DETAILED ACTION
Status of the application
Receipt of applicant’s remarks and claim amendments filed on 08/14/2025 are acknowledged.
However, applicants’ arguments for previous only pending 103 rejection are found not persuasive. Accordingly, the rejection is maintained and modified to address claim amendments. Please see the examiners response to applicants below.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ argue that none of the secondary documents Karsdal, Chaudhari, Lee or Ernbury point towards the use of the absorption enhancers according to the amended claim 1 in combination with compound A, or even a compound remotely similar to compound A. The person of ordinary skill would not be motivated to select the absorption enhancers found in the cited references and would have no reasonable expectation of success in applying the said absorption enhancers for present compound A.
Though the rejection provided the reasoning for advantages of absorption enhancers, but it appears that applicants fail to explain ‘why the combination of compound A with absorption enhancer’ does not work.
Applicants further argue that as described in the specification, the claimed oral pharmaceutical compositions significantly improve the oral bioavailability of compound A.
As explained in the rejection, Karsdal teaches that the obstacles in oral formulations can be overcame with various strategies to increase bioavailability of proteins and peptides, and suggests introducing ‘absorption enhancers’ in the peptide formulations. Therefore, improvement in bioavailability is expected when the compound A is combined with absorption enhancer, absent evidence to the contrary.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 [Maintained and modified]
Claims 1, 6, 8-16, 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (WO 2019/015644 A1; see applicants filed IDS dated 09/16/2022) in view of Karsdal (Br J Clin Pharmacil, 2014, 79:5, 720-732; see applicants filed IDS dated 05/02/2024) and Chaudhari (IJAPBC, 2012, 1(1), 21-34).
For claim 1:
Zhang teaches pharmaceutical composition of the following compound:
[see compound 8 in page 11; claims 6 and 8].
The above compound reads applicants compound. Please note that if we rotate above molecule by 180o in 3D space, the bold wedge (pointing towards you) becomes dashed wedge (pointing away from you). This is like turning the molecule around and viewing it from the back.
The differences between Zhang and instant claim are as follows:
(i) Zhang is silent on oral pharmaceutical composition.
(ii) Zhang is silent on applicants recited one of the absorption enhancers with recited weight ratios in their compositions.
With regard to (i) and (ii) of above, Karsdal teaches that the primary advantages of oral drug delivery compared with injection or nasal spray administration are greater acceptability and convenience for patient. Karsdal further teaches that the obstacles in oral formulations can be overcame with various strategies to increase bioavailability of proteins and peptides, and suggests introducing ‘absorption enhancers’ in the peptide formulations. [see sections Introduction and Introducing the absorption enhancers 5-CNAC, SNAC, 4-CNAB].
However, the recited absorption enhancers and their advantages in oral formulations of peptides are well known in the art and widely used in the oral formulations of proteins or peptides. For example, Karsdal teaches N-[8-(2-hydroxybenzoyl amino]caprylate or SNAC (aka N-[8-(2-hydroxybenzoyl)amino]octanoic acid) and monosodium N-(4-chlorosalicyloyl)-4-aminobutyrate (4-CNAB), which is also known as 4-[(4- chloro-2-hydroxy-benzoyl)amino]butyric acid, and their advantages in oral peptide formulations [see page 721 and Table 3].
With regard to concentrations or ratios, generally, differences in concentrations of components of a formulation will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art. Such formulations are results-effective variables which can be optimized. In in re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272,276, 205 USPQ 215, 219 (CCPA 1980), it was held that "discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art." Further, in In re Aller, 220 F. 2d454, 456, 105 USPQ 233,235 (CCPA 1955) the courts maintained that: "Where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." As formulating optimal compositions for medicaments is routine in the art of pharmacology, the claims are considered to be prima facie obvious.
Therefore, a skilled person in the art would be motivated to incorporate absorption enhancers in the peptide composition(s) of Zhang and arrive at applicants claimed oral pharmaceutical composition with a reasonable expectation of success.
For claim 6:
Karsdal teaches cited absorption enhancer [see page 721 and Table 3].
For claim 8-16:
Zhang silent on recited excipients and absorption enhancer with specific ratios in their disclosure.
However, known art is very high in pharmaceutical excipients and so, these are well known in the art. For example, Chaudhari teaches various excipients for solid dosage forms and it also teaches specific binders and lubricants, specifically magnesium stearate as a lubricant, povidone as a binder and microcrystalline cellulose as a diluents, polyethylene glycol as plasticizers [see Table 1].
Karsdal teaches cited both absorption enhancers [see page 721 and Table 3].
With regard to concentrations or ratios, generally, differences in concentrations of components of a formulation will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art. Such formulations are results-effective variables which can be optimized. In in re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272,276, 205 USPQ 215, 219 (CCPA 1980), it was held that "discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art." Further, in In re Aller, 220 F. 2d454, 456, 105 USPQ 233,235 (CCPA 1955) the courts maintained that: "Where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." As formulating optimal compositions for medicaments is routine in the art of pharmacology, the claims are considered to be prima facie obvious.
So, combination of art reads applicants claims.
For claim 19-21:
Zhang silent on recited one or more non-active ingredients in their disclosure. However, this can be cured by teachings of Chaudhari, see below:
Chaudhari teaches various excipients for solid dosage forms and it also teaches specific binders and lubricants, specifically magnesium stearate as a lubricant, povidone as a binder and microcrystalline cellulose as a diluents, polyethylene glycol as plasticizers, and further teach buffers to maintain pH, such as citric acid [see Table 1].
With regard to concentrations or ratios, generally, differences in concentrations of components of a formulation will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art. Such formulations are results-effective variables which can be optimized. In in re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272,276, 205 USPQ 215, 219 (CCPA 1980), it was held that "discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art." Further, in In re Aller, 220 F. 2d454, 456, 105 USPQ 233,235 (CCPA 1955) the courts maintained that: "Where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." As formulating optimal compositions for medicaments is routine in the art of pharmacology, the claims are considered to be prima facie obvious.
So, combination of art reads applicants claims.
Based on the above established facts from the cited prior art, it appears that all the claimed elements, i.e, applicants compound A and absorption enhancers etc., were known in the prior art, and one skilled person in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known relationships, with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
The motivation to combine the art can arise from the expectation that the prior art elements will perform their expected functions to achieve their expected results when combined for their common known purpose. See MPEP 2144.07. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by taking the advantage of the teaching of the above cited reference and to make the instantly claimed composition with a reasonable expectation of success.
The strongest rationale for combining references is a recognition, expressly or impliedly in the prior art or drawn from a convincing line of reasoning based on established scientific principles or legal precedent, that some advantage or expected beneficial result would have been produced by their combination. In re Sernaker, 702 F.2d 989, 994-95, 217 USPQ 1, 5-6 (Fed. Cir. 1983).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SUDHAKAR KATAKAM
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1658
/SUDHAKAR KATAKAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1658