DETAILED OFFICE ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the papers filed on 30 July 2026.
CLAIMS UNDER EXAMINATION
Claims 1, 3, 5-7, 10-12, 16-19, 21-23 and 48-49 have been examined on their merits.
PRIORITY
Provisional Application 62/991564, filed on 18 March 2020, is acknowledged.
WITHDRAWN REJECTIONS
The rejections have been withdrawn due to claim amendment.
REJECTIONS
New grounds of rejection are necessitated by claim amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 6-7 and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is not directed to patent eligible subject matter.
Based on the claims as a whole, claims 6-7 and 49 are determined to be directed to a law of nature/natural principle. The rationale for the determination is explained below.
Claims 49 is directed to a method of verifying the upregulation of cathelicidin gene CAMP in the subject of claim 1.
Question 1: Is the claim directed to a process, machine manufacture or composition of matter? Yes, the invention recited in the claims is a process.
Question 2A Prong 1: Is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea (judicially recognized exceptions)? Yes, claim 49 is directed to an abstract idea.
(a) The limitations in the claim that set forth the law of nature is:
The 2019 PEG explains that the abstract idea exception includes the following groupings of subject matter:
Mathematical concepts – mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations;
Certain methods of organizing human activity – fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk); commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations); managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions); and
Mental processes – concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion).
Claim 49 recites “verifying” an upregulation of cathelicidin gene CAMP in a subject. The specification does not define the term. To verify is broadly interpreted to include evaluating data to confirm upregulation. While measuring data is not a law of nature, evaluating and confirming the data to verify upregulation is mental process. Such mental observations and evaluations fall within the “mental processes” grouping of abstract idea set forth in the 2019 PEG. 2019 PEG Section I, 84 Fed. Reg. at 52.
Question 2A Prong 2: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? No. The administration recited in the base claim is considered an insignificant extra-solution activity because the administration is not being done in response to the verification step, but is a necessary data gathering step in order to make the verification.
Question 2B: Do the claims recite any additional elements? Yes.
With respect to Step 2B, limitations that were found to be enough to qualify as “significantly more” when recited in a claim with a judicial exception include:
Improvements to another technology or technical field.
Improvements to the functioning of the computer itself.
Applying the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine.
Effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing
Adding a specific limitation other than what is well-understood, routine and conventional in the field, or adding unconventional steps that confine the claim to a particular useful application.
Other meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment.
With respect to Step 2B, limitations that were found not to be enough to qualify as “significantly more” when recited in a claim with a judicial exception include:
Adding the words ‘‘apply it’’ (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer
Simply appending well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, e.g., a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry
Adding insignificant extrasolution activity to the judicial exception, e.g., mere data gathering in conjunction with a law of nature or abstract idea
Generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.
Does the additional element result in the claim amounting to significantly more?
No.
Regarding claim 6: The claim recites verifying comprises: (c) comparing the concentration of cathelicidin in the first and second samples. A comparison can be performed by visually observing and evaluating the concentrations measured in steps (a)-(b). Such mental observations and evaluations fall within the “mental processes” grouping of abstract idea (a judicial exception). Steps (a)-(b) are data gathering steps required to perform the comparison in step (c).
Claim 7 is included in this rejection because it encompasses the comparison recited in claim 6.
Therefore claims 6-7 and 49 are not eligible subject matter under 35 USC 101.
APPLICANT’S ARGUMENTS
The arguments made in the response filed on 30 July 2026 are acknowledged. The Applicant argues the amendment of claim 1 overcomes the rejection.
Response: Claim 49, and dependent claims 6-7, further comprise a verification step. The limitations recites in the claim are interpreted to comprise evaluating and comparing data. These are judicial exceptions. The arguments are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 12: The base claim has been amended to recite a method for treating a subject with cancer. Amended claim 12 recites “genetically modifying the NK cells to target a specific surface marker present on a pathogen causing the disease.” Claim 12 therefore requires a pathogen that causes the cancer recited in claim 1.
