DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 12, 70-71, 74, 76-79, 82-84, 86-87, and 89-90 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0347894 Bhushan et al., hereinafter “Bhushan” (cited previously), in view of US 2016/0287172 Morris et al., hereinafter “Morris”.
Regarding claim 1, Bhushan discloses a system for non-invasively measuring blood pressure (Abstract), the system comprising: a wearable wrist-based device (Para 40 the device can be attached to the user’s wrist) having a first surface configured to contact a wrist of a subject when worn (Figure 2 shows the Biostrip device with a first surface that has the electrodes; Para 40 contacts the wrist); a first sensor configured to receive a first signal, wherein the first signal is indicative of a first blood-volume change in one or more vessels of at the chest of the subject (Para 40 and 46-48; a PPG is known to be an optical technique that is used to detect volumetric changes in blood); a second sensor configured to receive a second signal (Para 18 and Figure 4 showing multiple signals coming in from the strip, Para 51 shows that both PPG and other signals can be measured via one strip), wherein the second signal is indicative of a cardiac mechanical motion of the subject (Para 18; SCG); a third sensor disposed on the first surface of the wearable wrist-based device (Figure 2 shows multiple sensors, at least three, on the first side), the third sensor configured to receive a third signal, wherein the third signal is indicative of a second blood-volume change in one or more vessels at the wrist of the subject (Para 40; a PPG is known to be an optical technique that is used to detect volumetric changes in blood; Para 70); and a processor (Figure 1, element 105) operatively coupled to the first sensor, the second sensor, and the third sensor (Figure 1), the processor configured to: determine a value for one or more hemodynamic variables using the first signal indicative of the first blood-volume change, the second signal indicative of the cardiac mechanical motion, and the third signal indicative of the second blood-volume change (Para 25 and 40); determine, using a model of the one or more hemodynamic variables to blood pressure (Para 50), a blood pressure measurement of the subject based on the value for the one or more hemodynamic variables (Para 50); and generate an output including the blood pressure measurement of the subject (Para 11, 18-19, and 38).
Bhushan does not disclose a second surface opposite the first surface, the second surface configured to indirectly contact a chest of the subject; a first sensor on the second surface of the wearable wrist-based device; a second sensor disposed in the wearable wrist-based device.
However, Morris discloses a wrist worn device that measures blood pressure (Abstract and Figure 3) and teaches a second surface opposite the first surface, the second surface configured to indirectly contact a chest of the subject (Figure 5B and Para 16); a first sensor on the second surface of the wearable wrist-based device (Para 59-60 and Figure 4B, elements 422 and 410); a second sensor disposed in the wearable wrist-based device (Figure 4B, elements 422).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have disclosed a second surface that engages the user’s chest as taught by Morris, in the invention of Bhushan, in order to measure physiologic signals at two locations at the same time (Morris; Para 16).
Regarding claim 2, Bhushan discloses an actuator configured to emit a measuring signal (Para 40, The PPG module includes two or more LEDs); wherein the received first signal is based at least in part on the emitted measuring signal (Para 40; as the lights emitted are measured by the photodiode to determine a PPG signal).
Regarding claim 3, Bhushan discloses the first sensor comprises a photodetector (Para 40), and the first signal comprises light (Para 40).
Regarding claim 6, Bhushan discloses the actuator comprises a light source (Para 40); and the first signal and the measuring signal comprise one or more wavelengths of light (Para 40).
Regarding claim 12, Bhushan discloses the third sensor comprises a photodetector (Para 40); the actuator comprises a light source (Para 40); and the third signal and the measuring signal each comprise light (Para 40).
