DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-2, 5-7, 11, 15, 22-23, 25, 27-30, 34-38, and 41 are pending and examined on the merits.
Claims 2, 5-7, 11, 15, 22-23, 25, 27-30, 36-38, and 41 are previously presented.
Claims 3-4, 8-10, 12-14, 16-21, 24, 26, 31-33, and 39-40 are cancelled.
Response to Amendment
No amendments were provided.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 02/04/2026 have been fully considered. Regarding the argument that Kelly does not teach “causing a reversing valve to reverse the flow of blood through a portion of the flow path” (see page 5-8 of Remarks filed 02/04/2026), Examiner respectfully disagrees. Specifically, while Kelly teaches that the blood pump 48 runs in reverse (see para. [0121]), as broadly recited, a valve is defined as a device that regulates, starts, stops, and/or changes direction of fluid flow (see attached “What is the difference between pumps and valves” by Saiyi Hydraulic). Therefore, as broadly recited, the blood pump 48 of Kelly is considered a valve at least because the blood pump 48 enables start, stop, and/or changes in direction of the fluid flow (see at least para. [0121 and 0248] of Kelly).
The rejections submitted in the Non-Final mailed 07/29/2025 are reintroduced below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-7, 11, 15, 23, 25, 27-30, 34-38, and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kelly (U.S. Pre Grant Pub. No. 2005/0131332 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kelly teaches: A blood treatment system (see Fig. 1 and para. [0043]) comprising:
a blood pump for urging blood from an arterial or venous interface through a blood flow path (see Fig. 1 and para. [0089] describing arterial line 44a and venous line 44b);
a dialyser in fluid communication with said blood flow path for ultrafiltering the blood to remove fluid therefrom (see at least para. [0076] teaching that ultrafiltrate is removed from the patient via the arterial dialyzer);
a fluid removal pump in fluid communication with said dialyser for urging ultrafiltered fluid away from said dialyser (see para. [0187]);
a controller in signal communication with said blood pump (see para. [0080]); and
a reversing valve for selectively reversing direction of blood flow in at least a portion of the blood flow path under signal control of said controller (see para. [0121]),
wherein said blood pump is selectively activatable under signal control of said controller (see para. [0080]); and
wherein said system is portable and wearable by a patient undergoing blood treatment (see at least para. [0008]).
Regarding claim 2, Kelly teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Additionally, Kelly teaches wherein said dialyser is a first dialyser (see para. [0083] and Fig. 1) and said system further comprises a second dialyser (Id.): and wherein the system comprises at least one flow control element for directing said blood flow path through a selected one of said first dialyser (see venous line clamp/valve 56 in Fig. 1 and para. [0092]) or said second dialyser under signal control of said controller (see para. [0080]).
Regarding claim 5, Kelly teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Additionally, Kelly teaches where the portion of the blood flow path comprises the arterial and the venous interface (see venous dialyzer 20 and arterial dialyzer 30 in Fig. 1 and para. [0083], which are in the blood flow path).
Regarding claim 6, Kelly teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Additionally, Kelly teaches wherein the reversing valve is positioned upstream of an inlet of the blood pump for selectively flowing blood from one of the arterial or venous interface to the inlet of the blood pump without reversing the blood pump (as broadly recited, the blood pump 48, which is considered to be a reversing valve, is positioned upstream of pumps 22, 24, 26, and 28; see para. [0080]).
Regarding claim 7, Kelly teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Additionally, Kelly teaches comprising a prime fluid reservoir (see at least para. [0015]); and a plurality of other valves, each under signal control of said controller to effect automated priming of the system by circulating prime fluid urged by said blood pump from said prime fluid reservoir along selected fluid flow paths (see at least para. [0015]).
Regarding claim 11, Kelly teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 7. Additionally, Kelly teaches wherein said selected fluid flow paths includes at least one of: a fluid flow path connecting said prime fluid reservoir and said first dialyser (since Kelly teaches a closed fluid flow system, as seen in at least Fig. 1, the fluid flow paths are interconnected; therefore, a fluid flow path exists between the reservoir and first dialyser); a fluid flow path connecting said prime fluid reservoir and said second dialyser (since Kelly teaches a closed fluid flow system, as seen in at least Fig. 1, the fluid flow paths are interconnected; therefore, a fluid flow path exists between the reservoir and second dialyser); a fluid flow path connecting said prime fluid reservoir and said arterial interface (since Kelly teaches a closed fluid flow system, as seen in at least Fig. 1, the fluid flow paths are interconnected; therefore, a fluid flow path exists between the reservoir and arterial interface);and/or a fluid flow path connecting said prime fluid reservoir and said venous interface (since Kelly teaches a closed fluid flow system, as seen in at least Fig. 1, the fluid flow paths are interconnected; therefore, a fluid flow path exists between the reservoir and venous interface).