This rejection is necessitated by Applicant’s amendment. Prior to the amendment, claim 1 recited treatment of a generic “disease” and the recitation of “a pathogen causing the disease” was commensurate with the pathogen-caused diseases the specification describes, such as coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) and Mycobacterium tuberculosis infection ([0035] of PG Pub). The amendment of claim 1 to recite cancer requires for the first time that the recited pathogen be one that causes cancer.
The specification identifies no pathogen as causing, leading to, or being associated with cancer. The cancers addressed in the specification are glioblastoma multiforme, described as “an aggressive cancer that originates in the brain,” melanoma tumor formation in the brain, and MDA-MB-231 breast cancer brain metastases ([0003] [0007] [0010]). None are described as being caused by a pathogen.
The specification discloses “diseases of viral etymology” as including “coronavirus (including COVID-19), enterovirus infections; bornavirus infections, herpesvirus infections; cytomegaloviruses such as HHV6A and HHV7, hepatitis A; hepatitis B; hepatitis C, Epstein-Barr virus, human papillomavirus (HPV); influenza; Japanese encephalitis…; measles, mumps, and rubella; polio; rabies; rotavirus; varicella; shingles (herpes zoster); and yellow fever), and HIV-1.” (see [0035]). Nothing in this passage, or elsewhere in the specification, distinguishes any member of this list as oncogenic or identifies any member as causing cancer.
Each passage of the specification identifying the target of a genetically modified NK cell identifies a cancer cell target. The specification describes NK cells modified “to cause the NK cells to recognize or be receptive to particular markers or cellular ligands that may be present on cancer cells,” identifying PD-1 and PD-L1 as the sole exemplary markers (see [0041] of PG Pub); describes CAR-modified NK cells that “specifically target cancer cells in an antigen-specific manner” (FIG. 2, Scheme B); and describes CAR modification “in order to redirect the specificity and enhance the antitumor efficacy of the NK cell-based immunotherapy” (FIG. 2, Scheme F).
No pathogen-derived or pathogen-associated surface marker is identified anywhere in the specification as a target of a genetically modified NK cell. No construct, binding domain, antigen, or working example directed to such a target is disclosed.
There is a lack of written description because the specification does not disclose a pathogen causing cancer.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites “a pathogen causing the disease”. The base claim, as amended, recites treating a subject suffering from cancer and does not recite a disease.
There is now a lack of antecedent basis in claim 12 for “the disease”. It is unclear if the disease is the cancer recited in claim 1. The metes and bounds of the claim are unclear. Appropriate correction is required. For the purposes of examination, “the disease” is interpreted to refer to the cancer recited in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 21-23 and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by anticipated Kiany et al. (Effect of entinostat of NK cell-mediated cytotoxicity against osteosarcoma cells and osteosarcoma lung metastasis. Oncoimmunology 2017 Vol. 6(8) pages 1-13).
Kiany et al. teach a method of treating osteosarcoma lung metastasis (Abstract). Natural Killer (NK) cells are isolated, cultured and treated with IL-2 (see section titled “Human NK cell isolation and expansion”). Cell activity is confirmed (page e1333214-3; left column, last paragraph). NK cells are injected into a subject with OS pulmonary metastasis (e1333214-4; right column, last paragraph). Therefore the subject has been diagnosed with cancer. Cytotoxicity is confirmed prior to infusion to ensure their killing function (e1333214-4; right column, last paragraph; also see page e1333214-3; left column, last paragraph). Therefore the cells have been activated. Entinostat is administered orally (e1333214-4; right column, last paragraph). Therefore claim 1 is anticipated.
The art teaches NK cell therapy is administered 24 hours following entinostat administration (see Table 2). Therefore claim 21 is included in this rejection.
The art teaches entinostat is also administered after NK cells (see Table 2). Claim 22 is included in this rejection.
