Claim Interpretation
The specification discloses a multi-channel synchronous data acquisition card, but provided no detailed description beyond paragraph [0027], which states, “…and a signal output by the detector is passed through a cable, transmitting into a multi-channel synchronous data acquisition card in a computer. A measurement software is then run in the computer...".
Therefore, the term "multi-channel synchronous data acquisition card" is being interpreted as a component within a computer which operated on trigger and data to allow them to be operated upon by software.
Claim Objections
Applicant’s claim amendments filed 3/15/2026 overcome the objections to claims 1 and 8, as set forth on the office action of 2/17/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al (KR
20210073234 A) in view of Hines et al (United States Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0141711).
With respect to claim 8, Park et al disclose: An apparatus for measuring a rotational
speed of a satellite disk on a MOCVD planetary susceptor [ figure 1 discloses a MOCVD
device including a satellite disc (200) and a planetary susceptor (100)] comprising: a laser
detection probe, mounted on a chamber observation window of an MOCVD equipment and
configured to emit a beam of laser light onto a rotating planetary susceptor, a satellite disk and
wafers; a beam splitter configured to split and irradiate reflected laser light onto a detector and
convert an optical signal into an electrical signal; a multi-channel synchronous data acquisition
card configured to obtain the rotational speed of the satellite disk by synchronously reading the
electrical signal outputted from the photodetector and Trigger pulse signals and sending the
electrical signal and the trigger pulse signals to a computer for analysis and calculation;
wherein the planetary susceptor is mounted on the MOCVD equipment [ shown by the
mounting of the planetary susceptor (100) in figure 1 ]; the satellite disk is mounted on the
planetary susceptor [ shown by the mounting of the satellite discs (200) in figure 1 ]; and
the wafers are mounted on the satellite disk [ met by the substrates (S) mounted on the satellite discs (200) ].
Claim 8 differs from Park et al by measuring rotational speed using a laser detection
probe, mounted on a chamber observation window of an MOCVD equipment and configured to
emit a beam of laser light onto a rotating planetary susceptor, a satellite disk and wafers; a
beam splitter configured to split and irradiate reflected laser light onto a detector and convert an
optical signal into an electrical signal; a multi-channel synchronous data acquisition card
configured to obtain the rotational speed of the satellite disk by synchronously reading the
electrical signal outputted from the photodetector and trigger pulse signals and sending the
electrical signal and the trigger pulse signals to a computer for analysis and calculation.
Hines et al teaches that it was known before the effective filing date of the present application to have measured the rotational speed of a rotary platen (22) in a MOCVD device using a laser detection probe [ taught by elements 62, 64 68 and 72 ] mounted on a chamber observation window of an MOCVD equipment and configured to emit a beam of laser light onto
a rotating planetary susceptor [ taught by the arrangement in figure 1], a satellite disk and wafers [ the samples (20) arrangement in figure 2 suggests satellite disks ] a beam splitter configured to split and irradiate reflected laser light onto a detector and convert an optical signal into an electrical signal [ taught by the beam splitter (68) and detector (62) ]; a multi-channel synchronous data acquisition card configured to obtain the rotational speed of the satellite disk by synchronously reading the electrical signal outputted from the photodetector and trigger pulse signals and sending the electrical signal and the trigger pulse signals to a computer for analysis and calculation [ the abstract states, “ …A detector (62) measures light signals
reflected from the platen (22) along the swept path (67). and generates a unique signal upon
encountering the asymmetry feature (60). A microcontroller generates a trigger pulse
synchronized to the unique signal…”; paragraph [0011] states, “…A microcontroller includes a
non-transitory computer readable medium coded with instructions and executed by a processor
to generate a trigger pulse synchronized to the unique signal. The frequency of two successive
trigger pulses directly corresponds to the real-time rotational speed of the platen…” - note a multi-channel synchronous data acquisition card is interpreted as being part of a processor required to generate a trigger pulse synchronized to a unique signal ].
