DETAILED ACTION
Priority
2. The instant application is a national stage entry PCT/US2021/033728
claims priority to Foreign application Filed: 06/04/2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted, IDS - 09/19/2022 and 06/16/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Continued Examination (RCE)
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this
application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action
has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on
09/18/2025 has been entered.
Response to Amendment
5. The amendment filed 01/26/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 4-8, 11-15, and 18-20 remain pending in the application. Claims 1, 8 and 15 were amended. Claims 2, 9, and 16 were cancelled to this amendments. And, Claims 3, and 10 were previously cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any
correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will
not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale
supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the
differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the
claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which
the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner
in which the invention was made.
under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
• Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
• Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
• Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
• Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating
• obviousness or nonobviousness.
commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any
evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to
point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly
owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to
consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2)
prior art against the later invention.
10. Claims 1, 4-8, 11-15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hyunsoo Ko et al. (US-11540191-B2) hereinafter “Hyunsoo Ko” in view of Basu et. al. (US-10292077-B2), hereinafter “Basu” and further in view of Wang et al. (US-20200008195-A1) hereinafter “Wang”.
Regarding Claim 1,
Hyunsoo Ko discloses, ‘A method for wireless communications by a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving, from a network entity, cell information for neighbor cells, wherein the cell information comprises time synchronization information for each of the neighbor cells’;
Disclosure very distinctly presents two important aspects: neighboring cell information and timing information. “a method of receiving a RS by a UE and receives a first information related to a RS configuration from a serving cell, receiving the RS from a neighbor cell based on the first information, and obtaining second information about a timing of the RS based on a sequence of the RS. And, the second information includes: half-frame/slot/OFDM symbol of the RS transmitted and an index/MSBs-index SS/PBCH block received from the neighboring cells”, Col. 1 [0065-0067] and Col. 2 [0001-0003, 0009-0018]. The time sync of the neighbor cell acquired by SS/PBCH and measurement, Col. 18 [0047-0048].
Fig. 2 illustrates UE and eNB as part of cell switch and continuity perform initial cell search acquisition of synchronization to neighbor cell. UE synchronizes its timing UE-BS and acquires a cell identifier (ID) and other information by receiving a primary synchronization channel (P-SCH) and a secondary synchronization channel (S-SCH) from the eNB Col. 6 [0035-0037].
In Fig. 36 illustrates communication method, the BS transmit to the UE, generated RS and the SS/PBCH block of the neighbor cell (S3605) Col. 35 [0041]. Synchronization Information includes for each neighboring cell timing information and Table 8.
network configures a CSI-RS having a certain periodicity of 5ms. 10ms, 20 ms or more, a serving cell configures a synchronization indicator as “synchronous” and the UE may assume that the network is synchronous Col. 29 [0030-0032].
Though Hyunsoo Ko discloses, ‘cell identifiers of neighboring cell includes inter or intra frequency band, operating in intra or inter frequency bands relative to a frequency band on which the serving cell is operating’ (the UE-BS synchronizes timing and acquires Cell identifier by P-SCH/S-SCH, Col. 6 [0037-0038]. And, acquire timing/synchronization that include neighbor cell measurement inter/intra-frequency, Col. 33 [0038-0042]; Table-4 and Table-7 includes the frequency operating band; receives from BS neighbor cell and cell-id Col. 32 [0001-0002, 0039]. And, the operating frequency band FR1/FR2 Col. 31 [0061-0064]),
and didn’t disclose, ‘a list of cell identifiers for a subset of neighbor cells’ that is operating band in intra or inter frequency bands relative to a frequency band on which the serving cell is operating band Col. 31 [0061, 0064],
Basu in the relevant art discloses, received by the UE list of candidate cell, cell identifier, and operating frequency band, Col. 18. [0046-0050], Col. 22 [0065-0067], and Col. 23 [0001].
