DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 5-9, 17, 20-24 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mochizuki et al. (US 2022/0312299, “Mochizuki”) in view of Cavalcanti et al (US 2018/0206089, “Cavalcanti”).
Regarding claim 1, Mochizuki teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving an indication that identifies a {plurality of} neighbor cell{s} that support a vehicle to anything (V2X) service ([0228] The AMF may notify the UE of not only the V2X service and information on the NPN in which the V2X service is available but also information on an adjacent RAN node that supports the V2X service and the NPN in which the V2X service is available. The RAN node may be the gNB or a cell. The AMF may notify the information on the adjacent RAN node through a RAN node on which the UE camps. The RAN node may notify the UE of the information on the adjacent RAN node that supports the V2X service and the NPN in which the V2X service is available. [0229] The AMF may notify the UE of the V2X service supported by a RAN node adjacent to the RAN node on which the UE camps, and information on the NPN in which the V2X service is available. The AMF may notify the information on the adjacent RAN node through the RAN node on which the UE camps. The RAN node may notify the UE of the V2X service supported by the adjacent RAN node and information on the NPN in which the V2X service is available. [0247] - the AMF may notify the UE of the V2X communication relevant information through Steps ST1416 and ST1417. In Step ST1417, the RAN node notifies the UE of the NPN relevant information and the V2X communication relevant information); and
performing a cell reselection process in accordance with the indication that the {plurality of} neighbor cell{s} support the V2X service ([0234] This enables the UE to select and access a RAN node in which the V2X service is available. [0249] - the UE selects or reselects a cell in the NPN in which the V2X service is available in Step ST1422. The UE should select/reselect the cell, using the V2X service and the information on the NPN in which the V2X service is available which have been obtained in Step ST1417) and whether a user equipment (UE) intends to use the V2X service ([0234] This enables the UE to select and access a RAN node in which the V2X service is available. [0241] The UE may notify V2X service provision request information together with the V2X capability. [0249] the UE selects or reselects a cell in the NPN in which the V2X service is available..)
wherein the plurality of neighbor cells actively schedule V2X communications on a frequency bandwidth that supports the V2X service or reserve the frequency bandwidth for unscheduled V2X communications ([0210] The UE can use, in the accessible NPN, the Uu communication or the PC5 communication for the arbitrary V2X service. [0295] The PC5 communication resources may be frequencies to be used for the PC5 communication. The PC5 communication resources are not limited to the frequencies but may be bands), and
wherein performing the cell reselection process includes selecting a neighbor cell, of the plurality of neighbor cells, based at least in part on the UE intending to use the V2X service, or ignoring the indication based at least in part on the UE not intending to use the V2X service ([0234] This enables the UE to select and access a RAN node in which the V2X service is available. [0241] The UE may notify V2X service provision request information together with the V2X capability. [0249] the UE selects or reselects a cell in the NPN in which the V2X service is available).
It should be noticed, Mochizuki further teaches a base station may have several cells ([0144] The base station 203 may configure one or more cells. [0150] The NR base station 213 may configure one or more cells in the same manner as the base station 203. Note: RAN node as mentioned in [0229] is a generic term for a base station, e.g., gNB (see [0224])). However, Mochizuki does not particularly teaches indication that identifies a plurality of neighbor cells that support a vehicle to anything (V2X) service.
Cavalcanti teaches indication that identifies a plurality of neighbor cells that support a vehicle to anything (V2X) service ([0030] the V2X service advertisement method includes having a V2X function in the core network provide a list of RSUs and corresponding services to UEs. Additionally or alternatively, the UEs or eNBs may broadcast V2X service capabilities that enable V2X UEs to identify RSUs supporting V2X IP services with low overhead and latency. A mobility management protocol for providing seamless connectivity to V2X services is also proposed. Accordingly, the systems and methods disclosed herein may enable V2X UEs to discover and maintain connectivity to V2X services with low overhead and latency.)
