurality of relay UEs from the remote UE; transmitting an indication to the remote UE of a relay UE based on the IDs of the serving cells of plurality of relay UEs (Paragraph [0019]: a relay selection apparatus, applicable to a remote terminal, the apparatus including. Paragraph [0020]: a receiving unit configured to receive relay discovery information transmitted by relay equipment, the relay discovery information including identifier information (relay UE IDs) of the relay equipment and identifier information (cell IDs) of serving cells of the relay equipment. Paragraph [0071]: In this embodiment, as the relay discovery information contains the identifier information of the serving cells of the relay equipment, for a remote terminal in coverage of a cell, it may measure sidelink channel quality for all discovered relay equipment, ….may report the sidelink channel quality to an eNB, and the eNB selects appropriate relay equipment for it. Paragraph [0087]: In this implementation, the remote terminal may also report the measurement result to the eNB, and the eNB selects appropriate relay equipment for it. For example, the remote terminal reports the relay information on all the discovered relay equipment to the eNB, the relay information containing IDs of all the discovered relay equipment, measurement results corresponding to the individual relay equipment and the IDs of the serving cells of the relay equipment. Based on the measurement results, the eNB may help the remote terminal to select appropriate relay equipment. Therefore, the remote terminal may take the relay equipment selected by the eNB for it as its relay equipment. Paragraph [0102]: In another implementation of this embodiment, the relay information may include: an IDs of relay equipment discovered by the remote terminal, a measurement result of the discovered relay equipment and IDs of serving cells of the discovered relay equipment. Paragraph [0103]: In this implementation, the eNB may select relay equipment for the remote terminal from the relay equipment discovered by the remote terminal according to the relay information.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide receiving identifiers (IDs) of serving cells of the plurality of relay UEs from the remote UE; transmitting an indication to the remote UE of a relay UE based on the IDs of the serving cells of plurality of relay UEs, as taught by Wu in the combined system of Mallick, Xu, and Burbidge, so that eNB may select the appropriate relay UE for the remote UE from the relay equipment discovered by the remote UE according to the relay information (Wu: Paragraphs [0071], [0087], [0102], [0103]).
The combination of Mallick, Xu, Burbidge, and Wu does not explicitly teach maintaining the first path with the remote UE while the remote UE connects via the second path; and receiving from the remote UE, via the first path, an indication that a connection via the second path has been successfully established.
However, Bangolae teaches maintaining the first path with the remote UE while the remote UE connects via the second path; and receiving from the remote UE, via the first path, an indication that a connection via the second path has been successfully established (Paragraph [0091]: FIG. 13 illustrates exemplary signaling that enables a relay user equipment (UE) 1320 to act as a relay between an eNodeB 1330 and a remote UE 1310. Paragraph [0092]: In one example, the remote UE 1310 can transmit a newly defined message or an existing message (e.g., a sidelink UE information message) to the eNodeB 1330 to inform the eNodeB 1330 that the remote UE 1310 has established a relay-based connection with the relay UE 1320. The remote UE 1310 can transmit the sidelink UE information message since the remote UE 1310 is still in-coverage of the eNodeB 1330. In addition, the sidelink UE information message can indicate the remote UE's desire to be released from direct communications with the eNodeB 1330. Therefore, the connection between the remote UE 1310 and the eNodeB 1320 (i.e., the Uu connection) can be released, and the remote UE 1310 may only be connected with the relay UE 1320. Therefore, in this configuration, the release of the Uu connection can be initiated by the remote UE 1310.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide maintaining the first path with the remote UE while the remote UE connects via the second path; and receiving from the remote UE, via the first path, an indication that a connection via the second path has been successfully established, as taught by Bangolae in the combined system of Mallick, Xu, Burbidge, and Wu, so that the remote UE can inform the network entity via the direct path (Uu path) that the switch to the indirect path was successful, and that a release of the Uu connection can now be initiated (Bangolae: Paragraphs [0091], [0092]).
Regarding claim 66, the combination of Mallick, Xu, Burbidge, Wu, and Bangolae teaches the method of claim 65 (see rejection for claim 65);
Mallick does not explicitly teach wherein: the remote UE sends the signaling to initiates the switch from the first path to the second path if relay selection criteria are met, based on measurements of downlink signals from the relay UE; and the signaling comprises assistance information.
However, Xu teaches wherein the remote UE sends the signaling to initiates the switch from the first path to the second path if relay selection criteria are met, and the signaling comprises assistance information (see rejection for claim 52);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the remote UE sends the signaling to initiates the switch from the first path to the second path if relay selection criteria are met, and the signaling comprises assistance information, as taught by Xu in the system of Mallick, so that the base station can be provided with the relay UE information in order to ensure service continuity before and after the switching process, and during handover (Xu: Paragraphs [0102], [0139]).
The combination of Mallick, Xu, Wu, and Bangolae does not explicitly teach that the remote UE sends the signaling, based on measurements of downlink signals from the relay UE.
However, Burbidge teaches that the remote UE sends the signaling, based on measurements of downlink signals from the relay UE (Paragraph [0120]: The Remote UE 106 decides to switch communication path from the direct path 108′ to an indirect path via Relay UE 1 104 a. This decision may be made by the Remote UE 106, for example it may be based on signal level/or quality measurements of the direct link 108′ to the eNB 102 and/or the link to Relay UE 1 104 a. Paragraph [0148]: The Remote UE 106 performs measurement reporting to the eNB 102. The reported measurement will at least include an indication that the remote UE 106 has discovered Relay UE 1 104 a and the identity of Relay UE 1. The reporting measurements may also include measurements of the signal level/or quality of the direct link to the eNB 102 and/or the link to Relay UE 1.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide that the remote UE sends the signaling, based on measurements of downlink signals from the relay UE, as taught by Burbidge in the combined system of Mallick, Xu, Wu, and Bangolae, so that remote UE can select a relay path (second path) via a relay UE and switch to the second path based on the quality of the link in the second path (Burbidge: Paragraph [0116]).
Regarding claim 67, the combination of Mallick, Xu, Burbidge, Wu, and Bangolae teaches the method of claim 66 (see rejection for claim 66);
The combination of Mallick, Burbidge, Wu, and Bangolae does not explicitly teach wherein the assistance information comprises at least one of: a cell ID of a serving cell of the relay UE, a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) of the relay UE, or a PC5 source layer 2 identifier (L2 ID) of the relay UE.
However, Xu teaches wherein the assistance information comprises at least one of: a cell ID of a serving cell of the relay UE, a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) of the relay UE, or a PC5 source layer 2 identifier (L2 ID) of the relay UE (see rejection for claim 53);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the assistance information comprises at least one of: a cell ID of a serving cell of the relay UE, a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) of the relay UE, or a PC5 source layer 2 identifier (L2 ID) of the relay UE, as taught by Xu in the combined system of Mallick, Burbidge, Wu, and Bangolae, so that the base station can determine the identity of the serving cell of the relay UE (Xu: Paragraphs [0117], [0223]).
Regarding claim 68, the combination of Mallick, Xu, Burbidge, Wu, and Bangolae teaches the method of claim 66 further comprising (see rejection for claim 66);
The combination of Mallick, Burbidge, Wu, and Bangolae does not explicitly teach sending a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration signaling indicating relaying configuration to the relay UE, prior to sending the RRC reconfiguration signaling to the remote UE instructing the remote UE to connect to the relay UE.