Regarding claim 70, Bhushan discloses a system for non-invasively measuring blood pressure (Abstract), the system comprising: a wearable wrist-based device having a first surface; the first surface configured to indirectly contact a chest of a subject (Figure 2 shows the Biostrip device with a first surface that has the electrodes; Para 40 the device can be attached to the user’s chest); a first sensor disposed on the first surface of the wearable wrist-based device, the first sensor configured to be placed in indirect contact with skin at the chest of the subject and to receive a first photoplethysmograph (PPG) signal (Para 40; a PPG is known to be an optical technique that is used to detect volumetric changes in blood) indicative of a first blood volume change in one or more vessel at the chest of the subject (Para 40 and 46-48; a PPG is known to be an optical technique that is used to detect volumetric changes in blood); a second sensor disposed within the wearable wrist-based device (Para 18 and Figure 4 showing multiple signals coming in from the strip, Para 51 shows that both PPG and other signals can be measured via one strip), the second sensor configured to receive a seismocardiograph (SCG) signal (Para 18; SCG); a third sensor disposed on the second surface of the wearable wrist-based device, the third sensor configured to receive a second PPG signal indicative of a second blood volume change in one or more vessels different from the one or more blood vessels associated with the first PPG signal (Para 40; a PPG is known to be an optical technique that is used to detect volumetric changes in blood; Para 70); and a processor (Figure 1, element 105) operatively coupled to the first sensor, the second sensor, and the third sensor (Figure 1), the processor configured to: determine a value for one or more hemodynamic variables using the first PPG signal, the SCG signal, and the second PPG signal (Para 25 and 40); determine, using a model of the one or more hemodynamic variables to blood pressure (Para 50), a blood pressure measurement of the subject based on the value for the one or more hemodynamic variables (Para 50); and generate an output including the blood pressure measurement of the subject (Para 11, 18-19, and 38).
Bhushan does not disclose a second surface, the first surface configured to indirectly contact a chest of a subject, and the second surface configured to contact a wrist of the subject
However, Morris discloses a wrist worn device that measures blood pressure (Abstract and Figure 3) and teaches a second surface, the first surface configured to indirectly contact a chest of a subject, and the second surface configured to contact a wrist of the subject (Para 59-60 and Figure 4B, elements 422 and 410, see also Figure 5B and Para 16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have disclosed a second surface that engages the user’s chest as taught by Morris, in the invention of Bhushan, in order to measure physiologic signals at two locations at the same time (Morris; Para 16).
Regarding claim 71, Bhushan discloses a fourth sensor (Para 40 and Figure 4, PPG) disposed on a the wearable wrist-based device (Para 18; a second surface is not defined, a second surface could mean the other side of the device (right vs. left), the fourth sensor configured to receive one or more of an electrocardiogram (ECG) signal, an impedance cardiogram (ICG) signal, an impedance plethysmogram (IPG) signal, or a gyrocardiogram (GCG) signal (Para 40 and 18 and Figure 4, ECG, IPG are shown); wherein: the processor is further configured to transition the wearable wrist-based device from a normal mode of operation to one or more measurement modes of operation (Para 25 and 47); and the one or more measurement modes of operation comprise a continuous mode, a pulse transit time (PTT) mode, pulse arrival time (PAT) mode, pre-ejection period (PEP) mode, a blood pressure (BP) mode, and a pulse wave velocity (PWV) mode (Para 47 and 49).
Regarding claim 74, Bhushan discloses the normal mode of operation comprises initiating at least the first sensor, the second sensor, and the fourth sensor to receive the first PPG signal, the SCG signal, and the ECG signal when the blood pressure measurement is based on the ECG signal (Figure 4 and Para 26).
Regarding claim 76, Bhushan discloses the transition from the normal mode of operation to the continuous mode comprises initiating the first sensor, the second sensor, and the fourth sensor of the wearable wrist-based device (Para 47 and Figure 6; examiner interprets these limitations under BRI, it is not quite clear what a continuous mode represents, examiner suggests defining that in the claim).
Regarding claim 77, Bhushan discloses the processor is further configured to receive the first PPG signal, the SCG signal, and the ECG signal while in the continuous mode (Para 25-26).
Regarding claim 78, Bhushan discloses the transition from the normal mode of operation to the PTT mode comprises initiating the first sensor, the second sensor, and the third sensor of the wearable wrist-based device (Para 47 and Figure 6; first and second sensors are shown; examiner interprets these limitations under BRI, it is not quite clear what a PTT mode represents, examiner suggests defining that in the claim).
