Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this
application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action
has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on
05/29/2026 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1,3-7,9-15,17-18 and 32 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,3,9,11,17 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MA (US 2018/0343558 A1), in view of DEMIANCHIK et al. (US 2020/0163004 A1; hereinafter “DEMIANCHIK”), in view of Shah et al. (US 2019/0045421 A1; hereinafter “Shah”), and further in view of PHUYAL et al. (US 2019/0124546 A1; hereinafter “PHUYAL”).
Regarding claim 1, MA teaches a processor of a first user equipment (UE) ([0322] Fig. 11 Processing module, Fig. 12 1201 teaches a first user equipment) configured to perform operations comprising:
establishing a device-to-device (D2D) connection with a second UE ([0094] Fig. 1 indicates that the first UE communicates with the second UE by using a D2D connection), wherein the first UE is configured with a protocol stack comprising at least an internet protocol (IP) layer, an aggregation layer and a UE user plane comprising at least a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer (FIG. 2a; [0096], [0102] disclose that the first UE includes an IP layer and a user-plane protocol stack including PDCP, RLC, MAC, and PHY layers),
generating, by the IP layer (FIG. 2a IP layer), packets for uplink (UL) transmission to a network and identifying a quality of service (QoS) flow for the packets ([0105] processing IP data packet for uplink transmission to the network, [0107] assigning a data radio bearer (DRB) for each type of quality of service (QoS) data, [0069] identifying a data type based on the data received data);
for transmission to the second UE via the D2D connection (FIG. 1; [0094] discloses transmitting data from a first UE to a second UE through a D2D communication link).
However, MA does not teach wherein the aggregation layer is between the IP layer and PDCP layer, encapsulating, by the aggregation layer, each packet with a header comprising a sequence field and a key field, wherein the sequence field includes a sequence number for ordering a packet and the key field is configured to provide identifying information for the packet comprising at least a QoS flow identifier (QFI) and a data radio bearer (DRB) ID; generating, for transmission to the network via a first radio link, a first portion of the encapsulated packets, wherein the generating, for transmission to the network via the first radio link, comprises: determining, by the aggregation layer, the first portion based on a splitting ratio and submitting, by the aggregation layer, the first portion of the encapsulated packets to the UE user plane; generating, by the aggregation layer, a second portion of the encapsulated packets, wherein the aggregation layer determines the second portion based on the splitting ratio.
In an analogous art, DEMIANCHIK teaches wherein the aggregation layer is between the IP layer and PDCP layer (FIG. 1; [0034] discloses an MPTCP aggregation layer 116 distinct that the MPTCP aggregation layer 116 operates at the IP layer and provides packets toward PDCP processing, [0098] discloses aggregation at an upper layer higher than PDCP);
encapsulating, by the aggregation layer, each packet with a header ([0047] discloses that the MPTCP aggregation layer 116 encapsulates IP packets into GTP packets, [0068] discloses that the encapsulated packets include a GTP header),
generating, for transmission to the network via a first radio link, a first portion of the encapsulated packets ([0047] discloses that the MPTCP aggregation layer 116 encapsulates IP packets, [0059] discloses splitting traffic between different bearers, [0096] discloses splitting packets of a traffic flow over different communication legs for transmission), wherein the generating, for transmission to the network via the first radio link ([0059] directing split traffic over different bearers toward the network, [0096] transmitting split packets over respective communication legs), comprises:
determining, by the aggregation layer, the first portion based on a splitting ratio ([0059] discloses that the MPTCP proxy including aggregation layer 116 determines how to split traffic between different bearers, [0072] discloses determining to split traffic into two sub-flows, [0077], [0080] discloses selecting a sub-flow based on TCP flow control and traffic distribution policies, [0096]-[0098] disclose splitting packets over multiple legs under policy control) and
submitting, by the aggregation layer, the first portion of the encapsulated packets to the UE user plane ([0034] discloses aggregation layer 116 above a distinct PDCP layer 117, [0047] discloses that aggregation layer 116 encapsulates IP packets and provides the packets toward PDCP processing, [0098] discloses that the aggregation layer operates at an upper layer higher than PDCP, thereby submitting processed packet traffic to the lower PDCP/user-plane processing).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the packet as taught by DEMIANCHIK within the system of MA. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve the over system capacity for enhanced user experience (DEMIANCHIK [0004]).
