Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. The limitations of claims 6 and 7 are already present in claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claims 1-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 18/189,700 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each claims a composite fiber comprising a porous silicon phase and a porous carbon phase wherein the two phases are intertwined and continuous throughout the fiber.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim(s)1-10 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Sakshaung et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0152983 in view of Rios et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0038042.
Sakshaung discloses a structure which comprises a porous silicon phase comprising elemental silicon and a porous carbon phase comprising elemental carbon wherein the two phases are intertwined, interconnected and continuous. Sakshaung discloses forming the structure by providing a porous structure into which porous silicon is impregnated. See paragraph 0107. The porous scaffold can be porous carbon. See paragraph 0107. The porous scaffold can be a carbon fiber. See paragraph 0107. The pores of the porous carbon scaffold can be micro, meso and macropores. See paragraph 0179-0180. The pore volume can be 0.1 cc/g-2cc/g. See paragraph 0182. The pores of the carbon scaffold can have diameters of 100 nm or less. See paragraph 0184. The carbon scaffold can have a crystallinity of 0-99%. See paragraph 00372. Sakshaung teaches introducing porous silicon into the carbon scaffolds to form a composite material. See paragraphs 0190-0191 and 0321-0322. The structure has durable intercalation of lithium. See paragraph 0252. The amount of silicon in the silicon/carbon porous composite material can be 5-95%. See paragraph 0337.
With regard to the formulas as set forth in claims 1-3, Sakshaung does not clearly teach the claimed formulas, however, since the same materials are present in the same amounts, it is reasonable to expect that the particularly claimed relationships would necessarily be present in the structure of Sakshaung.
Sakshaung does not disclose the claimed diameter and aspect ratio of the fiber.
Rios discloses a silicon carbon fiber. See abstract. The structure can be formed by providing a carbon fiber and impregnating it with silicon particles. See paragraph 0016. The fiber can have a diameter of 10-200 microns and a length of at least 3 times the diameter. See paragraph 0032. The silicon crystals can have a size of 5nm - 200 microns. See paragraph 0033. The carbon matrix is porous. See paragraph 0034. The structure can include lithium which is intercalated into the silicon carbon composite fibers. See paragraph 0035.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have formed the fiber of Sakshaung to have dimensions as taught by Rios in view of the teaching of Rios that such dimensions were recognized as suitable for forming silicon carbon fibers.
Sakshaung discloses a structure as set forth above.
Sakshaung differs from the claimed invention because it does not teach the claimed crystallite size or the claimed amount of lithium.
However, Sakshaung teaches controlling crystallite size in order to provide the desired properties to the final product. See paragraph 00369.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have provided the size of carbon crystallites which provided the desired properties to the final product.
Further, with regard to the amount of lithium, since Sakshaung teach infiltrating with lithium, it would have been obvious to have added the amount of lithium which produced the desired proportion of lithium in the final structure, depending on the final end use of the product.
Sakshaung does not disclose the claimed diameter and aspect ratio of the fiber.
Rios discloses a silicon carbon fiber. See abstract. The structure can be formed by providing a carbon fiber and impregnating it with silicon particles. See paragraph 0016. The fiber can have a diameter of 10-200 microns and a length of at least 3 times the diameter. See paragraph 0032. The silicon crystals can have a size of 5nm - 200 microns. See paragraph 0033. The carbon matrix is porous. See paragraph 0034. The structure can include lithium which is intercalated into the silicon carbon composite fibers. See paragraph 0035.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have formed the fiber of Sakshaung to have dimensions as taught by Rios in view of the teaching of Rios that such dimensions were recognized as suitable for forming silicon carbon fibers.
Applicant's arguments filed 12/23/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Sakshaung does not teach that the structure is a fiber. However, Sakshaung teaches at paragraph 0107 that the porous scaffold can be carbon and that the carbon can be a carbon fiber.
With regard to the median pore size, while it is acknowledged that the Sakshaung does not disclose the median pore size, however, since Sakshaung teaches pore sizes which encompass the median size, it would have been obvious to have provided pore sizes which provided the desired pore size to the composite material.
Applicant argues that the combination of Sakshaung and Rios would not have been made by one of ordinary skill because Rios teaches away from such a structure because Rios employs isolated Si particles. However, Rios is relied on for suitable aspect ratios and dimensions for silicon carbide composite fibers, and to employ that size in the invention of Sakshaung would not require any changes in the invention or structure of Rios .
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELIZABETH M IMANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789