DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 07/10/2026 with respect to claims 1 and 13-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, in particular, the new recitation reproduced here: "wherein the compensation element does not significantly affect operation of the electronic component during normal operation of the electronic component". The above clause reproduced here: "does not significantly affect" is vague because it does not quantify the magnitude of the compensation element's effect on the electronic element. In other words, how much impact is made. Also, the above feature is unclear because neither the specification nor the drawing discloses how and what are the setting of the compensation element and the electronic component in terms of resistance value and operating temperature to be configured for each one in order to achieve the above limitation. Because again, the drawing shows only, two thermistors in series clamped to a power source with no further description. Therefore, for the sake of examination the above limitation is interpreted as: --- "wherein the compensation element is configured to minimize the effect on the temperature characteristics of the electronic component during normal operation" ---.
Claims 2 through 14 suffer from the same deficiency as claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 9, 11 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buiting et al (US Patent No. 3559883) in view of Shimada et al (US Publication No. 20020004160).
Regarding claim 1, Buiting discloses a protective device (i.e., such as protective device 73; for instance, electrothermal oscillator 73. Oscillator 73 comprises a PTC thermistor TH5 connected in series with an NTC thermistor TH6; see for example fig. 8, Col. 6 lines 25+) for an electronic component (i.e., such as electronic component NTC/TH6; for instance, oscillator 73 comprises a PTC thermistor TH5 connected in series with an NTC thermistor TH6; see for example fig. 8, Col. 6 lines 25+) connected to an interface (i.e., such as interface L7-L8; for instance, NTC/TH6 is connected to terminal L8 via element 49C; see for example fig. 8, Col. 6 lines 25+), comprising: a compensation element (i.e., such as compensation element PTC/TH5; for instance, oscillator 73 comprises a PTC thermistor TH5 connected in series with an NTC thermistor TH6; see for example fig. 8, Col. 6 lines 25+) connected in series with the electronic component (i.e., such as electronic component NTC/TH6; for instance, oscillator 73 comprises a PTC thermistor TH5 connected in series with an NTC thermistor TH6; see for example fig. 8, Col. 6 lines 25+), wherein the compensation element (i.e., such as compensation element PTC/TH5; for instance, oscillator 73 comprises a PTC thermistor TH5 connected in series with an NTC thermistor TH6; see for example fig. 8, Col. 6 lines 25+) has a positive temperature coefficient (i.e., such as positive temperature coefficient PTC/TH5; for instance, oscillator 73 comprises a PTC thermistor TH5 connected in series with an NTC thermistor TH6; see for example fig. 8, Col. 6 lines 25+) of an electrical resistance (i.e., such as electrical resistance of thermistor TH5; for instance, oscillator 73 comprises a PTC thermistor TH5 connected in series with an NTC thermistor TH6; see for example fig. 8, Col. 6 lines 25+) of the compensation element (i.e., such as compensation element PTC/TH5; for instance, oscillator 73 comprises a PTC thermistor TH5 connected in series with an NTC thermistor TH6; see for example fig. 8, Col. 6 lines 25+), wherein the electronic component (i.e., such as electronic component NTC/TH6; for instance, oscillator 73 comprises a PTC thermistor TH5 connected in series with an NTC thermistor TH6; see for example fig. 8, Col. 6 lines 25+) is configured with a negative temperature coefficient (i.e., such as negative temperature coefficient NTC/TH6; for instance, oscillator 73 comprises a PTC thermistor TH5 connected in series with an NTC thermistor TH6; see for example fig. 8, Col. 6 lines 25+), wherein the compensation element (i.e., such as compensation element PTC/TH5; for instance, oscillator 73 comprises a PTC thermistor TH5 connected in series with an NTC thermistor TH6; see for example fig. 8, Col. 6 lines 25+) is connected to a pole (i.e., such as pole L7; for instance, PTC/TH5 is connected to terminal L7 via elements TH7 and R11; see for example fig. 8, Col. 6 lines 25+) of an electrical energy store (i.e., such as electrical energy store as voltage source clamped to terminals L7 and L8; for instance, oscillator 73 and actuator heater 49C are connected in a series circuit with a PTC sensing thermistor TH7 and a rheostat R11 across a pair of supply leads L7 and L8 to which a substantially constant voltage, either AC or DC is applied; see for example fig. 8, Col. 6 lines 25+), at a pole or a measuring contact (i.e., such as pole terminal TH5/TH6; for instance, PTC/TH5 is connected in series with NTC/TH6; see for example fig. 8, Col. 6 lines 25+) of the interface (i.e., such as interface L7-L8; for instance, NTC/TH6 is connected to terminal L8 via element 49C; see for example fig. 8, Col. 6 lines 25+), and wherein the electronic component (i.e., such as electronic component NTC/TH6; for instance, oscillator 73 comprises a PTC thermistor TH5 connected in series with an NTC thermistor TH6; see for example fig. 8, Col. 6 lines 25+) and the compensation element (i.e., such as compensation element PTC/TH5; for instance, oscillator 73 comprises a PTC thermistor TH5 connected in series with an NTC thermistor TH6; see for example fig. 8, Col. 6 lines 25+) are thermally coupled to one another (i.e., such as PTC/TH5 is thermally coupled to NTC/TH6; for instance, both thermistors are chosen to possess resistance characteristics having regions of relatively high slope so that the current-voltage characteristic of each has a negative resistance region. As is understood by those skilled in the art, when a pair of such thermistors are connected in series across a voltage source, oscillations are obtained since as one thermistor self-heats toward an equilibrium condition, it disturbs the equilibrium of the other, this cycling continuing in an oscillatory manner. The frequency and amplitude of oscillations vary as a function of the voltage applied to the oscillator; see for example fig. 8, Col. 6 lines 25+).