With regard to figure 11 of Park et al, page 10 of the translation states, “…In an experiment using the substrate processing apparatus according to the present invention, when gas for separately controlling the lifting and rotational motions is supplied, the rotational speed and floating height of the substrate according to time were measured. The substrate processing apparatus according to the present invention, as shown in FIG. 11 (a), after a certain time (24.4s, 27.6s, 79.2s) according to the rotational speed (12 RPM, 14 RPM, 19 RPM) of the substrate (24.4s, 27.6s, 79.2s) The rotational speed of the substrate was found to be stable. In addition, as shown in Figure 11 (b), as the gas flow rate is increased, the floating height of the substrate is gradually increasing, so the height of the substrate that can be optimized by controlling the flow rate of the lifting gas according to the process during substrate processing can be adjusted.
That is, the plurality of satellites 200 may be floated by the pressure of the lifting gas supplied from the plurality of lifting gas holes 30 and may be rotated by the pressure of the movement gas supplied from the plurality of movement gas holes 40 Accordingly, the plurality of satellites 200 can be rotated after being stably floated, and it can be seen that the RPM control is possible according to the flow rate of the kinetic gas during rotation…”.
This teaching of Park et al suggests a need for means for measuring the speed of a rotating platen in an evacuated chamber.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to have had a reasonable expectation of success in using the structure disclosed by Hines et al to measure platen speed in the system of Park et al in that the Hines et al structure provided a known solution to the problem of measuring RPM.
With respect to claim 9, the combination of Park et al and Hines et al, as applied to claim 8, teaches wherein the laser measurement probe is mainly composed of a collimated laser [ taught by the light source (64) projecting a collimated beam - see the abstract ] and the detector, and the detector is a photodetector [ taught by the solid state silicon detector (62) - see paragraph [0034] or a position sensing detector.
With respect to claim 10, the combination of Park et al and Hines et al, as applied to claim 9, teaches the collimating laser, the beam splitter and the detector are in a same optical path via the arrangement show by figure 1 of Hines et al.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-7 are allowed.
The cited prior art does not teach calculating rotation angles at moments wherein the
edge of a wafer enters and exits a viewport wherein rotational speed is calculated via a variation in the angles, as this concept is set forth in the entire context of claim 1.
Claims 2-7 depend on claim 1.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/15/2026 with respect to the rejection of claims 8-10, as set forth in the office action of 12/17/2025, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant states:
Specifically, Applicant respectfully submits that claim 8 as originally filed has at least the following distinguishing features compared with Park
Distinguishing Feature 1: a laser detection probe (1), mounted on a viewport of an MOCVD equipment and configured to emit a beam of laser light onto a rotating planetary susceptor (6), a satellite disk (7) and wafers (8);
Distinguishing Feature 2: a beam splitter (3) configured to split and irradiate reflected laser light onto a detector and convert an optical signal into an electrical signal;
Distinguishing Feature 3: a multi-channel synchronous data acquisition card (5) configured to obtain the rotational speed of the satellite disk (7) by synchronously reading the electrical signal outputted from the photodetector and trigger pulse signals (9) and sending the electrical signal and the trigger pulse signals (9) to a computer for analysis and calculation.
Applicant further submits that Park does not disclose any core component of the rotational speed measurement apparatus set forth in claim 8 of the present application.
The examiner agrees that these elements are not taught by Park et al. Park et al is relied on to show that a MOCVD system includes: a satellite disk, mounted on a planetary susceptor and the wafers mounted on the satellite disk.
These elements are set forth in the final rejection.
Applicant states:
In the Office Action, it was asserted that Park discloses the rotational speed measurement apparatus of the present application merely based on the planetary susceptor (100), satellite disk (200) and substrate (S) shown in Figure 1 of Park.
However, the Office has not provided any evidence that the specification or drawings of Park disclose any of the core components of claim 8, including the laser detection probe, beam splitter, and multi-channel synchronous data acquisition card. Nor has the Office provided evidence that Park discloses the mounting relationship, configuration mode, and cooperative working logic of the above components.
In response, the examiner has pointed out that Park et al is not being relied on to teach these elements.
Also, in the final rejection provided in this action, it has been pointed out that in the experiment of Park et al required a determination of rotational velocity (RPM) of the platen (22), thus requiring known structured to make this determination.
