DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The proposed amendments filed 09/04/2025 have been entered. Claims 1 and 4-14 are currently pending. Applicant’s amendments to are sufficient to overcome the previously applied 112(b) rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 20047736 (Han hereinafter) in view of US 9322593 (Cheng hereinafter) and further in view of JP 6590095 (Nakashima hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Han teaches a rainwater removal device that discloses a support (Figure 1, support 60); a stand extending upward from the support (Stand 20); a holder for fixing an umbrella shaft (unlabeled holder that holds the shown umbrella); a driving apparatus coupled to the stand and for vibrating the holder (Motor 40); wherein the holder comprises: an opening (Inherent for the opening to allow for the umbrella to be mounted), a fixing groove for fixing the umbrella shaft (Portion of the opening that retains the umbrella shaft during the operation of the motor), and a support member for supporting the umbrella shaft from the opening to the fixing groove (Portion formed between the opening and the stand 20).
Han is silent with respect to a processor for controlling vibration generated by the driving apparatus.
However, Cheng teaches an umbrella drying device that discloses a controller for a motor that discloses (Column 2 Lines 37-51).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to motor the motor of Han with the controller Cheng to allow for the motor to be driven in a modifiable way.
Han is silent with respect to wherein the holder comprises: an opening, a fixing groove for fixing the umbrella shaft, and a support member for supporting the umbrella shaft from the opening to the fixing groove, wherein width of the opening decreases at a predetermined interval in the fixing groove direction from an outside of the holder, and wherein the opening is open in a linear direction to the fixing groove such that the umbrella shaft is fixed to the support member or the fixing groove matching the width of the umbrella shaft; wherein the opening is opened toward a side of the holder, wherein the fixing groove is formed below the opening, and wherein the support member has a direction of being inclined in a downward direction of the holder.
However, Nakashima teaches an umbrella holder that discloses an opening (Figure 1a, openings 11a/b), a fixing groove for fixing the umbrella shaft (Groove “beneath” the opening for the umbrella to reside the groove forms the “V” shape), and a support member for supporting the umbrella shaft from the opening to the fixing groove (Support being the base 14), wherein width of the opening decreases at a predetermined interval in the fixing groove direction from an outside of the holder (Evident from Figures 1b and 1c), and wherein the opening is open in a linear direction to the fixing groove such that the umbrella shaft is fixed to the support member or the fixing groove matching the width of the umbrella shaft (Evident from Figures 1a-c); the opening is opened toward a side of the holder (Evident from Figures 1a-c of Nakashima), wherein the fixing groove is formed below the opening (Nakashima Figures 1b and 1c), and wherein the support member has a direction of being inclined in a downward direction of the holder(Broadest reasonable interpretation of Figures 1a-c of Nakashima).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the holder of Han with the holder of Nakashima to allow for a secure mounting of the umbrella without the need to hold the umbrella.
Regarding claim 4, Han’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where the combination of Han, Cheng, and Nakashima would further disclose that the stand is inclined toward a front direction from the stand (Figure 1 of Han with stand 20).
Regarding claim 6, Han’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where the combination of Han, Cheng, and Nakashima would further disclose that a plurality of openings and the fixing grooves, and wherein the plurality of fixing grooves have different widths (Evident of the design of Nakashima in Figures 1a-c).
Regarding claim 14, Han’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where the combination of Han, Cheng, and Nakashima would further disclose a sealing for surrounding an outer part of the holder (Sealing 12 is considered to surrounding the holder of Han/Nakashima).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 20047736 (Han) in view of US 9322593 (Cheng) and further in view of JP 6590095 (Nakashima) and further in view of US 5161560 (Sheu hereinafter).
Regarding claim 5, Han’s modified teachings are described above in claim 4 but are silent with respect to a coupling member disposed between the holder and the driving apparatus, wherein the coupling member supports the holder by a holder spring.
However, Sheu teaches an umbrella holder that features a spring between a holder and a stand structure (Figures 1 and 4 with spring 6 between the holder 1 and the stand 3). The resultant combination would move the spring 30 of Han to be beneath the holder such that a coupling member disposed between the holder and the driving apparatus, wherein the coupling member supports the holder by a holder spring (The coupling member is the structure used to restrain the spring and prevent sideways motion).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to move the spring of Han per the teachings of Sheu to lessen the moment arm of the stand relative to the vibration created by the motor while still providing vibrations to the umbrella.
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 20047736 (Han) in view of US 9322593 (Cheng) and further in view of JP 6590095 (Nakashima) and further in view of JP H08-11158 (Ota hereinafter).
Regarding claim 7, Han’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 but are silent with respect to a switch disposed between the fixing groove and the opening, wherein the switch selectively applies power to the processor according to whether the umbrella shaft is mounted to the holder.
However, Ota teaches an umbrella drying mechanism that disclose a switch disposed between the fixing groove and the opening (Sensor 20 detects the insertion of the umbrella), wherein the switch selectively applies power to a processor according to whether an umbrella shaft is mounted to the holder (Ota’s switch 20 then communicates that the device can begin the drying procedure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the umbrella dryer of Han with the switch of Ota to allow for the system to always be ready for drying while not requiring a the user to operate a button to being drying.
Regarding claim 8, Han’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 but are silent with respect to a first detection sensor for detecting a canopy of the umbrella shaft coupled to the holder.
