DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-12, 17, and 21-24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12, 17, and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Grant et al. (US 20200195324 A1).
Considering claim 1, Grant teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE) (Fig,1, 6, 101), the method comprising:
receiving information in a channel state information (CSI) resource configuration message indicating a correspondence between a CSI reference signal (RS) resource and a transmission and reception point (TRP) ([0024] receiving, at the UE from the TRP, a message comprising a CSI-RS configuration, [0053] UE can be configured to perform channel quality measurements (such as reference signal received power (RSRP)) using the configured CSI-RS resources corresponding to the different TRP TX beams); and
reporting a channel measurement report corresponding to the TRP ([0059] measured and reported back from the UE 101, [0066] UE 101 may then use the CSI-RS to evaluate the best (preferred) transmit beam for the monitored link, report the preferred link to the network/TRP).
Considering claim 7, Grant teaches a user equipment (UE) (Fig.1, 6, 101), comprising:
at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to:
receive information in a channel state information (CSI) resource configuration message indicating a correspondence between a CSI reference signal (RS) resource and a transmission and reception point (TRP) ([0024] receiving, at the UE from the TRP, a message comprising a CSI-RS configuration, [0053] UE can be configured to perform channel quality measurements (such as reference signal received power (RSRP)) using the configured CSI-RS resources corresponding to the different TRP TX beams); and
report a channel measurement report corresponding to the TRP ([0059] measured and reported back from the UE 101, [0066] UE 101 may then use the CSI-RS to evaluate the best (preferred) transmit beam for the monitored link, report the preferred link to the network/TRP).
Considering claim 17, Grant teaches a user equipment (UE), comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to:
receive information indicating in a channel state information (CSI) resource configuration message indicating a correspondence between a CSI reference signal (RS) resource and a transmission and reception point (TRP) ([0024] receiving, at the UE from the TRP, a message comprising a CSI-RS configuration, [0053] UE can be configured to perform channel quality measurements (such as reference signal received power (RSRP)) using the configured CSI-RS resources corresponding to the different TRP TX beams); and
one or more of activate on a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state or indicate the TCI state based on the information ([0012] UE information comprising a measurement indicator, MI, (which is another name for the BTPI and which is also known as a Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI)), [0036] an active link between the TRP and the UE).
Considering claim 21, Grant teaches a processor for wireless communication, comprising:
at least one controller coupled with at least one memory and configured to cause the processor to:
receive information in a channel state information (CSI) resource configuration message indicating a correspondence between a CSI reference signal (RS) resource and a transmission and reception point (TRP) ([0024] receiving, at the UE from the TRP, a message comprising a CSI-RS configuration, [0053] UE can be configured to perform channel quality measurements (such as reference signal received power (RSRP)) using the configured CSI-RS resources corresponding to the different TRP TX beams); and
report a channel measurement report corresponding to the ([0059] measured and reported back from the UE 101, [0066] UE 101 may then use the CSI-RS to evaluate the best (preferred) transmit beam for the monitored link, report the preferred link to the network/TRP).
Considering claims 2, 8, 22, Grant teaches wherein an identifier (ID) is associated with the TRP ([0063]).
Considering claims 3, 9, 23, Grant teaches wherein the CSI RS resource and corresponding channel measurement report are associated with the ID ([0063] for example, the tag/identifier. Whenever the network/TRP sets up a CSI-RS configuration, or triggers a report for an already configured CSI-RS configuration).
Considering claims 4, 10, 24, Grant teaches wherein the ID corresponds to a CORESETPoolIndex (CORESETPoolIndex is a 3GPP Rel-16+ higher-layer parameter used in 5G NR for Multi-TRP (Transmission Reception Point) scenarios) ([0002]-[0004], [0053] CSI-RS resource may be transmitted in a different TRP transmit (TX) beam, [0062]).
Considering claims 5, 11, Grant teaches wherein the channel measurement report indicates a highest referenced signal received power (RSRP) for beams received from the TRP on associated CSI RS resources ([0068]).
Considering claims 6, 12, Grant teaches wherein the channel measurement report indicates a set of highest referenced signal received powers (RSRPs) for beams received from the TRP on associated CSI RS resources ([0068]).
Conclusion
/KHAI M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641