DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (“IDS”) filed on 05/31/2026 has been reviewed and the listed reference has been considered.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-18 are pending. Claims 1, 17 and 18 are amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment of the independent claims 1, 17 and 18, which has altered the scope of the claims of the instant application, has necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this office action with respect to claims of the instant application. Accordingly, in response to Applicant’s arguments that are merely directed to the amended independent claims, new analyses have been presented below, which make Applicant’s arguments moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5-9, 11-14 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ando (US 2016/0379075 A1), in view Dharia et al. (US 2021/0278257 A1), in further view of Berkovich et al. (US 11,888,002 B2) and still in further view of Zimmer (US 2015/0350576 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ando teaches, An information processing device, comprising: a central processing unit (CPU) configured to: (Ando, ¶0021: “an image recognition device 10 is configured to include a pixel signal processing unit 100”) acquire imaging information; (Ando, ¶0006: “an image captured by a camera”) set at least one pixel position for acquisition of sampling pixel for each divided region of a plurality of divided regions of the imaging information, (Ando, ¶0051: “image recognition processing for the image input from the image reading section 113 for each region expressed by the partial image information input from the partial image setting section 114, that is, for each partial image”; the sampling pixel is interpreted as pixels in “each region expressed by the partial image information”) wherein the each divided region is obtained by division of the imaging information, (Ando, ¶0048: “dividing the region of an image into a plurality of regions.”) the imaging information includes: first imaging information corresponding to a first divided region of the plurality of divided regions, and second imaging information corresponding to a second divided region of the plurality of divided regions, (Ando, ¶0078: “the partial images B10 and B16, among the 16 partial images B1 to B16 obtained by block division, are detection candidates”; B10 is considered as the first divided region and B16 is considered as the second divided region) each of the first divided region and the second divided region includes a plurality of pixels, (Ando, ¶0055: “Each of the pixels has a color corresponding to the divided range of each color space obtained by dividing pixels in a partial image into color spaces”) ; calculate a first feature amount of the generated sampling image; (Ando, ¶0055: “the feature amount calculation section 1151 calculates a simple feature amount”) perform a recognition processing operation based on the first feature amount of the sampling image; (Ando, ¶0055: “reduce power consumption due to a reduction in the number of pixels of the low resolution image S2 but also to shorten the total processing time in the image recognition device”) and output a recognition processing result of the recognition processing operation, (Ando, ¶0051: “determination section 115 outputs the result of image recognition processing in each partial image”). However, Ando does not explicitly teach, wherein the second imaging information is acquired after the first imaging information in time series and the at least one pixel position comprises: a first pixel position for the first imaging information, and a second pixel position for the second imaging information, the first pixel position is set based on a first base pixel in the first divided region, the second pixel position is set based on a second base pixel in the second divided region, and the first pixel position for the first imaging information is different from the second pixel position for the second imaging information; generate a sampling image including the sampling pixel for the each divided region, wherein a size of the sampling image is reduced to 1/2 in each of a row direction of the imaging information and a column direction of the imaging information, and a number of pixels of the sampling image is 1/4 of a number of pixels of the imaging information.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Dharia teaches, wherein the second imaging information is acquired after the first imaging information in time series. (Dharia, ¶0146: “operations may be repeated over time based on additional reflected pulse data, additional full-resolution image(s), and/or the ROI images to select other ROIs that focus on other features of interest”; second imaging information is interpreted as an additional region of interest).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ando using the teachings of Dharia to introduce capturing additional images. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of identifying additional features that weren’t identified in the first image. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Ando and Dharia to obtain the above-described limitations in claim 1. However, the combination of Ando and Dharia does not explicitly teach, the at least one pixel position comprises: a first pixel position for the first imaging information, and a second pixel position for the second imaging information, the first pixel position is set based on a first base pixel in the first divided region, the second pixel position is set based on a second base pixel in the second divided region, and the first pixel position for the first imaging information is different from the second pixel position for the second imaging information; generate a sampling image including the sampling pixel for the each divided region, wherein a size of the sampling image is reduced to 1/2 in each of a row direction of the imaging information and a column direction of the imaging information, and a number of pixels of the sampling image is 1/4 of a number of pixels of the imaging information.