The art teaches entinostat is administered before and after NK cell therapy (see Table 2). Claim 23 is included in this rejection.
Kiany teaches activation with IL-2 (supra; a cytokine). Claim 48 is rejected.
Therefore Applicant’s invention is anticipated as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 10-12, 16-18, 21-23 and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barron et al. (previously cited; Polytherapy modulating cathelicidin gene expression modulation for the treatment of Alzheimer’s disease and other conditions. 20190015361 17n January 2019) in view of Levy et al. (Autophagy in cancer: moving from understanding mechanism to improving therapy responses in patients. Cell Death Differ 27, 843–857 (2020; published 13 December 2019) and Liu et al. (previously cited; Use of CAR-Transduced Natural Killer Cells in CD19-Positive Lymphoid Tumors. NEJM 05 February 2020. 382:545-553).
Barron teaches a polytherapy that synergistically modulates and induces the expression of the cathelicidin gene (CAMP), which encodes LL-37 (Abstract). The polytherapy can be used to treat medical conditions ([0002]). The art composition includes “a mixture of at least four or more preferably at least five, and most preferably at least six materials (preferably active materials) selected from the group consisting of phenylbutyrate, bexarotene, curcumin, resveratrol, retinol, phenylbutyrate, cholecalciferol, docosahexaenoic acid, caprylic acid, capric acid, lauric acid, and pharmaceutically acceptable salts thereof” ([0137]).
Barron teaches cathelicidin is required for NK cell-mediated suppression of tumor growth ([0043]). Barron teaches LL-37 has anti-cancer effects ([0044] [0046]). Barron teaches it is beneficial to upregulate LL-37 expression in the context of blood cancers including lymphomas [0044] [0046].
Barron teaches LL-37 is essential in autophagy, which includes the engulfment of pathogens such as bacteria or viruses by white blood cells such natural killer (NK) cells ([0022]). Barron teaches diseases that would benefit from enhancement of autophagic processes might be treated by upregulation of cathelicidin ([0023]).
Barron does not explicitly teach administering the composition to a patient with cancer.
Barron does not teach treating cancer by administering NK cell therapy to a patient.
Levy teaches therapies which increase autophagy are able to boost anti-tumor immune response. “These studies would suggest it would be better to increase, not decrease, autophagy during cancer therapy”. See page 850, right column, second paragraph).
Liu teaches treating lymphoid tumors with Natural Killer cells (hence, NK cell therapy; see Methods section on page 545). The NK cells have been modified to express Anti-CD19 chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) (Abstract). Rapid response is seen within 30 days after infusion at all doses (see Results section on page 545).
It would have been obvious to use the method taught by Barron to treat a patient with cancer. Barron teaches the method can be used to treat conditions which benefit from increased autophagy. One would have been motivated to treat cancer since Levy teaches it can be treated with therapies which increase autophagy. One would have expected similar results since Barron and Levy are directed to conditions which benefit from increased autophagy.
It would have been obvious to combine the teachings of the prior art by administering NK cell therapy. Barron teaches upregulated CAMP expression is beneficial when treating lymphomas and Liu teaches administering NK cell therapy to treat lymphomas. The skilled artisan would administer both compositions to provide an enhanced effect. See MPEP 2144.06. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success since Barron teaches cathelicidin is required for NK cell-mediated suppression of tumor growth. One would have expected similar results since both references are directed to cancer treatment. Therefore claim 1 is rendered obvious.
Liu obtains NK cells from cord (umbilical) blood (see second paragraph of “Methods” on page 546). Therefore claim 3 is included in this rejection.
Barron teaches levels of cathelicidin in the human body can be measured by quantitative PCR of DNA extracted from white blood cells, by fluorescent ELISA assays of protein levels, or by radioimmunoassays ([0127]). Therefore claims 5 and 10-11 are included in this rejection.
Liu infuses modified NK cells into the body of a subject (supra). The cells have been modified to express an anti-CD19 CAR (see Background on page 545). Therefore claim 12 is included in this rejection.