Buiting does not explicitly disclose wherein the compensation element does not significantly affect operation of the electronic component during normal operation of the electronic component.
Shimada discloses a temperature sensing device (i.e., see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]- [0042]); wherein the compensation element (i.e., such as the compensation element PTC 10) does not significantly affect operation (i.e., such as does not significantly affect operation as the PTC 10 is configured to minimize the effect on the temperature characteristics of the NTC 8; for instance, preferably, the value of resistance of the PTC element 10 at room temperature is not greater than about 10% of that of the NTC element 8, in order to minimize the effect on the temperature characteristics of the NTC element 8. If the value of resistance of the PTC element 10 at room temperature is too low, however, the protecting operation does not work until the current becomes extremely large; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]- [0042]) of the electronic component (i.e., such as the electronic component NTC 8; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]- [0042]) during normal operation (i.e., such as normal operation of the NTC 8 to detect/sense/measure temperature; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]- [0042]) of the electronic component (i.e., such as the electronic component NTC 8; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]- [0042]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the PTC/NTC scheme in Buiting, as taught by Shimada, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards dynamic protection circuit that balances inrush current limiting with overcurrent/over-temperature protection.
Regarding claim 3, Buiting in view of Shimada and the teachings of Buiting as modified by Shimada have been discussed above.
Buiting further discloses the protective device (i.e., such as protective device 73; for instance, electrothermal oscillator 73. Oscillator 73 comprises a PTC thermistor TH5 connected in series with an NTC thermistor TH6; see for example fig. 8, Col. 6 lines 25+); wherein the thermal coupling (i.e., such as thermal coupling between PTC/TH5 and NTC/TH6; for instance, both thermistors are chosen to possess resistance characteristics having regions of relatively high slope so that the current-voltage characteristic of each has a negative resistance region. As is understood by those skilled in the art, when a pair of such thermistors are connected in series across a voltage source, oscillations are obtained since as one thermistor self-heats toward an equilibrium condition, it disturbs the equilibrium of the other, this cycling continuing in an oscillatory manner. The frequency and amplitude of oscillations vary as a function of the voltage applied to the oscillator; see for example fig. 8, Col. 6 lines 25+) of the electronic component (i.e., such as electronic component TH6; for instance, oscillator 73 comprises a PTC thermistor TH5 connected in series with an NTC thermistor TH6; see for example fig. 8, Col. 6 lines 25+) and the compensation element (i.e., such as compensation element TH5; for instance, oscillator 73 comprises a PTC thermistor TH5 connected in series with an NTC thermistor TH6; see for example fig. 8, Col. 6 lines 25+) is provided by a specific spatial proximity, by a printed electrical conductor configured to connect the electronic component and the compensation element, or by a specific heat transfer resistance (i.e., such as specific heat transfer resistance towards equilibrium condition; for instance, when a pair of such thermistors are connected in series across a voltage source, oscillations are obtained since as one thermistor self-heats toward an equilibrium condition, it disturbs the equilibrium of the other, this cycling continuing in an oscillatory manner. The frequency and amplitude of oscillations vary as a function of the voltage applied to the oscillator. Temperature adjustment by means of the application of bias heat is particularly advantageous when the sensing thermistor 73 is constructed of a semiconductor material which has a relatively sharply defined transition temperature above which the resistance or conductivity of the material changes abruptly. Thermistors constructed of such materials provide high sensitivity or gain when operated in the region of the transition temperature. By applying a variable bias heat to such a thermistor, the thermistor can be operated in the transition region while being responsive to an ambient temperature which is substantially below the transition region. Further, by varying the amount of the bias heat, the level at which the ambient temperature is controlled can be varied even though the sensing thermistor is operated at the high gain transition temperature which is inherently fixed by the composition of the thermistor; see for example fig. 8, Col. 6 lines 25+) between the electronic component (i.e., such as electronic component TH6; for instance, oscillator 73 comprises a PTC thermistor TH5 connected in series with an NTC thermistor TH6; see for example fig. 8, Col. 6 lines 25+) and the compensation element (i.e., such as compensation element TH5; for instance, oscillator 73 comprises a PTC thermistor TH5 connected in series with an NTC thermistor TH6; see for example fig. 8, Col. 6 lines 25+).