It would have been obvious before the filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature indication that identifies a plurality of neighbor cells that support a vehicle to anything (V2X) service as taught by Cavalcanti in Mochizuki, to allow UEs to identify RSUs supporting V2X IP services with low overhead and latency.
Regarding claim 4, Mochizuki in view of Cavalcanti teaches claim 1, and further teaches wherein performing the reselection process comprises: selecting a neighbor cell of the plurality of neighbor cells according to a determination of whether the UE intends to use the V2X service ([0234] This enables the UE to select and access a RAN node in which the V2X service is available. [0243] - The UE may notify the PCF of a V2X policy provision request. [0249] - the UE selects or reselects a cell in the NPN in which the V2X service is available in Step ST1422. The UE should select/reselect the cell, using the V2X service and the information on the NPN in which the V2X service is available which have been obtained in Step ST1417).
Regarding claim 5, Mochizuki in view of Cavalcanti teaches claim 1, and further teaches wherein determining whether the UE intends to use the V2X service comprises: determining whether the UE has an active V2X status ([0243] - The UE may notify the PCF of a V2X policy provision request).
Regarding claim 6, Mochizuki in view of Cavalcanti teaches claim 1, and further teaches wherein performing the reselection process comprises: selecting a cell of the plurality neighbor cells in accordance with the UE intending to use the V2X service ([0249] - the UE selects or reselects a cell in the NPN in which the V2X service is available in Step ST1422. The UE should select/reselect the cell, using the V2X service and the information on the NPN in which the V2X service is available which have been obtained in Step ST1417) and a received power of a reference signal associated with the cell ([0481] - The reception UE performing the PC5 communication measures the SL-RSRP of a signal to be transmitted from the peer transmission UE).
Regarding claim 7, Mochizuki in view of Cavalcanti teaches claim 1, and further teaches further comprising: receiving configuration information that indicates that a base station is to provide the indication that the plurality neighbor cells support the V2X service ([0228] The AMF may notify the UE of not only the V2X service and information on the NPN in which the V2X service is available but also information on an adjacent RAN node that supports the V2X service and the NPN in which the V2X service is available. The RAN node may be the gNB or a cell. The AMF may notify the information on the adjacent RAN node through a RAN node on which the UE camps. The RAN node may notify the UE of the information on the adjacent RAN node that supports the V2X service and the NPN in which the V2X service is available. [0229] The AMF may notify the UE of the V2X service supported by a RAN node adjacent to the RAN node on which the UE camps, and information on the NPN in which the V2X service is available. The AMF may notify the information on the adjacent RAN node through the RAN node on which the UE camps. The RAN node may notify the UE of the V2X service supported by the adjacent RAN node and information on the NPN in which the V2X service is available.).
Regarding claim 8, Mochizuki in view of Cavalcanti teaches claim 1, and further teaches further comprising: transmitting a request for the indication, the receiving of the indication being responsive to transmitting the request for the indication ([0241] - The UE may notify V2X service provision request information together with the V2X capability. The AMF can recognize that the UE specifically requests the AMF to provide the V2X service).
Regarding claim 9, Mochizuki in view of Cavalcanti teaches claim 1, and further teaches signaling that the UE is configured to perform the reselection process based at least in part on the indication ([0241] - The UE may notify V2X service provision request information together with the V2X capability. The AMF can recognize that the UE specifically requests the AMF to provide the V2X service. [0247] - the AMF may notify the UE of the V2X communication relevant information through Steps ST1416 and ST1417. In Step ST1417, the RAN node notifies the UE of the NPN relevant information and the V2X communication relevant information. [0249] - the UE selects or reselects a cell in the NPN in which the V2X service is available in Step ST1422. The UE should select/reselect the cell, using the V2X service and the information on the NPN in which the V2X service is available which have been obtained in Step ST1417), wherein receiving the indication is based at least in part on the signaling [0241] - The UE may notify V2X service provision request information together with the V2X capability. The AMF can recognize that the UE specifically requests the AMF to provide the V2X service. [0247] - the AMF may notify the UE of the V2X communication relevant information through Steps ST1416 and ST1417. In Step ST1417, the RAN node notifies the UE of the NPN relevant information and the V2X communication relevant information).