However, Xu teaches sending a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration signaling indicating relaying configuration to the relay UE, prior to sending the RRC reconfiguration signaling to the remote UE instructing the remote UE to connect to the relay UE (Paragraph [0113], Fig 4: S405: After successfully establishing the communication connection to the selected eRelay UE, the eRemote UE sends a first message to the base station, where the first message is used to request the base station to perform communication path switching, to be specific, request to switch a communication path between the eRemote UE and the base station from the direct path to an indirect path used for communicating with the base station by using the eRelay UE. Paragraph [0114]: S406: The base station sends a fourth message to the eRelay UE, where the fourth message carries third bearer configuration information and an identifier of the eRemote UE. In addition, the fourth message further carries second bearer configuration information and/or second indication information. The second indication information is used to instruct the eRelay UE to provide the eRemote UE with indirect-path support. The second bearer configuration information and the third bearer configuration information are used by the eRelay UE to configure radio bearers. Then, the eRelay UE receives the fourth message. For example, the fourth message is an RRC connection reconfiguration message. The RRC connection reconfiguration message is used to configure, for the eRelay UE, a radio bearer used for carrying control signaling and user-plane data of the eRemote UE. Paragraph [0121]: S408: If the base station allows the eRemote UE to perform the communication path switching, the base station sends a second message to the eRemote UE, where the second message carries at least one of first bearer configuration information and first indication information that is used to instruct the eRemote UE to perform the communication path switching. The second indication information is used to instruct the eRemote UE to perform the communication path switching, and the first bearer configuration information includes radio bearer configuration information of the link between the eRemote UE and the eRelay UE. Then, the eRemote UE receives the second message. For example, the second message is an RRC connection reconfiguration message.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide sending a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration signaling indicating relaying configuration to the relay UE, prior to sending the RRC reconfiguration signaling to the remote UE instructing the remote UE to connect to the relay UE, as taught by Xu in the combined system of Mallick, Burbidge, Wu, and Bangolae, so that the remote UE can perform the communication path switching (Xu: Paragraph [0113]).
Regarding claim 70, the combination of Mallick, Xu, Burbidge, Wu, and Bangolae teaches the method of claim 65 (see rejection for claim 65);
Mallick does not explicitly teach wherein: the remote UE sends the signaling to initiate the switch from the first path to the second path if relay selection criteria are met, based on measurements of downlink signals from the relay UE; and the signaling comprises a measurement report indicating one or more relays and corresponding measurements.
However, Xu teaches wherein the remote UE sends the signaling to initiate the switch from the first path to the second path if relay selection criteria are met, and the signaling comprises a measurement report indicating one or more relays (Paragraph [0083]: The remote UE may switch between the two connection modes or communication paths. For example, when quality of a link between one UE and a base station is relatively poor, the UE may be used as remote UE, and one relay UE nearby may be selected and used to connect to the base station. In this case, a direct connection manner needs to be switched to an indirect communication manner, to be specific, a Uu link needs to be switched to a relay link, as shown in FIG. 2A. Paragraph [0113], Fig 4: S405: After successfully establishing the communication connection to the selected eRelay UE, the eRemote UE sends a first message to the base station, where the first message is used to request the base station to perform communication path switching, to be specific, request to switch a communication path between the eRemote UE and the base station from the direct path to an indirect path used for communicating with the base station by using the eRelay UE. Then, the base station receives the first message. A base station before the path switching, namely, the base station in the direct path and a base station after the path switching, namely, the base station in the indirect path, may be a same base station, or may be different base stations. For example, the first message is an RRC message, and the RRC message carries at least one of the following information: path switching type: path switching from a cellular path to a relay path; an identifier of the eRelay UE that is selected by the eRemote UE and to which the eRemote UE establishes the communication connection; a cell identity of a serving cell of the eRelay UE that is selected by the eRemote UE and to which the eRemote UE establishes the communication connection; and a short-range communications technology between the eRemote UE and the eRelay UE, for example, an LTE sidelink technology, a Bluetooth technology, or a WLAN technology.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the remote UE sends the signaling to initiate the switch from the first path to the second path if relay selection criteria are met, and the signaling comprises a measurement report indicating one or more relays, as taught by Xu in the system of Mallick, so that the base station can be provided with the relay UE information in order to ensure service continuity before and after the switching process, and during handover (Xu: Paragraphs [0102], [0139]).
The combination of Mallick, Xu, Wu, and Bangolae does not explicitly teach that the remote UE sends the signaling to initiate the switch based on measurements of downlink signals from the relay UE; and the signaling comprises a measurement report indicating one or more relays and corresponding measurements.
However, Burbidge teaches that the remote UE sends the signaling to initiate the switch based on measurements of downlink signals from the relay UE; and the signaling comprises a measurement report indicating one or more relays and corresponding measurements (Paragraph [0120]: The Remote UE 106 decides to switch communication path from the direct path 108′ to an indirect path via Relay UE 1 104 a. This decision may be made by the Remote UE 106, for example it may be based on signal level/or quality measurements of the direct link 108′ to the eNB 102 and/or the link to Relay UE 1 104 a. Paragraph [0148]: The Remote UE 106 performs measurement reporting to the eNB 102. The reported measurement will at least include an indication that the remote UE 106 has discovered Relay UE 1 104 a and the identity of Relay UE 1. The reporting measurements may also include measurements of the signal level/or quality of the direct link to the eNB 102 and/or the link to Relay UE 1.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide that the remote UE sends the signaling to initiate the switch based on measurements of downlink signals from the relay UE; and the signaling comprises a measurement report indicating one or more relays and corresponding measurements, as taught by Burbidge in the combined system of Mallick, Xu, Wu, and Bangolae, so that remote UE can select a relay path (second path) via a relay UE and switch to the second path based on the quality of the link in the second path (Burbidge: Paragraph [0116]).
Regarding claim 72, the combination of Mallick, Xu, Burbidge, Wu, and Bangolae teaches the method of claim 70 (see rejection for claim 70);
The combination of Mallick, Burbidge, Wu, and Bangolae does not explicitly teach wherein, if the RRC signaling also indicates the remote UE is to release connections associated with the first path, the remote UE releases connections associated with the first path.
However, Xu teaches wherein, if the RRC signaling also indicates the remote UE is to release connections associated with the first path, the remote UE releases connections associated with the first path (Paragraph [0123]: The eRemote UE configures a corresponding radio bearer based on the second message, and after completing RRC connection reconfiguration, the eRemote UE sends an RRC connection reconfiguration complete message to the base station by using the eRelay UE. Then, the base station receives the RRC connection reconfiguration complete message, and the eRemote UE stops data transmission performed between the eRemote UE and the base station by using the direct path, to be specific, disconnects the direct path from the base station. Afterwards, the eRemote UE starts data transmission with the base station by using the eRelay UE.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein, if the RRC signaling also indicates the remote UE is to release connections associated with the first path, the remote UE releases connections associated with the first path, as taught by Xu in the combined system of Mallick, Burbidge, Wu, and Bangolae, so that the remote UE can start data transmission using the relay UE (Xu: Paragraph [0123]).
Regarding claim 76, the combination of Mallick, Xu, Burbidge, Wu, and Bangolae teaches the method of claim 65 further comprising (see rejection for claim 65);
The combination of Mallick, Burbidge, Wu, and Bangolae does not explicitly teach sending, to a target network entity, an indication indicating a configuration of the remote UE, a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) of the relay UE and the remote UE, and a PC5 source layer 2 identifier (L2 ID) of the relay UE and the remote UE.
However, Xu teaches sending, to a target network entity, an indication indicating a configuration of the remote UE, a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) of the relay UE and the remote UE, and a PC5 source layer 2 identifier (L2 ID) of the relay UE and the remote UE (Paragraph [0113]: For example, the first message is an RRC message, and the RRC message carries at least one of the following information: path switching type: path switching from a cellular path to a relay path; an identifier of the eRelay UE that is selected by the eRemote UE and to which the eRemote UE establishes the communication connection; a cell identity of a serving cell of the eRelay UE that is selected by the eRemote UE and to which the eRemote UE establishes the communication connection; and a short-range communications technology between the eRemote UE and the eRelay UE, for example, an LTE sidelink technology, a Bluetooth technology, or a WLAN technology. Paragraph [0224]: In detailed S805, after the eRelay UE receives the DIRECT_COMMUNICATION_REQUEST message sent by the eRemote UE, the eRelay UE allocates, to the eRemote UE, an identifier that can uniquely identify the eRemote UE on the eRelay UE, where the identifier is referred to as a first identifier, or referred to as a local identity (Local ID) of the eRemote UE. The eRelay UE sends the Sidelink UE Information message to the base station, where the Sidelink UE Information message may carry a layer-2 ID of the eRelay UE. In addition, the Sidelink UE Information message may further carry a correspondence between a layer-2 ID of the eRemote UE that sends the DIRECT_COMMUNICATION_REQUEST message to the eRelay UE and the local ID of the eRemote UE. In this way, the base station obtains the identifier of the eRemote UE, that is, the local ID. Paragraph [0229]: In detailed S805, after receiving the DIRECT_COMMUNICATION_REQUEST message sent by the eRemote UE, the eRelay UE sends the Sidelink UE Information message to the base station. The Sidelink UE Information message includes a layer-2 ID of the eRelay UE and a layer-2 ID of the eRemote UE that sends the Direct_Connection_request message to the eRelay UE. Paragraph [0239]: n detailed S808, the eRemote UE sends the first message to the base station. The first message includes the C-RNTI of the eRelay UE that establishes the sidelink connection to the eRemote UE. In addition, the first message may further include the layer-2 ID of the eRemote UE. Paragraph [0252]: In detailed S805, the eRelay UE sends the Sidelink UE Information message to the base station. The Sidelink UE Information message includes the C-RNTI of the eRemote UE that sends the DIRECT_COMMUNICATION_REQUEST message to the eRelay UE. In addition, the Sidelink UE Information message further includes a layer-2 ID of the eRemote UE that sends the DIRECT_COMMUNICATION_REQUEST message to the eRelay UE.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide sending, to a target network entity, an indication indicating a configuration of the remote UE, a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) of the relay UE and the remote UE, and a PC5 source layer 2 identifier (L2 ID) of the relay UE and the remote UE, as taught by Xu in the combined system of Mallick, Burbidge, Wu, and Bangolae, so that the network entity can determine the identity of the serving cell of the relay UE and remote UE (Xu: Paragraphs [0117], [0223]).
