Response to Amendment
This is a final Office action in response to Applicant’s remarks and amendments filed on 01/27/2026. Claims 1 and 12 are amended. Claims 2 – 3 and 6 are canceled. Claims 13 – 15 are new. Claims 1, 4 – 5, 7 – 15 are pending in the current Office action.
The 35 U.S.C. 122(b) rejection of claim 1 set forth in the previous Office action is maintained and updated to address the amended claim 1.
The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections sets set forth in the previous Office action are withdrawn, and a new grounds of rejection, necessitated by applicant’s amendment is presented below. Specifically, the limitation “the annular frame…configured to guide the connecting part sliding along the elongated hole” was not previously required and thus changed the scope of the claimed invention in manner that was not previously considered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not fully persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument regarding the function of the claimed annular frame and boss guide {i.e. acts as an “active guide”} (See pgs. 9 – 10 of filed arguments), a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In the instant case, claim 1 as amended recites an intended use for the annular frame {i.e. “configured to be inserted into the elongated hole”, and “configured to guide the connecting part sliding along the elongated hole”}.
In response to applicant's arguments regarding the synergistic effect of the claimed sub-holders, the boss with a long support surface, and the protruding annular frame guide (See pg. 10 of filed arguments), the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection relies on a new combination of teachings from the previously cited prior art and a new prior art, and thus does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: The recitation “the annular frame protruding around the coupling part in the support surface configured to guide the connecting part sliding along the elongated hole” is awkwardly worded/unclear. Appropriate correction is required.
For the purpose of this Office action, the examiner is interpreting the limitation above to recite -- the annular frame protruding around the coupling part in the support surface and configured to guide the connecting part by sliding along the elongated hole--. This interpretation appears to be supported by Fig. 3 and [0059] of the instant specification.
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: The recitation “wherein a bolt or anchor is inserted into the coupling part through elongated hole” appears to be missing the word “the” before “elongated hole”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, the recitation “each of the plurality of sub-holders includes a boss in the gas duct and forms a support surface on an upper surface of the boss, the support surface being longer than the elongated hole, a coupling part opened in the support surface, at a position corresponding to the elongated hole” renders the claim indefinite, because due to the claim language being awkwardly worded/missing recitation, the relationship between the structural elements, specifically between the claimed sub-holders, boss, support surface and coupling part is unclear. A review of the instant specification reveals that the support surface is an upper surface of the boss included on/with the sub-holders (Refer to Fig. 11, 61; [0057 – 0059]). Therefore, the purpose of this Office action, the examiner is interpreting the recitation “each of the plurality of sub-holders includes a boss in the gas duct and forms a support surface on an upper surface of the boss, the support surface being longer than the elongated hole, a coupling part opened in the support surface, at a position corresponding to the elongated hole” to recite -- each of the plurality of sub-holders includes a boss in the gas duct, wherein each boss includes an upper surface that forms a support surface longer than the elongated hole and a coupling part opened in the support surface at position corresponding to the elongated hole, --.
Additionally, Claim 1 recites the limitation "the connecting part " in lines 17 – 18. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim and it is unclear if the connecting part is referring to the previously claimed coupling part or a different coupling/fastening part of the claimed power source device. A review of the instant specification suggest that the claimed connecting part, while including the coupling part {i.e. is the combination of coupling part with fastener}, is not the same as the coupling part (Refer to Fig. 20; [0057 – 0059]). Therefore, for the purpose of this Office action, the examiner is interpreting the recitation “the connecting part” to recite --a connecting part--.
Claims 4 – 5 and 7 – 15 are rendered indefinite due to their dependency on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4 – 5, 7, 9 – 10, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tononishi (US PG Pub. 2016/0036022 A1, cited in previous Office action mailed 10/29/2025), in view of Nakayama (US PG Pub. 2018/0315973 A1, cited in previous Office action mailed 10/29/2025), Ochi (US PG Pub. 2013/0273404 A1, cited in previous Office action mailed 10/29/2025), Kuriyama (US PG Pub. 2015/0093607 A1, cited in previous Office action mailed 10/29/2025), Hong (KR20150078564A, cited in previous Office action mailed 10/29/2025), and Shimoda (US PG Pub. 2016/0254515 A1, cited in previous Office action mailed 10/29/202 as a prior made of record but not relied upon).