Regarding claim 17, Mochizuki teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (FIG. 8 ), comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories (FIG. 3), at least one processor of the one or more processors configured to cause the apparatus to:
receive an indication that identifies a {plurality of} neighbor cell{s}, that support a vehicle to anything (V2X) service ([0228] The AMF may notify the UE of not only the V2X service and information on the NPN in which the V2X service is available but also information on an adjacent RAN node that supports the V2X service and the NPN in which the V2X service is available. The RAN node may be the gNB or a cell. The AMF may notify the information on the adjacent RAN node through a RAN node on which the UE camps. The RAN node may notify the UE of the information on the adjacent RAN node that supports the V2X service and the NPN in which the V2X service is available. [0229] The AMF may notify the UE of the V2X service supported by a RAN node adjacent to the RAN node on which the UE camps, and information on the NPN in which the V2X service is available. The AMF may notify the information on the adjacent RAN node through the RAN node on which the UE camps. The RAN node may notify the UE of the V2X service supported by the adjacent RAN node and information on the NPN in which the V2X service is available. [0247] - the AMF may notify the UE of the V2X communication relevant information through Steps ST1416 and ST1417. In Step ST1417, the RAN node notifies the UE of the NPN relevant information and the V2X communication relevant information); and
perform a cell reselection process in accordance with the indication that the plurality of neighbor cells support the service ([0234] This enables the UE to select and access a RAN node in which the V2X service is available. [0249] - the UE selects or reselects a cell in the NPN in which the V2X service is available in Step ST1422. The UE should select/reselect the cell, using the V2X service and the information on the NPN in which the V2X service is available which have been obtained in Step ST1417) and whether the UE intends to use the V2X service ([0234] This enables the UE to select and access a RAN node in which the V2X service is available. [0241] The UE may notify V2X service provision request information together with the V2X capability. [0249] the UE selects or reselects a cell in the NPN in which the V2X service is available).
wherein the plurality of neighbor cells actively schedule V2X communications on a frequency bandwidth that supports the V2X service or reserve the frequency bandwidth for unscheduled V2X communications ([0210] The UE can use, in the accessible NPN, the Uu communication or the PC5 communication for the arbitrary V2X service. [0295] The PC5 communication resources may be frequencies to be used for the PC5 communication. The PC5 communication resources are not limited to the frequencies but may be bands), and
wherein performing the cell reselection process includes selecting a neighbor cell, of the plurality of neighbor cells, based at least in part on the UE intending to use the V2X service, or ignoring the indication based at least in part on the UE not intending to use the V2X service ([0234] This enables the UE to select and access a RAN node in which the V2X service is available. [0241] The UE may notify V2X service provision request information together with the V2X capability. [0249] the UE selects or reselects a cell in the NPN in which the V2X service is available..).
It should be noticed, Mochizuki further teaches a base station may have several cells ([0144] The base station 203 may configure one or more cells. [0150] The NR base station 213 may configure one or more cells in the same manner as the base station 203. Note: RAN node as mentioned in [0229] is a generic term for a base station, e.g., gNB (see [0224])). However, Mochizuki does not particularly teaches indication that identifies a plurality of neighbor cells that support a vehicle to anything (V2X) service.
Cavalcanti teaches indication that identifies a plurality of neighbor cells that support a vehicle to anything (V2X) service ([0030] the V2X service advertisement method includes having a V2X function in the core network provide a list of RSUs and corresponding services to UEs. Additionally or alternatively, the UEs or eNBs may broadcast V2X service capabilities that enable V2X UEs to identify RSUs supporting V2X IP services with low overhead and latency. A mobility management protocol for providing seamless connectivity to V2X services is also proposed. Accordingly, the systems and methods disclosed herein may enable V2X UEs to discover and maintain connectivity to V2X services with low overhead and latency.)