Regarding claim 77, Mallick teaches an apparatus for wireless communication by a remote user equipment (UE), comprising: a receiver (Paragraph [0213]: the processor determines, after the receiver receives the broadcast message and before the processor activates the relay functionality, whether radio resources are already configured for the relay user equipment to perform a relay discovery procedure to announce its presence as a relay. In case the processor determines that no radio resources are already configured for the relay user equipment to perform the relay discovery procedure, the processor requests from the radio base station radio resources to perform the relay discovery procedure, and the receiver receives from the radio base station information on whether and which radio resources are assigned to perform the relay discovery procedure.)
configured to receive signaling for a configuration of selection criteria for mobility procedures for a switch between a first path whereby the remote UE is connected directly to a network entity and a second path whereby the remote UE is connected to the network entity via one of a relay UE (see rejection for claim 49);
and one or more processors configured, individually or in any combination (Paragraph [0218]: the processor determines whether at least one of the following relay requirements is fulfilled. A minimum and/or maximum threshold for a radio link quality of a link between the relay user equipment and the radio base station, preferably wherein the radio link quality is determined based on a reference signal receive power, RSRP, and/or a reference signal received quality, RSRQ; a maximum threshold for a movement level of the relay user equipment)
configured to take action to initiate the switch between the first path and the second path if the selection criteria are met; wherein initiating the switch comprises maintaining the first path while connecting to the relay UE via the second path (see rejection for claim 49).
Mallick does not explicitly teach whereby the remote UE is connected to the network entity via one of a plurality of relay UEs; a memory comprising instructions; execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to; transmitting measurements of the plurality of relay UEs; receive an indication of a relay UE from the plurality of relay UEs that is selected for the second path based on the measurements of the plurality of relay UEs; and initiate the switch between the first path and the second path.
However, Xu teaches whereby the remote UE is connected to the network entity via one of a plurality of relay UEs; a memory comprising instructions; execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to; receive an indication of a relay UE from the plurality of relay UEs that is selected for the second path based on the measurements of the plurality of relay UEs; and initiate the switch between the first path and the second path (Paragraph [0357]: The memory 1103 may be a read-only memory (read-only memory, ROM) or another type of static storage device that can store static information and instructions, a random access memory (random access memory, RAM) or another type of dynamic storage device that can store information and instructions. Also see rejection for claim 49).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide whereby the remote UE is connected to the network entity via one of a plurality of relay UEs; a memory comprising instructions; execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to; receive an indication of a relay UE from the plurality of relay UEs that is selected for the second path based on the measurements of the plurality of relay UEs; and initiate the switch between the first path and the second path, as taught by Xu in the system of Mallick, so that the remote UE can establish connection with a selected relay UE (Xu: Paragraphs [0102], [0139]).
The combination of Mallick and Xu does not explicitly teach to take action to initiate the switch between the first path and the second path if the selection criteria are met by transmitting measurements comprising sidelink link quality measurements of the plurality of relay UEs to the network entity; receive from the network entity an indication of a relay UE from the plurality of relay UEs.
However, Burbidge teaches to take action to initiate the switch between the first path and the second path if the selection criteria are met by transmitting measurements comprising sidelink link quality measurements of the plurality of relay UEs to the network entity; receive from the network entity an indication of a relay UE from the plurality of relay UEs (see rejection for claim 49);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to take action to initiate the switch between the first path and the second path if the selection criteria are met by transmitting measurements comprising sidelink link quality measurements of the plurality of relay UEs to the network entity; receive from the network entity an indication of a relay UE from the plurality of relay UEs, as taught by Burbidge in the combined system of Mallick and Xu, so that remote UE can select a relay path (second path) via a relay UE and switch to the second path based on the quality of the link in the second path as indicated by the network entity based on the measurements provided by the remote UE (Burbidge: Paragraph [0146] – [0150]).
The combination of Mallick, Xu, and Burbidge does not explicitly teach transmitting identifiers (IDs) of serving cells of the plurality of relay UEs to the network entity; receive from the network entity an indication of a relay UE based on the IDs of the serving cells of plurality of relay UEs.
However, Wu teaches transmitting identifiers (IDs) of serving cells of the plurality of relay UEs to the network entity; receiving from the network entity an indication of a relay UE based on the IDs of the serving cells of plurality of relay UEs (see rejection for claim 49);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide transmitting identifiers (IDs) of serving cells of the plurality of relay UEs to the network entity; receive from the network entity an indication of a relay UE based on the IDs of the serving cells of plurality of relay UEs, as taught by Wu in the combined system of Mallick, Xu, and Burbidge, so that eNB may select the appropriate relay UE for the remote UE from the relay equipment discovered by the remote UE according to the relay information (Wu: Paragraphs [0071], [0087], [0102], [0103]).
The combination of Mallick, Xu, Burbidge, and Wu does not explicitly teach maintaining the first path while connecting to the relay UE via the second path, and providing an indication to the network entity, via the first path, that a connection via the second path has been successfully established.
However, Bangolae teaches maintaining the first path while connecting to the relay UE via the second path, and providing an indication to the network entity, via the first path, that a connection via the second path has been successfully established (see rejection for claim 49);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide maintaining the first path while connecting to the relay UE via the second path, and providing an indication to the network entity, via the first path, that a connection via the second path has been successfully established, as taught by Bangolae in the combined system of Mallick, Xu, Burbidge, and Wu, so that the remote UE can inform the network entity via the direct path (Uu path) that the switch to the indirect path was successful, and that a release of the Uu connection can now be initiated (Bangolae: Paragraphs [0091], [0092]).
Regarding claim 78, Mallick teaches an apparatus for wireless communication by a network entity, comprising: a receiver (Paragraph [0222]: In this connection a user terminal (mobile terminal) and an eNodeB (base station) are provided. The user terminal and base station is adapted to perform the methods described herein, including corresponding entities to participate appropriately in the methods, such as receiver, transmitter, processors.)
configured to receive signaling from a remote user equipment (UE) indicating selection criteria for mobility procedures, for a switch between a first path whereby the remote UE is connected directly to the network entity and a second path whereby the remote UE is connected to the network entity via one of a relay UE, are met; maintain the first path with the remote UE while the remote UE connects via the second path (see rejection for claim 65);
and one or more processors configured, individually or in any combination (Paragraph [0220]: A processor of the radio base station determines whether or not further relays are necessary in the radio cell. The processor selects a persistence check value within a range of values. A transmitter transmits, to the one or more remote user equipments in the radio cell, relay requirements to be fulfilled before activating the relay functionality.)
Mallick does not explicitly teach whereby the remote UE is connected to the network entity via
one of a plurality of relay UEs; a memory comprising instructions; execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to; take action to assist the remote UE with the switch between the first path and the second path by transmitting an indication of a relay UE from the plurality of relay UEs selected for the second path based on the measurements of the plurality of relay UEs.