Regarding Claim 1, Tononishi discloses a power source device (power source module; Fig. 3; 100; [0037]) comprising: a battery stack including a plurality of battery cells stacked (Figs. 3 and 5, 32; [0037 – 0038]), each of the plurality of battery cells including a gas discharge valve that opens when an internal pressure of an outer covering can of the battery cells increases (safety valve; Figs. 3 and 6, 320a5; [0038]) and an electrode terminal disposed on an upper surface of each of the battery cells (Figs. 3 and 6, 320a3 and 320a4; [0038]); a plurality of bus bars that connect a plurality of electrode terminals of the plurality of battery cells together (Fig. 3, 332a – 332c; [0041]); and a bus bar holder that holds the plurality of bus bars (bus bar frame body; Fig. 3 and 6, 330a; [0040 – 0041]) and a duct plate disposed on an upper surface of the bus bar holder and defining a gas duct (heat insulator; Fig. 3 and 6, 331; [0044];[0064];[0072]).
Tononishi does not explicitly disclose wherein the bus bar holder is divided into a plurality of sub-holders.
Nakayama teaches a power storage module including a battery connection module and a stack of cuboid power storage elements ([0024 – 0026]). The battery connection module includes two insulating protectors that function to hold the bus bars and connect the cathode and anode terminals of adjacent power storage elements ([0030]), as such Nakayama teaches a bus bar holder structure similar to that of the one taught in Tononishi and further teaches a bus bar holder structure made up of more than one sub-holder (See Fig. 4; [0031 – 0033]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention , to modify the busbar holder of Tononishi to be divided into at least two sub-holders coupled together, as taught by Nakayama, and thus obtain the claimed holder formed from a plurality of sub-holders and the claimed sub-holder interface structure, with a reasonable expectation of success in obtaining a suitable/functioning bus bar holder plate, because, such a modification is modification that would make the holder plate separable/adjustable, and, as shown by Nakayama is bus bar holder plate configuration already known in the art to be suitable for battery packs including rectangular battery cell stacks [See MPEP 2144.04(V)]. Furthermore, such a modification would have a reasonable expectation of success in providing improved workability of Tononishi’s battery, because, as taught by Ochi, a prior art within the same field of endeavor, having a bus bar holder be formed from a plurality of portions allows for easier coupling to the battery cells and improved workability of a battery pack structure ([0050 – 0051]).
The heat insulator {i.e. corresponds to claimed duct plate} of Tononishi is taught to be fixed to the bus bar holder by threadedly engaging mounting screws 331c with mounting holes 330e formed in the frame body 330a of the bus bar assembly unit {i.e. corresponds to claimed bus bar holder} through holes 331b formed in a surface of the heat insulating body plate 331a (Fig. 3 and 6; [0045]). Therefore, in modified Tononishi, the duct plate includes a hole coupled to one of the plurality of sub-holders.
Modified Tononishi does not particularly disclose; however, the hole to be elongated.
Kuriyama teaches a power supply device comprising a duct, and further teaches using elongated slits to couple the duct to the upper surface of the support structure of the battery assembly (Refer to Figs. 2 – 3, 5 and 7; [0040 – 0041];[0046];[0054 – 0055]; [0062]). Kuriyama further teaches that using the slits enhances the fixing structure by allowing the fixing structure to cope with expansion of the battery assembly ([0055];[0063]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to elongate the holes included on the heat insulator of Tononishi, and thus obtain the claimed elongated hole, because such a modification is a change in shape that, as taught by Kuriyama, would, with reasonable expectation of success, enhance the fixing structure of Tononishi by increasing the mechanical tolerance of the structure, and achieve the desired effect of securing the heat insulator to the bus bar frame body as desired by Tononishi [See MPEP 2144.04(IV)].
Annotated Fig. 3 and 6 showing protruding structure of Tononishi.