It would have been obvious before the filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature indication that identifies a plurality of neighbor cells that support a vehicle to anything (V2X) service as taught by Cavalcanti in Mochizuki, to allow UEs to identify RSUs supporting V2X IP services with low overhead and latency.
Regarding claim 20, Mochizuki in view of Cavalcanti teaches claim 17, and further teaches wherein the reselection process comprises: selection of a neighbor cell of plurality of neighbor cells according to a determination of whether the UE intends to use the service ([0249] - the UE selects or reselects a cell in the NPN in which the V2X service is available in Step ST1422. The UE should select/reselect the cell, using the V2X service and the information on the NPN in which the V2X service is available which have been obtained in Step ST1417).
Regarding claim 21, Mochizuki in view of Cavalcanti teaches claim 20, and further teaches wherein the determination of whether the UE intends to use the V2X service comprises: a determination of whether the UE has an active status ([0243] - The UE may notify the PCF of a V2X policy provision request).
Regarding claim 22, Mochizuki in view of Cavalcanti teaches claim 17, and further teaches wherein the cell reselection process comprises: selection of a cell of the plurality of neighbor cells in accordance with the UE intending to use the V2X service ([0249] - the UE selects or reselects a cell in the NPN in which the V2X service is available in Step ST1422. The UE should select/reselect the cell, using the V2X service and the information on the NPN in which the V2X service is available which have been obtained in Step ST1417) and a received power of a reference signal associated with the cell ([0481] - The reception UE performing the PC5 communication measures the SL-RSRP of a signal to be transmitted from the peer transmission UE).
Regarding claim 23, Mochizuki in view of Cavalcanti teaches claim 17, and further teaches to: receive configuration information that indicates that a base station is to provide the indication that the plurality of neighbor cells support the service ([0228] The AMF may notify the UE of not only the V2X service and information on the NPN in which the V2X service is available but also information on an adjacent RAN node that supports the V2X service and the NPN in which the V2X service is available. The RAN node may be the gNB or a cell. The AMF may notify the information on the adjacent RAN node through a RAN node on which the UE camps. The RAN node may notify the UE of the information on the adjacent RAN node that supports the V2X service and the NPN in which the V2X service is available. [0229] The AMF may notify the UE of the V2X service supported by a RAN node adjacent to the RAN node on which the UE camps, and information on the NPN in which the V2X service is available. The AMF may notify the information on the adjacent RAN node through the RAN node on which the UE camps. The RAN node may notify the UE of the V2X service supported by the adjacent RAN node and information on the NPN in which the V2X service is available.).
Regarding claim 24, Mochizuki in view of Cavalcanti teaches claim 17, and further teaches to signal that the UE is configured to perform the cell reselection process in accordance with the indication ([0241] - The UE may notify V2X service provision request information together with the V2X capability. The AMF can recognize that the UE specifically requests the AMF to provide the V2X service. [0247] - the AMF may notify the UE of the V2X communication relevant information through Steps ST1416 and ST1417. In Step ST1417, the RAN node notifies the UE of the NPN relevant information and the V2X communication relevant information. [0249] - the UE selects or reselects a cell in the NPN in which the V2X service is available in Step ST1422. The UE should select/reselect the cell, using the V2X service and the information on the NPN in which the V2X service is available which have been obtained in Step ST1417), the reception of the indication being responsive to the signaling [0241] - The UE may notify V2X service provision request information together with the V2X capability. The AMF can recognize that the UE specifically requests the AMF to provide the V2X service. [0247] - the AMF may notify the UE of the V2X communication relevant information through Steps ST1416 and ST1417. In Step ST1417, the RAN node notifies the UE of the NPN relevant information and the V2X communication relevant information).