Therefore, a person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claim invention would have recognized that the disclosure of Hyunsoo Ko to modify the disclosure of Hyunsoo Ko with that of Basu to come up with the claim invention;
Disclosure of Hyunsoo Ko includes inter or intra cell frequency band and includes cell identifier of neighbor cells while switch from serving to neighboring cell with time synchronization. And didn’t disclose a subset or list of neighbor cells operating in intra or inter frequency bands. Discloses, numerous operating band includes FDD and TDD and further paired and unpaired spectrum in frequency band FR1 and FR2 and solve the time synchronization between serving and neighboring cells. Hyunsoo Ko specifically provides motivation for an efficient energy consumption, data rate, capacity, latency, data rate, spectral efficiency and the energy efficient synchronization. Also concentrated energy in specific direction while perform cell-search. And, specific motive to acquire time synchronization while perform cell-search includes cell-ID and cell re-selection Col. 6[0037-0038]. And, includes inter/intra-frequency cell measurement. Obvious to include a list of cell identifiers for a subset of neighboring cells to the intra/inter frequency operating-band. To derive claim invention to optimize energy consumption while perform cell search and efficient cell reselection procedure, Basu discloses Col. 11[0001-0003, 0018-0019]. This would allow more inter-operability/compatibility in NR with spectral efficiency and low latency to operate in multiple frequency band and to perform neighboring cell measurement and seamless hand-over/switch between the cells with time synchronization.
Hyunsoo Ko discloses, ‘and the timing synchronization information a timing associated with the network entity’;
Fig. 3 illustrates, an SS types: PSS is used to acquire time-domain synchronization i.e. OFDM, slot etc. and/or frequency-domain synchronization; a SSS is used for frame synchronization, cell identifier, CP configuration to indicate normal CP or an extended CP Col. 8 [0053-0058]. Fig. 5 illustrates radio frame structure: one radio frame (10ms) [Wingdings font/0xE0] half-frame (5ms) [Wingdings font/0xE0] subframe (1ms) [Wingdings font/0xE0] slot (14 symbols) for 15/30/60/120 KHz. Fig. 16 time index indication method includes an SFN, a half-frame boundary, and an SSB time index.
The UE can perform a dedicated random access procedure for hand-over Col. 10 [0029-30]. The UE attempts to detect PDCCH include random access RNTI in a time window Col. 11 [0002]. The RAR includes timing advance (TA) information indicating timing offset information for UL synchronization, UL resource allocation information (UL grant information), a temporary UE identifier (e.g., temporary cell-RNTI, TC-RNTI), and the like. The UE can perform UL transmission (e.g., message 3) according to the resource allocation information and the TA value included in the RAR.
To acquire time information of neighboring cell and determine the network is synchronized, the disclosure includes: timing information indication and half-frame indicator Col. 29 [0027]. And, acquisition of timing before/after receiving hand-over for neighbor cell measurements Col. 32 [0064], Col. 33 [0038].
When cell switching is performed from FDD to TDD, from TDD to FDD, and from TDD to TDD (in the case of inter-frequency), a tolerance/deviation of the frame boundary between cells. And the neighboring cell time acquisition SS/PBCH block index and half-frame tolerance/ deviation (either +/-5ms or +/- 2.5ms). The gNB provides an RS of a neighbor cell to the UE. A PN sequence based on OFDM symbol, a slot number and a cell ID; modulated to subcarrier corresponds to frequency/time allocated for the RS. The gNB of neighboring cell generate/transmits a signal based on RS provided to UE i.e. a sequence of the RS Col. 32 [0001-0004, 0041-0043].
Table 7 shows a summary of a method of acquired time information of a neighbor cell while a handover alternatively RRM measured. In NR, since an RS sequence is designed to identify the positions of an OFDM symbol and a slot, the RS sequence to detect the position of the symbol and the slot. CSI-RS resource is allocated in an actually transmitted SS/PBCH block. Since a CSI-RS sequence is initialized by a cell ID, an OFDM symbol number, and a slot number within a frame, a time position (i.e., an OFDM symbol and a slot number) may be obtained by detecting the CSI-RS sequence Col. 31[0043-0045,0053-0056].