In another analogous field of endeavor, Berkovich teaches, the at least one pixel position comprises: a first pixel position for the first imaging information, and a second pixel position for the second imaging information, (Berkovich, col. 20, lines 43-44: “array of pixel cells 712 is divided into sampling groups (e.g., group 750”) the first pixel position is set based on a first base pixel in the first divided region, the second pixel position is set based on a second base pixel in the second divided region, (Berkovich, col. 20, lines 44-47: “sampling groups (e.g., group 750) each including multiple pixel cells, and from each group only one pixel cell (e.g., pixel cell 752) is enabled or allowed to transmit pixel data for the subsequent frame”) and the first pixel position for the first imaging information is different from the second pixel position for the second imaging information; (Berkovich, Fig. 7c: the selected pixel (i.e. pixel 752) is in a different position compared to the other selected pixel positions) generate a sampling image (Berkovich, co. 28, lines 49-51: “perform a sub-sampling operation (e.g., only a subset of pixel cells are turned on and/or are enabled to output pixel data), to reduce the frame rate”) including the sampling pixel for the each divided region. (Berkovich, col. 20, lines 52-55: “a case where array of pixel cells 712 performs a sub-sampling operation, controller 706 can control image processor 704 to process pixel data from one pixel cell from each sampling group”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ando in view of Dharia using the teachings of Berkovich to introduce setting pixels with positions relative to a base pixel. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of only processing the selected pixels to reduce computation load. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Ando, Dharia and Berkovich to obtain the above-described limitations in claim 1. However, the combination of Ando, Dharia and Berkovich does not explicitly teach wherein a size of the sampling image is reduced to 1/2 in each of a row direction of the imaging information and a column direction of the imaging information, and a number of pixels of the sampling image is 1/4 of a number of pixels of the imaging information.
In yet another analogous field of endeavor, Zimmer teaches, wherein a size of the sampling image is reduced to 1/2 in each of a row direction of the imaging information and a column direction of the imaging information, (Zimmer, ¶0075: “reducing, every fourth pixel (i.e., the pixel within a 2×2 array of pixels with both an even row number and an even column number”) and a number of pixels of the sampling image is 1/4 of a number of pixels of the imaging information. (Zimmer, ¶0075: “the other 3 pixels are simply omitted, using a process called “decimation.” This has the natural effect of reducing the image size by a factor of two in both dimensions”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ando in view of Dharia and in further view of Berkovich using the teachings of Zimmer to introduce image size reduction. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of increasing the speed and reducing resource used in image processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Ando, Dharia, Berkovich and Zimmer to obtain the above-described limitations in claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Ando in view of Dharia, in further view of Berkovich and still in further view of Zimmer teaches, The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the CPU is further configured to: perform a machine learning process (Ando, ¶0058: “classifier prepared in advance in the classifier applying section 1152, for example, a supervised learning machine”) by use of a recurrent neural network (RNN) (Dharia, ¶0123: “detect objects sensed by multiple pixel groups… implement a recurrent neural network (RNN)”) based on a first sampling pixel set in the first imaging information and a second sampling pixel set in the second imaging information; (Ando, ¶0051: “image recognition processing for the image input from the image reading section 113 for each region expressed by the partial image information input from the partial image setting section 114, that is, for each partial image”) and perform the recognition processing operation based on result of the machine learning process. (Ando, ¶0058: “As a classifier… a support vector machine (SVM) can be considered”; recognition is interpreted as classification).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ando in view of Dharia, in further view of Berkovich and still in further view of Zimmer using the additional teachings of Dharia to introduce a recurrent neural network. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of identifying features in a sequence of images. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Ando, Dharia, Berkovich and Zimmer to obtain the invention in claim 2.
Regarding claim 5, Ando in view of Dharia, in further view of Berkovich and still in further view of Zimmer teaches, The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the CPU is further configured to set the at least one pixel position in the each divided region, based on the acquisition of the imaging information and an instruction from outside of the information processing device. (Ando, ¶0060: “it is possible to update the image recognition according to the user's preference”; outside instruction is interpreted as user input).
Regarding claim 6, Ando in view of Dharia, in further view of Berkovich and still in further view of Zimmer teaches, The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the CPU is further configured to set pixel positions included in the each divided region as the at least one pixel position. (Ando, ¶0048: “The partial image setting section 114 sets a partial image by dividing the region of the image input from the image reading section 113 into at least one region for which image recognition processing is to be performed”).
