DETAILED ACTION
This is a response to applicant’s amendment filed on April 21, 2026. Claims 3, 7 and 10-11 have been amended. Claim 4 has been cancelled. Claims 1-3 and 5-26 are pending in the application.
Response to Amendment
Objections to Claims 3, 8 and 11 have been withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments.
Rejections under 35 USC § 112(d) of claim 4 has been withdrawn in view of cancellation of claim 4.
Rejections under 35 USC § 112(b) of Claims 7 and 10 have been withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments.
Rejections under 35 USC § 103 of claim 4 has been withdrawn in view of cancellation of claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-11, 13, 15-17, 20, 23-24 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawa et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 2011/0005473, hereinafter Ishikawa).
In regards to Claim 1, Ishikawa discloses a hydrogen storage device (#40) comprising:
a first vessel (#41), having a first fluid inlet (#42) and/or a first fluid outlet (#43), having therein a thermally conducting network thermally coupled to a first heater (see figures 7, 8a-8b and 10a-10b, and paragraphs [0084], [0107]-[0108] and [0159]-[0160]; Ishikawa discloses a hydrogen supply device #41, i.e. first vessel, which can be of any type, such as straight tube type or micro reactor type, and comprises a highly-thermal conductive substrate, i.e. thermally conducting network, a catalyst layer, and can also contain a hydrogen separation membrane in some cases. The catalyst in the highly-thermal conductive substrate, can be heated by a heater provided on the outer wall of the hydrogen supply device #41, i.e. thermally conducting network is thermally coupled to a first heater.)
wherein the first vessel (#41) is arranged to receive therein a hydrogen storage material (fuel) in thermal contact, at least in part, with the thermally conducting network (see figures 7 and 8a-8b and 10a-10b, and paragraphs [0107]-[0108] and [0159]-[0160]);
wherein the thermally conducting network (#70, #73) has a lattice geometry, a gyroidal geometry and/or a fractal geometry in two and/or three dimensions, comprising a plurality of nodes, having thermally conducting arms (catalyst plates) therebetween, with voids between the arms (see figures 10a-10b and paragraphs [0084], [0107]-[0108] and [0159]-[0160]; Ishikawa discloses the highly-thermal conductive substrate, i.e. thermally conducting network, may be of a micro-reactor type and has fuel channels on its surface and can have multiple fuel inlets and outlets. Fuel channels, inlets and outlets can be formed on the highly-thermal conductive substrate by machine-working, etching, plating or soft-lithography. As further shown in figures 10a-10b, Ishikawa reasonably discloses wherein the highly-thermal conductive substrate comprises a lattice geometry in two and/or three dimensions. In view of this, it is considered reasonably obvious, absent evidence to the contrary, that the highly-thermal conductive substrate comprises a plurality of nodes, having thermally conducting arms therebetween and voids between the arms, as claimed by the applicant.);
wherein the hydrogen storage material comprises and/or is a liquid organic hydrogen carrier (LOHC) (see paragraph [0008]-[0009], [0048], [0082] and [0112]); and
wherein the thermally conducting network comprises a LOHC hydrogenation and/or dehydrogenation catalyst provided on and/or in a surface thereof (see paragraphs [0084]-[0087] and [0159]-[0160]).
In regards to Claim 3, Ishikawa discloses wherein the thermally conducting network comprises fluidically interconnected passageways within the arms and/or nodes thereof, for flow therethrough of a fluid (see figures 8a-8b and 10a-10b and paragraphs [0084], [0107]-[0108] and [0159]-[0160]).
In regards to Claim 5, Ishikawa discloses the hydrogen storage device as recited in claim 1. Although Ishikawa does not explicitly disclose wherein the thermally conducting network has a porosity in a range of from 50% to 99% by volume of the thermally conducting network, adjusting the porosity of the thermally conducting network to an optimum range, such as from 50% to 99% by volume of the thermally conducting network as claimed, is within one skilled in the art through routine experimentation, in order to obtain a desired end-result, such as for improved hydrogen storage, and is considered prima facie obvious, absent evidence to the criticality or new or unexpected results. See MPEP 2144.05.