Regarding claim 5, Buiting in view of Shimada and the teachings of Buiting as modified by Shimada have been discussed above.
Buiting further discloses the protective device (i.e., such as protective device 73; for instance, electrothermal oscillator 73. Oscillator 73 comprises a PTC thermistor TH5 connected in series with an NTC thermistor TH6; see for example fig. 8, Col. 6 lines 25+); wherein: the electronic component (i.e., such as electronic component TH6; for instance, oscillator 73 comprises a PTC thermistor TH5 connected in series with an NTC thermistor TH6; see for example fig. 8, Col. 6 lines 25+) is configured for a temperature measurement (i.e., such as sensing temperature as the oscillations rate between NTC/TH6 and PTC/TH5; see for example fig. 8, Col. 6 lines 25+), the electronic component (i.e., such as electronic component TH6; for instance, oscillator 73 comprises a PTC thermistor TH5 connected in series with an NTC thermistor TH6; see for example fig. 8, Col. 6 lines 25+) and the compensation element (i.e., such as compensation element TH5; for instance, oscillator 73 comprises a PTC thermistor TH5 connected in series with an NTC thermistor TH6; see for example fig. 8, Col. 6 lines 25+), with respect to their corresponding temperature coefficients (i.e., such as with respect to the TH5 as a positive temperature coefficient and TH6 as negative temperature coefficient; see for example fig. 8, Col. 6 lines 25+), are mutually tuned (i.e., such as PTC/TH5 is mutually tuned with NTC/TH6; for instance, oscillator 73 comprises a PTC thermistor TH5 connected in series with an NTC thermistor TH6. Both thermistors are chosen to possess resistance characteristics having regions of relatively high slope so that the current-voltage characteristic of each has a negative resistance region. As is understood by those skilled in the art, when a pair of such thermistors are connected in series across a voltage source, oscillations are obtained since as one thermistor self-heats toward an equilibrium condition, it disturbs the equilibrium of the other, this cycling continuing in an oscillatory manner. The frequency and amplitude of oscillations vary as a function of the voltage applied to the oscillator; see for example fig. 8, Col. 6 lines 25+) such that, within a relevant temperature measurement range (i.e., such as relevant temperature sensing range within the equilibrium temperature region; for instance, oscillator 73 comprises a PTC thermistor TH5 connected in series with an NTC thermistor TH6. Both thermistors are chosen to possess resistance characteristics having regions of relatively high slope so that the current-voltage characteristic of each has a negative resistance region. As is understood by those skilled in the art, when a pair of such thermistors are connected in series across a voltage source, oscillations are obtained since as one thermistor self-heats toward an equilibrium condition, it disturbs the equilibrium of the other, this cycling continuing in an oscillatory manner. The frequency and amplitude of oscillations vary as a function of the voltage applied to the oscillator; see for example fig. 8, Col. 6 lines 25+), the temperature measurement (i.e., such as sensing temperature as the oscillations rate between NTC/TH6 and PTC/TH5; see for example fig. 8, Col. 6 lines 25+) is not significantly corrupted (i.e., such as the oscillatory manner of the two thermistors PTC/TH5 and NTC/TH6 is not significantly corrupted by the low-rate repetition nor by the high-rate repetition and is still operating within the equilibrium region to obtain the temperature-controlling feedback operation; for instance, at relatively high temperatures only relatively low voltage is applied to oscillator 73 and its oscillations will be relatively rapid and of small amplitude as represented in FIG. 9A. However, at lower temperatures a higher voltage is applied to the oscillator 73 and its oscillations will be at a lower repetition rate but of higher amplitude as represented in FIG. 9B. As may be seen by comparing FIGS. 9A and 9B, the oscillations represented in FIG. 9B have a higher energy content than those represented in FIG. 9A and thus the energization of the actuator heater 49C is increased. Assuming that, as in the embodiment of FIG. 1, increased energization of the actuator heater produces more heat from the furnace or other heat source, it can be seen that temperature-controlling feedback operation is obtained; see for example fig. 9, Col. 6 lines 25+), and wherein, outside the relevant temperature measurement range (i.e., such as relevant temperature sensing range within the equilibrium temperature region; for instance, oscillator 73 comprises a PTC thermistor TH5 connected in series with an NTC thermistor TH6. Both thermistors are chosen to possess resistance characteristics having regions of relatively high slope so that the current-voltage characteristic of each has a negative resistance region. As is understood by those skilled in the art, when a pair of such thermistors are connected in series across a voltage source, oscillations are obtained since as one thermistor self-heats toward an equilibrium condition, it disturbs the equilibrium of the other, this cycling continuing in an oscillatory manner. The frequency and amplitude of oscillations vary as a function of the voltage applied to the oscillator; see for example fig. 8, Col. 6 lines 25+), the compensation element (i.e., such as compensation element TH5; for instance, oscillator 73 comprises a PTC thermistor TH5 connected in series with an NTC thermistor TH6; see for example fig. 8, Col. 6 lines 25+) is defined as high-resistance (i.e., such as high-resistance; for instance, assuming the voltage is constant, low amplitude current corresponds to a high ohmic resistance and vice versa because the resistance is inversely proportional with the current, thus, the resistance resulted in fig. 9A is higher than the resistance resulted in fig. 9B; see for example fig. 9, Col. 6 lines 25+).