Regarding claim 79, Bhushan discloses the processor is further configured to receive the first PPG signal, the SCG signal, and the second PPG signal while in PTT mode (Para 47-48).
Regarding claim 82, Bhushan discloses the transition from the normal mode of operation to the PEP mode comprises initiating the second sensor and the fourth sensor of the wearable wrist-based device (Para 47 and Figure 6; first and second sensors are shown; examiner interprets these limitations under BRI, it is not quite clear what a PEP mode represents, examiner suggests defining that in the claim).
Regarding claim 83, Bhushan discloses the processor is further configured to receive the SCG signal and the ECG signal while in the PEP mode (Para 47-48).
Regarding claim 84, Bhushan discloses the blood pressure measurement of the subject is extractable from the one or more measurement modes of operation (Para 11 and 47).
Regarding claim 86, Bhushan discloses the one or more hemodynamic variables includes pulse transit time (PTT) (Para 47 and 73).
Regarding claim 87, Bhushan discloses the one or more hemodynamic variables includes pulse arrival time (PAT) (Claims 10 and 11).
Regarding claim 89, Bhushan discloses the one or more hemodynamic variables includes pulse transit time (PTT) (Para 47 and 73).
Regarding claim 90, Bhushan discloses the one or more hemodynamic variables includes pulse arrival time (PAT) (Claims 10 and 11).
Claim(s) 18-19, 37, 42-46, 50-51, and 53-56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0347894 Bhushan et al., hereinafter “Bhushan” (cited previously), in view of US 2016/0287172 Morris et al., hereinafter “Morris”, further in view of US 2019/0099095 Zhang et al., hereinafter “Zhang”.
Regarding claim 18, Bhushan discloses a system (Abstract) comprising: a first sensor configured to receive a first signal (Para 40; a PPG, Figure 2 shows multiple electrodes and a PPG sensor) associated with a vessel of a chest of the subject (Para 40 and 46-48; a PPG is known to be an optical technique that is used to detect volumetric changes in blood), and the first sensor being a photoplethysmography sensor (Para 40); a second sensor disposed on the wearable wrist-based device (Para 40), the second sensor configured to receive a second signal (Para 18 and Figure 4 showing multiple signals coming in from the strip, Para 51 shows that both PPG and other signals can be measured via one strip, Figure 2 shows the plurality of electrodes) associated with cardiac mechanical movements of the subject (Para 18; SCG), the second signal being a seismocardiogram signal (Para 18; SCG); a third sensor disposed on the wearable wrist-based device (Figure 2 shows multiple sensors, at least three, on the first side), and a processor operatively coupled to the first sensor, the second sensor, and the third sensor, the processor configured to: determine a noninvasive, cuff-less blood pressure estimation of the subject based on the first and the second signals (Abstract); generate an output based on the first and the second signals (Para 11, 18-19, and 38); including the noninvasive, cuff-less blood pressure estimation of the subject (Abstract and Para 19).
Bhushan does not disclose a first sensor disposed on a wearable wrist-based device configured to indirectly contact a chest of a subject, the first sensor.
However, Morris discloses a wrist worn device that measures blood pressure (Abstract and Figure 3) and teaches a first sensor disposed on a wearable wrist-based device configured to indirectly contact a chest of a subject, the first sensor (Figure 5B and Para 16, sensor is shown in Figure 4B, elements 422).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have disclosed a second surface that engages the user’s chest as taught by Morris, in the invention of Bhushan, in order to measure physiologic signals at two locations at the same time (Morris; Para 16).
Bhushan does not disclose the third sensor configured to detect when the wearable wrist-based device is near the chest of the subject; a processor configured to: detect, when the first and the second sensors are turned off, that the wearable wrist-based device is near the chest of the subject using the third sensor; in response to detecting that the wearable wrist-based device is near the chest, initiate the first and the second sensors to receive the first signal and the second signal.