In regards to Claim 6, Ishikawa discloses the hydrogen storage device as recited in claim 1. Although Ishikawa does not explicitly disclose wherein the thermally conducting network has a specific surface area in a range from 0.1m-1 to 100m-1, Ishikawa discloses substantially the same hydrogen storage device and having substantially similar thermally conducting network as claimed by the applicant. Therefore, it is reasonably expected, absent evidence to the contrary, that Ishikawa’s thermally conducting network will have a specific surface area in a range as claimed by the applicant, as it has been held that when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed functions are considered prima facie obvious, and also it has been held that chemical compositions and its properties are inseparable. See MPEP 2112.01.
In regards to Claim 7, Ishikawa discloses the hydrogen storage device as recited in claim 1. Although Ishikawa does not explicitly disclose that the first heater is arranged to provide a heat output in a range from 0.1MWm-3 to 50MWm-3, Ishikawa discloses substantially the same hydrogen storage device with substantially similar first heater as claimed by the applicant. Therefore, it is reasonably expected, absent evidence to the contrary, that Ishikawa’s heater will be reasonably capable of functioning in the same manner as claimed, as it has been held that when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed functions are considered prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2112.01.
In regards to Claim 8, Ishikawa discloses wherein the first heater is arranged to heat the hydrogen storage material to a temperature in a range of from 50 to 400ºC (see paragraphs [0159]-[0161]; Ishikawa discloses wherein the catalyst can be heated by a heater provided on the outer wall of the hydrogen supply device (#41). Hydrogen was produced from methylcyclohexane by the above hydrogen supply system and hydrogen gas of 250 liters per minute was obtained at 220ºC. In view of this, it is considered reasonably obvious, absent evidence to the contrary, that the first heater heats the hydrogen storage material to a temperature of 220ºC, which falls inside the claimed range of from 50 to 400ºC, thereby making the claimed range prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05.).
In regards to Claim 9, Ishikawa discloses further comprising a pump (#45 booster pump) arranged to flow the hydrogen storage material through the first vessel (#41) (see figure 7 and paragraphs [0082] and [0147]).
In regards to Claim 10, Ishikawa discloses wherein the LOHC comprises and/or is an aromatic, heterocyclic aromatic and/or a mixture thereof (see paragraphs [0048] and [0112]).
In regards to Claim 11, Ishikawa discloses wherein the LOHC comprises and/or is a compound selected from a group consisting of: N-ethylcarbazole (NEC), monobenzyltoluene (MBT), dibenzyltoluene (DBT), 1,2- dihydro-1,2-azaborine (AB), toluene (TOL), naphthalene (NAP), benzene, phenanthrene, pyrene, pyridine, chinoline, flurene, carbazole, methanol, formic acid, phenazine, ammonia, and mixtures thereof (see paragraphs [0048] and [0112]).
In regards to Claim 13, Ishikawa discloses the hydrogen storage device as recited in claim 1. Although Ishikawa does not explicitly disclose having a hydrogen storage density of at least 0.01wt% of the hydrogen storage material, Ishikawa discloses substantially the same hydrogen storage device as claimed by the applicant. Therefore, it is reasonably expected, absent evidence to the contrary, that Ishikawa’s hydrogen storage device will function in the same manner as claimed, as it has been held that when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed functions are considered prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2112.01.
In regards to Claim 15, Ishikawa discloses the hydrogen storage device as recited in claim 1. Although Ishikawa is silent in regards to wherein an effective density of the lattice geometry is uniform in a first dimension and non-uniform in mutually orthogonal second and third dimensions, adjusting/changing the shape of the lattice geometry to have an effective density of the lattice geometry be uniform in a first dimension and non-uniform in mutually orthogonal second and third dimensions is a mere engineering design choice in order to obtain a desired end-result, such as for improved hydrogen generation and is considered prima facie obvious, absent evidence to the criticality or new or unexpected results. See MPEP 2144.04.
In regards to Claim 16, Ishikawa discloses the hydrogen storage device as recited in claim 1. Although Ishikawa is silent in regards to wherein the lattice geometry is Bravais lattice, a monoclinic lattice, an orthorhombic lattice, a tetragonal lattice, a hexagonal lattice or a cubic lattice, changing the shape of the lattice geometry is a mere engineering design choice in order to obtain a desired end-result, as is considered prima facie obvious, absent evidence to the criticality or new or unexpected results. See MPEP 2144.04.