Regarding claim 34, Mochizuki in view of Cavalcanti teaches claim 17, and further teaches to transmit a request for the indication, the receiving of the indication being responsive to transmitting the request for the indication ([0241] - The UE may notify V2X service provision request information together with the V2X capability. The AMF can recognize that the UE specifically requests the AMF to provide the V2X service).
Claims 2, 3, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mochizuki in view of Cavalcanti and further in view of Ye et al. (US 2020/0053835, “Ye”).
Regarding claim 2, Mochizuki in view of Cavalcanti teaches claim 1 but does not teach wherein the indication identifies the plurality of neighbor cells as supporting communication via the frequency bandwidth that supports the V2X service.
Cavalcanti teaches indication identifies the plurality of neighbor cells ([0030] the V2X service advertisement method includes having a V2X function in the core network provide a list of RSUs and corresponding services to UEs. Additionally or alternatively, the UEs or eNBs may broadcast V2X service capabilities that enable V2X UEs to identify RSUs supporting V2X IP services with low overhead and latency)
Ye teaches supporting communication via the frequency bandwidth that supports the V2X service ([0099] - once a WTRU is camped on a cell, it may receive system information block 21 (SIB21), which contains a V2X sidelink communication configuration. The SIB21 includes the information element (IE) of SL-V2X-ConfigCommon with components of v2x-CommRxPool, v2x-CommTxPoolNormalCommon, v2-Comm TxPoolExceptional, v2x-InterFreqInfoList, etc. Here, v2x-InterFreqInfoList is a list of up to 7 neighboring frequencies for V2X sidelink communication. [0121] The data structure of v2x-InterFreqInfoList may be defined as “SL-InterFreqInfoListV2X-r16”, which could have different SL-CommResourcePoolV2X parameter definitions from that of LTE. For example, NR generally has a larger bandwidth than LTE, and it supports up to 275 Resource Blocks (RBs) in a channel. Accordingly, the values of “startRB-Subchannel,” “startRB-PSCCH-Pool,” and “SizeSubchannel” may be different from LTE. This is shown as follows. Furthermore, the number of sub-channels in a channel for NR could be larger to support more V2X sidelink communication).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein the indication identifies the plurality of neighbor cells as supporting communication via a frequency bandwidth that supports the V2X service, as taught by Cavalcanti and Ye in Mochizuki to support efficient scheduling of both LTE sidelink and NR sidelink in light of added support for unicast and groupcast while meeting reliability requirements.
Regarding claim 3, Mochizuki in view of Cavalcanti teaches claim 1 but does not teach wherein receiving the indication comprises: receiving the indication within a system information block.
Ye teaches wherein receiving the indication comprises: receiving the indication within a system information block ([0099] - once a WTRU is camped on a cell, it may receive system information block 21 (SIB21), which contains a V2X sidelink communication configuration. The SIB21 includes the information element (IE) of SL-V2X-ConfigCommon with components of v2x-CommRxPool, v2x-CommTxPoolNormalCommon, v2-Comm TxPoolExceptional, v2x-InterFreqInfoList, etc. Here, v2x-InterFreqInfoList is a list of up to 7 neighboring frequencies for V2X sidelink communication).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein receiving the indication comprises: receiving the indication within a system information block, as taught by Ye in Mochizuki to support efficient scheduling of both LTE sidelink and NR sidelink in light of added support for unicast and groupcast while meeting reliability requirements.
Regarding claim 18, Mochizuki in view of Cavalcanti teaches claim 1 but does not teach wherein the indication identifies the plurality of neighbor cells as supporting communication via a frequency bandwidth that supports the V2X service.