However, Xu teaches whereby the remote UE is connected to the network entity via one of a
plurality of relay UEs; a memory comprising instructions; execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to; take action to assist the remote UE with the switch between the first path and the second path by transmitting an indication of a relay UE from the plurality of relay UEs selected for the second path based on the measurements of the plurality of relay UEs (Paragraph [0357]: The memory 1103 may be a read-only memory (read-only memory, ROM) or another type of static storage device that can store static information and instructions, a random access memory (random access memory, RAM) or another type of dynamic storage device that can store information and instructions. Also see rejection for claim 65.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide whereby the remote UE is connected to the network entity via one of a plurality of relay UEs; a memory comprising instructions; execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to; take action to assist the remote UE with the switch between the first path and the second path by transmitting an indication of a relay UE from the plurality of relay UEs selected for the second path based on the measurements of the plurality of relay UEs (Xu: Paragraph [0113]).
The combination of Mallick and Xu does not explicitly teach to receive signaling from a remote user equipment (UE) indicating selection criteria for mobility procedures are met; receive measurements comprising sidelink link quality measurements of the plurality of relay UEs from the remote UE; transmitting an indication to the remote UE of a relay UE from the plurality of relay UEs
However, Burbidge teaches to receive signaling from a remote user equipment (UE) indicating selection criteria for mobility procedures are met; receive measurements comprising sidelink link quality measurements of the plurality of relay UEs from the remote UE; transmitting an indication to the remote UE of a relay UE from the plurality of relay UEs (see rejection for claim 65);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to receive signaling from a remote user equipment (UE) indicating selection criteria for mobility procedures are met; receive measurements comprising sidelink link quality measurements of the plurality of relay UEs from the remote UE; transmitting an indication to the remote UE of a relay UE from the plurality of relay UEs, as taught by Burbidge in the combined system of Mallick and Xu, so that remote UE can select a relay path (second path) via a relay UE and switch to the second path based on the quality of the link in the second path as indicated by the network entity based on the measurements provided by the remote UE (Burbidge: Paragraph [0146] – [0150]).
The combination of Mallick, Xu, and Burbidge does not explicitly teach to receive identifiers (IDs) of serving cells of the plurality of relay UEs from the remote UE; transmitting an indication to the remote UE of a relay UE based on the IDs of the serving cells of plurality of relay UEs.
However, Wu teaches to receive identifiers (IDs) of serving cells of the plurality of relay UEs from the remote UE; transmitting an indication to the remote UE of a relay UE based on the IDs of the serving cells of plurality of relay UEs (see rejection for claim 65);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to receive identifiers (IDs) of serving cells of the plurality of relay UEs from the remote UE; transmitting an indication to the remote UE of a relay UE based on the IDs of the serving cells of plurality of relay UEs, as taught by Wu in the combined system of Mallick, Xu, and Burbidge, so that eNB may select the appropriate relay UE for the remote UE from the relay equipment discovered by the remote UE according to the relay information (Wu: Paragraphs [0071], [0087], [0102], [0103]).
The combination of Mallick, Xu, Burbidge, and Wu does not explicitly teach to maintain the first path with the remote UE while the remote UE connects via the second path; and receive from the remote UE, via the first path, an indication that a connection via the second path has been successfully established.
However, Bangolae teaches to maintain the first path with the remote UE while the remote UE connects via the second path; and receive from the remote UE, via the first path, an indication that a connection via the second path has been successfully established (see rejection for claim 65);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to maintain the first path with the remote UE while the remote UE connects via the second path; and receive from the remote UE, via the first path, an indication that a connection via the second path has been successfully established, as taught by Bangolae in the combined system of Mallick, Xu, Burbidge, and Wu, so that the remote UE can inform the network entity via the direct path (Uu path) that the switch to the indirect path was successful, and that a release of the Uu connection can now be initiated (Bangolae: Paragraphs [0091], [0092]).
Claims 55, 57, 69, 71 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mallick et al. (EP3121974A1) in view of Xu et al. (EP3562182A1), Burbidge et al. (US2018/0213577A1), Wu et al. (US2018/0160287A1), Bangolae et al. (US2018/0098370A1), and further in view of Freda et al. (WO2016164808A1)
Regarding claim 55, the combination of Mallick, Xu, Burbidge, Wu, and Bangolae teaches the method of claim 49 (see rejection for claim 49);
Mallick does not explicitly teach wherein: the remote UE reports measurements for both the first path and the second path, wherein the remote UE reports the measurements directly to the network entity if the remote UE maintains a connection to both the network entity and relay UE.
However, Burbidge teaches wherein: the remote UE reports measurements for both the first path and the second path wherein the remote UE reports the measurements directly to the network entity (Paragraph [0146]: The remote UE 106 establishes an RRC Connection with the eNB 102. Paragraph [0148]: The Remote UE 106 performs measurement reporting to the eNB 102. The reported measurement will at least include an indication that the remote UE 106 has discovered Relay UE 1 104 a and the identity of Relay UE 1. The reporting measurements may also include measurements of the signal level/or quality of the direct link to the eNB 102 and/or the link to Relay UE 1. Configuration parameters to control the measurement reporting may have been previously provided by the eNB 102 to the Remote UE 106.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein: the remote UE reports measurements for both the first path and the second path wherein the remote UE reports the measurements directly to the network entity, as taught by Burbidge in the system of Mallick, so that the network entity can decide whether the remote UE can switch communication path based on the reported measurements (Burbidge: Paragraph [0149]).
The combination of Mallick, Xu, Burbidge, Wu, and Bangolae does not explicitly teach wherein the remote UE reports the measurements directly to the network entity if the remote UE maintains a connection to both the network entity and relay UE.
However, Freda teaches wherein the remote UE reports the measurements directly to the network entity if the remote UE maintains a connection to both the network entity and relay UE (Paragraph [0109]: The WTRU may inform the eNB of relevant information about the selected mobile relay. Relevant information about the selected mobile relay may include one or more of mobile relay identification information (e.g., Mobile relay L2 ID, PHY layer ID, and/or the like), the identity of the eNB to which the mobile relay is connected, measured signal quality (e.g., PC5 measurements) of the mobile relay, access point name (APN) or connectivity information broadcast by the mobile relay, and/or the signal quality of the Uu link between the mobile relay and the eNB. Informing the eNB may occur through Uu and/or via a mobile relay. Paragraph [0110]: The remote WTRU may take measurements of the PC5 link and send the measurements of the PC5 link to the eNB via the mobile relay WTRU. The remote WTRU may take measurements of the PC5 link and send the measurements of the PC5 link directly to the eNB when connection between the remote WTRU and the eNB is available (e.g. , the remote WTRU is in coverage).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide teaches wherein the remote UE reports the measurements directly to the network entity if the remote UE maintains a connection to both the network entity and relay UE, as taught by Freda in the combined system of Mallick, Xu, Burbidge, Wu, and Bangolae, so that the network entity can perform a selection/reselection of a mobile relay based on the measurements from the remote UE (Freda: Paragraphs [0109], [0111]).
Regarding claim 57, the combination of Mallick, Xu, Burbidge, Wu, Bangolae, and Freda teaches the method of claim 55 (see rejection for claim 55);
The combination of Mallick, Xu, Burbidge, Wu, and Bangolae does not explicitly teach wherein the remote UE reports the measurements to the network via the relay UE if the remote UE does not maintain a connection to both the network entity and relay UE.
However, Freda teaches wherein the remote UE reports the measurements to the network via the relay UE if the remote UE does not maintain a connection to both the network entity and relay UE (Paragraph [0109]: Relevant information about the selected mobile relay may include one or more of mobile relay identification information (e.g., Mobile relay L2 ID, PHY layer ID, and/or the like), the identity of the eNB to which the mobile relay is connected, measured signal quality (e.g., PC5 measurements) of the mobile relay, access point name (APN) or connectivity information broadcast by the mobile relay, and/or the signal quality of the Uu link between the mobile relay and the eNB. Informing the eNB may occur through Uu and/or via a mobile relay. Paragraph [0110]: The remote WTRU may take measurements of the PC5 link and send the measurements of the PC5 link to the eNB via the mobile relay WTRU. The remote WTRU may indicate to the mobile relay WTRU that the measurements should be sent to the eNB (e.g., via the mobile relay WTRU) using an indication that indicates to the mobile relay WTRU that the measurements are intended to be sent to the eNB. For example, measurements that are intended for the eNB may be sent to the mobile relay WTRU using a dedicated message that that indicates that the measurements are meant for the eNB. Paragraph [0114]: The remote WTRU may receive a configuration indicating that the remote WTRU may send measurements to the eNB via the mobile relay WTRU and may use an indication in a measurement report that indicates to the mobile relay WTRU that the measurements are meant for the eNB. The remote WTRU may compile a list of measurements and transmit the list of measurements to the mobile relay WTRU using an indication that the measurements are meant for the eNB. The indication and the measurements may include a list of one or more mobile relay WTRUs, the signal qualities for the one or more mobile relay WTRUs, and/or quality measurements for some or all mobile relay WTRUs that are reported.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the remote UE reports the measurements to the network via the relay UE if the remote UE does not maintain a connection to both the network entity and relay UE, as taught by Freda in the combined system of Mallick, Xu, Burbidge, Wu, and Bangolae, so that the network entity can acquire the measurements information even when the remote UE does not maintain a connection with the network entity (Freda: Paragraphs [0109], [0110]).