In regards to Claim 17, Ishikawa discloses the hydrogen storage device as recited in claim 1. Although Ishikawa is silent in regards to wherein the thermally conductive arms have a cross sectional dimension in a range from 0.1mm to 10mm, adjusting the arms of the cross sectional dimension to an optimum value is within one skilled in the art through routine experimentation, in order to obtain a desired end-result, such as for improved hydrogen generation and storage, and is considered prima facie obvious, absent evidence to the criticality or new or unexpected results. See MPEP2144.05.
In regards to Claim 20, Ishikawa discloses wherein the thermally conducting network partially fills an internal volume of the first vessel, of at least 50% by volume of the first vessel (#41), thereby defining an unfilled volume (see figures 10a-10b and paragraphs [0159]-[0160]).
In regards to Claim 23, Ishikawa discloses wherein the hydrogen storage device (#40) comprises thermal insulation configured to thermally insulate the first vessel (#41) (see figure 10a and paragraph [0160]; Ishikawa discloses wherein the whole micro-reactor matrix is covered with an insulating material for protection.).
In regards to Claim 24, Ishikawa discloses wherein the first vessel comprises a set of expansion tanks (#41, #48), including a first expansion tank (#41) and a second expansion tank (#48), wherein the first expansion tank (#41) and the second expansion tank (#48) are mutually fluidically coupled (see figure 7 and paragraph [0147]).
In regards to Claim 26, Ishikawa discloses a method of providing hydrogen comprising releasing hydrogen gas from a hydrogen storage device (#40) according to claim 1, comprising heating the thermally conducting network using the first heater (see figure 7 and 10a-10b, and paragraphs [0159]-[0160]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawa in view of Milstein et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 2022/0024758, with an effective filing date of February 6, 2020, hereinafter Milstein).
In regards to Claim 12, Ishikawa discloses the hydrogen storage device as recited in claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the hydrogen storage material comprises a dopant, is provided in a solvent, or both.
However, Milstein teaches a system, process and a method of storing hydrogen and releasing it on demand, comprising and making use of N-heterocycles as liquid organic hydrogen carriers (LOHCs) (see paragraph [0035]). The system for storing hydrogen and releasing it on demand comprises a transition metal catalyst, which is used for both hydrogen loading (hydrogenation) and hydrogen discharging (dehydrogenation) processes (see paragraph [0069]). In some embodiments, the system and method further comprises at least one organic solvent, such as benzene, toluene, p-xylene, cyclohexane and combinations thereof (see paragraph [0074]).
Milstein further teaches in a working example for dehydrogenation of 2-methylpiperidine, i.e. LOHC, to 2-picoline in a solvent: In a glovebox, catalyst, t-BuOK (0.2mmol), 2-methylpiperidine (1mmol) and solvent (1ml) were added to a Schlenk tube for hydrogen release (see paragraphs [0110]-[0111]).
It would have been obvious by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the hydrogen storage device as disclosed by Ishikawa by having the hydrogen storage material to further comprise a dopant, is provided in a solvent, or both, as claimed by the applicant, with a reasonable expectation of success as Milstein teaches a system, process and a method of storing hydrogen and releasing it on demand, comprising and making use of N-heterocycles as liquid organic hydrogen carriers (LOHCs), wherein the system for storing hydrogen and releasing it on demand comprises a transition metal catalyst, which is used for both hydrogen loading (hydrogenation) and hydrogen discharging (dehydrogenation) processes (see paragraph [0069]), whereby in some embodiments, the system and method further comprises at least one organic solvent, such as benzene, toluene, p-xylene, cyclohexane and combinations thereof, such that in a working example for dehydrogenation of 2-methylpiperidine, i.e. LOHC, to 2-picoline in a solvent, a solvent is added to 2-methylpiperidine and disposed in a Schlenk tube along with a catalyst and t-BuOK for hydrogen release (see paragraphs [0110]-[0111]).
Claims 2, 14, 18-19, 21-23 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawa in view of Hamed et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 2021/0180837, with a PCT publication date of December 19, 2019, hereinafter Hamed).
In regards to Claim 2, Ishikawa discloses the hydrogen storage device as recited in claim 1. Ishikawa further discloses wherein the hydrogen storage device is arrangeable in a first arrangement wherein the thermally conducting network is within the first vessel (#41) (see figures 7 and 10a-10b). Ishikawa fails to disclose a second arrangement wherein the thermally conducting network is outside the first vessel, and wherein the first vessel comprises a circumferential releasable joint.
