DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is responsive to Applicant's Remarks/Amendment after Non-Final Rejection, filed Nov. 25, 2025. As filed, claims 1-4, 7-14, 29, and 30 are pending of which claims 1, 3, 4 are amended; claim 30 is new. Claims 7-14 and 29 are currently withdrawn. Claims 5,6, 15-28 are cancelled. Claims 1-4 and 30 are examined herein.
A complete response to this Office Action should include cancellation of non-elected subject matter or other appropriate action.
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicants' information disclosure statements (IDS) filed on 11/25/2025 have been considered except where lined through. Please refer to Applicants' copy of the 1449 submitted herewith.
Rejections Withdrawn
Applicants’ amendment, have been fully considered and are entered. The status for each rejection and/or objection in the previous Office Action is set out below.
1. The rejection of claims 1-5 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement is withdrawn in view of amendments to claims to specify the chemical structure of the disulfide compound.
2. The rejection of claim 5 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) is moot per cancellation of said claims.
3. The rejection of claims 1-5 under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 4,614,821 by Kihara et al, 1986i s withdrawn per claim amendments.
The following are modified or new grounds of rejections necessitated by Applicants’ amendment, filed on 11/25/2025 wherein the limitations in pending claims as amended now have been changed. The limitations in the amended claims have been changed and the breadth and scope of those claims have been changed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)91) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Banerjee e-EROS Encyclopedia for reagents of Org. Synthesis, 20027, 1-3 (cited by Applicant in IDS).
The article by Banerjee teaches synthesis of trisulfide compound by reacting S-ethyl ethylthiosulfoxide with dimethyl sulfide sulfur source to give the trisulfide product.
Shown below is the reaction of the prior art as displayed in the Casreact data bases
Regarding instant claims 1 and 30, the dimethyl disulfide corresponds to claimed formula R1-S-S-R2 in which R1 and R2 are each alkyl group (e.g. methyl) and the dimethyl trisulfide corresponds to trisulfide product of claimed method (page 1, left column).
Regarding the limitation of claim “oxidizing disulfide with oxidizing agent to obtain a sulfoxide compound” the reference teaches on page 1 left column oxidation of ethyl dimethyl to ethylthiosulfoxide mediated by mCPBA (m-chloropeoxybenzoic acid) as oxidizing reagent.
Therefore, the prior art meets the limitations of instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banerjee e-EROS Encyclopedia for reagents of Org. Synthesis, 20027, 1-3 cited by Applicant in IDS) and further in view of US 6,187,960 by Shaw et al, 2001 (“the 960 patent”; cited in the PTO-892 attached herewith) and US 4,614,821 by Kihara et al, 1986 (“the 821 patent”; cited in the PTO-892 mailed 9/29/2025).
The article by Banerjee teaches synthesis of trisulfide compound by reacting S-ethyl ethylthiosulfoxide with dimethyl sulfide sulfur source to give the trisulfide product.
Shown below is the reaction of the prior art as displayed in the Casreact data bases
Regarding instant claims 1 and 30, the dimethyl disulfide corresponds to claimed formula R1-S-S-R2 in which R1 and R2 are each alkyl group (e.g. methyl) and the dimethyl trisulfide corresponds to trisulfide product of claimed method (page 1, left column).
Regarding the limitation of claim “oxidizing disulfide with oxidizing agent to obtain a sulfoxide compound” the reference teaches on page 1 left column oxidation of ethyl dimethyl to ethylthiosulfoxide mediated by mCPBA (m-chloropeoxybenzoic acid) as oxidizing reagent.
The difference between the process of producing trisulfide product of the ‘ Banerjee and the instantly claimed process for producing trisulfide is that the process of prior art does not teach on pot reaction and the oxidant an sulfur source are different that the list in claims 3- 4.
These limitations are addressed in the ‘960 patent and the ‘821 patent.
The ‘960 patent teaches a method for producing an organic polysulfide
compounds which comprises contacting, in the presence of a catalyst, an organic disulfide with sulfur under conditions sufficient to produce an organic polysulfide
wherein the organic disulfide, sulfur, and catalyst are each present in an amount effective to produce an organic polysulfide.
Regarding instant claims 1 and 30, the ‘ 960 patent teaches reacting dimethyl disulfide which corresponds to disulfide of formula R1-S-S-R2 in which R1 and R2 are each alkyl group (e.g. methyl)
Regarding instant claim 2, the ‘960 patent teaches one pot reaction – example III on col 6- continuing on col 7.
Regarding instant claim 4, the ‘960 patent teaches sodium hydrosulfide as sulfur source (example III on col 6- continuing on col 7).
Regarding insta claims 3-4, the ‘821 patent teaches preparing trisulfide by reacting disulfide with hydrogen peroxide (instant claim 3) to sulfoxide intermediate, followed by reaction of sulfoxide with Na2S as a sulfur source (instant claim 4) to yield 1,2,3-trithiane product (see claim 1 of the cited reference, scheme on col 2 below; col 1-2, col 4 lines 20-29; examples).
"Exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include: (A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results ". See MPEP § 2143 . Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made the skilled artisan would have been motivated to combine the teachings of cited references to arrive at instant invention with reasonable expectation of success, because the prior art teaches that the trisulfide can be produced in one-step reaction, by oxidation of disulfide to sulfoxide with oxidants such as hydrogen peroxide as alternative oxidant and with Na2S or sodium hydrosulfide as sulfur source.
Consequently, absent a showing of unexpected results, the instant claims are obvious over the combined teachings of the prior art.
Conclusion
In view of the rejections to the pending claims set forth above, no claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Telephone Inquiry
examiner should be directed to:
Ana Muresan
(571) 270-7587 (phone)
(571)270-8587 (fax)
Ana.Muresan@uspto.gov
The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday (9:00AM - 5:30PM).
/ANA Z MURESAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1692