However, the combination of MA and DEMIANCHIK does not teach each packet with a header comprising a sequence field and a key field, wherein the sequence field includes a sequence number for ordering a packet and the key field is configured to provide identifying information for the packet comprising at least a QoS flow identifier (QFI) and a data radio bearer (DRB) ID; generating, by the aggregation layer, a second portion of the encapsulated packets, wherein the aggregation layer determines the second portion based on the splitting ratio.
In an analogous art, Shah teaches each packet with a header comprising a sequence field and a key field ([0043] discloses packet encapsulation, [0192] discloses PDCP sequence numbers and in-sequence delivery, [0044] discloses network-specific identifying information including DRB information, [0193] discloses QFI information), wherein the sequence field includes a sequence number for ordering a packet and the key field is configured to provide identifying information for the packet comprising at least a QoS flow identifier (QFI) and a data radio bearer (DRB) ID ([0192] The PDCP layer maintains PDCP sequence number (SNs), perform in-sequence delivery of upper layer PDUs, [0044] The eRSS 202 identifies a network-specific identifier (NSI) 205, the NSI is a data radio bearer (DRB) ID, [0193] The SDAP marks QoS flow IDs (QFIs) in DL and UL packets).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the packet as taught by Shah within the system of MA and DEMIANCHIK. One would have been motivated to do so in order to achieve an efficient service delivery through the reduced end-to-end latency (Shah [0106]).
However, the combination of MA, DEMIANCHIK and Shah does not teach generating, by the aggregation layer, a second portion of the encapsulated packets, wherein the aggregation layer determines the second portion based on the splitting ratio.
In an analogous art, PHUYAL teaches generating, by the aggregation layer, a second portion of the encapsulated packets ([0093] discloses computing an aggregated throughput and determining respective portions of data for transmission over different links, [0097] discloses LWAAP processing terminated at the PDCP layer), wherein the aggregation layer determines the second portion based on the splitting ratio ([0093] discloses determining respective amounts of data to transmit over WLAN and LTE based on a splitting ratio, [0094] discloses slitting a set amount of data according to a configured splitting ratio).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify that LWAAP processing as taught by PHUYAL within the system of MA, DEMIANCHIK and Shah. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve LTE-WLAN aggregation with a higher signal quality or throughput (PHUYAL [0025]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of MA, DEMIANCHIK, Shah and PHUYAL, specifically MA teaches wherein the operations further comprise: receiving a network configuration including parameters for determining whether to distribute the encapsulated packets to lower layers of the first UE for transmission to a network via the first radio link or to the second UE for transmission to the network via the second radio link ([0099] sending signaling to the first UE, RRC layer of the network side device is used to manage parameter configuration of an access link of the first UE, and configure a security parameter used for data transmission between the first UE and the network side device, [0271] Fig. 11 The receiving module is configured to receive data of first UE, where the data carries a first RBID and/or terminal identifier information of the first UE, and a first radio bearer (RB)).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of MA, DEMIANCHIK, Shah and PHUYAL, specifically PHUYAL teaches wherein the splitting ratio is associated with a time window or packet window ([0093] an amount of data to send to WLAN and LTE based on the time window).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify that LWAAP processing as taught by PHUYAL within the system of MA, DEMIANCHIK and Shah. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve LTE-WLAN aggregation with a higher signal quality or throughput (PHUYAL [0025]).
Regarding claim 11, MA teaches a processor of a first user equipment (UE) ([0322] Fig. 11 Processing module, Fig. 12 1201 teaches a first user equipment) configured to perform operations comprising:
establishing a device-to-device (D2D) connection with a second UE ([0094] Fig. 1 indicates that the first UE communicates with the second UE by using a D2D connection), wherein the first UE is configured with a protocol stack comprising at least an internet protocol (IP) layer, an aggregation layer and a UE user plane (FIG. 2a discloses that the first UE includes an IP layer, a PDCP layer and user plane layers (RLC, MAC, PHY)), wherein the aggregation layer is between the IP layer and the UE user plane comprising at least a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer (FIG. 2a; [0096], [0102] disclose that the first UE includes an IP layer and a user-plane protocol stack including PDCP, RLC, MAC, and PHY layers);
receiving a network configuration for aggregating radio resources of the first and second UEs ([0094] Uplink data transmission is performed between the first UE and the network side device by using the second UE),
generating, by the IP layer (FIG. 2a IP layer), IP packets for UL transmission to a network ([0105] processing IP data packet for uplink transmission to the network).