Regarding claim 69, the combination of Mallick, Xu, Burbidge, Wu, and Bangolae teaches the method of claim 65 (see rejection for claim 65);
Mallick does not explicitly teach wherein: the signaling comprises a measurement report for both the first path and the second path, wherein the network entity receives the measurement report directly from the remote UE if the remote UE maintains a connection to both the network entity and relay UE, and wherein the network entity receives the measurement report via the relay UE if the remote UE does not maintain a connection to both the network entity and relay UE.
However, Burbidge teaches wherein the signaling comprises a measurement report for both the first path and the second path, wherein the network entity receives the measurement report directly from the remote UE (Paragraph [0146]: The remote UE 106 establishes an RRC Connection with the eNB 102. Paragraph [0148]: The Remote UE 106 performs measurement reporting to the eNB 102. The reported measurement will at least include an indication that the remote UE 106 has discovered Relay UE 1 104 a and the identity of Relay UE 1. The reporting measurements may also include measurements of the signal level/or quality of the direct link to the eNB 102 and/or the link to Relay UE 1. Configuration parameters to control the measurement reporting may have been previously provided by the eNB 102 to the Remote UE 106.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the signaling comprises a measurement report for both the first path and the second path, wherein the network entity receives the measurement report directly from the remote UE, as taught by Burbidge in the system of Mallick, so that the network entity can decide whether the remote UE can switch communication path based on the reported measurements (Burbidge: Paragraph [0149]).
The combination of Mallick, Xu, Burbidge, Wu, and Bangolae does not explicitly teach wherein the network entity receives the measurement report directly from the remote UE if the remote UE maintains a connection to both the network entity and relay UE, and wherein the network entity receives the measurement report via the relay UE if the remote UE does not maintain a connection to both the network entity and relay UE.
However, Freda teaches wherein the network entity receives the measurement report directly from the remote UE if the remote UE maintains a connection to both the network entity and relay UE (Paragraph [0109]: The WTRU may inform the eNB of relevant information about the selected mobile relay. Relevant information about the selected mobile relay may include one or more of mobile relay identification information (e.g., Mobile relay L2 ID, PHY layer ID, and/or the like), the identity of the eNB to which the mobile relay is connected, measured signal quality (e.g., PC5 measurements) of the mobile relay, access point name (APN) or connectivity information broadcast by the mobile relay, and/or the signal quality of the Uu link between the mobile relay and the eNB. Informing the eNB may occur through Uu and/or via a mobile relay. Paragraph [0110]: The remote WTRU may take measurements of the PC5 link and send the measurements of the PC5 link to the eNB via the mobile relay WTRU. The remote WTRU may take measurements of the PC5 link and send the measurements of the PC5 link directly to the eNB when connection between the remote WTRU and the eNB is available (e.g. , the remote WTRU is in coverage).)
and wherein the network entity receives the measurement report via the relay UE if the remote UE does not maintain a connection to both the network entity and relay UE (Paragraph [0109]: Relevant information about the selected mobile relay may include one or more of mobile relay identification information (e.g., Mobile relay L2 ID, PHY layer ID, and/or the like), the identity of the eNB to which the mobile relay is connected, measured signal quality (e.g., PC5 measurements) of the mobile relay, access point name (APN) or connectivity information broadcast by the mobile relay, and/or the signal quality of the Uu link between the mobile relay and the eNB. Informing the eNB may occur through Uu and/or via a mobile relay. Paragraph [0110]: The remote WTRU may take measurements of the PC5 link and send the measurements of the PC5 link to the eNB via the mobile relay WTRU. The remote WTRU may indicate to the mobile relay WTRU that the measurements should be sent to the eNB (e.g., via the mobile relay WTRU) using an indication that indicates to the mobile relay WTRU that the measurements are intended to be sent to the eNB. For example, measurements that are intended for the eNB may be sent to the mobile relay WTRU using a dedicated message that that indicates that the measurements are meant for the eNB. Paragraph [0114]: The remote WTRU may receive a configuration indicating that the remote WTRU may send measurements to the eNB via the mobile relay WTRU and may use an indication in a measurement report that indicates to the mobile relay WTRU that the measurements are meant for the eNB. The remote WTRU may compile a list of measurements and transmit the list of measurements to the mobile relay WTRU using an indication that the measurements are meant for the eNB. The indication and the measurements may include a list of one or more mobile relay WTRUs, the signal qualities for the one or more mobile relay WTRUs, and/or quality measurements for some or all mobile relay WTRUs that are reported.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the network entity receives the measurement report directly from the remote UE if the remote UE maintains a connection to both the network entity and relay UE, and wherein the network entity receives the measurement report via the relay UE if the remote UE does not maintain a connection to both the network entity and relay UE, as taught by Freda in the combined system of Mallick, Xu, Burbidge, Wu, and Bangolae , so that the network entity can acquire the measurements information when the remote UE maintains, and even when the remote UE does not maintain a connection with the network entity (Freda: Paragraphs [0109], [0110]).
Regarding claim 71, the combination of Mallick, Xu, Burbidge, Wu, Bangolae, and Freda, teaches the method of claim 69 (see rejection for claim 69);
The combination of Mallick, Burbidge, Wu, Bangolae, and Freda does not explicitly teach further comprising sending a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration signaling indicating relaying configuration to the relay UE, prior to sending the RRC reconfiguration signaling to the remote UE instructing to connect to one of the one or more relays indicated in the measurement report.
However, Xu teaches sending a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration signaling indicating relaying configuration to the relay UE, prior to sending the RRC reconfiguration signaling to the remote UE instructing to connect to one of the one or more relays (Paragraph [0113], Fig 4: S405: After successfully establishing the communication connection to the selected eRelay UE, the eRemote UE sends a first message to the base station, where the first message is used to request the base station to perform communication path switching, to be specific, request to switch a communication path between the eRemote UE and the base station from the direct path to an indirect path used for communicating with the base station by using the eRelay UE. Paragraph [0114]: S406: The base station sends a fourth message to the eRelay UE, where the fourth message carries third bearer configuration information and an identifier of the eRemote UE. In addition, the fourth message further carries second bearer configuration information and/or second indication information. The second indication information is used to instruct the eRelay UE to provide the eRemote UE with indirect-path support. The second bearer configuration information and the third bearer configuration information are used by the eRelay UE to configure radio bearers. Then, the eRelay UE receives the fourth message. For example, the fourth message is an RRC connection reconfiguration message. The RRC connection reconfiguration message is used to configure, for the eRelay UE, a radio bearer used for carrying control signaling and user-plane data of the eRemote UE. Paragraph [0121]: S408: If the base station allows the eRemote UE to perform the communication path switching, the base station sends a second message to the eRemote UE, where the second message carries at least one of first bearer configuration information and first indication information that is used to instruct the eRemote UE to perform the communication path switching. The second indication information is used to instruct the eRemote UE to perform the communication path switching, and the first bearer configuration information includes radio bearer configuration information of the link between the eRemote UE and the eRelay UE. Then, the eRemote UE receives the second message. For example, the second message is an RRC connection reconfiguration message.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide sending a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration signaling indicating relaying configuration to the relay UE, prior to sending the RRC reconfiguration signaling to the remote UE instructing to connect to one of the one or more relays, as taught by Xu in the combined system of Mallick, Burbidge, Wu, Bangolae, and Freda, so that the remote UE can perform the communication path switching to the selected relay UE (Xu: Paragraph [0113]).
The combination of Mallick, Xu, Burbidge, Wu, and Bangolae does not explicitly teach one of the one or more relays indicated in the measurement report.