However, Hamed teaches a hydrogen storage device comprising a hollow metal cylindrical vessel (#1) having a fluid inlet (#8), a fluid outlet (#9), and an aluminum fractal structure (#4), i.e. thermally conducting network, thermally coupled to a heater (#6). The vessel (#1) is arranged to receive a hydrogen storage material (#5) in thermal contact with the thermally conducting network (#4) (see figure 1 and abstract). The hydrogen storage device further comprises two metallic end-caps (#2) which forms a hydrogen gas containment volume along with the hollow metal cylindrical vessel (#1). Inside this volume, the aluminum fractal structure (#4), i.e. thermally conducting network, is introduced, i.e. first arrangement wherein the thermally conducting network is within the first vessel. The end-caps (#2) are held in place and form a seal through a thread and O-ring arrangement (#3), i.e. circumferential releasable joint. The end-caps (#2) can be removed for easy access to the hydrogen containment volume (see figure 1 and paragraph [0046]).
Although Hamed does not explicitly disclose a second arrangement wherein the thermally conducting network is outside the first vessel, it is considered reasonably obvious, absent evidence to the contrary, that a second arrangement where the thermally conducting network is outside the first vessel is obviously present at some point since Hamed clearly teaches that the end-caps can be removed for access to the hydrogen containment volume and the aluminum fractal structure is placed within the hydrogen containment volume of the hollow metal cylindrical vessel.
It would have been obvious by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the hydrogen storage device as disclosed by Ishikawa by having the hydrogen storage device to be also arrangeable in a second arrangement wherein the thermally conducting network is outside the first vessel, and wherein the first vessel comprises a circumferential releasable joint, as claimed by the applicant, with a reasonable expectation of success, as Hamed teaches a hydrogen storage device comprising a vessel having a fluid inlet, a fluid outlet, and a thermally conducting network thermally coupled to a heater, wherein the vessel is arranged to receive a hydrogen storage material in thermal contact with the thermally conducting network, wherein the hydrogen storage device further comprises two metallic end-caps which forms a hydrogen gas containment volume along with the hollow metal cylindrical vessel, whereby inside this volume, the aluminum fractal structure, i.e. thermally conducting network, is introduced, i.e. first arrangement wherein the thermally conducting network is within the first vessel, the end-caps are held in place and form a seal through a thread and O-ring arrangement, i.e. circumferential releasable joint, and the end-caps can be removed for easy access to the hydrogen containment volume, thereby improving the ease of maintenance and replacement of the thermally conducting network within the vessel (see figure 1 and paragraph [0046]).
In regards to Claim 14, Ishikawa discloses the hydrogen storage device as recited in claim 1. Ishikawa discloses the lattice geometry of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above). Since claim 1 discloses the fractal geometry as an alternative, Ishikawa does not need to disclose the limitation of claim 14.
In the alternative, Ishikawa fails to disclose wherein the fractal geometry is selected from a group consisting of: a Quadratic Koch Island, a Quadratic Koch surface, a Von Koch surface, a Koch Snowflake, a Sierpinski carpet, a Sierpinski tetrahedron, a Mandelbox, a Mandelbulb, a Dodecahedron fractal, a Icosahedron fractal, a Octahedron fractal, a Menger sponge, a Jerusalem cube, and a 3D H-fractal.
However, Hamed teaches a hydrogen storage device comprising a vessel (#1) having a fluid inlet (#8), a fluid outlet (#9), and a thermally conducting network (#4) thermally coupled to a heater (#6). The vessel (#1) is arranged to receive a hydrogen storage material (#5) in thermal contact with the thermally conducting network (#4) (see figure 1 and abstract). The thermally conducting network (#4) has a fractal geometry in two or three dimensions. It has been found that the fractal geometry provides an especially high surface area to volume ratio, which enables especially efficient heat transfer to and from the hydrogen storage material. The fractal geometry may be selected from a 3D H-fractal, a Quadratic Koch Island, a Quadratic Koch surface, a Von Koch surface, a Koch Snowflake, a Sierpinski carpet, a Sierpinski tetrahedron, a Mandelbox, a Mandelbulb, a Dodecahedron fractal, a Icosahedron fractal, a Octahedron fractal, a Menger sponge and a Jerusalem cube (see paragraph [0033]).
