DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed August 15, 2025 have been entered. Claims 1-14 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ma et al (CN 109321027 A, using the machine translation for the citations below).
Ma teaches a cerium-EDTA chelate (para. 0006-0007) comprising cerium (III) carbonate (para. 0031). The EDTA/ethylenediaminetetraacetic acid reads on the amine carboxylic acid capping ligand of instant claims 1 and 13. Ma further teaches an aqueous acrylic emulsion comprising the cerium-EDTA chelate (para. 0034, 0052).
Claims 1-2, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Murakami et al (US 2017/0342271 A1).
Murakami teaches a dispersion comprising a methyl methacrylate copolymer (para. 0162) that is dissolved in an organic solvent (para. 0130) and a cerium carbonate laking agent (para. 0073) with a dispersant/capping ligand comprising an amine carboxylic acid (para. 0111, amine salt of a carboxylic acid polymer).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al (CN 109321027 A, using the machine translation for the citations below) in view of Stoye et al (Paints and Coatings, 2006, Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry, p.1-199).
Regarding Claims 5-6: Ma is silent to the pigment/colorant.
Stoye teaches that paints generally comprise pigments, such as titanium dioxide, which is commonly used due to its high brightening power, chemical resistance, and non-toxicity (p.103, col. 2, para. 3). Stoye and Ma are analogous art because they are directed toward the same field of endeavor, namely paint compositions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a titanium dioxide pigment to the paint composition taught by Ma in order to achieve a bright white and chemically inert paint.
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al (CN 109321027 A, using the machine translation for the citations below) in view of Stoye et al (Paints and Coatings, 2006, Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry, p.1-199), further in view of Murakami et al (US 2017/0342271 A1).
Regarding Claim 7: Ma and Stoye teach the limitations of claim 6, as set forth above. However, Ma is silent to the cerium carbonate being nano-sized.
Murakami teaches a dispersion comprising a cerium carbonate laking agent (para. 0073) that is a nano-sized particle (para. 106, 10-300 nm). Murakami and Ma are analogous art because they are directed toward the same field of endeavor, namely cerium carbonate particles for use in dispersions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the particle size of the cerium carbonate taught by Ma to be nanosized because Murakami teaches that such a particle size is advantageous for dispersibility (para. 0106).
Regarding Claim 8: Stoye teaches that anatase and rutile titanium dioxide are the two predominant forms of titanium dioxide that are produced on a commercial scale (p.103, col. 2, para. 3). Furthermore, all titanium dioxide will fall into the categories of passivated or unpassivated.
Regarding Claims 9-10: Ma teaches an acrylic polymer, as set forth above, but is silent to the monomers it comprises.
Stoye teaches that acrylic/polyacrylate resins may comprise multiple monomers (p.29, col. 2, para. 3). Stoye further teaches that methyl methacrylate units provide high weather resistance, lightfastness, hardness, and gloss, acrylic acid units improve adhesion to metal, and alkyl acrylates provide flexibility and hydrophobicity (p.30, col. 1, para. 2), with n-butyl acrylate being especially useful for adjusting the glass transition temperature of the acrylic resin (p.30, col. 1, para. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use an acrylic resin comprising methyl methacrylate, n-butyl acrylate, and acrylic acid structural units to impart the paint with weather resistance, lightfastness, hardness, gloss, metal adhesion, flexibility, and a desirable Tg.
Claims 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al (CN 109321027 A, using the machine translation for the citations below) in view of Stoye et al (Paints and Coatings, 2006, Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry, p.1-199) and Murakami et al (US 2017/0342271 A1), further in view of Coatings World (Evonik Supplies Methacrylate Phosphate as Anti-Corrosion Agent, Flame retardant, 2018).
Ma, Stoye, and Murakami teach the limitations of claim 10, as set forth above. However, they are silent to the polymer comprising phosphoethyl methacrylate.
Coatings World teaches that phosphoethyl methacrylate/2-hydroxyethyl methacrylate phosphate may be copolymerized into an acrylic resin to improve adhesion and provide flame retardant properties (para. 2). Coatings World and Ma are analogous art because they are directed toward the same field of endeavor, namely coating compositions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include phosphoethyl methacrylate structural units in the polymer taught by Ma and Stoye in order to obtain a paint with high adhesion and flame retardant properties.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al (CN 109321027 A, using the machine translation for the citations below) in view of Westerback et al (Ethylene-diamine-tetra(methylene-phosphonic) Acid, 11 Aug 1956, Nature, 178, p. 321-322).
Ma teaches the limitations of Claim 1, as set forth above. However, Ma is silent to the amine phosphonic acid capping ligand.
Westerback establishes equivalency of an amine carboxylic acid and an amine phosphonic acid as chelating agents/capping ligands (p. 321, col. 1, EDTA and EPDA). As the instant specification is silent to unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to substitute the amine carboxylic acid capping ligand (EDTA) for an amine phosphonic acid capping ligand (EPDA) since such modification would have involved a mere substitution of known equivalent structures. A substitution of known equivalent structures is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.06.
Response to Arguments
The arguments filed August 15, 2025 are directed toward the new limitations of independent Claim 1 and are overcome by the grounds of rejection as set forth above.
Additional Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kataoka (US 2013/0196167 A) is directed toward a dispersion comprising cerium (III) carbonate.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/C.N.I./Examiner, Art Unit 1767
/MARK EASHOO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1767