Regarding claim 15, Kelly teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 7. Additionally, Kelly teaches wherein said controller is configured to control said other valves to remove said first dialyser from said blood flow path to facilitate replacement of said first dialyser (as described in para. [0009], the priming sequence is automated, therefore, a controller is configured to control the other valves to remove the first dialyser from the blood flow path); or said controller is configured to control said other valves to remove said second dialyser from said blood flow path to facilitate replacement of said second dialyser (as described in para. [0009], the priming sequence is automated, therefore, a controller is configured to control the other valves to remove the second dialyser from the blood flow path).
Regarding claim 23, Kelly teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Additionally, Kelly teaches comprising a pressure sensor for measuring pressure of the blood proximate said arterial or venous interface (see pressure sensor 46 in Fig. 1 and para. [0089]); wherein said controller implements logic for disabling said blood pump in response to detection of the pressure of the blood by said pressure sensor in excess of a pre-defined limit (see pressure switch in para. [0089], which necessarily has to be connected to a controller).
Regarding claim 25, Kelly teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Additionally, Kelly teaches comprising a blood sensor for sensing blood in the ultrafiltered fluid (see para. [0118]); wherein said controller implements logic for disabling said blood pump in response to detection of blood by said blood sensor (as described in para. [0118], the blood leak detector 66 includes a light source and photo sensor, which necessarily have to be controlled by a controller that implements logic for disabling the blood pump in response to the detection of blood).
Regarding claim 27, Kelly teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Additionally, Kelly teaches wherein said fluid removal pump is reversible under signal control of said controller (para. [0121] describes that pump 48 would run in reverse until a sensor detects an absence of blood in the fluid line; since a controller has to necessarily control the sensor, the pump is under signal control of the controller), to urge ultrafiltered fluid into the dialyser to clear fouling from a membrane of the dialyser (see at least para. [0121]).
Regarding claim 28, Kelly teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Additionally, Kelly teaches wherein said controller is configured for reversing said fluid removal pump in response to determining a transmembrane pressure of said dialyser (see at least para. [0103 and 0121]).
Regarding claim 29, Kelly teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Additionally, Kelly teaches wherein said controller is configured for controlling a pump rate of said blood pump based on a measured fluid removal rate (the controller of Kelly is configured to control the sensors and other electronics, therefore, it is also configured to control the pump rate).
Regarding claim 30, Kelly teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Additionally, Kelly teaches further comprising non-transitory memory for storing data received at said controller; wherein said data includes sensor data (see at least para. [0293]).
Regarding claim 34, Kelly teaches A method for controlling a blood treatment system (see at least Abstract), the method comprising:
causing a blood pump to flow blood through a flow path from one of an arterial or venous interface to a dialyser and to the other of the arterial or venous interface (see Fig. 1 and para. [0089] describing arterial line 44a and venous line 44b); and
causing a reversing valve to reverse the flow of blood through a portion of the flow path (see para. [0121]).
Regarding claim 35, Kelly teaches the method as discussed above in claim 34. Additionally, Kelly teaches wherein causing the reversing valve to reverse the flow of blood through the portion of the flow path comprises causing blood to reverse flow between the arterial and venous interface (see at least para. [0121]).
Regarding claim 36, Kelly teaches the method as discussed above in claim 34. Additionally, Kelly teaches wherein the reversing valve is positioned upstream of an inlet of the blood pump (see Fig. 1), and the method comprises selectively flowing blood from one of the arterial or venous interface to the inlet of the blood pump without reversing the blood pump (see para. [0121]).
Regarding claim 37, Kelly teaches the method as discussed above in claim 34. Additionally, Kelly teaches comprising directing said blood flow path through a selected one of a first dialyser or a second dialyser (see at least para. [0076]).
Regarding claim 38, Kelly teaches the method as discussed above in claim 34. Additionally, Kelly teaches comprising causing a plurality of flow valves to prime a portion of the flow path by circulating prime fluid urged by said blood pump from a prime fluid reservoir along the portion of the flow path; wherein said portion of the flow path is isolated from a second dialyser (see at least para. [0015]).
Regarding claim 41, Kelly teaches the method as discussed above in claim 34. Additionally, Kelly teaches wherein said portion of the flow path includes said prime fluid reservoir and said arterial interface (see at least para. [0015]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kelly (U.S. Pre Grant Pub. No. 2005/0131332 A1) in view of Grant (U.S. Pre Grant Pub. No. 2009/0105629 A1).
Regarding claim 22, Kelly teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. However, Kelly fails to explicitly teach comprising an anticoagulant source in fluid communication with the blood flow path, for adding anticoagulant to the blood flow path, as required by the claim.
Grant teaches an analogous blood treatment system (see Abstract) comprising an anticoagulant connection for engaging with an anticoagulant source and providing anticoagulant into the blood circuit (see at least para. [0014]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Kelly to incorporate the teachings of Grant by including an anticoagulant connection and source at least because Grant teachings that inclusion of such structures provides anticoagulant into the blood circuit (see para. [0014]) which would prevent coagulation of the blood.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JIHAD DAKKAK/ Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/SARAH AL HASHIMI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3781