Regarding claim 9, Buiting in view of Shimada and the teachings of Buiting as modified by Shimada have been discussed above.
Buiting further discloses the protective device (i.e., such as protective device 73; for instance, electrothermal oscillator 73. Oscillator 73 comprises a PTC thermistor TH5 connected in series with an NTC thermistor TH6; see for example fig. 8, Col. 6 lines 25+); wherein a resistance value (i.e., such as resistance value R_PTC/TH5 vs. R_NTC/TH6; for instance, when the temperature rises the ohmic resistance of the NTC/TH6 decreases, while the ohmic resistance of the PTC/TH5 increases (R_NTC < R_PTC); and vice versa, as the temperature falls the ohmic resistance of the NTC/TH6 increases, while the ohmic resistance of the PTC/TH5 decreases (R_NTC > R_PTC). As is understood by those skilled in the art, when a pair of such thermistors are connected in series across a voltage source, oscillations are obtained since as one thermistor self-heats toward an equilibrium condition, it disturbs the equilibrium of the other, this cycling continuing in an oscillatory manner; see for example fig. 8, Col. 6 lines 25+) of the compensation element (i.e., such as compensation element TH5; for instance, oscillator 73 comprises a PTC thermistor TH5 connected in series with an NTC thermistor TH6; see for example fig. 8, Col. 6 lines 25+) is defined as small (i.e., such as the ohmic resistance of the PTC/TH5 is smaller than the ohmic resistance of the NTC/TH6 when the temperature is falling; for instance, at relatively high temperatures only relatively low voltage is applied to oscillator 73 and its oscillations will be relatively rapid and of small amplitude as represented in FIG. 9A. However, at lower temperatures a higher voltage is applied to the oscillator 73 and its oscillations will be at a lower repetition rate but of higher amplitude as represented in FIG. 9B. As may be seen by comparing FIGS. 9A and 9B, the oscillations represented in FIG. 9B have a higher energy content than those represented in FIG. 9A and thus the energization of the actuator heater 49C is increased; see for example fig. 9, Col. 6 lines 25+) in comparison to a resistance value (i.e., such as resistance value R_PTC/TH5 vs. R_NTC/TH6; for instance, when the temperature rises the ohmic resistance of the NTC/TH6 decreases, while the ohmic resistance of the PTC/TH5 increases (R_NTC < R_PTC); and vice versa, as the temperature falls the ohmic resistance of the NTC/TH6 increases, while the ohmic resistance of the PTC/TH5 decreases (R_NTC > R_PTC). As is understood by those skilled in the art, when a pair of such thermistors are connected in series across a voltage source, oscillations are obtained since as one thermistor self-heats toward an equilibrium condition, it disturbs the equilibrium of the other, this cycling continuing in an oscillatory manner; see for example fig. 8, Col. 6 lines 25+) of the electronic component (i.e., such as electronic component TH6; for instance, oscillator 73 comprises a PTC thermistor TH5 connected in series with an NTC thermistor TH6; see for example fig. 8, Col. 6 lines 25+) over a normal operating range (i.e., such as normal operating range between lower temperatures and high temperatures of the equilibrium region boundaries; for instance, at relatively high temperatures only relatively low voltage is applied to oscillator 73 and its oscillations will be relatively rapid and of small amplitude as represented in FIG. 9A. However, at lower temperatures a higher voltage is applied to the oscillator 73 and its oscillations will be at a lower repetition rate but of higher amplitude as represented in FIG. 9B. As may be seen by comparing FIGS. 9A and 9B, the oscillations represented in FIG. 9B have a higher energy content than those represented in FIG. 9A and thus the energization of the actuator heater 49C is increased; see for example fig. 9, Col. 6 lines 25+) of the electronic component (i.e., such as electronic component TH6; for instance, oscillator 73 comprises a PTC thermistor TH5 connected in series with an NTC thermistor TH6; see for example fig. 8, Col. 6 lines 25+).
Regarding claim 11, Buiting in view of Shimada and the teachings of Buiting as modified by Shimada have been discussed above.