However, MA does not teach wherein the aggregation layer is between the IP layer and the PDCP layer, the network configuration including parameters indicating, based on at least a QoS flow identifier (QFI), QoS flows to be one of i) aggregated, ii) duplicated or iii) both aggregated and duplicated; and determining, by the aggregation layer, whether to distribute uplink (UL) packets to the UE user plan of the first UE for transmission to a network over a first radio link or to the second UE for transmission to the network over a second radio link of the second UE based on at least the QFI, encapsulating, by the aggregation layer, each packet with a header comprising a sequence field and a key field, wherein the sequence field includes a sequence number for ordering a packet and the key field is configured to provide identifying information for the packet comprising at least a QoS flow identifier (QFI) and a data radio bearer (DRB) ID; generating, for transmission to the network via a first radio link, a first portion of the encapsulated packets, wherein the first portion is determined by the aggregation layer based on a splitting ratio; and generating, for transmission to the second UE, a second portion of the encapsulated packets for transmission to the network via a second radio link of the second UE, wherein the second portion is determined by the aggregation layer based on the splitting ratio.
In an analogous art, DEMIANCHIK teaches wherein the aggregation layer is between the IP layer and PDCP layer (FIG. 1; [0034] discloses an MPTCP aggregation layer 116 distinct that the MPTCP aggregation layer 116 operates at the IP layer and provides packets toward PDCP processing, [0098] discloses aggregation at an upper layer higher than PDCP);
encapsulating, by the aggregation layer, each packet with a header ([0047] discloses that the MPTCP aggregation layer 116 encapsulates IP packets into GTP packets, [0068] discloses that the encapsulated packets include a GTP header).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the packet as taught by DEMIANCHIK within the system of MA. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve the over system capacity for enhanced user experience (DEMIANCHIK [0004]).
However, the combination of MA and DEMIANCHIK does not teach the network configuration including parameters indicating, based on at least a QoS flow identifier (QFI), QoS flows to be one of i) aggregated, ii) duplicated or iii) both aggregated and duplicated; and determining, by the aggregation layer, whether to distribute uplink (UL) packets to the UE user plan of the first UE for transmission to a network over a first radio link or to the second UE for transmission to the network over a second radio link of the second UE based on at least the QFI, each packet with a header comprising a sequence field and a key field, wherein the sequence field includes a sequence number for ordering a packet and the key field is configured to provide identifying information for the packet comprising at least a QoS flow identifier (QFI) and a data radio bearer (DRB) ID; generating, for transmission to the network via a first radio link, a first portion of the encapsulated packets, wherein the first portion is determined by the aggregation layer based on a splitting ratio; and generating, for transmission to the second UE, a second portion of the encapsulated packets for transmission to the network via a second radio link of the second UE, wherein the second portion is determined by the aggregation layer based on the splitting ratio.
In an analogous art, Shah teaches the network configuration including parameters indicating, based on at least a QoS flow identifier (QFI), QoS flows to be one of i) aggregated, ii) duplicated or iii) both aggregated and duplicated; and determining, by the aggregation layer (FIG. 15 SDAP layer 1547), whether to distribute uplink (UL) packets to the UE user plan (FIG. 15 RLC, MAC, PHY layers) of the first UE for transmission to a network over a first radio link or to the second UE for transmission to the network over a second radio link of the second UE based on at least the QFI ([0193] The SDAP 1547 marks QoS flow IDs (QFIs) in DL and UL packets, [0098] A QoS Flow is the finest granularity of QoS differentiation in the Packet Data Unit (PDU) Session. A QoS Flow Identifier (QFI) is used to identify a QoS Flow in the 5GS. User Plane traffic with the same QFI within a PDU Session may receive the same traffic forwarding treatment, [0135] Analysis of the traffic flow and control schemes is implemented by aggregators 1106 that are in communication with the IoT devices 1104 and each other through a mesh network, [0139] the IoT devices 404 are wired so as to allow any one of the IoT devices 1104 to control measurements. The aggregators 1106 provides redundancy in the control of the IoT devices 1104, [0191] The RLC 1530 executes transfer of upper layer protocol data units (PDUs), and detect duplicate data);
each packet with a header comprising a sequence field and a key field ([0043] discloses packet encapsulation, [0192] discloses PDCP sequence numbers and in-sequence delivery, [0044] discloses network-specific identifying information including DRB information, [0193] discloses QFI information), wherein the sequence field includes a sequence number for ordering a packet and the key field is configured to provide identifying information for the packet comprising at least a QoS flow identifier (QFI) and a data radio bearer (DRB) ID ([0192] The PDCP layer maintains PDCP sequence number (SNs), perform in-sequence delivery of upper layer PDUs, [0044] The eRSS 202 identifies a network-specific identifier (NSI) 205, the NSI is a data radio bearer (DRB) ID, [0193] The SDAP marks QoS flow IDs (QFIs) in DL and UL packets).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the packet as taught by Shah within the system of MA and DEMIANCHIK. One would have been motivated to do so in order to achieve an efficient service delivery through the reduced end-to-end latency (Shah [0106]).