And didn’t explicitly disclose, ‘and the timing synchronization information comprises time offset information that is relative to a timing associated with the network entity’
Wang in the relevant art discloses, the time offset between a first network and a second network for time synchronization. The timing offset indicates an advance of a first subframe or slot in a frame in the second network based on to a first subframe or slot in a frame in the first network [0080]. Fig. 1 illustrates communication between a terminal and the networks uses time domain resource configuration [0061] and Fig. 4. In addition, Table 3 and [0080] illustrates time offset for time synchronization.
Therefore, a person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention would have recognized that the disclosure of Hyunsoo Ko and modify the disclosure of Hyunsoo Ko with that of Wang to come up with the claim invention;
Disclosure of Hyunsoo Ko distinctly specify the acquisition of time and perform time synchronization of neighboring cells and further includes a deviation time period. A The time synchronization and perform the random access procedure and specify the RAR includes timing advance and time offset for synchronization. Though explicitly didn’t disclose timing synchronization comprises timing offset.
Someone would recognize as part of sequential steps to perform the timing synchronization and further explicitly specify the timing offset. This would enhance the capability of synchronization procedures in a communication network while perform hand-over to determine the network is synchronous. Hyunsoo Ko, provides motivation as RAR includes timing advance and indicate timing offset while perform UL synchronization and time synchronization in neighboring cells. Also, includes each/combination of frequency and time duplexing methods that includes parameters of time synchronization in cells: half-frame, SS/PBCH block index and tolerance/deviation in time Table 7.
Most important motive, the SS includes PSS to acquired time-domain synchronization as OFDM/Slot/ synchronization and/or frequency-domain synchronization. And, further include SSS to acquire frame synchronization, Col. 8 [0052-0057].
Someone would include disclosure of Wang Table 3 and [0080] to derive the claim elements. This would increase data rate, capacity, latency and maximize the energy consumption, cost and performance reduce the synchronization time. The NR system needs to make a considerable advance in the areas of bandwidth, spectral, energy, and signaling efficiencies and cost per bit, Hyunsoo Ko Col. 8 [0025-0028].
Hyunsoo Ko discloses, ‘searching for synchronization symbols from the neighbor cells based on the cell information’ (Fig. 2 illustrates search for synchronization. And, FIG. 3 is a diagram illustrating a radio frame structure for transmitting a synchronization, that shown as primary/secondary PSS/SSS to acquire time domain synchronization such as OFDM symbol synchronization, slot synchronization, etc. and/or frequency-domain synchronization Col. 8 [0053-0056]. Having demodulated a DL signal by performing a cell search procedure using the PSS/SSS and determined time and frequency parameters necessary to perform UL signal transmission at an accurate time. Col. 9 [0021-0022]),
Fig. 3 includes PSS/SSS to acquire neighbor cell information. PSS is used to acquire time-domain synchronization such as OFDM symbol synchronization, slot synchronization, etc. and/or frequency-domain synchronization. And, the SSS is used to acquire frame synchronization, a cell group ID, and/or a CP configuration of a cell (i.e. information indicating whether to a normal CP or an extended is used). Referring to FIG. 3, a PSS and an SSS are transmitted through two OFDM symbols in each radio frame Col. 8 [0053-0061].
Technical solutions: a method of receiving a RS by a UE and receives a first information related to a RS configuration from a serving cell, receiving the RS from a neighbor cell based on the first information, and obtaining second information about a timing of the RS based on a sequence of the RS. And, the second information includes: half-frame/slot/OFDM symbol of the RS transmitted and an index/MSBs-index SS/PBCH block received from the neighboring cells Col. 1 [0065-0067] and Col. 2 [0009-0018] and Fig. 3.