The art teaches a composition including “a mixture of at least four or more preferably at least five, and most preferably at least six materials (preferably active materials) selected from the group consisting of phenylbutyrate, bexarotene, curcumin, resveratrol, retinol, phenylbutyrate, cholecalciferol, docosahexaenoic acid, caprylic acid, capric acid, lauric acid, and pharmaceutically acceptable salts thereof” ([0137]). Therefore claims 16-18 are rendered obvious as claimed.
The selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results. See MPEP 2144.04 IV. Therefore claims 21-23 are included in this rejection.
It would have been obvious verify upregulation of cathelicidin in a patient with cancer. Barron teaches treating diseases that would benefit from enhancement of
autophagic processes by upregulation of cathelicidin. Levy teaches cancer is a disease that benefits from enhancement of autophagic processes. One would verify upregulation of cathelicidin to confirm autophagy is increased in treated patients. O. One would have expected similar results since the references teach diseases which benefit from increased autophagy. Therefore claim 49 is rendered obvious.
Therefore Applicant’s invention is rendered obvious as claimed.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barron et al. in view of Levy et al. and Liu et al. as applied to claim 49 above, and further in view of Koon et al. (previously cited; Cathelicidin as novel inflammatory bowel disease marker and therapy for colitis-associated intestinal fibrosis. US 2015/0293123).
Claim 1 is rejected on the grounds set forth above. The teachings of the prior art are reiterated are reiterated. Barron does not teach measuring LL-37 in a first and second sample as recited in claim 6.
Koon teaches a method of treating a disease by administering sodium butyrate to increase the patient’s cathelicidin protein levels (Abstract; [0033] [0034] [0106] [0171]).
Koon teaches LL-37 is the cathelicidin protein ([0134]). Serum levels can be correlated to disease development ([0135]). Disease progression can be measured by taking measurements of the cathelicidin LL-37 protein ([0135]). The art teaches increased levels of LL-37 indicate a good prognosis, while lower levels indicate a bad prognosis ([0134]). Koon teaches the disclosed method and products can be used to monitor treatment ([0152]). Koon teaches measuring levels of proteins to monitor therapy ([0152]).
It would have been obvious to compare levels of LL-37 in patient samples before and after treatment. One would have been motivated to do so to monitor treatment in a patient. Because Koon teaches higher levels of LL-37 protein correlate with improved outcome, one would compare levels to determine whether treatment is effective. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success since Koon teaches monitoring protein levels in patients. Therefore claim 6 is rendered obvious.
Koon teaches if LL-37 levels were higher than 35 pg/ug protein, patients had a good prognosis. If LL-37 levels were lower than 20 pg/ug protein the prognosis was poor ([0134]).
It would have been obvious to verify upregulation based on increased levels of Ll-37. One would have been motivated to do so since Koon teaches increased levels are associated with positive disease outcome. The skilled artisan would optimize the parameters for determining upregulation based on the desired disease outcome. Therefore claim 7 is included in this rejection.
Therefore Applicant’s invention is rendered obvious as claimed.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barron et al. in view of Levy et al. and Liu et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kawai et al. (Bacillus Calmette-Guerin (BCG) immunotherapy for bladder cancer: current understanding and perspectives on engineered BCG vaccine. Cancer Sci. 2013 Jan;104(1):22-7).
Claim 1 is rejected on the grounds set forth above. The teachings of Barron are reiterated. Barron teaches a therapy that synergistically modulates and induces the expression of the cathelicidin gene (CAMP), which produces LL-37 protein (Abstract). The art does not teach administering BGC vaccine.
Kawai teaches intravesical Bacillus Calmette–Guerin (BCG) therapy is undoubtedly the most successful immunotherapy for cancer (see page 22, left column, first paragraph).