In Tononishi, the heat insulator {i.e. corresponds to claimed duct plate} is shown to particularly be fixed on an intermediate stage surface of the bus bar frame body by screws 331c (Refer Tononishi: Fig. 3 and 6, 330d; [0043 – 0045]). The intermediate stage surface 330d is specifically an upper surface of a protruding, rectangular structure included on the bus bar frame body and a portion of the edge structure is included within the gas passage P formed by the heat insulator (Refer to annotated Figs. 3 and 6 above showing the protruding structure of Tononishi).
By including the protruding, rectangular structure shown in annotated Figs. 3 and 6 above, each of the plurality of sub-holders in Tononishi necessarily includes a boss in the gas duct, that is the protruding structure shown in annotated Figs. 3 and 6 above reads on being a boss, because, absent a special definition provided by applicant, a boss, with respect to structure, is generally defined as protuberant part or body (Merriam-Webster); and each boss of modified Tononishi includes an upper surface that forms a support surface (intermediate stage surface 330d, Figs. 3 and 6; [0043 – 0045]) longer than the elongated hole, that is the intermediate stage surface is a structure relatively larger in size when compared to the elongated holes on modified Tononishi’s heat insulator (See Tononishi: Fig. 3 and Kuriyama: Fig. 18) and a coupling part (holes 330e, Fig. 3; [0045]) at a position corresponding to the elongated hole (Refer to position of holes 330e and holes 331b in Fig. 3 of Tononishi and Tononishi: [0045]).
Furthermore, since intermediate stage surface 330d is integral to the bus bar frame body 330a, and the heat insulator is directly fixed to the bus bar frame body through the intermediate stage surface, the duct plate in modified Tononishi is connected to the coupling part (i.e. holes 330e on intermediate stage surface 330d in Figs. 3 and 6 of Tononishi) through the elongated hole (i.e. modified 331b holes in Figs. 3 and 6 of Tononishi) to the plurality of sub-holders and the duct plate is in a state where the duct plate is placed on the support surface with the duct plate straddling the plurality of sub-holders divided, that is the duct is included between the sub-holders of modified Tononishi because, based on the structure shown in Fig. 4 of Nakayama and the position of the heat insulator 331 {i.e. corresponds to claimed duct plate} in Figs. 3 and 6 of Tononishi, each sub-holder would have a portion included to the left and right of the duct plate.
Tononishi teaches fixing the heat insulator plate to the bus bar holder by threadedly engaging mounting screws 331c with mounting holes 330e formed in the frame body 330a of the bus bar assembly unit ([0045]).
Modified Tononishi does not explicitly disclose an annular frame configured to be inserted into the elongated hole, the annular frame protruding around the coupling part in the support surface and configured to guide the connecting part by sliding along the elongated hole.
Hong teaches, with respect to fastening structures in plastic materials, a fastening structure including an insert nut 100 (Figs. 3 – 7; [0015 – 0016]). Hong further teaches that an insert nut fastening structure allows for enhanced fastening force, and Hong’s particular embodiment is taught to provide the benefit of preventing damage to the insertion hole while also allowing for enhanced coupling force ([0001];[0011 – 0012];[0045]).
Since the bus bar frame body of Tononishi is formed of a synthetic resin, and Tononishi already teaches a desire to threadedly fix the bus bar frame body and heat insulator plate (Tononishi: [0045]), it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the fastening structure taught by Hong to couple the bus bar frame body and heat insulator plate, with a reasonable expectation of success that such fastening structure would provide the desired threaded engagement of the mounting screws and holes in modified Tononishi while preventing damage to the mounting holes.
By including the fastening structure as taught by Hong in the coupling parts {i.e. holes 330e} of Tononishi, modified Tononishi further includes an annular frame protruding around the coupling part in the support surface (refer to shape of insert nut 100 and how the head portion protrudes out from the hole and the entire insert nut structure surrounds the inside of insertion hole 210 in Figs. 2 – 4 of Hong).
Modified Tononishi does not explicitly disclose the annular frame configured to be inserted in to the elongated hole and further configured to guide the connecting part by sliding along the elongated hole; however, the recitations “configured to be inserted into the elongated hole” and “configured to guide the connecting part by sliding along the elongated hole” are intended use language and the Courts have held that if the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim [See MPEP 2144]}.