Hyunsoo Ko discloses, ‘based on the synchronization symbols from the neighbor cells, identifying one of the neighbor cells
Disclosure Claim 1 to 4. Table-7 shows few parameters to identify neighbor cell based on synchronization symbol to perform a handover Col. 31 [0004]. gNB provides information about an RS of a neighbor cell to the UE includes OFDM symbol, a slot number, and a cell ID. Method of acquisition of timing after/prior receiving hand-over Col. 32. [0001-0002, 0039, 0064], Col. 33 [0038]; UE receives RS configuration from serving cell and a SS/PBCH block associated with the CSI-RS among the at least one SS/PBCH block (disclosure Claim 1); In addition, RACH procedure either an initial access and the dedicated RACH procedure
The method may further include performing hand-over from the serving cell to the neighbor cell based on the second information: half-frame/slot/OFDM symbol of the RS transmitted and an index/MSBs-index SS/PBCH block received from the neighboring cells, disclosed above.
Hyunsoo Ko discloses, ‘and initiating a handover from [[a]] the serving cell to the identified one of the neighbor cells’ (perform a handover, disclosure Claim 3. Table-7 shows a method of acquiring time information of a neighbor cell according to a handover. Acquire a timing information after receiving handover and prior to handover. And, cell measurement Col. 33[0038-0039]) Includes SIBs to determine whether a specific cell suitable in cell selection via broadcast/dedicated signaling Col. 9 [0051]. And, CSI-RS configured includes measurement configuration-IE Col. 33 [0004]
Regarding Claim 4,
‘method of claim 1’ (disclosed above),
Hyunsoo Ki discloses, time synchronization a PDCCH monitoring window related to an SS/PBCH block is periodically repeated. FIG. 40 illustrates an embodiment for an offset, a duration, a slot and a period of the RMSI PDCCH monitoring window Col. 41 [0058-0060]. UE detects SS/PBCH every 20ms. UE attempts to receive a random access response (RAR) in a preconfigured time window and detect PDCCH. RAR includes timing advance and timing offset.
And didn’t explicitly disclose, ‘wherein the is expressed as a quantity of slots.’
Wang in the relevant art discloses, the timing offset indicates an advance of a first subframe or slot in a frame that is the first subframe or slot in a frame and a quantity of slots or subframes [0080]. Motive would be identical to Claim 1 disclosed above that is the SS includes PSS to acquired time-domain synchronization as OFDM/Slot/ synchronization and/or frequency-domain synchronization.
Regarding Claim 5,
‘method of claim 1’ (disclosed above),
Wang discloses ‘wherein the is expressed as a quantity of subframes.’ (disclosed above in Claim 1 and 4 [0080]. Motive would be identical to claim 1 and 4.)
Regarding Claim 6,
‘method of claim 1’ (disclosed above),
Hyunsoo Ki disclose, ‘wherein the time synchronization information comprises a flag indicating that the neighbor cells are synchronized.’ (When the network configures a CSI-RS having a periodicity of 20 ms or more, a serving cell configures a synchronization indicator as “synchronous” and the UE may assume that the network is synchronous Col 29 [0032, 0056]. This periodicity can be 5ms or 10ms, so on uses as synchronous indicator Col. 30 [0006, 0013]. When the network is asynchronous the serving cell should provide the UE with information of “CSI-RS-Config-Mobility” and receive measurement. Uses useServingCellTimingForSync is configured as “true” Col. 30 [0056]. Table-7 shows neighboring cell handover where tolerance are used for TDD and FDD includes +/-5ms or +/-2.5ms. When handover is completed received synchronous indicator from newly assigned serving cell.)
Regarding Claim 7,
‘method of claim 1’ (disclosed above),
Hyunsoo Ko didn’t disclose, ‘wherein the cell information for the neighbor cells is received from a network entity supporting communications with the UE using enhanced coverage.’
Basu in the relevant art discloses, UE uses enhanced coverage mode while handover, cell selection or re-selection procedure; Discloses, Machine Type Communication (MTC) and UE operate in delay tolerant applications need enhance coverage Col. 8 [0009]-[0010]; noise and interference can be considered in enhanced coverage Col. 8 [0022]; uses for UEs/mobile stations; the detection operation of synchronization signals utilizing the enhanced coverage mode with an extended average window allows for the mobile station to compensate, for example, a lower signal to noise ratio, SNR, Col. 20 [0040]-[0045]. Fig. 8 to Fig. 14 illustrates a detail procedure to perform enhanced coverage for cell detection and selection/re-selection, disclosure Claim 1.