It would have been obvious by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the hydrogen storage device as disclosed by Ishikawa by substituting a known thermally conducting network for another known thermally conducting network such as a thermal conducting network having a fractal geometry such as a Quadratic Koch Island, a Quadratic Koch surface, a Von Koch surface, a Koch Snowflake, a Sierpinski carpet, a Sierpinski tetrahedron, a Mandelbox, a Mandelbulb, a Dodecahedron fractal, a Icosahedron fractal, a Octahedron fractal, a Menger sponge, a Jerusalem cube and a 3D H-fractal geometry, as claimed by the applicant, with a reasonable expectation of success, as Hamed teaches a hydrogen storage device comprising a vessel having a fluid inlet, a fluid outlet, and a thermally conducting network thermally coupled to a heater, wherein the vessel is arranged to receive a hydrogen storage material in thermal contact with the thermally conducting network, whereby the thermally conducting network has a fractal geometry in two or three dimensions such as a 3D H-fractal, a Quadratic Koch Island, a Quadratic Koch surface, a Von Koch surface, a Koch Snowflake, a Sierpinski carpet, a Sierpinski tetrahedron, a Mandelbox, a Mandelbulb, a Dodecahedron fractal, a Icosahedron fractal, a Octahedron fractal, a Menger sponge and a Jerusalem cube, since it has been found that the fractal geometry provides an especially high surface area to volume ratio, which enables especially efficient heat transfer to and from the hydrogen storage material (see paragraph [0033]).
In regards to Claim 18, Ishikawa discloses the hydrogen storage device as recited in claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the thermally conducting network is formed, at least in part, by additive manufacturing and/or by casting.
However, Hamed teaches a hydrogen storage device comprising a vessel (#1) having a fluid inlet (#8), a fluid outlet (#9), and a thermally conducting network (#4) thermally coupled to a heater (#6). The vessel (#1) is arranged to receive a hydrogen storage material (#5) in thermal contact with the thermally conducting network (#4) (see figure 1 and abstract). The thermally conducting network (#4) has a fractal geometry in two or three dimensions. It has been found that the fractal geometry provides an especially high surface area to volume ratio, which enables especially efficient heat transfer to and from the hydrogen storage material. The thermally conducting network (#4) is produced by 3D printing since it allows for the fabrication of especially complex shapes with fine control and in three dimensions, or it can alternatively be formed by casting (see paragraphs [0024]-[0025] and [0033]).
It would have been obvious by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the hydrogen storage device as disclosed by Ishikawa by forming the thermally conducting network by additive manufacturing and/or by casting, as claimed by the applicant, with a reasonable expectation of success, as Hamed teaches a hydrogen storage device comprising a vessel having a fluid inlet, a fluid outlet, and a thermally conducting network thermally coupled to a heater, wherein the vessel is arranged to receive a hydrogen storage material in thermal contact with the thermally conducting network, whereby the thermally conducting network has a fractal geometry in two or three dimensions and the thermally conducting network (#4) is produced by 3D printing since it allows for the fabrication of especially complex shapes with fine control and in three dimensions, or it can alternatively be formed by casting (see paragraphs [0024]-[0025] and [0033]).
In regards to Claim 19, Ishikawa discloses the hydrogen storage device as recited in claim 1, but fails to disclose further comprising a thermally-conducting foam attached and/or attachable to the thermally conducting network.
However, Hamed teaches a hydrogen storage device comprising a vessel (#1) having a fluid inlet (#8), a fluid outlet (#9), and a thermally conducting network (#4) thermally coupled to a heater (#6). The vessel (#1) is arranged to receive a hydrogen storage material (#5) in thermal contact with the thermally conducting network (#4) (see figure 1 and abstract). The thermally conducting network (#4) has a fractal geometry in two or three dimensions. A metal foam may be attached to the thermally conducting network (#4) since it has been found that a metal foam can aid heat transfer to and from the hydrogen storage material (see paragraphs [0026] and [0033]).