However, Zhang discloses a blood pressure device (Abstract) and teaches the third sensor configured to detect when the wearable wrist-based device is near the chest of the subject (Para 108); a processor configured to: detect, when the first and the second sensors are turned off, that the wearable wrist-based device is near the chest of the subject using the third sensor; in response to detecting that the wearable wrist-based device is near the chest, initiate the first and the second sensors to receive the first signal and the second signal (Para 108 and claim 18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have disclosed a proximity sensor to turn on the other sensors as taught by Zhang, in the invention of Bhushan, in order to save power (Zhang; Claim 18).
Regarding claim 19, Bhushan discloses the determining the noninvasive, cuff-less blood pressure estimation is further based on at least one signal selected from a group consisting of a gyrocardiogram (GCG) signal, an electrocardiogram(ECG) signal, a ballistocardiogram (BCG), an impedancecardiogram (ICG), an impedance plethysmogram (IPG) signal, and combinations thereof (Para 18 shows almost all of these signals).
Regarding claim 37, Bhushan discloses a method for non-invasively measuring blood pressure (Abstract), the method comprising: the first sensor to measure a first signal indicative of a blood-volume change in a vessel at the chest of the subject (Para 40 and 46-48; a PPG is known to be an optical technique that is used to detect volumetric changes in blood); the second sensor to measure a second signal (Para 18 and Figure 4 showing multiple signals coming in from the strip, Para 51 shows that both PPG and other signals can be measured via one strip) indicative of a cardiac mechanical motion of the subject (Para 18; SCG); determining, based on the first and the second signals, a blood pressure measurement of the subject; and outputting the blood pressure measurement of the subject (Para 11, 18-19, and 38).
Bhushan does not disclose the second signal being measured together with the first signal.
However, Morris teaches the second signal being measured together with the first signal (Figure 5B and Para 16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have disclosed a second surface that engages the user’s chest as taught by Morris, in the invention of Bhushan, in order to measure physiologic signals at two locations at the same time (Morris; Para 16).
Bhushan does not disclose detecting, when a first and a second sensor of a wearable wrist-based device are turned off, that the wearable wrist-based device is near a chest of a subject; initiating, in response to detecting that the wearable wrist-based device is near the chest, the first sensor to measure a first signal.
However, Zhang discloses a blood pressure device (Abstract) and teaches detecting, when a first and a second sensor of a wearable wrist-based device are turned off, that the wearable wrist-based device is near a chest of a subject (Para 108 and claim 18); initiating, in response to detecting that the wearable wrist-based device is near the chest, the first sensor to measure a first signal (Para 108 and claim 18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have disclosed a proximity sensor to turn on the other sensors as taught by Zhang, in the invention of Bhushan, in order to save power (Zhang; Claim 18).
Regarding claim 42, Bhushan discloses wherein the vessel is a first vessel (claim 19); the method further comprises initiating by a third sensor of the wearable wrist-based device to measure a third signal (Para 40 and Figure 4, PPG measured at the wrist); and the third signal is indicative of a second blood-volume change in a second vessel of the subject (Para 40; a PPG is known to be an optical technique that is used to detect volumetric changes in blood; Para 70).
Regarding claim 43, Bhushan discloses the second vessel comprises a peripheral vessel of the subject (Para 40 and 70).
Regarding claim 44, Bhushan discloses the first vessel and the second vessel comprise different peripheral vessels of the subject (Para 48; the measurements are taken from the wrist and sternum, therefore from two different locations/vessels).
Regarding claim 45, Bhushan discloses the first signal comprises a first photoplethysmography (PPG) signal of the first vessel (Para 40; a PPG is known to be an optical technique that is used to detect volumetric changes in blood; Para 70); and the third signal comprises a second PPG signal of the second vessel (Para 40; a PPG is known to be an optical technique that is used to detect volumetric changes in blood; Para 70).
Regarding claim 46, Bhushan discloses the third signal comprises one or more wavelengths (Para 40).