Applicant states:
With respect to Distinguishing Feature 1:
The Office alleged that Hines discloses "a laser detection probe [taught by elements 62, 64, 68 and 72], mounted on a chamber observation window of an MOCVD equipment and configured to emit a beam of laser light onto a rotating planetary susceptor" (Office Action, Page 4). However, all the records in the original text of Hines regarding "the light source (64) projecting a collimated light beam onto the rotating platen (22)" are only focused on measuring the revolution speed and rotation synchronicity of the planetary susceptor (i.e., platen (22)) itself. Specifically, as recited in paragraph [0035] of the specification of Hines:
"The light source 64 may be a simple 660 nm diode laser with integrated collimation/focusing lens housed within the cylinder block at the top. The laser wavelength & filter are chosen to yield best sensitivity depending on the sample 20 and platen 22 materials. The beam splitter cube 68 is fixed within a central mounting block 74 which also acts as beam stop as a safety to prevent stray laser light from escaping. The silicon detector 62 is mounted to a cylindrical lens holder 72 which houses the focusing lens and optical filter specific to the particular laser wavelength. The mounting block 74 for the assembly is preferably on a spring loaded fine adjustment mounting plate 76 to allow correction for any tilt (i.e., deviation from parallel) between the platen 22 and the mounting block 74 exterior to the chamber 24."
It can be seen from the above content of paragraph [0035] of Hines that the light source (64) in Hines is a 660 nm diode laser with an integrated collimation/focusing lens, and the projection object of the collimated beam in Hines is only the platen (22) and the samples (20) on the platen. Hines does not mention any content related to the measurement of the rotation speed of the satellite disk on the planetary susceptor (6) and satellite disk (7) in the present application. Therefore, Hines does not disclose the technical content of Distinguishing Feature 1.
In response, it is the examiner’s position that measurement of the rotation speed of the satellite disk on the planetary susceptor and satellite disk it met by a skilled artisan using the arrangement taught by Hines et al to measure speed of the planetary susceptor (100) of Park et al.
Applicant states:
With respect to Distinguishing Feature 2:
The Office alleged that Hines discloses "a beam splitter configured to split and irradiate reflected laser light onto a detector and convert an optical signal into an electrical signal" (Office Action, Page 4). However, the original text of Hines only discloses that "a beam splitter (68) cooperates with a detector (62) to receive reflected light", as recited in Figure 1 and paragraph [0034] of the specification of Hines:
"[0034] A beam splitter 68 redirects the reflected light through a narrow band pass optical filter 70 to focus on the solid state silicon detector 62. The optical filter 70 ensures that stray light from other sources as well as emitted light (i.e., black body radiation) from a hot platen 22 does not interfere with the reflected signal. The entire assembly may be integrated into a single housing, allowing for fine angle adjustments to compensate for any tilt between platen 22 and exterior support fixtures."
That is, the function of the beam splitter 68 in Hines is to redirect the reflected light through a narrow band pass optical filter 70 to focus on the solid state silicon detector 62. In contrast, the function of Distinguishing Feature 2 is to split the reflected laser light and irradiate it onto the detector, so as to provide the hardware basis of optical path and signal acquisition for identifying the reflectivity difference between the wafer and the graphite disk and capturing the critical position of the wafer edge, and serve as a necessary pre-link for realizing this identification function (as recited in paragraph [0009], paragraph [0017] and paragraph [0029] of the specification of the present application). The functions of the two are completely different. It is thus clear that Hines does not disclose Distinguishing Feature 2.
It is the examiner’s position that the beam splitter (68) focusing light on the detector (62) via lens (72), as shown by figure 3 of Hines et al, meets the function of splitting and irradiating reflected light onto a detector.
Also, paragraph [0036] of Hines et al states, “…The silicon detector 62 preferably has an integrated amplifier with adjustable gain so that the reflection signal can be set to saturate at the higher reflectivity sample 20 surfaces and there is sufficient voltage range between the samples 20 and the platen webs 58, 60. The output is sent directly to an analog input to the microcontroller for analysis of the output pulses. A sample output is graphically depicted in FIG. 4, and an enlarged view of the relevant region of the output is shown in FIG. 5…”; thus, meeting “converting the optical signal to an electrical signal”.