It would have been obvious by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the hydrogen storage device as disclosed by Ishikawa by including a thermally-conducting foam attached and/or attachable to the thermally conducting network, as claimed by the applicant, with a reasonable expectation of success, as Hamed teaches a hydrogen storage device comprising a vessel having a fluid inlet, a fluid outlet, and a thermally conducting network thermally coupled to a heater, wherein the vessel is arranged to receive a hydrogen storage material in thermal contact with the thermally conducting network, whereby the thermally conducting network has a fractal geometry in two or three dimensions, and a metal foal may be attached to the thermally conducting network, as it has been found that a metal foam can aid heat transfer to and from the hydrogen storage material (see paragraphs [0026] and [0033]).
In regards to Claim 21, Ishikawa discloses the hydrogen storage device as recited in claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the first heater comprises a Joule heater, a recirculating heater and/or a hydrogen catalytic combustor and the hydrogen storage device is arranged to interchangeably receive the Joule heater and the recirculating heater therein and/or thereon.
However, Hamed teaches a hydrogen storage device comprising a vessel (#1) having a fluid inlet (#8), a fluid outlet (#9), and a thermally conducting network (#4) thermally coupled to a heater (#6). The vessel (#1) is arranged to receive a hydrogen storage material (#5) in thermal contact with the thermally conducting network (#4) (see figure 1 and abstract). The thermally conducting network (#4) has a fractal geometry in two or three dimensions. The heater can make use of Joule heating, i.e. heater comprises a Joule heater and the hydrogen storage device is arranged to interchangeably receive the Joule heater and the recirculating heater therein and/or thereon (see paragraphs [0019]-[0020] and [0033]).
It would have been obvious by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the hydrogen storage device as disclosed by Ishikawa by substituting a known heater for another known heater such as the first heat to comprise a Joule heater, a recirculating heater and/or a hydrogen catalytic combustor and the hydrogen storage device is arranged to interchangeably receive the Joule heater and the recirculating heater therein and/or thereon, as claimed by the applicant, with a reasonable expectation of success, as Hamed teaches a hydrogen storage device comprising a vessel having a fluid inlet, a fluid outlet, and a thermally conducting network thermally coupled to a heater, wherein the vessel is arranged to receive a hydrogen storage material in thermal contact with the thermally conducting network, whereby the thermally conducting network has a fractal geometry in two or three dimensions, and the heater can make use of Joule heating, i.e. heater comprises a Joule heater and the hydrogen storage device is arranged to interchangeably receive the Joule heater and the recirculating heater therein and/or thereon (see paragraphs [0019]-[0020]).
In regards to Claim 22, Ishikawa discloses the hydrogen storage device as recited in claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the hydrogen storage device comprises a heat exchanger configured to exchange heat from and/or the LOHC.
However, Hamed teaches a hydrogen storage device comprising a vessel (#1) having a fluid inlet (#8), a fluid outlet (#9), and a thermally conducting network (#4) thermally coupled to a heater (#6). The vessel (#1) is arranged to receive a hydrogen storage material (#5) in thermal contact with the thermally conducting network (#4) (see figure 1 and abstract). The thermally conducting network (#4) has a fractal geometry in two or three dimensions. The heater is a thermoelectric heater and/or cooler which can enable heat to be removed from the hydrogen storage material during the hydrogen storage phase, and heat to be supplied to the hydrogen storage material during hydrogen release (see paragraphs [0021] and [0033]). This is considered equivalent to wherein the hydrogen storage device comprises a heat exchanger configured to exchange heat from and/or the hydrogen storage material, as claimed by the applicant.
It would have been obvious by one of ordinary skill in the at before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the hydrogen storage device as disclosed by Ishikawa by having the hydrogen storage device to comprise a heat exchanger configured to exchange heat from and/or the LOHC, as claimed by the applicant, with a reasonable expectation of success, as Hamed teaches a hydrogen storage device comprising a vessel having a fluid inlet, a fluid outlet, and a thermally conducting network thermally coupled to a heater, wherein the vessel is arranged to receive a hydrogen storage material in thermal contact with the thermally conducting network, whereby the thermally conducting network has a fractal geometry in two or three dimensions, and the heater is a thermoelectric heater and/or cooler which can enable heat to be removed from the hydrogen storage material during the hydrogen storage phase, and heat to be supplied to the hydrogen storage material during hydrogen release (see paragraphs [0021] and [0033]).