Buiting further discloses the protective device (i.e., such as protective device 73; for instance, electrothermal oscillator 73. Oscillator 73 comprises a PTC thermistor TH5 connected in series with an NTC thermistor TH6; see for example fig. 8, Col. 6 lines 25+); wherein the electronic component (i.e., such as electronic component TH6; for instance, oscillator 73 comprises a PTC thermistor TH5 connected in series with an NTC thermistor TH6; see for example fig. 8, Col. 6 lines 25+) and the compensation element (i.e., such as compensation element TH5; for instance, oscillator 73 comprises a PTC thermistor TH5 connected in series with an NTC thermistor TH6; see for example fig. 8, Col. 6 lines 25+) are coupled (i.e., such as PTC/TH5 is thermally coupled to NTC/TH6; for instance, both thermistors are chosen to possess resistance characteristics having regions of relatively high slope so that the current-voltage characteristic of each has a negative resistance region. As is understood by those skilled in the art, when a pair of such thermistors are connected in series across a voltage source, oscillations are obtained since as one thermistor self-heats toward an equilibrium condition, it disturbs the equilibrium of the other, this cycling continuing in an oscillatory manner. The frequency and amplitude of oscillations vary as a function of the voltage applied to the oscillator; see for example fig. 8, Col. 6 lines 25+) by a thermally conductive material (i.e., such as constructing the electrothermal oscillator 73 from thermally conductive material; for instance, the temperature adjustment by means of the application of bias heat is particularly advantageous when the sensing thermistor oscillator 73 is constructed of a semiconductor material which has a relatively sharply defined transition temperature above which the resistance or conductivity of the material changes abruptly. Thermistors constructed of such materials provide high sensitivity or gain when operated in the region of the transition temperature. By applying a variable bias heat to such a thermistor, the thermistor can be operated in the transition region while being responsive to an ambient temperature which is substantially below the transition region. Further, by varying the amount of the bias heat, the level at which the ambient temperature is controlled can be varied even though the sensing thermistor is operated at the high gain transition temperature which is inherently fixed by the composition of the thermistor; see for example fig. 8, Col. 6 lines 25+).
Regarding claim 13, Buiting in view of Shimada and the teachings of Buiting as modified by Shimada have been discussed above.
Buiting further discloses an electrical energy store (i.e., such as electrical energy store as voltage source clamped to terminals L7 and L8; for instance, oscillator 73 and actuator heater 49C are connected in a series circuit with a PTC sensing thermistor TH7 and a rheostat R11 across a pair of supply leads L7 and L8 to which a substantially constant voltage, either AC or DC is applied; see for example fig. 8, Col. 6 lines 25+). And, for the rest of the limitations/features in claim 13 is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 1. {See rejection of claim 1}
Regarding claim 14, Buiting in view of Shimada and the teachings of Buiting as modified by Shimada have been discussed above.
Buiting discloses a method for producing a protective device (i.e., such as the method to construct the protective device 73; for instance, electrothermal oscillator 73. Oscillator 73 comprises a PTC thermistor TH5 connected in series with an NTC thermistor TH6; see for example fig. 8, Col. 6 lines 25+). And, for the rest of the limitations/features in claim 14 is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 1. {See rejection of claim 1}
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buiting et al (US Patent No. 3559883) in view of Shimada et al (US Publication No. 20020004160) and further in view of Wuertele (US Publication No. 20130103169).
Regarding claim 2, Buiting in view of Shimada and the teachings of Buiting as modified by Shimada have been discussed above.
Neither Buiting nor Shimada explicitly discloses wherein the electronic component is a coding resistor.
Wuertele discloses a method for operating a power tool (i.e., see for example fig. 1A, para. [0028]- [0033]); wherein the electronic component (i.e., such as electronic component 31; see for example fig. 1A, para. [0028]- [0033]) is a coding resistor (i.e., such as coding resistor 31; for instance, first code resistor 31, which preferably is developed as a temperature-dependent electrical resistor (e.g., thermistor NTC), may be used to code the internal temperature of energy store device 30 in terms of voltage; see for example fig. 1A, para. [0028]- [0033]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally used the NTC coding resistor device in Buiting, as taught by Wuertele, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards controlling current, protecting components, and managing the charging rate.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buiting et al (US Patent No. 3559883) in view of Shimada et al (US Publication No. 20020004160) and in view of Wuertele (US Publication No. 20130103169) and further in view of Wang et al (US Publication No. 20110259872).
Regarding claim 4, Buiting in view of Shimada and further in view of Wuertele and the teachings of Buiting as modified by Shimada have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Buiting as modified by Wuertele have been discussed above as well.
Neither Buiting nor Shimada nor Wuertele explicitly discloses wherein the thermal coupling between the electronic component and the compensation element is conducive to tripping of the compensation element in response to heating of the electronic component.
Wang discloses a controllable heating pad (i.e., such as circuit for detecting PTC and NTC voltages; see for example fig. 4, para. [0040]- [0046]); wherein the thermal coupling (i.e., such as thermal coupling via cables PTC line 311 and NTC line 312; see for example fig. 4, para. [0040]- [0046]) between the electronic component (i.e., such as electronic component NTC/307; see for example fig. 4, para. [0040]- [0046]) and the compensation element (i.e., such as compensation element PTC/308; see for example fig. 4, para. [0040]- [0046]) is conducive to tripping (i.e., such as PTC cable 311 is conducive to tripping of PTC/308 via switch 304; see for example fig. 4, para. [0040]- [0046]) of the compensation element (i.e., such as compensation element PTC/308; see for example fig. 4, para. [0040]- [0046]) in response to heating (i.e., such as in response to heating; for instance, switch 304 is to cut the feed from power source 305 per the heat detected in the NTC cable 312; see for example fig. 4, para. [0040]- [0046]) of the electronic component (i.e., such as electronic component NTC/307; see for example fig. 4, para. [0040]- [0046]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the switch device in Buiting, as taught by Wang, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards bidirectional protection to the both thermistors against overheating events.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buiting et al (US Patent No. 3559883) in view of Shimada et al (US Publication No. 20020004160) and further in view of Kao et al (US Publication No. 20070126405).