However, Freda teaches the one of the one or more relays indicated in the measurement report (Paragraph [0109]: Relevant information about the selected mobile relay may include one or more of mobile relay identification information (e.g., Mobile relay L2 ID, PHY layer ID, and/or the like), the identity of the eNB to which the mobile relay is connected, measured signal quality (e.g., PC5 measurements) of the mobile relay, access point name (APN) or connectivity information broadcast by the mobile relay, and/or the signal quality of the Uu link between the mobile relay and the eNB. Informing the eNB may occur through Uu and/or via a mobile relay. Paragraph [0114]: The remote WTRU may compile a list of measurements and transmit the list of measurements to the mobile relay WTRU using an indication that the measurements are meant for the eNB. The indication and the measurements may include a list of one or more mobile relay WTRUs, the signal qualities for the one or more mobile relay WTRUs, and/or quality measurements for some or all mobile relay WTRUs that are reported.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide one of the one or more relays indicated in the measurement report, as taught by Freda, in the combined system of Mallick, Xu, Burbidge, Wu, and Bangolae, so that the network entity has information about one or more relays for the remote UE to connect with (Freda: Paragraphs [0109], [0110]).
The combination of Mallick, Xu, Wu, Bangolae, and Freda, does not explicitly teach sending the RRC reconfiguration signaling to the remote UE instructing to connect to one of the one or more relays indicated in the measurement report.
However, Burbidge teaches sending the RRC reconfiguration signaling to the remote UE instructing to connect to one of the one or more relays indicated in the measurement report (Paragraph [0148]: The Remote UE 106 performs measurement reporting to the eNB 102. The reported measurement will at least include an indication that the remote UE 106 has discovered Relay UE 1 104 a and the identity of Relay UE 1. Paragraph [0149]: The eNB 102 decides that the remote UE 106 is to switch communication path from the direct path 108′ to an indirect path via Relay UE 1 104 a. This decision may be made based on the information contained in the measurement report. Paragraph [0150]: The eNB 102 sends a message (e.g. an RRC Connection Reconfiguration message) to the Remote UE 106. This message contain a command that the Remote UE should switch its traffic to a relay UE with the Relay UE ID indicated in the message.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide sending the RRC reconfiguration signaling to the remote UE instructing to connect to one of the one or more relays indicated in the measurement report, as taught by Burbidge, in the combined system of Mallick, Xu, Wu, Bangolae, and Freda, so that the remote UE can switch the communication path to the relay indicated in the report (Burbidge: Paragraph [0148]).
Claims 62, 63, 73, 74, 75 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mallick et al. (EP3121974A1) in view of Xu et al. (EP3562182A1) and Burbidge et al. (US2018/0213577A1), Wu et al. (US2018/0160287A1), Bangolae et al. (US2018/0098370A1), and further in view of Lee et al. (US2018/0035398A1).
Regarding claim 62, the combination of Mallick, Xu, Burbidge, Wu, and Bangolae teaches the method of claim 49 (see rejection for claim 49);
Mallick further teaches wherein: the remote UE initiates the switch from the second path to the first path if relay reselection criteria are met; and initiating the switch from the second path to the first path comprises sending, to at least one of the network entity or relay UE, a measurement report (Paragraph [0189]: Further solutions are provided to successfully move the UE's connection from the PC5 link back to the Uu link. In this regard, it is now assumed that the relay UE is acting as the relay for the remote UE such that the communication of the remote UE is relayed between the eNodeB and the remote UE via the relay UE. According to one solution, a handover-like procedure could be used to move the remote user back to the Uu link. In particular, the remote UE may send the usual measurement reports to the eNodeB via the relay connection. For instance, the old measurement configuration, received previously when being connected to the eNodeB via the Uu link, can be maintained after the PC5 data switch and thus may be used for measuring the Uu link even when the remote user equipment is on the PC 5 link. A corresponding handover message (such as the RRCConnectionReconfiguration message with the MobilityControlInfo of TS 36.331, current version 12.6.0, incorporated herein by reference) could be sent by the eNodeB via the relay UE to the remote UE. In this particular case, the Uu link to which it should be switched back could belong to the same old (source) cell or could belong to any other neighbor cell. Paragraph [0190]: the remote UE may switch back to using the Uu link (instead of the PC5 interface link) when the Uu link quality is sufficiently good. In said case, the RRC connection establishment procedure can be performed by the remote UE, advantageously indicating as the cause of the connection establishment that the remote UE would like to move from the PC5 interface to the Uu interface. Paragraph [0191]: In order to properly determine by the remote UE when the Uu link is better again, the remote UE may for instance perform certain radio link measurements such as those involving RSRP and/or RSRQ, and/or pathloss information etc. A corresponding minimum threshold can be defined for each of the respective radio link measurements, which the Uu link must fulfill so as to be determined as being sufficiently good to switch back to. Paragraph [0195]: Correspondingly, the remote UE may reuse this cell selection criterion so as to determine when the Uu link is sufficiently good again so as to switch back to same.)
Mallick does not explicitly teach that the remote UE initiates the switch, based on measurements of at least one of downlink signals from the relay UE or downlink signals from the network entity; a measurement report indicating at least one of: second path link quality and the measurements of one or more target cells for first path.
However, Burbidge teaches that the remote UE initiates the switch based on measurements of at least one of downlink signals from the relay UE or downlink signals from the network entity (Paragraph [0129]: 16- The Remote UE 106 decides to switch communication path from the indirect path with Relay UE 2 104 b back to a direct path with the eNB 102. As for previous path decisions, this decision may be made by the Remote UE 106, for example it may be based on signal level/or quality measurements of the direct link 108′ to the eNB 102, the link to Relay UE 1 104 a, and/or the link with Relay UE 2 104 b. Paragraph [0130]: The Remote UE 106 sends a Relay Path Switch message to the eNB 102, containing an indication the user data is to be switched back to the direct path.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide that the remote UE initiates the switch based on measurements of at least one of downlink signals from the relay UE or downlink signals from the network entity, as taught by Burbidge in the system of Mallick, so that the UE can perform mobility related signaling (Burbidge: Paragraph [0117]).
The combination of Mallick, Xu, Burbidge, Wu, and Bangolae does not explicitly teach a measurement report indicating at least one of: second path link quality and the measurements of one or more target cells for first path.
However, Lee teaches a measurement report indicating at least one of: second path link quality and the measurements of one or more target cells for first path (Paragraph [0151]: The remote UE may be currently connected to the network via relay UE. Paragraph [0152]: The example measurement result of sidelink may be SD-RSRP/RSRQ, RSSI, SINR and/or RSRP/Q. Paragraph [0156]: Specifically, since the remote UE in a coverage of cell 1 is connected to the cell 2 through the relay UE in a coverage of cell 2, the remote UE may receive the message from the cell 2 via the relay UE. For this, it may be assumed that if remote UE is linked/connected to relay UE, the cell 2 is able to know existence of the connected remote UE and configure the remote UE (e.g. L1/2 configuration, sidelink resource configuration). In this case, the cell 2 which provides configuration used for sidelink communication/discovery is regarded as serving cell to the remote UE. Serving cell of the remote UE is same as that of the connected relay UE. Paragraph [0158]: Subsequently, the remote UE may select a synchronization reference cell (S1420). Specifically, the remote UE may select a synchronization reference cell using a predetermined threshold. For this, the remote UE may measure a channel quality of the cell 2 or one or more neighboring cells of the remote UE. Paragraph [0159]: For example, if channel quality of the cell 2 of the remote UE is less than the provided predetermined threshold (e.g. RSRP/RSRQ or RSRP/RSRQ−hysteresis value (if configured)), the remote UE may select other cell as synchronization reference cell. As an example, the cell 1 may be the synchronization reference cell.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide a measurement report indicating at least one of: second path link quality and the measurements of one or more target cells for first path, as taught by Lee in the combined system of Mallick, Xu, Burbidge, Wu, and Bangolae, so that the remote UE can select a target cell based on the link quality (Lee: Paragraph [0156], [0158]).