Applicant states:
With respect to Distinguishing Feature 3:
Applicant submits that the Office's interpretation of the key technical term is incorrect, which leads to the inaccurate finding of the disclosure content of the prior art. The Office interpreted the term "multi-channel synchronous data acquisition card" in the present application as "a component within a computer which operated on trigger and data to allow them to be operated upon by software", and further found that the microcontroller in Hines is equivalent to this component. This interpretation is completely divorced from the record of the specification of the present application and ignores the core function of this component.
The core function of the multi-channel synchronous data acquisition card in the present application is to synchronously acquire two independent signals: one is the electrical signal of the light intensity reflected by the laser, and the other is the trigger pulse signal of the rotation of the planetary susceptor. The strict synchronization of the two signals is the core basis for the present application to calculate the revolution angle Да of the planetary susceptor and then solve the rotation angle of the satellite disk (as recited in paragraph [0014] of the specification of the present application: "a multi-channel synchronous data acquisition card configured to obtain the rotational speed of the satellite disk by synchronously reading the electrical signal outputted from the photodetector and trigger pulse signals, sending the electrical signal and the trigger pulse signals to a computer for analysis and calculation.").
The microcontroller in Hines generates and transmits trigger pulses, while the multi-channel synchronous data acquisition card (5) in Distinguishing Feature 3 of the present application functions to synchronously acquire the external trigger pulse and the reflected light signal. The functions and roles in the solutions of the two are completely different. The Examiner's incorrect interpretation directly invalidates the finding of the disclosure content of Hines.
Specifically, the original text of Hines only discloses that "the microcontroller generates a trigger pulse synchronized with the reflected light signal" and transmits the trigger pulse, as recited in the Abstract of Hines, paragraph [0011] of the specification of Hines:
And paragraph [0032] of the specification of Hines:
"the microcontroller transmits a 5 micro-second trigger pulse at the trailing edge of the asymmetry".
That is, the function of the microcontroller in Hines is to generate and transmit
trigger pulses. In contrast, the function of the multi-channel synchronous data acquisition card (5) in Distinguishing Feature 3 of the present application is to synchronously acquire two independent external signals: one is the electrical signal of the light intensity reflected by the laser, and the other is the external trigger pulse signal of the rotation of the planetary susceptor (paragraph [0009] and paragraph [0027] of the specification of the present application). In the present application, the strict synchronization of the two signals is the core basis for calculating the revolution angle Да of the planetary susceptor and then solving the rotation angle of the satellite disk (paragraph [0010] and paragraph [0046] of the specification of the present application). Hines does not disclose this core function of "dual-channel signal synchronous acquisition" at all. Therefore, Hines does not disclose the core technical content of Distinguishing Feature 3.
In response, the examiner notes that the specification of the present application does not disclose any structure specific to the claimed “multi-channel synchronous data acquisition card" beyond paragraph [0027] which states, “…and a signal output by the detector is passed through a cable, transmitting into a multi-channel synchronous data acquisition card in a computer. A measurement software is then run in the computer...".
Also, a data acquisition card is a well known component of a microprocessor and multi-channel broadly reads on parallel data processing.
Therefore, the limitation in question is taught as follows:
a multi-channel synchronous data acquisition card configured to obtain the rotational speed of the satellite disk by synchronously reading the electrical signal outputted from the photodetector and trigger pulse signals [ the abstract of Hine et al states, “ …A detector (62) measures light signals reflected from the platen (22) along the swept path (67). and generates a unique signal upon encountering the asymmetry feature (60). A microcontroller generates a trigger pulse synchronized to the unique signal…” – therefore, a component within the microcontroller is configured to read the unique signal (reads on the electrical output from detector (62)) and a trigger pulse synchronized to the unique signal.
and sending the electrical signal and the trigger pulse signals to a computer for analysis and calculation;
Paragraph [0011] of Hines et al states, “…A microcontroller includes a
non-transitory computer readable medium coded with instructions and executed by a processor
to generate a trigger pulse synchronized to the unique signal. The frequency of two successive
trigger pulses directly corresponds to the real-time rotational speed of the platen…”
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARK HELLNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645