However, the combination of MA, DEMIANCHIK and Shah does not teach generating, for transmission to the network via a first radio link, a first portion of the encapsulated packets, wherein the first portion is determined by the aggregation layer based on a splitting ratio; and generating, for transmission to the second UE, a second portion of the encapsulated packets for transmission to the network via a second radio link of the second UE, wherein the second portion is determined by the aggregation layer based on the splitting ratio.
In an analogous art, PHUYAL teaches generating, for transmission to the network via a first radio link, a first portion of the encapsulated packets ([0093] discloses that the UE splits uplink data according to a configured splitting ratio such that portions of the data are transmitted over different links), wherein the first portion is determined by the aggregation layer based on a splitting ratio ([0085] discloses that the UE uses an indicated uplink ratio to determine how much data to transmit, [0093] splitting uplink data according to a configured ratio); and
generating, for transmission to the second UE, a second portion of the encapsulated packets for transmission to the network via a second radio link of the second UE, wherein the second portion is determined by the aggregation layer based on the splitting ratio ([0085] the UE uses an indicated uplink ratio to determine how much data to transmit, [0093] splitting uplink data according to a configured ratio such that portions of the data are transmitted over different links).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify that LWAAP processing as taught by PHUYAL within the system of MA, DEMIANCHIK and Shah. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve LTE-WLAN aggregation with a higher signal quality or throughput (PHUYAL [0025]).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of MA, DEMIANCHIK, Shah and PHUYAL, specifically PHUYAL teaches wherein the splitting ratio is associated with a time window or packet window ([0093] an amount of data to send to WLAN and LTE based on the time window).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify that LWAAP processing as taught by PHUYAL within the system of MA, DEMIANCHIK and Shah. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve LTE-WLAN aggregation with a higher signal quality or throughput (PHUYAL [0025]).
Regarding claim 32, MA teaches a first user equipment (UE) ([0094] FIG. 1 a first UE) comprising: a transceiver configured to communicate with a second UE and a network ([0261] FIG. 11 receiving module 1101, [0252] sending module 1103); and a processor communicatively coupled to the transceiver ([0251] FIG. 11 processing module 1102) and configured to perform operations comprising:
establishing a device-to-device (D2D) connection with the second UE ([0094] FIG. 1 discloses that the first UE communicates with the second UE by using a D2D connection), wherein the first UE is configured with a protocol stack comprising at least an internet protocol (IP) layer, an aggregation layer and a UE user plane comprising at least a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer (FIG. 2a; [0096], [0102] disclose that the first UE includes an IP layer and a user-plane protocol stack including PDCP, RLC, MAC, and PHY layers);
generating, by the IP layer (FIG. 2a IP layer), packets for uplink (UL) transmission to the network and identifying a quality of service (QoS) flow for the packets ([0069] The processor controls the UE to identify a data type based on the data received by the receiver, [0105] processing IP data packet for uplink transmission to the network, [0107] a data radio bearer (DRB) for each type of quality of service (QoS) data); for transmission to the second UE via the D2D connection (FIG. 1; [0094] discloses transmitting data from a first UE to a second UE through a D2D communication link).
However, MA does not teach wherein the aggregation layer is between the IP layer and PDCP layer, encapsulating, by the aggregation layer, each packet with a header comprising a sequence field and a key field, wherein the sequence field includes a sequence number for ordering a packet and the key field is configured to provide identifying information for the packet comprising at least a QoS flow identifier (QFI) and a protocol data unit (PDU) session ID; transmitting a first portion of the encapsulated packets to the network via a first radio link, wherein the transmitting the first portion of the encapsulated packets comprises: determining, by the aggregation layer, the first portion based on a splitting ratio; submitting, by the aggregation layer, the first portion of the encapsulated packets to the UE user plane; and transmitting a second portion of the encapsulated packets, wherein the aggregation layer determine the second portion based on the splitting ratio.
