DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1 and 14 have been amended. No claims have been newly added or newly canceled.
Claims 1, 4-6, 8, and 10-14 are currently pending.
Claim 12 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/04/2025.
Claims 1, 4-6, 8, 10-11 and 13-14 have been examined on their merits.
Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn due to amendment. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 8, 10-11, 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buc-Caron (Neurobiology of Disease 1995-newly cited) in view of Muffat et al (US 2018/0179494-newly cited).
Regarding claims 1, 4-6, 8, 10-11, 13-14, Buc-Caron disclose a method of isolating and culturing a mixture of cells comprising neuroepithelial cells and neuroepithelial progenitor cells (cells that can be differentiated into microglia cells and thus microglia progenitors) from a neuroepithelial layer of a subject, wherein the subject is a fetus isolated from a uterus of a pregnant patient (pages 38-40, Methods, Results, primary cultures of human epithelial and neuroblastic cells). The cells are cultured for 2 passages (subcultured)(page 42 Figure 3) and frozen (stored) and thawed (page 39 column 2). These human progenitor cells proliferating in vitro have many potential applications in gene therapy of neurodegenerative diseases (abstract)
Buc-Caron do not specifically include a step of isolating microglia cells from the culture.
Muffat teach that generation of human microglia cells from stem cells could have high impact applications for human health, particularly in disease areas and that there is a need for generating human microglia cells (page 1 para 04). Muffat disclose that microglia cells express IBA-1, TMEM119 and P2RY12 (page 2 para 22) as well as CD11b (page 2 para 21, page 3 para 27). Microglia are described as having a ramified form and capable of phagocytosis (page 2 para 17, para 21-22, page 17 para 251) and suggest the use of FACS (fluorescent-activated cell sorting) for isolation (page 2 para 22, page 18 para 255, page 21 para 274). Muffat disclose that neuroepithelium can be used to obtain microglia (pages 17-18 para 254)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the culture of Buc-Caron to differentiate and isolate microglia from the neuroepithelial cell mixture because Muffat teach and suggest that the generation of human microglia could have high impact applications for human health, particularly in disease areas and that there is a need for generating human microglia cells (page 1 para 04). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use IBA-1, TMEM119, P2RY12, and CD11b expression to isolate microglia from the culture of Buc-Caron because Muffat teach and suggest that these are markers that microglia express and when they have been differentiated from neuroepithelium. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use physical properties of phagocytosis, ramified form and FACS to isolate microglia because Muffatt teach and suggest that these are properties and techniques know to characterize microglia cells. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because both Buc-Caron and Muffat are culturing and differentiating human fetal neuroepithelial cells for potential applications in gene therapy of neurodegenerative diseases.
Therefore, the combined teachings of Buc-Caron and Muffatt render obvious Applicant’s invention as claimed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 4-6, 8, 10-11 and 13-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Butovsky et al., “Targeting Apolipoprotein E (APOE) in Neurologic Disease”, US 2017/0334977.
Butovsky disclose wherein microglia express IBA-1, TMEM119, and CD11b (page 3 para 31).
LAURA J. SCHUBERG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1631
/LAURA SCHUBERG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1631