Regarding claim 50, Bhushan discloses initiating a fourth sensor of the wearable wrist-worn device to measure by the wrist-based wearable device, a fourth signal (Figure 2 shows at least 4 sensors, PPG and 3 electrodes, Para 10 also discloses a list of all sensors that can be collecting data which is larger than 4 sensors); wherein the fourth signal is indicative of electrical activity of the subject (Para 18 and 70; ECG).
Regarding claim 51, Bhushan discloses the fourth signal comprises an electrocardiogram (ECG) signal of the subject (Para 18 and 70; ECG).
Regarding claim 53, Bhushan discloses the fourth signal comprises an impedance plethysmogram (IPG) signal of the subject (Para 18).
Regarding claim 54, Bhushan discloses initiating a fifth sensor of the wearable wrist-worn device to measure a fifth signal; wherein the fifth signal is indicative of an additional electrical activity of the subject (Para 18 discloses a variety of sensors that measure electrical activity).
Regarding claim 55, Bhushan discloses the fifth signal comprises one of an ECG signal, an ICG signal, or an IPG signal of the subject (Para 18).
Regarding claim 56, Bhushan discloses initiating a sixth sensor of the wearable wrist-worn device to measure a sixth signal; wherein the sixth signal is indicative of a mechanical motion of the subject (Para 18; movement from accelerometer).
Claim(s) 20, 24, 26, 28-32, 35, 47, and 52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0347894 Bhushan et al., hereinafter “Bhushan”, in view of US 2016/0287172 Morris et al., hereinafter “Morris”, further in view of US 2019/0099095 Zhang et al., hereinafter “Zhang”, further in view of US 2017/0340209 Klaassen et al., hereinafter “Klaassen” (cited previously).
Regarding claim 20, Bhushan discloses a fourth sensor (Figure 2 shows at least 4 sensors, PPG and 3 electrodes, Para 10 also discloses a list of all sensors that can be collecting data which is larger than 4 sensors); and a fifth sensor (Figure 2 shows at least 4 sensors, PPG and 3 electrodes); wherein: the first sensor is positioned on a first surface of the wearable wrist-based device (Claim 19); the second sensor is positioned within the device; the fourth sensor is positioned on a second surface of the device (Para 18; a second surface is not defined, a second surface could mean the other side of the device (right vs. left) as shown in Figure 2, bottom view; examiner suggests defining “a second surface”) and is configured to receive a third signal being indicative of a blood-volume change in an additional vessel of the subject (Para 40; a PPG is known to be an optical technique that is used to detect volumetric changes in blood; Para 70); the fifth sensor is configured to receive a fourth signal indicative of an electrical activity of the subject (Para 18 and 70; ECG); the processor is further configured to transition the wearable wrist-based device from a normal mode of operation to one or more measurement modes of operation (Para 25 and 47); at least one of the measurement modes of operation is selected from the group consisting of a continuous mode, a pulse transit time (PTT) mode, pulse arrival time (PAT) mode, pre-ejection period (PEP) mode, a blood pressure (BP) mode, and a pulse wave velocity (PWV) mode (Para 47 and 49); and at least one of: the transition from the normal mode of operation to the continuous mode comprises a transition of a mode of the first sensor, a mode of the second sensor, and a mode of the fourth sensor; the transition from the normal mode of operation to the PAT mode comprises a transition of a mode of the first sensor, a mode of the forth sensor, and optionally a mode of the fifth sensor; and the transition from the normal mode of operation to the PEP mode comprises a transition of a mode of the second sensor and a mode of the fourth sensor (Para 47 and Figure 6; examiner interprets this limitations under BRI, it is not quite clear what these modes represent, examiner suggests defining that in the claims).
Bhushan does not disclose first, second, third, and fourth sensors on surfaces of the wearable wrist-based device.