In an analogous art, DEMIANCHIK teaches wherein the aggregation layer is between the IP layer and PDCP layer (FIG. 1; [0034] discloses an MPTCP aggregation layer 116 distinct that the MPTCP aggregation layer 116 operates at the IP layer and provides packets toward PDCP processing, [0098] discloses aggregation at an upper layer higher than PDCP);
encapsulating, by the aggregation layer, each packet with a header ([0047] discloses that the MPTCP aggregation layer 116 encapsulates IP packets into GTP packets, [0068] discloses that the encapsulated packets include a GTP header),
transmitting a first portion of the encapsulated packets to the network via a first radio link ([0047] discloses that the MPTCP aggregation layer 116 encapsulates IP packets, [0059] discloses splitting traffic between different bearers, [0096] discloses splitting packets of a traffic flow over different communication legs for transmission), wherein the transmitting the first portion of the encapsulated packets for transmission to the network via the first radio link ([0059] directing split traffic over different bearers toward the network, [0096] transmitting split packets over respective communication legs), comprises:
determining, by the aggregation layer, the first portion based on a splitting ratio ([0059] discloses that the MPTCP proxy including aggregation layer 116 determines how to split traffic between different bearers, [0072] discloses determining to split traffic into two sub-flows, [0077], [0080] discloses selecting a sub-flow based on TCP flow control and traffic distribution policies, [0096]-[0098] disclose splitting packets over multiple legs under policy control) and
submitting, by the aggregation layer, the first portion of the encapsulated packets to the UE user plane ([0034] discloses aggregation layer 116 above a distinct PDCP layer 117, [0047] discloses that aggregation layer 116 encapsulates IP packets and provides the packets toward PDCP processing, [0098] discloses that the aggregation layer operates at an upper layer higher than PDCP, thereby submitting processed packet traffic to the lower PDCP/user-plane processing).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the packet as taught by DEMIANCHIK within the system of MA. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve the over system capacity for enhanced user experience (DEMIANCHIK [0004]).
However, the combination of MA and DEMIANCHIK does not teach each packet with a header comprising a sequence field and a key field, wherein the sequence field includes a sequence number for ordering a packet and the key field is configured to provide identifying information for the packet comprising at least a QoS flow identifier (QFI) and a protocol data unit (PDU) session ID; and transmitting a second portion of the encapsulated packets, wherein the aggregation layer determine the second portion based on the splitting ratio.
In an analogous art, Shah teaches each packet with a header comprising a sequence field and a key field ([0043] discloses packet encapsulation, [0192] discloses PDCP sequence numbers and in-sequence delivery, [0044] discloses network-specific identifying information including DRB information, [0193] discloses QFI information), wherein the sequence field includes a sequence number for ordering a packet and the key field is configured to provide identifying information for the packet comprising at least a QoS flow identifier (QFI) and a protocol data unit (PDU) session ID ([0192] The PDCP layer maintains PDCP sequence number (SNs), perform in-sequence delivery of upper layer PDUs, [0193] The SDAP marks QoS flow IDs (QFIs) in DL and UL packets, [0098] A QoS Flow is the finest granularity of QoS differentiation in the Packet Data Unit (PDU) Session).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the packet as taught by Shah within the system of MA and DEMIANCHIK. One would have been motivated to do so in order to achieve an efficient service delivery through the reduced end-to-end latency (Shah [0106]).
However, the combination of MA, DEMIANCHIK and Shah does not teach transmitting a second portion of the encapsulated packets, wherein the aggregation layer determine the second portion based on the splitting ratio.
In an analogous art, PHUYAL teaches transmitting a second portion of the encapsulated packets ([0093] discloses that the UE splits uplink data according to a configured splitting ratio such that portions of the data are transmitted over different links), wherein the aggregation layer determine the second portion based on the splitting ratio ([0093] discloses determining respective amounts of data to transmit over WLAN and LTE based on a splitting ratio, [0094] discloses slitting a set amount of data according to a configured splitting ratio).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify that LWAAP processing as taught by PHUYAL within the system of MA, DEMIANCHIK and Shah. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve LTE-WLAN aggregation with a higher signal quality or throughput (PHUYAL [0025]).