Regarding claim 63, the combination of Mallick, Xu, Burbidge, Wu, Bangolae, and Lee teaches the method of claim 62 (see rejection for claim 62);
Mallick further teaches wherein, if the remote UE does have a connection with the network entity via the first path, the measurement report is sent to the network entity and the network entity decides whether to handover the remote UE from the second path to the first path (Paragraph [0189]: Further solutions are provided to successfully move the UE's connection from the PC5 link back to the Uu link. In this regard, it is now assumed that the relay UE is acting as the relay for the remote UE such that the communication of the remote UE is relayed between the eNodeB and the remote UE via the relay UE. According to one solution, a handover-like procedure could be used to move the remote user back to the Uu link. In particular, the remote UE may send the usual measurement reports to the eNodeB via the relay connection. For instance, the old measurement configuration, received previously when being connected to the eNodeB via the Uu link, can be maintained after the PC5 data switch and thus may be used for measuring the Uu link even when the remote user equipment is on the PC 5 link. A corresponding handover message (such as the RRCConnectionReconfiguration message with the MobilityControlInfo of TS 36.331, current version 12.6.0, incorporated herein by reference) could be sent by the eNodeB via the relay UE to the remote UE. In this particular case, the Uu link to which it should be switched back could belong to the same old (source) cell or could belong to any other neighbor cell.)
Regarding claim 73, the combination of Mallick, Xu, Burbidge, Wu, and Bangolae teaches the method of claim 65 (see rejection for claim 65);
Mallick further teaches wherein: the remote UE sends the signaling to initiate the switch from the second path to the first path if relay reselection criteria are met; and the signaling comprises a measurement report (Paragraph [0189]: Further solutions are provided to successfully move the UE's connection from the PC5 link back to the Uu link. In this regard, it is now assumed that the relay UE is acting as the relay for the remote UE such that the communication of the remote UE is relayed between the eNodeB and the remote UE via the relay UE. According to one solution, a handover-like procedure could be used to move the remote user back to the Uu link. In particular, the remote UE may send the usual measurement reports to the eNodeB via the relay connection. For instance, the old measurement configuration, received previously when being connected to the eNodeB via the Uu link, can be maintained after the PC5 data switch and thus may be used for measuring the Uu link even when the remote user equipment is on the PC 5 link. A corresponding handover message (such as the RRCConnectionReconfiguration message with the MobilityControlInfo of TS 36.331, current version 12.6.0, incorporated herein by reference) could be sent by the eNodeB via the relay UE to the remote UE. In this particular case, the Uu link to which it should be switched back could belong to the same old (source) cell or could belong to any other neighbor cell. Paragraph [0190]: the remote UE may switch back to using the Uu link (instead of the PC5 interface link) when the Uu link quality is sufficiently good. In said case, the RRC connection establishment procedure can be performed by the remote UE, advantageously indicating as the cause of the connection establishment that the remote UE would like to move from the PC5 interface to the Uu interface. Paragraph [0191]: In order to properly determine by the remote UE when the Uu link is better again, the remote UE may for instance perform certain radio link measurements such as those involving RSRP and/or RSRQ, and/or pathloss information etc. A corresponding minimum threshold can be defined for each of the respective radio link measurements, which the Uu link must fulfill so as to be determined as being sufficiently good to switch back to. Paragraph [0195]: Correspondingly, the remote UE may reuse this cell selection criterion so as to determine when the Uu link is sufficiently good again so as to switch back to same.)
The combination of Mallick and Xu does not explicitly teach that the remote UE sends the signaling to initiate the switch based on measurements of at least one of downlink signals from the relay UE or downlink signals from the network entity; and the signaling comprises a measurement report indicating at least one of: second path link quality and the measurements of one or more target cells for first path.
However, Burbidge teaches that the remote UE sends the signaling to initiate the switch based on measurements of at least one of downlink signals from the relay UE or downlink signals from the network entity (Paragraph [0129]: The Remote UE 106 decides to switch communication path from the indirect path with Relay UE 2 104 b back to a direct path with the eNB 102. As for previous path decisions, this decision may be made by the Remote UE 106, for example it may be based on signal level/or quality measurements of the direct link 108′ to the eNB 102, the link to Relay UE 1 104 a, and/or the link with Relay UE 2 104 b. Paragraph [0130]: The Remote UE 106 sends a Relay Path Switch message to the eNB 102, containing an indication the user data is to be switched back to the direct path.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide that the remote UE sends the signaling to initiate the switch based on measurements of at least one of downlink signals from the relay UE or downlink signals from the network entity, as taught by Burbidge in the combined system of Mallick and Xu, so that the UE can perform mobility related signaling (Burbidge: Paragraph [0117]).
The combination of Mallick, Xu, Burbidge, Wu, and Bangolae does not explicitly teach a measurement report indicating at least one of: second path link quality and the measurements of one or more target cells for first path.
However, Lee teaches a measurement report indicating at least one of: second path link quality and the measurements of one or more target cells for first path (Paragraph [0151]: The remote UE may be currently connected to the network via relay UE. Paragraph [0152]: The example measurement result of sidelink may be SD-RSRP/RSRQ, RSSI, SINR and/or RSRP/Q. Paragraph [0156]: Specifically, since the remote UE in a coverage of cell 1 is connected to the cell 2 through the relay UE in a coverage of cell 2, the remote UE may receive the message from the cell 2 via the relay UE. For this, it may be assumed that if remote UE is linked/connected to relay UE, the cell 2 is able to know existence of the connected remote UE and configure the remote UE (e.g. L1/2 configuration, sidelink resource configuration). In this case, the cell 2 which provides configuration used for sidelink communication/discovery is regarded as serving cell to the remote UE. Serving cell of the remote UE is same as that of the connected relay UE. Paragraph [0158]: Subsequently, the remote UE may select a synchronization reference cell (S1420). Specifically, the remote UE may select a synchronization reference cell using a predetermined threshold. For this, the remote UE may measure a channel quality of the cell 2 or one or more neighboring cells of the remote UE. Paragraph [0159]: For example, if channel quality of the cell 2 of the remote UE is less than the provided predetermined threshold (e.g. RSRP/RSRQ or RSRP/RSRQ−hysteresis value (if configured)), the remote UE may select other cell as synchronization reference cell. As an example, the cell 1 may be the synchronization reference cell.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide a measurement report indicating at least one of: second path link quality and the measurements of one or more target cells for first path, as taught by Lee in the combined system of Mallick, Xu, Burbidge, Wu, and Bangolae, so that the remote UE can select a target cell based on the link quality (Lee: Paragraph [0156], [0158]).
Regarding claim 74, the combination of Mallick, Xu, Burbidge, Wu, Bangolae, and Lee, teaches the method of claim 73 (see rejection for claim 73);
Mallick further teaches wherein taking action comprises deciding, based on the measurement report, to handover the remote UE from the second path to the first path Paragraph [0189]: Further solutions are provided to successfully move the UE's connection from the PC5 link back to the Uu link. In this regard, it is now assumed that the relay UE is acting as the relay for the remote UE such that the communication of the remote UE is relayed between the eNodeB and the remote UE via the relay UE. According to one solution, a handover-like procedure could be used to move the remote user back to the Uu link. In particular, the remote UE may send the usual measurement reports to the eNodeB via the relay connection. For instance, the old measurement configuration, received previously when being connected to the eNodeB via the Uu link, can be maintained after the PC5 data switch and thus may be used for measuring the Uu link even when the remote user equipment is on the PC 5 link. A corresponding handover message (such as the RRCConnectionReconfiguration message with the MobilityControlInfo of TS 36.331, current version 12.6.0, incorporated herein by reference) could be sent by the eNodeB via the relay UE to the remote UE. In this particular case, the Uu link to which it should be switched back could belong to the same old (source) cell or could belong to any other neighbor cell.)
Regarding claim 75, the combination of Mallick, Xu, Burbidge, Wu, Bangolae, and Lee, teaches the method of claim 74 further comprising (see rejection for claim 74);
The combination of Mallick, Xu, Wu, Bangolae, and Lee does not explicitly teach sending to the remote UE radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration signaling instructing the remote UE to switch to the first path, wherein, the RRC signaling also indicates the remote UE is to release connections associated with the second path before sending an RRC reconfiguration complete message via the first path.