However, Klaassen discloses a non-invasive blood pressure device (Abstract) and teaches first, second, third, and fourth sensors on surfaces of the wearable wrist-based device (Para 20, 21, and Figure 4, elements 58, 62, and 64; multiple sensors can be used in this invention, however Figure 4 shows the wrist worn device 50 with sensors on multiple surfaces).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have disclosed sensors on multiple surfaces of a watch device as taught by Klaassen, in the invention of Bhushan, in order to allow the measurement of signals from a variety of vessels located in the subject (Klaassen; Para 103-104).
Regarding claim 24, Bhushan discloses a sixth sensor configured to receive a fifth signal indicative of an additional electrical activity of the subject (Para 18 discloses a variety of sensors that measure electrical activity).
Regarding claim 26, Bhushan discloses a seventh sensor positioned within the wearable device and configured to receive a sixth signal indicative of a mechanical motion of the subject (Para 18; movement from accelerometer).
Bhushan does not disclose a sixth sensor positioned within the wearable wrist-based device.
However, Klaassen teaches a sixth sensor positioned within the wearable wrist-based device (Para 20, 21, and Figure 4, elements 58, 62, and 64; multiple sensors can be used in this invention, however Figure 4 shows the wrist worn device 50 with sensors within it).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have disclosed sensors on multiple surfaces of a watch device as taught by Klaassen, in the invention of Bhushan, in order to allow the measurement of signals from a variety of vessels located in the subject (Klaassen; Para 103-104).
Regarding claim 28, Bhushan discloses the processor is further configured to determine the noninvasive, cuff-less blood pressure estimation of the subject by correlating the first signal and the second signal to one or more hemodynamic variables (Para 18-19 and Figure 4; the system is using the variables like PPG and SCG to calculate blood pressure).
Regarding claim 29, Bhushan discloses at least one of the one or more hemodynamic variables is selected from a group consisting of a pulse transit time (PTT), pulse arrival time (PAT), pre-ejection period (PEP), blood pressure (BP), a pulse wave velocity (PWV), and combinations thereof (Para 47).
Regarding claim 30, Bhushan discloses the processor is further configured to determine the noninvasive, cuff-less blood pressure estimation of the subject by extracting a blood pressure reading from one or more of the hemodynamic variables (Para 47).
Regarding claim 31, Bhushan discloses the first surface of the wearable wrist-based device is configured to be placed in indirect contact with the first vessel of the subject (claim 19; the vessel in a user’s finger).
Bhushan does not disclose the second surface of the wearable wrist-based device is configured to be placed in indirect contact with the second vessel of the subject.
However, Klaassen teaches the second surface of the wearable wrist-based device is configured to be placed in indirect contact with the second vessel of the subject (Para 104, Figure 4, second sensor can be element 58 on a second surface that element 62, see also Para 105).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have disclosed sensors on multiple surfaces of a watch device as taught by Klaassen, in the invention of Bhushan, in order to allow the measurement of signals from a variety of vessels located in the subject (Klaassen; Para 103-104).
Regarding claim 32, Bhushan discloses the second surface of the wearable wrist-based device is configured to be placed in direct contact with a wrist of the subject (Claim 19 discloses direct placement on the user’s finger).
Regarding claim 35, Bhushan discloses the wearable wrist-based device comprises a wristwatch (claim 19 and Figure 4 discloses a smartwatch).
Regarding claim 47, Bhushan discloses each of the one or more wavelengths of the third signal (Para 40).
Bhushan does not disclose a wavelength range from about 1000 nm to about 200 nm.
However, Klaassen teaches a wavelength range from about 1000 nm to about 200 nm (Para 110).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have disclosed a specific wavelength range as taught by Klaassen, in the invention of Bhushan, in order to provide a desired variation in tissue penetrating characteristics of the light (Klaassen; Para 110).
Regarding claim 52, Bhushan discloses the fourth signal (Para 18 and 70).
Bhushan does not disclose an impedance cardiogram (ICG) signal of the subject.
However, Klaassen teaches an impedance cardiogram (ICG) signal of the subject (Para 18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have disclosed an ICG signal measurement as taught by Klaassen, in the invention of Bhushan, in order to measure impedance cardiogram and use the data to estimate blood pressure (Klaassen; Para 18 and 30).