Claims 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MA, in view of DEMIANCHIK, in view of Shah, in view of PHUYAL, and further in view of KALHAN et al. (US 2017/0251487 A1; hereinafter “KALHAN”).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of MA, DEMIANCHIK, Shah and PHUYAL does not teach wherein the network configuration indicates a buffer size threshold, wherein, when a buffer size of the first UE is below the threshold, the first UE transmits via a prioritized link of the first and second radio links and, when the buffer size is above the threshold, the first UE transmits via both the first and second radio links.
In an analogous art, KALHAN teaches wherein the network configuration indicates a buffer size threshold ([0031] The threshold may be a pre-configured value or may be adjusted in some situations]), wherein, when a buffer size of the first UE is below the threshold, the first UE transmits via a prioritized link of the first and second radio links and, when the buffer size is above the threshold, the first UE transmits via both the first and second radio links ([0014] a data channel and a control channel (read as first links) for uplink and downlink transmissions, [0015] D2D link (read as second links), [0031] Fig. 4 at step 406, it is determined whether the size of the data buffer for the D2D transmission is greater than to a threshold, [0032] at step 412, it is determined whether the UE device has received any active preferred transmission indicators (PTIs)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the size of the data buffer as taught by KALHAN within the system of MA, DEMIANCHIK, Shah and PHUYAL. One would have been motivated to do so in order to communicate directly through a device-to-device (D2D) communication link that does not include routing data through the base station (KALHAN [0003]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of MA, DEMIANCHIK, Shah, PHUYAL and KALHAN, specifically KALHAN teaches wherein the network configuration indicates a buffer size threshold ([0031] The threshold may be a pre-configured value or may be adjusted in some situations]), wherein, when a buffer size of the first UE is below the threshold, the first UE transmits via a prioritized link of the first and second radio links and, when the buffer size is above the threshold, the first UE transmits via both the first and second radio links ([0014] a data channel and a control channel (read as first links) for uplink and downlink transmissions, [0015] D2D link (read as second links), [0031] Fig. 4 at step 406, it is determined whether the size of the data buffer for the D2D transmission is greater than to a threshold, [0032] at step 412, it is determined whether the UE device has received any active preferred transmission indicators (PTIs)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the size of the data buffer as taught by KALHAN within the system of MA, DEMIANCHIK, Shah, PHUYAL and KALHAN. One would have been motivated to do so in order to communicate directly through a device-to-device (D2D) communication link that does not include routing data through the base station (KALHAN [0003]).
Claims 5-7 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MA, in view of DEMIANCHIK, in view of Shah, in view of PHUYAL, and further in view of "Packet Duplication in Dual Connectivity Enabled 5G Wireless Networks: Overview and Challenges” by Aijaz Adnan, filed in IDS (hereinafter “Aijaz”).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of MA, DEMIANCHIK, Shah, PHUYAL does not teach wherein the network configuration indicates packet duplication, wherein the first UE duplicates the encapsulated packets and transmits the encapsulated packets and the duplicated packets via both the first and second radio links.