Regarding claim 6, Buiting in view of Shimada and the teachings of Buiting as modified by Shimada have been discussed above.
Neither Buiting nor Shimada explicitly discloses wherein the relevant temperature measurement range is from -20°C to +80°C.
Kao discloses a battery charging system (i.e., such as system 100; see for example fig. 2, para. [0019]- [0025]) charges a battery using a charging circuit; wherein the relevant temperature measurement range (i.e., such as relevant temperature measurement range; for instance, the operational charging temperature of the battery 110 should be charged at a temperature of approximately 0. degree. C. to 45. degree. C., and should not be charged at temperatures much greater than 50. degree. C.; see for example fig. 4, para. [0024]) is from -20°C to +80°C (i.e., -50. degree. C to 150.degree. C; see for example fig. 4, para. [0024]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the temperature range in Buiting, as taught by Kao, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards efficiently controlling the operational temperature and protecting the charged cell(s).
Regarding claim 7, Buiting in view of Shimada and further in view of Kao and the teachings of Buiting as modified by Shimada have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Buiting as modified by Kao have been discussed above as well.
Buiting further discloses the protective device (i.e., such as protective device 73; for instance, electrothermal oscillator 73. Oscillator 73 comprises a PTC thermistor TH5 connected in series with an NTC thermistor TH6; see for example fig. 8, Col. 6 lines 25+); wherein: an equilibrium temperature (i.e., such as equilibrium temperature; for instance, both thermistors are chosen to possess resistance characteristics having regions of relatively high slope so that the current-voltage characteristic of each has a negative resistance region. As is understood by those skilled in the art, when a pair of such thermistors are connected in series across a voltage source, oscillations are obtained since as one thermistor self-heats toward an equilibrium condition, it disturbs the equilibrium of the other, this cycling continuing in an oscillatory manner. The frequency and amplitude of oscillations vary as a function of the voltage applied to the oscillator; see for example fig. 8, Col. 6 lines 25+) of the electronic component (i.e., such as electronic component TH6; for instance, oscillator 73 comprises a PTC thermistor TH5 connected in series with an NTC thermistor TH6; see for example fig. 8, Col. 6 lines 25+) and the compensation element (i.e., such as compensation element TH5; for instance, oscillator 73 comprises a PTC thermistor TH5 connected in series with an NTC thermistor TH6; see for example fig. 8, Col. 6 lines 25+) is such that, at a maximum operating voltage (i.e., such as maximum operating voltage of the voltage source clamped to terminals L7 and L8; for instance, oscillator 73 and actuator heater 49C are connected in a series circuit with a PTC sensing thermistor TH7 and a rheostat R11 across a pair of supply leads L7 and L8 to which a substantially constant voltage, either AC or DC is applied; see for example fig. 8, Col. 6 lines 25+) of the electrical energy store (i.e., such as electrical energy store as voltage source clamped to terminals L7 and L8; for instance, oscillator 73 and actuator heater 49C are connected in a series circuit with a PTC sensing thermistor TH7 and a rheostat R11 across a pair of supply leads L7 and L8 to which a substantially constant voltage, either AC or DC is applied; see for example fig. 8, Col. 6 lines 25+); the temperature coefficients (i.e., such as with respect to the TH5 as a positive temperature coefficient and TH6 as negative temperature coefficient; see for example fig. 8, Col. 6 lines 25+) for the electronic component (i.e., such as electronic component TH6; for instance, oscillator 73 comprises a PTC thermistor TH5 connected in series with an NTC thermistor TH6; see for example fig. 8, Col. 6 lines 25+) and the compensation element (i.e., such as compensation element TH5; for instance, oscillator 73 comprises a PTC thermistor TH5 connected in series with an NTC thermistor TH6; see for example fig. 8, Col. 6 lines 25+).