Cavalcanti teaches indication identifies the plurality of neighbor cells ([0030] the V2X service advertisement method includes having a V2X function in the core network provide a list of RSUs and corresponding services to UEs. Additionally or alternatively, the UEs or eNBs may broadcast V2X service capabilities that enable V2X UEs to identify RSUs supporting V2X IP services with low overhead and latency)
Ye teaches supporting communication via a frequency bandwidth that supports the service ([0099] - once a WTRU is camped on a cell, it may receive system information block 21 (SIB21), which contains a V2X sidelink communication configuration. The SIB21 includes the information element (IE) of SL-V2X-ConfigCommon with components of v2x-CommRxPool, v2x-CommTxPoolNormalCommon, v2-Comm TxPoolExceptional, v2x-InterFreqInfoList, etc. Here, v2x-InterFreqInfoList is a list of up to 7 neighboring frequencies for V2X sidelink communication. [0121] The data structure of v2x-InterFreqInfoList may be defined as “SL-InterFreqInfoListV2X-r16”, which could have different SL-CommResourcePoolV2X parameter definitions from that of LTE. For example, NR generally has a larger bandwidth than LTE, and it supports up to 275 Resource Blocks (RBs) in a channel. Accordingly, the values of “startRB-Subchannel,” “startRB-PSCCH-Pool,” and “SizeSubchannel” may be different from LTE. This is shown as follows. Furthermore, the number of sub-channels in a channel for NR could be larger to support more V2X sidelink communication).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein the indication identifies the plurality of neighbor cells as supporting communication via a frequency bandwidth that supports the service, as taught by Ye in Mochizuki to support efficient scheduling of both LTE sidelink and NR sidelink in light of added support for unicast and groupcast while meeting reliability requirements.
Regarding claim 19, Mochizuki in view of Cavalcanti teaches claim 17 but does not teach wherein reception of the indication comprises: reception of the indication within a system information block.
Ye teaches wherein receiving the indication comprises: receiving the indication within a system information block ([0099] - once a WTRU is camped on a cell, it may receive system information block 21 (SIB21), which contains a V2X sidelink communication configuration. The SIB21 includes the information element (IE) of SL-V2X-ConfigCommon with components of v2x-CommRxPool, v2x-CommTxPoolNormalCommon, v2-Comm TxPoolExceptional, v2x-InterFreqInfoList, etc. Here, v2x-InterFreqInfoList is a list of up to 7 neighboring frequencies for V2X sidelink communication).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein receiving the indication comprises: receiving the indication within a system information block, as taught by Cavalcanti and Ye in Mochizuki to support efficient scheduling of both LTE sidelink and NR sidelink in light of added support for unicast and groupcast while meeting reliability requirements.
Claims 31- 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mochizuki in view of Cavalcanti and further in view of Siomina et al. (US 2015/0215767, “Siomina”).
Regarding claim 31, Mochizuki in view of Cavalcanti teaches claim 1 but fails to teach configuring the UE to perform the cell reselection process in accordance with configuration information indicating that a base station is to provide the indication in association with the cell reselection process.
Siomina teaches configuring the UE to perform the cell reselection process in accordance with configuration information indicating that a base station is to provide the indication in association with the cell reselection process ([0173] - receiving node may be a wireless device 20. [0169] - a node (e.g., a wireless device 20 or a network node) obtains D2D related information of one or more other nodes (e.g., a wireless device 20 or a network node)… a receiving node may request D2D related information about one or more nodes from a signaling node (e.g., a radio network node, e.g., a base station 16) (step 200)… the signaling node obtains D2D related information for (i.e., about) the signaling node and/or for other nodes (e.g., other radio network nodes, core network nodes, or the like) (step 202). The D2D related information may be obtained using, e.g., any of the embodiments described above (e.g., signaling from another node(s), reading from internal or external storage, determining based on measurement(s), determining based on predefined rule(s), etc.). The obtained D2D related information for the one or more nodes may then be transmitted or signaled to the receiving node (step 204). Finally, the D2D related information may then be used by the receiving node to perform one or more mobility operations. [0005] - Mobility operations include cell selection, reselection, changing cells, or the like.)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature configuring the UE to perform the cell reselection process in accordance with configuration information indicating that a base station is to provide the indication in association with the cell reselection process, as taught by Siomina in Mochizuki to improve usage of network radio resources.
