DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application was filed 19 September 2022 and is the national stage entry of PCT/CN2021/082173filed 22 March 2021. The Applicant claims priority to PCTCN2020080477 filed 20 March 2020. An English copy of the document has been provided. The effective filing date of the instant application is 20 March 2020.
Examiner’s Note
The Applicant's amendments and arguments filed 17 September 2026 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. The Examiner has re-weighed all the evidence of record. Rejections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application. In the Applicant’s response, filed 17 September 2026, it is noted that no claims have been amended, canceled, or newly added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 8-12, 15, 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (WO 2010065936 A1) in view of elvalabs.co.
Regarding claim 1, Yu teaches methods for improving efficiency of delivery of drug compounds to a subject (entire teaching; para. 12; abs). The method and composition may comprise high penetration drugs in an aqueous and/or ethanol carrier (paras. 174, 175). The high penetration compound may be a peptide (para. 15), such as Leu-enkephalin (H-Tyr-Gly-Gly-Phe-Leu-OH) (para. 20) and may be in its salt form (para. 84). A linker may link a functional unit to the drug through a bond, such as an ester bond (para. 23) with an isopropyl alkyl group (para. 87), which is interpreted as addressing Applicant’s election of H-Tyr-Gly-Gly-Phe-Leu-OCH(CH3)2.HCl. The compound and Applicant’s election is interpreted as a protonated amine group. The composition may be provided as a kit, typically as dry powders, that may be reconstituted later with solution (para. 128) before administration to a patient (para. 174). The components packaged as dry powders to be later reconstituted before administration is interpreted as being contained in separate containers. In one embodiment, the pH of one formulation is adjusted to 4-7 (para. 294).
Regarding claim 3, the method and composition may comprise high penetration drugs in an aqueous and/or ethanol carrier (para. 174, 175).
Regarding claim 4, the method and composition may comprise high penetration drugs in an aqueous and/or ethanol carrier (para. 174, 175).
Regarding claim 5, the method and composition may comprise high penetration drugs in an aqueous and/or ethanol carrier (para. 174, 175).
Regarding claim 9, the composition may further comprise pH adjusting and buffering agents, such as sodium acetate (para. 107).
Regarding claim 10, the composition may further comprise pH adjusting and buffering agents, such as sodium acetate (para. 107).
Regarding claim 11, the composition may further comprise pH adjusting and buffering agents, such as sodium acetate (para. 107).
Regarding claim 12, in one embodiment, the pH of one formulation is adjusted to 4-7 (para. 294).
Regarding claim 15, the amount of drug can be 0.0001-100% (para. 109).
Regarding claim 19, the amount of drug can be 0.0001-100% (para. 109). The method and composition may comprise high penetration drugs in an aqueous and/or ethanol carrier (paras. 174, 175). The amount of ethanol in water may vary, such as 25% (para. 241-242) or 70% ethanol (para. 214). In one embodiment, the pH of one formulation is adjusted to 4-7 (para. 294).
Regarding claim 20, A linker may link a functional unit to the drug through a bond, such as an ester bond (para. 23) with an isopropyl alkyl group (para. 87), which is interpreted as addressing Applicant’s election of H-Tyr-Gly-Gly-Phe-Leu-OCH(CH3)2.HCl.
Regarding claim 21, the amount of drug can be 0.0001-100% (para. 109). The method and composition may comprise high penetration drugs in an aqueous and/or ethanol carrier (paras. 174, 175). The amount of ethanol in water may vary, such as 25% (para. 241-242) or 70% ethanol (para. 214). In one embodiment, the pH of one formulation is adjusted to 4-7 (para. 294). The composition may further comprise pH adjusting and buffering agents, such as sodium acetate (para. 107).
Yu does not teach an exact combination of steps recited in claim 1. Yu does not teach administering the reconstituted peptide after more than a month in claim 1. Yu does not specifically teach storing the solution at a temperature of 2-8°C in claim 8.
Elvalabs.co teaches that, in general, reconstituted peptides may be stored at 2-8°C and used within 4 weeks (pgs. 1-2).
In regards to selecting the combination of packing and reconstituting the formulation comprising high penetration compound with a carrier in claim 1, “[w]hen a patent simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious.” KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740 (2007) (quoting Sakraida v. A.G.Pro, 425 U.S. 273, 282 (1976)). “When the question is whether a patent claiming the combination of elements of prior art is obvious,” the relevant question is “whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions.” (Id.). Addressing the issue of obviousness, the Supreme Court noted that the analysis under 35 USC 103 “need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim, for a court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.” KSR at 1741. The Court emphasized that “[a] person of ordinary skill is… a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.” Id. at 1742.