In an analogous art, Aijaz teaches wherein the network configuration indicates packet duplication, wherein the first UE duplicates the encapsulated packets and transmits the encapsulated packets and the duplicated packets via both the first and second radio links ([Page 24 paragraph 2] discloses the packet duplication which applied for signaling radio bearers (SRBs), packet duplication for SRBs should be configured based on the type of the SRB (e.g., SRB1,SRB2)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a packet duplication for SRBs as taught by Aijaz within the system of MA, DEMIANCHIK, Shah, PHUYAL. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide an overview of the packet duplication functionality in 5G in light of recent developments (Aijaz [abstract]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of MA, DEMIANCHIK, Shah, PHUYAL and Aijaz, specifically Aijaz teaches wherein the packet duplication is configured by radio resource control (RRC) signaling and activated by RRC signaling or a medium access control control element (MAC-CE) ([Page 23 paragraph 7] Another approach is to dynamically control packet duplication through a MAC control element (CE), [Page 24 paragraph 1] Figure 3 shows the activation of packet duplication through RRC signaling).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a packet duplication for SRBs as taught by Aijaz within the parameter of MA, DEMIANCHIK, Shah and PHUYAL. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide an overview of the packet duplication functionality in 5G in light of recent developments (Aijaz [abstract]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of MA, DEMIANCHIK, Shah, PHUYAL and Aijaz, specifically Aijaz teaches wherein the network configuration indicates which QoS flows are to be aggregated or duplicated ([Page 21, paragraph 5] indicates user plane protocol stack which comprises QoS flow in New AS and PDCP duplication, [Page 23, paragraph 3] the packet duplication operation is configured by the RRC layer. It can be configured at the UE level or at the radio bearer level).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a packet duplication for SRBs as taught by Aijaz within the parameter of MA, Shah and PHUYAL. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide an overview of the packet duplication functionality in 5G in light of recent developments (Aijaz [abstract]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of MA, DEMIANCHIK, Shah, PHUYAL and Aijaz, specifically Aijaz teaches wherein the network configuration indicates packet duplication, wherein the first UE duplicates the encapsulated packets and transmits the encapsulated packets and the duplicated packets via both the first and second radio links ([Page 24 paragraph 2] discloses the packet duplication which applied for signaling radio bearers (SRBs), packet duplication for SRBs should be configured based on the type of the SRB (e.g., SRB1,SRB2)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a packet duplication for SRBs as taught by Aijaz within the parameter of MA, DEMIANCHIK, Shah and PHUYAL. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide an overview of the packet duplication functionality in 5G in light of recent developments (Aijaz [abstract]).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of MA, DEMIANCHIK, Shah, PHUYAL and Aijaz, specifically Aijaz teaches wherein the packet duplication is configured by radio resource control (RRC) signaling and activated by RRC signaling or a medium access control control element (MAC-CE) ([Page 23 paragraph 7] Another approach is to dynamically control packet duplication through a MAC control element (CE), [Page 24 paragraph 1] Figure 3 shows the activation of packet duplication through RRC signaling).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a packet duplication for SRBs as taught by Aijaz within the parameter of MA, DEMIANCHIK, Shah and PHUYAL. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide an overview of the packet duplication functionality in 5G in light of recent developments (Aijaz [abstract]).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of MA, DEMIANCHIK, Shah, PHUYAL and Aijaz, specifically Aijaz teaches wherein the network configuration indicates which QoS flows are to be aggregated or duplicated ([Page 21, paragraph 5] indicates user plane protocol stack which comprises QoS flow in New AS and PDCP duplication, [Page 23, paragraph 3] the packet duplication operation is configured by the RRC layer. It can be configured at the UE level or at the radio bearer level).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a packet duplication for SRBs as taught by Aijaz within the parameter of MA, DEMIANCHIK, Shah and PHUYAL. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide an overview of the packet duplication functionality in 5G in light of recent developments (Aijaz [abstract]).
Claims 10 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MA, in view of DEMIANCHIK, in view of Shah, in view of PHUYAL, and further in view of Blanchette et al. (US 2007/0153741 A1; hereinafter “Blanchette”).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of MA, DEMIANCHIK, Shah and PHUYAL does not teach wherein the header is a generic routing encapsulation (GRE) protocol header.
In an analogous art, Blanchette teaches wherein the header is a generic routing encapsulation (GRE) protocol header ([0099] Fig. 14 discloses the header comprising Generic Routing Encapsulation (GRE) header).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a GRE packet flow as taught by Blanchette within the parameter of MA, DEMIANCHIK, Shah and PHUYAL. One would have been motivated to do so in order to enable the roaming client to continue to seamlessly receive inbound traffic prior to or during the configuration of the L2 bridge forwarding table (Blanchette [abstract]).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of MA, DEMIANCHIK, Shah, PHUYAL and Blanchette, specifically Blanchette teaches wherein the header is a generic routing encapsulation (GRE) protocol header ([0099] Fig. 14 discloses the header comprising Generic Routing Encapsulation (GRE) header).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a GRE packet flow as taught by Blanchette within the parameter of MA, DEMIANCHIK, Shah and PHUYAL. One would have been motivated to do so in order to enable the roaming client to continue to seamlessly receive inbound traffic prior to or during the configuration of the L2 bridge forwarding table (Blanchette [abstract]).
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2017/0118133 A1 (Meylan et al.) discloses techniques for optimizing wireless wide area network (WWAN)-wireless local area network (WLAN) aggregation.
US 2017/0048914 A1 (Zeng et al.) discloses a data transmission method and a device.
US 2018/0206282 A1 (Singh et al.) discloses bearer splitting for wireless communications.
/T.I./ Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413