Therefore, a person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claim invention would have recognized that the disclosure of Hyunsoo Ko and Wang and to include with that of Basu to come up with the claim invention;
Hyunsoo Ko discloses the relevant art of 5G wireless broadband communication and includes eMBB, low latency URLLC and mTC. And, 5G NR that uses an ultra-high frequency band, that is, a millimeter frequency band at or above 6 GHz is considered to transmit data to a plurality of users at a high transmission rate in a wide frequency band. And, can have attenuation, therefore uses narrow beam scheme with concentrated energy in a specific direction, not-omni directions to reduce the rapid propagation and attenuation issues. And, provides better coverage in wideband. Also uses mmWave 2D array antenna panel to increase beamforming gain, throughput and coverage Col 13 [0045-0046, 0051-0052]. Therefore, discloses the attenuation issue and need/possibilities for the enhanced coverage in mmWave to increase throughput while perform neighboring cell synchronization.
Someone in the skill in the art would be motivated to include the enhanced coverage as part of synchronization cell re-selection to the target-cell/neighboring cell considering the MTC delay tolerant applications and UEs operating conditions such as low SNR, interference and most importantly attenuation issues, Basu, Col. 26 [0067]. This would provide more communication reliability to users.
Regarding Claim 8,
Hyunsoo Ki disclose, ‘An apparatus for wireless communications comprising
Identical to Claim 1 disclosed above, ‘at least one memory comprising processor-executable instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the processor-executable instructions to cause the apparatus to:
receive, from a network entity via at least one transceiver, cell information for neighbor cells, wherein the cell information comprises time synchronization information for each of the neighbor cells;
a list of cell identifiers for a subset of the neighboring cells operating in intra or inter frequency bands relative to a frequency band on which a serving cell of the apparatus is operating; and
and the timing synchronization information comprises a timing offset information that is relative to a timing associated with the network entity;
search for synchronization symbols from the neighbor cells based on the cell information, based on the synchronization symbols from the neighbor cells, identifying one of the neighbor cells
and initiate a handover from [[a]] the serving cell to the identified one of the neighbor cells; and a memory.’
Regarding Claim 11,
‘apparatus of claim 8,’ (disclosed above),
Identical to Claim 4 disclosed above, ‘wherein the is expressed as a quantity of slots.’
Regarding Claim 12,
‘apparatus of claim 8,’ (disclosed above),
Identical to Claim 5 disclosed above, ‘wherein the is expressed as a quantity of subframes.’
Regarding Claim 13,
‘apparatus of claim 8,’ (disclosed above),
Identical to Claim 6 disclosed above, ‘wherein the time synchronization information comprises a flag indicating that the neighbor cells are synchronized.’
Regarding Claim 14,
‘apparatus of claim 8’ (disclosed above),
Identical to Claim 7 disclosed above, ‘wherein the cell information for the neighbor cells is received from a network entity supporting communications with the UE using enhanced coverage.’
Regarding Claim 15,
‘An apparatus for wireless communications, comprising: means for receiving, from a network entity, cell information for neighbor cells’ (Fig. 36, 41 and Table-7);
Identical to Claim 1 and 8 disclosed above, ‘wherein the cell information comprises time synchronization information for each of the neighbor cells; and
a list of cell identifiers for a subset of the neighboring cells operating in intra or inter frequency bands relative to a frequency band on which a serving cell of the apparatus is operating; and
and the timing synchronization information comprises a timing offset information that is relative to a timing associated with the network entity;
means for searching for synchronization symbols from the neighbor cells based on the cell information; means for based on the synchronization symbols from the neighbor cells, identifying one of the neighbor cells the serving cell to the identified one of the neighbor cells.’