Regarding claim 32, Mochizuki in view of Cavalcanti teaches claim 17 but does not teach wherein the V2X service corresponds to communication over an unlicensed band or a shared band.
However, Mochizuki teaches “V2X services using the Device-to-Device communication (hereinafter may be referred to as the PC5 communication) such as the D2D communication.” The Examiner submits D2D/PC5 communication using unlicensed bands is well known in the art. For example, Siomina discloses “direct D2D link is provided via an interface referred to in FIG. 4 as a PC5 interface. The direct link may use uplink time and/or frequency resources of the E-UTRAN 12, downlink time and/or frequency resources of the E-UTRAN 12, or time and/or frequency resources that are not utilized by the E-UTRAN 12 (e.g., an unlicensed spectrum)”
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein the service corresponds to communication over an unlicensed band or a shared band, as taught by Siomina in Mochizuki to expand spectrum use for mobile devices, thereby increasing communication bandwidth.
Regarding claim 33, Mochizuki in view of Cavalcanti teaches claim 1 but does not teach wherein the V2X service corresponds to communication over an unlicensed band or a shared band.
However, Mochizuki teaches “V2X services using the Device-to-Device communication (hereinafter may be referred to as the PC5 communication) such as the D2D communication.” The Examiner submits D2D/PC5 communication using unlicensed bands is well known in the art. For example, Siomina discloses “direct D2D link is provided via an interface referred to in FIG. 4 as a PC5 interface. The direct link may use uplink time and/or frequency resources of the E-UTRAN 12, downlink time and/or frequency resources of the E-UTRAN 12, or time and/or frequency resources that are not utilized by the E-UTRAN 12 (e.g., an unlicensed spectrum)”
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein the service corresponds to communication over an unlicensed band or a shared band, as taught by Siomina in Mochizuki to expand spectrum use for mobile devices, thereby increasing communication bandwidth.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed Nobember 17, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the rejection of claim 1, Applicant argues prior art fails to teach “wherein the plurality of neighbor cells actively schedule V2X communications on a frequency bandwidth that supports the V2X service or reserve the frequency bandwidth for unscheduled V2X communications” or “wherein performing the cell reselection process includes selecting a neighbor cell, of the plurality of neighbor cells, based at least in part on the UE intending to use the V2X service, or ignoring the indication based at least in part on the UE not intending to use the V2X service” (page 12)
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Mochizuki states “The UE can use, in the accessible NPN, the Uu communication or the PC5 communication for the arbitrary V2X service” ([0210]) and “The PC5 communication resources may be frequencies to be used for the PC5 communication. The PC5 communication resources are not limited to the frequencies but may be bands” ([0295]) which clearly teach “wherein the plurality of neighbor cells actively schedule V2X communications on a frequency bandwidth that supports the V2X service or reserve the frequency bandwidth for unscheduled V2X communications”
Further Mochizuki teaches UE actively requests for V2X service and actively select a RAN in which V2X is available (“This enables the UE to select and access a RAN node in which the V2X service is available” ([0243]). [0241] The UE may notify V2X service provision request information together with the V2X capability. [0249] the UE selects or reselects a cell in the NPN in which the V2X service is available). Therefore, the Examiner submits Mochizuki teaches “wherein performing the cell reselection process includes selecting a neighbor cell, of the plurality of neighbor cells, based at least in part on the UE intending to use the V2X service, or ignoring the indication based at least in part on the UE not intending to use the V2X service”
Arguments against other claims are based on the above the argument above, accordingly the same response apply.
Conclusion
/QUOC THAI N VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642