Consistent with this reasoning, it would have been obvious to have selected various combinations of various disclosed ingredients from within a prior art disclosure, to arrive at compositions “yielding no more than one would expect from such an arrangement.”
Yu teaches methods for improving efficiency of delivery of drug compounds that may comprise high penetration drugs in an aqueous and/or ethanol carrier, whereas the claimed invention is directed towards a method for improving the stability of a composition comprising a high penetration drug substance and pharmaceutically acceptable carrier. Since Yu teaches the individual components of the claimed composition, it is obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to select the different combinations of ingredients to arrive at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success.
Since Yu does not specifically teach storing the solution at a temperature of 2-8°C in claim 8, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use elvalabs.co’s teaching that peptide solutions may be stored at a temperature of 2-8°C with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have been led to combine the teachings since a peptide solution would likely be used shortly after reconstitution and elvalabs.co teaches that a temperature of 2-8°C for storage will provide optimal stability.
In regards to the storage limitation of more than a month in claim 8, elvalabs.co teaches that, in general, reconstituted peptides may be stored in refrigerated conditions for 4 weeks (pgs. 1-2). That being said and in lieu of objective evidence of unexpected results, the storage time can be viewed as a variable that achieves the recognized result of successfully performing the method of using a composition comprising a high penetration drug substance, which a skilled artisan would have been easily motivated to modify and adjust based on the broad teachings of elvalabs.co. The optimum or workable range for the storage time can be accordingly characterized as routine optimization and experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05 (II)B). “[Discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art.” In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276 (CCPA 1980). Applicants provide no evidence of any secondary consideration, such as unexpected results, that would render the optimized length of time as nonobvious.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 17 September 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that elvalabs.co clearly teaches that the optimal storage condition for reconstituted peptides is 4 weeks (Remarks, pg. 2). The Applicant further argues that there is no motivation to adjust the storage time beyond the 4-week period (Remarks, pg. 2).
Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. Elvalabs.co teaches that, in general, reconstituted peptides may be stored at 2-8°C and used within 4 weeks (pgs. 1-2). Elvalabs.co’s teaching is used as a general guideline that a skilled artisan would have motivated to adjust and optimize as a part of routine experimentation. There are several factors that a skilled artisan would have to consider to ensure proper storage conditions of the peptides. For example, the kind or chemical makeup of the peptides, the length of peptides, or reconstituted or dry powdered peptides. A skilled artisan would be motivated with a reasonable expectation of success to adjust or modify the storage time based on several different factors, and, therefore, the optimal storage time and conditions would vary (thepeptideindex.org, pg. 3).
The Applicant argues that the high penetration drug substance of the present application can be stored for more than 1 month, such as more than 3 months or even more than 1 year (Remarks, pgs. 3-4).
Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. The data shown in the Tables and paragraphs referenced by the Applicant show the stability or purity of different compounds stored at room temperature (25°C) over the course of 30, 60, 90, 180, and 360 days. The instant claims recite a high penetration drug substance that comprises one or two protonated amine groups in its molecule, as well as a storage temperature of 2-8°C. Therefore, the data are not commensurate in scope with the claims and it is unclear how the results are unexpected or surprising when the conditions do not directly correspond to the instant claims.
“For objective evidence of secondary considerations to be accorded substantial weight, its proponent must establish a nexus between the evidence and the merits of the claimed invention.” Wyers v. Master Lock Co., 616 F.3d 1231, 1246 [95 USPQ2d 1525] (Fed. Cir. 2010) (quotation omitted). Where the offered secondary consideration actually results from something other than what is both claimed and novel in the claim, there is no nexus to the merits of the claimed invention. Tokai Corp. v. Easton Enters., Inc., 632 F.3d 1358, 1369 [97 USPQ2d 1673] (Fed. Cir. 2011) (“If commercial success is due to an element in the prior art, no nexus exists.”); Ormco Corp., 463 F.3d at 1312 (“[I]f the feature that creates the commercial success was known in the prior art, the success is not pertinent.”); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578 [16 USPQ2d 1934] (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.A.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1613
/ANDREW S ROSENTHAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613