Claim(s) 80-81 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0347894 Bhushan et al., hereinafter “Bhushan”, in view of US 2016/0287172 Morris et al., hereinafter “Morris”, further in view of US 2017/0340209 Klaassen et al., hereinafter “Klaassen” (cited previously).
Regarding claim 80, Bhushan discloses all the limitations of claim 71.
Bhushan does not disclose the transition from the normal mode of operation to the PAT mode comprises initiating the first sensor, the third sensor, and the fourth sensor of the wearable wrist-based device.
However, Klaassen teaches the transition from the normal mode of operation to the PAT mode comprises initiating the first sensor, the third sensor, and the fourth sensor of the wearable wrist-based device (Para 24; examiner interprets these limitations under BRI, it is not quite clear what a PAT mode represents, examiner suggests defining that in the claim).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have disclosed a PAT mode as taught by Klaassen, in the invention of Bhushan, in order to measure a signal indicative of the arrival of a pressure pulse in the subject (Klaassen; Para 24).
Regarding claim 81, Bhushan discloses all the limitations of claim 80.
Bhushan does not disclose the processor is further configured to receive the first PPG signal, the ECG signal, and the second PPG signal while in the PAT mode.
However, Klaassen teaches the processor is further configured to receive the first PPG signal, the ECG signal, and the second PPG signal while in the PAT mode (Para 24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have disclosed a PAT mode as taught by Klaassen, in the invention of Bhushan, in order to measure a signal indicative of the arrival of a pressure pulse in the subject (Klaassen; Para 24).
Claim(s) 57 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0347894 Bhushan et al., hereinafter “Bhushan”, in view of US 2016/0287172 Morris et al., hereinafter “Morris”, further in view of US 2019/0099095 Zhang et al., hereinafter “Zhang”, further in view of WO 2018/231817 Mandel-Portnoy et al., hereinafter “Mandel”.
Regarding claim 57, Bhushan discloses sixth signal (Para 18).
Bhushan does not disclose a gyrocardiogram (GCG) signal of the subject.
However, Mandel discloses a method of monitoring a subject using a wearable device (Abstract and Figure 2) and teaches a gyrocardiogram (GCG) signal of the subject (Para 6 and 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have disclosed a GCG signal as taught by Mandel, in the invention of Bhushan, in order to measure a mechanical movement of the subject (Mandel; Para 6 and 8).
Claim(s) 85 and 88 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0347894 Bhushan et al., hereinafter “Bhushan” (cited previously), in view of US 2016/0287172 Morris et al., hereinafter “Morris”, further in view of US 2018/0184921 Baxi et al., hereinafter “Baxi”.
Regarding claim 85, Bhushan discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Bhushan does not disclose the processor is further configured to perform motion artifact cancellation using the first signal indicative of the first blood-volume change and the third signal indicative of the second blood-volume change.
However, Baxi discloses a system for calculating blood pressure (Abstract) and teaches the processor is further configured to perform motion artifact cancellation using the first signal indicative of the first blood-volume change and the third signal indicative of the second blood-volume change (Para 53).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have disclosed motion artifact cancellation as taught by Baxi, in the invention of Bhushan, in order to suppress the motion in the PPG signal and make it clearer (Baxi; Para 53).
Regarding claim 88, Bhushan discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Bhushan does not disclose the processor is further configured to perform motion artifact cancellation using the first PPG signal and the second PPG signal.
However, Baxi discloses a system for calculating blood pressure (Abstract) and teaches the processor is further configured to perform motion artifact cancellation using the first PPG signal and the second PPG signal (Para 53).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have disclosed motion artifact cancellation as taught by Baxi, in the invention of Bhushan, in order to suppress the motion in the PPG signal and make it clearer (Baxi; Para 53).
Conclusion
/AYA ZIAD BAKKAR/
Examiner, Art Unit 3796
/CARL H LAYNO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3796