However, Burbidge teaches sending to the remote UE radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration signaling instructing the remote UE to switch to the first path, wherein, the RRC signaling also indicates the remote UE is to release connections associated with the second path before sending an RRC reconfiguration complete message via the first path (Paragraph [0160]: The eNB 102 sends a message (e.g. an RRC Relay Reconfiguration message) to the Relay UE 1 104 a to inform it to stop relaying traffic for the Remote UE 106. The Relay UE1 104 a may release its connection with the Remote UE and release the mapping between the Remote UE ID and the Short ID. The Remote UE 106 may send a response message (e.g. an RRC Relay Reconfiguration Complete message) to confirm successful receipt of the command. Paragraph [0162]: The eNB 102 decides to switch traffic back to the direct path 108′. This decision may be based on measurements reported from the Remote UE 106, measurements performed by the eNB and eNB internal information. Paragraph [0163]: The eNB 102 sends a message (e.g. an RRC Connection Reconfiguration message) to the Remote UE 106. This message may contain a command that the Remote UE 106 should switch its traffic back to the direct path 108′. The Remote UE may send a response message (e.g. an RRC Connection Reconfiguration Complete message) to confirm successful receipt of the command.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide sending to the remote UE radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration signaling instructing the remote UE to switch to the first path, wherein, the RRC signaling also indicates the remote UE is to release connections associated with the second path before sending an RRC reconfiguration complete message via the first path, as taught by Burbidge in the combined system of Mallick, Xu, Wu, Bangolae, and Lee, so that the relay UE can release the remote UE context (Burbidge: Paragraph [0143]).
Claim 64 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mallick et al. (EP3121974A1) in view of Xu et al. (EP3562182A1), Burbidge et al. (US2018/0213577A1), Wu et al. (US2018/0160287A1), Bangolae et al. (US2018/0098370A1), Lee et al. (US2018/0035398A1), and further in view of Freda et al. (WO2016164808A1).
Regarding claim 64, the combination of Mallick, Xu, Burbidge, Wu, Bangolae, and Lee teaches the method of claim 63 further comprising (see rejection for claim 63);
The combination of Mallick, Xu, Wu, Bangolae, and Lee does not explicitly teach receiving radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration signaling from the network entity instructing the UE to switch to the first path, wherein, if the RRC signaling also indicates the remote UE is to release connections associated with the second path, the remote UE releases resources associated with the second path before sending an RRC reconfiguration complete message via the first path, and wherein, if the RRC signaling does not indicate the remote UE is to release connections associated with the second path, the remote UE maintains the second path while reconfiguring bearers for the first path.
However, Burbidge teaches receiving radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration signaling from the network entity instructing the UE to switch to the first path, wherein, if the RRC signaling also indicates the remote UE is to release connections associated with the second path, the remote UE releases resources associated with the second path before sending an RRC reconfiguration complete message via the first path (Paragraph [0160]: The eNB 102 sends a message (e.g. an RRC Relay Reconfiguration message) to the Relay UE 1 104 a to inform it to stop relaying traffic for the Remote UE 106. The Relay UE1 104 a may release its connection with the Remote UE and release the mapping between the Remote UE ID and the Short ID. The Remote UE 106 may send a response message (e.g. an RRC Relay Reconfiguration Complete message) to confirm successful receipt of the command. Paragraph [0162]: The eNB 102 decides to switch traffic back to the direct path 108′. This decision may be based on measurements reported from the Remote UE 106, measurements performed by the eNB and eNB internal information. Paragraph [0163]: The eNB 102 sends a message (e.g. an RRC Connection Reconfiguration message) to the Remote UE 106. This message may contain a command that the Remote UE 106 should switch its traffic back to the direct path 108′. The Remote UE may send a response message (e.g. an RRC Connection Reconfiguration Complete message) to confirm successful receipt of the command.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide receiving radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration signaling from the network entity instructing the UE to switch to the first path, wherein, if the RRC signaling also indicates the remote UE is to release connections associated with the second path, the remote UE releases resources associated with the second path before sending an RRC reconfiguration complete message via the first path, as taught by Burbidge in the combined system of Mallick, Xu, Wu, Bangolae, and Lee, so that the relay UE can release the remote UE context (Burbidge: Paragraph [0143]).
The combination of Mallick, Xu, Burbidge, Wu, Bangolae, and Lee, does not explicitly teach wherein, if the RRC signaling does not indicate the remote UE is to release connections associated with the second path, the remote UE maintains the second path while reconfiguring bearers for the first path.
However, Freda teaches wherein, if the RRC signaling does not indicate the remote UE is to release connections associated with the second path, the remote UE maintains the second path while reconfiguring bearers for the first path (Paragraph [0284]: Service continuity may be maintained by using a Uu connection and a mobile relay connection. The remote WTRU may be able to maintain a Uu connection and a mobile relay connection. For example, the WTRU may receive public safety traffic through a mobile relay WTRU and may receive non-public safety traffic directly from the eNB on the Uu interface. The mobile relay WTRU may be connected to the same or a different eNB. Paragraph [0285]: The WTRU may maintain the connection to the eNB over the Uu interface to continue to be served by the bearers related to non-public safety. Paragraph [0286]: When having a simultaneous Uu and PC5 connection, the WTRU may be connected to an eNB via Uu connection for non-public safety traffic, and simultaneously connected to mobile relay WTRU for public safety traffic which may be connected to a different eNB.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein, if the RRC signaling does not indicate the remote UE is to release connections associated with the second path, the remote UE maintains the second path while reconfiguring bearers for the first path, as taught by Freda in the combined system of Mallick, Xu, Burbidge, Wu, Bangolae, and Lee so that the remote UE can maintain services through the network entity as well as the relay UE (Freda: Paragraphs [0285], [0286]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 26, 2026 with respect to claims 49-54, 56, 58-61, 65-68, 70, 72, and 76-78 being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mallick et al. (EP No. 3121974A1, hereinafter "Mallick") in view of Xu et al. (EP No. 3562182A1, hereinafter "Xu"), and Burbidge et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2018/0213577A1, hereinafter "Burbidge"); Claims 55, 57, 69, and 71 being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mallick in view of Xu, Burbidge, Wu, and further in view of Freda et al. (WO Publication No. 2016/164808A1, hereinafter "Freda"); Claims 62, 63, and 73-75 being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mallick in view of Xu, Burbidge, Wu, and further in view of Lee et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2018/0035398A1, hereinafter "Lee"); Claim 64 being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mallick in view of Xu, Burbidge, Wu, Lee and further in view of Freda, have been fully considered.
Applicant submits that the combination of Mallick, Xu, Burbidge, and Wu fails to teach or suggest "initiating the switch comprises maintaining the first path while connecting to the relay UE via the second path, and providing an indication to the network entity, via the first path, that a connection via the second path has been successfully established," as recited in amended independent claim 49 and similar features recited in amended independent claim 77, and "maintaining the first path with the remote UE while the remote UE connects via the second path; and receiving from the remote UE, via the first path, an indication that a connection via the second path has been successfully established," as recited in amended independent claim 65 and similar features recited in amended independent claim 78. However, Mallick teaches "initiating the switch comprises maintaining the first path while connecting to the relay UE via the second path,”, and additionally Bangolae et al. (US2018/0098370A1) teaches “maintaining the first path while connecting to the relay UE via the second path, and providing an indication to the network entity, via the first path, that a connection via the second path has been successfully established.” Mallick teaches that the remote UE maintains the earlier Uu configuration while being previously connected to the eNodeB via the Uu link (first path) even after the PC5 path switch (relay path/second path). Further, Bangolae teaches that the remote UE which is still in-coverage of the eNodeB (first path), can transmit the sidelink information message to the eNodeB that the remote UE has established a relay-based connection with the relay UE. The remote UE can transmit the sidelink UE information message since the remote UE is still in-coverage of the eNodeB. Further, Bangolae also teaches that, in addition, the sidelink UE information message can indicate the remote UE's desire to be released from direct communications with the eNodeB. This clearly shows that the remote UE maintains connection with the eNodeB via the first path (Uu path) even after the relay connection (second path) has been established, and that the remote UE is yet to be released from direct communications with the eNodeB.
Thus, independent claims 49, 65, 77, and 78 are taught by the combination of Mallick, Xu, Burbidge, Wu, and Bangolae. Dependent claims 50-54, 56, 58-61, 66-68, 70, 72, 76 are also taught by the combination of Mallick, Xu, Burbidge, Wu, and Bangolae.
Claims 55, 57, 69, and 71 are taught by the combination of Mallick, Xu, Burbidge, Wu, Bangolae, and Freda. Claims 62, 63, 73-75 are taught by the combination of Mallick, Xu, Burbidge, Wu, Bangolae, and Lee. Claim 64 is taught by the combination of Mallick, Xu, Burbidge, Wu, Bangolae, Lee, and Freda.
Conclusion
/L.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2461
/HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461