Regarding Claim 18,
‘apparatus of claim 15’ (disclosed above),
Identical to Claim 4 and 11 disclosed above, ‘wherein the is expressed as a quantity of slots.’
Regarding Claim 19,
‘apparatus of claim 15’ (disclosed above),
Identical to Claim 5 and 12 disclosed above, ‘wherein the is expressed as a quantity of subframes.’
Regarding Claim 20,
‘apparatus of claim 15’ (disclosed above),
Identical to Claim 6 and 13 disclosed above, ‘wherein the time synchronization information comprises a flag indicating that the neighbor cells are synchronized.’
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are
not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
Arguments:
Claims 1, 2, 4-9, 11-16, and 18-20 are pending in the application and stand rejected. Claims 1, 8, and 15 have been amended. Support for these amendments may be found in at least paragraphs [0067] of the Specification as originally filed as well as claim 2 as previously recited. Claims 2, 9, and 16 have been canceled herein. No new matter is believed to be introduced by the submission.
Applicant files this response to facilitate prosecution. Applicant reserves the right to pursue claims of broader scope than or similar scope as those originally filed in this application, a continuation application, or other application. Applicant does not concede that any current or past rejection (in this application or parent application(s)) is correct and reserves the right to challenge rejections later in prosecution, on appeal, or at some other future time. Any amendment, argument, or claim cancellation is not to be construed as abandonment or disclaimer of subject matter.
Applicant believes that the claims are in allowable condition and respectfully requests reconsideration of the claims in light of the following remarks.
Claim Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, 8, 11-13, 15, and 18-20 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being allegedly unpatentable over Ko et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,540,191B2, hereinafter "Ko") in view of Wang et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2020/0008195A1, hereinafter "Wang").
Applicant respectfully traverses this rejection with respect to the claims as amended.
Applicant notes that claim 1 has been amended to include the features of claim 2, which are rejected in further view of Yao et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,963,048B2, hereinafter "Yao"). Similar amendments have been made to claims 8 and 15. Therefore Applicant will also address Yao in this section.
Applicant submits that the combination of Ko, Wang, and Yao fails to teach or suggest "receiving, from a network entity, cell information for neighbor cells, wherein: the cell information comprises: time synchronization information for each of the neighbor cells; and a list of cell identifiers for a subset of neighbor cells operating in intra or inter frequency bands relative to a frequency band on which the serving cell is operating" (emphasis added) as recited in claim 1 and similar features recited in claims 8 and 15.
The Non-Final Office Action (NFOA) concedes that Ko fails to disclose the emphasized features above related to the cell information comprising list of cell identifiers. See NFOA, p 15. The NFOA instead relies on column 124 and 125 of Yao for these features. Column 124 of Yao discloses that "the third cell information includes or indicates a cell list, and the cell list includes at least one cell identifier." Yao, col. 124, Ins. 29-30. Further, column 125 of Yao discloses that in some cases "the cell information is intra-frequency neighboring cell information of a serving cell in which the first device is located" and in other cases "the cell information is inter-frequency neighboring cell information of a serving cell in which the first device is located."
However, while Yao discloses that "the third cell information includes or indicates a cell list, and the cell list includes at least one cell identifier" (Yao, col. 124, Ins. 29-30), Yao does not teach or suggest a list of cell identifiers for a subset of neighbor cells operating in intra- or inter- frequency bands relative to a frequency band on which the serving cell is operating, as recited in claim 1. Yao's references to "intra-frequency neighboring cell information" and "inter-frequency neighboring cell information" (Yao, col. 125) do not describe how the intra-frequency or inter- frequency neighboring cell information is defined relative to the serving cell's operating frequency band.
Rather, Yao's phrasing that the cell information is "neighboring cell information of a serving cell in which the first device is located" merely defines what constitutes a neighboring cell, namely, a cell that neighbors the serving cell of the first device. That description does not disclose that the intra-frequency or inter-frequency characterization is defined relative to the frequency band on which the serving cell is operating, as specified by the claims.