However, Ota teaches an umbrella drying mechanism that disclose a first detection sensor for detecting a canopy of the umbrella shaft coupled to the holder (Sensor 20 detects the insertion of the umbrella and that would include a portion of the canopy).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the umbrella dryer of Han with the switch of Ota to allow for the system to always be ready for drying while not requiring a the user to operate a button to being drying.
Claim 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 20047736 (Han) in view of US 9322593 (Cheng) and further in view of JP 6590095 (Nakashima) in view of JP H08-11158 (Ota) and further in view of JP 2008-275235 (Umeno hereinafter).
Regarding claim 9, Han’s modified teachings are described above in claim 8 but are silent with respect to a second detection sensor located below the first detection sensor and for detecting distance from the canopy of the umbrella shaft coupled to the holder.
However, Umeno teaches a dewatering device for an umbrella that discloses a sensor located along a portion that is adjacent to the canopy portion of the umbrella being dried (Sensor within 28 as seen in Figure 9 per “Dehydration and winding The columnar body 28 can be rotated while the umbrella A is inserted into the space. In this case, when the umbrella A is inserted to a predetermined level, a sensor provided in the space of the columnar body 28 senses the umbrella A and the rotation of the columnar body 28 is activated.”) The resultant combination would add a second sensor the combination of Han and Ota such that there is a second detection sensor located below the first detection sensor and for detecting distance from the canopy of the umbrella shaft coupled to the holder (The sensor 28 of Umeno is along the canopy section of the umbrella and the first sensor 20 of Ota is at the entry point of the umbrella into the drying device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the drying device of Han with the additional sensor of Umeno to ensure that the umbrella is correctly positioned.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 20047736 (Han) in view of US 9322593 (Cheng) and further in view of JP 6590095 (Nakashima) and further in view of 4189850 (Dieterich hereinafter).
Regarding claim 10, Han’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 but are silent with respect that the support comprises an anti-slip member attached to a bottom surface of the support.
However, Dieterich teaches a drying apparatus that discloses an anti-slip member attached to a bottom surface of the support (Suction cups 38).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the footing of Han’s umbrella dryer with the suction cup feet of Dieterich to ensure that the device does not move around during operation.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 20047736 (Han) in view of US 9322593 (Cheng) and further in view of JP 6590095 (Nakashima) and further in view of US 2012/0297637 (Liao hereinafter).
Regarding claim 11, Han’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 but are silent with respect to a castor coupled to the support.
However, Liao teaches an umbrella drying device that discloses a castor coupled to the support (Figure 1 with the unlabeled caster wheels).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the footing of Han’s umbrella dryer with the casters of Liao to allow for easy moving of the device when not required.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 20047736 (Han) in view of US 9322593 (Cheng) and further in view of JP 6590095 (Nakashima) and further in view of US 2008/0286178 (Yardimci hereinafter).
Regarding claim 12, Han’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 but are silent with respect to a display for displaying an operation state of the driving apparatus.
However, Yardimci teaches a drying device that discloses a display for displaying an operation state of the driving apparatus (¶ 17 and 18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the drying device of Han with the display of Yardimci to allow for a user to know the state of the current drying operation.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 20047736 (Han) in view of US 9322593 (Cheng) and further in view of JP 6590095 (Nakashima) and further in view of US 8463115 (Groves hereinafter).
Regarding claim 13, Han’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where Cheng further discloses a switch for selectively applying power to the processor, wherein the switch, applies power to the processor based on the switch being pressed, and cuts off power to the processor based on the switch being unpressed (Switch 51 of Cheng in Column 3 Lines 19-31, where the broadest reasonable interpretation of unpressed is not pressed and the switch of Cheng does not need to be pressed for the power to cut-off).
Han is silent with respect to the switch being shaped as a foot pedal.
However, Groves teaches a drying device that discloses a foot pedal to initiate the power being supplied (Pedal 153 in Figure 15B per Column 7 Lines 61-65). The resultant combination would be such that the switch has a shape of a pedal, applies power to the processor based on the pedal being pressed, and cuts off power to the processor based on the pedal being unpressed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the switch and powering of Han/Cheng with the food operated power pedal of Groves to allow for a user to operate the dryer hands free.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/04/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments regarding a combination of Han and Nakashima have been reviewed but are not found to be persuasive. Applicant states that the combination fails to disclose “wherein the opening is opened toward a side of the holder, wherein the fixing groove is formed below the opening, and wherein the support member has a direction of being inclined in a downward direction of the holder.” However, the Examiner sees that Nakashima in Figures 1a-c as teaching the limitation. In the combination of Han and Nakashima, one of the faces 12a and 12b with respective openings 11a/11b would be facing the holder of Han to orient the umbrella to face 20 in as shown in Figure 1 of Han. Nakashima further discloses “wherein the fixing groove is formed below the opening” where the fixing groove is the recessed “V” portions within 12 and below each of the openings 11a/11b of Nakashima. Finally, Nakashima discloses “wherein the support member has a direction of being inclined in a downward direction of the holder” in Figures 1a-c show the support member 14 and the side 14a is inclined in a vertical downward direction from the holder. Applicant appears to be reading their specification and figures into their interpretation of the claim language. The structure of Nakashima and Figure 1 of the instant application are different and Applicant is advised to clarify the structure of heir component 150 to overcome the current rejection of record. However, at this current time, the arguments regarding claims 1 and 4-14 are not found to be persuasive.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. JP H04-217778A shows a specific gripping feature in Figures 9 and 10.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CONNOR J TREMARCHE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762