Regarding claim 7, Ando in view of Dharia, in further view of Berkovich and still in further view of Zimmer teaches, The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the CPU is further configured to set all pixel positions included in the imaging information as the at least one pixel position. (Ando, ¶0051: “image recognition processing for the image input from the image reading section 113 for each region expressed by the partial image information… for each partial image”).
Regarding claim 8, Ando in view of Dharia, in further view of Berkovich and still in further view of Zimmer teaches, The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the CPU is further configured to: accumulate the first feature amount; (Ando, ¶0053: “for each partial image set by the partial image setting section 114, the feature amount calculation section 1151 calculates the feature amount of a subject included in the partial image”) perform the recognition processing operation based on the accumulated first feature amount (Ando, ¶0051: “image recognition processing for the image input from the image reading section 113 for each region expressed by the partial image information”; the total feature amount of the first partial image is interpreted as the accumulated first feature amount) and output the recognition processing result of the recognition processing operation. (Ando, ¶0051: “determination section 115 outputs the result of image recognition processing in each partial image”).
Regarding claim 9, Ando in view of Dharia, in further view of Berkovich and still in further view of Zimmer teaches, The information processing device according to claim 8, wherein the CPU is further configured to perform recognition processing -operation based a second feature amount obtained (Ando, ¶0053: “for each partial image set by the partial image setting section 114, the feature amount calculation section 1151 calculates the feature amount of a subject included in the partial image”) by an integrating operation of a plurality of accumulated feature amounts, and the plurality of accumulated feature amounts comprises the accumulated first feature amount. (Ando, ¶0073: “the feature amount calculation section 1151 calculates the feature amount of a subject… for each partial image expressed by the partial image”; the total feature amount of the first partial image is interpreted as the accumulated feature amount).
Regarding claim 11, Ando in view of Dharia, in further view of Berkovich and still in further view of Zimmer teaches, The information processing device according to claim 8, wherein the CPU is further configured to: select a fifth feature amount from a plurality of accumulated feature amounts, based on a specific condition, (Ando, ¶0094: “determines whether or not a subject expressed by the feature amount calculated by the feature amount calculation section 1151 is the detection target subject”; the specific condition is interpreted as the presence of the target subject/object) wherein the plurality of accumulated feature amounts comprises the accumulated first feature amount; and perform the recognition processing operation based on the fifth feature amount. (Ando, ¶0051: “image recognition processing for the image input from the image reading section 113 for each region expressed by the partial image information”; the total feature amount of the first partial image is interpreted as the accumulated first feature amount).
Regarding claim 12, Ando in view of Dharia, in further view of Berkovich and still in further view of Zimmer teaches, The information processing device according to claim 11, wherein the CPU is further configured to perform the recognition processing operation based on most recent feature amount in time series among the plurality of accumulated feature amounts. (Dharia, ¶0140: “process discussed with respect to FIG. 6A may be repeated, with new ROIs being selected over time based on additional radiometric image(s), additional full-resolution low-light image(s), and/or feature attribute(s) 614”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ando in view of Dharia, in further view of Berkovich and still in further view of Zimmer using the additional teachings of Dharia to introduce additional feature attributes. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of accumulating features over time and computing the recognition result the latest accumulated features. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Ando, Dharia, Berkovich and Zimmer to obtain the invention in claim 12.
Regarding claim 13, Ando in view of Dharia, in further view of Berkovich and still in further view of Zimmer teaches, The information processing device according to claim 8, wherein the CPU is further configured to discard a sixth feature amount, (Ando, ¶0014: “determines whether or not a subject expressed by the feature amount calculated by the feature amount calculation section is the detection target subject according to the classification score”; classification score indicates whether or not a feature amount belong to a target subject to identify which feature amount to consider for the recognition results) corresponding to a specific condition, from a plurality of accumulated feature amounts and the plurality of feature amounts comprises the accumulated first feature amount. (Ando, ¶0094: “determines whether or not a subject expressed by the feature amount calculated by the feature amount calculation section 1151 is the detection target subject”; the specific condition is interpreted as the absence of the target subject/object).
