DETAILED ACTION
All rejections and objections not mentioned below have been withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of compound WX001 (shown below), in the reply filed on 08/27/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 1, 11, 13, and 17-20 read on the elected species.
In light of this species election, a search of compound WX001 was conducted. The compound WX001 was found free of the art. The scope was expanded to the second compound of claim 19 (shown below).
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. CN202010187846.6, filed on 03/17/2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/07/2022, 05/30/2023, 02/13/2024 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 11, 13, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CREWS (CREWS et al., US 20170121321 A1, 2017) in view of LUO (LUO et al., WO2020048546A1, 2020-03-12, IDS) further in view of LIU (LIU et al., US 12410171 B2 effective filing date 2020-02-26).
The reference CREWS teaches “The invention provides a compound of formula (I). The invention further provides a pharmaceutical composition comprising at least one compound of formula (I) and at least one pharmaceutically acceptable carrier. The invention further provides a method of treating or preventing a disease or disorder associated with overexpression and/or uncontrolled activation of c-Abl and/or BCR-ABL. The invention further provides a method of preventing or treating a tyrosine kinase-dependent cancer in a subject in need thereof. In certain embodiments, the compound of formula (I) is TKI-L-(ULM)k (I), wherein: TKI is a tyrosine kinase inhibitor, L is a linker, each ULM is independently a ubiquitin ligase binder, and k is an integer ranging from 1 to 4, wherein TKI is covalently linked to L and wherein each ULM is covalently linked to L; or a salt, enantiomer, stereoisomer, solvate, polymorph or N-oxide thereof”[0006-0007]. The reference CREWS teaches (reference claim 1 and 9):
“The compound of claim 1, wherein the TKI is at least one selected from the group consisting of Dasatinib, Imatinib, Saracatinib, Ponatinib, Nilotinib, Danusertib, AT9283, Degrasyn, Bafetinib, KW-2449, NVP-BHG712, DCC-2036, GZD824, GNF-2, PD173955, GNF-5, Bosutinib, Gefitinib, Erlotinib, Sunitinib, Ruxolitinib, Tofacitinib, Lapatinib, Vandetanib, Sorafenib, Sunitinib, Axitinib, Nintedanib, Regorafenib, Pazopanib, Lenvatinib, Crizotinib, Ceritinib…”(reference claim 9). This helps to teach claims 1, 11, 13, and 17-20.
The reference Crew does not teach the correct linker or ULM (claims 1, 11, 13, and 17-20 ).
The reference LUO teaches “Thalidomide, trade name is reaction stop, was first synthesized by the German company Grande. During the second half of the 1950s to the early 1960s, it was sold as a sedative in more than 40 countries and widely used as an antiemetic for pregnant women, eventually resulting in the tragedy of tens of thousands of infants with seal limb deformity (morphogenesis disorder). And withdraw from the market.
Since the "reaction stop" incident, the teratogenic mechanism of thalidomide has aroused great interest of researchers. The protein Cereblon (CRBN) has been proven to be a target protein for thalidomide teratogenic effects. Thalidomide binds CRBN, DNA damage binding protein DDB1 (Damaged DNA Protein 1), CUL4A (Cullin-4A), and Cullins 1 regulator (ROC1) to form an E3 ubiquitin ligase complex, which binds a variety of substrates The protein is ubiquitinated to form a ubiquitinated chain, so that the substrate protein is recognized and hydrolyzed by the proteasome. Diamines are called immunomodulatory drugs (IMiDs). They activate the ubiquitination of the transcription factors IKZF1 and IKZF3 by the E3 ubiquitin ligase complex formed with CRBN, and are recognized and degraded by the proteasome. Multiple myeloma (Multiple Myeloma) produces toxic effects. The absence of these two transcription factors stops the growth of myeloma. Doxamine drugs such as lenalidomide and pomalidomide are first-line drugs for the treatment of multiple myeloma.
CRBN is a 442 amino acid protein that is conserved from plant to human. It is located on the short arm of p26.3 of human chromosome 3 and has a molecular weight of 51 kDa. In humans, the CRBN gene has been identified as a candidate gene for autosomal recessive non-syndrome mild mental retardation (ARNSMR). CRBN is widely expressed in testes, spleen, prostate, liver, pancreas, placenta, kidney, lung, skeletal muscle, ovary, small intestine, peripheral blood leukocytes, colon, brain, and retina, but in brain tissue (including retina) and testes The expression was significantly higher in other tissues.