In the instant case, the annular frame, and more specifically the head portion of the frame, of modified Tononishi is annular structure that would protrude in a direction toward the elongated holes of the duct plate and further is a structure that receives a bolt within its threaded portion 101 to fix the corresponding duct plate {i.e. heat insulator 331} and bus bar holder together {i.e. bus bar frame body 330} (Refer to Hong: Fig. 4; [0015]) and Tononishi (Fig. 3; [0045]).
The annular frame or elongated holes of modified Tononishi are not disclosed to be of a size that would provide the annular frame with the capability to protrude into the elongated hole; however, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to form the annular frame as such, because such a modification would be a change in size/proportion with respect to the annular frame and/or elongated holes of modified Tononishi that would not affect the annular frame/elongated holes ability to fasten the duct plate and bus bar holder together with increased mechanical tolerance and further is a fastening structure design that is already known art. That is Shimoda, a prior art within the same field of endeavor {i.e. directed to battery wiring modules and bus bar holder fastening configurations that allows for both a reliable connection and increased mechanical tolerance}, teaches a battery wiring module structure where rounded threaded attaching protrusions on a duct plate are inserted into elongated holes of electric control unit so that the duct and electric control unit are reliably fastened together in a manner that allows for the accommodation of coupling tolerances (Shimoda: Figs. 4 – 5 and 8 – 9; [0003];[0048];[0087];[0095];[0098]) [Also see MPEP 2144.04(IV)].
As such, by including the structure of an annular protruding frame that functions to receive bolts for fixing (Hong: Fig. 4; [0015]) and is capable of protruding/fitting into the elongated holes for the purpose of achieving fastening and increased mechanical tolerance between the duct plate and bus bar holder (Shimoda: [0095]), and by including elongated fastening holes that allow the fastening structure {i.e. insert nut and bolt} to move within the elongated holes of the duct plate (Kuriyama: [0055];[0063]) , modified Tononishi, as established above, appears to provide an annular frame structure capable of performing the claimed functions of (1) being inserted into the elongated hole and (2) guiding a connecting part {i.e. insert nut when including the bolt that fastens the duct and bus-bar holder} by sliding along the elongated hole.
Regarding Claim 4, modified Tononishi discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Tononishi further discloses wherein an insert nut is embedded in the boss, that is the annular frame of modified Tononishi is an insert nut with an extension portion 120 that is tightly coupled in the holes 330e of the corresponding boss by a screw thread that would necessarily/inherently embed the extension portion of the insert nut in the boss (Hong: Fig. 4; [0044 – 0046]).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Tononishi discloses all limitations as set forth above. As established above, in modified Tononishi, each sub-holder of the bus bar frame body would include an intermediate stage surface 330d. Furthermore, the intermediate stage surfaces are included on structures that extend parallel to one another on the bus bar frame body; therefore, the intermediate stage surface, which corresponds to claimed support surface, is necessarily disposed in a track shape. That is, absent a special definition provided by applicant, the scope of “track shape” encompasses multiple shapes depending on what kind of “track” is being referenced. For example, if referring to a racing track, an obround/oval shape would read on “track shape”, if referring to a railroad track, a shape corresponding to parallel rails would read on “track shape”, if referring to a mark left of a surface that shows a direction of travel made by a moving person/thing, a shape corresponding to a line would read on “track shape” (Refer to definitions of track in Cambridge Dictionary). Therefore, by being in the shape of a line/parallel lines, the intermediate stage surfaces of Tononishi necessarily are disposed in a track shape.
Regarding Claim 7, modified Tononishi discloses all limitations as set forth above. As established above (refer to rejection of claim 1), the bus bar holder of modified Tononishi is formed from two sub-holders that are divided in the manner shown by Fig. 4 of Nakayama; therefore, the sub-holders are coupled through engagement portions 37 and engagement receiving portions 38 (Nakayama: Fig. 4; [0034];[0036]). The engagement portion 37 is shown to extend from a surface of one sub-holder to an engagement receiving portion 38 included on the opposing surface of the other sub-holder, and the two sub-holders necessarily face one another at the interface in which they are connected (Refer to Fig. 4 in Nakayama); therefore, modified Tononishi further includes the claimed structure of wherein the bus bar holder includes an overlapping part that extends from one of opposing surfaces of the plurality of sub-holders facing each other toward another opposing surface, and closes a gap between the plurality of sub-holders.