Regarding claim 14, Ando in view of Dharia, in further view of Berkovich and still in further view of Zimmer teaches, The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the CPU is further configured to perform the recognition processing operation on the first feature amount of the sampling image based on training data (Ando, ¶0058: “classification score indicating the detection target subject likeliness according to the similarity with training data by comparing the feature amount of the subject”) for each pixel of the plurality of pixels corresponding to the at least one pixel position of the each divided region. (Ando, ¶0055: “each pixel in a partial image has can be considered”; divided region is interpreted as a partial region).
Regarding claim 16, Ando in view of Dharia, in further view of Berkovich and still in further view of Zimmer teaches, The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the CPU is further configured to make an exposure condition for acquisition of the first imaging information different from an exposure condition for acquisition of the second imaging information. (Dharia, ¶0158: “capture additional image data that is of higher quality (e.g., has a better exposure, magnification, white balance, etc.) than the initial image data captured”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ando in view of Dharia, in further view of Berkovich and still in further view of Zimmer using the additional teachings of Dharia to introduce capturing additional image with higher exposure. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of a brighter image with more details. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Ando, Dharia, Berkovich and Zimmer to obtain the invention in claim 16.
Regarding claim 17 it recites a method with steps corresponding to the elements of the device recited in claim 1. Therefore, the recited steps of the method claim 17 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding elements in device claim 1. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine Ando, Dharia, Berkovich and Zimmer presented in rejection of claim 1, apply to this claim. Ando additionally teaches, An information processing method comprising: (Ando, ¶0017: “an image recognition method includes:”).
Regarding claim 18 it recites a computer-readable medium storing a program with instruction steps corresponding to the elements of the device recited in claim 1. Therefore, the recited instruction steps of the program claim 18 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding elements in device claim 1. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine Ando, Dharia, Berkovich and Zimmer presented in rejection of claim 1, apply to this claim. Dharia additionally teaches, A non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon, computer-executable instructions which, when executed by a computer, cause the computer to execute operations, the operations comprising: (Dharia, ¶0005: “a non-transitory computer readable storage medium is provided having stored thereon instructions that, when executed by a computing device, cause the computing device to perform operations”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ando in view of Dharia, in further view of Berkovich and still in further view of Zimmer using the additional teachings of Dharia to introduce a non-transitory computer readable storage medium. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of storing and applying the image feature recognition processing algorithm on a computer. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Ando, Dharia, Berkovich and Zimmer to obtain the invention in claim 18.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ando (US 2016/0379075 A1), in view Dharia et al. (US 2021/0278257 A1), in further view of Berkovich et al. (US 11,888,002 B2), still in further view of Zimmer (US 2015/0350576 A1) and yet in further view of Kobayashi (US 2018/0158183 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Ando in view of Dharia, in further view of Berkovich and still in further view of Zimmer teaches, The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the CPU is further configured to. However, the combination of Ando, Dharia, Berkovich and Zimmer does not explicitly teach, rotate, in a constant cycle the at least one pixel position in the each divided region, based on the acquisition of the imaging information.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Kobayashi teaches, rotate, in a constant cycle the at least one pixel position in the each divided region, based on the acquisition of the imaging information. (Kobayashi, ¶0009: “change in an on-image position of a pixel including the feature value or the pixel value of the acquired images along a time lapse, and generating information on correspondence between the position of the pixel in each of the images and an angle of rotation of the inspection target from the position change information”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ando in view of Dharia, in further view of Berkovich and still in further view of Zimmer using the teachings of Kobayashi to introduce rotating pixel positions. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of identifying a target feature from the rotating pixel information. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Ando, Dharia, Berkovich, Zimmer and Kobayashi to obtain the invention in claim 3.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ando (US 2016/0379075 A1), in view Dharia et al. (US 2021/0278257 A1), in further view of Berkovich et al. (US 11,888,002 B2) still in further view of Zimmer (US 2015/0350576 A1) and yet in further view of Alesiani et al. (US 2019/0147621 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Ando in view of Dharia, in further view of Berkovich and still in further view of Zimmer teaches, The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the CPU is further configured to. However, the combination of Ando, Dharia, Berkovich and Zimmer does not explicitly teach, arbitrarily set the at least one pixel position in the each divided region, based on the acquisition of the imaging information.