DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application was filed 19 September 2022 and is the national stage entry of PCT/CN2021/082173filed 22 March 2021. The Applicant claims priority to PCT/CN2020/080477 filed 20 March 2020. An English copy of the document has been provided. The effective filing date of the instant application is 20 March 2020.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1, 3-5, 8-12, 15, 18-21), ethanol aqueous solution, sodium acetate, and H-Tyr-Gly-Gly-Phe-Leu-OCH(CH3)2.HCl in the reply filed on 03 November 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 18, 22-23, 25-28 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 05 November 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 9-12, 15, 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (WO 2010065936 A1).
Yu teaches methods for improving efficiency of delivery of drug compounds (entire teaching; para. 12). The method and composition may comprise high penetration drugs in an aqueous and/or ethanol carrier (para. 174, 175). The high penetration compound may be a peptide (para. 15), such as Leu-enkephalin (H-Tyr-Gly-Gly-Phe-Leu-OH) (para. 20) and may be in its salt form (para. 84). A linker may link a functional unit to the drug through a bond, such as an ester bond (para. 23) with an isopropyl alkyl group (para. 87), which is interpreted as addressing Applicant’s election of H-Tyr-Gly-Gly-Phe-Leu-OCH(CH3)2.HCl in claim 20. The compound and Applicant’s election is interpreted as addressing the protonated amine group limitation of claim 1. The composition may be provided as a kit, typically as dry powders, that may be reconstituted later with solution (para. 128) before administration to a patient (para. 174). The components packaged as dry powders to be later reconstituted before administration is interpreted as being contained in separate containers, addressing the limitation in claim 1. In one embodiment, the pH of one formulation is adjusted to 4-7 (para. 294). The method and composition thus far address the limitations in claims 1, 3-5, 12, and partially claims 19 and 21. The composition may further comprise pH adjusting and buffering agents, such as sodium acetate (para. 107), addressing claims 9-11 and 21. The amount of drug can be 0.0001-100% (para. 109), which addresses claims 15, 19, and 21. The amount of ethanol in water may vary, such as 25% (para. 241-242) or 70% ethanol (para. 214), addressing claims 19 and 21.
Yu does not teach an exact combination of steps recited in claim 1.
In regards to selecting the combination of packing and reconstituting the formulation comprising high penetration compound with a carrier, “[w]hen a patent simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious.” KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740 (2007) (quoting Sakraida v. A.G.Pro, 425 U.S. 273, 282 (1976)). “When the question is whether a patent claiming the combination of elements of prior art is obvious,” the relevant question is “whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions.” (Id.). Addressing the issue of obviousness, the Supreme Court noted that the analysis under 35 USC 103 “need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim, for a court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.” KSR at 1741. The Court emphasized that “[a] person of ordinary skill is… a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.” Id. at 1742.
Consistent with this reasoning, it would have been obvious to have selected various combinations of various disclosed ingredients from within a prior art disclosure, to arrive at compositions “yielding no more than one would expect from such an arrangement.”
Yu teaches methods for improving efficiency of delivery of drug compounds that may comprise high penetration drugs in an aqueous and/or ethanol carrier, whereas the claimed invention is directed towards a method for improving the stability of a composition comprising a high penetration drug substance and pharmaceutically acceptable carrier. Since Yu teaches the individual components of the claimed composition, it is obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to select the different combinations of ingredients to arrive at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 8-12, 15, 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (WO 2010065936 A1) and lifetein.com.
In regards to claim(s) 1, 3-5, 9-12, 15, 19-21, Yu, as applied supra, is herein applied in its entirety for its teachings of methods for improving efficiency of delivery of drug compounds that may comprise high penetration drugs in an aqueous and/or ethanol carrier.
Yu does not specifically teach storing the solution at a temperature of 2-8 °C in claim 8.
Lifetein.com teaches that peptide solutions may be stored at a temperature of 4 °C (pg. 2).
Since Yu does not specifically teach storing the solution at a temperature of 2-8 °C in claim 8, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use lifetein.com’s teaching that peptide solutions may be stored at a temperature of 4 °C with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have been led to combine the teachings since a peptide solution would likely be used shortly after reconstitution and lifetein.com teaches that a temperature of 4 °C will suffice for short-time storage.
Conclusion
/D.A.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1613
/ANDREW S ROSENTHAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613