It would have been obvious to combine the teachings of the prior art by administering BGC. Treating a patient with cancer is rendered obvious on the grounds set forth above. Kawai teaches BCG therapy is the most successful immunotherapy for cancer. One would do so to enhance therapy. The rejections under 35 USC 103 above are consistent with case law. Applicants are referred to In re Kerkoven (205 USPQ 1069) in which it was shown to be prima facia obvious to combine two compositions, each of which is taught by the prior art to be used for that very same purpose. One would have expected similar results since both references are directed to treating cancer. Therefore claim 19 is rendered obvious.
Therefore Applicant’s Invention is rendered obvious.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1, 3, 5-7, 10-12, 16-19, 21-23 and 48-49 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 9-10, 14, 18 and 20 of US Patent Application US2023/0134704 (Barron et al. A Method of Treating Cancer By Upregulating Cathelicidin Gene Expression and Infusing Natural Killer Cells. Application 17800903).
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claim limitations of the Instant Application encompass claim limitations of the patent. This is a provisional double patenting rejection since the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1 of ‘903 recites a method of treating a subject suffering from cancer, comprising: diagnosing the subject as suffering from cancer; upregulating the cathelicidin gene CAMP in the subject; obtaining Natural Killer (NK) white blood cells; and infusing
the NK cells into the body of the subject. Claim 20 of the ‘903 application recites the pharmaceutical composition includes at least one substance selected from the group consisting of butyrate, phenylbutyrate, bexarotene, curcumin, resveratrol, retinol, beta-carotene, cholecalciferol, entinostat, docosahexaenoic acid, caprylic acid, capric acid, lauric acid, and pharmaceutically acceptable salts thereof. Claim 14 discloses cells which are genetically modified. Therefore the limitations recited in instant claim 1 are rendered obvious.
Claim 2 of ‘903 Application recites the NK cells are obtained from umbilical cord blood. This reads on claim 3 of the instant application.
Claim 4 of the ‘903 application recites verifying the upregulation of at least one protein product of CAMP gene in the subject, wherein said at least one protein product is selected from the group consisting of hCAP-18 and LL-37 cathelicidin peptide. This reads on claim 5 of the instant application.
Claim 5 of the ‘903 application recites the upregulation of cathelicidin LL-37 is verified in the subject by (a) measuring the concentration of LL-37 in a first biological sample obtained from the subject prior to upregulating cathelicidin in the subject, (b) measuring the concentration of LL-37 in a second biological sample obtained from the subject after upregulating cathelicidin in the subject; and (c) comparing the concentration of cathelicidin in the first and second samples. This reads on claim 6 of the instant application.
Claim 6 of the ‘903 application recites wherein upregulation of LL-37 is verified in the subject only if the concentration of cathelicidin in the second sample is at least 3 times the concentration of cathelicidin in the first sample. This reads on claim 7 of the instant application.
Claim 9 of the ‘903 application recites verifying the upregulation by (a) obtaining a sample of blood from the subject, and (b) measuring the concentration of LL-37 in the blood sample. This reads on claim 10 of the instant application.
Claim 10 of the ‘903 application recites verifying the upregulation by (a) obtaining peripheral monocytes from the subject, and (b) measuring the levels of CAMP gene mRNA, or the concentration of LL-37 in the obtained peripheral monocytes. This reads on claim 11 of the instant application.
Claim 3 of ‘903 recites verifying the upregulation of the cathelicidin gene CAMP in the subject. These limitations read on claim 49 of the instant application.
Claim 20 of the ‘903 application recites the pharmaceutical composition includes at least one substance selected from the group consisting of butyrate, phenylbutyrate, bexarotene, curcumin, resveratrol, retinol, beta-carotene, cholecalciferol, entinostat, docosahexaenoic acid, caprylic acid, capric acid, lauric acid, and pharmaceutically acceptable salts thereof. This reads on instant claims 16-18 of the instant specification.
CONCLUSION
No Claims Are Allowed
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NATALIE M MOSS/ Examiner, Art Unit 1653
/SHARMILA G LANDAU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1653