Additionally, claim 1 requires that the cell information comprise a list of cell identifiers for a subset of neighbor cells, where that subset is defined by whether the neighbor cells operate in intra- or inter-frequency bands relative to the serving cell's operating frequency band. Yao does not disclose providing only cell identifiers corresponding to such a subset of neighbor cells. Instead, Yao describes a cell list in the context of measurement configuration information provided to the first device (see Yao, col. 124, Ins. 30-33), without describing that the list of cell identifiers itself corresponds only to a subset of neighbor cells operating in intra- or inter-frequency bands relative to the operating frequency band of a serving cell.
Therefore, for at least these reasons, Applicant submits that Yao fails to teach or suggest "receiving, from a network entity, cell information for neighbor cells, wherein: the cell information comprises: time synchronization information for each of the neighbor cells; and a list of cell identifiers for a subset of neighbor cells operating in intra or inter frequency bands relative to a frequency band on which the serving cell is operating" (emphasis added) as recited in claim 1 and similar features recited in claims 8 and 15. As such, Yao fails to cure the deficiencies of Ko.
Further, while Wang discloses techniques for canceling interference caused by uplink data transmission and downlink data transmission (Wang, [0009]), Wang fails to teach or suggest "receiving, from a network entity, cell information for neighbor cells, wherein: the cell information comprises: time synchronization information for each of the neighbor cells; and a list of cell identifiers for a subset of neighbor cells operating in intra or inter frequency bands relative to a frequency band on which the serving cell is operating" (emphasis added) as recited in claim 1 and similar features recited in claims 8 and 15. As such, Wang fails to cure the deficiencies of Ko and Yao.
Claims 2, 9, and 16 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being allegedly unpatentable over Ko in view of Wang and Yao.
Claims 2, 9, and 16 have been canceled, rendering the rejections of these claims moot. Withdrawal of this rejection is respectfully requested.
Claims 7 and 14 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being allegedly unpatentable over Ko in view of Wang and Basu et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,292,077B2, hereinafter "Basu").
Applicant respectfully traverses this rejection.
Claims 7 and 14 each depend from one of independent claims 1 and 8, which Applicant submits are allowable over Wang for at least the reasons discussed above. Further, the Examiner relies on Basu as disclosing various elements of dependent claims 7 and 14; however, Basu fails to overcome the deficiencies of Wang with respect to the independent claims 1 and 8. Therefore, claims 7 and 14 are believed to be allowable at least due to their dependence from an allowable base claim and for their additional distinguishing features recited therein. See M.P.E.P. § 2143.03; In re Fine, 837 F.2d at 1076. Withdrawal of this rejection is respectfully requested.
Examiners response:
With respect to applicant’s arguments/remarks, examiner responses are:
Examiner reviewed the applicant’s arguments/remarks and further amended claims and
provided relevant disclosures in the office actions from the closest prior
art that covers the subject matters and the amendments. Addressed all the claims and applicant’s argument/remarks disclosed from the presented prior arts “Hyunsoo Ko”, “Wang”, and “Basu”.
Examiner briefly summarized the above office actions from the prior art disclosure in contrast to the amended claims. Will derive the formulated claim with an intent to make a fact findings decision whether the prior arts discloses claims and able to perform the method included the claim limitations as input and provide output.