Regarding Claim 9, modified Tononishi discloses all limitations as set forth above. Tononishi further discloses wherein the bus bar holder is made of polybutylene terephatlate, that is Tononishi particularly exemplifies using polybutylene terephatlate {i.e. PBT} as the synthetic resin forming the bus bar frame body ([0040]).
Regarding Claim 10, modified Tononishi discloses all limitations as set forth above. Tononishi teaches the heat insulator {i.e. corresponds to claimed duct plate} being metal ([0044]).
Modified Tononishi does not particularly disclose wherein the duct plate is made from stainless used steel (SUS) or iron.
Kuriyama teaches forming gas ducts included on battery assemblies from resin or metal ([0046]). With respect to metals, Kuriyama particularly exemplifies forming the ducts from stainless steel due its hardness ([0046]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to form the duct of modified Tononishi from stainless steel, and thus a material within the claimed scope, with a reasonable expectation of success that such a material would be suitable for the heat insulator in Tononishi {i.e. the heat insulator functions as an upper plate of a gas passage for the power source pack ([0071])}.
Regarding Claim 15, modified Tononishi discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Tononishi further discloses wherein a bolt is inserted into the coupling part through the elongated hole to connect the plurality of sub-holders and duct plate, that is Modified Tononishi utilizes the insert nut structure of Hong to fix the duct plate {i.e. heat insulator 331} and bus bar frame body 330a together through elongated holes 331b (Tononishi: [0045]), Hong teaches using a bolt 300 (Hong: [0021]).
Claim(s) 13 – 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tononishi (US PG Pub. 2016/0036022 A1), Nakayama (US PG Pub. 2018/0315973 A1), Ochi (US PG Pub. 2013/0273404 A1), Kuriyama (US PG Pub. 2015/0093607 A1), Hong (KR20150078564A) and Shimoda (US PG Pub. 2016/0254515 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Maeda (JP2019217707A, Machine translation provided).
Annotated Fig. 3 and 6 showing protruding structure of Tononishi.
Regarding Claim 13, modified Tononishi discloses all limitations as set forth above. In modified Tononishi the protruding structure shown in annotated Figs. 3 and 6 above corresponds to the claimed boss, and, in Fig. 3 of Tononishi, the protruding structure is shown to extend along the entirety of the elongated direction of the bus bar holder.
Modified Tononishi does not disclose wherein the boss is partially formed along an elongated directed of the bus bar holder.
However, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the boss such that it is partially formed along an elongated directed of the bus bar holder, because such a modification would be a change in shape/size with respect to the corresponding boss structure in modified Tononishi that would still achieve the desired effect of keeping heat insulator 331 elevated over the cell safety valves, because as shown by Maeda, which is directed to boss structures incorporated in electronic control devices that include insert nuts for supporting and fixing another structure on their upper surface, multiple boss portions 17 can still support a plate-like structure on their upper surface (Fig. 1, [0001];[0027 – 0028]) [Also see MPEP 2144.04(IV)].
Regarding Claim 14, modified Tononishi discloses all limitations as set forth above. The annular frame of modified Tononishi is an insert nut with an extension portion 120 that is tightly coupled in the holes 330e of the corresponding boss by a screw thread (Hong: Fig. 4; [0044 – 0046]).
Modified Tononishi does not disclose wherein the annular frame is formed integrally with the boss.
Maeda, directed to boss structures incorporated in electronic control devices that include insert nuts for supporting and fixing another structure on their upper surface, further teaches that integrally forming an insert nut with the structure it is included it allows for strong connection between the nut and the holder member with a simple structure and prevents positioning defects ([0016 – 0017];[0023]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the insert nut structure of modified Tononishi to be integral with its corresponding boss structure, because the use of an integrally formed insert nut structure instead of configuration taught in Hong would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice [See MPEP 2144.04(V)], and, as taught by Maeda, would have a reasonable expectation of success in providing a boss-insert nut structure that allows for strong connection between the nut and the holder member with a simple structure and prevents positioning defects.