Also, Kao furthermore discloses (i.e., 100; see for example fig. 2, para. [0019]- [0025]); wherein: an equilibrium temperature (i.e., a threshold temperature of approximately 50. degree. C; The plot 124 experiences a turning point around a threshold temperature of approximately 50. degree. C.; see for example fig. 4, para. [0023]) of the electronic component (i.e., plot 120 represents the resistance-temperature characteristics of the NTC thermistor 118, and shows that as the temperature of the NTC thermistor 118 increases, the resistance output by the NTC thermistor 118 decreases; see for example fig. 4, para. [0023]) and the compensation element (i.e., plot 122 represents the resistance-temperature characteristics of the PTC thermistor 119, and shows that as the temperature of the PTC thermistor 119 increases, the resistance output by the PTC thermistor 119 increases; see for example fig. 4, para. [0023]) is such that, at a maximum operating voltage (i.e., full-charge voltage exceeds temperature thresholds; For temperatures above the threshold temperature; see for example fig. 4, para. [0023]) of an electrical energy store cells (i.e., battery; Since the resistance output by the series combination of the NTC thermistor 118 and the PTC thermistor 119 rapidly increases for temperatures above the threshold temperature, the charging current le generated by the current generating circuit 26 of the charging circuit 20A will be reduced accordingly; see for example fig. 4, para. [0023]) of the electrical energy store are not endangered (i.e., such as no damage by the over-charge; see for example fig. 4, para. [0023]), and the equilibrium temperature (i.e., a threshold temperature of approximately 50. degree. C; The plot 124 experiences a turning point around a threshold temperature of approximately 50. degree. C.; see for example fig. 4, para. [0023]) is dependent upon a point of intersection of gradients of characteristic curves (i.e., the intersecting point between plot 120 and plot 122 as it's equivalent to approximately 55. degree. C, which is also the balanced/equilibrium temperature; see for example fig. 4, para. [0023]) of the temperature coefficients (i.e., such as NTC and PTC; see for example fig. 4, para. [0023]) for the electronic component (i.e., plot 120 represents the resistance-temperature characteristics of the NTC thermistor 118, and shows that as the temperature of the NTC thermistor 118 increases, the resistance output by the NTC thermistor 118 decreases; see for example fig. 4, para. [0023]) and the compensation element (i.e., plot 122 represents the resistance-temperature characteristics of the PTC thermistor 119, and shows that as the temperature of the PTC thermistor 119 increases, the resistance output by the PTC thermistor 119 increases; see for example fig. 4, para. [0023]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buiting et al (US Patent No. 3559883) in view of Shimada et al (US Publication No. 20020004160) and further in view of Brothers et al (US Patent No. 3822598).
Regarding claim 8, Buiting in view of Shimada and the teachings of Buiting as modified by Shimada have been discussed above.
Neither Buiting nor Shimada explicitly discloses wherein a temperature measurement error associated with a resistance measurement of the electronic component and the compensation element, within an entire temperature working range of the electrical energy store, is established at a maximum defined value.
Brothers discloses an electronic thermometer (i.e., such as probe 23; see for example fig. 4, Col. 7 lines 11+); wherein a temperature measurement error (i.e., such as temperature measurement error; for instance, display of an indicated temperature is prevented upon the battery potential falling sufficiently to cause a significant error in the indicated temperature; see for example fig. 4, Col. 7 lines 11+) associated with a resistance measurement (i.e., such as resistance measurement via the resistance-temperature characteristic of the probe 23; for instance, see the tabular values; see for example fig. 4, Col. 7 lines 11+) of the electronic component (i.e., such as electronic component NTC thermistor T; see for example fig. 4, Col. 7 lines 11+) and the compensation element (i.e., such as compensation element PTC sensor S; see for example fig. 4, Col. 7 lines 11+), within an entire temperature working range (i.e., such as entire temperature working range from min. temperature to max. temperature; for instance, because Sensor S is responsive to the temperature of probe 23, it compensates for thermal factors which, in influencing the probe, might otherwise tend to produce error in temperature measurement. Such error-producing thermal factors could cause inaccurate temperature measurement, since thermistor T cannot be completely thermally isolated from quill 31 and other portions of probe 21. During frequent handling of the probe 23, its temperature will tend to be increased by the hand of the user, thereby tending to increase the thermistor's temperature. More importantly, the ambient temperatures to which the probe is exposed tend to cause variation in the thermistor temperature. For example, if the ambient temperature is relatively cool, so also will be the temperature of probe 23, tending to reduce the temperature of thermistor T during a temperature measurement, and thereby possibly producing an erroneous temperature measurement. However, Sensor S compensates for such changes in temperature and tends to reduce or eliminate the effects of such thermal factors on the probe. As a result, the accuracy of the indicated temperature in an embodiment utilizing this compensating element S is substantially unaffected by variations in the quill temperature. By thus associating Sensor S with quill 31 and effectively measuring the temperature of probe 23 through, in effect, measurement of the impedance of Sensor S, and then causing the temperature indicated by meter 27 to be not only a function of the measured temperature of thermistor T but also of Sensor S, the indicated temperature is a highly accurate representation of the actual temperature in the region in question; see for example fig. 4, Col. 7 lines 11+) of the electrical energy store (i.e., such as electrical energy store battery 37; see for example fig. 3, Col. 5 lines 66+), is established at a maximum defined value (i.e., such as maximum defined value of the calibrated temperature measurement boundaries with respect to the ambient temperature, accurate temperature readings as the battery is operating in its full potential voltage in order to minimize errors associated low charge batteries; for instance, in certain embodiments of a thermometer constructed according to the invention, the values of thermistor T and components of bridge 41 have been chosen to provide balancing of the bridge when the temperature of thermistor T is 92.7.degree.F. The timing interval is chosen as of approximately 10 seconds duration. Meter 27 is calibrated to provide indication of the normal body temperature, i.e., 98.6. degree. F., when the temperature of the thermistor element is actually 2. degree. to 21/2.degree.F. less than such normal body temperature. Beginning with introduction of the probe into the mouth of the individual whose temperature is to be taken, a period of about 10 to 15 seconds is typically required to reach balancing of the bridge. Such balancing initiates the 10-second timing interval, and at the end of the 10-second interval the meter 27 is read. The required total interval from insertion of the probe to indication of the temperature of the patient typically is about 10 to 25 seconds., further feature of the invention involves the provision of means for de-actuating the temperature measuring means upon the battery potential falling below a preselected level below which erroneous temperature indications would be provided. Thus, display of an indicated temperature is prevented upon the battery potential falling sufficiently to cause a significant error in the indicated temperature; see for example fig. 4, Col. 7 lines 11+).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included error factors in Buiting, as taught by Brothers, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards minimizing the temperature measurement error associated with the ambient environment.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buiting et al (US Patent No. 3559883) in view of Shimada et al (US Publication No. 20020004160) and further in view of Fleissner et al (US Publication No. 20180324926).