The independent Amended claim 1, 8 and 15 were formulated,
Method/function to be performed [Wingdings font/0xE0] Time synchronization cell selection/re-selection/HO/switch and further limited by
Cell identifiers, inter/intra-frequency band
Time synchronization includes time offset
Search synchronization that is PSS/SSS
Then dependent claims 4-5 and 7 take few parameters as input [Wingdings font/0xE0]
Quantity of Slots/subframes i.e. one skill in the art would obviously to include
Enhanced coverage for Latency devices as part of the 5G and NR
And, the independent claim 1 and dependent claim 6, return output while perform the function/procedure
List of cells Identify the neighbor cells and initiate HO/cell selection/re-selection
Time-Sync-Flag (Yes/No)
And the Claims and the relevant disclosures from the prior arts,
Hyunsoo Ko discloses, ‘receiving, from a network entity, cell information for neighbor cells, wherein the cell information comprises time synchronization information for each of the neighbor cells’,
- timing synchronization information comprises a timing offset associated with the network entity, disclosure Hyunsoo Ko, Time synchronization to perform cell selection/reselection to the neighboring cell and includes parameters ServingCellTiming-ForSync is configured Hyunsoo Ko discloses, Col. 30 [0050, 0055], and Table 4-7. In Fig. 3 illustrates, an SS types: PSS is used to acquire time-domain synchronization i.e. OFDM, slot etc. and/or frequency-domain synchronization; a SSS is used for frame synchronization, cell identifier, Col. 8 [0053-0058].
- a list of cell identifiers for a subset of the neighbor cells operating in intra or inter frequency bands relative to a frequency band on which a serving cell of the UE is operating (amendments)
Hyunsoo Ko discloses, the UE-BS synchronizes timing and acquires Cell identifier by P-SCH/S-SCH, Col. 6 [0037-0038]. And, acquire timing synchronization that include neighbor cell measurement inter/intra-frequency, Col. 33 [0038-0042]; Table-4 and Table-7 includes the frequency operating band; receives from BS neighbor cell and cell-id Col. 32 [0001-0002, 0039]. And, the operating frequency band FR1/FR2 Col. 31 [0061-0064])
- and didn’t disclose, ‘a list of cell identifiers for a subset of neighbor cells’ that is operating band in intra or inter frequency bands relative to a frequency band on which the serving cell is operating band Col. 31 [0061, 0064],
Basu discloses, received by the UE list of candidate cell, cell identifier, and operating frequency band, Col. 18. [0046-0050], Col. 22 [0065-0067], and Col. 23 [0001].
- and the timing synchronization information comprises a timing offset information that is relative to a timing associated with the network entity;
- Hyunsoo Ko though discloses to acquire time-domain synchronization i.e. OFDM, slot explicitly didn’t disclose that is disclosed by Wang.
- regarding the enhance coverage Hyunsoo Ko provide motive for enhanced coverage to include the latency in addition to spectral efficiency, data rate, capacity and energy efficient. With that motive examiner complemented Basu to provide comprehensive disclosures regarding the enhanced coverage for the low latency devices the would reinforce the capability of spectral and energy efficient increase data rate and capacity also latency.
Examiner respectfully thanks attorney and applicant for their time and effort.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure:
Yao et al. (US-11963048-B2) discloses, the cell list includes cell identifier Col. 124 [0030]; cell information is intra-frequency/ inter-frequency neighboring cell of a serving cell, Col. 125 [0020-0023]; cell information includes inter-frequency or intra frequency cell measurement of neighboring cell when the device performs the cell reselection; frequency information includes the frequency band Col. 46 [0001]-[0002], [0008]; A subset of a set of all neighboring cells and adjacent frequencies of the current service cell Col. 55 [0018-0020]. Disclosures, table-2-3 Col. 80; Table2-4, Col. 81. And table 2-6, Col. 85.
Disclosure,
ODE et. al. Title: “WIRELESS COMMUNICATION SYSTEM, WIRELESS TERMINAL, AND WIRELESS COMMUNICATION METHOD”;
3GPP, 3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Radio Access Network; Evolved Universal Terrestrial Radio Access (E-UTRA) and Evolved Universal Terrestrial Radio Access Network (E-UTRAN); Overall description; (Year: 2015);
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action.
examiner should be directed to SYED AHMED whose telephone number is (703)756-
5308. The examiner can normally be reached Monday to Friday 9AM-5PM EST.
conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an
interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request
(AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
supervisor Faruk Hamza can be reached on (571) 272-7969. The fax phone number for
the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is
available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center,
visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-
center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For
additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197
(toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service
Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/S.A./Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/CHRISTOPHER M CRUTCHFIELD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466