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tononishi (US PG Pub. 2016/0036022 A1), Nakayama (US PG Pub. 2018/0315973 A1), Ochi (US PG Pub. 2013/0273404 A1), Kuriyama (US PG Pub. 2015/0093607 A1), Hong (KR20150078564A) and Shimoda (US PG Pub. 2016/0254515 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Weinberger (US PG Pub. 2020/0136118 A1, cited in previous Office action mailed 10/29/2025).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Tononishi discloses all limitations as set forth above. The bus bars 332a – 332c in Tononishi are taught to be metal bus bars and that are embedded in openings of the bus bar body frame (Fig. 3; [0041]). The bus bars are further taught to connect the electrode terminals of the cell stack together. In Fig. 3, the openings including the bus bars are shown to be substantially rectangular in shape; therefore, one with ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the bus bars of Tononishi to include a main body extended in a prismatic shape.
Tononishi does not explicitly disclose the bus bars further including a bus bar branch part extending from the bus bar main body and connected to the electrode terminal.
Weinberger teaches a battery module including prismatic battery cells and bus bars 50 having a rectangular central body and peripheral body sections that include cell contact legs (Fig. 1; [0059 – 0060]). The cell contact terminals are the portions of the bus bar body that are configured to be connected to a cell terminal and allow for the bus bar body portion 51 to be placed next to the cell terminals in a space-saving manner ([0061]). The cut outs are also taught to increase the flexibility of the bus bars, and thus by extension, compensate for dimensional changes of the battery module ([0064]).
Since Tononishi indicates a desired to achieve a power source pack capable of saving space ([0007]), it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further use the bus bars taught in Weinberger in the power source module of Tononishi, and thus obtain a bus bar with a structure within the claimed scope, with a reasonable expectation of success in obtaining a bus bar structure that, in addition to performing the desired function of connecting terminal of the battery stack, is also able to save space within the bus bar frame body and effectively compensate for dimensional changes of the power source module.
Claim(s) 11 – 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tononishi (US PG Pub. 2016/0036022 A1), Nakayama (US PG Pub. 2018/0315973 A1), Ochi (US PG Pub. 2013/0273404 A1), Kuriyama (US PG Pub. 2015/0093607 A1), Hong (KR20150078564A) and Shimoda (US PG Pub. 2016/0254515 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fuji (JP2014044884A, cited in previous Office action mailed 10/29/2025).
Regarding Claim 11, modified Tononishi discloses all limitation as set forth above. Modified Tononishi, as established above, discloses the power source device of claim 1.
Modified Tononishi does not explicitly disclose a vehicle including the power source of claim 1.
Fuji teaches a battery system of similar structure and further teaches implementing the battery system as power supply device for a vehicle ([0008 – 0012];[0048 – 0052]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the power source device of modified Tononishi in a vehicle, as taught by Fuji, with a reasonable expectation of success in obtaining a vehicle with a suitable source of power.
By being implemented in a vehicle as taught by Fuji, the vehicle of modified Tononishi would further comprise a motor for traveling supplied with electric power from the power source device (Fuji: Figs. 10 – 11, 93; [0051 – 0052]); a vehicle body equipped with the power source device and the motor (Fuji: Figs. 10 – 11; [0048]; [0051 – 0052]); and a wheel that is driven by the motor to cause the vehicle body to travel (Fuji: Figs. 10 – 11; [0051 – 0052]).
Regarding Claim 12, modified Tononishi discloses all limitation as set forth above. Modified Tononishi, as established above, discloses the power source device of claim 1.
Modified Tononishi does not explicitly a disclose a power storage device including the power source of claim 1.
Fuji teaches a battery system of similar structure and further teaches alternatively implementing the battery system as power source for electricity storage devices/facilities ([0008 – 0012];[0053 – 0055]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the power source device of modified Tononishi in a power storage device, as taught by Fuji, with a reasonable expectation of success in obtaining a power storage device with a suitable source of power.
By being implemented in a power source device as taught by Fuji, the power source device of modified Tononishi would further comprise a power supply controller that controls charging to and discharging from the power source device (Fuji: [0054]), wherein the power supply controller enables charging to the plurality of battery cells with electric power from an outside source and controls charging to the plurality of battery cells (Fuji: [0053 – 0054]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.Y.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/Haroon S. Sheikh/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751