CRBN, as an important target of antitumor and immunomodulator drugs, has been proven in multiple hematological malignancies such as multiple myeloma, chronic lymphocytic leukemia, skin diseases such as leprosy nodular erythema, and systemic lupus erythematosus. Autoimmune diseases have a clear effect. Doxamines have more side effects, especially peripheral neuropathy. There is an urgent need to develop CRBN modulator drugs without teratogenic effects, fewer peripheral neuropathies, stronger immunomodulatory effects, and higher antitumor activity to improve clinical treatment effects, reduce clinical side effects, and facilitate long-term use of patients”[Background technique].The reference LUO also teaches the following ULM (claim 1 and claim 11), wherein R1=alkyl groups. This helps to teach claims 1, 11, 13, and 17-20.
The reference LIU teaches the following lead compound with the correct linker (column 1520) as well as bivalent compounds comprising kinase ligands conjugated to a degradation tag via a linker(page 12-13). This helps to teach claims 1, 11, 13, and 17-20.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have modified CREWS’ TKI-L-(ULM) compound with LUO ULM because they both teach ULM for the same purpose of degrading a target protein. One would be motivated to do so with reasonable expectation of success because it is obvious to substitute known equivalents for the same purpose. LUO also provides the motivation that its ULM is superior over Thalidomide. It would have been obvious to modify CREW, LUO with the linker of LIU also because one would be motivated to do so with reasonable expectation of success because it is obvious to substitute known equivalents for the same purpose.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 11, 13, and 17-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8, 11-19, 23-24 of copending Application No. 19/107,901 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because generic to a species or sub-genus claimed in a conflicting patent or application, i.e., the entire scope of the reference claim falls within the scope of the examined claim.
The application ‘901 claims:
Wherein, E=bond, X=furyl, Y=Z=phenyl. This anticipates claims 1-2, 9-11, 14, 17, 18, 20.
Claims 1, 11, 13, and 17-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of copending Application No. 19/164,227 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because generic to a species or sub-genus claimed in a conflicting patent or application, i.e., the entire scope of the reference claim falls within the scope of the examined claim.
The application ‘227 claims:
Wherein, E=NH, X= isoxazolyl, Y=Z=phenyl. This anticipates claims 1-2, 10-11, 14, 18, 20.
Claims 1, 11, 13, and 17-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-43 of copending Application No. 19/164,229 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because generic to a species or sub-genus claimed in a conflicting patent or application, i.e., the entire scope of the reference claim falls within the scope of the examined claim.
The application ‘229 claims:
Wherein, E=NH, X= isoxazolyl, Y=Z=phenyl. This anticipates claims 1-2, 10-11, 14, 18, 20.
Claims 1, 11, 13, and 17-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of copending Application No. 18/689,074 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because generic to a species or sub-genus claimed in a conflicting patent or application, i.e., the entire scope of the reference claim falls within the scope of the examined claim.
The application ‘074 claims:
Wherein, E=NH, X= furyl, Y=Z=phenyl. This anticipates claims 1-4, 9-11, 14, 18, 20.
Claims 1, 11, 13, and 17-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of copending Application No. 18/695,174 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because generic to a species or sub-genus claimed in a conflicting patent or application, i.e., the entire scope of the reference claim falls within the scope of the examined claim.
The application ‘174 claims:
Wherein, E=NH, X= furyl, Y=Z=phenyl. This anticipates claims 1-4, 9-11, 14, 18, 20.
Claims 1, 11, 13, and 17-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of copending Application No. 18/549,186 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because generic to a species or sub-genus claimed in a conflicting patent or application, i.e., the entire scope of the reference claim falls within the scope of the examined claim.
The application ‘186 claims:
Wherein, E=NH, X= furyl, Y=Z=phenyl. This anticipates claims 1-4, 9-14, 17-18, 20.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Claims 1, 11, 13, and 17-20 are rejected.
/A.A.S./ Examiner, Art Unit 1627
/Kortney L. Klinkel/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1627