Regarding claim 10, Buiting in view of Shimada and the teachings of Buiting as modified by Shimada have been discussed above.
Neither Buiting nor Shimada explicitly discloses wherein an error in temperature measurement generated by the compensation element is not greater than 5%.
Fleissner discloses an organic light-emitting component device (i.e., such as device 100; see for example fig. 1, para. [0065]- [0081]); wherein an error (i.e., such as error; for instance, the organic light-emitting components OLED1, OLED2, OLED3 are driven or actively regulated in such a way that the difference between the temperatures T.sub.OLED1, T.sub.OLED2, T.sub.OLED3 is reduced, for example to less than 10%, for example to less than 5%, for example to the magnitude of the measurement error of the temperature detecting device; see for example fig. 1, para. [0065]- [0081]) in temperature measurement (i.e., such as temperature measurement; for instance, the organic light-emitting components OLED1, OLED2, OLED3 are driven or actively regulated in such a way that the difference between the temperatures T.sub.OLED1, T.sub.OLED2, T.sub.OLED3 is reduced, for example to less than 10%, for example to less than 5%, for example to the magnitude of the measurement error of the temperature detecting device; see for example fig. 1, para. [0065]- [0081]) generated by the compensation element (i.e., such compensation element PTC; for instance, a temperature detector, for example a PTC or NTC thermistor, is monolithically integrated in the organic light-emitting component. As a result, the temperature can be detected directly in the organic light-emitting component. Alternatively, it is possible, for example at times, to use the organic light-emitting component as a temperature detector, for example by the conductivity or the electrical resistance of the organic light-emitting component being detected and compared with predefined and stored resistances or conductivities which correspond to different temperatures; see for example fig. 1, para. [0065]- [0081]) is not greater than 5% (i.e., such as not greater than 5%; for instance, the organic light-emitting components OLED1, OLED2, OLED3 are driven or actively regulated in such a way that the difference between the temperatures T.sub.OLED1, T.sub.OLED2, T.sub.OLED3 is reduced, for example to less than 10%, for example to less than 5%, for example to the magnitude of the measurement error of the temperature detecting device; see for example fig. 1, para. [0065]- [0081]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the error calibration in Buiting, as taught by Fleissner, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards minimizing the error tolerance.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buiting et al (US Patent No. 3559883) in view of Shimada et al (US Publication No. 20020004160) and further in view of Souza et al (US Publication No. 20110210703).
Regarding claim 12, Buiting in view of Shimada and the teachings of Buiting as modified by Shimada have been discussed above.
Neither Buiting nor Shimada explicitly discloses wherein: the electronic component and the compensation element are configured as surface mount devices (SMD), and the electronic component and the compensation element comprise at least one common copper surface configured for heat transfer.
Souza discloses a battery system (i.e., see for example fig. 6A, para. [0043]); wherein the electronic component (i.e., such as NTC; see for example fig. 6A, para. [0043]) and the compensation element (i.e., such as PTCs; see for example fig. 6A, para. [0043]) are configured as surface mount devices (SMD) (i.e., such as a PCB board provides a support to which the battery cells (Cell 1, Cell 2 .... Cell n) and respective PTC devices (PTC1, PTC2 ... PTCn) may be mounted; see for example fig. 6A, para. [0043]), and the electronic component (i.e., such as NTC; see for example fig. 6A, para. [0043]) and the compensation element (i.e., such as PTCs; see for example fig. 6A, para. [0043]) comprise at least one common copper surface (i.e., such as copper area, which may be incorporated as a layer at or within the PCB board; see for example fig. 6A, para. [0043]) configured for heat transfer (i.e., such as to provide a thermal heat transfer bus; see for example fig. 6A, para. [0043]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the SMD scheme in Buiting, as taught by Souza, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards achieving high power density, reliability, and compact design.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MUAAMAR QAHTAN AL-TAWEEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838