In regards to Claim 25, Ishikawa discloses the hydrogen storage device (#40) as recited in claim 1 and heating the thermally conducting network using the first heater (see figures 7, 8a-8b and 10a-10b, and paragraphs [0084], [0107]-[0108] and [0159]-[0160]; Ishikawa discloses a hydrogen supply device #41, i.e. first vessel, which can be of any type, such as straight tube type or micro reactor type, and comprises a highly-thermal conductive substrate, i.e. thermally conducting network, a catalyst layer, and can also contain a hydrogen separation membrane in some cases. The catalyst in the highly-thermal conductive substrate, can be heated by a heater provided on the outer wall of the hydrogen supply device #41, i.e. thermally conducting network is thermally coupled to a first heater.). Ishikawa fails to disclose a method of storing hydrogen comprising passing hydrogen gas into the hydrogen storage device.
However, Hamed teaches a method of storing hydrogen and a hydrogen storage device comprising a vessel (#1) having a fluid inlet (#8), a fluid outlet (#9), and a thermally conducting network (#4) thermally coupled to a heater (#6). The vessel (#1) is arranged to receive a hydrogen storage material (#5) in thermal contact with the thermally conducting network (#4) (see figure 1 and abstract). The thermally conducting network (#4) has a fractal geometry in two or three dimensions (see paragraph [0033]). The fluid inlet #8 located through the lid and fractal act as a hydrogen gas inlet, which passes hydrogen gas into the hydrogen storage device (see paragraphs [0039], [0042] and [0050] and claim 12).
It would have been obvious by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the hydrogen storage device as disclosed by Ishikawa by having a method of storing hydrogen comprising passing hydrogen gas into the hydrogen storage device, as claimed by the applicant, with a reasonable expectation of success, as Hamed teaches a hydrogen storage device comprising a vessel having a fluid inlet, a fluid outlet, and a thermally conducting network thermally coupled to a heater, wherein the vessel is arranged to receive a hydrogen storage material in thermal contact with the thermally conducting network, whereby the thermally conducting network has a fractal geometry in two or three dimensions, and the fluid inlet #8 located through the lid and fractal act as a hydrogen gas inlet, which passes hydrogen gas into the hydrogen storage device, thereby improving the absorption of hydrogen within the hydrogen storage device (see paragraphs [0039], [0042] and [0050] and claim 12).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “Ishikawa discloses a "thermally conducting network (#52, #70, #73) [that] has a lattice geometry, a gyroidal geometry and/or a fractal geometry in two and/or three dimensions, comprising a plurality of nodes, having thermally conducting arms (catalyst plates) therebetween, with voids (#53) between the arms." The portions of Ishikawa cited by the Examiner do not support this interpretation. For example, the features identified as "voids" are, in fact, tubes within the reaction tubes 52, which, in turn, the Examiner views as a component of the thermally conducting network. "Each reaction tube 52 contains cylindrical hydrogen separation tube 53.” As such, the reaction tubes 53 cannot constitute voids, much less voids between thermally conducting arms of the network. In addition, it must be noted that the features of Ishikawa relied on as making up the thermally conducting network, i.e., the reaction tubes 52, catalyst plates 70, and catalyst layers 73, are components of distinct embodiments of Ishikawa's invention. The reaction tubes 52 are part of Embodiment 4 ("This embodiment uses a hydrogen separation tube as the hydrogen supply device in the hydrogen supply system"8) shown in FIGS. 7, 8a, and 8b. The catalyst plates 70 and catalyst layers 73, on the other hand, are part of a micro reactor according to Ishikawa's Embodiment 5, which employs an entirely different process for hydrogen supply. "This embodiment uses a micro reactor which comprises hydrogen separating membranes as the hydrogen supply device in the hydrogen supply system."
Examiner respectfully disagrees and points out that Ishikawa clearly discloses the hydrogen storage device has comprising a highly-thermal conductive substrate, i.e. thermally conducting network, which may be in any type such as a straight type or micro-reactor type, as disclosed in paragraph [0084] of Ishikawa. Therefore, examiner explained how the highly-thermal conductive substrate of Ishikawa may have a lattice geometry in two and/or three dimensions, comprising a plurality of nodes, having thermally conducting arms therebetween, with voids between the arms, as shown in the micro-reactor type highly-thermal conductive substrate of figures 10a-10b. At no point in the rejection the examiner combines these embodiments. In view of this, the argument is not considered persuasive. Applicant’s other arguments have been considered and are not persuasive and the rejection is thereby maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JELITZA M PEREZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774