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Alesiani teaches, arbitrarily set the at least one pixel position in the each divided region, based on the acquisition of the imaging information. (Alesiani, ¶0044: “a dense set of particles (image pixel points) are sampled at random according to some distribution. The distribution can be guided by the image classification or other information”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ando in view of Dharia, in further view of Berkovich and still in further view of Zimmer using the teachings of Alesiani to introduce random sampling of pixel positions. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of identifying additional features from the imaging information. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Ando, Dharia, Berkovich, Zimmer and Alesiani to obtain the invention in claim 4.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ando (US 2016/0379075 A1), in view Dharia et al. (US 2021/0278257 A1), in further view of Berkovich et al. (US 11,888,002 B2), still in further view of Zimmer (US 2015/0350576 A1) and yet in further view of Sajjadi et al. (US 2020/0293796 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Ando in view of Dharia, in further view of Berkovich and still in further view of Zimmer teaches, The information processing device according to claim 8, wherein the CPU is further configured to: (Ando, ¶0076: “image recognition processing for an image of the next frame is performed again from the first image recognition process”). However, the combination of Ando, Dharia, Berkovich and Zimmer does not explicitly teach, update an internal state of a deep neural network (DNN); integrate the first feature amount with at least one third feature amount accumulated until immediately before the acquisition of the imaging information, to obtain a fourth feature amount, wherein the at least on third feature amount is related to the updated internal state.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Sajjadi teaches, update an internal state of a deep neural network (DNN); (Sajjadi, ¶0079: “the entry point location to the intersection may then be back-projected into previous images (e.g., instance) of the sensor data 102 to train the machine learning model(s) 104”) integrate the first feature amount with at least one third feature amount accumulated until immediately before the acquisition of the imaging information, (Sajjadi, ¶0077: “temporal filtering (e.g., statistical filtering) may be performed over multiple predictions corresponding to previous consecutive instances of the sensor data 102”) to obtain a fourth feature amount, wherein the at least on third feature amount is related to the updated internal state. (Sajjadi, ¶0032: “distance may be encoded as the distance to the intersection for training the DNN. As such, the entry point location to the intersection may then be back-projected into previous instances of sensor data to train the DNN”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ando in view of Dharia, in further view of Berkovich and still in further view of Zimmer using the teachings of Sajjadi to introduce combining features of multiple frames. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of a increasing the chance of detecting the object if interest. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Ando, Dharia, Berkovich, Zimmer and Sajjadi to obtain the invention in claim 10.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ando (US 2016/0379075 A1), in view Dharia et al. (US 2021/0278257 A1)), in further view of Berkovich et al. (US 11,888,002 B2), still in further view of Zimmer (US 2015/0350576 A1) and yet in further view of Mandal et al. (US 2018/0189587 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Ando in view of Dharia, in further view of Berkovich and still in further view of Zimmer teaches, The information processing device according to claim 1, CPU is further configured to. However, the combination of Ando, Dharia, Berkovich and Zimmer does not explicitly teach, set a specific pixel position for calculation of a specific feature amount in a specific sampling pixel different from the sampling pixel; and perform the recognition processing operation based on the specific sampling pixel.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Mandal teaches, set a specific pixel position for calculation (Mandal, ¶0078: “selecting new combinations of pixel addresses that are to be used in a sliding window buffer”) of a specific feature amount in a specific sampling pixel (Mandal, ¶0079: “address generator 305 include or otherwise specify one or a plurality of pixel addresses”) different from the sampling pixel; (Mandal. ¶0190: “tracking controller 818 may identify one or more regions of interest within new image data (e.g., a new image frame provided by an image sensor”) and perform the recognition processing operation based on the specific sampling pixel. (Mandal, ¶0191: “perform feature detection operations on only the region(s) of interest identified by tracking controller”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ando in view of Dharia, in further view of Berkovich and still in further view of Zimmer using the teachings of Mandal to introduce selecting different sampling pixels in a new image. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of optimizing pixel-based feature detection. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Ando, Dharia, Berkovich, Zimmer and Mandal to obtain the invention in claim 15.
Conclusion
/MEHRAZUL ISLAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2662
/AMANDEEP SAINI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2662